TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Price hike for immigration fee criticised

The Immigrant Council of Ireland has said the €300 fee is ‘unfair and unjust’.

Image: Images_of_Money via flickr/Creative Commons

AN INCREASE IN the cost of the immigration fee has been called “unjust” by the Immigrant Council of Ireland.

A fee of €300 will be charged in respect of each immigration certificate of registration issued to a non-EEA national with effect from tomorrow.

The ICI said that this is a 100 per cent increase in fees for non-Europeans to remain in Ireland for more than three months and that it was announced with five days’ notice.

The ICI said the €300 fee is unfair and unjust. Denise Charlton, Chief Executive of the Immigrant Council of Ireland said:

The Government is quick to highlight and publicise the progress which has been made on citizenship, visas and in reducing bureaucracy, but this increase which will hit families hard, has effectively been announced by stealth.
Individuals and families who are legally resident here are being asked out of the blue to dig deeper than ever before.

Non-EEA nationals in Ireland who are subject to this fee will now have to pay €300 to register with the Garda National Immigration Bureau if they are remaining in Ireland for more than three months.

The ICI has called on the Government to exclude the most vulnerable people, including victims of domestic violence, from this fee.

“There are many migrants contributing to the Irish economy, using their skills, talents and abilities to ensure we can repair the damage of recent years and contributing taxes – now we are asking them to pay up more,” said Charlton, who said that Irish registration fees are now amongst the highest in Europe.

Read: Political integration scheme connects migrants to Leinster House>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• Paul 18/11/12 #

If your partner is not European but living here with you, you have to pay this annually. Marriage or civil partnership don’t automatically give residency rights without this extra tax

• If it’s any consolation…all visa’s are free for your partner in respect to GNIB certification and for holidaying in other EU countries once you get married. A visa can be upgraded to a stamp 4 once married and means you have 5 years before renewal. With regards the story here…I see no problem with increasing the fee.

• Paul 18/11/12 #

You can get stamp 4 by having your relationship recognised as a de facto relationship ie providing evidence of a relationship lasting at least two years and proving that your other half will not be a burden on the state. Afaik the 5 year visa doesn’t kick in until you’ve accrued 5 years of reckonable time in a de facto relationship.

• That’s interesting, didn’t know that. With regards marriage though, it’s immediate. Was perfect for my wife as it bridged the time between simply going out to her receiving Irish citizenship.

• well, visa fees upon exiting many countries are $100 and more in some countries, and thats just for a holiday

• I’m a U.S. citizen living in Sligo.

As an Irish resident during the past year, I spent more than 30,000 at Sligo restaurants, pubs, clothing stores, food stores, etc., not including housing and transportation expenses. I volunteer at a local arts center every week. I promote the great Northwest on social media to friends abroad who yearn to see the same sights.

My Irish residency permit says that I cannot run a business or take a job. So, I’m taking nothing out of the Irish economy. No one is losing a job as a result of me living here, in fact, I help fund the the lives of waitresses, coffee shop owners, artists, athletes, cellphone and internet workers, etc. Just as many Irish citizens do too.

The renewal of my residency permit took the local immigration officer less than 10 minutes. A bit more the first time, when for the first time in my life, I had my fingerprints taken.

For this I have to pay twice as much next time?

• if you can afford to pay over 30,000 a year to fund your lifestyle not including accommodation costs, and do so without working, then I’m pretty sure you can afford the extra 150, just cook a meal for a week instead of eating out, you will make you’re 150 back in no time. you must be some kind of rich guy though, either that or you are working here

• @Brian Or telecommuting. Or running a US-based online business. Or receiving a pension, disability pay or similar. Or a writer. Or renting out property. Or plenty of other options.

• I live off money that I have saved. I choose to spend it here, because I enjoy the country and culture. I do not have any business. As with everyone here, I find it increasingly expensive, and so yes, I probably will spend less eating out in the future. Yes, I could afford €300, but you would think the State would give me €300 in exchange for pumping 30,000 into the local economy, not charge me more. That said, I’m happy here and will continue to abide by the terms of my residency permit.

• Dale
      good luck to you my friend
      keep up your good work
      enjoy your stay here
      and dont let the TROLLS win or get you down

• Clom ,, there are hard working ppl leaving this country every day we should be keeping them here not pushing them away to be replaced by cheaper labour ,

• finbar, these are people that live here, and have done for a few years now, they are required to pay a fee EVERY year in order to stay in the country, these are not people immigrating here now (unless as a dependant that cannot work)

• Ok frank out of the 1200 trained nurses in Galway last year how many have gained employment in Ireland , most have left so why are we importing nurses .or any other trade .we need to get ppl back to work who live here now irish or not , we can’t take any more ppl. In , there is no room in schools , hospitals , to support more ppl in Ireland

• exactly, but wait finbar, theres a few idiots still here hanging on to their last bit of claim “sure the irish nurses dont want to work” what next?

• My nurse friend and a group of her friends have left for London, because they didn’t want to work in nursing homes and there are no jobs in public sector due to recruitment embargo. Filipino nurses will work in nursing homes or wherever they are needed. That is the difference. You won’t talk my friend into coming back unless there is a public sector job waiting for her.

• Mick 18/11/12 #

Nope they don’t want to work as nurses in the private nursing homes…that is fact my man, like it or not.

• Why is it unfair and unjust. Every country had entry fees.

• Please stop taking posts down , is there not freedom of the press in Ireland , or is this media just like all the rest in this country , what they don’t know won’t hurt them !!!

• Sorry Finbar. I just slated your initial comment but wholeheartedly agree with you when you say that posts are removed for no valid reason.
      I have for this reason refrained from perusing this controlled and biased website.

• so i can get into a country like Canada, where there are far more opportunities for 75 euro and my Canadian girlfriend has to pay that to come back with me and work some shite minimum wage job?

• Amanda are you one of the small percent of Irish that speak a fluently Gaelic or like the majority in this country you speak English as your first language ? Some of us have to pay more than €3,000 on school fees also our own medical insurance plus the gnib card. I’m a student and a worker, I want a better future that’s the reason why I choose Ireland, we cannot do nothing about the gnib fees we just have to accept it and pay it, most of the gnib holders work and pay taxes. So if you have a relative or a friend that is on the dole, remember that the money that came from our work or our countries ( because some of us get money from home ) is paying their food and roof. I’m just glad that I meet load of amazing Irish over here, and if someone tell me to go home remember that there are around 1 million of hard working Irish in Australia around half million in States and who knows about Canada and new Zealand. And they might have to handle the same treatment as most of the non nationals in Ireland. And have a nice Sunday

• Well yeah I did go to school here, I can speak Irish, its not a language I use day to day.
      I couldnt care less how much your tuition fees are really, 3k a year or more from your own pocket, fine, but the part your missing is the amount Irish tax payers money goes in to subsidizing the rest of the fees, grants etc..
      I have a pain in my face with the amount of people who come in to my job every day, and can barely put a sentence in English and get frustrated because I cant understand them.. Sorry but if I wanted to be speaking, Spanish, Romanian, Polish, Russian or French, id move there..
      So yeah I do think immigrants must be Fluent in our spoken language before they move to our country

• This thing does not in anyway represent my views as an Irish person or as a human being. You are embarrassing us a nation. You ignorance is unyielding, please go crawl back under your rock

• I was in the USA last year and the place was full of immigrants.

• Seems like quite a large increase but if they don’t agree there are 26 other EU countries to choose from.

• Non EU students actually pay full economic fees. They’re not subsidised at all and in fact their MUCH higher fees often support Irish/EU students by paying for university facilities.

All of our better universities are actively recruiting students from overseas as it is vital to their economic survival to have them.
    Also, technically speaking its an excellent example of Irish academic institutions bringing in foreign money by selling their services overseas.

So, seriously stop slagging off non EU students they’re the life blood of our 3rd level institutions!!

• okay people hold on here…. 5 days notice isnt alot…. i know its easy to say why you here go to another country, go back where you came from this and that.
    1. people with no paper in this country only get something like 25 euro a week from government no more.
    2. the one with only stamp 4 and 6 can get welfare in this country not just anyone.
    3. your passport could expire in 2 months and your visa run out a month before that by law you meant to register for that 1 month so you expect them to pay 300 euro+ passport fee’s … kinda not fair
    4. all the immigration are not fair, honest, do the paper work properly so much back log in them offices…. compare uk and other countries now.
    5. all the hassle you have to go through in dublin department of justice office is a joke, all meant to make around 50000+ euro a day from foreigners … where does that money go??
    6. EU agreement of taking foreigners in this country with Ireland so thats the law.
    7. the worse thing . GNIB card is not a identity card ha ha … it get issued from garda’s basically … so why is that?
    8. many things we can all say and we could be right but by increasing this the money isnt going towards right direction after charging foreigner student upto 6000+ in college for a year aswell.. Trust me more then half of this country runs on foreigners … dont forget alot of foreigners work too and now you want them to pay first to get in here then register+ pay and then pay to get re-entry visa,etc too much … ask your government where is all the money going, apart from refugee people being granted irish citizenship rest people pay 900+ if they get did…. where is all the money going ha?

• I am afraid it is a good thing.Ireland has been an open door to too many.

• That’s true. They do pay full fees and actually more than Irish students pay.

I think a lot of people are showing their true colours here now!

• Refugee don’t pay anything at all, ever and they are the ones that get benefits from the welfare and etc. Something is wrong here . Just saying

• Finbar, this is a fee that is paid yearly by those who are not EEA national to be registered with the GNIB which is what the are legally required to do, their visas range from 1000 euros for the first one (which lasts a year) to 1500 which is an unlimited one.

• MrKnow 18/11/12 #

Its a way to slightly close the door that is open case Ireland! our immigration laws in Ireland are a joke, no other ODC country allows the quota we do, so why do continue? because we are signed into a ridiculous European deal that they blackmailed us with! I never had a problem with people looking for better life but when too much board a ship, it sinks. And the “students”, lol, that’s a scam.

• It is easier to get into Ireland than to get into the States.

• It very much goes on in all them countries Finbar,they simply would not be aloud to sit outside for all to see…Miami for example, ten mins from there airport has bodies lay in a row,homeless,bigggg time…Aussie has some horrendous places,needles,homeless- but again not for the eye to see along high streets..It goes on sadly everywhere….

• Finbar. Are you implying that immigrants are neither good nor hardworking. In most countries it is the immigrants who are the hardest working.

• @Colm

Amazing statement Colm.

Upon what specific evidence do you base that statement?
      Furthermore, how do you define ‘hardworking ?

• I’m a foreigner working paying 1500 in taxes monthly , which is the least I can say about the locals living on the dole and taking holidays with the money they are given. and you wonder why the economy isn’t improving. no job is good enough for your jobless young. they all want rockstar jobs and fancy cars first year in the job

• Well mostly Jim Jim etc. it’s from having lived and worked in four countries where I have seen immigrants working in corner shops for unbelievable hours and working as cleaners etc. etc. Obviously there are good and bad, active and lazy but in general people move for a better life for them and their kids and they’re willing to work for it.

BTW Finbar I don’t mean undercutting local wages. That should be exposed and opposed.

• ‘Hardest working’ was an overstatement. I should have said ‘amongst the hardest working’.

• this will seriously affect those who have not gotten naturalised, especially if they are a couple with children that are here over the age of 18, as its an extra 150 euro per person per year

• @ David what about us who are legally here as students ?? Do you think it’s fair

• This is too much for non nationals. we must think abt other stamp holders. They are aloso contributing to Irish economy and society.

• This is not fair at all. Am Kenyan student in UCD and my passport was stamped ” Not allowed to work or engage in any business activity” so am only spending the little that my parents send me back from home.

• tom 18/11/12 #

nice to see you are bettering yourself. but you must agree it can’t be at the expenses of the host country that doesn’t own you anything. I know this sounds very harsh but we currently don’t have enough 3rd level places for Irish citizens so I feel you are lucky and privileged.

• Thanks for the reply Tom. But don’t think that the vacancies for 3rd level students its few in UCD maybe if we talk about attaining the required points to be able to join the college.

• tom 18/11/12 #

the required points is set yearly to cope with the over demand for limited places.
      Rather than strength your case would weaken it.

• But we as non EU are paying higher than others too

• tom 18/11/12 #

@ Issa.
      enjoyable chatting to you and hope you do well in your studies..
      as next thing I be giving out about is we educated this guy why can’t he make his living here so we can enjoy the benifet of his taxes…. :)

• Nice one Tom :-)

• I dont remember ever producing a passport to any of my jobs, im sure u can engage in some business or job..

You cant blame our country for not supporting you, they hardly support our own

• Amanda are you seriously that stupid? You don’t need to show your passport to prospective employers because you were issued a PPSN as an Irish national. You gave that to your employer and that’s how your income tax is deducted from your wage. A non-national who is not allowed work here will not be issued a PPSN that they can use to pay income tax. If they were to work it would be ‘under the counter’ and they would be breaking the law, the same as it would be for an Irish person to work under said counter whilst claiming unemployment benefit from the state.

You should be proud that our education system is still held in such high regard abroad …..I don’t know how good it can really be based on some of the truly terrible, almost illiterate comments written here predominantly from the native section of society

• Dale did I say you are taking a job !!! I came out of mass to day in Dublin there were 4 ppl begging outside ,, are these the ppl we want in Ireland , would. This go on in the USA , Canada or austraila not a chance , yes there are good ppl moving to Ireland and should be praised for there involment in
    Ireland

• if you cannt afford ?300 how can you afford to support yourself in Ireland

• David the thing to study back home is that around the world they see our education as rubbish, have an education in europe is well see in the world, so if I have the chance to emigrate and get a better education why should I stay in home, I pay my fees over here, and one thing I hope that the kid that you are holding don’t feel in the necessity to emigrate from here. Because I have a lot of friends that were born here that are doing that. Leaving home and they still don’t know when are they coming back

• 300 lol, lazy civil servants need a pay rise, legal high skilled migrants won’t go on strike, let’s rip them off.
    And btw there is another 100 on top for a reentry viza, just in case you need a holiday outside. If ireland planto attract talent in tech sector. Mr. Shater and his crew have to think twice.

• At the end of the day u can’t come to this country from another and complain how’s it’s run , simple as that I’f u don’t like it well go home

• reply to Tom

What ever good skill or bad skill they all working hard to pay tax and to help Ireland. You think without them here can be better ? how many people in Ireland do not even want go out to looking for work. I think you really need more study on this.

• i think you really need to stop copy and pasting your pathetic old tried and tested formula.
      do you keep that paragraph for your youtube channel as well?
      troll alert

• I am not sure what is bad still in you head that you are talk about but most irish hospital are depending those people from outside of eu. Also there is big group people are student here also from outside eu they are in every high lv collages. So you mean they are all bad skill, I hope you knew they can not work here but also have to pay 5 or 10 time more fee then EU student in Ireland and they have to pay this 300 euro. As you may knew until today no Irish collage in top 10 in the world. if that 300 euro could make Ireland back to tiger time or make education back what it was that is fun. but I do not think this 300 euro will spend on that.

• The 100% increase in Immigrant Registration Certificate is exorbitant but not surprising. At the Abolition of slavery the slave owner was indemnified for the loss of his property-people.The slaves were thrown out on the road, left to fend for themselves. This policy of targeting the weak has underpinned European mercantilism down through the centuries to the present. Make the weak and the vulnerable, those without a voice, pay for the faultlines of a failed economic decisions.
    Bobby Gilmore.

• they should charge ?3000 and they must pass a spoken english exam!

• How much do the immigrants cost the sta in total ? Work out what they contribute then make informed decisions. Eg nurses from the phillipines work but their partners are not given permits so they must sit at home all day on welfare, even though they want to work. Net cost or contribution – marginal depending on whether they have children or not.

• Well said Amanda

• Well said Caroline

• Can u not study in ure own country ??? Can’t complain if u ain’t alowed work here u no the rules b4 u get here ,,,

• What ever good skill or bad skill they all working hard to pay tax and to help Ireland. You think without them here can be better ? how many people in Ireland do not even want go out to looking for work. I think you really need more study on this.

• Honestly, I don’t see the problem. it’s 150 euro extra to stay in this country for up to a year so why complain.
    if you can’t afford it how come you can be here?
    and…….compared to other countries Ireland it’s much easier to come and stay in. Try Switzerland or France or Germany and even UK then talk.
    I know it’s not fair but hey…..such is life.

• This is not unfair ,,, it’s a good thing , will stop a lot more COMEN here in the first place ,,,

• seems to be another” blame the foreigners for what’s happening to ireland” chap. if you’re talking about a strict who pays taxes and benefits the people, are you going to dump all the jobless irish people on a deserted island? I mean..theyre not working and not paying taxes after all

• Native irish have no idea that non Eu immigrants are just too litle ,maybe 10 % of whole immigrant mass. The remaining 90 are from EU, they don’t pay any residence fee, any work permit fee. Even if Irish state are penalazing them , that’s not going to change much, created void will be filled with struggling EU nationals.

• Yes Amanada ,there are ppl sleeping under shelters in the USA , and other country’s but there were there from , why should we import them

• What do u no about native Irish dorin???,

• Dorin were u from????

Add New Comment