TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Young people banned from streets of Welsh city at night

New laws bar anyone under 16 from staying out late – but the move has come under fire from children’s groups.

Image: Alvaro Barrientos/AP/Press Association Images

THE CITY OF Bangor in north-west Wales has imposed a curfew on all young people, barring them from being on the streets at night.

The measure bans anyone under 16 from being out in the city centre between 9pm and 6am, unless they are with an adult.

Anyone breaking the curfew faces a maximum sentence of three months in jail, or a fine of up to €2500. Police officers will also have the power to order any group of more than two people to leave the area.

The curfew has been introduced after residents complained about antisocial behaviour and “groups congregating to drink in the area,” North Wales Police said in a statement. Inspector Simon Barrasford added:

Many people are working very hard to improve and regenerate the city centre as well as just wanting to enjoy their daily lives without being intimidated or harassed and I have no doubt dispersal orders areas will assist in that endeavour.

However, the move has come under fire from children’s groups and civil liberties campaigners.

The Welsh children’s commissioner Keith Towler told BBC News that the curfew “demonises under-16s, isolates them from their communities, alienates them from police and spreads the misconception that all young people are troublemakers”.

And the director of Big Brother Watch said the measure was “the kind of draconian law you would expect in North Korea, not North Wales,” the Telegraph reports.

What do you think? Would you like to see similar measures introduced in Irish cities?

Poll Results:

Read: Junior minister under fire over ‘no work, no benefits’ call for young people>

Explainer: Why have just seven ASBOs been issued in Ireland in five years?>

Read next:

Comments (47 Comments)

• Peter 17/06/12 #

I lived on Gardiner Place street a few years ago.. . I feel that the parents of these children whom the majority I’d say we’re from the social flats, have no responsibility or a moral compass.. I used to see 3 yr olds walking around unsupervised with teenagers at 11pm sometimes later, they would have sticks and be banging them on cars and be purely wild, parents need to keep their kids in once it gets dark, theirs a massive risk of road traffic accidents as they dash across the roads… Most of these kids will end up on all sorts of crap when they are older… Makes me sick

• Makes you sick that society alienates people in those communities so much that they have no self worth, little education and hence little opportunity in life and hence generally turn out to be poor parents. Or that some scanger just loves letting his kid whack cars with a stick? You do realise that people in those communities probably would prefer a decent life, education and a job. But for some odd reason, they don’t normally have access to those things….wonder why that is?

• Sick hearing it’s society’s fault when kids are let run amok and that more education and amenities would sort it out. I stay in a small Bulgarian city a few weeks every year. There’s few amenities, no money and very little hope for most families. There’s a huge gap between the haves and the have-nots but the kids don’t dare misbehave, because in the unlikely event that their parents didn’t punish them, the police certainly would. And the parents would be made make good any damage their kids did. The end result is a pleasant environment for all where nobody has to worry about random violence or vandalism. Make parents who don’t teach their kids respect responsible for their misbehaviour before talking about more amenities.

• there is some awful unprovoked violence on a weekly basis in the town where i live, its always the same gang of 14-18 year olds, everyone knows who they are but no one seems to be willing to do anything about them, including the gardai, who seem to be afraid of them, they recently attacked a pregnant polish girl and kicked her till she lost the baby, this happened at 8 pm in the middle of a small town, the polish lads will probably get them now

• That’s a horrible and tragic story but this sort of law is indicative of the draconian lazy measures that get introduced to deal with youth crime. The real facts are that if these kids had something worthwhile to do in life they wouldn’t be out on the streets causing trouble. But the fix for that is long term and involves radical lefty policies like “education” and “social justice”. Easier just to stick on a curfew and give the cops powers to oppress people.

• The big difference between here and Wales is the Police in Wales are actually accountable! It doesn’t matter how many laws you make in Ireland, if the Gardai don’t make efforts to enforce them!!

• Martin, are they not being educated?

• i agree 100%, tackle the cause first, we are centuries away from that kind of thinking in this country, we prefer to fill our jails here than to go for the cheaper option of equality, btw, these kids have been ordered under curfew several times by the district judge but have always ignored it

• Eoin if you’re not aware of the correlation between educational attainment and living in areas of low socio-economic status then you probably haven’t heard about the moon landing either.

• @Martin, they get alto more amenities than i ever had access to! take for example sherrif street area they have a massive playground, astro pitches, a youth club with indoor courts, a fas centre, adult education centre and schools on their doorstep! in my opinion they get way too much for free!

• @Jake, ahh, they get it for free? So their parents don’t pay taxes then? :) You ever go to a park yourself? Or do you refrain because you object to “free” amenities?

• @jake, but that is complete nonsense, there are no public amenities in the vast majority of towns and villages in this country, of course the city is going to have some but theres nothing at all for teenagers to do in my town, unless they are into gaa and not everyone is

• Ah but Jake is opposed to schools on people’s doorsteps apparently, doubt he’d be up for building any “free” amenities in your local area.

• Martin. Hearing about something does not entail necessarily accepting it. Ireland is equal, more or less, for the bottom 60-70 % after transfers. Blaming “society” for thugs is blaming the victim. This Polish woman probably had less growing up than the people who attacked her, by blaming the tax payer for not paying enough for the education of the people who attacked her, you are effectively blaming her if she is a tax payer.

And Ireland has far fewer people in jail than any other country, per capita. we keep hearing of assaults carried out by people with tens of prior convictions. We’ve done the liberal stuff, it didn’t work.

• What about actual peer reviewed research from a wide variety of countries that says if you’re from a low socio-economic background you do not have the same educational attainment as others who are not. It’s not hearsay.

What would you suggest then? A return to the days of corporal punishment and kids being raped by priests to bate a bit of sense into them? Where’s your bloody concern for your fellow human being ffs.

• @rodrigo.. Maybe you should research your answer more, police in Ireland are accountable. They have discretionary powers but discretion can’t be used if there is an injured party.

• I know I’m going to get a load of red thumbs for this, but I have to say I think this isnt a bad idea. I live in an inner city flat (council) complex and therefore feel I have every right to comment on this. Some of my neighbours sons have left school with very good qualifications with several of them going on to do courses in DITs. However these same “well educated” teenagers who have grown up with the advantage of living in a CDP area, where they have availed of weeks/weekends away, sailing, absailing,, rock climbing, 2 weeks in clongoes wood every summer and summer projects – all free, are also heavily involved in anti-social activity. If adults tell them to get off the stairs the response is generally “shut up you mind your own business or we’ll burn you out of your gaff/car”. Of course there is always the option of keeping your mouth shut and just ringing the gardai, but usually they say they will send a car out but never actually do. Their parents of course have the attitude – my child, no my child wouldnt do that, even though their children have been arrested and prosecuted on several occasions. The last time these teenagers were prosecuted 9 of them were put on curfew orders (8pm – 8am). We didnt know our peace while this curfew was in place.
      I totally understand why people living in the “suburbs” would think that this type of response is draconian and OTT, but they are not the ones living with this problem day in day out.

• Peasant: i do not believe your story, you are exaggerating, fibbing, creatively expressing your social anxiety with fictitious crap. If not prove it: which town? App which date was the Polish woman attacked? I will check the news dating from that time and report back. I actually know you to see, i live close by, and you sir are spouting absurd and dishonest rubbish.

• The real concern is how people don’t think it is strange or wrong for kids to be out and about after 9 without adult supervision. Some have commented on how society need to educate and provide more. I agree….society needs to do more staring with good parenting, teaching right and wrong, respect for others and being accountable for your actions.

This law is a reflection of lefty methods failing and now going in another wrong direction.

We just need better parenting.

• so hate me! they can thank me when they’ve managed to stay in education and have decent choices for a better life! as it went in my school-de nerds went on to become doctors etc and de “cool” kids are smack heads and wasters! kids are supposed to hate their parents-at least mine will be hating me for de right reasons.

• Yes .This should be inplemented here.And pubs should be over18′s only.

• I agree totally with this measure. The only thing I’d say is that seven days a week is maybe a bit much, and that 10pm might be a more workable start time.
      We’re talking about fourteen and fifteen year olds here. Sunday to Thursday they should be at home in the evening, either in their own homes or the homes of their friends. How does this “demonise” them? And hanging around public places – at night – with your buds does not constitute engagement with your community. In fact if we’re speaking of corelations, I’d say there’s a negative corelation between young teens’ involvement with their community and the likelihood that they’d be in the city centre, unsupervised, at midnight.
      The fact it’s a blanket ban, on all under-16′s from all backgrounds, is good. Some kids feel, often rightly, that guards are more likely to “pick on” them. Here at least, the police can say “We’re not sending you home because you’re a trouble-maker. It’s because you’re thirteen.”

• I disagree. I think this is an outrageous measure.

In the US, black people make up the majority of those arrested for robbery and theft. Does that mean a similar measure should be imposed on them, e.g. black people should only enter a shop with supervision?
      The same arguments could be put forward, i.e. the measure applies equally to black people from all social backgrounds.

• Bangor is a kip. They had to do something with the place. A bloody good solution in my view

• I did indeed read the article with a years experience of living and working in Wales, sadly in swansea’s case young and middle aged seemed to have been out of control, case in point, reported actual crime incidents drink and drug related in swansea on a sat night make Dublin sound like Vatican city. swansea at weekends is quite simply like the wild west.

• Any one around Tralee Friday, gangs of pissed junior cert students “out celebrating the end of exams” and the poor cops running around trying to control them.lovely sight for the tourists that were in town at the time.

• i expect my kids in before 9 and will continue to until they’re 18! yes there should be a certain amount of parental responsibility but teenagers should also be accountable for themselves! unfortunately the Celtic tiger cubs have an in built sense of entitlement which means they are grateful for nothing and have also never suffered consequences either! im glad my kids are still a little young but i will continue to run my family wit an iron fist-if only to ensure i don’t end up wit “those” kids!

• Yes the law should be here and no kids should ever be allowed in a pub. What parents feel it necessary to have a drink while having their kids run around a pub? It’s disgusting. I don’t care what occasion it is communion christening etc. Stay at home. My parents did enjoy a pint with your kid when they are 18. Really hate that culture here.

• should be considered for swansea, in all my travels I never witnessed such violent behavior, its main night strip on wind street holds the accolade of being the holder of the highest reported crime statistics in the entire UK, this said, Google swansea cross dressers fight for a good laugh, alternatively Google swansea love story for a grim fly on the wall doc on swanseas drug underworld, awful stuff but sadly factual.

• Eoin Faz 17/06/12 #

Ban buggies during rush hour and in busy places!

• This would be great rule throughout many large towns of Ireland

• Both sides of the argument have valid points, but Martin you must realise that this would most definitely sort out the problem of under age vandalism. If this law was implemented here then the gardai could use their discretion, if they see a few teenagers hanging around the estate, having a laugh after the curfew, not causing any harm, then obviously no punishment is needed. But a bunch of thugs would think twice about terrorising passers by and vandalising cars/street property if they know that serious consequences could come from being out after 9. Just my thoughts!

• so rather than blame themselves for the breakdown of society and to take responsibility for changing their situation, they would prefer to blame and punish the children who are already the victims of their lack of action….

• Stop speaking sense Paul. We should just give the police power to round up and intern anyone who’s acting the bolox. Also the immigrants. They’re freeloaders too, especially the French.

• Martin. This new defence of immigrants is a bit weak. Earlier on in this thread faced with a brutal attack on a Polish immigrant you blamed “society” rather than the people involved.

• Oh Eoin you old word twister. In the very first sentence of my first post I said the attack was disgusting and tragic. You right wing nuts like to paint people like myself as ardent defenders of people who commit crime. My point is about how do we turn around people who are on that bad track? How do we prevent further crime of this sort? And that’s where society and the complete moral bankruptcy of the one we currently live in, where pursuit of profit is more important than basic needs for all.

• When you become a victim of crime you might just have a different view point in regard to this! The parents of these kids are the first to call for heads on plates and sue the state or individuals because they got knocked down while pissed at 13 or 14. Parents need to be held accountable not the child!

• they wouldn’t b hanging around the streets if the city provided them with things to do

Add New Comment