Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 22 May, 2012

AIB staff in line for promotions and salary rises

Image: Peter Morrison/AP/Press Association Images

STAFF AT AIB can still look forward to the prospect of promotions and salary increases, despite the fact that the bank is effectively nationalised.

Reports that the bank was still hiring new staff, promoting existing workers and raising salaries – in some cases by as much as 15 per cent – were put to AIB yesterday.

A source at the bank confirmed to TheJournal.ie that AIB was continuing to employ new staff, saying that new hires were taken on when specific skills were needed.

In relation to staff promotions, the source explained that management wanted to “ensure that the bank could do business a usual”. Meanwhile, they said, salary increases at the troubled financial institution are viewed as a way of “recognising the responsibilities taken on by staff”.

Yesterday, Executive Chairman of AIB David Hodgkinson told the Taoiseach and Finance Minister that the bank would not pass the recent insterest rate cut by the European Central Bank on to its customers.

AIB said it had not passed on the past two rate increases by the ECB and, similarly, would not be passing on the cut.

Read: AIB will not pass ECB interest rate cut to customers>

Read Next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• Dee 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This country my god the bank are havin a laugh bailed out and now paying out to staff and robing the people on street with bank charges what about the customers the people struggling to pay loans and mortgages give them a break from their loans instead of payin staff extra

• Derek Turner 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Makes me hate the banks even more! Shame on them

• RDX862 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

So they are basically nationalized but are giving pay rises because it is “business a usual” and the chairman is telling the Taoiseach and Finance Minister what or what not they are going to do. Sounds fair.

• willy pearse 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Should the banks pay structures not be in line with public sector pay, i.e pay frozen for forseable future pending a pay cut. That’s what most public sector workers face. Why are the banks different. They wouldn’t exist without the tax payer. Are the bank officials not now public servants?

• FergaL O' Shea 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

People should take out there deposits so there is a run on the banks in question. This might bring them back to there senses. Arrogance and fraud still rule the day. Parasites.

• Noddy Mooney 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

I haven’t kept money in the bank for several years now, and never will again. Use the post office or your local credit union.

• P Wurple 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Noddy, the credit union and post office keep your money in banks. They are some of the bondholders you hear vilified.

• Noddy Mooney 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

I understand that P, but the only crumb of comfort I can get when thinking of these greedy c*nts, is knowing I don’t have to deal directly with them.

• Gavin Murphy 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Once again the banks do what they want. They don’t pass on the ECB rate reductions to give the customers back some money but they can give themselves money. It’s a joke but the ordinary people ARE NOT LAUGHING.

• Paddy O'Reilly 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You might have missed it but they didn’t pass on the ECB rate increase in the first place. I don’t remember people thanking them for saving them a few shillings back then.

• Colin Tyrrell 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

It makes me proud that my mortgage interest in being put to good use. Well done chaps.

• conor hickey 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

We still need banks.

• Report this comment

How is a business supposed to operate if the incentive of promotions and pay rises arent in place!! Staff wont be motivated to do their best for the business without the possibility of reward!!

• lostintallaght 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

This is laughable. Maybe stay in line with the rest of the private sector and increase wages when your business is making a profit?

The incentive for staff to do a good job day to day is that they keep their job and get paid a monthly wage. The pay increases happen when business picks up and the business starts turning a profit.

I work in a company that employs about 70 staff – if we were to say to our CEO we’re not motivated to work because we haven’t had a wage increase in 2 years he’d laugh his head off. Our incentive to work hard is that we keep the company afloat, keep our jobs and our current wage and if things turn around start seeing wage increases then. I guess the difference between our company and AIB is that is we’ll never be bailed out of a hole like banks were though.

• Waffler 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

exactly, we need the best people working in the banking sector now more than ever

• Francis Foran 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Should the best incentive not be that they have a job ! And are fortunate that they have not lost their job due to reckless greed of the banks .

• Report this comment

It’s exactly those incentives that contributed to the mess many people find themselves in. Bank staff incentivised to encourage loans, credit cards, etc. Those bankers do not deserve any more of our cash and our cowardly government should have stopped this as there are plenty of people on the dole who’d happily do their job if being employed isn’t incentive enough.

• Tony Nugent 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s obvious they werent “doing their best” a few years ago and got us into this mess!! All while receiving pay increases & bonuses… Will they try harder this time yea?? Cop on would ya!

• Shane Griffin 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

How do u think the staff in the public sector feel then? Never mind the possibility of gettin a pay rise, they are more likely to get more cuts. Talk about “incentive” to work hard?!

• Report this comment

I’ve been with AIB since 1996 and I’m happy to say I’ve been rolling back my accounts with them over the past few weeks for a number of reasons which include there sheer arrogance, disregard for customers and lack of respect for their current situation. I’ve cancelled and cleared a personal credit card, cleared off a small loan I had for masters fees and I’m gradually cancelling and moving direct debits to my new bank. They lost my businesses account to a competitor too. The article this morning reminded me about AIB pushing through an increase in the CEO salary cap. I could understand their competitive motivation for doing so but the arrogant way in which they made it a right of entitlement really bugged me. Reading this article this morning made me feel that it’s been a bit of hassle to gradually move but it’s been the right decision. It makes me wonder, are these raises etc happening in other banks and these guys are just really bad at PR or they as arrogant as they come across to be?

• Jeff 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Considering the volume of business has dramatically decline, what do they do all day ? & what did they do to get a bonus ?.

• Mark Arthur 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Public sector workers without any of the benefits….net salary has already fallen by about 18% since 2008. Ordinary workers have been picking up the slack for the last 3 years, due to non replacement of staff leaving. Are ordinary bank workers entitled to the same opportunities as everyone else in society? No they have to keep quite and listen to endless hand wringing from people that don’t know what they are talking about.

Report this comment

Mark, what other people in society that are working for a business that is making a LOSS annually in a failing (or failed?) economy get a wage increase? Ordinary bank workers should be happy they have a job they can go to every day. If it wasn’t for government money you’d be drawing the dole or hopefully working somewhere else.

You have the same opportunity as others in society – you can go and do your job every day or you can try and find another job that offers better pay. AIB is a business, as a business it is failing to generate profit and there should be a pay freeze until that changes.

By the way, I’d hazzard a guess that a 18% net salary drop since 2008 is still a very comfortable salary.

• Waffler 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

well said, bank clerks are in the same boat as everyone else

• Aidan Gill 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Ok, so the business I worked in until last year put in place a pay freeze for the 3 years I was there. They also implemented a 5% decrease in salary. Yet the company made a profit, it was only 2% but it was a profit.

So your crowd make a loss, and the word loss isn’t even appropriate to describe the amount of money lost. You get bailed out to secure your employment and yet your on here moaning….

Another person living in the clouds with zero grasp on reality.

If you are pis*ed off with your 18% decrease then go and find another job, but you will find that outside of the bubble there aren’t many.

Regards, from the “Real world”

• Get Ta France 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

People withdraw your money!!!!!

• Darren Skelton 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Nice to see so many AIB workers using journal.ie and clicking that dislike button so many times.

• paul mulligan 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Just what I was thinking!

• Aidan Gill 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Great how the bailout now pays for the bank staff to surf the net now! No wonder there were 18% decreases! :)

Maybe if they spent more time concentrating on the loans/debts/figures than on the net we wouldn’t be in the total f**K up we find ourselves in eh?

• Mark Arthur 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Yes €420 a week is such an elevated salary. Do people who apply for a job that is advertised, going throughout the interview process, taking on extra workload and reponsibilities not expect to be paid a little extra to reflect this? Or should that job remain unfilled?

• Aidan Gill 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

What do you expect us to say, you and your peers were given responsibility to run the bank, to ensure its viability and to be paid to do so.

So in summary tell us what has happened over the last 3 years…. extra responsibility, your having a laugh, you didn’t carry out the workload you were paid to do in the first place, you blew up the bank and the country in doing so and now you want us to pay you more to fix the mess???

• David Patrick 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

@Darren that’s because their chairman still runs this fekked up country!
    The likes of noonan and Kenny still kowtow to them!
    The only finance minister who had any balls to stand up to them was Brian Lenihan!
    There will always be a them & us attitude, admittedly it’s the frontline staff who get it in the neck, but who has ever seen their bank manager? They are to busy feeding their faces at the coporate trough of greed!

• Fiona O'Sullivan 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I don’t have a problem with bank clerks. After all they are doing a job, just like anyone else. They shouldn’t have to take the flack because of what their bosses are doing. And I would say it is highly unlikely that it is these bank workers who are benefiting from the pay increases. Much more likely its the people higher up.

People need to start objecting as a mass. The banks are taking the p**s. Big time. But as long as people keep using them they will continue to do so. Enda Kenny doesn’t seem to be doing much about it, nor is the financial regulator. Take out your money, close your accounts. It is possible to live without the use of banks. Bills can be paid in any post office. If enough people do this, stand together, withdraw and close your accounts then the government and the banks will have to stand up and take stock. Hit them where it hurts, if they don’t have your money they can’t speculate and profit.

To banks you are a number. Nothing more.

Report this comment

@Fiona, sorry you’re being naive, we still need banks. How do you think most of the lucky people that still have jobs get paid? Should we go back to the days of getting brown enevlopes with cash once a week?

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Works for Fianna Fail!

Report this comment

I’m not being naive at all. Fine, if you want to receive your wages into a bank account do so, but take them out every Friday. The banks are making huge profits for the convenience of handling your money and paying your bills for you. Every transaction on your account is costing you money. The bank is also charging you to have your wages put into your account. The few transactions I have going through my account are costing me roughly €30 per quarter. Thats on average €100 per year for having the convenience of the bank paying my bills for me. Now if 1 million account holders stopped using the banks for this convenience thats a nice little dent in their profits! It may not bring the downfall of the banks but it’s a start! I am doing it thats for sure.

Report this comment

Your original comment said ‘It is possible to live without the use of banks.’. That is the bit that was naive. I don’t want or choose to get paid into a bank account – it’s the way that most meduim to large business work. Do you expect them to offer their staff the facilty to get paid in cash every month?

I don’t know what bank you’re with bit I have never paid a transaction fee in the 18 years I’ve been with NIB. Not an ATM fee, a cheque fee, nothing.

Report this comment

That bank must be a charity so. As far as I am aware banks charge transaction fees to make money. Let’s all move to NIB!!!

Report this comment

You can choose to believe me or not, I’m simply telling you a fact. There may be a fee for getting a new cheque book but I don’t use it much so I don’t know. There is obviously a charge on a credit card but I don’t have one.

You have not given me me your genius way of people getting paid without using banks.

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@Fiona
      If you are to be naive at all it is in relation to the possibility that if the banks were on the point of going bust again they would be back with Noonan ( this time) looking for more of our money to keep them afloat. Too big to be let fail I’m afraid, and it is us that will pick up the tab all over again.
      They have us by the goolies, and they know it and will pay themselves what they like. They are the ‘untouchables’ even the politicians can be kicked out but we’re stuck with this lot

Report this comment

I did say fine, if your employer does not want to pay you in cash get it put into your bank. But take it out immediately. And stop letting them make profit for your transactions. While you may be a person who gets free banking, fair play to you if you are, I know the vast majority of us pay for banking. At least I am trying make a suggestion to people, it is something that I am going to do myself. Every little thing makes a difference. I’m not just sitting idly by and saying oh we need banks so that’s that then.

• Matt Reville 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

AIB giving pay rises of up to 15% is symptomatic of who is really in charge of the banks and it certainly ain’t the Government! It’s function, sadly, is limited to pumping EU funding into those nationalised entities, boosting sovereign debt and crippling the poor taxpayer. When will the axiom that he who pays the piper, calls the tune be invoked?

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

We know who really runs the country. Who called around to Brian Lenehan in the dead of night in Sept. 2008 and frightened the crap outa him to such an extent that he put his hands deep into our pockets.
    It’s easy figure out. It’s not quantum physics – it’s greed and corruption and the public keep paying.

• Yeera Yeahboy 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Not sure we can blame the staff for the folly of ex management. As long as the payments are not excessive, then they might possibly deserve them, as long as they are tied to productivity. And no I am not AIB staff.

Just that there are usually two sides to most arguments.

• Ciaran Pollard 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I, for one, will be closing my account and ending any business I have with this financial institution in the short-term.

• Ed Appleby 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

AIB is a busted bank, it is being kept afloat by the tax payer and massive loans from the ECB. If everyone took their money out of it tomorrow it would simply get the govt. to make up the shortfall and ask the ECB for more loans to keep it going and they would get it too. They are in a position where they can’t loose, the govt. won’t let them fail and the ECB won’t let them fail either so those who run the bank can in effect do as they please and charge what they like or choose not to pass on reductions in interest rates and there’s little or nothing that Kenny or Noonan can do about it. Sad state of affairs but AIB is a law unto themselves it would appear.

• neuromancer 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Everyone pissed off at them getting pay rises, fine. They are also hiring people which I good for the Economy, and it’s only standard for people to get promotions in any business they excel in.

We have to remember folks that, only a core group of rotten apples are/where in these banking institutions, which ultimately became the downfall of the country.

• Adam Magari 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Once the taxpayer and ratepayer steps in as funder and customer, as is seen in the public service time and again, the gravy boats quickly fill to overflowing. Why worry about thrift when there are thousands of hoodwinked fools like myself around to pick up the tab?

• Ashling Kelly 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Why dont the government coombe hell on and say enough ye have taken the piss for long enough, here is how its going to be no more promotions, no more pay increases ye caused this mess, now minimum pay for all until ye fix it

• Orion 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Because if they are on minimum wage they have no incentive to work at all and they could just quit and move to another bank that is not state owned and that pays anything Above minimum wage, and sure the unions would never stand for that. I think it a good thing that they are hiring people, its good for the economy. And how do you know that the staff who are going to recieve a pay rise were anything to do with the reckless atitude of the banks in the boom years?

• Ashling Kelly 12/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Well I believe anything that is bailed out by the tax payer those people should not recieve cushy promotions or bonuses or anything when the majority of taxpyers are struggling to make any kind of a living and the likes if myself now have to leave the country and my family to get work. They should be god damn thankful they have a job at all

• David Higgins 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The fact is that overall AIB is laying off staff. Any hirings are in areas that need the staff. I see nothing wrong with that.

Promotions are also a matter of normal business and again I see no problem. As people retire, others will move up to take their positions. If people move up to a position with longer hours and more responsibility, they will be paid accordingly and again that’s a matter of normal business. You can’t promote someone and not pay them what the previous holder of the job earned.

However I have a HUGE problem with any salary rises for people in their existing positions (even though one of my family members works there!). That’s completely wrong and it shouldn’t happen when the taxpayer has propped up this bank.

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@David Normal business! Well aren’t they the lucky kittens! When everyone else is being stuffed into a sack and tossed into the Liffey at low tide.

Report this comment

Most AIB workers haven’t gotten a bonus since the crisis began. Their salaries are low but are usually filled by a performance bonus. Without this many have taken a big hit in their pay packets, not to mention a new levy to fill their pension deficit. Existing workers are getting nothing even though many are seeing increased workloads with the troubles in the bank.

So your impression that everything is dandy in AIB is completely false. They’re experiencing the pain just like the rest of us.

• Aidan Gill 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

@David – “Promotions are also a matter of normal business and again I see no problem”

Ok, take the words normal business there David. I run a normal business, yet the tax payers haven’t come to bail me out as I am making a loss. I have a normal business which is making a loss, so would you believe I won’t be getting a pay rise.
      I am working well over standard hours, yet I don’t get a pay rise.
      I can’t hire people because I am making a loss, and laughably the bank won’t give me money.

So the banks are not normal, they are so far from normal they aren’t even on this planet.

Report this comment

By normal business (which I concede was a bad choice of words) I mean that when someone gets a promotion they take the salary that was given to the previous holder of that position.

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

‘Normal buisness’. Bad choice of words allright. I’ve a problem with another one too – ‘promotion’ – when those in normal (must watch that word!) unsubsidised open market employment are being ‘promoted’ onto the dole Q.

• Cormac Kerrigan 10/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Ahh here we go again… another media witch hunt for AIB.
    Most ground staff in AIB are ordinary decent people like the rest of us,
    working in a stressful demoralizing environment for an average industrial wage.
    Some frontline branch have even had the pleasure of being spat at by members of the public and for what? because they work in a bank to pay their bills, feed their kids and live their life?
    Staff who have been lucky to hold on to their jobs have spent over 3 years taking the extra workload from the thousands of contractors the bank let go.
    Yes, I agree staff are lucky to have jobs… but they also go about their business everyday wondering will they be one of the 2000 (or more) heads to face the chop in the coming months.
    Regardless if there is salary increases & promotions for some members, it seems grossly unfair that some members of the public and media like to continously go on the attack even complemplating about the other side of the story!

• Waffler 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

the bank clerk is the new traffic warden. reminds me of the peadiatrician who had his house burned down by idiots who thought he was a peadaphile

• John Murphy 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Cormac, I readily take your point about the abuse and conditions front-line bank staff experience, particularlly when it should be directed at the corrupt cretins in senior management they have to answer to. I think, in fact I’d rather be on the dole than even be in the same building as them. So you know where I stand!
      It is important that a clear distinction be drawn between the ordinary worker and self important swaggering.. I’m on a public forum here so I should stop!

• Aidan Gill 10/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Cormac – no one deserves to be abused like them people on the frontline and I agree with you on that point.

If their workload has increased this is the norm across all job both private and public sector, so they can’t be pushing that as a reason.
      As having jobs, there are 100′s of jobs going every day in Ireland, people having to emigrate and who’s homes have been taken off them. 10′s of 1000′s of jobs have been lost in the last 3 years, did the government bail them people out, did they bail out Waterford Crystal etc???

At the end of the day its our money/tax payers who are keeping them in their jobs and now paying their bonus, we have every right to give our opinion.

Add New Comment