TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Croke Park agreement ‘should not exist at all’ – Eddie Hobbs

The financial advisor and broadcaster said the deal cocooned higher-level public servants and targeted cuts at the most vulnerable.

Eddie Hobbs
Eddie Hobbs
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE CROKE PARK Agreement is a “cartel” which protects higher management and targets cuts at the most vulnerable, according to financial advisor and broadcaster Eddie Hobbs.

Hobbs said the deal between the Government and public sector unions “should not exist at all”, and did not help address the “reality” of Ireland’s economic situation.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Marian Finucane Show, he said:

This is the largest, most blatant cartel ever put together in any society under distress. We’re still not dealing with the reality that we’re grossly overpaying at the middle and upper end. And because they’re cocooned, with the cuts it’s always the most vulnerable [who are hit].

Hobbs added that the agreement was hampering progress in Ireland’s recovery.

Until this is dealt with, the objective of govt in Ireland is for the insiders to take money from the outsiders to protect themselves. And that’s what’s happening in the Croke Park Agreement. I don’t think it should exist at all.

Meanwhile management consultant Julie O’Neill, a former senior official in several Government departments, revealed that a group of civil servants had approached the then Government in the early 1990s saying that there was a dire need for reform in the service.

However, she said at the time there was not the political will to enact changes.

Read: Unions reject Varadkar suggestion to allow redundancies>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• In terms of a cartel, the upper echelons of RTE could teach any group in the country a thing or two. Did Eddie recommend that the upper tier broadcasters and chat show hosts take more salary cuts?

• I propose that Eddie should reveal how much he is paid for his consumer show slot and for how many hours he is paid for? After all he is paid by a public service body, therefore he should be open to equal examination and criticism! Eddie must tell us if he has any interest in fairness and transparency!

• It’s the upper level Public Servants that are on huge money but these will be the ones protected and the lower paid Public Servants will be the ones to suffer.

• Ah yes, Hobbser; the erstwhile financial “guru” who wanted us all to buy property in Bulgaria.

He’s a charlatan who relies on over simplistic analogies and buzz words for a living.

• while there is a serious need to overhaul senior civil servants and their entitlements people just have to realize that the people lower down the pay scale are suffering, I know this because I am one, maybe Eddie should look into the ersi findings which show its more financially beneficial to be on welfare, it’s social welfare and senior civil servants that are killing this country, and I don’t mean people who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own I mean career welfare recipients and we all know they are out there.

• It’s always comical to see the ‘cut everyones wages except mine’ brigade out in force attacking other ordinary workers while the wealth in this country laugh all the way to the bank.

• I must point out however that I find Eddie Hobbs comments to be somewhat amusing, singling out lower paid frontline staff, while working for and being interviewed by the most protected and grossly overpaid public body of them all, RTE. And not a voice in sight to challenge him. We must stop public v private rubbish. Waste occurs everywhere, and no where moreso than at eddies feet!

• Red Ed 17/06/12 #

This from a man that is helping Dolores Mc Namara (euro million winner) to get her money out of the eurozone. Who knows what other millionaires he is helping at the expense of the euro. So shut the flup up Eddie where were you during the bust?!

• Vested interest
    plenty of life boats in first class
    govt pension shortfall as of 2009
    Audited is
    129 Billion

• Obviously the higher ups are looking after themselves. Public sector wages should be capped at €100k a year. But I note how Eddie presents no alternatives. Probably would just do away with unions altogether and be chuffed, could hire some lad to drive him around for 3c an hour :)

• Unions in the current state are just as corrupt and wreckless as the banks from the so called boom. No body corporate should be allowed dictate policy to a government. We moan every day about bankers influence, developers influence and wealthy influence yet here we are legally engaging with corporate bodies to the detriment of our own society as a whole. It’s an absolute farce! Let me point out I am not some neo liberal with an agenda, I actually believe some lower paid public servants should be paid more. What I don’t believe in is a system that protects wasters and redundant roles from scrutiny at a time when we are bankrupt and frankly anyone who does is either a vested interest or would want their heads checked!

• Can I just point out that none of this is necessary we have loads of oil gas forestry food water fish and wind we live in an abundant land being raped by the sell out government. Look on utube any day to see Gardai assaulting protestors on Corrib line. We are borrowing the money to pay the guards to kick the Shyte out of us. Wake up people

• The alternative you’re looking for doesn’t exist Martin.

• And how much is that fool earning from RTE !!! He’s only a mouthpiece that sprouts a pile of shite every few weeks to keep himself in the limelight. €1.2bn saved in 2 years. I’d live to see him come up with alternatives.

• 1.2 billion! Bollox! Brendan Howling’s a liar and a coward! Eddie Hobbs is right! The protected leeches are protected while the lower paid hard working are subsidising them! It’s a crying shame that only corrupt power hungry low life’s stand for election!

• Dave 17/06/12 #

600 million per year savings is utterly pathetic when viewed from the adjustment we have to make. But agreed, its the upper levels that need to make this adjustment. Ie the 1000 a week pensions, etc

• Who is this self-promoting hobgoblin except a glorified insurance salesman whose economic predictions changed like the wind over the years. He has a grudge against ALL public servants not just the upper echelon and has survived over the years by spouting populist drivel on any radio or tv station that’s foolish enough to allow him a pulpit.

• Yes Eddie do cut the higher paid in PS.

• Eddie Hobbs shouldn’t exist at all

• Just have “engaged” with mr hobbs on twitter and he has refused to divulge what he indirectly earns from the public service broadcaster. Ironically I might request that the consumer show investigate. Perhaps in Eddie land those responsible for his education and those of our children deserve to be paid much less than those who pose as an agony aunt for a few hours per year. Super logic Eddie!

• I would love to see eddies contribution to the revenue or did he cleverly pay little or no tax while pontificating to the rest of us working class drones who’s wages are to high according to him. Eddie go back to organizing everyone to send in a nappy to government

• Why was my comment deleted? Eddie is allowed question the nations teachers on a media outlet we pay for, yet I am not allowed ask him what the same media outlet indirectly pays him, vis a vie, what we pay him?

• And to all claiming that we pay ours more than theirs rubbish argument, please do just the smallest bit of research on “Cost of Living Analysis”. It pretty much rubbishes that argument! And by God does Eddie know that!

• Be nice now. And learn to spell.

• paul 17/06/12 #

of course it should be scrapped and protect all workers under 30 grand. ridiculous in this day and age that public sector workers jobs are guaranteed. fair enough if their good at them, promote them but please get rid of the useless ones. I can’t understand why these are protected. mind boggles

• That sounds well and good but what you must remember that it’s not just the low paid who are getting hammered, It’s also middle income earners, i.e. earning up to 50k (gross). These people pay disproportionate levels of taxation and are entitled to nothing from the state such as medical cards, income supplements etc….That’s in public and private sector. Plus what should be noted is that there are certain sectors of the public service that jobs are not guaranteed. There are about 60,000 teachers in Ireland, and 26,000 of them are not permanent, therefore, not guaranteed. These teachers can be hired in a school for anything up to four years and then let go with no statutory entitlements to redundancy. This can go on and on. This is a story that is not told very often.

• Finally somebody has the balls to tell how it really is in this rich mans country of Ireland.

• Eddie actually believes in lower taxes for the super rich who he thinks will spend more and the wealth will trickle down to ordinary folk.

• Exactly , let’s just deal with the issue at hand . Croke park is a disgraceful sham to protect middle & high earners . Still amongst the highest in Europe , it’s a joke , TDs won’t touch it because they are linked to Principal officers in the civil service

• Oh yeah, I forgot how it was public sector workers who did not get share bonuses and only have one house with no developmental property portfolios who caused the financial crash, silly me. Mr. Hobbs bashing the public sector again, change the record

• Yet another cork shanker! Keane and himself must be drinking that Lyons tea…. All talk

• Stating the obvious there Eddie….

• We pay our political class and public service more than our german counterparts send 20000 on the piss to a European football tournament yet we turn to Europe for money and deals on debt no wonder they tell us to keep paying up.
    Scrap Croke park any body over 50000 should have 20% reduction on salary no increments and 20 % off pensions

Add New Comment