TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Clare TD’s fury at Fianna Fáil proposal for Limerick “land grab”

The Dáil voted down a proposal from Niall Collins to include some border areas of Co Clare under a new Limerick council.

Clare and Limerick have had some battles on the field over the years - a local rivalry that spilled over to the Dáil today.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

A LABOUR TD has accused Fianna Fáil of attempting a “land grab” by proposing to bring some parts of Co Clare under the new local authority planned for Limerick.

FF’s environment and local government spokesman Niall Collins – himself a Limerick TD – had proposed an amendment to local government legislation going through the Dáil.

His plan – which met with the ire of Labour’s Michael McNamara, a Clare TD – would have brought Shannon Banks, Westbury, Carrig Meade and Athlundard in Co Clare under the jurisdiction of the planned new Limerick Local Government Authority.

That authority is due to take effect from the 2014 local elections onward, replacing the current city and county councils operating in the historical County Limerick area.

Collins’ proposal would also have seen some parts of the University of Limerick campus – which includes three bridges over the Shannon to include small pockets of Co Clare – reassigned to fall within the Limerick area.

“In order for the job to be complete and have Limerick City recognised in its totality, these parts which are urban centres should form part of the greater Limerick City area, as part of an administrative area under the new single authority,” Collins told the Dáil.

While there would be “small little squabbles over parts of county boundaries”, Collins said, “we have to arise above that.”

He noted that planning minister Jan O’Sullivan, who was presiding over the debate on the government benches, was herself a TD for Limerick City.

“I don’t have to teach you, minister, as a representative of Limerick City how to suck eggs,” the Fianna Fáil deputy said.

All politics is local

Labour’s McNamara was not as enthusiastic about the county boundary being adjusted to remove some of his home turf.

He said that whatever about Limerick being recognised in its totality, he wanted “the totality of County Clare to be recognised once and for all”.

“Not only was Aer Lingus privatised by Fianna Fáil so it can leave Clare on a whim, [and] not alone was Aer Rianta International transferred to the Dublin Airport Authority, now Mr Collins is proposing that part of Clare be transferred into Limerick City,” he said.

McNamara added – to the agreement of O’Sullivan – that the University of Limerick, when making its submissions to an earlier commission investigating proposed changes to the county border, had not proposed to move the Clare parts of its campus into Limerick.

O’Sullivan, responding officially, said proposals involving county boundaries “always give rise to very strong feelings” and said that while there was some “logic” to Collins’ idea, the government would not accept the amendment.

The question was put, and a majority of the members present voted against the amendment. Collins did not look to summon the rest of his party for a follow-up vote.

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• As a Clare man I’ve no problem what so ever with these urban areas that extensively use the services of Limerick coming under the auspices of Limerick City for local authority purposes. It would be more efficient and save both time and exchequer funding. I wonder Deputy McNamara, would your outburst have something to do with the number of votes you received from the area more than what is actually best for the area and people in question?

• You hear them say “he lives near the Limerick Clare border” as if we were to see barbed wire, sand bags and gun towers…….. Parish pump politics

• All of the areas mentioned are suburbs of Limerick city , all of the people in these areas , shop , socialise etc in Limerick and you have Michael McNamara talking about land grabbing , this is rediculous it makes perfect sense that these area would fall under Limericks soon to be amalgamted councils , ecomomies of scale, cheaper provisoon of services , but no yet agin parsih pump before the right thing to do .

• Agreed, I am from the area and the majority of people from there, work, shop, socialise and send their children to school in Limerick.

• I’d feel the same but i’d also imagine clare council are thinkin at the back of their mind that if they lose a large % of population theres a lot of revenue would be lost through taxes etc. nearly half of cork city is under county durisdiction, and while i know its not the same as they’re both the same county, the same argument has been brought up on numerous occasions.

• But there is no good reason to remain part of Clare, they have no interest in this part of the county until it comes to collecting taxes. You could get lost in the pot holes in Westbury, this is an estate that is over 20 years old and the council still haven’t taken it over.

Even on the main road as you go from Clare to Limerick, once you hit the bridge you notice straight away. The road is smoother, the bridge is well maintained. It’s just a ridiculous situation and the boundary should have been moved a long time ago!

• When you have to pay Limerick insurance rates, don’t go crying. If you follow this logic, why not extend Dublin into Kildare, Meath, etc ,because most of the people work, shop, socialise in Dublin. Even when a child is born in Clare, the birth has to be registered in Limerick, they have stole our birth right now they want to steal our county.
      Ecomonies of scale me arse, did it happen with the HSE? Decissions will be made for Limerick at the expence of those areas, where would the next South Hill be built?

• Danny, what’s this about birth certs? I was born in Ennis and my birth is registered there and not Limerick.

• Fagan's 24/05/12 #

At Danny, won’t it still have a Clare postal address, so why would it change the premiums. The only difference is that the services would be managed and planned as part of the entire city by Limerick Council.

• Dave 24/05/12 #

“Stolen our birth right”…sweet jesus, would people ever get a grip.

• maura 24/05/12 #

Eoin The only way you can be born in Clare now is a home birth, otherwise you are born in Limerick or Galway if you live in Clare or Tipperary

• It really doesn’t help to have this article accompanied by a picture of two GAA teams. The sooner we disassociate local government with historic county boundaries the better. This doesn’t mean that you are any less of a Clare man if you happen to live in an area which is administered by Limerick City Council any more than it makes a difference whether you live in Fingal or South Dublin – you’re still a Dub!

• I actually voted for that Labour woodener – well, there was no ULA or SF candidate.
    He has nothing to say on mortgage debt, unemployment, the austerity treaty or anything else. Just ‘wahoo, up the Banner’.
    I suppose he knows that the county boundaries were set out by the Normans and not Brian Boru.

• Sorry johnny i didnt realise ye are so sensitive in tipperary.if u are so easily upset by one comment i wonder how ye will feel on sunday evening when our neighbours & good friends from limerick beat ye on sunday in thurles?

• County boundaries? COUNTY BOUNDARIES? Are people really that stupid that they get all bent out of shape over county bloody boundaries? The UK regularly moves county/shire/city/town lines because those lines exist for one reason and one reason alone, ease of administration. This sentimental attachment to lines drawn on a map, in the 16th Century, by the English, is beyond stupid and embarrassing. Please grow up.

• Paul,nailed it in one. It’s a n admits ratify boundary. Clare has no main interest in it at all. It’s about lines in the sand and good administrative divisions. Anyone who knows the area and is not so excited by irrational territoriality will see the logic of moving what was a string of opportunistic development just outside the planning control of Limerick City to benefit from it location. Move the line and get on with it. They elect there TDs for the Limerick City constituency. And people wonder why this country never reaches its potential!

• Why not settle it in a game of hurling? I assumed the story was about hurling when I first saw the picture

• B7584 24/05/12 #

Did WW2 not start with a land grab?? :D

• Dave 24/05/12 #

And of course McNamara has to bring Shannon airport into the debate. Broken effing records.

• Didn’t FG float the idea of reducing the number of TDs to 120. Another promise to the voters binned as soon as power beckoned.

• When a London based civil servant devised these imaginary boundary lines back in the 16th century to assist in the Elizabethan attempts to pacify Ireland, he couldn’t have imagined we’d take them so readily to our hearts.

Nationalism, even on a local level like this, just makes me want to facepalm.

• Collins is a loon anyway. speaks before thinking

• Exactly the things National TDs should NOT be concerned with.

• Agreed , tell your boss Hogan to get one thing right , shut McNamara up and get it done , then start amalgamating the councils up and down the after we clear out the dead wood that allowed ghost estates with no services to be built on Flood plains all over the country . Let’s get self-financing, accountable councils working for the people not their own self-preservation. Maybe then we wouldn’t have to look at the likes of Healy Rae, Lowry et al taking up space in national parliament on 140 k year . David will you chmpion this drive ?

• McNamara is as wrong as hell on this.

• At least Clare co co aren’t doing what Kilkenny co co are doing & trying to house all their travellers in suburbs of Limerick like Kk are doing in Ferrybank in Waterford. Nasty & wrong behaviour but typical of Kk co co

• On a completely separate note why are there two tipperarys?? :/

• There should be 4 councils, dublin city, greater Dublin, Leinster, and the rest.

• Sorry but the simple fact is that these areas are in another county, and Limerick has no jurisdiction there. I doubt there is much different between LCC and CCC as they are all pretty useless anyway. Butt you can propose to take over an area just because its close to a city. If thats the case will Newport be in Limerick in a few years too. County lines are county and cannot be changed on the idea of one individual TD.

• Fagan's 24/05/12 #

Newport is too far out from Limerick but if it made for more effective local Govt. better services, then is should run by Limerick greater council, which will shortly manage city and county.

Why shouldn’t the people in theses areas be part of an integrated plan for the one city/suburbia that they live in. What has the county borders got to do with anything. These people will still be part of Clare GAA but when organizing services,road provisions it has to deal with County Clare, and they have to co-ordinate with Clare co.co besides though it should be country and people before King Henry viii’s county settings.

Clare county used to be in Connaught, it’s borders were only last set 110 years ago.

County lines should be changed when it improves the lives of people there.

I can’t understand your thinking at all. Is it any wonder that the country is so bolloxed and that so many have to leave.

• Cavan 24/05/12 #

It’s a long way from Clare to here

HANDS OFF THE BANNER

Add New Comment