TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Crown “disappointed” as Oireachtas committee votes against smoking ban at Leinster House

Finian McGrath TD, who was against the motion, said he was “delighted” the committee showed some “common sense” on proposed ban on campus.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

AN OIREACHTAS COMMITTEE has voted against a proposed smoking ban in the grounds of Leinster House.

The members of the Joint Committee on Health and Children voted this morning against the motion put forward by Professor and Senator John Crown, who is also a consultant oncologist.

Crown gave TheJournal.ie his reaction to the decision:

I’m extremely disappointed and surprised and was quite certain that there had been broad support for this.

People were commenting that it was inconsiderate to bring in such a smoking ban but there is nothing considerate about people harming their own health.

The only person who supported Crown’s proposal this morning was Peter Fitzpatrick, Fine Gael TD for Louth, “the rest opposed it,” said Crown.

People were saying that I was putting forward this motion principally to punish smokers, but I was trying to help them.

Crown called for a ban on smoking because he believes an example should be set by those in Leinster House – a smoking ban already exists within the building under the terms of the 2004 smoking ban. It is also part of his strategy to ban tobacco trading in Ireland by 2030.

Earlier, he tweeted his disappointment at the “lack of support” for his motion. Image via ProfJohnCrown/Twitter

Crown is also annoyed at the fact that tax payer’s money is going towards funding “overhead electric heaters in Leinster House” to keep  smokers warm. Although there are four main designated smoking areas, Crown went on to dispute that smokers stuck to them, “in practice, people smoke everywhere”, he said.

Image via ProfJohnCrown/Twitter

Out of the 166 members of the Dáil, around 30 are smokers and one of those is Dublin North Central TD, Finian  McGrath, he told TheJournal.ie:

I’m pleasantly surprised and delighted that the Oireachtas committee has shown some common sense to all the staff in the Dáil and the minority of Oireachtas members.

I would now ask for Professor Crown to cop on and show a bit more respect to the 30 per cent of  the Irish population who smoke.

Read: Oireachtas committee to vote on banning smoking at Leinster House >

Read: Proposals to make Leinster House a smoke-free campus >

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• Did they vote, to ban alcohol consumption in the work place i.e. The Dail Bar!

• Smoking is already banned on the grounds of many hospitals here, patients have to stand outside on the street… Those in Leinster House should be happy to do what is enforced upon others…

• After a few months only members of the dail will be able to afford to smoke anyway?!?!?

• Do they have a cigarette allowance ? They seem to have an allowance for everything else. Oh no they might give them selves one now.

• I think they should concentrate on more important matters than this one at the moment.

• It’s like a sub plot in Father Ted!

• I have been asking Finian McGrath to show some respect for me and hundreds like me who dont want his junk mail in my letter box and now he is asking Crowne to show respect. What an idiot

• They’re putting a sugar tax on fizzy drinks yet they smoke in heated comfort in the grounds of the Dail!!

• Typical Mc Grath opposing something that is not in his own personal interest just like the others in Leinster House in regard to their own allowances, pensions, reductions of the numbers of plonkers sorry TDS etc.

• I smell a decoy from a certain hot topic.

Look at the numbers around how TDs voted on legislation that killed somebody this week. Which in itself is a decoy from debating full reproductive rights.

Who gives a flying f*ck about smoking… How about some *individuals* in government. Instead of a bunch of whipped stooges. How about a sensible proportion of *women* in there, especially when something like reproductive rights is being voted on?

Really, government is just depressing most everywhere you find it. With a few exceptions here and there among the tons of inertia.

• Finian believes that smokers deserve ‘respect’. Not even a sane smoker expects respect on the basis of their smoking.

Any smoker with half a brain hates being hooked on the rotten things, not knowing the day nor the hour that one further drag finally results in the cells in their lungs starting to misbehave and the seeds of a tumour are started.

Go visit someone with lung cancer in hospital Finian before you champion your next cause.

• Of course they deserve respect.
      Not because they smoke, but because they are individual human beings who are capable of making their own decisions and lifestyle choices.
      We employ the Government to look after the country,
      Not to make decisions about what we should and shouldn’t do in our personal lives.

• That’s what I said Paddy, people don’t deserve respect on the basis that they smoke.

Furthermore, nicotine addiction reduces human beings ability to make their own decisions and choices about giving up. It is extremely addictive, and harmful for health.

Finian may be too thick to appreciate the damage he is doing his own health by sucking in hundreds of toxins and carcinogens with every drag. He may have convinced himself that his craving for nicotine is actually a form of enjoyment. He is allowed to make his own error in his personal life. More fool him if his brain is telling him he is the Marlboro man and fags are hip and relaxing.

However Finian rudely telling a highly qualified CANCER doctor to ‘cop on’ for trying to limit the substance abuse at Leinster house, that is statistically unfortunately very likely to cause several of the 30 smokers to contract cancer, demonstrates complete ignorance and arrogance.

Sorry I want my Government to make rules to prevent fools from self-harm. Some people are too thick to exercise self control.

• Well said!

I picked the following up off his own web site. I’d like to understand the correlation between his comments today and his activities in Child Education.

….He is particularly active in the areas of Health, Housing, Children, Crime, Disabilities, Education, ….

• Sieg Heil mein Führer!

• Are they seriously voting on this with all that’s happening and matters that really need to be discussed?? Says it all really.

• Dear God can we just stop with this sort of inane comment.

It is possible for people to actually discuss more than one issue in any one day. Do you get up in the morning, decide to do one thing and then do only that and nothing else?

• John Criwn must be totally fed up trying to help people with terminal illness and yet their family go out for a smoke during their visits.
    He may be expecting a lot for our obese, wife cheating , brown envelope takers, corrupt, immoral, lying, bullying politicians to lead by example.

• Frank
      I believe you have a lot of hate stored up in you. Are there any among us that could be favoured at any time with a fawning smile or a look of benevolence. In reality you spit and spew bitterness in a most unpleasant way and it really doesn’t contribute anything to discussion threads. Why not try one of the self help groups instead. Actually you may have a form of Tourette’s !

• Common sense decision by government for once. Banning people from smoking outdoors is just silly

• Like the Irish government doesn’t have bigger fish to fry… for god’s sake. We all know the health risks involved in smoking, if people wish to continue outdoors it’s really not an important enough issue to warrant diverting the attention of Leinster House for any extended period of time.

Legislate for the X case, come up with some viable economic solutions, then, maybe, we’ll see about letting you worry about where to put the bloody smokers.

• @Grace Long-Double-Barrelled-Surname

This in nothing to do with ‘the Government’, and they were not involved with the bill.

Surprising as it may sound though, the Oireachtas can concentrate on more than one thing at a time.

• This is unreal, surely members of dail should be giving better example, especially a committe representing Health& Children, no wonder people are losing faith with the political system

• Ciara
    John Crown is a highly educated man but he’s also a bully. His demeanor at all times is for people to do as he says. Smoking at the moment is a perfectly legal activity and denying anyone the ability to light up in Gods free air is not appropriate in a Democracy whether the participant is a TD or a Doctor.
    Should the Committee have passed this proposal what do you think would be next Ciara. Perhaps they would have followed up with consuming alcohol in our homes due to the negative influence on children or perhaps the wearing of pajamas in public because it gives foreign industrialists the idea that we lounge around all day.
    John and Ciara…….build a bridge!

• Fair play John crown! Perhaps the smokers (and surprisingly non-smokers) of dail eireann should respect the opinion of a well educated man and expert in his field. The government should lead by example. Prevention is better than cure. Smoking kills.

• good excuse to hammer the smokers in the budget again,won’t stop smokers though,just means something else gets cut out of the family budget

• One rule for them, another for everyone else.

• I have to laugh at the ‘lead by example’ comment,the only place to smoke indoors in europe is in the European parliament !can you imagine that hypocrisy!?so I don’t light up in a stadium ,but nearly everywhere else is fair game as I’m a grown adult and don’t blow smoke in people’s faces or anywhere near them.it gets really annoying lately with more and more restrictions,just ban them for anyone not yet 18 ,give all smokers an i.d. card and let’s get rid of them,stuff like these proposals are pure diversion tactics.

• A classic case of do as we say and not as we do!

• Reg 15/11/12 #

What do as we say but not as we do would you be referring to there Diarmaid?

• Many schools, hospitals etc have enforced a no smoking policy on campus grounds. The government also introduced the no smoking policy in workplaces themselves, yet when it comes to their own smokes…… Governments are supposed to lead by example, LH has a subsidised bar with thousands owed in tabs and rather than lead by example on stamping out smoking they are protecting their own…. Fairly clear cut really Reg!

• “in practice, people smoke everywhere”, he said….well, take a photo and tell the HSE….
    and Finian McGrath is pleasantly surprised at the “common sense” shown……me too Finian ,its rare to get that from ye lot.

• This is unreal, surely members of the dail should be leading by example, especially a committee representing Health & Children. No wonder people are losing connection with the system

• Hilarious, give us another knee slapper there Senator Crown

• well they have to smoke their dope.Cant make important laws without been high as a kite

• Damocles 15/11/12 #

We should all support this decision. Do you want tabbing TDs cluttering up the streets of Dublin?

• Look on the bright side………..30 of them smoke apparently, that’s 30 useless TDs who will die much sooner. As they are mostly 40 to 50+ years of age their chance of dying is now very high. Probably the most stupid 30 TDs as well.

• I’d love to see Finian McGrath in this situation say
    “Cigarettes are a viral menace; I love my smoke same as any other unfortunate smoker, but you know what, they are killing people, smoking costs the State millions in healthcare and we’re just fools addicted to a filthy stupid habit that enriches the cigarette companies. I’m going to show some mettle here and quit smoking. It’s going to be tough, but I might change a few mindsets”

Instead, he’s a lazy easy-option gimp. Sloping around the Leinster House car park, trying to curry cross-party favour with the other 29 nicotine addicts.

Inspirational stuff from our elected representatives.

I hope next time he’s slinking outside for a fag, he realises what a fool he is being as a role model to the electorate who are paying his salary and paying for the premium healthcare requirements of smokers.

I hope the next cancer victim in an Irish hospital doesn’t have their corridor trolley delayed by a smoker who chose to have cancer.

• Slow news day ?

Add New Comment