TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Any cut in allowances is in breach of Croke Park agreement say unions

The government has a priority list of 88 allowances to be abolished in the public sector, according to newly published letter.

Liam Doran, general secretary of Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation
Image: Eleanor Keegan Photocall Ireland

RENEWED ATTEMPTS BY the government to remove public sector allowances would be in breach of the Croke Park agreement, unions have said.

Reacting to the latest news that the Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin is targeting 88 allowances to be abolished, the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) said the cooperation of health service staff could not be guaranteed if the government sought to breach its obligations under the current public service agreement.

“The allowances that the Government are now seeking to remove, for many grades across the health service, undoubtedly form an integral and core part of the pay of the staff in question” said Liam Doran, INMO General Secretary. “They cannot be expected to take any further cuts in their weekly/monthly pay and the government must reverse its current strategy.”

SIPTU also condemned any similar move being made by the government.

The INMO and other health service unions were yesterday shown a letter by the HSE from the secretary general of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, Robert Watt. Dated September 28th, it indicated that the government had a priority list of 88 allowances for serving personnel that it wanted to abolish.

The allowances targeted in the letter include:

• A €2,000 island inducement allowance paid to nurses working on islands off the Irish coast.
  • A €3,500 Gaeltacht allowances to nurses stationed in Irish speaking areas.
  • Medical training allowances for consultants, worth €3,000  a year
  • Allowances paid to ambulance staff.

Enda Kenny will later meet with the body overseeing the Croke Park agreement to look at ways in which the public sector pay deal may be extended but with some changes.

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• Enda cut your pay to 100k so that you no longer earn double what the Spanish PM earns.

Drop your unvouched turning up for work allowances. Apply these changes pro-rata to the rest of your gombeens.

Then you can unashamedly tackle public service allowances and pay

• Barty 11/10/12 #

2 tier public / civil service don’t touch senior public & civil servants pay but screw all lower grades and we can blame it on croke park.

• Politicians need to take a huge hit, once and for all on what they’re paid before anymore is done!

• If anyone thinks Nurses and Doctors are in their jobs for the money they should go along to any of the hospitals and see the dedication.
    Pay a visit to Our Ladys Hospital and see what they do and I can tell you whatever they earn should be increased tenfold.
    I deal with Civil servants most days and I have noticed that most of the wasters are gone and the staff are fantastic.

• Micheal 11/10/12 #

Pay a visit to any hospital, people need a stat dose of reality – they seem to think that those in the PS are there for the money, or are lazy, or do feck all, and yes – there are people who are there for those reasons, you get that in all areas of life, but the majority of PS workers are hard working people, and the majority of front line staff do not earn nearly enough for what it is they do.

• a lot of idiots on here, people getting up and going to work and earning a wage are not crippling the country its all the fat cat,s spungers , alcoholics ,junkies and well paid bankers and politicians who are draining the life from this country , ordinary people going to work public or private sector are doing their bit so get real begrudgery is all well and good if you are being fair ,take a walk around town or into any hospital and see where all the money is going, on people who don,t contribute anything but get every thing for free and i,m not talking about genuine unemployed people i,m talking about people who never bothered to get a job when there was no shortage and i know a good few who always have money to go the pub or get high but managed to become longterm unemployed 20 years longterm unemployed but you people reckon its public sector workers problem they get paid too much jump on the band wagon why don,t you but first know what you are talking about cause a lot of people on here don,t seem to, change the mentality before you change the system

• Good on ya Niall!

• Damocles 11/10/12 #

Niall, Surely there are a range of things to be concerned about, off the top of my head:

The disproportionate number of state employees for a country of this size.
      The disproportionate number of TDs for an electorate of this size.
      Long term welfare dependants (as you’ve rightly pointed out)
      Over paid public sector workers.
      Profligate waste.
      Sovereignty of bailout debt.

And more, lots more. But there isn’t one thing and there isn’t one solution. We can’t not discuss one because the others still exist, surely?

• And still no mention of a third rate of tax, which would recoup a lot of the expenses paid to high end public servants directly from their wages. Oh, thats right, that would mean the people stuffing fine gaels coffers would have to put their hands in their pockets as well……..

• They need to be cutting the wages of the people at the top of the pay scale, not at the bottom-easy targets. Instead of going for the overpaid consultants and admins at the top. Shameful.

• Nobody would mind if their allowances had to be cut for a period. As long as it’s across the board. Meaning, a huge majority of allowances that TDs and Ministers receive should be blocked also. These TDs and Ministers are well able to do without all these extras. Nurses and trainee nurses especially, that do three 12 hours shifts in a row and are then given 1 day off deserve proper payment. These young people are working so hard, putting themselves through college and are trying to pay for digs, food etc. on less than EUR5 an hour.

I don’t care if they are training, these are the future of Ireland, we need them to want to stay in Ireland and not emigrate as many 1,000′s have done. All it needs is for one TD and/or Minister to step forward, be honest and hand over the majority of allowances to prove that they too in ‘their world’ cares for the youth and aged in this country.

• Nobody wants to see a low level nurse or who’s working ungodly hours for poor pay getting there salary cut…but the unions need to step into the real world in terms of public sector pay and admit that there are people who are not on the bottom rung, people who are getting nice salaries and perks on top of it and its just not sustainable.

• Howlin said yesterday he could not stop the increments due to be paid to higher paid PS workers. He also said the value in the increments in the overall scheme of things is miniscule. That may be true, however, that is not a good starting off point to ask those lower down the rungs to agree to even talking about cuts let alone agreeing to cuts.

• Their are also union officials being paid enormous salaries in contrast to those whom they suggest they represent.

• When Howlin starts to cut his own allowances, then he can start cutting them for people who earn less than half of what he does.

• I’m no lover of the p.s, but you have to start at the top of the pyramid. Cut those immoral allowances for TD’s and other government leeches and work your way down.

• Firstly the goverment should cap all public sector pay @ 100k, i know this won’t resolve the economic problem, but it would show that they are serious about distributing the financial burden more evenly across society.

• Sure perhaps those that work in the PS should work for free? Save the country, coz you know, they haven’t taken a single cut like.
    Allowances are paid for a reason.

• If only the rest of us were lucky to get half the allowances some of these people got.

• Micheal 11/10/12 #

Damien, if you work in the private sector, these allowances are part if your basic salary. You’re a butter fellow with an axe to grind – you should grind it with something other than the PS.

• Ok lets see;

Footwear allowance
      Driving allowance
      Uniform allowance
      Uniform cleaning allowance
      Mobile Phone Allowance
      Extra duties allowance
      Eating on site allowance

What’s wrong with paying for these out of your own pocket like everyone else? Why should you be so different that you should get paid an allowance for it?

It’s not being bitter, its called being realistic. This countries finances are going down the drain, and if people are going to have their wages cuts, then some of these allowances are going to have to go. So suck it up.

• I get eating on site allowance and its 1.90 a day and is so I eat in a truck by the side of the road like today wet covered in muck and no wash facilitys. because it would take to long to get back to my yard . 1.90 wow I’m bringing the country down

• The point is, ALL these allowances add up.

If people’s wages, medical treatments, pensions, social welfare and many more are being cut left, right and centre, what’s wrong with allowances being cut?

A driving allowance? I drive and don’t get an allowance for it
      I don’t get an allowance for eating where i work. Instead, when im shopping, i buy everything i need for it, so i dont need to go out and spend a damn sight more in the shops. Whats wrong with you doing it too?

Things is, alot of these allowances don’t need to be paid.

• Damocles 11/10/12 #

What the biggery flip is an “Eating on site allowance”?

• Damien… I don’t get any of those allowances…

I get cardiac allowance and shift allowance…. That’s it!!!

Finegael want to take our cardiac allowance away cos were the little guys..

• Tell me the reason for the allowance for working in an Irish area is for because I don’t understand that one?

• @damien if you want to get these allowences you should have got a job in the public sector otherwise stop moaning , if you knew anything about some of the jobs that some of these allowances are attached to you would see that they are neccesary , its undeniable that some of these allowances are undefendable and rightfully should go but some are neccesary , and lets remember the goverment put the croke park agreement forward to the public sector , the ordinary frontline ps worker has suffered enough the jobs are hard enough in difficult often dangerous conditions they should not have to suffer more cuts to their already ravaged wages

• @ Damien
      Who in the PS gets a mobile phone allowance!?! Think you might be telling fibs there!! Lol

• Who says i want these allowances? It’s the people who are getting them are the ones complaining now that they are going to lose them. It’s not my fault they are being forced to pay for them like everyone else has. The ones that are absolutely necessary i dont have a problem with, but most of them are just stupid.

Here you’ll find a list; http://www.newstalk.ie/2012/programmes/all-programmes/breakfast/full-list-of-public-service-allowances-and-premium-payments/

Point out where im wrong

• Micheal 11/10/12 #

I’ve just seen that list of allowances and laughed. Many of those allowances are not paid. Perhaps this is why Howlin couldn’t cut 75m.

• Lolz I’m outa here! It’s bad enough as a new grad being paid less than minimum wage. Without more cuts when I officially register. G’luck lads..

• The Gaeltacht one is a joke but the rest seem fair enough , as has been said above there are lots of obscenely ridiculous allowances paid to public sector employees but it is not nurses or ambulance staff that are getting them.

• Love this “lucky to have a job”,comment for emergency services, yer lucky to have nurses and Gards who still care

• Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer !

When will people realise that this is a tactic used by the government to detract fom the lack of imagination they have in trying to rectify the problems they are ignoring in this country .

Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! Divide and conquer ! ……..

• I’m still laughing at Eoghan Murphy’s comments on RTE1 radio – TDs get €12k per annum just to attend Dáil Éireann. When asked should this allowance go ‘well no you see I need that for getting around my constituency’ – presenter ‘you’re constituency is Dublin South East. You could walk across it it’s so small’
    Murphy ‘oh no I need that allowance’

Poor hypocrisy

• peter 11/10/12 #

The economy cant recover if people cant pay their bills or mortgage or cant spend money. So lets take more income of 300,000 people, that makes loads of sense. When the idiots can get down of their high horse about public servants and see that their opinion is that of the indo and not their own maybe this country can move on. So they still have a job is that their fault and they want to protect what they were given when everyone else was earning the money. Its but sour grapes on the private sector employees. Tough luck you chose path we chose ours. Cut my pay again and i will vote for strike action and break whats left of this Poxy country which is in the state its in because of greed by developers and banker and people in the private sector who lied on loan applications to live way beyond their means. Staff in the public sector got little or no pay rises or any of the perks that come in the private sector.
    WE ARE NOT THE CAUSE OF THE RECESSION. PRIVATE SECTOR GREED WAS. ANGLO WASNT A PUBLIC BODY. SCREW THE LOT OF YOU

• No pay rises, little or no perks??? Are you living in some sort of twilight zone??? All the people i know in PS get a day off just to go Christmas shopping for god sake, this can’t be done on your time off like everyone else. It’s this sort of bull that is costing so much. Yes, private sector had it good for a time, just like the public sector, but they’ve had to cut their cloth according to their measure, it’s time the PS done the same. Strike if you must, you’ll get no damn support from the public, that’s for sure. See how long your strike lasts when the public turn on you and your unions, not very long I bet

• peter 11/10/12 #

You obviously cant read either the public have long since turned against us. As for support for a strike. There are 300,000 public servants added together with their families Thats a lot OF People. Also no one gets a day for xmas shopping Thats more of your Irish independent ideas any days off taken come out of annual leave. I get no perks. A minimum nine hour day with a twenty minute lunch break Thats some perk. You really are bit of a dumb ass Jason

• peter 11/10/12 #

I see you skirted around the issues of the banks and the lies people told on their loan applications. Selective criticism Thats real media opinions. Can you not think for yourself. You probably paid for a degree to think through the media. Money well spent

• i agree with you maybe we should withholding our mortgage repayments in protest at intrest rate rises instead of fighting each other

• Good on ya Peter!

• Sorry daisy but if a teacher is on leave durning the holidays she carries over the 3 months holidays into her maternity leave.
      Look cut from the top down then we might not need to attack frontline workers.

• Fair play to you Peter.

• Oh for God’s sake, Unions.

THERE IS A RECESSION ON.

• For once the unions are right…. The government are planning to take a €16 per week allowance off paramedics, yet they keep every allowance they are on…. We get paid Fook all as it is….

• So they want to take €16 a week off you?

My heart bleeds for you.

Do you have kids? Then be thankful if you don’t because if you did, you have a hell of alot more taken off you.

And be thanfull you have a job in the first place, because if you didn’t, any social welfare money you MIGHT be able to get and going to be subject to major cuts if half the stories coming out are to be believed.

So be thankful it’s only €16 a week they are taking off you. Everywhere else people are losing their jobs and having their wages cut by alot more.

• @ Damien, it’s not my fault I have a job… I got off my backside and educated myself while others sit on the dole…. If I had a € for every time some one said “you’re lucky to have a job” I wouldn’t need to work.

The point is that’s another €64 gone out of the pay check every month… Unlike you I have to put diesel in the car to get to work every day/night. I pay my mortgage etc. I have no medical or gp card. Yet the politicians who want to take money of frontline emergency workers (some of the lowest paid staff in the HSE) continue to receive ALL of their unvouched allowances…. It’s hypocrisy of the highest order!!!

• I’m well educated too. And who said i don’t have a job? Who said i don’t have diesel in the car? Who says i don’t have to pay a mortgage? Before you making assumptions about me, why don’t you find out what the hell you’re talking about..

Plus there are plenty of people on the dole who are highly educated aswell, so you’re argument is thereby invalid. Now they have to decide of wither staying on the dole and HOPE to find a half decent job to pay the bills, or take their family out of the country.

Other people’s wages are being cut, some by alot more then €16 so quit complaining. If you don’t like what’s happening, then do something about it instead of coming on here, complaining and looking for sympathy because you won’t get any off me or many others, that i can tell you.

• This is a divide and conquer game Howlin is playing . Each and every one of us ,workers (+Private /Public,)Unemployed ,disabled/able bodied, elderly/young, Students, parents, married/ single, lone parents, mothers , fathers , married ,divorcees , private housing , local authority housing, etc etc …are finding it tough. It is so unfair that we have been so thoroughly decimated and reduced to watching what everyone ls is getting / not getting ? ! Solidarity and supporting each other and standing up to this cowardly government . Enough is Enough . Damien and Nocturnal, I wish you both well and hope things work out for all of us .

• Yeah there I’s a recession at the minute, that doesn’t stop the bills coming into peoples homes..bills have to be paid and that’s very hard to do if the goverment at every chance are taking money off..well overdue that we stand up and say NO for a change!!!

• I’d be happy enough with this cut to be honest because it doesn’t affect me.

• Damien its people like you that are the problem…. Just take the pay cut and be happy… People have every right to be disgusted that there wages are being cut further..

• Take the cut and be happy? Are you serious?

Tell that to the bank when the mortgage payment has to be paid and all the other bills have to be paid. Tell that to the guy in the shop when i have to do food shopping.

• I was a public service worker , now retired ,and those allowances are necessary . Walk in my shoes and tell me how to live and tell me how to do MY job . The unions are right to oppose this idea .

• I don’t think you got my comment Damien… You’re the one telling me to shut up and take the cut and stop whining about it….

• Nocturnal paramedic.
      Ordinarily I would welcome the reduction in allowances. But you point is spot on. To be fair they are looking at attacking front line services yet retain their untouched allowances. It’s scandalous, and again I think they have misjudged the anger seething through society towards them.
      Public sector reform is a given, and must happen, but they need to look in the mirror before going after yourself and other vital sectors.

• Good lord Damien, what are you rabbiting on about. If at some time you fall, have a heart attack or some emergency, you will be glad of Damien turning up in his” lucky to have a job” and saving your angry arse.
      I repeat myself, public sector reform is a given, but why attack the small guys at the bottom and leave the fat cats get all the cream.
      I also think this line that someone is lucky to have a job is utter shite.

• My apologies, of course i meant if Nocturnal turned up in his ambulance.

• Im all for going after the guys at the top, but can’t expect to sit back and not contribute in some form. And with the amount of people getting laid off, i would be lucky to still be employed for the forseeable future. That is what makes me work harder so when push comes to shove i’ll still have a job to come back to the next day.

And how is that utter shite? Having a job is a privilage, not a right, remember that.

• Sorry Damien but there’s no talking to ye… We’ve already seen our wages slashed.. Enough is enough!!!

• This €16 allowance, this is the CPR allowance?

Does this mean that there are paramedics working for the HSE who don’t know CPR and therefore don’t get this allowance?

Ins’t CPR the sort of thing that you’d expect paramedics to know?

• Not sure what you mean by referring to having a job as a “privilege”.
      If you mean someone needs to work hard, get a good education or enhance ones abilities in a quest to get work, then yes having a job is a reward for putting in the effort.

• To have a job is certainly not a privelege ,it is your right . In fact I would even go so far as to say it is your duty to your family and society to hold a job .

• “To have a job is certainly not a privelege ,it is your right . In fact I would even go so far as to say it is your duty to your family and society to hold a job .”

Show me where having a job is your right. Is it in the Constitution? Has it been put into Law? Is it part of the bill of Human Rights?

Where does it say it’s your right to have a job?

“Not sure what you mean by referring to having a job as a “privilege”.
      If you mean someone needs to work hard, get a good education or enhance ones abilities in a quest to get work, then yes having a job is a reward for putting in the effort.”

That’s still no promise that you’ll get a good job here. If it was everyone who put the effort into going to college here in Ireland would have gotten the job they wanted. Instead, they come out where there is hardly a job for them and they’ve had to emigrate to a different country to find it instead. So do we tell everyone that if you go to college, stud hard, put the effort in and they’ll get a good job?

Or tell them that they can go to college, but there’s no guarantee they’ll be a good job for them by the time they finish.

• Damocles… It’s called a cardiac allowance.. It was originally given to “ambulance drivers” who we’re trained to use it as back in the day the driver only did first aid and had a nurse on the ambulance with him. We retained the allowance because we decertify every year on the defib machines and CPR. Now I hear you shout”shouldn’t paramedics do this is standard?”. Unfortunately when we up skilled to paramedic level we were never paid as such… and we still aren’t. If you look up hse pay scales you will not find paramedic in there. You will see us under “emergency medical technician”. We’re right in there with the support staff like cooks and van drivers… Infact porters are paid more than us!!!
      They can take the allowance off us but expect about 1200 paramedics too start looking for payment as paramedics….

• Damien, you are going around in circles with your argument. You hold fast to the idea that a job is a privilage, so what if i dont want to feel privilaged, do i choose not to work, and thats ok cause i dont want to be one of the privilaged few. Seriously what in the name of holy are you trying to say. Of course no one is guranteed a job but putting in the effort will increase the chance of getting one. Am i to tell my kids, feck dont bother with that college malarchy, or doing your apprenticeship sure there’s no gurantee of a job, you would be better off doing F’all.
      Explain to me what you are actually trying to say, and as your at it have a look at your last few comments.
      You are a tad bit confused.
      But look if you want to belive its a privilage, do.

• The cost of the Irish language is simply mind blowing. Will we ever become competitive with this huge luxury for a minority of people. Such a terrible waste – everything is doubled in cost as a result of printing in two languages. English is our main language and Irish is a hobby for most people why are we supporting it. I would like to see a pill conducted and see if people want to give money to Irish instead of hospitals etc.

• A Pill?

• Think he means a “votail”

• Obviously just a typo, should be “poll”

• @Frank 2521

What makes me angry about the Irish language is that it is needed still for many jobs in Ireland. It’s just so outdated and unfair to many. Why do I feel that way? Well, on a personal view point, I’m dyslexic as is my daughter. Unfortunately, back in the late ’60′s early ’70′s there was no such thing as ‘exemption from Irish’. Thankfully, there was for my daughter. Ever since she was a little girl, she wanted to be a teacher. She received honours in her Leaving Cert. Sadly, for her, Irish was not one of them. Because of this, she cannot go to college in Ireland and do teaching!

She left for Canada two weeks ago to find work and also hopefully be given an extra 2 years on to her visa, so that she can study primary school teaching. Sadly when and if she was to come home, she won’t be allowed teach here! She is one of a minority in Ireland that are punished because of her dyslexia. If I had the energy and money I would be fighting for her right to teach in her own country. So wrong, to hell with the Irish language, learn to speak it as a hobby but don’t push it on people and refuse them their dream in life.

• The “printing in two languages” is gone now.

• Well said.

• eoghan 11/10/12 #

They need to cut some allowances 3,500 for working in the Gaeltacht for f sake

• Ethical decisions are made every day but if they touch my pay I’ll strike in a second! My pay should be increased to pre CPA levels.. we don’t even get paid for Saturdays.. 15 euros for a 12 hour day! Take an allowance or two but I want my full Saturday pay back! IBEC should get thier act together and reform their area’s rather than making comment in PS! CPA has some fundamental flaws in allowances however the gains made since it’s creation has saved this country billions and promotes performance improvement in the PS! FOCUS PDCA.. easy methodolgy for change! Find the problem,organise a team, clarify the problem, understand the problem and create a strategy to change it.. Plan Do Check Act and hold the gains while reviewing the deficits and then recycle it! Core pay stays with Saturday pay and I would be happy for a few allowance taken away! I don’t think the Private sector works for free on Saturadys… if they have a job! But that’s not my fault!

• We need to stand up to the unions and abolish these allowances, scrap the croke park agreement.

• You should take a look at the starting pay for EMT’s, Paramedics, Guards, nurses etc before you make stupid sweeping statements like that.

• Clarence I don’t think you can really look at a Garda’s starting wage and get a picture of what they’re earning! If you can wade through the myriad of allowances that they receive you will see a completely different picture! Of course they probably deserve it for the line of work they’re in but I would much prefer if it was just called wages so nobody could hide behind this misinformation anymore!

• We need to approach this situation both logically and fairly.
      Take for example the Gaeltacht allowance. It would be reasonable to presume that there is no difference in the personal costs of being a District Nurse in Rath Cairn in Meath or Athboy which is three miles away.
      Therefor the Nurse working in Athboy or Trim is disadvantaged by the amount of this allowance. To make the situation fair it would be logical to remove the sum of money completely.
      Next one please……………………

• Invoke worsened economic circumstances and get on with it.

• Unions need to get with it and look at what is going on in this country, they are a complete joke themselves. How much money do these guys get again, and what real use are they just look at all the jobs gone yesterday …

• anybody on here know anything about the increment system in public service and this time from d bottom up. might put things in perspective

• Forget the allowances, these are only drops in the ocean. Cut the ridiculous amount of sick days they can get. In the private sector your entitled to none by law, it’s only recommended your allowed 3 but in reality it’s zero. Public sector on the other hand can take weeks at a time without fear of reprimand. Bring them in line with the private sector, recommended 3 days only, anything after that sign on like the rest of us, you’ll see a huge drop in sick leave and huge savings. Also, maternity has to be looked at. I know someone who had 3 children, one straight after the other, she was out nearly 3 years with full pay, public sector again. The unions and PS workers don’t live in the real world if they think this kind of behaviour is acceptable.

Apologies for the essay!!

• “Public sector on the other hand can take weeks at a time without fear of reprimand. ”

Because it’s certified by a doctor.

“I know someone who had 3 children, one straight after the other, she was out nearly 3 years with full pay, public sector again. ”

All women are entitled to 26 weeks’ maternity leave together with 16 weeks additional unpaid maternity leave. It’s no different in the public sector.

• Jason I agree with you on the maternity leave- it is widely abused and the rest of us have to take up the slack who while these women are constantly missing.
      However on the sick pay try to look at it this way: a person works his/her allotted hours per week…. He/she performs whatever labour/tasks to a certain standard in a certain time frame: ie he/ she works hard. If this person does not cut the cloth regarding attendance or performance they are sacked.
      As long as they are performing, however, they are making money for their employer, and if they weren’t making money for their employer they would be told to sling their hook.,,,so, without mentioning public/ private sector, would you agree with me in saying that a worker should be entitled to a certain level of sick pay if unable to work, as they dutifully and loyally put the effort in when they are well, rather than just not be paid by the man who they are generating profits for the rest of the time?

• Irish Trade Unions, protecting ‘Medical Training Allowances’ for DOCTORS in the middle of the countries darkest economic hour. Bravo boys.

• You’d prefer they don’t keep up to date?

• No, I’d prefer they, like most people in a normal working environment, didn’t get paid extra for keeping themselves up to date on changes in their profession. It’s hardly outside their standard job description to keep pace with changes in their field.

• Before or after the average 80 hour week? If it was a normal working week I would absolutely agree.

• Tom
      What is a normal working environment ?
      Attending the carnage of a road traffic accident ? Or taking dead burnt bodies out of a car after a crash ? Giving resussitation albeit with the aid of specialist equipment to a vomiting bleeding patient? Maybe chasing down gang land criminals who are armed better than our Gardai? Informing family of the death of a loved one( Nothing worse imo)
      Or is sitting at a desk typing in data to a computer normal?
      The begrudgery on here is nothing short of disgraceful . How many times have we said that Nurses /Fire personnel do not get paid anywhere like enough for their expertise and dedication .So for my part I would like to commend these men and women for looking after us in our times of need. They have already been cut enough!

• Too bad-are they some type of special case?…we are all under review,where this budget is concerned!..choke park agreement more like!…

• Cut the allowances.

• Only after the politicians and other elites have taken substantial cuts. Leadership and example are needed.
      Howlin is such an eejit, two weeks ago little or no cuts, now some cuts, what next?
      By the way, Another great photo!

• Get real Unions. The Croke Park agreement is completely irrelevant. Step outside of your comfort zone and have a reality check. !!

• Theres a huge difference in loosing 16 euro from a ps wage as loosing 16 euro from a welfare payment ..

• No there is not ! People are unaware how low paid some members of the public sector actually are. You are misinformed on the pay scales of most public sector workers. They have already taken large pay cuts, and can not afford or are not prepared to take any more. Why don’t you suggest that the goverment starts these cuts at the very well paid members of this society and leave the hard working nurses, guards clerical staff etc alone.

• 16 euro isn’t much to lose from your pay packet?? The pay packet that I have to earn unlike sitting at home doing nothing and receiving social welfare?? Big difference….

• Not much! Many public servants are on family income assistance.fact!

• Anyone one think the people in charge were running the country.

• People are idiots public service pay is crippling us and loosing €16 is a small price to pay when you look at all those people in the building trade unable to find a job im lucky i work in retail but have had to take a wage cut twice but the way i look at it its still better than the dole

• Simply put, all public service allowances need to be cut. You can’t expect a severely stressed private sector to pay for perks they don’t enjoy themselves. That is patently unfair. That said, why are frontline workers targeted first whist politicians retain their “going to work” allowance etc? It seems to me that allowances are an entirely outmoded compensation mechanism, if they have merit then they should be part of core pay, otherwise they are offensive in the extreme. Do away with them all and then let’s see Howling try to justify a TD pay increase. 3 years left lads, then you are all shameful history and a bad smell.

• Allowances are a distraction from the fundamental unwillingness of successive governments to deal effectively with public pay structures. The difference between what this state takes in terms of tax and what it spends is only bridged thanks to external lenders and is not sustainable.

• Bitch and moan about banks and tds were stuck with the banking issues (thanks alot FF ). But lets be realistic the public service wage bill is not sustainable in this current climate i agree the cuts should be across the board but it still dosent get away from the fact it needs to be done

• Let’s pay the whole public sector 110% of the European average for comparable jobs in Europe.
    I can’t see anyone with an eternal job in the public sector having an argument about that on the basis of fair pay.

• MrKnow 11/10/12 #

Ireland = failed state. You let it build up with your “its not on my door so i won’t worry” attitude. Your deluded in thinking that this will blow over and things will get better, really! The only thing that survives a nuclear fallout is titanium and cockcoaches. The banks are titanium and the people running it are cockcoaches.

Add New Comment