You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

Cooke report into 'bugging' of GSOC headquarters to be published tonight

It is unknown when the report in to the bugging of GSOC headquarters will be published.

Updated 1.50pm

THE COOKE REPORT into the alleged bugging of the headquarters of the Garda Síochána Ombudnsman Commission (GSOC) is expected to be published before 9pm tonight.

The Cabinet is due to meet at 7.45pm this evening to consider what is being described as a “comprehensive” report before it is published sometime after 8pm.

Speaking on his way into Government Buildings this morning, the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin said that he has not seen the report yet. 

“I haven’t seen the Cooke Report and I don’t know what’s in it,” he said.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny confirmed on Friday that he had received a final copy of the report and it is believed that he has been studying it over the weekend.

It had been expected that the report, which was commissioned in February following reports of “unlawful surveillance” of GSOC, would be published this week.

Retired High Court Judge John Cooke was tasked with conducting an independent inquiry into the alleged bugging of GSOC headquarters by the then Minister for Justice Alan Shatter.

Signals were picked up on a phone in the offices and wifi anomalies emerged following a sweep of the building by a security firm.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell 

Read: Taoiseach’s office has GSOC bugging report but he hasn’t seen it yet>

Read: GSOC investigate fatal road crash after pursuit by gardaí>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute Stephen Allen
    Favourite Stephen Allen
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:00 AM

A knee jerk reaction like this is madness, we need to protest. Show the government we want enforcement of the laws we already have rather than more nanny state laws to catch out people on their way to work. If I’m in a stolen car all I need do is drive the wrong way down a duel carriageway and the Guards can’t follow for fear of loosing their job

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:46 AM

@Stephen Allen: I read many years ago that Ireland is one of the most legislated countries in europe, apparently you dont know what law you’ve broken until your charged. Its the easy option to put laws in place and prosecute rather than enforce laws that are in place

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 8th 2023, 12:10 PM

@Stephen Allen: Well said and 100% correct

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:01 AM

McEntee, one of the most incompetent ministers in a generation. Not to mention how important the Justice portfolio is yet here she is. Completely out of her depth. She’s not alone though. Varadkar, Harris, Madigan etc. Woefully incompetent. No wonder our little island is banjaxed.

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:07 AM

@Andrew Kenny: I have to agree worst in history….i would assume its also going to cost an absolute fortune to change all the speed limit signs around the country or am i wrong ?do they leave it to each county council to change the signs in their district?

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:33 AM

@Andrew Kenny: wait for the sf bashers to come out. They cant be much worse than these guys whose parties have a long pedigree in mismanagement of the nation. Lets pretend its a night out and see if we can get screwed by someone other than the usual same old same.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:00 AM

@Andrew Kenny: She’s a possible future leader of FG and therefore, a possible future Taoiseach, believe it or not !

CTW
    Mute CTW
    Favourite CTW
    Sep 8th 2023, 12:02 PM

@Spanner: The SF bashers are at work!

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Sep 8th 2023, 2:41 PM

@Andrew Kenny:
    At least they show up , unlike McEntee -” works ” from home .

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Sep 8th 2023, 3:31 PM

@Sean Walsh: oh that’s actually a horrific taught because its actually true….that could be the future of Ireland…. only thing is she would probably do the same as she has done as a minister and only do it part-time between maternity leave and holidays stuff like that….so we might get a capable deputy running the show for at least 2 years of her tenure if she was in charge of the country….

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:11 AM

Something strange about this person McEntee.
    She has the aura of someone who has been compromised. Comes across as an automaton, no soul, just a monotonous programmed response to every question as if she does not fully comprehend her ministerial brief and is preoccupied with trying to remember the script her advisors have given her
    She’s an inept malleable appointee ideal in modern political circles.
    I would imagine that if an advisor playing a practical joke told her that anarchy was to be the new establishment approach to social order she’d stand before the cameras and repeat the same.
    She hasn’t a clue what’s going on.

Mute Daphne Graham
    Favourite Daphne Graham
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:57 AM

@Tommy Haze: well said, a wooden puppet!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 8th 2023, 12:14 PM

@Tommy Haze: Helen McEntee is more suitable for the camera lense than the Minister for Justice. She is a F joke .

Mute Bomber
    Favourite Bomber
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:25 AM

They’re fixated to speeding as the main cause of road fatalities . We already have enough laws but not being enforced.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:13 AM

Speed is not the main factor behind most road fatalities.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:15 AM

@Fintan Stack: however if life was prioritised over speed van revenue we might see them on roads where accidents typically occur.

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:14 PM

@Fintan Stack: what is then if not speed?

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:51 PM

@M To The B: Crap driving.

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:05 AM

More traffic guards needed not replacing traffic signs at what cost there not enough traffic guards to enforce traffic violation

Mute Joe x
    Favourite Joe x
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:24 AM

A blanket lowering speed limits is a knee jerk reaction. If people are going to break the current limits, they will break the new ones. Enforcement is the real issue. Once that is sorted, then review the speed limits and adjust as needed, both up and down. Until then they are wasting time!

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:37 AM

@Joe x: They’re not though Joe, there’s money to be made right now. The sooner they lower the limits the sooner it starts rolling in. Ching Ching.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sep 8th 2023, 3:29 PM

@Regular John: They don’t have to even do anything. The hermeneutic cycle of tricking ourselves completes another turn.

Mute Chett Richards
    Favourite Chett Richards
    Sep 8th 2023, 9:52 AM

Wait until after the devastating election sure.

Sep 8th 2023, 10:07 AM

Imagine the cost alone of changing all the road signs

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:28 PM

Not really. Simple respray? Better than leaving them to rust on the poles!

Mute John finn
    Favourite John finn
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:17 AM

Helen McEntee go now. Dustin the turkey would do a better job.

Mute TheBolt
    Favourite TheBolt
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:12 AM

I’m curious to know, if accidents causing death are up or down? A single bus crash causing 70 deaths is a completely different situation to 70 single vehicle deaths. Are there more accidents, or just more passengers in the vehicles, in those accidents?

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:34 PM

@TheBolt: Sure a bus isn’t a plane.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:01 AM

“These are the facts that are emerging”… they’re not exactly emerging. They’ve been known since cars needed to be tested, but a great soundbite nonetheless! No mention of why as usual.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:59 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: the nebulus facts that only the relevant minister gets to see. We just have to go on blind faith that our government are doing whats right and we’ve seen how thats worked out for us. No imagination in the top echelons of our state just dumbing down reactionary tactics, sound bytes and brute force tactics that treat the citizens like children instead of treating us like we have a brain

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:14 AM

“Legislation takes time and unfortunately, it comes down to making sure that you make the right decision. I know he’s talking about reducing speed limits in certain areas. That’s borne by facts,” she said.”
    What are these facts exactly?
    No question, some driver see the speed limit not as such, but a target. That’s down to driving behaviour.
    How do they get the numbers and come to the conclusion that recent peak in fatal accidents is down to speed?
    If a car is hitting a wall at 80km/h, passengers died, is speed automatically the cause,
    because nobody can explain what happened in the car, that might have cause this accident?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:45 AM

@Wolfgang Bonow:
    You are assuming this is about road safety ? It’s all about the $$$, nothing more. The placement of the cameras shows that. In the UK they put cameras on dangerous roads and inform drivers, here we put them on the safest roads and hide them behind bushes. Ching Ching.

Mute Monty Carlow
    Favourite Monty Carlow
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:56 AM

Road repairs please, its costing a fortune for car owners to get steering and suspension issues resolved.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:30 PM

I suppose that’s one way of slowing them down.

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Sep 8th 2023, 12:10 PM

Reducing the speed limit in Dublin to 30 kilometres per hour because people are speeding in Donegal or Tipperary is ridiculous.

I hope McEntee gets booted out at the next general election.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 8th 2023, 5:33 PM

@Nestor: The lads on scooters will be overtaking us !

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:12 PM

@Regular John:
    I’ve just had a vision of a 15 year old in a black hoody tailgating me on a battery powered scooter… Frustrated by my slow speed he’s flashing a hand held torch into my rear view mirror (to compensate for not having headlights), before overtaking me and giving me the finger as he overtakes at 35 km/h ! It’s on the way folks !

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:42 AM

Ffg messaging systems out of kilter.. ff action taken by Christmas. Fg indefinite time frame… No wonder we get feck all done correctly or on time in Ireland. They have ruled the roost for a century and they still can’t coordinate their messages. Government by sound byte.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:53 AM

Ask Eamonn (cabbage head) Ryan and he’ll tell you when to do it. He directs everything else!

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:57 AM

This is the sort of window dressing governance I deplore, trying to take easy wins just to give the illusion that you’re doing something. It’s all too common in our low rent politicians, I guess you get the idiots you idiotically vote for!
    Not a peep from SF lately, they know the governors are doing more damage to themselves than SF could anyway.
    If folks won’t stick to the current limits, what makes anyone think lower limits will be effective? Nonsense!

Mute Chett Richards
    Favourite Chett Richards
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:04 PM

@Chutes: A reformed Chutes, pleasure to witness and behold. You see, common sense always prevails, it just needs to be dragged out of folk with sheer force. Welcome to the party pal.

Mute Adam Hernes
    Favourite Adam Hernes
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:22 PM

Are they aware that in town 30km/h is easy achieved by a drunk cyclist riding down the hill?

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:12 PM

Lowering speed limits won’t stop speeders. If they can travel 100km+ on a road then they will do so regardless of the speed limit in place. All this will do is punish the vast majority of sensible drivers. Encourage people to buy dashcams, set up a database for reporting bad driving and increase punishments for offenders.

Mute Kieran Hickey
    Favourite Kieran Hickey
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:56 AM

What ever happened to the announcement by RSA last January that all school road’s were to have 30 km speed limits imposed starting the 1st off June last ???.

Mute MHM
    Favourite MHM
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:44 AM

any idea how fast you were….ooh howiya minister, thanks for sorting out that with the bins btw. a ticket? nah yer grand there. right you are…say hello to the mrs for me.

Mute alien mars
    Favourite alien mars
    Sep 8th 2023, 6:51 PM

Speed is not the issue. 40mph on open roads is dangerous. It will cause more overtaking and that will cause more accidents. Single car accidents are caused by lack of concentration and not paying enough attention to the road. Lowering speed limit won’t help that. What needed is educate people of the dangers of not paying enough attention to the road

Mute Will Roche
    Favourite Will Roche
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:04 AM

Are they going to change the speed signs during this period??

Mute Fran Riley
    Favourite Fran Riley
    Sep 8th 2023, 10:35 AM

Danny Healy Rea says drunk driving is ok his brother says fast driving at 80k ph is ok on country roads is fine as long as the hedges are cut don’t know who to believe

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 8th 2023, 5:04 PM

@Fran Riley: In 1974, the drink driving limit went from 24 pints to 12 pints, and people took to the streets protesting. It looks like the Kerry men are still living in that decade, but they know their audience. Yes, that was pints, not points. The law was changed at europes insistance..

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:34 PM

P45

Mute Billy Power
    Favourite Billy Power
    Sep 8th 2023, 4:03 PM

Can’t or won’t bring legislation,quickly,because it has to go through ,both the Dail and Shanad,yet they were able to nationalise the banks,a couple of years ago,overnight,pull the other one Minister,every time I see her on TV,it’s like looking at something created by AI

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Sep 8th 2023, 1:00 PM

Just ban Audis!

Mute lWOk0fWf
    Favourite lWOk0fWf
    Sep 8th 2023, 3:28 PM

Knee jerk nonsense.

Mute Thomas O'Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O'Donnell
    Sep 8th 2023, 7:32 PM

This woman said on morning Ireland that legislation takes time and can’t be done overnight. They didn’t take long to pass legislation to make sure she was entitled to her ministerial pension Entitlement accruing while she was out on maternity leave on full pay and keeping her as minister without portfolio. Of course if it doesn’t benefit a minister or TD it’s going to take time

Sep 8th 2023, 4:41 PM

It’s more Gardai we need not lower speed limits and also a more up to date Driving test as the level of drivers out there is just shocking these days… a new speed limit will fix nothing they’re some bunch of clowns in that Government

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Sep 8th 2023, 11:38 AM

That’s a terrible headline folks!