TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Cowen’s ministers felt pressured to approve bank guarantee – documentary

Cabinet ministers at the time of the far-reaching 2008 bank guarantee say they were given little time – and no alternatives – when considering the move.

Fianna Fáil Parliamentary Party Think-In, September 2010
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTERS WHO approved Ireland’s 2008 bank guarantee felt forced into their decision – and former Finance Minister Brian Lenihan was also “delighted” that the move annoyed the British Chancellor of the Exchequer, according to a new documentary series by RTÉ.

In episode one of a two-part series, Inside the Cowen Government, which delves into the inner-workings of the administration, political editor Pat Leahy looks at the far-reaching decision by the government to offer a blanket guarantee to all of Ireland’s banks - and reveals how uncomfortable some cabinet members were about the decision process.

The first episode, broadcast on RTÉ One this evening, Mary Hanafin and Willie O’Dea both say that they were effectively given no alternative but to approve the decision in the early hours of the morning.

Hanafin said ministers were contacted by telephone in the early  hours of 30 September and told that the blanket guarantee “was the only option to protect people’s money and it had to be done before the markets opened”. She condemned the move, saying “that decision shouldn’t have been taken at a quarter to two in the morning – all cabinet members should have been called to Dublin”.

Similarly, Willie O’Dea recalls being told of “the possibility of no money (being) in the ATMs” upon the markets opening the following morning, and the insistence that “nothing short of this full absolute guarantee would save the situation”.

Subsequently, Brian Lenihan told people he was delighted that the decision annoyed the British Chancellor of the Exchequer Alastair Darling.

The programme reveals how senior Fianna Fail figures, including PJ Mara, had begged the Taoiseach Brian Cowen to communicate in a more clear and regular manner with the Irish public on the crisis – but that their advice had been ignored. The claim has been backed by current Fianna Fáil leader Micheal Martin, who said that Cowen didn’t believe in “optics”.

Martin added that both he and other ministers had been “very annoyed” by the Taoiseach’s change of approach before the 2007 general election when he unilaterally decided to massive inflate Fianna Fail’s election promises.

All video clips courtesy of RTÉ

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• It’s all well in good saying it now but this is just fianna fail trying to rebuild the party by scapegoating cowen and now deceased Leninhan. Fianna fail members backed this agreement for nearly two years and I don’t recall any votes against it from other parties. As we continue down the road of austerity that was sold to us as the only way of getting out of this crisis is to cut everything, I do not see the current government questioning this as they should be doing but alas they are all one big joke in this political system in Ireland were cronieism and nepotism continue to prevail. Common sense and blame three years after the event is just complete bullshit that is being spoon fed to the Irish public and of course as usual we will swallow it and ask for more.

• That’s what I was thinking.. Cowen and Lenihan are easy targets (especially Lenihan – whether true or not it’s kinda bad form to be laying the collectives’ blame on a dead mans shoulders, it’s cheap) And Cowen has always been a joke.. The rest of the party had plenty of time even after the guarantee to make their voices heard. Now most of them have been voted out they go and make this “documentary” as a last ditch attempt to repair their reputations..

Maybe FF are that shallow, I sincerely hope the rest of the country are a bit more rounded..

• FF’ers always scapegoat their predecessor, they get to power on the back of their dead or defeated. Look at how Brian Lenihan benefited from using his Father’s name, how he turned a blind eye to how his party colleagues robbed his sick fund for their own benefit, how he honoured the man behind it. A man who targeted the sick and cancer patients even as he suffered the same condition. All so he could get a cabinet seat. Any man that would do that to his own family, was not to be trusted with the country. Any party that things that that kind of action is normal, should never be tolerated again. FF hasn’t changed, it cannot change, there are too many criminals in it, and the higher up you go the more there is.

Look everyone in the cabinet knew that Lenihan was incompetent, that he was going to die, the hope was that he would do so while they were in office, and give the party a martyr, a new cover for them to rob and steal from this country.

• I agree totally Simon….a good indicator of how a government perform in office is to remember how they performed in opposition…and Fine Gael were worthless. Bertie Ahern practically played with Kenny like a cat plays with a mouse…despite all the tribunals going on at the time Kenny sat there gormless not knowing what to say whn he should have been going through Ahern for a short cut. Brian Linehan was handed a poisoned chalice that I suspect he bore out of a sense of duty but the poor man was way in over his head…Cowen was and is a coward just as is Ahern. Until either or both of them stand before us and beg or this nations forgiveness they’ll remain a piriah..

• Sounds very ‘I was only following orders’…..if they had those kind of doubts they should have stood up and been counted instead of protecting their political hydes. They choose to put party before country and they’re where they deserve to be today…..may we never see their morally and politically shabby type again…although the current crowd are well on the road to being the same!!

• @Tony. Totally agree. If they weren’t capable of standing up to Cowen then they shouldn’t have been in Government. This documentary nearly stinks of a fianna fail funded piece to place the blame soley on one man and for the rest of them to come out smelling of roses. Makes them all look weak. They all fell asleep at the wheel of governing our country.

• Yeh it’s always someone elses fault…

• Lenihan used to joke with his colleagues about the storm of crap that he had lined up for the following Govt. If people think that the last Govt. gave one toss, about what has happened to the country then they must be very deluded. They weren’t described by Wolfgang Munchau, an editor at the Financial Times, and founder of EuroIntelligence ASBL as the “worst Govt. in Europe since the end of WW2″. They are traitors, all their actions coincidentally benefited their donors and friends while costing the majority and the economy a fortune.

• The only disagreement I have with your statement Tony is that they are nowhere near where they deserve to be today. With pensions as large as what they’re receiving, the state car for Cowen and the unholy amounts the few FF TDs that remain are earning, I don’t think they’re even close to what they should get.

• Some of the comments by ex cabinet sound suspiciously like the well worn “I was only following orders ” line

• And will anything be done to these gangsters? No, not a thing,
    while they enjoy their big pensions at the expense of the tax payer.

• No one there to defend the decision? No Cowen interview? Seems sloppy, sensationalist rubbish to me. I seem to recall a lot of people in the immediate aftermath of the guarantee – when cash flooded into Ireland from across Europe – thinking how wonderfully prescient and clever these Irish lads were. Let’s not rewrite history in order to get some grubby euros from advertisers. I’d have expected better from RTE, but then they have form for this kind of scandal sheet populism.

• Your right there Peter,what a disgrace,all they will do is set up committees and tribunals to look into them and nothing will ever come of it,politicians,bankers and the judges in this country are a little click society that nothing will ever be done about it

• Elrat 07/11/11 #

I would expect nothing less from odea & hannifin – 2 gobshites !

• Huey 07/11/11 #

Anyone who was part of this government are all economic traitors as far as I’m concerned.
    Going on RTE, trying to distance yourself from this disaster is shameful.

If Collins were alive today , they would all be against the wall.

RTE (pravda) and the FF lackeys embedded in our state broadcaster should also be examined for the part they played in the crisis too.

• Agreed. I would add that there would also be many of the founders of FF that if they came back now and went to a FF Ard Fheis, would probably not leave one of their traitors living. Who could blame them, it is the parasites that are now members of FF, the type since the 70′s, that are abusing their good name. They are traitors to Ireland, and I wish them thee worst of luck.

• What is the point of these two Ministers coming out now and saying the decision was wrong? The decision was made in 2008. 3 years ago. NOW, all of a sudden, it was wrong? Amazing they waited until Fianna Fail were ousted from Government. What a bunch of turncoats. Coming on the TV, spouting their drivel as to how their hands were tied, bullied into it, blah blah blah. Do they honestly think they will get any sympathy from the general public? Not me anyway.

• If Collins were alive today he’d be very old!!

• Former ministers seem to be well available for interviews in which they blame the most unpopular former Taoiseach and a dead guy alone for all our woes. Interesting.

• “Nothing to do with me boss” is the response as usual from Willie O’Dea.

That man never takes responsibility for his own actions.

He is stabbing his Fianna Fail colleagues in the back once again while speaking out of both sides of his tache.

We are not fooled O’Dea.

• What’s done is done I’m afraid, but I believe there is no doubt that the senior bankers should be held to account. Their assets SHOULD have be frozen pending investigation – and it’s not too late. As to these politicians trying to justify their actions in this documentary, it’s a turncoat action of the most despicable nature. If Brian Cowen’s government are judged to have been incompetent, the Coalition Government needs to proceed very cautiously indeed and challenge the legality of having to adher to any guarantees and decisions made by an outgoing, apparently dishonest and defunct government.

• Aw, they felt under pressure, the poor luvvies…….

• ‘Brian Lenihan was also “delighted” that the move annoyed the British Chancellor of the Exchequer’
    There’s a term for that – cutting your nose off to spite your face – considering the interdependence of our two economies.

• Neil 07/11/11 #

Well, back before the crash we were a different country. Irish developers buying up plush properties in London obviously made some Irish people (only some) think we could rub others countries noses in our success.
      Our bank guarantee was going to be the ‘cheapest’ bank bailout ever, and yet another lesson to the world in how amazing the Irish are.
      If there’s any good from the crash it’s that such arrogance is long gone. Small comfort I know.

• At the time of the guarantee the government were MISLED by the banks with incorrect ‘accounts’ on a massive scale. If a ‘ordinary company/business ‘cooked’ their books in such an extreme way those responsible would be held to account, the company would be severely penalised and any contracts and agreements considered void.
    Why didn’t this happen with Anglo etc after the facts emerged. This baffles and angers me. Hand wringing now from these people now is as useful as putting on a condom a month after being told a baby is on the way!

• lying bastards they were all in it together up to their necks giving out jobs ,taking backhanders,using public money like it was their own personal treasure trove,i for one will not be watching rte tonite gloryfiying FF in their woes about that vile man we to call Taoiseach

• I am still not clear on what alternative Brian Lenihan and the Central Bank had available to them at the time. Forget Brian Cowen, he did have a clue what was happening anywhere because has he himself said, “nobody told me”.

At the time of the guarantee the authorities wrer not aware that Financials of Anglo and Nationwide were pure fiction.

The most serious issue is why after more than 3 years of investigation by the Garda Fraud office, The Directorate for Corporate Enforcement and the Central Bank not a single perpertrator has been brought before a court.

• Great to see that Irish people are not swallowing this crock of crap. My fairly flimsy reason for saying this is all the thumbs up at the various comment. They are like a bunch of kids saying “it wasn’t me Mammy. It was brianie’s idea. He started it”. Seriously weak people. No accountability. This was reflected with Bertie also.

• mike 07/11/11 #

So much for Ireland electing a Leader. Seem all we have are Lambs.

• Hear Hear says I as I wonder how I will pay the 9000 euro tax assessment by 15 Nov, but much more importantly, why. As I watch the middle earners pay for the incompetent and criminally negligent to continue their lifestyles while I hardly know how go keep my kids in education, I wonder what has become of fairness in this otherwise great country of ours

• I rest my case re the use of the whip as an ethical part of party politics in any democratic government. Get your red thumbs out mr. Do What Your Tolds.

• On the theme of collective decision-making, their part in Brussels’ directives and council decisions must be just as feeble. Irish politicians are window-dressing at that level.

• Out with the whitewash bucket. Any minister opposing the Cowen-Lenihan guarantee could have resigned. However, all that is irrelevant. In one of his few welcome acts, John Gormley revealed that the mounting interbank crisis and some form of guarantee had been discussed by ministers in the week leading up to the actual decision to transfer responsibility for bank debt off the shoulders of the banks and onto the wallets of the people.

• Elrat 07/11/11 #

Well said Limerick Born

• None of them had any balls worthy of representing people’s hopes and interests.

• http://www.econtalk.org/archives/2011/03/vincent_reinhar.html
    An interview with a former Fed director on his book relating to the crisis in US in 2008.
    What’s striking is the similarities of final days of Lehmans and bear sterns and events discussed here.

Add New Comment