TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Chinese landowners setting themselves on fire over forced evictions

Ordinary Chinese are turning to desperate forms of protests as local governments continue to seize land to sell the usage rights to property developers.

Image: Amnesty International

VIOLENT FORCED EVICTIONS are increasing in China as local governments seek to pay off debts by seizing land and selling usage rights to property developers, Amnesty International said in a report on Thursday.

The report, “Standing Their Ground”, said growing numbers of Chinese have been forced from their homes in both rural and urban areas, with evictees sometimes beaten, imprisoned, or even killed at the hands of authorities.

“The pace of forced evictions has only accelerated over the past three years,” said the report, which the human rights group said was based on media reports and interviews with rights activists, lawyers and academics.

It said the increase in evictions stemmed in part from a construction boom stoked by a government stimulus program implemented to ward off the effects of the 2008 financial crisis.

The loosening of credit allowed local governments to take out loans on an “unprecedented scale”, but local governments soon found themselves unable to continue financing the projects, “so they sank deeper into debt”, Amnesty said.

Uploaded by 

China’s local-level governments are heavily dependent on revenue from land development projects, causing them to step up evictions to pave the way for such developments, the report said.

“In order to reduce their debt burden, they increasingly find their interests aligned with those of real estate developers,” it said.

All land in China is owned by the state or rural collectives. There is no private land ownership, but citizens can buy and sell rights to use land for up to 70 years.

The report said that eviction campaigns, sanctioned by local governments, “often employ coercive tactics in violation of international law”, including “physical intimidation and a range of violent acts”.

“There needs to be an end to the political incentives, tax gains and career advancements that encourage local officials to continue with such illegal practices,” Nicola Duckworth, Amnesty’s senior research director, said in a statement accompanying the report’s release.

State must provide homeowners with compensation

China introduced new regulations in 2011 which outlawed the use of violence during evictions, and stipulated that the state must provide homeowners with compensation which at least equals the market value of their land.

But the report said that the regulations did not cover homeowners in rural areas, where forced evictions are widespread, and were unevenly enforced by Chinese courts.

“Courts seldom accept forced eviction cases. When they do, they rarely rule in favour of the victim because judges do not want to anger their superiors,” it said.

China has seen widespread urban demolition and conversion of rural land for housing over the past few decades, as the economy has grown and cities have dramatically expanded during a period of rapid economic growth.

Such evictions are a key spark for violent protests that erupt on a regular basis across China and are typically suppressed by authorities.

- © AFP, 2012

Read: Thousands of Egyptians facing forced evictions from slums: report>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (33 Comments)

• Back to the dark ages .

• The Chinese government never came out of the dark ages. The treatment of there people to make profit and to stay in power has been horrendous

• The whole world is regressing back to that period slowly but surely with the establishment system that is in place .Stagnation and disintegration.

• 11/10/12 #

Feudal China was exceptionally brutal to its people. Maoist China was exceptionally brutal and savage, probably the most savage and evil Govt. in the last 100 years, maybe longer. State Capitalist China is just back to being exceptionally brutal.

People are viewed as utterly worthless in China

My great worry is that as China becomes the dominant power in the world that it will serve as a template to the roll back of democracy and workers rights across the world. There are no shortage of tea party nutter types that would love to see it happen.

• True Mr Egg :) Communism is on the rise throughout the world not by the people’s choice but by Governments .Maybe they used Capitalism to achieve communism its looking that way to me anyway.Totalitariian superstates as such.

• Nice to get an update on how the Irish governments new friends are getting on.

• I can’t believe that the Irish government will overlook this kind of thing in order to feast off the crumbs from China’s table. Makes me sick and ashamed.

• I should probably acknowledge the twisted arrogance of my own post before someone else calls me out on it. In the modern age it is fairly difficult to escape the grasp of the claws from the red dragon economy. Therefore contributing to the increase in this regimes power.

Nearly everything I use on a day to day basis is either manufactured or has some components manufactured in China. From the relatively cheap computers and smart phones to the gym equipment I use and the plates I eat off….the majority of what I own is made over there. If the iPhone was manufactured in Ireland it would cost roughly €3600 to purchase one.

Ethically I cannot abide by the actions and policies of the Chinese government….financially I cannot live and work without them.

All the same the average person is only supporting this indirectly through their purchases…I have a problem with my elected representatives rubbing elbows and having a grand aul time at functions with the Chinese government representatives, when stuff like this happens.

• do you really think the rest of the developing world could do without China, some one ?
      to export to/ to import from,
      ,why don’t people know what is really happening in the real world of economics before going off !! at the mouth.

• @Patricia – I apologise but I can’t really comprehend what you are asking me?

• If a trade embargo were to be introduced by Ireland it would be the end of us. We are totally dependant on China and we dug the hole we are in ourselves. When people buy clothes or household products including cars etc we are supporting China. It’s too late as people will still buy runners and track suits from the cheapest source which is China — then they wonder why there is no jobs.

• Got to love the Marxist state land theory.

• 11/10/12 #

China is the ultimate capitalist state at this stage. Has been for the last 25 years. Not that Maoist China was a paradise. More like a Sate wide Belsen.

• Jesus! World leaders should slap a blanket trade embargo on China until the government drags itself into the 21st century. Imagine the increase in manufacturing in the Western world. The goods would be a tad more expensive though..

• Dec Rowe 11/10/12 #

The little man will not stand in the way of progress in a communist regime!

• Authority Figures are doing this type of forced eviction in Ireland every day of the week and not a word about it! Families are kicked out of their HOMES because they can’t pay their mortgage due to losing their jobs! Sad But True!!!

• Hardly this type of eviction. The Chinese Tennants are being “beaten, imprisoned and even killed”. I’m not sure, but I haven’t heard of the guards killing people to evict them.

• andrew 11/10/12 #

Agree with Anthony.

Also do China have the same system of social welfare to take care of their citizens when they lose their jobs..? Dont think so

• “Anthony” why don’t you comment on the story? Why bother commenting on my comment? Can you not comment on the story your self and leave other people’s comments alone!!! Oh and by the way! “Would it not nearly kill you if you were ran/throwing out of your HOME?”

• Your comment had a false statement in it, that’s why I replied to your comment, to correct you. The people at the journal added the “reply” button for a reason. And your other statement, would being kicked out not kill you. Perhaps it would, but not as directly as the Chinese police are doing to their citizens. Your anger has gotten the better of you in your comments, and they in turn have false segments in them.

• Excuse me, Anthony but your reply to me is false, were in my comment is there a false statement??? Are people not been kicked out of their homes in Ireland? Plank

• Iwantjustice5, this story is not comparable to Ireland and anyone saying so is an out an out scaremongering moron.

Nobody here is having their land violently taken from them to sell to developers. It’s not nice that people lose their houses but it’s not going to literally kill them. The reason is also different in Ireland than in the above story. the conditions of a loan is that you fulfil the payment conditions otherwise you lose the security.

• Well said shanners. You saved my fingers the strain. Thank you.

• iwantjustice5
      you can not in any way link Ireland and China culturally no matter how much you might want to, for effect !!
      China is so deep in tradition , Ireland can not even encourage the Irish to speak Irish , because its a dead language ?
      the Irish Government, as bad as it may be !is not without challenge, the people can demand better.
      you can own your own land, sell it and make money out of it.
      nothing like China !

• what would you think would happen if you can’t pay the rent ? If I can’t pay the rent I will end up in a cardboard box ?

what do you think the the rest of the world is like ?? some one in Ireland voted the government into power > who ?
      at times you would think no one voted at all.

• There is a book I read called the cost of living by Arundhati Roy a few years ago . It would make you cry to think of the way indigenous people continue to be bullied out their homes and off their land all over the world .

• Boycott Chinese goods . Start with iPhones !

• king olaf
    no reply required, i just get fed up with people who are not intouch with the real world, what happens in china could never happen in ireland
    nor could the rest of the world do without china i believe ,

• I never said it would happen in Ireland though…and I wasn’t suggesting we cut off ties with the Chinese…even if we manufactured our own electronics and stuff we would still need them for their mineral resources. It is just a shame we can’t do something about it…

Add New Comment