Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

College registration fee could hit €3,000, warns education minister

Ruairi Quinn signs a USI pledge in February, promising not to raise student contributions if he was in government after the election.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THIRD-LEVEL STUDENTS could be asked to pay up to €3,000 to register for college each year by 2015, the Minister for Education has hinted.

Ruairí Quinn told an audience of students in the University of Limerick that the registration fee paid by third-level students at the start of each year would be up by €250 next year and would likely keep increasing.

The Irish Independent’s Katherine Donnelly quotes him as saying the fee was “probably increasing up to €3,000″ in the coming years, essentially confirming that registration fees could continue to rise.

The increased fee – which was introduced in 1996 in lieu of full tuition fees, and originally stood at £150 – is paid by all undergraduate students, though students receiving maintenance grants have the charge paid by their local authority.

Quinn’s comments may indicate, however, that the government does not plan – for the moment at least – to remove the free undergraduate fees scheme which was introduced when Fine Gael and Labour were last in government.

Gary Redmond, president of the Union of Students in Ireland, said his union had been “incredibly concerned” that the fee – now formally classed a ‘student contribution’ – would continue to rise into the future.

“There was always the suspicion that the minister was going to increase it over the lifetime of his government, and pander to his backbenchers,” Redmond said.

Redmond said his understanding was that the fees would increase in €250 increments at least during the lifetime of the current Dáil, and that the moves were making third-level education a “less viable option” for most families.

“This increase won’t give colleges a single cent,” Redmond said, claiming that the 2012 Budget had simultaneously cut funding for third-level institutions while at the same time increasing the student contribution.

Three more ITs to seek ‘technological university’ status

Read Next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• john g mcgrath 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Looks like his word and signature are worth nothing.continuity F F rolls on

• Mensah Mensah 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Another lie…i remember b4 they came to power telling us a different story…they really think we r ejjits…

• D Burns 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Unfortunately, That’s because we act like eejits by letting them walk all over us. It will continue as it is until a stand is taken by the people.

• Inda Kinny 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Fine Gael, ramming a massive fist up the a** of the knowledge economy since 2011.

• Stephen Maher 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What a muppet!!

• Thobiasinkblot 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

since when is €3000 free maintaining ‘the free fees introduced by the coalition’?

• D Burns 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’d say the TDs never have to think about the dent €3000 would make in a families income; they’d rack that up in a few weeks petrol expenses for “going” to the Dail Eireann everyday!

• Report this comment

Their laundry allowance would cover it ffs. They have no concept of money at all.

• Jay funk 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i hope this is the straw that breaks the camels back, and the students get out and protest, it will give a movement for others to get behind, most downfalls of goverments by protests have started with student protests.

Report this comment

did you learn that in college Jay? if so, this might explain why we have a government who claim to be intent on preventing access to third level education.

Report this comment

that should have said seem intent on preventing … maybe I should go back to college … oh no wait

• Bernadette Dunne 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

And then when Students do protest they are not supported by general public they are even condemned for taking a stand. The whole country should be on the streets over ALL THE BONDHOLDERS PAYMENTS and ALL THE AUSTERITY MEASURES…. RAISING TAXES never brings any country out of recession

• Alan Hayes 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Labour are headed for a Green like demise. Quickly.

• Paul Mekitarian 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What about FG? Do ypu think they are the innocent party or something. Kenny is the EU’s lapdog performing tricks for a pat on the head and being told that he’s s good boy. There was never a difference between them amd FF and now they’ve just proved it. Time for a new party, a people’s party, otherwise there is nobody left to vote for because SF are no alternative rven if they are saying app the popular rhetoric.

• B7584 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

LIARS, once again.

• Shauna McDermott 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I think its interesting that Labour seem to be the Govt. party pushing the really unpopular measures – cuts in social welfare, rise in student fees, and Sean Sherlock’s appalling stance on the copyright bill. Oh and we have Eamon Gilmore taking the flack for the closure of the Vatican embassy. Obviously Fine Gael are taking a hammering too, but I really think Labour is going to pay for the above at the next election.

• Paul Mekitarian 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If they were fees they could be claimed against tax but they are contributions which uncannily are not tax deductible. Clever bastards.

• Report this comment

They are tax deductible for every student paid for after the first.

AKA if a parent has three children at third level they will pay the full contributions for the first child and also pay full for the next two but will be able to claim tax back off these fees.

• Jason Culligan 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

And this is one of the reasons I left in the first place. My fees last year were €1670 and rose to €1700 this year. Hell of a lot less than what these muppets are looking for. It really isn’t difficult for the young and educated to just leave so why are this shower driving them away?

• Byron Smith 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

surely the minister should know how education fees will rise as set out by his government?

• man in the cat 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Imagine the majority voted FG in, that is the height of stupidity. I thought before the election it was obvious that they were FF lite.

• Val Kearney 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There goes the idea for our world renowned and globally envied knowledge based economy out the window so…Congratulations lads. Can the last one to leave the country make sure the drive the last nail in?

• Norman Hunter 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

People please can you not see this is how the government intends to reduce class size in third levels colleges if it works they might roll it out for primary schools.

• Report this comment

And this is why they should just bring in a student loan system and be done with it.

It would mean actual equal opportunities for everyone to attend third level, everyone will pay for their education (which will probably also increase motivation amongst students), will lead to a better standard of education and get rid of these ridiculously high “student contribution”

• Iain Murray 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I have mixed feelings about the student loan idea. I’m not convinced of the wisdom of taking the responsibility of financing third level education and giving it to the banks.

Also, generally speaking graduates can expect to earn more than non graduates, (I know I’m generalising there, but on average) this improved income means greater tax contributions, so in reality they end up pain got back in the long run anyways. If students have to self fund through college and end up in debt because of it, there should be tax breaks available on the repayments of student loans when they start earning and paying them back. Otherwise it’s a double whammy.

• Iain Murray 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Pain got = paying it

• John Wooldridge 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Lying and useless Labour and FG Bastards. They should be dragged out of Leinster House and Hung like Pinatas around the streets of Dublin.

• Gerard Murphy 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Quinn should do the honourable thing and resign his seat, he was elected on the basis of either a lie or incompetence.
    He needs to relearn what socialism and truth stands for.

• Norman Hunter 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reference the story about the English minister resigning for a speeding ticket,Ministers in Ireland have refused to resign over far more serious matters.

• Janet Coyle 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Have 2 agree with u there the whole shower of them are a pack of liars they should all resign my Mam God rest her used 2 say they will tell ye anything 2 get elected then once they are in they don’t want 2 know u

• Anthony Dunne 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Its about time students faced up to the reality of modern life in the 21 st century and realise that there is no such thing as a free lunch,students for a change should go out and seek some part time work to help offset the cost and worry less about the current price of dutch gold or golden virginia rolling tobacco, learn to stand on their own feet pay their own way and stop sponging off already cash strapped parents

• Jimmy Casey 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ya, free education is not ‘all that’. Letting the well off and not so well off get educated to the same level has to be stopped. Lets cut all OAPs too, if they want the money, they can work for it.

• Iain Murray 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

All students yeah? Typical generalised comment.

• Anthony Dunne 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Go to any student campus bar and see how the students are suffering, get your priorities right , most students will spend at least 3000 euro on booze / smokes p.a. so get rea,l no pain no gain, cut out on your social expenses and your fees will not be problem , its simple

• Tony Skillington 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

That picture will haunt the knob head and the Labour party for years to come…..just shows how out of sync they are with real life and how’d they tell and promise us anything just to get their hands on power. Enjoy it Quinny….you’ll be a long time getting back in there.

• Jackie Crowe 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

shoot quinn, shoot enda, and bruton, and,,,,,,, only way out, sorry, but we have not even started recession yet, there will be no home owners if you have a mortgage, there will be no beds for our elderly, my brother takes care of my dad, his in a wheel chair and dimensia, and took care of my mom who died of cancer after 2 years and he cant get carers, and makes 150 on unemployment, now you heat a house, feed , doctors apts

• Blaine Ryan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The last few weeks I’m been considering packing in my safe, “decent paying” government job to go to college and get myself an education like I’ve always wanted but now I really don’t know what to do… :\

• Karl Doyle 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder could that pledge be seeing as a legal contract, they really should have made him sign a proper contract that had serious consequences if he done what he is doing now, hit them where it hurts, the pocket.

• Robert McDonnell 13/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I think at three grand they could have the decency at least to stop calling it a ‘registration fee’.

In Trinity, annual registration takes ten minutes. So of this were truly a registration fee, we are to believe that those charged with overseeing registration set a fee of €18,000 per hour? I’m fairly sure that’s not the case. (based on the proposed €3,000 per student).

I can see we need the money, but calling three grand a registration fee is just an insult to the ‘intelligence’ we seem so proud of internationally.

Add New Comment