TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Sinn Féin TD Dessie Ellis rejects allegations of involvement in 50 IRA murders

A newly-released British document claims that Ellis was involved in the murder of 50 people by the IRA in the north and south during the Troubles but he has rejected these claims.

Dessie Ellis was elected to the Dáil last year
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN TD Dessie Ellis has rejected new claims that he was involved in 50 murders carried out by the IRA during the Troubles as has been alleged in newly-released documents today.

The Irish Independent, citing papers released under the 30-year rule, reports that Dublin North-West deputy Ellis was linked to 50 murders during the Troubles by British diplomats in 1982.

The paper reports that a communication from the British embassy in Washington said that Ellis was arrested in Dublin in May 1981 for possession of electronic remote-controlled devices and was linked by “forensic evidence to some 50 murders” in the north and the south of Ireland.

Sinn Féin has released a strongly-worded statement addressing what it calls an “Indo smear”.

The party says it does not attach “any value” to the claims made in the documents which it said emanated from “the British secret services, who were responsible for countless murders in Ireland during the course of the conflict”.

“These are the same faceless securocrats who murdered Pat Finucane,” the statement said, referring the Belfast solicitor who was murdered in 1989 following collusion by the British state.

This is not the first time such unsubstantiated allegations have been made and Dessie Ellis rejects them as he has repeatedly done.

Following a prolonged hunger strike in the 1990s to protest his extradition to Britain, Dessie successfully beat these trumped up charges in court.

Dessie Ellis has made no secret of his involvement in the republican struggle over many decades, including within the ranks of the IRA. Dessie has also been an important persuader for the Peace Process for many years.

Ellis, who was sentenced to 10 years in prison on explosive charges in the 80s, has acknowledged that he was involved in the IRA “at the highest levels” during the Troubles in a recently published book Finglas: A People’s Portrait.

Contacted by TheJournal.ie today Ellis, 60, said he had nothing more to add to the statement released by the Sinn Féin press office: ”I’m not going into anything further.”

Ellis, a former television repairman, skipped bail after his arrest in 1981 and was later arrested in New York in February 1982. He was extradited to Ireland where he served his ten-year sentence in Portlaoise Prison.

DESSIE ELLIS

Dessie Ellis in 1991 shortly after his release from prison (Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland)

Due to be released in April 1990, Ellis was served with a warrant for his extradition to Britain where it was alleged he conspired with three other men to cause explosions in Britain between 1981 and 1983.

In October 1990 he went on hunger strike, protesting his extradition to the UK. The strike lasted 37 days during which time he lost over two stone and was barely able to walk.

He was eventually acquitted of the charges at a court in London and went on to become a politician.

A profile on his website, dessieellis.ie, makes no reference to his time as a member of the IRA or in prison in Portlaoise.

Speaking at the time of his hunger strike, he said, according to the LA Times: “Obviously I don’t want to die. I want to live . . . but I cannot accept extradition. I will die rather than be extradited to Britain.”

1982: Haughey, America and “The Troubles”

30 years ago: Anger at Irish Government over IRA bombings

Read all of TheJournal.ie’s stories on the 1982 State papers, just released>

Read next:

Comments (241 Comments)

• I wouldn’t have thought that anyone thinks this man got to where he is today, without getting some blood on his hands.

• Reg 28/12/12 #

Is Dessie still in the Council house? You’d think he’d be able to afford his own pad now and free it up for someone in more need.

• Dessie used to be the best tv repair man around, an electronics whizz

• Just as there should be total outrage to the Pat Finnucane murder and cover up, so should there be utter distain for a mass murderer. Its one thing exercising forgiveness, its another voting such a person as a political representative.

• Jesus, it took TheJournal long enough to publish this, which is interesting to see. Its hit most Irish media outlets with Dessie saying “I don’t want to comment on anything said by the Brits. I wouldn’t be bothered.”

The party are still spinning into the New Year anyway. Constantly linked to the IRA and murders, constantly in denial. Bit like their party doing one thing in the North and saying another in the South.

• “Bit like their party doing one thing in the North and saying another in the South”

Do you and the other members of young fine gael have to be corrected on this everytime you use this lame spin from HQ kevin? Repeating the lie often enough in the hope people may believe it??

http://www.thejournal.ie/phil-hogan-spin-household-charge-732551-Dec2012/#comment-815479

• Ah if it isn’t my anonymous friend! I believe I already pointed out the misleading statement about me in the comment you have linked to. But alas, if someone has a different view than of course they must be YFG/FG. Sure, the majority of the electorate and the 70% of those who paid the household charge are all members of YFG/FG – right?!

I have no problem pointing out to people that Sinn Fein are a hypocritical bunch who screw the whole of Ireland – North and South – for as much as they can get. They implement austerity and follow orders by the British (which in itself is ironic!) while in the South they say Austerity is bad, doesn’t work and we shouldn’t let others tell us what to do. The property tax being a fine example – Oh its fine in the North, but not down South! They craic me up with all the spin, lies and bullshit. Then the Shinnerboat arrives and points the fingers everywhere put at themselves. Deflecting attention, dodging bullets, and so on.

Thankfully, we have not had to endure or learn about even larger expense scandals that they go through up North as the Irish people have continuously had great intelligence not to vote them into government. While they are not free from scandals down South, of course, they can’t screw us even more.

• The difference with the property tax north and south is up north they actually receive something for it. Whereas down south we are just being bleed dry.

• Snatcher, they may get more for their tax up North but they pay for it – on average 1k. The average down here will be app 300 euro… up there, SF blame the Tories. Down here, they won’t accept its the troika forcing our hand…

• Snatcher; This is the first time Ireland has had a property tax directly linked to local councils and thus funding local services. Perhaps if the likes of Sinn Fein stopped speaking out of both sides of their mouth and actually pushed the government to introduce a property tax that delivered like it does in the UK/North, than we might get a decent local service.

Besides, in the North Sinn Fein are implementing a much much higher tax than is being proposed down South yet Sinn Fein say its “unjust and unworkable”. A cheap tax is unjust but an expensive tax is just?! Just being populist is all.

Infuriating.

• Absolute nonsense – we had full Rates/ Property Tax here prior to 1978 on homes & have always had it on ALL commercial property !

• Agree with you 100% but I’m not sure about dodging bullets it’s the people who disagree with them would be dodging the old bullets :)

• Kevin, its your political party, fine gael, thats robbing our coffers to pay bondholders, and then claiming that there no money for local authorities. This year, the same was handed to bondholders as the defecit, 18 Billion. No covering banking debt=no defecit=local authorities funded without property tax.

• mcbab 28/12/12 #

Yes Kevin. Was wondering why the Journal were taking so long before getting around to this story. Hmmmm

• Tbh, there are more important stories than this one.

• Kevin/michale collins/mcbab
      , quick one for you …. were you one of the people who supported the Queen coming over last year. The same Queen who gave medals to the soldiers who murdered civil rights protestors on Bloody Sunday. The same soldiers who broke the geneva conventions murdering 12 people over a 3 day period in 1972 in Ballymurphy?
      If you supported the Queen coming here, then you must be acknowledging time has moved on and that the war is over. I could get you the names of the 27 civilians murdered by the paras within 3 months in 1972. All acknowledged innocent civilians. If you put so much faith in the Indo article, can you post the names of the 50 people Ellis is supposed to have murdered?
      Either you are hypocrites, or just trolls …. i know where my money is going.

• Eddie Barrett; Welcome to the 21st century where Ireland has grown massively and pressure on local councils have jumped more than 10 fold. The Celtic Tiger alone increased the pressure on local services and nothing was done about it. Property tax has been thought about for over 30 years. Commercial Rates are savage and yet councils still ask for private companies and organisations to help clean towns. We need a solution and we need one fast.

werejammin; My party? Jesus you seem to know a lot about me that even I didn’t know! I never knew I was a founder of the Fine Gael party! Chriky, I am not even a member of the Fine Gael party but chiky, I am apparently a YFG’er and FG’er who founded the party. What next, will werejammin reveal about my secret life? :D

Indeed Fine Gael pumped money towards the bondholders. But there isn’t money for local councils and there hasn’t been for sometime before the bondholders got the big fat cheque.

• Again Kevin/McbBab/Michael Collins ….

Wouod you join me again in calling on the Irish Government, you guys support so much, to support forming a Nation Reconciliation program similar to the South African model? It already has the support of former IRA member, Loyalist paramilitaries… we are only missing the British and Irish Governments, This will give all the victims of tyhe troubles some peace (if not justice). It has been proven to work in South Africa, and Nelson Mandela asked the Governments to support it to no avail (too much dirt to hide)
      Unlike yourselves, i have made this plea on every article in relation to the troubles.

Would you guys support making this call. if everyone gets behind it, then we can possibly move on from the past… otherwise, you and others will continue to make one sided comments forever more, and we will never be able to move on from the past and the division.

Please use this article as a vehicle and start registering your comments and support for the call for the Governments to support a full blown truth and reconciliation forum.

• Kevin, are you a YFG member? Am I getting you mixed up with somebody else?

• @Kevin O’Sullivan
      You are too young to remember perhaps but rates were a property tax directly linked to local councils

• Cal1 Mooney; Re: Truth Commission. I believe this was called for today by a Fine Gael Minister, but I would need to read up a bit more on what the proposal is. The only way we can move on from the past is if all those involved put their hands up, apologise and move on. But having a party that has members/TDs who are staunch supporters of the IRA movement to this day and have fresh links with the movement is wrong. This is where the issue lies, as every party has a bloody history given our history. Sinn Fein are in denial to this very day and wont admit to their connections or fully condemn it.

The issue with Sinn Fein has always been there, well before they were perceived as a ‘threat’ and I don’t believe that anybody realistically thinks they are, considering their peak was short lived in the polls and the government parties appear to still have broad support with 70% paying the household charge, a threat in 2016. A lot can happen and if history is anything to go by, Fiann Fail will take hold of power again – judging by the latest polls, they are pushing Sinn Fein aside.

werejammin; I answered your question already, so if you have nothing constructive to say, ill leave you in your own corner shouting away.

Sean; Indeed, not in my lifetime. I was aware that the property tax was a hot potato of a proposal over the years, and I am aware of commercial rates presently. But I don’t think we can compare an ancient tax to the proposal for the times we live in today. Realistically, nobody is calling for a full tax that will fund the majority of public services. Not even Sinn Fein or their supporters, who have implemented this tax already in the North to fund local services to a greater degree than will happen here.

• About time someone on this subject is talkin sense. Well done Kevin . I’m not surprised he was linked to murders as are a lot off the top guys in the party.

• How do you mean there is more important. Is the murder off people not important you idiot.

• Cal I agree that those issues need to be addressed. Well put.

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Kevin you are full of s h i t and there is a fada in Sinn Féin FYI

• It’ll be interesting to see the Shinnerbots contorting themselves in trying to excuse this away. It’s disgusting to see someone like him sitting in our national parliament. If this story emerged about a politician in any other party, there’d be serious ramifications for them. But SF won’t even remove the whip and people will stop talking about it soon. It’s infuriating.

• If a false accusation were made against you, it’s ones duty to point this out.
      ———————————————————————————————————————————————————
      If you regard the Irish Independent as a “serious” source, it proves my point.

• No contorting here, I’m not a SF supporter.
      If the Gardai (not the British authorities) have enough evidence to arrest Dessie Ellis, then they must do so. It’s how a civilised democratic society should work.
      However, every major political party on this island has a violent and murderous past and our history has shown us that it requires several generations to fully move on from that past. Would you prefer if Sinn Fein returned to their violent past? Or are you just having a whinge because you don’t like their political ideology?
      Either way it appears they are damned if they do and damned if they don’t.

• Noddy
      None of the Civil War Leaders denied their involvement in military activity no matter how unpleasant. The current crop of superheroes want to live a lie so a gullible electorate will give them a toehold in our National Parliament.
      Imagine consciously placing a number one on the ballot paper beside the name of a mass murderer.
      What would the skill-set be that such a person would be offering to the electorate.
      Please vote for me as I never miss a target. Please vote for me as I am deadly at work. Please vote for me as I will undertake any necessary work for the electorate .

• Michael,
      There’s a considerable difference between owning up to “military activity” and owning up to accusations of murder from British authorities. Do you honestly believe any of the civil war leaders would have owned up to such accusations? I’m not condoning any form of murder (and for sure SF have a very murky past) but we have a violent history that we need to accept and deal with as best we can. We can’t just click our fingers and make it all go away.
      In 10 or 20 years time Adams. Ellis and the rest of this generation of senior SF members will have passed the baton on to more modern progressive members, just as FF, FG and Labour have already done.
      And let’s face it, if we are ever to have any kind of left/right divide in our democracy, SF are the only current party ever likely to deliver it.
      Labour certainly wont.

• Maybe Noddy Mooney could occupy his small box and be an attention-seeking preacher. It’s not like the Gardai wouldn’t arrest him for disturbing the peace, but also for other things like abusive behavior or disorderly conduct.

• “In 10 or 20 years time Adams. Ellis and the rest of this generation of senior SF members will have passed the baton on to more modern progressive members”

They won’t change just because of a minority of right-wing nuts who slate them on social media. The majority of voters support SF’s past because SF opposed the annexation of our six counties. The right-wing nuts just don’t see it this way because they view SF as a threat to the current parties of FG / LAB / FF.

• How can this party be taken seriously. There so fundamentally linked to terrorism there isn’t even 1 degree of seperation. A man linked to 50 murders and still be able to hold high office….
    NOT IN MY NAME!!!!!

• I’m sure he reflects on this before he goes asleep every night. His thoughts and dreams must be haunted by images of the innocent men, women and children who’s lives he played a part in ending.
    This would torture the most hardened of souls.

• Stop allowing yourself to be duped by the false-media.

• Is there no truth to this Mark?
      If not, It’s absolutely disgusting what the media have done to this innocent man.

• Mark
      One of your own ( one of the Price sisters ) says she was instructed by Gerry Adams to drive victims across the Border to facilitate their executions and if you cannot accept this evidence then surely the entire IRA campaign was a figment of everyone’s imagination and nobody died.

• Michael J Collins – You seem to have selective memories about the Unionists who murdered innocent Irish children. Also, you forgot about the British security forces who colluded with them. Does your bashing only apply to SF?

Furthermore, you also forgot that Michael Collins similarly killed too…

• IT’S Student

I believe your are either misunderstanding or misrepresenting me. My quarrel with these frontline Members of Sinn Fein is that they either lie about their pasts or deny anyone else’s version of what they really did during the troubles.
      When we get substantiating evidence such as the Price sister that claims she was instructed to drive victims South of the Border to facilitate their execution and that such an order was delivered by Gerry Adams himself, they and he continue to deny it.
      My concern is that the exposed lie suggests that others exist and that people like this are not deserving of our trust.
      When we see all of the other scams and contradictions it is not unreasonable to call these folks as being slightly Constitutional.
      Furthermore I’m not sure that I feel safe even making this posting.

• Michael Collins ..
      Even your favorite paper the Indo ran a story on Price … your favorite source of info right now… They said she is against the peace process and wants the war to return full time to the Island… The Indo claimed that Price will say and do anything to get Adams removed from the Dail to destabilize the peace process…. Even though the Indo could see the damage this crazy woman is trying to do, We had the numpty Kenny using her name as a ‘reliable’ source in the Dail to make his jibes at Adams. Seriously, you will take the word of a self-confessed supporter of returning this Island to war over anyone else? Are you really that thick, or do you support her aims… ie destabilise SF for your own benefit.

• Stick to the point Student. You’re constantly changing the subject. Everyone knows about Unionist murders, British state murders, etc. But that’s not what we’re talking about here. Feeling the heat are we?

• Cal
      You refer to me as “thick” and the Taoiseach as “‘numpty Kenny” and you express yourself generally as an uneducated boor who most of us would rather avoid rather than be seen in your company. With the great education you received in this State is it not possible for you to express yourself without gratuitous insults. We would accept that you may have difficulties with either grammar or vocabulary but even predictive text can help you out and make your arguments more winnable.
      Over the past few weeks we have come to understand that cyber bullying can have appalling consequences on young people and also on adults and that behaviour such as this is not a model for a forward thinking Republican like yourself.
      Is your treatment of others to be taken as a style that Sinn Fein endorses or are you incapable of being leashed because in my humble opinion you are doing great harm to the Cause.
      I

• Think you shot yourself in the foot with your last comment, Cal. No pun intended of course.

• Michael J Collins, way to go on deflecting the answer. If you are going to be so disturbed by my posts, then i will ask you not to read them. I do take the point, and i should have called you ignorant as that term would have been a more apt term to use and for using the derogatory term ‘thick’ and i apologise to you personally for it.

But please do not try and take the word of a self-confessed dissident, who wants the country to return to full-scale war with the British Army over the word of Adams on anything. I am sick to see that ignorant self-serving fool Kenny, using the terrible murder of Jean McConville as a Political Football as a means of deflecting a question regarding cutting the respite care grant from Gerry Adams. Kenny obviously believes Delores Price would not lie to try and destabilize the SF party, in order to create a Political vacuum in the North. Or, to be more cynical and honest, Kenny knows Price cannot be trusted, but doesn’t care, if he can use a womans murder to his advantage. I call that sick, and i hope you join me in condemning Kenny for it.

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Michael Collins a disgrace to the name

• Yes, there is no connection between Sinn Fein and the IRA

• There seens to a be a presumption here that what the British say is FACT. Well heres another fact they were involved in Pat Finucanes murder. They operated a shoot to kill policy in the north. The paratroop regiment shot young unarmed men in the back in the turkey shoot they call Bloody Sunday. Im not a republican sympathiser and neither am I naive as to believe anything from the British.

• You might not be but your logic is warped enough to qualify you,

• I blame the people who vote in thugs like this. Still though, Dublin North West…

• It seems the Irish have a highly selective memory, the IRA didn’t start the troubles it was murders and atrocities carried out by the British army under the control of the Unionist government in Storment who started it. This government voted in by an electorate that was unrepresentative (one man one vote was not the rule of thumb it was more akin to one Orangeman one vote). If Dessie Ellis TD was involved in these murders and the British had ‘evidence’ why wasn’t he tried for them? I would suggest that these documents released by the British Government are speculative, not based on fact, so don’t condemn a man who hasn’t been convicted of these murders.

What the IRA did in Ireland was to a large degree in response to the British establishment. Read a history book before commenting, don’t base your views on what west-Brit newspapers, news channels and broadsheets.

• West Brit??? My dear chap you have been too long listening to Messrs McGuinness and co for too long if your using that turn of phrase… And like all good storytellers if you listen for long enough you eventually will think the same

• The Irish Independent’s sales are apparently down. A person is innocent until proven guilty. I’m not sure if a lawsuit against this newspaper follows, it will be interesting to see over the next couple of months what happens.

• At Sean, Two wrongs don’t make a right and Gandhi freed a nation from the British without firing a bullet!

• @ Stephen – That may be true but there were vast differences between India and the North of Ireland. Firstly the IRA were acting in self-defence in the troubles. Gahndi was leading a liberation movement. Apples and pears really.

Secondly what happened in Northern Ireland would always have been met with violence. The Unionist government at the time were agressively anti Catholic and anti Irish actually to the extent where they attempted to rename the state without the ‘Ireland’. Paisley was advocating violence against Catholics and current first minister was a member of an illegal organisation whose aim was violence against Catholics. I am by no means saying that everything that happened in the troubles was right and correct, what happened in northern Ireland during this period was a state apart and is not comparable to the peaceful (relatively) liberation of India, the all out war that happened in America nor the bitter genocide in Isreal. I am only asking that you judge what happened in the six counties on its merits and no matter which way you look at it Britain has the most blood on its hands. It started the troubles and like it or not Sinn Féin were the party most responsible for bringing them to an end, John Hulme and the SDLP gladly took the international plaudits but the IRA would never have been at the negotiating tables without the work or Messrs. Adams, McGuinness and Co.

@Kevin – West Brit, i.e those people of the Pale who seem to enjoy a closer cultural affinity to Britain and believe wholeheartedly whatever the British controlled media feed them. I don’t spend too much time listening to politicians. I pick up books and read FACTS rather than base them on one off articles in newspapers that don’t paint a full and comprehensive picture.

I have to laugh at some people who know nothing of the north and who couldn’t give a damn about this state during the troubles but are all too quick to comment and judge those who were involved once it was over. If you are ignorant of a situation don’t comment on it, and your mouth kevin would best serve you closed.

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Kevin once again your uneducated comments garner no interest

• Honestly, was it not a conflict?

People get Killed In Conflicts, and Get Killed Also!

Has he Any More Blood On His Hands Than Say, George W. Bush

Tony Blair

Or Any Such People Involved In Conflict?

Just Throwing It Out There.

• Media still flogging the same dead horse. Must be nothing in the news. Same old crap. Anything to try discredit Sinn Fein. Won’t work though. the demons are the ones in Government. Slander them if ye want to do something useful.

• What a courageous man. Selflessly making bombs (which obviously discrimate between armed soldiers and “civilians”) before bravely running away to the US. Like the irish version of the A-team really. Makes me proud.

• Azul 28/12/12 #

Good man Dessie – the Government of the military forces which it is claimed you attacked had perfected the science of mass murder against innocents across the world. The actions claimed constitute a reasoned, if somewhat minimal, response on behalf of those millions of silent victims of British imperialism.

• Glen 28/12/12 #

You refer to British Imperialism as if it were a bad thing? Mass murder? Silent victims? What story book are you quoting? Just asking..

• Glen,

Are you a Unionist by any chance?

• Wow….I am wondering what planet Glen has been living on?

Just for a start…
      – Amritsar Massacre,
      –Cromwellian Plantations,
      –Irish Great Hunger – Famine
      –Slave Trade, Dublin & Monaghan Bombings,
      –MRU FRU Force Research Unit

There are many many thousands of these & just for a start some others – ref:
      http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2006/jul/22/comment.mainsection
      http://newbritishempire.site11.com/british-massacres.html

• Azul, was the Birmingham pub bombing a ‘reasoned, if somewhat minimal, response’? Or the Warrington shopping centre? Or Enniskillen? Yes, we know that there were plenty of examples of loyalist atrocities too, but any claims to ‘legitimacy’ – for EITHER side – vanish the second innocent civilians are deliberately targetted. 2 wrongs never did, and never will, make a right.

• Well said Michael glen and his like bury their heads in the sand as regards some aspects of our history its sickening

• Glen 28/12/12 #

Trying to justify terrorist actions as somehow being measured retaliation in response to an overly simplistic summing up of 300 years of global history is specious.
      For a start, the Troubles occurred some decades after the last vestiges of the Empire. Secondly the Empire spanned 300 odd years and can’t be easily summed up as inherently ‘good’ or ‘bad’ although I and many would argue that although many bad things happened in its name, overall it aspired to do more good – certainly it shaped the Western world.

ITS Student – if I was a Unionist would it make it easier for you to reconcile? What if I wasn’t?

Michael, yes I can point to many incidents from history. Amritsar Massacre: Churchill and Asquith openly condemned the attack, referring to it as “Monstrous”, and “One of the worst outrages in the whole of our history” – certainly not Imperialist policy.
      Cromwellian Plantations had more to do with internal English Civil War politics, defeat of Royalists and religion that swept Europe. Yes, Cromwell was an arse, but not different from any other of the day. He was posthumously executed upon the restoration of the monarchy.
      Irish Great Hunger – Famine: Tragic, but appropriation of blame as some supposed genocide plot is widely debated as being unfounded.
      Slave Trade – The Empire once used it, and then became the first to outlaw it in the early 19th C
      Dublin & Monaghan Bombings: 1974 again well past the Imperialism tag. UVF responsible but security forces implicated of collusion. While this may be true, the Barron Report found insufficient evidence to suggest that senior members of the security forces in Northern Ireland were in any way involved in the bombings.
      MRU FRU Force Research Unit: Again 1970s, but you could argue that as an alleged counter insurgency unit using similar tactics to their enemy they were no worse.

Arguments for and against. At the end of the day, can’t we all just get along?

• Azul 28/12/12 #

No offence intended by the above to the ordinary English public, but after all we Irish didn’t ask for the UK to occupy our country way back in 1169.

I do feel the massive English/British/UK military presence since that time was an indication of the English/British/UK understanding that the people of Ireland didn’t wish for this occupation to continue. It may be an uncomfortable truth but Irish violence has been at all times a reaction to an unwanted British occupation & an expression of a desire for its rapidity of its end.

Britain most deliberately denied the democratic will of the people of this island and unfortunately left only one outlet for this expression of will. Providing the best available soldiers and sailors for both the British Army & Royal Navy, the Irish acquired quite an understanding of British methods when they were used overseas to subject other victim nations (ref Victoria Crosses awarded to Irish). Whilst this was happening, invariably, the English home troops of the British Army were stationed in Ireland to keep the restless natives down.

I’m sure that Nationalists / Republicans over the generations would rather have been friends with their closest neighbour, but it is indeed difficult to be friendly with those who steal your land, plant it with thieves, butcher your people, exile others to Barbadoes, Australia, Canada etc and make serfs and slaves out of those left behind.

Just one last point – your heroes were my ancestors oppressors – Edmund Spenser, Walter Raleigh, Oliver Cromwell, William of Orange, Montgomery etc

• Azul 28/12/12 #

Glen – by the way, I do agree, we must & should get along, but in moving forwards, there is a need to acknowledge the wrongs of the past. In this I would argue, that there can be no equivalence between victim and perpetrator.

Borrowing a little from the bible then, it would be unfair to blame David for fighting back against Goliath.

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Glen come into the real world , spoon

• Do the blue shirts not march to west cork once a year to tell us how good big mick was,do Fianna Fáil not march to republican plots every year,labour has plenty of blood in there ranks,so unless your are from the Green Party please clean your own glass house and hold onto your stones .

• Sinn Feinn has come along way. Ellis is innocent unless proven guilty. We are very quick to judge and lets be honest the british secret service isnt most trust worthy bunch going.

• I believed the British Security services when they said that the British army only fired in self defense at armed targets on Bloody Sunday …
      I believed Tony Blair and the British Secret Service when they said they needed to go into Iraq to take away nuclear weapons off Sadam Hussein.
      I believed the Secret Service when they said that the report of the 300,000 civilians killed by British and Americans forces in Iraq was probably slightly exaggerated.

I DO believe them when they said they were fighting a dirty war and that propaganda was one of their best weapons.

• Newspapers never refuse ink….no matter how absurd.

• Don’t care much about Sinn Fein but considering they’re pissing off the establishment who in my eyes are the biggest murdering bastards in the world then i would consider supporting them. When the billionaire owned media and billionaire controlled government see them as a threat u know they are doing something right.

• Why don’t they bring a case against him then if all the evidence is there?

Can never figure out how the good old Irish Independent always seems to be one step ahead of the courts :)

• Because the Good Friday Agreement was signed in 1998 and all parties (including the Irish people) agreed to leave the past behind and move on. Some people on here love dwelling on negative media and the past…

• Wuld it be because its owned by Denis O’Brien, a fine gael donor??

• Haha possibly, wonder what Newstalk have to say on the issue:)

• We agreed to move on. We did not agree to forget, or pretend that it didn’t happen.

• Emily,

90% agreed to move on and leave the past behind. Only a right-wing sick person keeps bringing up past issues. Especially, when it discriminates against Sinn Fein. What about Fine Gael and Fianna Faill? By your logic, Mickey Collins also did bad stuff.

• @its student

if thats the case why are SF so adamant bout a public enquiry into bloody sunday or the pat finucan case(not saying there wrong in looking for it).

Are we to forget only what the IRA done

• ‘if thats the case why are SF so adamant bout a public enquiry into bloody sunday or the pat finucan case(not saying there wrong in looking for it).’

Well the Bloody Sunday inquiry happened. It was state led collusion, coverup and murder. They are now pushing for prosecution and a criminal investigation has been launched.

They are still pushing for an inquiry to the Finucane case as he was assassinated by a Loyalist hit squad despite the RUC having intel on this. They allowed is to happen which there was more state collusion.

Now if the government that rules the state you live in have been responsible for the murders of civilians wouldn’t you want the parties in government to push for an inquiry? By the by, SF are the only party pusing for a full inquiry into the Finucane case, an inquiry promised by Blair, reneged on by Cameron and ignored by Fine Gael (sic).

‘Are we to forget only what the IRA done’
      No we aren’t and SF haven’t opposed any inquiries into any IRA attrocities, including Eniskillen and Kingsmill. They have never pushed for inquiries, rightly or wrongly, as their voters haven’t given them the mandate to do so as they are more concerned with the British accepting responsibility for the troubles and therefore all activities that occurred throughout.

• Sure what’s a murder or two when the guy can get pot holes fixed or the party can promise utopia where we’re all as poor as each other. It’s Irish people that put them in office. What of their mentality…

• It’s quite sad to read all the wild comments from people who choose to believe “secret” papers from the BRITISH government

The myriad of lies/conspiracies/collusion/cover-ups by the British government, which have been proven over the decades, should be enough for anyone who’s remotely awake to conclude that this is just more bile from them.

Gerry Adams own blog is worth a read before you jump to unfounded conclusions:
    http://leargas.blogspot.ie/2011/12/following-paper-trail-thatchers-irish.html

Open your minds people…

• Dessie like a lot of other senior SF/IRA have blood on there hands. Probably will never be charged but we must never forget the damage and grief they caused.

• Agreed Diarmuid …
      As do Labour … past IRA members holding ministry positions right now
      FFG who held minister for justice minstry that supported colluding in the murder of Irish people by the British Army
      FF for having armed the IRA from the very outset

There are no Angels in the current Dail, but there is peace and relative equality on the Island, no thanks to the establishment parties.
      Have you never wondered why there was no real public inquirey into the murders of the Dublin/Monaghan bombings??? They all have blood.
      The Indo has blood of its own, and journalists are driven by an agenda to ensure that no party emerges that will threaten the status quo of the big three. The Indo fought against the peace process in the 1990’s… It is not a public interest paper, it works for whoever pays the piper.
      It has never demanded a National Truth and reconcilliation forum, have you ever wondered why? They don’t want it.

• Good man David – They are the same right on crowd that support the Palestinian struggle but don’t support the same goal on their own island.

• Someone in the Indo will be in trouble for starting the smears early. This material should have been kept until the eve of the next general election. But they can make more allegations then…according to an informed source.

• @ ITS Student (or should I say cowardly Troll) I understand our history very well, and I have a right to comment without resorting to personal insults. He is a convicted Criminal, he was jailed on possession of explosives charges, and never denied this, he was not Interned or locked up on the Whim of the British as many were. All I asked was why can any criminal become a TD ? If your convictions and pricipals are so strong put your name to them.

• Diarmuid, unlike some FF party members who ate from the trough, until they had eaten more than they could handle, Ellis has never been found to be corrupt. Yes, he was in the IRA and Yes he served his time for it. I have never seen you so vocal on the corruption of FF and the destruction of the Irish economy as a direct result of it. Ellis fought for what he thought was right. His participation resulted in improved well-being for the Irish living in the North (equal rights to their Unionist Brethren, for things like jobs, houses etc). What we do know is that the FF war machine and their mafia style antics resulted in over 200,000 people being foreced to emmigrate our shores in the last 4 years. Not one FF member has gone to prison. They cost this country over 500,000,000 euro in tribunal fees, which took money out of things like the health service. It is estimated that over 2000 people die unnecessarily in our hospitals every year because it is inadequate. there has been a 3 fold increase in suicide rates in the same time period. NOT ONE FF member served time in prison. Instead, we have the likes of that gangster Ahearne/ and Cowen sitting on their pensions that would make a banker blush. All because the FF mafia controlled everything.
      Please don’t sit there pretending to be aghast, when you havent once made a call for a National Truth and reconciliation forum.
      Yes, this is my real face-book account, i am not hiding. I am Irish (from the North) and i am proud. I detested the murder of any civilians in the war. The IRA had a 50% civilian casualty rate, compared to over 75% of the British and their paramilitary wing. It was a war for the rights of people like me, that the IRA fought that war. People like you sat down here and did NOTHING to help us. That is why FF are dead in the water, and will only ever get back into power with the help of FFG.

• Well said Cal. People will do anything but acknowledge these facts.

• I see the blueshirts who were complaining about cyber attacks on elected reps are now well….carrying out cyber attacks on an elected rep

• Dessie Ellis has spent his entire life fighting against the occupation of this country. He freely states he was a member of the Irish Republican Army and as such took part in the war against the armed occupation of Ireland , just like Wolfe Tone, Robert Emmet, michael Collins, Tom Barry, Etc etc. he is now a very strong advocate for a peaceful way forward toward a better and yes, a united Ireland. I find it strange that those who for decades accused republicans of being stuck in the past are in fact using the past to try to deflect from their utter capitulation to the IMF/ ECB. They have sold our sovereignty out again and again. Dessie stood before the people and they have elected him again and again. How many you key board warriors have done so? The british securecrates and their loyalist death squads along with their intelligence operatives (with the collusion of every government of FF/FG/LAB/PD’s) in the south have led to the deaths of hundreds of Irish citizens, where’s your outcry there?? Every southern government has collaborated with the British since the early seventies, strengthened their collusion in the mid 80′s and again in the early nineties. This was at a time when it was very well known that the British securecrates supplied hundreds of rifles, grenades, ammunition and RPG’s through the Apartheid South African government to the loyalist death sqauds. British intelligence supplied all the info required to carry out their activities(some of this info
    supplied by the southern special Branch. War is ugly and I’m thankful it’s over. The myth that one side were the baddies and the other were goodies is either hugely naive or politically motivated. I believe for many people in this site and the southern establishment it’s the latter.

• “War is ugly and I’m thankful it’s over”

Tell that to the families of the victims.

• “Tell that to the families of the victims”

Loyalists killed more Irish victims than Republicans did. Did you fail your history test in school?

• Great speech there Paul, still if Sinn Fein can separate themselves from the IRA sure everyone else should. Everyone talks about forgiveness and moving on but I bet you would do a dance when Thatcher dies. It was reported last week that she was ill and a lot of people on this were saying that they hope she has a slow miserable death but at the same time want an inquiry into collusion with the RUC over someone’s death. Can’t have it all your own way, the Sinn Fein way.
      Good man Paul because you are a great man for the positives of Sinn Fein and are always quick to jump to the defence of IRA colleagues. When some members of Sinn Fein wash the blood from their hands, then will people take them seriously.

• Browns Cows ,

I don’t think you are interpreting correctly. The point he made was that selective-thinking often leads to one missing the full picture. The neo-cons cannot pick and choose.

• Seamus,

Tell that to the Cowrk folks who make up their own stories. Sorry, meant Cork people like you.

• Sinn Fein have a very good oiled machine, they get more votes every election. It will take a few generations before they are taken seriously and younger people forgot or don’t know about the IRA and their links to Sinn Fein. Thankfully I will be dead by then because to me they will always be a party affiliated to murderers and ‘ do as I say, not as I do’ party.

• Glen 28/12/12 #

I’m not sure if Danny’s comment was directed at Paul’s with the loyalist vs republican victims statement, but may I direct you to the CAIN web service and the Summary of Organisation responsible for the death:
      British Security 363
      Irish Security 5
      Loyalist paramilitary 1,016
      Unknown 84
      Republican Paramilitary 2,061
      The majority of those killed were civilians…

As we can all hopefully agree, we have moved forward.

• Well said Paul

• @Browns Crowe – I think you would find that a lot of English would do a dance if thatcher died. She was a stone cold murderer who sanctioned killings, covered up STATE LED collusion and MURDERS of CATHOLIC IRISH. I am so angry with you as you are so ignorant and see to comment on N.I when you probably are one of these ignorant idiots who think it is a war torn Bosnia like state. See a doctor and ask them to remove your head from your … I shall let you finish that.

You say everything can’t be Sinn Féin’s way which is fair, if everything was Sinn Féin’s way we would have grantees of criminal prosecutions of the British soldiers responsible for the murders on Bloody Sunday, those who assisted in the assassination of Pat Finucane and a full public inquiry into said assassination. We would also have full criminal charges brought to those who forced confessions out of the Guilford four, Maguire Seven, the Birmingham Six, the soldiers who interned innocent male Catholics and administered brutal beatings, denying them communication with their families and friends and keeping them imprisoned for weeks or months at an end. No clearly Sinn Féin in have everything their own way and the atrocities committed by the British Government in Northern Ireland have all been answered satisfactorily and justice for Irish Catholics has been got for the countless state aided murders by Loyalist death squads (Shankhill Butchers spring to mind along with the UDR).

Whatever Dessie Ellis did in the IRA he has come clean and told all, what we have in these British papers is nothing more than their speculation, they didn’t have sufficient evidence to prove these. So why do you see fit to appoint yourself judge and juror on this man?

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Browns Cows how can u possibly equate all of the a to thatcher bias to just Sinn Féin supporters are u smoking crack? The majority of the island of Ireland hate her regardless of party affiliation Jesus some people need educating

• “The Irish Independent, citing papers released under the 30-year rule, reports that Dublin North-West deputy Ellis was linked to 50 murders during the Troubles by British diplomats in 1982.”

You picked the worst possible source. The Irish Independent is known to produce incorrect translations in recent times. Speaking from personal experience, the Sindo is the worst possible source of yellow journalism given their incorrect translation on the immigrant-bashing article earlier this year. The Polish embassy had to correct the Sindo’s mistakes

• JayK 28/12/12 #

Strange that the likes of Hamas garner some support here as defenders of Palestinian rights and freedoms, but the IRA and Sinn Fein don’t get the same support for doing the same thing for us in the North.

The lack of consistency in some people’s beliefs seems to suggest their positions are just reactionary and poorly conceived. That they really don’t know what they’re talking about, but are adamant all the same. I’m starting to think that it’s this kind of uninformed, populist, low-information voter is why democracy is a handicapped system.

• Shincity here on the Journal. Saint Gerry, Saint Dessie, Saint Mary Lou ect…

• Couldn’t agree more! That being said it’s kind of funny to see the way the same Shinnerbots get worked up into a state of moral outrage the minute anybody points out the past actions of any of their members. And it’s the same classic tactics over and over again.

First – Deny everything. You’d imagine some Sinn Fein people spent from 1965-1995 hiding in their rooms they way they seem to be so innocent of anything.

Second – Deflection. Loyalist murders, Civil War leaders, Troika, Europe. Anything that tries to shift the argument away from the action point being debated.

Third – Insult, Innuendo and Conspiracy Theory. So everything is a product of a right-wing pro-British media and anybody who believes it is a traitor/idiot/unionist/West Brit/sheep (insert insult as appropriate).

The Shinnerbot response handbook in three easy steps.

• @Jim Walsh – I am no Shinner nor am I a Shinnerbot. Yet I do see this kind of reporting as oddly self serving for the powers that be only. It would seem to me that FG are feeling the pressure atm.

But let us address your three points.

1/Deny Everything – Wrong, Dessie Ellis has admitted he was a member of the armed struggle with the IRA. He has not hid from this. The British said they had evidence and they chose not to prosecute, which would suggest that the CPS in the UK thought the evidence was flimsy and this in a time when convictions for being an IRA man could be beaten out of you and easily got.

2/ Deflection – Actually the vast majority of the comments focusing on the issue bring up the troubles and always tend to lay blame squarely at Sinn Féin’s door and the IRA, now I have studied history and this isn’t what happened. It’s well known that the troubles started somewhat differently, so when people constantly lay blame in the wrong place do you not expect to be corrected?

3/ Insult, Innuendo and Conspiracy Theory – Well as the majority of national Irish run newspapers (with a few exceptions) are British or foreign owned their interests can hardly be said to be in Ireland (we all seen what happened with the Kate Middleton pics recently, she isn’t our princess). The editors of these papers will still have to answer to shareholders who will have substantial links with the UK, meaning that they are less likely to publish stories that would damage them. Add to this that many newspapers purchase stories of this nature from a global media outlet like reuters and you actually have even less eyes on the real story and more a regurgitated reporters take so impartiality cannot be ascertained. I’ve lived in Ireland my whole life I’ve witnessed the troubles and seen them reported in NI, UK, and ROI and they all have the same slant to them and very rarely even brush on the contributing factors making every action of that period seem like an isolated act of violence without reason. Stories like this one are simply an attempt to stir up bad blood towards Sinn Féin who have been making a nuisance of themselves in government recently (the budget and abortion act for example, the latter of which I felt they turned into a political football and did not appreciate).

So there we go. Seems like you were wrong Jim, back to the drawing board with you. An yes that one there I will give you is an insult ……

• Workers party…political side of OIRA, THEN. Sinn Féin …political side of IRA. THEN.
    Dessie went to court on these charges and ….. well would you believe it of the british….they were trumped up, and he was free. He fought for his country…would you ??

• In the 50s 60s 70s and 80s if we were waiting for the Irish government to look after the men woman and children in the six counties they would still be getting burned out of there homes no jobs and day after day harrasment ,this bull after 30 years about dessie will suite Kenny and Gilmore ,they will focus on the Brits lies rather then getting our country off it’s knees.if the Brits know all this why was he not charged , to many Irish men and woman jailed by Brits with no evidence .

• Did I just see Sinn Fein lecturing us about the credibility of organisations who have been complicit in murders? Is it April already?

• As usual, you have nothing to contribute. You suck – get past it.

• Gosh what a confused deluded angry person this “its student”is. But typical behaviour of a. Blinkered Sinn Fein follower. Hear no evil see no evil, but let the world know that we are the oppressed… Sinn Fein/Ira bullying may be acceptable in the state of n. Ireland but not down here..if your having to resort to name calling to try and gain some kind of high ground then your just typical of the Sinn Fein following….

• Kevin, I havent once seen you posting that you support a National Truth and reconcilliation program … Only the sick elites and ignorant do not want to see the hurt and divisions on this island resolved.
      Join with me now calling on the Irish Government and FF to support the calls from SF, DUP etc for a National Truth and reconcilliation forum. Come on .. i can see you must be angry and would not want to use someones death as some sort of sick political football … you want the truth to come out genuinely from all sides.
      Join with me now in demanding that the Irish Government join the process and confess everything they know about all the murders … like Dublin/Monaghan etc etc …. come on man … do it … do it …. do it …

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Fada in Sinn Féin numbnuts

• cormac 28/12/12 #

As the article suggests these are from 30 years ago. We need to get over the past and work for a better future together which will include people with violent military and paramilitary backgrounds. Look forward not back.

• Mr Flanagan said: “We cannot simply forget the past and sweep the issues which strike at the very heart of the democratic process under the carpet to suit Sinn Féin. Deputy Adams has suggested the establishment of an Independent Truth Commission as a means of resolving our past conflict.

“If this is to be the case, let Dessie Ellis be the first person to be brought before it, so that questions can be answered in respect of the 50 people murdered, to which the British Government suggests he is in some way linked.”

‘…..British Government suggests he is in some way linked’ Mr. Flanagan should get on with tackling the problems of the country, or fixing potholes, whatever he does best.

• This is all too rich . A pity the British governemnt isnt so forthcoming when it comes to the Dublin-Monaghan bombings , high-level Britsh army orders issued in advance of Bloody Sunday , the Ballymurphy massacre or maybe even the elephant in the room that is the murder of Pat Finucane and widespread collusion with loyalist paramilitaries . This alone shows the Indo up for the rag it is and proves that it really is only concerned with a smear against Ellis . Maybe I could have a bit more time for their idea of journalism if it made an effort to get out of the gutter and try to report less selectively.

• To hell with them all.

• Ah that was ages ago tho, sure if the world can forgive Nelson Mandela then we can forgive Dessie.

• You make a valid point John. If you took a straw poll and asked Irish people who they most admired in the world I would wager Mandela would be in the top 5 for sure. Yet Mandela was a terrorist in his day. The same people who despise Sinn Fein unwittingly see Mandela as a beacon of light. Ironic isn’t it? When questioned on this they usually use the moral relativist argument to support Mandela’s terrorist past. Anyway, it’s just a thought that’s all.

• Please don’t mention the name of Mandiba and Ellis in the same sentence.

• If you can’t tell the difference between sabotage of apartheid South Africa and murdering people in post-Sunningdale Northern Ireland, you should really go to the sales and buy yourself a moral compass.

• Emily Elephant,

Apartheid was rampant in the six counties post-Sunningdale Agreement.

Your definition of “murder” is also abstract because you ignore the murders committed by Loyalists against innocent Irish Catholics and the Dublin\Monaghan Bombings by Unionist terrorists.

• Eire 28/12/12 #

In 1961 Mandela became leader of the ANC ‘s armed wing in December of that year under his leadership a bombing campaign was launched in 1962 Mandela is arrested & sentenced to life imprisonment on 12 June 1964.

• See, ITS Student, that’s the bit I don’t get. How is it that murders by loyalists and the security forces justify the IRA bombing, shooting and kneecapping campaign, but not the other way round?

• Emily, who had normal rights prior to the 1967 civil rights marches, and who was being murdered in their homes, burned out of their homes etc … For whom were the refugee camps built all along the Border between 1968 and 1970? the war didnt start until 1969, but many Irish were murdered before that.

• EXPOSED: Emily Elephant is a Unionist.

• I’m not a Unionist, as it happens, and that wouldn’t be much of an argument even if it were true.

Murder doesn’t justify murder, no matter what your allegiance. This is the point that you, like most of your fellow travellers, seem to be completely unable to grasp.

• Emily, should the Queen of England been invited to this country last year? She pinned medals on the lapels of the murderers from both Ballymurphy and Bloody Sunday (a civil rights march).
      I will take your word, if you tell me it was wrong that she was invited … as she rewarded murderers who shot civilians in the back while marching for their civil rights.

• david patrick cahill
      either you are trolling or you do not understand the difference between the cold blooded murder of fellow citizens in the interests of keeping your criminal gangsterism going and being accused of terrorism because you dare to use the law to challenge gross abuse of human rights
      I’llbe generous and assume that it is the former

• Wonder why Michael ? – since I was a boy , we as a family, sent postcards / Christmas cards, to those Political Prisoners incarcerated in Robyn Island.
      What makes the ANC any different from those incarcerated then in The H Blocks , various British Prisons & Port Laoise ?

• mcbab 28/12/12 #

Cal. Doesn’t take much for your mask to slip!

• Exactly. You are a “terrorist” if you fight the people who have power.

And you are a hero when you do it for Americaw for example…

• Sinn Fein will not be credible in Ireland until the current crop of tds are gone. Most were members of the ira and all that went with that. Omagh, enniskillan, Mountbatten and all the disappearing people and of course the criminality that seems to have come in more recent times. I’m looking forward to the day when he next crop come through who have no blood on their hands and can start putting forward fresh ideas and no more of the populist muck they have been peddling recently.some might say look at the polls to gauge their support base. I would suggest their core support is a lot lower than they think. The extra support they got in the last election came from the young dis-enfranchised vote who wold change their mind to whoever gave them the best populist line.

• @ ITS Student (or should I say Troll) I understand our history very well, and because I understand I have the right to comment on it without resorting to personal insults. He is a convicted criminal, he was not jailed for membership of IRA or interned by the British as many were, he was convicted on explosive possession, all i want to know is can any criminal become a TD ? If you have anything intelligent to say, say it.

• @ Diarmuid O’Connor I doubt you could say Dessie Ellis is a criminal. His conviction was overthrown when he was acquitted by a British court and set free after 1 year. #FACT

• I would say yes … based on all the outright lies that were told by FFG/Labour/FF to the different tribunals that ended up costing this country 500,000,000 euro in barrister/solicitor fees alone … in order to avoid telling the truth … then its pretty obvious they allow all sorts into the Dail.
      I am not even going to get into how different partys got into power and took over running this country under false pretenses… Yes Diarmuid, the answer is yes … not only have they gotten elected into the Dail, they have been in government for generations (literally).

• I find it really odd Cal that you can compare Irish tribunals, which were over trivial matters in comparison, to a convicted criminal that served 10 years in an Irish jail, despite trying to evade the law by absconding to America. Thankfully, our American friends sent him packing. He was then sent to the UK, after he served his term in jail, where he was acquitted following a defense based on a legal loophole in the British Legal system.

The tribunals had nothing to do with the death of hundreds of innocent people, including children. Its Sinn Fein TDs who have blood on their hands and don’t want to shake away their dirty past. Its Sinn Fein who say that he was ever in any way involved in anyone’s death. Yet, he makes no secret of his involvement as a manufacturer of bombs for a terrorist organisation that used bombs to murder innocent civilian. It just doesn’t make sense!

Sinn Fein TDs may not have had their turn at tribunals but when it comes to party politics and getting elected under false pretenses – Sinn Fein are sitting alongside other guilty party’s also. Remember, Sinn Fein have frequently been embroiled in controversy over their expenses – north and south. Remember, Sinn Fein have party policies which were not even costed by the Dept. of Finance. Remember, Sinn Fein claim the FULL TDs wage despite suggesting that they don’t. Remember, Sinn Fein are ‘anti-austerity’ despite implementing austerity budgets in the North. Remember, Sinn Fein say we should tell the EU/IMF where to shove it and not take orders from anybody, yet, ironically, they take orders from the British! And one more reminder, Sinn Fein say a property tax is ‘Unjust and Unworkable’ – but only in the South. Up North they implement a much more expensive property tax compared to the cheap, in comparison, proposal down South which isn’t even being designed to cover everything the one in the North does (how could it, its dirt cheap!).

Come on now Cal, quit trying to make all the other parties to the real bad boys and suggest Sinn Fein are innocent politicians that are much more honest than the rest. They are clearly far from it and I have only touched the surface with the above. Your only fooling yourself.

• @ Kevin O’Sullivan

Y A W N …..

Get yourself a few history books, an open mind and a fact based opinion. Until then, please spare us this incredibly childish opinion.

No prizes for guessing which newspaper you read and worse, believe!

Jeez!

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Kevin and diarmuid what did you ever do for your country ??? dáiríre a léamh do leabhair staire buachaillí

• FF/FG/Labour are pushing the electorate towards SF, with their corrupt politics and they must make SF look worse than they are!

• According to polls, it would appear not. Fianna Fail have taken ‘the lead’ and are ahead of Sinn Fein. Funny that.

I don’t think you can compare Fianna Fails past and the current government policies (which, unless you know something I don’t, are not linked to corruption) to Sinn Feins strong current links with the IRA. Plus you have continuous, North and South, expense scandals related to Sinn Fein screwing the decent hard working tax payer.

• this is old news, how many peoples blood has Cameron on his hands with his decision making?? lets build a bridge and leave poor dessie alone, he was fighting for a cause, for what he believed in, fighting to get the british out of our country, they’re fond of invading countries are the brits, don’t like out when its put up to them thou,

• The Irish Independant has always been a fianna fail biased paper. Its interesting to see they are publishing this. It stinks of smear. Maybe they are still bitter for Martin McGuinness’s “stunt” in the presidential debate against Sean Gallagher

• Eamonn 28/12/12 #

The RTE website does not carry this story. It asserts “State papers reveal pro life concerns” and makes no reference to the assertion that Ellis has been linked to 50 murders – this is simply unbelievable stuff.

• Poor Dessie. I hope he and his family get through this difficult time…

• Very unfair Gerard ! It’s best you crawl under a stone where you belong..

• Why does our great little country allow convicted criminals and self confessed members of terrorist organisations to become TDs ?

• Mc Guinness
    Adams
    Ellis

all elected Terrorists and Murders ! ! ( Allegedly)

• shin fein will never be credible until the current crop of tds are gone, most of them were active members of the ira this association will hold back the party as the same old nutmegs will come from messers kenny and rabitte and gilmore, until they bring in new blood who can stand up and speak with authority on the issues and not keep spouting the populist bile thats happening at the moment, they can point at where they are in the polls, the reality is that their core vote is much smaller than they would like us believe. they attract the disenchanted and younger people who mostly werent born during the troubles. i look forward to the day when they have real policies.

• Sorry Dessie, but as nobody has said this yet, I’ll be the first.

Dessie although undoubedly committed, his handiwork was reponsible for many deaths on his own side through premature explosions.

His hallmark was a lack of attention to detail & untidy soldering.

• On the button Michael, the Provos were a little slow to deal with Dessie’s inaccuracies but soon quickly dumped him for another ” Engineer” , a man from Inchicore with greater prowess and attention to detail. From what I understand Dessie needs to have more serious concerns about impending allegations of a far more ” serious” nature. Might explain the ” cold war ” which exists between 44 and Mister Ellis.

• AH Lads and Lasies,,Sinn Fein Have moved on,,,give them a chance,,if your son, father, nephew, niece,neighbour, is a chronically addicted heroin addict,,,think of the effort that them good ole sinn fein boys are putting in to help them,,,you know you can only deal heroin or other hard drugs if Sinn fein’s local leaders allow you to deal, and you will only be allowed to deal if you pay the “protection money” to sf…the protection money is to ensure you dont get “clipped”. ie get a bullet in the back of the head..They dont really care who dies from the scourge of drugs as long as the protection money keeps rolling in…Then there is that other little earner they have tied up nicely,,,laundering diesel….there are none so blind as those that will not see….. what did you say about Catherine Nevin????

• That’s RIRA that you are referring to Mick. They hate everything that the Shinners stand for and would probably “clip” a Shinner local leader faster than a drug dealer. So basically your whole comment is completely wrong. Try to keep up with the times and read the news every once and a while. “De P~aper” has done some good pieces in the past and may do so in the future or else you can just watch re-runs of Love/Hate.

• barry 28/12/12 #

I don’t support S.F…. Yet.. But, if Dessie has questions to answer, then open the flood gates to include De Valera, Haughey, Lowry, Ahern, Gilmore, etc etc.. So many more for this list, but names elude me now; liars, ‘cute hoors’, ‘scratch my arse and I’ll give your company a contract’ so on!! And at the end of the day joe soap(me) has to put up with it.. But, there will come a time…..

• Dessie Ellis an IRA man no way jesus .A dirty traitor look at how he’s facilitating the transition of an Independent country to a German Colony .Do you reckon Kenny or Noonan would starve no hold on its Irish children they like to see hungry .Pick yere men because the shit is gonna hit the fan soon enough.

• He went on hunger strike to avoid being sent to trail in the UK. Now, I know the response to this will be that the British Legal System is flawed / corrupt / out to get him and so on. He was given a fair trial seeing as he got acquitted on legal grounds. But aside from that, when he was charged here in the Republic he skipped bail to avoid going to jail. Thankfully, our American friends sent him packing and he served 10 years.

• Chris K 29/12/12 #

Wow Kevin well done

• As a southerner I am embarrassed by the usual southern Fine Gaelesque tirade against SF and it’s actions in the north during the conflict. How dare yee. It wasn’t your families burned out of there houses. It wasn’t your families discriminated, intimidated and battened off the streets when they marched for civil rights. It wasn’t members of your family and friends assassinated by loyalist death squads with the help of the RUC and FRU. Lets have a truth and reconciliation commission once and for all. And, lets hear about how successive Irish governments abandoned the nationalist people in the north. And you people have the nerve, the gall to condemn someone like Dessie Ellis for standing up…how dare yee.

• i hope the British get as easy access to the Pat Finucane case-obvious as light follows day that tatcher gave the ok for the hit-thus the cover uo-SHAME

• @ Sean O’ Regan
    You misunderstood my post. I was stating an observation about moral relativism. Nowhere in my post do I condone political terrorism-tacitly or explicitly. Paradoxically you used a moral relativist argument to dismiss my comment which ironically proves my point.

• i know dessie for over twenty years , he wouldent kill a spider dont mined 50 people . how many people did this government kill true suicied and how maney more will die because of them.and the other shower before them. while the bond holder,s and the banker,s live it up. while our sick children our old people our poor and the needy have to make end,s meat to live maney more will die thruogh suicied .

• The only difficulty that I have with Dessie’s past is his rejection in recent years of republican principles and sitting in the Free State partitionist parliament.

Add New Comment