TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Bill Cullen to close two motor dealerships

Twenty-nine jobs to go in Galway and Ennis.

Bill Cullen with British  'The Apprentice' star and businessman Alan Sugar
Bill Cullen with British 'The Apprentice' star and businessman Alan Sugar
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

TWO OF BILL Cullen Motor Group’s Renault dealerships are to close, with the lost of  29 jobs.

The dealerships in Ennis and Galway will close shop on the second of July, a spokesperson told TheJournal.ie. Twenty jobs are to go in Galway and another nine in Ennis, “because it operates as a subsidiary to the larger Galway operation.”

In statement, the company said its two dealerships in Dublin would continue to operate as normal. The statement read:

Renault will announce separately its plans to distribute Renault vehicles and parts in the areas previously serviced by the Bill Cullen Motor group. Bill Cullen will continue to be a Renault dealer in Liffey Valley and Airside in Dublin.

Cullen’s motor group has been hit hard by the recession, with Renault taking over direct control of car distribution for the the car maker in 2007. However, he held onto dealerships in Liffey Valley, Airside, Galway and Ennis.

New car sales across the industry have continued to fall in Ireland, falling 19 per cent in May according to Simi, the Society of the Irish Motor Industry. It says sales of new cars are down 8.7 per cent over the last year. It predicted 75,000 new car sales this year compared to 90,000 in 2011 and 151,000 in 2008.

Cullen has had other more recent travails too. Last month TV3 pulled the plug on the ‘The Apprentice’, which Cullen fronted as the hard-nosed businessman.

Born into a family of 14, Cullen began working in the car industry as a messenger boy with Waldren’s Ford Dealership in Dublin. 9 years later he was running it, eventually becoming the largest distributor of Ford cars in Ireland. He bought the Renault franchise in 1986 for £1, eventually opening six dealerships across the country.

Read: You’re fired! The Apprentice will not be returning for fifth season >

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• Is it because they all lack the ‘liathróidi’ or because he can’t run a business?

• Both , its easy to be on top when things are going well and the economy is buoyant , the true test of any company is performance when things are tough, as Billy Ocean says “When the going gets tough the tough get going ” maybe not the top cat we all were lead to believe he was

• I hear he has applied for the UK apprenctice next year , he wants Lord Siucra to go into Business seling apples and oranges out of the boot of a french car , it think its going to be massive, of course Jaquire will be VP for oranges and the other fella will be assistant to the VP for apples.

• Even with scrappage, or as I personally like to call it ‘Bill Cullen’s Bailout’….

• Is this the same “Positive thinking” Bill Cullen? The “You got to keep positive” Bill? The “No excuse for people to be unemployed in Ireland. Work for free, start knocking on doors, stay positive” Bill Cullen? What a knob head

• Bill, your fired!

• I’m surprised the airside branch is still surviving! I Was in there recently enquiring about buying a new Megane! I nearly died on the spot when the salesman told me how much he was prepared to offer me for my 2008 Mazda! The Ford garage next door offered me 5000 more against a new focus!

• Maybe France will take back their Legion d’Honneur award off that jackass. Maybe if they didn’t gouge the hell out of the prices for cars they could keep their doors open.

• People just wont buy brand new cars anymore…they loose 1/4 of there value the minute you leave the garage. Ireland is a complete rip off for buying cars.

• You would of thought Bill could of talked the staff into working for free just like he would.

• alan 20/06/12 #

great news

all these ‘apprentice’ types getting a dose of thier own medicine.

those reality tv shows that push different value systems under the guise of being ‘games’ or entertainment really damage people, encouraging the worst kind of attitudes to life and to people

but hey, bill is all for entrepreneurship isnt he. so, it wont be any problem to him to get up at four every morning and sell a few more apples on the way to his next billion (though i would appreciate it if he could forgo the obligatory autobiography next time around

• You would be mad to buy a Renault what with all the problems they have, Bill has tried to flood the market with them in recent years with his double scrappage deals and so on, would buy a skoda over a Renault !! Feel sorry for the folks losing their jobs, hope Bill looks after them!!!!!!!!!

• We’re all missing the point…. It’s Renault! Not a reliable brand…. It was probably Jackies Botox bill which made the final decision…. And if I hear about his bloody golden apples one more time… You did well bill… StopnLooking for glory!!!

• While I sure Bill is a grand man – if he was not on TV3 sprouting a load of shit about selling apples, working for free, if your unemployed your basically a lazy fu*k, etc, etc. I’m sure the majority of people wouldn’t be leaving harsh remarks.

I wonder did he ask the staff to work for free to keep themselves busy?

• Ah Jaysus, Bill, come on! Ya gotta wurke haaard. I’m up since 2 meself.
    I suppose times are tough without your FF buddies to give you another bailo… sorry, scrappage scheme. You’d think he’d be doing alright though without those bleedin’ Gree-ins around anymore to wreck his business.

• Gangster!

• Very sorry for the poor staff who are losing their jobs in Galway.
    Also very sorry for all those people who were duped into buying a renault through the scrappage system….
    now every other car on the road in Galway is a renault…. but owners have no where to get them serviced ( maybe Claremorris is the nearest.. then Sligo – ridiculous )
    and no after sales service etc etc….
    and with the dire reputation that these cars have ( believe me I own one and the reliability is NIL ) they are banjaxed….
    THANKS BILL.. THANKS RENAULT.

• o how the mighty fall, its but a short time since this patronizing baffoon was lecturing us on unemployment. I feel sorry for his employees. Hmmmm bill, I hear there are openings on Moore street!, how’s the hotel business bill?

• Ahh Bill.

Our corrupt government and bank’s favorite cheerleader.

Have your mates turned on you Bill?

Your ”get up off your ass” theories might work better in countries with a level playing field, more up to date insolvency laws and honest banking practices.
    Not in this Banana Republic.

I was at a Bill Cullen seminar 6 years ago and he spoke highly of Charlie Haughey and how the got the IFSC open.
    He also preached that his property development company made more than his car business that year.

Hows things in the building game these days Bill?

• First Jay Bourke, then Sean Gallagher, and now Bill Cullen….nnAll the ‘business gurus’ as the media christened them, have shown themselves to be what they truly are …..full of wind fakes !

• Bill Cullen is the biggest fake of them all. The media darling RTE continuously roll out yet every time he opens his mouth he seems completely thick. He has been questioned about the economy, EU treaties and more recently Ireland’s chances in the football yet the only reply he is capable of is “Think positive, I believe in the power of thinking positive” and has a blank face of stupidity when pressed more…Gobs**te.

• But I thought Bill got up at 4am and worked 196 hours a day, why doesn’t he do this to save his business? Ahhh, cause it’s other people’s jobs.

• Ah Bill , Maybe you can have that lie in now ,you always say you never had . Instead of getting up at 4 ,you can lie on til six … and stop your whinging . It is a shame these jobs are gone ! Thing is Bill you are sorted and I am sure your pension is all in order. I hope you will look after your loyal staff now .

• Why are you being so horrible? When did he whinge? This man worked hard for his money – should we begrudge him his success?

• Bill Cullen is always Horrible, he is always bleating on about how hard he worked to get where he is….. He didn’t get where he is by being nice and fair and decent . He jumped, stood upon and harangued to be so ” successful”. He is of the type that counts success by the size of his bank balance . He is a horrible manipulative sarcastic person and like I said I hope he does right by his employees or is he ”blaming” them for their lack of effort to keep him going . This indeed is just my opinion .

• Have to agree with you on this one James.

@Susie.. You get nowhere in business by being the nice guy. Its really as simple as that.. What Ireland needs is more Bills and a lot less “I won’t pay any household tax, or any other tax for that matter”..

Getting freaking sick and tired of all the begrudgers. Atm it seems that if you are in any way successful it must be because you cheated and scammed your way to it.

• @ Brian,nnIn fairness it is quite true that to be successful in business you need the teeth and the stones. But still, there are plenty of people in Ireland who deem success a taboo. O’Leary, Cullen, Bono and Trap to name but the ones I’ve seen slated on The Journal this week alone.

• I do NOT BEGRUDGE any one anything as long as they are fair and non judgemental. I do not care about him or what he has done, he put himself there, because I have worked just as hard , if not harder , than these boyo’s. A lot of people have done and continued to do their fair whack and more to be successful in their lives .Look at the carers for instance or people struggling with mental or physical diabilities in their family. Are they to be trampled on ? I get sick and tired of people telling me where I am wrong, yet you and others like you will not put themswelves above the parapet to help or support those who can not stand up for themselves. . These guys you named ( not me) and Bill Cullen have led priveleged lives after they jumped and trampled their way to the top.
      Oh and by the way , as you did bring it up , I will never pay the hhc. It is an unfair and un just tax and immoral just as Enda said it was…
      I BELIEVE IN EMPATHY !

• Have to agree Susie, the guy is a smug prat with a chip on his shoulder. I admire a lot of business people, he is not one of them

• @ Susie, you are so wrong about Bill Cullen.. he is a very kind generous, business man..
      Your assumptions of him are outrageous and untrue, he is not money orientated like you think.

You will be hard pressed to find former employees bad mounting him like you are here and you don’t even know him.

• Karl Power
      Yes ok . What ever, ! I have seen him in action on tv , I have heard him give interviews ,this what I base my assumptions on and I find him thoroughly unpleasant, But then again I do not BOW to money , like so many of my country men / women do. This is the personna he gives …

• Your assuming he bows to money, well in my experience meeting him he never mentioned money, he is a bit of a slave to positive thinking and as far as I know he is not money orientated.

• @Susie

“I do NOT BEGRUDGE any one anything as long as they are fair and non judgemental”..
      Ehh, so you base on your WHOLE opinion of him on a TV show, and then you talk about being non judgemental.

And then you throw in “yet you and others like you will not put themswelves above the parapet to help or support those who can not stand up for themselves”.
      How did you get that from what I wrote? You clearly know nothing about him or me and then you start with this sort of talk.

Negativity is NOT going to help anybody, including the carers you talk about. (Which I might add I think are getting shafted big time and have been for a long time).
      What we do need are positive forward thinking people, who can and will take on the huge workload and risk it is setting up a company and supplying jobs.

“What ever”
      Exactly whats needed to get us out of this hole.. not.

• I’m sure the knob head will be working for free now…’Mr Positive”

• Karl and Brian.
      As I said , ”Whatever ! ”

• Golden Apples my arse.

More like Golden Envelopes

• Those staff probably had ideas in their brains waiting to come out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prx82O5K67c

• Oh be the hokey

• He bought the Renault franchise for £1 ? Bargain of the century.

• Rob 20/06/12 #

Anyone buying a car in 2012 is insane.

1. Rising commodity prices

2. Less competitive market

3. Expensive tax, tolls, parking, parking citations etc.

I gave up my car and have a Motorcycle which works out cheaper.

• I can see you now with a baby a toddler a 5 year old and a wife on the back of the motor cycle….

• In two to three years time there will be a shortage of 2-3 year old cars in the second hand market so it would be an investment assuming you could afford to trade it in or sell then. Its a gamble.

• Barry 20/06/12 #

Most people buying a new car in 2012 are in their 50′s or 60′s, likely have no mortgage and traded in an old car.
      Same people that have been doing it in 2011 and 2010

• People with growing families can’t do without a car. We just bought a 10 year old Volvo. My husband also has a motorbike to get in and out of work. Costs a lot but it’s a necessity as we have a toddler,baby on the way and 2 dogs as well as pretty large weekly shopping. Amazing how much money gets pumped out when you start a family. I can’t remember being able to afford things for me or my husband like clothes!!!!! :)

• Rob 20/06/12 #

karla carroll,

The gov’t needs to increase tax on cars – especially family cars. People can afford to pay more of their fair share like anywhere else.

• Rob 20/06/12 #

Laura Crowe,

Where is your source?

• Rob 20/06/12 #

Barry,

Pensioners have free travel so they have no need to live beyond their means. There will be stormy days to come.

• Rob 20/06/12 #

Itchy mcscratch,

Families ‘on a budget’ are driving SUV’s or estate wagons. I would question your definition of ”afford”.

• Well rob,when you have money left at the end of the month you can generally ‘afford’ to get something that’s not a necessity…..when you don’t have a penny left in your name at the end of the month then I would say you can’t afford to get something that isn’t an absolute necessity…..

• The comments of Susie Chester above are spot on.

• The tactics used in some of these dealerships in my direct personal experience are very aggressive and at times border on a scam. They are no loss. At least buying direct from the manufacturer you will get a somewhat ethical approach.

• Yeah couldn’t agree more Chris … dealerships charge monstrous prices
    but if you have a brand new renault bought through the scrappage deal then you are entitled to the free first service….
    you are entitled to the after sales care seeing as you just spent your hard earned cash
    plus its infinitely preferable to have the dealers stamp in the log book to show it has been diagnostically serviced and maintained to the ” renault high standards!! ”
    Not gonna happen now!!

• Begrudgery of working-class success and schadenfreude at businesses shrinking? Come on Ireland. We can do better.

Add New Comment