TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

How much have fuel prices risen in Ireland recently – and why?

The cost of petrol has risen to a record high of more than €1.60 per litre- and tensions between Iran and the EU mean there’s little chance of a slowdown any time soon.

Image: Danny Lawson/PA Wire

ANYONE WHO DRIVES will have noticed the increased cost of filling up the tank lately.

In recent weeks the cost of petrol has surged to a record high of more than €1.60 per litre with diesel regularly hitting over €1.55. AA Ireland says the price of a litre of petrol has increased by 2.1 per cent so far in the past month alone, making a huge difference to anyone who drives regularly.

Figures show that the jump in prices has been more acute in the past year but has been happening for some time. The average cost of a litre of petrol has risen by just under 10 per cent since March 2011 – and by 56 per cent in the last three years (see figures below).

The high fuel prices aren’t just affecting cars either. On Wednesday, Aer Lingus warned that its fuel bill is going to rise by around €60 million this year if the high oil prices persist, and said that is eating into the airline’s profits.

Conar Faughnan of AA Ireland has criticised the current prices as a ‘rip-off’ – and blamed the government for adding taxes in the most recent Budget:

There is no doubt about the fact that we are being ripped off but the culprits are not the local garages. It is our own government and the policy of super-taxes on fuels.

Fuel prices were hit by a double whammy in December’s Budget between the government-imposed price increase as well as the VAT increase of 2 per cent. The Budget added €0.014 per litre to the price of petrol and €0.016 per litre to the price of diesel.

AA Ireland estimated that altogether the Budget added about €10 to the monthly cost of running an average family car because of the increases in petrol and diesel.

Why have prices risen so sharply?

But it isn’t just government policy to blame.

The bigger picture behind the increase in the price in fuel has been the rocketing price of oil. This has partly been down to more demand: countries like Brazil, China and India have hugely increased the amount of oil they use as their economies continue to surge.

But the main reason has been the uncertainty and turmoil in the Middle East.  A combination of the Arab Spring uprisings and the increased tensions between the West and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s Iran has led to investor fears over disruption to the oil supply, leading to a constant jacking up of the cost every time it looks like it could become more difficult for the West to access oil from the most oil-rich part of the globe.

On Thursday, the price of oil shot up to the highest it had been since July 2008 after an explosion in Saudi Arabia, the world’s biggest oil producer, left investors fearful that the blast could lead to a shortage of the fossil fuel.

There’s little sign of prices hikes slowing down or reversing in the near future either, in large part because of the tensions between Iran and the EU.

Last month Ahmadinejad stopped supplies of oil to the UK and France, and has threatened to extend the boycott to other European countries too. The move was largely pre-emptive: the EU had already said that it is going to stop importing crude oil from Iran from 1 July as part of its sanctions relating to Iran’s controversial nuclear programme.

Either way, prices across Europe have increased as a result. Norway has been particularly badly effected with average petrol prices hitting the equivalent of €1.95 for February, while Greece, Italy and the Netherlands all had average prices of €1.70 or more.

Price tracker website Pumps.ie showed the average price of petrol in Ireland as of Friday afternoon was €1.61. Diesel’s average price per litre was €1.57.

This snapshot of the average price for a litre of petrol over the past 6 years using data from Pumps.ie shows how the price has jumped significantly in the past six years:

• March 2012: 161.9
  • March 2011: 147.9
  • March 2010: 127.9
  • March 2009: 103.9
  • March 2008: 112.9
  • March 2007: 103.9
  • March 2006: 101.9

What can drivers do?

AA Ireland have suggested a few guidelines for drivers to help save both fuel and money:

• Shop around: don’t always use the same garage out of habit
  • Buy fuel in units of litres, not euros
  • Cut down on the use of heaters and air conditioners, which can add significantly to fuel usage
  • Get your car serviced to ensure that it’s running as efficiently as possible
  • Check the tyres are fully inflated. Soft tyres can add significantly to fuel consumption

Oil prices reach highest level since 2008 after report of Saudi blast >

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• Don’t carry weight u don’t need in the car….empty ur boot.
    Take off unused roof racks/boxes.

• tuba hg 03/03/12 #

The government tax fuel as if it were a luxury they refuse to accept that cars and heating fuel are part of every day living

• So the price of oil only reached the equivalent of 2008 highs on Thursday, yet the price at the pumps has risen over 40% in the same time. I think it’s fairly obvious therefore that it’s the Government robbing us blind and that’s not much of a surprise is it. It seems the only thing they are good at is stealth taxes.

• Oil is extracted from the ground, shipped half way around the world and then processed. One of the process produces plastic, which say, as a raw material has travelled thousands of miles before being refined, moulded and made into for instance a plastic fork. This fork is then transported by road to a store, then to a shop then home, then used once and thrown out rather then “the bother” to wash it and reuse it. Point is oil is cheep and we are abusing it. Even at €200 a barrel it would be cheep. Oil at the pumps in Ireland is cheep, It is the taxes that make it expensive and as a widely used resource it will always be taxed heavily. . But it is our attitude to how it is used that is costing the most, that and the fact that it is irresistible to any government to use it as a political weapon, just look at how many wars it has started! The bottom line is oil is a global political and economic tool. You can only buy it in dollars through the US NY stock exchange and it is serving its various cartels extremely well. Don’t expect anything to change anytime soon, except the price … upwards.

• I don’t see why the government should be to blame for a 40% hike in prices. I actually can’t understand why people blame their governments for all the ills. The truth here is that the ones to blame are the oil companies. Not content with already making billions, they do everything they can to increase prices to make a few more billion. This has nothing to do with governments, it has to do with the greed of the disgustingly rich.

• Wouldn’t you know that Enda and the boys aren’t paying for there petrol them selfs and it is the tax payer picking up the tab. So it is easy enough for them to up the tax on it.

• What about LPG installations? I have not seen any garage offering this kind of fuel for your car in Ireland for some reason, but they are extremely popular in some EU countries like Poland. Your car needs to have an installation for it, it cost approx 1K euros but it quickly returns your investment and then you can top up LPG into your car instead of petrol. It works out about 2 times cheaper than petrol / diesel and it’s quite environmental friendly. For drivers doing loads of miles in their car this is life saver imagine reducing cost twice.

• I often wondered the same thing. It’s popular in the UK too, especially for bigger petrol engines like old Land Rovers etc. I think that if it was to ever be introduced here, the Govt. would add loads of taxes to narrow the gap in price and make it less attractive to convert!

• Why would buying fuel in litres make any difference?

• Go green! If its good enough for the farmers it’s good for me!…

• Its the taxes and levies that take up the bulk of the price. The government know that it is very difficult on car owners in these recessionary times so they have the power to lesson the burden on the hard pressed motorist.

• Go on to YouTube and look at h2o fuel running my jeep on it for 8 weeks on 1fill of diesel 110 euro ….costs fitty quid to get unit well worth a view

• It’s the government robbing us blind … Not the crack going on in the middle east…. Taxes taxes taxes!!!

• You left out profiteering by pump operators , and before anyone says there’s no money in selling fuel ,you would’ nt be doing it if there wasn’t money in it

• jimbo 03/03/12 #

Something has to be done about this ive seen some places with prices at 1.62.9 bloody rip off

• Should have bought shares in oil instead of pension fund . It was 66 p per liter of diesel when I started working self employed .wont be long before its 2.euro a litre

• @Alvin Agreed, and it’s an expense that’s very difficult to recoup. I have to reluctantly restrict the radius in which I do business because of fuel costs. At some point loading on taxes will have the opposite effect to generating money for governments. This is also a serious issue in the UK.

• How about the embargo on the import of Iranian oil – get used to double prices soon.

also

“Oil prices retreated to below $108 a barrel Friday after Saudi Arabia denied an Iranian media report of a Saudi pipeline explosion.”

• Half of these explosions and attacks in the east are probably ordered by petrol companies just so they have a reason to increase the prices…

• What the drivers can do?

You forgot:

* Do not support your politicians when they another time join campaign to bully another “bad country”.

• Is there any websites that show regular updates on the cheepest garages around ?

• I love my bicycle

• Local piloting fairly uses petrol, a bike with pannier bags if possible is class. If possible.

• the price of petrol on 16th march was 1.64.9 in Donnybrook last week i noticed the price up 1 cent between wed
    and fri the Middle East is a great excuse if a banger goes off the fuel rises its a load of shite GREED is at the
    bottom of all this the fuckin GOV. again doing nothing for the people

• Global warming is a huge global experiment that could trigger disastrous and irreversible changes to the entire planet in the near future that could persist for thousands of years – this is now beyond doubt – a reason perhaps not to fight carbon taxes – a few extra pence in the pocket but our children’s future fcuk-ed. Dependency on oil coming from such a fraught region is also a problem, so we would be more secure to seek renewable sources of energy. Why are people so against this? Why do people NOT want to co-operate and get behind a venture that would at the very least, even if you don’t believe the scientific proof,make the planet cleaner and less polluted for future generations???

• Great, I’ll put smokeless coal into my tank on Monday when I start my 80 mile commute to work.

• B7584 03/03/12 #

Booooooooooring.

• 18/08/12 #

Jesus lads if all ye can think about is your commute or the fact that climate change is boring we really are screwed. stop being so self absorbed and do something to change our situation or we’re all going to live in a world in which it is near impossible to grow food and extreme weather events constantly mess with our civilization. Just ask any farmer how difficult the growing has been this year and they’ll tell you ,freakishly difficult, like non of them have seen this sort of thing ever before and most of them are pretty damn old. Oh and by the way there’s nothing the government can do about high fuel prices in the long run, it’s high because production has been stagnent for the last 7 years, i.e. we simply cant pull enough out of the ground to keep up with demand. Next step is we start to see global production capacity begin to decline. Then you’ll see prices really go up and be wishing maybe you had looked for a job closer to home. I know it’s not your fault society lied to you and told you it was a good idea to live 80 miles from work but seriously for your own sake find something closer to home, preferably right beside your home because in less then 10 years you’ll be walking. visit http://www.peakoil.net for more info.

• Buy a bicycle. It’s only 200 miles from tip to end of this country.

• Aydo 03/03/12 #

Mopeds, motorbikes, awesome machines that cost less than a car to buy tax and fuel. If a little efforts your thing a bike or walk or run.
    Don’t complain about fuel prices when there is so many solutions. You can avoid paying.

• Price of petrol in Limerick City dropped this week from 1.60 to 1.58…..

Add New Comment