TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Better marketing of Dublin as tourist destination could create 27,000 jobs

A report recommends closer collaboration between various stakeholders and the creation of a Dublin specific brand to market to potential overseas visitors as tourism in Dublin fell significantly in the post-Celtic Tiger years.

O'Connell Street in Dublin city centre.
Image: Wikimedia Commons

BETTER MARKETING OF Dublin as a destination for overseas visitors will help the country’s capital city to realise its full potential, increase tourism numbers, increase revenue and create thousands of jobs, the Irish Tourist Industry Confederation (ITIC) has said.

In a report entitled Capitalising On Dublin’s Potential prepared for the ITIC a loss of competitiveness by official and commercial stakeholders involved in the process of attracting tourists to the capital has been outlined with recommendations for how this can be improved.

While the economic downturn has seen tourism numbers to the capital fall by over a fifth between 2007 and 2010, there was a return to growth of about 7 per cent in 2011 and so far in 2012 further modest growth seems likely.

But in the report, the ITIC says that greater collaboration between public and private bodies in the capital can deliver greater growth prospects.

Most notably the report states that improvements could conceivably create 27,000 jobs by 2020 above present levels, based on a Fáilte Ireland formula that every €1 million spent by visitors creates 36 jobs.

“A 6.2 per cent a year rate of increase for the period 2011 to 2020 would produce total overseas visitor spending in 2020 of €1.8bn,” the report states but in order to hit that target it makes a number of recommendations including:

• Closer collaboration between the country’s various tourism agencies, local government, the tourism industry, and the business community
  • In marketing material Dublin should not only be presented as the city itself but also the attraction of the wider Dublin county area should be emphasised.
  • A Dublin region-specific brand is needed for marketing.
  • A so-called Destination Marketing Alliance for Dublin or DMAD should be established which would work within Faílte Ireland and would draw on expertise from the tourism industry, local authorities and the business community.

The report says that there is no current model in other major European cities that would be ideal for Dublin but says that these cities have “structures in place to mobilise effective and sustained marketing campaigns”, seemingly unlike our own capital.

The report also details a number of trends when it comes to people visiting Dublin.

The number of overseas visitors to the capital reached its peak in 2007 when 4.5 million arrived and spent an estimated €1.5 billion.

Since then visitor numbers have dropped by one million or 22 per cent from 2007 to 2010 with a loss of revenue of about €5 billion – a drop of 30 per cent.

While the industry has recovered in the last two years – it grew by 7 per cent in 2011 and is expected to grow by 5 per cent this year – employment in the tourism industry in the capital has fallen from 70,000 in 2007 to 50,000 last year.

The report also states Dublin has 19,000 hotel rooms and a bed capacity of 43,800.

It carries a number of graphs which focus on visitor numbers from the UK and Germany.

For example, Dublin has lost nearly 40 per cent of visitors from Britain between 2005 and 2010, a significant loss of more than 500,000 annual visitors:

ITIC Arrivals from UK

By contrast a similar graph shows that visitors numbers from Germany showed an upward trend up to 2008 before falling slightly in the years that followed but still comparatively remaining ahead of other cities such as London, Vienna and Barcelona:

ITIC Arrivals from Germany

Read: Dublin plummets in global cost-of-living rankings

Read: New ‘Dubline’ tourism trail launched in the Capital

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• It’s particularly bad with drug users around OConnell St / Nth Earl Street junction and down Talbot St. I’ve noticed a better garda presence around that area but it must still look very bad to tourists, especially being so close to the spire.

• Maybe if we removed the junkies from O’Connell Street we might be able to market Dublin better. I work on the street and it’s like night of the living dead the majority of the time.

• and all the drug addicts in o connell street make for great sightseeing. im a proud Dublin man but no chance in Hell i would go to a place like here. openly selling heroin on our capitals main street? under the watchful eye of dozens of garda cctv. how can these addicts and dealers get away with it? its a shame

• Hmm find myself in some agreement with the less hysterical here. Dublin is a great city in many respects and should be a top destination but I usually wonder what everyone is coming for. The situation with drugs on the street, begging, anti-social behaviour etc is a huge issue in my view that is just not being tackled. That a city that markets itself as an historic capital city with beautiful architecture etc should have two large drug clinic on the doorstep of its main cathedral and its castle is a puzzle to me. The quality of attractions is quite poor in many instances. Sure a lot are free, and those that charge are usually competitive compared to continent or UK but the quality isnt great. Take Dublin Castle…hugely underperforming as an attraction. Its presentation, the use it makes of its spaces, the lack of exhibitions about what the Castle was for, the crappy signage and car parking in the yard…all yells “we don’t give a shit”. Some sites are great: Trinity, Kilmainham Goal (IMMA is another disaster..beautiful building butchered by crappy signage and carparks and hard to access from city centre), Storehouse, National Gallery (when its completed its refurb), National Museum. Major sites and attractions in the city need experienced people to help “present” these attractions to visitors.

We need to look at the quality of streets: its a bit of a free-for-all now in Dublin city centre. Shopfronts are crap, so many derelict upper floors, our famed georgian squares falling into ruin, vacant buildings that could be turned to new uses. The public realm is poor…pavements, streetlighting, clutter of signage…all needs a revamp and a consistent vision. Lack of trees and attractive places to stop and sit.

Retail: Nothing special there. We need to give out retail sector a quirky cutting edge. Create new retail and cultural areas such as The Liberties. Really push design and interiors. Good quality shopfronts, smart well maintained shopping areas.

I actually think food is one of the best things in Dublin. I dont think its hugely expensive anymore (drink is different and wine in restaurants is too expensive). Lots of good value with food and lots of creativity recently with places to eat.

Get out of Dublin and see the surrounds. But see what? I think the idea of a regional strategy is good. Tie in trips to south County, grand houses, activities, Wicklow Mountains…also the bay! We always forget the bay. Just a place to stick power stations and incinerators.

There are lots of things that can be done but it needs a big vision. Not just Failte Ireland tinkering around the edges. Dublin City Council need to come up to measure here. They have failed to maintain a good quality city centre.

And good quality centre or region is not just for tourists. Also attracts inward investment, large conferences and…. lets make this point US! A place we want to be in: live and enjoy.

• I’ve been to many cities as a tourist. Dublin is the only one where in the middle of the day I witnessed junkies and pushers transacting their deals in the city centre. It is so blatant that it prompts the question: why is it tolerated? I would no more recommend Dublin as a tourist destination than I would Pyongyang. Mind you, at least you’d be safe from junkies and muggers in the latter.

• create a dublin brand eh? the current government merged dublin tourism into failte ireland last year. are they now suggesting we need it again? pantomime.

• I have to disagree. Tourists don’t see the parts of the city that Dubliners do. And what’s available to them is almost as good as any other capital city in Europe. A wealth of culture and most of it free in our national museums and galleries… A plethora of walking, bus and even water tours. Parts of Dublin are extremely beautiful, and travel a bit further out on the DART north and you find yourself in fantastic malahide or Howth, or south for the ‘sorrento’ of Ireland. Tourists love it. The problem is they come looking for Irish food, traditional Irish pubs, people that can speak

• miriam 28/06/12 #

Well said. Just because we focus on the ‘bad’ side of Dublin doesn’t mean we should forget all the good stuff that happens around the city and it’s environs. Hopefully if commenters above were stopped on the streets by tourists they would take it upon themselves to sell our wonderful city/country. A bit of positivity!

• Sorry I didn’t realise I’d posted half of what I was saying, to finish-
      …people who can speak Irish, but an awful lot of what they are faced with, in between the bits of excellent culture, is bland franchises and branded shop after shop, the city is like one continuous high street. They are a dime a dozen, so easily accessible almost anywhere in the world.
      What needs to happen is that the Irish need to reclaim their culture and put the Irish back into the streets, then tourist spend will surge, its what they want and it wouldn’t hurt for us to feel proud of our heritage and who we are, because the last decade and a half seemed to be about systematically wiping out the things that make us intrinsically Irish.

• Exactly Miriam! :)

• I’m from Cork and living in Dublin. I’m not sure there isn’t a bit of hysteria by Irish people.

Most people in Cork say Dublin is a dump, but I ask myself where does an Irish person visiting Dublin go? They come up for events so they typically visit Croke Park, the O2, some of the alternative gig venues on the North side like the Ambassador, the Aviva, the RDS.

Now, the Aviva and RDS are in nicer (subjectively, of course) parts of Dublin, but where does an internal visitor arrive from?
    - Heuston station and a Luas/Bus from there (they meet junkies and scangers)
    - Red cow P+R and a Luas (they meet junkies and scangers)
    - Busaras (guess what, junkies and scangers)

So I’m not surprised Irish people who don’t live in Dublin think it’s a dump. For most Irish visitors, they visit the worst parts.

But if you look at the bus station / train station in any European city, it generally attracts the worst. When I go anywhere in Europe I think it’s nice, but I also make damned sure I know where I should go, and where I shouldn’t go. So this leaves me with a good lasting impression of a city, where I’ve ignored the bad parts (maybe walking through them in daylight to see some sights, but avoiding at night), and concentrated on the good parts.

So if I was a European visiting Dublin, I would apply the same approach.
    - I’d stay on the southside of the city centre, I’d get an aircoach from the airport – bypassing some of the worst of the inner city. Then I’d drop my gear and do a perimeter sweep of my hotel. If I saw anything I didn’t like the look of, I’d turn around.
    - I’d go for dinner, probably ending up around Sth William St or Stephen’s green, and then I’d go back to my hotel.
    - Next 2/3 days, or whatever, I’d have planned excursions. I’d stay around the better parts of the city centre in the evening, maybe chancing temple bar one night for the laugh. Anytime I went to a museum or something else I’d check the area against guide books, whatever, and take the same precautions I do in any other major city.

My point is, as a tourist I rarely see the underside of a city I visit, because I plan to visit the best bits, and I make sure I don’t go for the cheap hotel in a bad area. It’s easy to run down our cities because our architecture isn’t as interesting or whatever, but there’s a wealth of history and sights, still, in ALL of our cities that offer something for the discerning tourist, even if they’re not packaged/marketed well.

Any smart tourist does their homework first, and anyone who has travelled has seen beggars and junkies. Dublin is no different, and not that much worse or better than any other major city.

Are parts of Dublin a mess? Yes.
    Are parts of it very nice? Yes.
    Does every other major city have equal problems? I believe so.
    Are we likely to see all of them? No, because we don’t live and work in them, don’t read about stuff in the local papers like we do in Ireland.

I see no reason to run down any of Ireland’s cities.

• I think you are spot on. Been to plenty of European cities which have much the same problems as Dublin. I think the problem of druggies on the street is an issue that can leave a lasting impression, in much the same way that pickpockets figure highly in peoples comments about Barcelona or Prague.

However, if we are talking about developing the tourism potential of the city then we should be looking at how we make areas such as The Liberties or north Georgian city as inviting as the traditional southside area and Temple Bar.

• 27,000 jobs will not be created as a result of this. What an absurd suggestion!

• Fáilte Ireland don’t forget about the Ireland in your name, more to Ireland then Dublin and to be honest allot better holiday areas are outside Dublin city. The touristy parts of Dublin city can be done in a day, 2 days max. We need better marketing of Ireland and for Fáilte Ireland to kick the hotels and b&b’s up the a*se about the overpriced rates they charge.

• I’m a Dub through and through, but to be honest I wouldn’t dream of coming here on hols, as previous post says nothing but violence on streets of city at night, too much drink and not a lot to see. Other parts of the country are lovely, but we are still a rip off for eating out etc.

• Not a lot to see?!? What about the staggering number of quality museums, the friendly people (I agree the something needs to be done with beggars), the pubs, some decent restaurants, beautiful parks, the mountains, the coast, good shopping (even if it is a tad bit expensive), decent sporting venues, live music in abundance, not to mention some of the finest Georgian architecture in the world. That’s just a start. Too often we focus too much on the negatives when we’re spoilt with choice.

• If I came to Dublin as tourist , I would not come back.nnNo value for money, no sun.nnTown is full of junkies robbing people and shops.nnAt 8am in the morning you will see heroin and crack being sold.nnI witnessed this outside the IFSC.nnI’m a proud Dublin man but we really need to clean up our city before it is too late.

• There is value for money to be had. Many high quality attractions and parks are free, restaurants and pubs are offering great value food… Accommodation hasn’t been this good value for a long time. Most tourists never experience the stuff you might have over a lifetime.
      Travelling into town from the suburbs in any city you will see the cracks and the grime. What we experience as dubliners isn’t necessarily unique to Dublin. Paris, New York, Berlin, London, they all have these layers to them.

• Absolutely.

Implement a zero tolerance policy as they did in NY, get a bigger Garda presence within the city and deal with those who step out of line accordingly.

• 27000 jobs…. did ya ever hear such shite???

• just back from Jamaica where there was 563 murders so far this year, but still had a great time, Dublins v safe compared to most cities, the last tourist killed in Dublin was by a bus so enough of the hysterical tabloid crap, however its still way too dear, id never come back because of the prices, if more tourists are wanted THEN LOWER THE GREEDY PRICES

• Been in many cities around Europe and the US. Common sites include begging, prostitution, drugs, violence and warnings of theft. Not hidden away but in main areas. nI agree dealing and drug addicts in Dublin should be addressed. Still the city has many attractions no where else has. It is also no more expensive than many other cities and cheaper than others. You can only visit the cheap places so much. In other countries the recent violence in Dublin wouldn’t even be reported in the papers it is so common.

• Only reason i go to dublin is because of the airport,a match or some concert/event. As a tourist destination forget it.

• As a tourist to Ireland, I will visit Galway, west Cork, Kerry, the cliffs of Moher once and tick off the list, but Dublin I will visit over and over, i love the city, every big city has its problems but Dublin is a great city that i love.

• out of interest what keeps you coming back to Dublin, mainly what does it offer that u can’t get in Galway or Cork.

• Really you cannot compare Cork or Galway to Dublin, Dublin has everything you want in a city, it is big, has a great vibe about the place so much energy, it has a beautiful coast with many beautiful suburbs, it has the mountains, big parks. What more do you want in a city, i wish London had the same. I brought many friends to Dublin from London and not one complained, they loved the place, it reminds them of London, very similar.

• Dublin is a dangerous city. There is so much violence, drugs, drink. The place is out of control.nn

• Kerry 28/06/12 #

A tad hysterical of you.

• …said the culchie who has never left his own parish?

• Have you ever been to the UK Conor? Dublin is tame enough.

• @Lip Service. Here is one of your few tweets and ANOTHER reason to not visit Dublin:nn@TasteDublin Won’t be going again this year; the distinct aftertaste of a rip-off overwhelms the palette.n9:10am Mon Jun 11 via webnnI forgot to mention the rip off.

• Conor, as someone from Dublin with extensive travel experience, I absolutely agree. The sheer level of junkies, beggars and thieves littering the city during the day is abhorrent and the city at night, unless you’re in a group, isn’t a pleasant experience at best.

We’ve a beautiful city in terms of the architecture and history but my god is it packed with undesirables day and night these days.

I’ve walked around NY very late in the night by myself and felt significantly safer than I do walking around Dublin city at night.

What a shame!

• Sadly I agree with you Conor. I live in the city centre, have been for the past 22 years. I’ve seen Dublin go from good to extremely bad. At the moment the crime rate is high, just this week someone has been killed just off my road. Hearing of murders around my area is pretty common too. I’ve lived in the states, and have seen some extreme poverty over there. As we all know, gun crime in the states is pretty bad. But we seem to have this… ugly junkie era, so many drugged up people on our streets its an eye sore. What do we do about it? Nothing. Our beautiful city is slowly turning into a dump for gangland crime and heroin needles.

• All the beggars should be taken off the streets. That includes the annoying ones who are collecting for various charities by waving in your face.

• You think Dublin is dangerous, come live in London. I think marketing Dublin will bring alot more tourists to Ireland, it is your biggest attraction.

• Let’s have a concert in the park…

• @ Kerry @ Lip Service.
      Ring a ring a rosie….
      Unfortunately Dublin is a dangerous place and a scary place for visitors.
      Pat Kenny has been covering the problems for a week now.

• Absurd BS this report, were in heavens name do they expect to create 27k tourism based jobs in a city that already has too many hotels, restaurants and tourism related activities. As it is most museums are free as are the leading attractions. As it is I doubt a single hotel in dublin is turning a profit and besides, most are now being run on behalf of recievers et al. Sad to say that generally the tourism business in Ireland is in the toilet, its no longer about hospitality and more about getting as much revenues in the reduce substantial debts.

• True many cities like Washington and others have dodgy areas – but not in the dead center of the city the way Dublin does. It’s a fact of life that Dublin is probably quite rare in having so many flat complexes in the dead center of a city. At this stage if they aren’t going to watch over the area properly they should simply shift the center of the city from a tourist point of view – Baggot street > the center. Or North side Glasnevin> center.

Overall in terms of Ireland’s image central Dublin is doing more damage at the moment than good I think. If you came in first via Cork or Galway they would leave with a far better version of a holiday that actually matches the Failte Ireland TV ads. Many come just to Dublin and don’t get out of the city to see what really makes Ireland unique, which is a real shame as the center of the city is pretty horrible these days.
    IMO there really isn’t that much in Dublin for repeat visits that London or other cities might get – our few small museums/galleries never change, are closed most of the time and the city shuts down on Sundays.
    They seem to just assume people would go back again and again to see the Book of Kells or something – I don’t think so. It’s all very lazy thinking. If we had a proper Lord Mayor with powers maybe things would change but as of now I doubt it will.

• Legalise weed, get the tourism Amsterdam used to. Knock on effects for Dublin economy would be huge.

• Damn Right!

How about doing something about Dublin’s non-existent nightlife? Take a trip to Berlin, Warsaw, Riga, Tallinn or any other Ryanair destination and look how they do it. No closing time for bars, all night bus service (at regular prices, not extortionist NiteLink prices) in both directions. Affordable beer, legalized strippers, awesome night clubs with multiple dance floors and light shows to die for. Plus, a beer never costs more than 3 euros in most places. Right now Amsterdam is slowly closing its brothels and coffeeshops. There’s a market we should be picking up on but we don’t. Imagine the tourism that would bring in (hardly worse than the British stag parties that plague Temple Bar at the moment). We let ourselves be bullied into submission by Ruhama and the runt that used to be the KKKatholic church.

These East-European cities know they have to compete with each other and it’s why Michael O’Leary is now a billionaire. We’ve been too backward in this country and we treat people like children. We already have enough useless art shows and Irish dancing pubs (which are oversexed and fake anyway) yet whenever someone in Fallshort Ireland or the Irish Times comes up with suggestions, it’s always more of the same. Closing pubs early hasn’t stopped alcoholism and the smoking ban has only led to a cocaine epidemic and empty pubs.

Add New Comment