TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Croke Park: Proposals need to be evaluated carefully, says SIPTU

Meanwhile, Deputy Sean Fleming has warned the Government to “resist its urge to oversell the proposals” emerging from the talks.

General President of SIPTU, Jack O'Connor
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE CROKE PARK extension deal reached a crucial stage today – and now the unions involved are considering the latest proposals.

SIPTU’S General President Jack O’Connor said today that the “issue here is to try to evaluate the proposal and try to decide whether or not another strategy would yield a better result”.

Earlier today, after a 13-hour meeting, the Government and the trade unions representing most of Ireland’s 292,000 public sector workers concluded the first steps on extending and amending the terms of the Croke Park pay deal.

The proposals include pay cuts for higher-earning public workers, a freeze on increments for all staff, extended working hours and cuts to the Sunday premium and overtime rate.

O’Connor told the RTÉ 6 O’Clock News that it falls to the executive council of the union to take a view in a week or two on whether or not it will make recommendations on the proposals.

He said that he believed the proposals are “the best that can be achieved by negotiation” and that they now have to be evaluated very carefully.

O’Connor added that the contours on the proposal document “are structured on the basis of people who have the most contributing the most”.

However, Liam Doran of the INMO said their “worst fears are being realised with what we’re hearing” on the proposals. He said that shift work is going to be hit harder and that the proposals are not fair.

Resist urge to oversell

Fianna Fáil Public Expenditure Spokesperson Sean Fleming TD has warned the Government to resist its urge to oversell the proposals.

He also questioned why there is no focus on maintaining public service quality in the agreement and called on Minister Brendan Howlin to explain why he failed to engage directly in the talks to prevent the departure of nursing and Garda unions.

We will carefully examine the documents that have been published and will be coming forward with a series of detailed questions on the implications of what is being proposed over the coming days.

Read: Government, public service unions reach deal on extending Croke Park>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (138 Comments)

• Lets not get involved with how bad or good public or private sector folks have it. Everyone is pinched now and shops and cafes etc. are closing wholesale where i live. Pulling more cash out of peoples pockets is not going to help the country. Or anyone in it.

• Jack O Conner who has sat on government quangos. Look for workers to accept worse pay and conditions while he double jobbed. Talk about a conflict of interest.

• Jack o Connor bought and paid for !!!

• Nobody has to do overtime, but if they don’t the system may not function , so reducing overtime rates maybe self defeating
      Reducing Sunday pay is unfair as these shifts are part of their duty and compulsory , it will encourage increase sick leave in my opinion

• Your wrong. I have to do overtime. I’m in the army and I don’t get paid for overtime.

• this one is for David this is going to get nasty i hear they have been training the army for riots is this true.

• It would be wrong to give operational information on here. However it’s common knowledge that the army regularly does riot training as part of its preparations for any possible event at home or abroad.

• Shay, doctors have to do overtime. Ni choice.

• I wouldn’t even have given that answer! Nobodies business what the Army is up to.

• Jack & David selling out their most vulnerable members , yet again, in return for a status quo of their cosy relationships with government, their fat salaries and places on state boards… Surprise surprise

• But you get time in leu and you retire after 20 years service with a state pension so plead the poor mouth somewhere else…… A standing army in a neutral country????? How much is army equesteren sector costing taxpayers ??? For what, to get on rte once a year at the RDS horseshow??
      Why do I see army personal still in Castlebar barracks even though it was supposed to be closed???
      Are the Russians about to invade us on the west coast anytime soon???
      FCA barracks all over the country serving what purpose???? At what cost??
      Army cadets getting university degrees and masters on very relevant topics such as philosophy???? At what cost???
      And as the banks are shut of a Sunday what is it exactly that the average army person does of a Sunday??????

• Riots by whom??? the sheep that make up this population????

• Agree, doctors and army may have to do overtime, sorry my error,

• Don’t worry, as long as there’s fluoride in the water there won’t be riots.

• I don’t know where you get your info but your wrong.
      Firstly I didn’t give poor mouth I just disputed an incorrect statement.
      Army don’t get a pension after 20 years. Older soldiers were entitled to a part pension after 21 years this is due to the nature of the work and was to give something to a soldier who can no longer fulfil the strict criteria. Nowadays pensions are the same as any PS and are only payable on reaching pension age. There are still a few on old system but not many
      As for your statement on if we need an army that is for our government to answer not me.
      What we do on a Sunday or any other day is not something I can say here.

• I also do on average more than 50 hours a week.
      Just to answer that.
      I don’t know what happens in mayo. Or what happens in the FCA/reserve defence forces.
      I just do what I’m told.

• Fair deal !! Not for the front line workers. We were sold out by Jack O Connor and his cronies.

• Sorry I red-thumbed you when I saw fair deal. It’s a very unfair deal.

• Looks like the compulsory redundancy and aggressive pursuit of dismissal of deadwood might save the day. It’s one thing voting for a cut that doesn’t affect you but voting for a measure that might leave one unemployed is another thing. Somebody on the remaining negotiating unions has to have agreed to this one. The only people who get paid less than 65k to be hit long term are shift workers apart from increment freezes that are relatively short. I appreciate people need the extra an increment brings but its not a cut. All the while IBEC and their ilk are laughing at us all and rubbing their hands at the prospect of cutting their wage bill on the back of public sector cuts. The fat cats are winning again or so they think it just might not be so simple when the details of entire document emerge.

• Have to agree with you Mary. The last Croke Park deal was basically a contract, which this government has broken, they then put a gun to the various unions heads. Sign or else. That isn’t a deal its a joke, especially when several of the unions have walked out.

• Call it as it is —- Jack O Connor is a politician.

• looking at the cuts it seems the sunday premium and overtime are the ones that are the most unfair, most of these people work inhospitable hours in order to protect, help, save and serve their fellow citizens.
    does anyone know how much of a saving they are looking for in this area?

• Jack o Connor is the greatest waste of space for Ordinary workers. Think Jack O Connor think / Labour / Think Quango’s / double jobbing / massive wages just like the Politicians none of these Parasites give a dam about the ordinary working people they are supposed to serve. A course on all of them for the Betrayal they have Foisted on ordinary working class people.

• Do people know that if you are a member of Siptu a percentage of what you pay them in union fees goes directly to Labour party. Total conflict of interest. Bunch of sell outs!

• This has to go to vote – a NO vote

• Will people stop turning this into a PUBLIC vs PRIVATE battle….everyone is taking hits of some sort – public is obvious in these talks, private are suffering in closures, job losses, falling profits etc. Everyone is bloody suffering. Yet we are attacking each other when we should be attacking those at the top – the bankers, the “leaders” of these unions – O’Connor, Nunan, etc , and the government. And by “we” I mean the feckin country. Stop smashing each other to bits and realise where the problem lies.

I have nothing against the private sector , most of my relations are in it. I don’t know their hardships that well, and they don’t know mine that well. But we all know how each other has problems, and we all know where the problem lies and who is responsible. So stop bashing each other and direct the anger against those who bloody deserve it

• I fully agree with you that this shouldn’t be a public V private debate. And I fully agree that the bankers & politicians are to blame here, have no doubt about that.

However as any small business owner in this country knows we are being strangled by government costs, and part of that is public pay. Every year I have to pay the government €8,000 in rates and another €1,000 for my license to operate. For that I receive a piece of paper and whatever water I drink at work, probably less than 100 litres per year. Other costs from semi states such as what the ESB/Bord Gais charge businesses for the same electricity that you get at home are also extraordinarily high- the average wage in the ESB at the Ringend power station is €87,000 which goes to explain why. businesses pay so much for power.

All these extraordinarily high charges and costs are money that I could spend on employing people but as much as I’d love to I can’t afford to as I’m being strangled by sky high taxes, for which I receive sweet dam all. Ireland is still one of the most uncompetitive countries in Europe in which to do business and the economy WILL NOT RECOVER until the costs of doing business come down.

Other areas also need to be looked at such as government spending. We still have a situation where the governemt is spending €30m a year to RENT prefabs for schools, a ridiculous situation. I am sure there are lots more like it too.

• Did someone say he is a lifelong member of the labour party, either way he is far too highly paid . Jim Larkin wouldn’t be happy ~a crap deal. Disgracefull sell out of ordinary working people to satisfy the private banks. The unions are pussy cats in cohoots with a puppet Goverment .

• WHAT WILL JACK O CONNOR AND SIPTU DO NOW??? WE CANT AFFORD TO PAY OUR UNION FEES, WAKE UP JACK AND CO, THE COUNTRY IS ONTO YOU AND YOUR LIKES.

• The guys at the top, got away with less of a cut again! Pittance!

• Can anyone tell me what the % cuts mean. Does it mean someone on €65,000 will have their salary reduced by 5.5% which would mean someone on €64,999 will end up on a bigger salary

• Implications are clear, nobody in any part of the public sector has avoided being screwed. Regular workers made work an extra 160 hours a year(20working days) without pay, frontline staff have their rates for the night and holiday shifts reduced and people who have reached the top of their scale, many of whom can’t dream of promotion because of recruitment freeze, are losing leave or taking a pay cut. Its not a deal its a sell out by the unions.

• Sure Jack you have already made your mind up why wait 2 weeks pretending to evaluate a package you inform your members its better than what the government threaten to inpose if the talks broke down or if they reject the deal….This is the same government who rolled over for europe,banks and bondholders…yet siptu is so keen to sell their members out….

• The unions are useless.

• Yepee did you all not vote labour in the last election O’ but now it’s pay back time dont expect them to take a hit them selfs what with there big salerys and bigger perks ye must be mad.

• Michael we must have been when we voted, now We’er a different type of mad but once bitten as the saying goes. Roll on the local elections and then the General. Oh it will be so Sweet.

• Jack o Connor wearing red tie for labour on prime time.sellout

• It beyond reprehensible that the major unions even engaged with government on this, who are clearly breaking the terms of the first croke park by not letting it run its term sans inability clause being invoked. Its a pay cut of around 6-7% for the lowest paid, or working for a free for the best part of a month every year.

1913 lockout. 2013 sellout. O’Connor hang your head.

• Has this got to go to a vote or do the union bosse,s decide

• Hey Jack remember the old saying fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me you have pulled the fear stroke already for your labour buddies at the expense of the irish workers not this time not much point paying subs for lip service from a government mouthpiece

• Fair enough Jenny. I am not making a call on the equity or otherwise of the situatuon the only point I was trying to make is that the power to decide these things does not lie in this country. Everybody on here is angry and bothered but if you genuinely look at it if every public servant went on strike in the morning to protest the deal would it change anything? The answer is probably no because our lenders will probably say “so what ?”. However if people came out and said we will allow reduncany’s in non frontline areas and allow outsourcing in areas where it is benificial then perhaps the cuts to the frontline could be avoided.

• Gerry that is spot on.

• I hate what they’ve created, the us v’s them – the public v’s private thing. The way we all have suffered it should be us against the inept and carefree ones who govern…

• Thing is, the unions backed themselves into this deal. They won’t countenance redundancies or cuts in basic pay, and they can’t find any money in the budget. That leaves only one place to go – cutting “extra” payments, which disproportionately affects the most productive employees.

The cynic in me suspects that the Beards knew this all along and don’t care. The unions used to stand for working people. Now they’re just another vested interest.

• instead of people bashing the public sector nd private sector for whatever reasons…… theyshould stop and work together were all in this together…..

• Yes we are all in it together: the private sector pays the taxes, the public sector receives them. The public sector keeps its increments (boo hoo no longer) the private sector gets redundancies.

• 3,000 job losses in education since 2009. Worse than redundancies as no statutory redundancy pay given. That’s public sector by the way.

• Pablo 25/02/13 #

The public sector buys the services and goods the private sector sells Eric. What do you you think would happen if 300k people (not including their families) stopped buying goods and services? Yes, you wouldn’t have a job thats what, wouldn’t have to worry about tax then eh?

• We’re all in this together? Don’t make me laugh,where’s my Croke Park deal? And it’s a barefaced lie to say there were redundancies in education,there were plenty of early retirements and golden handshakes though,and jobs correcting state exam papers

• Lol @eric de red and do the public sector, mainly frontline do anything to receive these “taxes”? Oh yes, they save lives, clean up bodies off the roads, deal with the $cum, put their own lives at risk to protect ours! That’s right they do the jobs that nobody else wants to do! They deserve every penny!

• Read what I said Gaius. I said there were job losses, not redundancies. Through rises in the pupil-teacher ratio, cuts to home-school liaison posts, cuts to Special Needs posts, cuts to language support, cuts to DEIS schools teacher allocationa and making Guidance counsellors part of the schools’ teacher allocations, there have been 3,000 job losses in primary and secondary education in this country.

• The last time I looked a my wages it said that Ipaid tax, usc, prsi , pension, health insurance. I don’t understand when some fools say the private sector pay your wage by paying tax. Jayus do they really think that Guards, Nurses, Firefighters/ Paramedics, Prisoner Officers, Teachers and the Defence Force pay nothing and then go around scratching our arses.

• Well done jack, great for moral with the frontline workers you represent!!!

• Why is it , that people feel they have to engage in talks to cut pay and increase working hours. The unions are truly DEAD. Fair play to all those who stood by their members and walked out and refused to engage with these people who have lied to and thwarted the Irish people at every hands turn. Up the revolution .

• We would want a proper strike, not this work to rule shit and emergency cover my arse , where all that happens is three people r killed for the day looking after patients , work stil gets done , we don’t get payed for it and the cuts still go ahead. Cos I definitely won’t b doing that again this yr. for nothing.

• Face it our contracted hours are not the hours we work. Today 3 hrs extra unpaid and I do not get it back in any guise!!! Ok extra hours – most people are doing these so it won’t made a lot of a difference to increase capacity. Losing leave days or incremental points??? 9-5 my arse! Still waiting for extended hours to be brought in from CP1!!! Why 3 hours extra – ask the people who did not turn up to work today….

• He and unions of same opinion should be ashamed.

• Here’s my twopence: I don’t understand how you can have a job in the public sector and not be able to loose it, example: working in Garda college with no recruits? They can ask you to move BUT you don’t have to. Go to work everyday and do no work.

Second point if you’ve got an inefficient worker in the private sector that basically can’t their job, they get two warnings and then there let go. What in the public sector do thy carry dead weight and pay a fortune in wages and pensions. Two many good graduates leaving the country to carry dead weight.

Third point: nurses Garda doctors should not be cut, when things go tits up we run to them for help. Too important too loose good members.

• Christ you sound so well informed … Not…. As much as we all respect Gardai & Nurses, they CANT function efficiently without a support structure of lay staff in admin, engineering, general operatives etc. you dont have a clue . I suppose your another one who ridicules the public service but never applied once for a job in same. Oh yeah, you need qualifications dont you !

• Has this got to go to a vote or do the union bosse,s decide

• Nobody adknowledges the importance of the IMF and EU in this. Not a coincidence that the sudden drive for this came so soon after the recent debt deal. Seen in that light you would have to imagine any industrial action would not achieve much and that the unions that have walked away may have done its members a disservice. Rage is not an action, it is an emotion.

• Your right because, lying down with “Welcome” on your back achieves so much doesn’t it?

• No Jenny but do you think that the people who fund our deficits will bother too much either way? The cuts are coming regardless what happens and dealing with that fact and trying to influence outcomes seems to look a lot better than bluster and rage. Anger is like trying to hurt somebody by drinking poison yourself

• Since the crash happened what influence have the ordinary worker/person in this country got? Our so called leaders do not listen to us and why should they.We’ve given them no reason.They told us at the last election it would be “new politics”,all we got was the same Circus but just with different Clowns.

• John, frontline can’t accept this, we take cuts to our take home pay while everyone else doesn’t , sorry this is unacceptable,
      There is nothing in this agreement to suggest proper reform of the civil service, if anything it maintains the status quo at the expense of frontline staff

• Naomi Kleins “The Shock Doctrine” springs to mind.

• I fund my own deficits John.
      I object to paying someone elses.
      Why doesn’t that bother you?

• Paul 25/02/13 #

Truly the shock doctrine is a favourite in Ireland…Anglo deal: 4am, prom night an all-nighter at a couple of hours notice, the legislation produced a few minutes before it was voted on, croke park another all-nighter…surprised they don’t just get the army out and be done with it…or is that scheduled for after they force the gardaí to get a bad dose of the blue flu?

• The country is broke,either the public sector take a pay cut or redundancy,they’re your two choices

• @ John. Yes, the austerity is driven by troika and rightly so. Our gombeen elected reps haven’t the balls to bring these absolutely necessary changes to the table and therefore need to be told to do it or else! I know it is difficult on ALL sectors of employed persons here but better this than our children’s servitude for life also. I think it’s a sacrifice worth making especially if it teaches us all how to really really think about who we want/what type of TD/Government we want in the next election. I know I will ask hard questions at the door next time. No more laughing and cajoling, it’ll be ten pertinent questions and go from there! We need ballsy politicians who love their country and it’s people and not just their own pensions and perks!

• Niall 25/02/13 #

Only 25% of the Irish workforce is unionised* yet the way SIPTU et. al carry on you would think the figure closer to 100%. They are being asked to make the same sacrifices and effort the rest of us have, and their carry on is laughable. Oh dear, you’ll have to move your 35 hour week closer to 40 hours? If only the rest of us had such luxury. The country has no more money left, and the private sector has been bled dry: it’s high time the Civil Service shaped up.

*Referenced in case someone calls it into question: http://www.merc.ie/images/sitecontent_159.pdf

• Niall, you too should be against this agreement, if accepted it will prevent real restructuring of the civil/ public service
      It will also alienate frontline staff, and led to social unrest without reform

• Cargo 25/02/13 #

Didn’t I read recently on the journal that 40% of private sector workers are looking at a pay increase this year? Whereas 100% public sector are looking at a pay cut of some sort this year.

• If your generalizing Niall well then all those in the private sector should have to face a 60%tax because they are the ones who solely caused our economic crash (see what I did there, generalizing Niall) Just to inform you I’m in the nasty public sector I work 42.5 hrs a week I get paid for 39 the 3.5 hrs I get back at my employers convenience I get 20 days holidays a year I don’t get any of them convenience days, half days or shopping days, life of a Dublin firefighter/paramedic. Can you point out what sacrifice and extra effort you’ve made?

• Private sector worker here! Since 2009 I’ve taken a paycut of €8,000 per year. Screwed! But had no choice, either that or join the dole Q.

• Oh and my gross on 2009 was €36,000, now I’m on €28,000. Just in case anyone thought I was a lucky sod.

• Tara, Its never nice when someone gets a pay cut as you well know, but by your infered logic, if you got docked by €8000 then other people should also get docked? This is despite most PS employees have had a massive increase of work load.

Is it possible that your employment was in a industry badly affected by drop in sales or work?

Also a recent survey by IBEC said that 39% of private sector will increase wages this year and 60% will freeze them. Therefore 1% of private sector companies plan to cut wages.

Public sector is being screwed, especially the health, gardai and teachers.

• I was actually replying to cargos comment on private sector pay increases. Not all of us in private sector are laughing all the way to bank, just like all Public sector aren’t. That’s the point I was making and I apologise for not making that clear. There is too much private V public sector bashing going on when really most of us are in same boat when it comes to keeping the wolves from the door. We have come to a pathetic stage in this country where we’re been told we’re lucky to have a job! Really? And are we not entitled to a certain standard of living where we can pay all our bills and have a little left over to spend on our economy! Not any more it appears. Doors on retail units are shutting daily in this country adding more taxpayers to the dole Q’s but this seems to be ok with the powers that be! Idiots!! The lot of them. Social welfare is about to implode. Then what?

• “a recent survey by IBEC”. Haaa, haaaa, very good! Btw I work in the private sector, and believe me you don’t want to be at the mercy of those philanthropists. I have had static pay since 2008 and withdrawal of certain benefits.

• Cargo 25/02/13 #

Tara I can empathise completely with you. I see firsthand on a daily basis how badly people in the private sector are affected by this recession. I don’t normally jump on the public sector bandwagon although I am one. I am sick of being ridiculed because of my employer. I do love my work and there is a sense of satisfaction knowing I have eased somebody’s burden at the end of my working day. I truly understand how hard the private sector have it between redundancies, enforced shorter working weeks and employers taking advantage of the recession to employ people at a much cheaper rate. I’m not going to talk about cuts to my salary (I’m on the low end of the scale) because it enrages the public. I know I’m fortunate to have a job and there are so many who don’t. It just needs to be noted that most public sector are simply surviving at this stage.

• Pay frozen since 2008?? I assume that means no cuts either??? Lucky sod!!

• IBEC only represent about 10% of employers, mainly banks and semi state, while SIPTU represent less than 25% of workers, the vast majority in the public sector. 2 sides of the same coin.

• Yup, Lucky me. Only USC, increased prsi(for no benefit), increases in vat etc., and cost of living, and a pile more levys and taxes on the way.

• My mate regularly talks about an imminent increase in pay early this year as well as a bonus in March. No clues needed – He obviously works in the private sector. The only “bonus” I looked forward to was, as a teacher, S&S money twice per year in March and July – but that it is no more. However, all I ever did with it was pay an exorbitant amount of tax, PRSI, USC and Pension Levy. Out of €1,769 paid in gross ; €650 (gross) of which was paid in March, balance paid in July I think I would have been lucky to clear €550 – €600 net.

• Ada, sure arnt u lucky to have a job…???

• Still I suppose that came in handy in march to coinside with your 2 week’s paid holidays in Easter…..
      Ahhh Easter and the annual teacher union meetings/winges…. Can hardly wait

• D. Ryan 26/02/13 #

Pay static since 2008?? I assume that means no cuts either??? Lucky man

• Here’s a good example of how unfair it is

A Supervising housing inspector moves from 64227 to 65590 between the fifth and sixth points on their scale. They will now have to move from 64227 to 61982

• Are there any private sector workers on Journal.ie? The comments here come from a different planet than I live on!

• Yes bizarre reaction from clearly overpaid cosseted public sector. This deal is a travesty. All public sector salaries should be benchmarked to European norms. If that’s not enough to prevent their employer, the state, going bankrupt, then cut it further. That’s the way it is in the private sector. Strange how those who advocate that public and private should stand together forget this.

• There is an affinity and an alliance between politicians and senior civil servants.

The one thing that has been disclosed is that the privileged and protected public sector is not going to share the pain with the rest of us. Our public servants are excessively compared to their European counterparts but they use the big mortgages as an excuse not to take large reductions. The reality is that the private sector also has high mortgages.

The public sector blames greedy bankers and greedy developers for the collapse but the ultimate responsibility must rest with the public service watchdogs which became lapdogs and ignored their well paid obligations to regulate.

• Pablo 25/02/13 #

Yes because a pan of bread is 20c in Greece, that argument is pants.

• I’m sick of listening to public sector moaning about losing perks and not getting increments,they live in an inverse dimension of the private sector,and if one more person says ‘frontline staff’ my head will f**cking explode. As a taxpayer I demand that the government slash this sector immediately,I’m sick of paying for this waste budget after budget

• I’m a low paid private worker and I fully support the frontline! They deserve their pay and should take no cuts. I’ve seen the work they do and their incredible!

• Front line staff. Lets see this explosion

• Liam Doran says its unfair. After walking out of talks and denying his members a voice. You couldn’t make it up. Union leaders covering their tracks so they can say “it wasn’t me” when the vote goes through…

• JACK….. and you did see the light before the electricity was cut off . thanks man now no need for a lock in. This country needs you man and in this a time of anger and greed

• harry price ‏@harryprice9
      any cute garda out there

tweeted by you.

oh god. i threw up in my mouth a little. Serious chemical imbalance up there. Well folks another danger we have to deal with people like him too.

Add New Comment