TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Bad news for drivers: petrol and diesel prices hit record highs

The average cost of one litre of petrol in Ireland is now 162.1c – and there’s no sign of the price coming down any time soon.

Filling the tank is getting pricier
Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire

BAD NEWS FOR drivers: the average price of petrol and diesel has risen yet again this month – and there’s no sign of the prices dropping any time soon.

The average cost of one litre of petrol has now hit 162.1 cent, an increase of 5c from last month. Meanwhile diesel has hit an average price of 157.7c, according to new figures from AA Ireland.

Ireland has been particularly badly affected by the rising cost of oil worldwide.

The jump in prices has been more acute in the past year but has been happening for some time. The average price of a litre of petrol has risen by almost 10 per cent since this time last year – and it’s risen by 56 per cent in the last three years.

“This is obviously out of our control, but it affects us more than it affects many other countries,” said Conor Faughnan of AA Ireland.

“We are in the Euro but we are also very high per capita oil users in Ireland. Our freight and almost all of our economy is highly dependent on fuel and fuel prices”.

The increase has been attributed to government-imposed price increases in last December’s Budget, coupled with the rocketing price of oil due to uncertainty and turmoil in the middle east.

Increased tensions between western countries and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s Iran, along with the Arab Spring uprisings, has led to investor fears over disruption to the oil supply, leading to the price constantly increasing every time it seems like it could become more difficult for the West to access the oil from the most oil-rich part of the globe.

AA Ireland has called on the government to address high fuel taxes which it says has been a bad idea for Ireland given its dependency on fuel.

Faughnan said that the high price of fuel causes hardship for consumers and is doing “considerable” damage to the economy.

“These are very serious questions that urgently need to be addressed and the Government needs to listen,” said Faughnan.

Ireland has a history of high fuel prices. This graphic from 1989 shows Ireland was second only to Italy for the average price of a gallon of fuel (Photo: PA/PA Archive/Press Association Images)

Explainer: How much have fuel prices risen in Ireland recently – and why? >

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• SMcB 18/03/12 #

VAT and the addition of Carbon Tax on fuel are not helping the situation either.

• B7584 18/03/12 #

Its 166.9 in at least 2 station fairly close to me.
    Dont mind the end of the year, it’ll be €2 a litre by June at this rate.
    Something is seriously going to have to happen.

• it’s a joke… it’s costing me around €150 per week and that’s only going down country once a week…. petrol just keeps rising 5¢ in 2 days alone

• Its not just the price of fuel. It will increase the cost of basic’s. Everything get’s transported on the back of a truck and they do about 4.5 miles to the gallon. This time last year a truck would have cost approx €5 a mile to run and now its just over €7 a mile. Watch your shopping bills in the next few months.

• Wages going down & cost of living going up and up and up with extra taxes and waters charges and bin charges etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc …but yet our economy is going “take off like a rocket” so says our “goverment”…………….. WHAT A BUNCH OF IDIOTS!

• Due to the mind boggling corruption of this country’s government past and present we will probably be the only country in the world that has struck oil and yet is still impoverished. If we let them keep stealing from us without taking a stand they will continue to take and take.

• Seriously thinking selling my car and getting a bike, costing me €60 a week at least :-(

• I recently bought a car and, even at the current exorbitant cost of petrol travelling to work still costs less than half of what it would if I were to rely completely on what passes for public transport in Cork. I live 25km+ from where i work and currently spend about €100 per month on petrol. It takes 30/35 mins door to door.

Same journey on public transport:
    First of all, it’s a 25 minute walk to the nearest bus stop. Bus, at a cost of €1.70 takes me as far as Cork City. Get off in town. Wait for infrequent, rural bus which passes my office. €3.30 one-way. Takes about 90 mins all told and costs a total of €5.
    Do that twice a day: it’s €10 and three hours on buses. €50 per week. €200 per month. 120 hours on buses.
    Or I can get in my car and land half an hour later and a fraction of the cost. It’s obvious which option am I going to pick.

The government should be ashamed of the poor choices that Irish people are left with. Compared to our European neighbours, the infrastructure and planning here is absolute rubbish.

• Here in rural Tipperary, public transport is very limited. I don’t know about a Celtic Tiger boom times, but there’s not much evidence of it down here. Roads are in bits and full of potholes, poor broadband or mobile phone reception, infrequent water supplies sometimes dirty, regular bouts of no electricity, difficulty in obtaining some simple requirements for living. When me and my family travel up to Dublin, it’s like going to another country, never mind to just another PART of Ireland. Some might say: “Well, it is the Capital City!”
      Granted, but at the cost of other parts of the country? Don’t think so! Many is the time we’ve had no water, the electricity off for some unknown reason, the water disrupted or brown in colour! And unable even to use the toilet because of a breakdown of something or the septic tank not working properly. I believe even Albania is in better condition!

• jimbo 19/03/12 #

The price of petrol is still unreal..the fact that most of it is tax which is the point the goverment has to cut it..

• This article mentions Iran, arab spring and the middle east as main reasons for the rise in crude prices. I just wonder have speculators and banks anything to do with it. Between the federal reserve and the ECB the banking institutions have had access to cheap money for months. They are certainly not lending, neither in Europe nor the US. They are certainly not holding it in a vault. Commodities are a good safe bet. This possible scenario applies to many other commodities in the market. Most of the western economy is in recession or crawling out of it slowly. Demand at a consumer level is not there to justify the rises. Basic econ tells me that something is not correct with this picture. The top 1% are kicking our ass again. The rich continue to get richer on the backs of the regular citizen. Is there no morality in this world. GREED!!!!!!!! Could it be possible that these corporate monsters have switched from property to basic human necessities to make their profits? I believe it is very possible!!

• I’m living in the middle east at the moment I can put 30 liters of petrol in my car for the equivalent of 6 euro no taxman over here.

• Even as oil comes out of the well it is getting closer to a euro a litre all the time. (a barrel of oil is 200 litres). So even in the middle east, without any tax, it should cost 25 euros or so for 30 litres. Your government must be subsidysing it Michael.

• 15c per liter here….

• Michael ,while you might have free petrol that’s about all that is free in the MiddleEast, freedom of expression or the rite to vote is questionable in most of these states never mind there attitudes to women
      Enjoy your riches and be grateful that you have a bolt hole like Ireland to escape to if things get a little rough out there

• Wait till the carbon tax drops onto the cost in May! Looking at 1.70 very very shortly

• Martin, people cannot just change to electric cars. these are only available new and finance is difficult to access or afford. For most driving less is the only way to deal with this. Electricity costs will also go up as Ireland generates a lot from burning oil.

• DubDon 18/03/12 #

Govt won’t reduce any taxes on fuels they know that they are essential to the everyday lives of people all over the country for transport heating etc. The revenues they take in are huge and they can disguise their increases behind the rising cost of oil internationally… Bottom line with this Govt is the working man pays and the Govt plays…!!!

• Most of that is tax and Government are not helping by putting up the tax on cars etc in the last budget. A car is probably the only Luxury that a lot of people have left. A car is essential for people who live out the country and might have no access to a bus service. We are aware that the cause of the increase in Petrol is a issue beyond our control with the situation in the Middle east and especially the stand-off with Iran. However the Government could help the situation by scrapping the extra car tax they introduced in the last Budget and maybe taking 2 cents of the tax that Government gets from Petrol.Theses days a car is more of an essential than a luxury.

• I’ve given up on driving. Between tests, the cost of fuel, tax and insurance, it’s just not worthwhile. Thankfully it’s not entirely essential to me but for those who it’s necessary it’s now a financial burden.

• jimbo 18/03/12 #

This is just a complete joke we need to start standing up for ourselves here like the household charge..
    This will also put people of buying cars too its a complete rip-off..

• I have looked ag my whole car driving habits and cut down consdierbly . by using a bike or my feet as much as possible j have cut down my petrol consumption by half and have lost a stone as well :-) I reckon if people actually sit down and plan properly it can be done .. petrol folks is only going one way and that is up .

• That’s all well and good for anybody who lives in a city or town that has the option of walking cycling or public transport. I like thousands of others work 44kms from home with no other option but to drive, it’s a huge expense that’s increase by the month.

• 87% of it is tax…the government need to cop the fu.ck on! This is just getting stupid now!

• I understand that we rely on oil for pretty much everything in our lives. But reducing the price or looking for more is only postponing the inevitable.

We aren’t reducing our dependency on it fast enough. Less money should be spent on getting oil and more money on renewable energy.

• Exactly, decriminalising cannabis – not simply for medical or recreational use but for INDUSTRIAL use would provide us with so many benefits – you can make ANYTHING from this plant bar metal and glass, including fuel oil. It’s insane that they are using other vegetables for bio-fuels when hemp already proved itself the best alternative to the petrochemical industry – not only that it would reduce CO2.
      It would also give us safe biodegradable plastic that doesn’t pollute our water, food, fibres, building materials, and up to 65,000 other uses.

As long as this plant remains nonsensically illegal I cannot take any of the governments energy efficiency endeavours seriously.

• I suppose if all else fails, we could just smoke it. Lie back contemplating the proverbial fluff in our collective navels and just get stoned?

• 1.61 is the average? cheapest iv seen is 1.62 (and you can round that up to 1.63 with the .9 decimal at the end!)

• However there is one more little consideration regarding Irish fuel prices. For example in Poland equivalent to Irish Motor Tax is incorporated into petrol cost. Petrol cost basically includes motor tax. In Ireland this is separate tax and is shockingly high for any car over 2 litre engine. So not enough they get more money as such car sees the pump station more often yet they rob you with very high annual motor tax.

• cimada 18/03/12 #

It’s alright using publics transport in major cities and towns but in the back ass of Donegal the buses run rarely, are pretty damn dear, and you still have to get to one of the stops in the first place. Aside from that not a train anywhere near. It’s a joke.

• Eggers 18/03/12 #

Oil is rocketing up people and it will hit 200 dollars a barrel in the next 5 years.

Think of it this way, we are in the greatest global slowdown in 70 years and yet oil is about 130 dollars a barrel. During the boom years of a decade ago, it was 40-50 dollars. If that does not tell you that demand is severely outstripping supply then nothing will.

Drive less, drive smart, share journeys and free wheel down them god damn hills. ;)

• dont u worry people, prices will be over the €2 mark at the end of summer and no matter what u do it will be rising… do u think the goverment really give a damn about anyone in this country? all they care about is them selfs and their bank balances. and the big boys in the E.U. say how much u have to pay. after all if they say jump Ireland jumps…

• gerry 18/03/12 #

Monthly I spend about €350 on petrol for my car. The cars consumption is modest to decent and I travel 2 hours in total per day 5 days per week. I looked into electric cars and without trade in and the slim possibility of getting hire purchase it would cost €700 per month in repayments. The car would have the range I need but I would need to trade in a car with a resale value of €10k to bring the repayment value to anything closely to making a break even with my current running costs never mind recharging costs. It’s up to the government to reduce excise and duty on fuel to keep inflation in hand and not increase our cost of living. Will my bank listen to my request to reduce my repayments because my monthly fuel costs have increased by €50??

• It’s gone beyond a joke. It’s costing twice a much to fill a small car. The gov don’t give a damn as there petrol costs are covered by expenses. For 1.62 a litre the gov are getting at least 1.10 euro in tax revenue. The average middle earner is been screwed. What’s the point in working. I live in the country so no public transport. So have no choice but to drive.

• I was naive enough to think that the finding of oil off the coast of Cork would decrease our reliance on the Middle East, increase the oil supply and decrease oil prices .. At least thats what macro economics 101 taught me …

• Live in the country, no public transport roads in poor condition. Daily round trip to work is 65km costing €10 in petrol.

That’s nearly double what it was three years ago but sure they don’t care about joe soap. In the budget and tax credits they don’t factor this madness in

• Petrol and Diesel prices in Ireland are bang on in the middle of EU prices. There are couple slightly cheaper countries and about same number deerer when it comes to petrol. Deerer would be for example Germany, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands, France… No great differences there but just a bit. And then consider wages – Ireland would not be in the middle I think but rather still towards top. So sadly, but don’t expect major moves from the government here…

• The govt is ripping us off because VAT increases as the price of fuel increases, they could easily stop that practice.
    Varadkar said: “The Vat is 23 per cent but the evidence is that as people spend more on petrol or diesel so they spend less on other things. It is not the way people think it is. It is a crude comparison but people may spend less on clothes to spend more on fuel so there is actually no gain in terms of tax”.

So now, tell me this is the kind of twat we need running our country.

• The government will only listen to the germans and the banks, lets make sure they listen to the people , we have a vote on the way re . the fiscal treaty and we will have to make a point. The other way we can make a point is not to register or pay the property tax, a tax been brought in to pay for something we are already paying for in taxes.

• Properly won’t happen however, mass boycott of the pumps for a day how much would petrol chemical companies lose on one day. As I said easier said than done but I’d avoid the pumps for one day so they could feel the pinch instead of me for once.

• Fantastic idea , they started that last year in Israel over the rising price of cheese and the shops and manufacturers dropped prices hugely. We should totally do that.but to be honest I don’t have a car . I walk and cycle and get the bus intercity .
      When I go grocery shopping I go to Dunnes Stores and if you spend more than 40 euro they deliver for free. Very handy.

• Most of us need fuel to get from A – B due to very poor public transport infrastructure. No I cannot see that happening just yet.

Personally I think people driving diesel engines should try produce their own fuel and modify their engines.

Those that can produce their own electricity and don’t exceed 160 km a day could switch to electric. Sceptics can say what they like but the ecar charging infrastructure has improved over the past year and will continue to expand.

Alternative fuels will have to be produced in the long run cause the fact is oil is finite and a lot of people are aggressively denying that. They seem to think its some kind of greenwash and oil is forever available and the middle east will wipe their ass’s with money that leaves our economy.

• Boycott for a day? Wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference.

• Dario Fo 19/03/12 #

Great idea John, but I doubt I could Hal a half ton of equipment on the bike or Luas…

• These taxes are driven by a green ideology in regard to saving the planet, and used as stealth taxes by the Irish government to increase revenue. Its this green agenda that has made clowns of the Irish people and has tricked us into to thinking that all countries are keen to follow green polices in regard to the use of fossil fuels. We have to open our eyes and look at the rising sun economies like china and India where they continue to pull coal from the earth at a rapid rate to meet their energy needs. This has resulted in numerous power stations being built in recent years. In the case of India, the rise in the use of the car has also resulted in a demand for oil/petrol. The governments of these two countries have wisely put their people and present day situation first.. The hard fact is, that the world and the countries in it act in anarchical way when it comes to energy security. Our Government would also be wise to follow suit, and the first step would be to reduce the taxes on motor fuel which would not only benefit the motorist but also benefit the wider community economically by driving cost down.

Andy Matthews

• China’s a communist country.. They want to put a coal burning power plant where your house is, you move or you go to jail

• The fact the china is a communist country is not the issue here. The issue is the reason fuel is so expensive and the green agenda is to blame for this. There has been international agreements in regard to carbon emissions. but look at the biggest and most populated countries in the world and you will see that lots of them are not part of these agreements. Why is this? well because they are serving there own interests and not the global one. It was not to long ago when America bought carbon emission credits form India. As a small country we need to be smarter when looking at the politics of global fuel security.

• China is one of the largest investors in renewable and green energy sources — in the last few years they have accounted for about 1/4 of the world spend on renewable energy. And while they are still building coal power plants, the rate at which they are building is slowing yearly and they are also closing older more polluting coal fired plants!

Even if you exclude tax, the cost of oil is rising continually.

• it’s time to start transporting trailer loads of “bales of hay” from Saudi to Ireland…. just like the old days…. belfast to the south!

• It is very expensive, but Ireland isn’t alone. Prices £1.46+ in the UK (€1.75) a litre.

But when compared to the price in the 80s and 90s it isn’t so expensive compared to our earning power.

• I reckon the government are feeling right fecking eejits after selling off Irish gas and oil rights for less than the price of good car
    Ya don’t hear them bring that subject up to often!
    Norway must be laughing there rocks off.

• Go wan you good thing joey, but I would keep my head down if I was you, especially in Saudi, because people have been known to loose theirs most fridays

• The cheek of those Arabs…Just what exactly is our oil doing under their soil anyway. High oil prices may just be a new reality, we have to adapt our cities, towns and livelihoods to this new world order.

I don’t drive… But I fly a lot and it’s stinging me bad alright up 17.3% this year because of oil prices and when you were blowing €4k a year in plane tickets thats an extra thousand euro to ‘find’ but there’s always alternatives. Don’t these people paying €150 a week know they could have a bus/ train pass for €20-40?

And for the record high energy prices may just be end results of short sighted protests against fracking, windmill landslides, gas pipelines or nuclear power…

• I’m spending 100 a week on diesel. I work shift and there is no real public transport alternative. I can’t move closer to work because I would lose too much on selling my house. I can’t afford the initial outlay to buy a greener car, I.e. one registered post 2008 and from what I hear, there may be no point in a few weeks as the government are going to roll back on those taxes too. I’m kinda stuck with what I’ve got! I think the goverment should look at reducing tax on fuel in order to give people some chance at surviving!

• Yeah, and there’s less buses, more people – do you know how bad relying on buses is? The reason I don’t drive is the cost, but relying on Dublin Bus means that a) I spend far more time travelling than I should and b) I can’t time getting to work properly..

The protests against fracking are because it has caused tremendous harm elsewhere, the protests against the Corrib Pipeline are because the Irish people will get no benefit from the resources found there. The protests against providence drilling off Dalkey Island is because they wanna come right up 5km from the shore (20km is the closest to the coast anywhere else), plus, as we now have dolphins and all sorts of other marine wildlife taking up residence along the east coast we need to protect their habitat.. But those hell bent on fattening their wallets don’t care about that, do you?

• Can’t… Can’t… Can’t… We really are becoming the ‘can’t do’ nation of Europe

I’m not asking you to agree with all of the above… I’m asking you to pay for the privilege of taking such a stands at the pump.

and I have no investment in energy industries or policy other than getting this country back up and running in the modern world

• Yeah i cant manage on public transport. 26km to my nearest town with a bus service.

• The planning system in Ireland must change. Rural un-serviceable one off housing must be looked at as a problem. People can live here they want, but if you live in an area not served but public transport it’s not the tax payers problem to fix.

Not shift is an issue, but surely you’re working with other people, car pooling might be a good option.

The IDA should also give up on locating FDI into cities and towns only.

Oil prices ain’t coming down any time soon. It still isn’t near as bad as the late 70s – early 80s. Just that we didn’t learn any lessons from that experience.

• Joe are you saying that only children who grow up in urban areas should be the only ones who can live near their parents?

And don’t forget, people who live in the countryside also pay taxes

• petrol is only €0.11 per litre in Saudi Arabia. Very very cheap to live here

• Why dont we just use electric cars???

• B7584 18/03/12 #

Can you afford to replace your car? With an electric one?
      Or get to one of the 3 electric charging stations in your city?
      If everyone wants to change to an electric car, what haplens to your current one? Price of it goes through the floor & 2nd hand cars are worth little enough as it is. We shouldnt have to be forced into electric cars because guess what? THATS the next massive tax area for the government, you think if nobody buys petrol or diesel that the government wont tax electric cars??

The budget will see fuel rise & also potentially this ‘mini budget’ that the whole world knows we’ll be having but our gobshites continue to deny ALONG with the almost daily rises by the garages themselves.

• Here comes a bus…

Add New Comment