TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Driving with dimmed headlights may be mandatory by 2015

Leo Varadkar says the Road Safety Authority will consider mandatory rules when the country’s car fleet becomes more modern.

Image: Jo Jakeman via Flickr

THE TRANSPORT MINISTER has said Ireland’s motorists could be obliged to keep their headlights on at all times within three years, in efforts to improve road safety.

Leo Varadkar has said the Road Safety Authority is likely to consider the measure by 2015, but is not likely to implement the rule before then as the national car fleet is not considered modern enough to cater for it.

An EU directive issued in 2008 made it obligatory for all new passenger cars and small vans to be fitted with ‘Daytime Running Lights’ (DRL) from February 2011 onwards, and from all other new vehicles from this August.

While the Road Safety Authority encourages motorists to use dimmed headlights on a voluntary basis, it believes the cost of forcing motorists to have DRL fitted retrospectively to their cars would outweigh any safety benefits.

In response to a parliamentary question from Fine Gael backbencher David Stanton, Varadkar said this would be revisited “in around three years’ time” when the directive had taken full effect, meaning a larger portion of Irish cars would already be equipped to cater for such a rule.

“In the meantime, the Authority will intensify the promotion of using DRL with a view to significantly increasing the use of DRL,” Varadkar said.

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• Driving with working headlights should be mandatory first, oh and fix their alignment as well.

• a couple of speed bumps and pot holes knock the allignment!

• Seconded. The amount of muppets driving at night with one Headlight or poorly aligned lights is incredible. Also the half-wits who won’t go anywhere without full beam on! Not dipping until the last possible second, or when you give a reminder!!

Incidentally can’t have been many Journal readers on the M7 today or those that were lied about only using the outside lane for overtaking!!

Rant over!

• It’s no harm. And it’s proven to improve road safety. I always have mine on. If we could get people to use indicators and turn off fog lights I’d be very happy.

• David 13/05/12 #

It has to be made mandatory due to the fools that never use them when they should. You see people driving in all kinds of weather conditions with no lights or else just the tiny parking lights. It’s the same people who always have alot of missing bulbs on their cars and they are driving slowly so they think they are safe but they’re actually just asleep!

• A great idea which will definitely save lives and cost nothing. A large amount of people still are useless to switch on their lights until its well past twilight.

• For once Leo has got it right. Last Monday I was driving in heavy hail stone weather and most of the cars I met had no lights on.

• I drive with my dimmed headlights on all the time anyway. I think I do it automatically like when I put my seatbelt on. It’s not a bad idea at all. Even at this time of the year, if the weather is bad, it can be quite difficult to see what’s ahead of you, so I’d be all for this.

• I really, really hope that this becomes mandatory. Most people haven’t a clue about the safety risk of driving with no dipped beams on. Park lights are next to useless and should only be able to come on when the car is stationary or the key is pulled out. They are parking lights, they’re not for driving!!!!
    Lights on means you are seen quicker, especially in dull light, rain etc… Even when the sun is it can be still hard to spot a car when the sun is low in the sky behind a car.
    Unfortunately so many people don’t have the cop on to realise this, I reckon most of them think it’s going to wear out the battery, so it has to be made into law.
    I for one agree with it.

• random 13/05/12 #

Will dedicated DRLs really be necessary? Can those with older cars not just use their dips? I know you’d have to remember to turn them on, but that’d be an easy habit to get into.

• Any chance he could also introduce legislation to fine or give penalty points to the eejits who have side lights and only fog lights on or fogs on when there is no bloody fog. There called them for a reason.

• Telecom Eireann vans started this in the 90s.

• once while driving behind car (dark evening) girl was blinding me with rear fog light wasnt too close it was just so strong.. when i stopped at red lights i jumped out to tell her, only there was instructor with her and she was doing her test!! epic fail. i felt so bad. some people have”nt a clue how to use there lights.

• I’ve been driving with dipped headlights for about 10 years since my big bro (who lives in Sweden) advised me of the benefits; in the early years I used to get flashed for “forgetting” to turn my lights off!

Interestingly in Sweden fog lights are also disabled on all cars as they are deemed more a hazard than a help.

• I drive a Volvo and the lights a permanently on. I just make sure the beam is fully down during daylight.

Can’t be missed, so it must be safer.

• Their rear foglights are alright, front ones aren’t . You’ll see the same on most jap imports are the same they have no rear foglights at all. Had a volvo for years, thought the lights on all the time was a great idea apart from half the country flashing at you to tell you you have your lights on (just dims not beams) But that doesn’t happen as much any more.

• Already standard in certain countries. A lot of cars supplied to the Northern European market do not allow you to turn the lights off..

• It already is against the law to use fogs unless visibility is poor.

• This should not require a law, simply a bit of common sense from motorists. It is well known that daytime running lights save lives. Ask Saab or Volvo, their cars have always come with running lights that can’t be turned off.

However, the TOTAL MORONS who drive day/night with their front fog lights on are my real concern. Fog lights are for when vision is hampered by heavy fog, they have NO other function.

These dazzling and pointless lights have likely CAUSED many fatalities, especially on rural roads where a motorist who appears out of a bend coming towards you with front fogs blaring can dazzle you to the point of having to jam on the breaks!

The Gardaí should enforce the laws regarding the misuse of front (and rear) fog lights with no mercy. In my considered opinion, it should be deemed “driving without reasonable consideration” and should attract the 2 penalty points that go with this offence.

Anyone who doubts this, here’s a quote from the RSA web site:
    “The RSA has reminded road-users that using fog lights in clear weather is a motoring offence and can cause glare or dazzle to other drivers which could result in a collision. Misuse of fog lights could lead to a prosecution where you could face a fine of €1,000 on conviction”.
    Read more here: http://www.rsa.ie/Utility/News/2011/RSA-Expresses-Serious-Concerns-About-The-Number-of-Badly-Maintained-Lights-on-Vehicles/

Be safe out there :)

• Most fog light users seem to be either very young boy and girl racers and ladies of a certain age who are oblivious that
      A. The car is fitted with fog lights and B the chaos they cause when they approach on-coming traffic from the brow of a hill.

• Elrat 13/05/12 #

Good idea in this country/climate. Can be dark at 12 midday here. Going to get killed but women drivers rarely use lights when they should ( rainy days, poor light etc)

• Elrat 13/05/12 #

Why do we have to wait 2 & 1/2 years for this to come into law ????

• Have been using them since I started driving a long time ago. Not to long ago oncoming motorists you’d to flash thinking I accidentally left them on.

• Good idea bit it’s DIPPED not dimmed!

• I’ll still flash warnings to all oncoming drivers to warn of a speed trap and save them some money.

• FYI Journal.Ie…..3rd paragraph….”cars & small fans to be fitted with daytime running lights”…..Fans with headlights on the roads??? Seriously ;-).

• What’s next? Compulsory umbrellas when the sun is shining?

• rb 13/05/12 #

i see the point in driving with dipped headlights on and would do when visibility would be compromised by overcast, drizzly or rainy days. but isn’t introducing legislation to drive with dipped headlights a bit less important than coming down heavily on breaking speeding laws, making sure local authorities are fixing potholes, introducing legislation for Gardai do roadside DUI along with breathiliser tests to name but a few? just a rhetorical question…..

• Its Law here in Canada. Every car manufactured after the introduction of the law had to have DLR’s as standard equipment.

• The people of this country have to start standing up for themselves, do like in Greece they don’t take any sh1t there, the people of Ireland need to make a stand against the stupid usless government that got us into this mess. Yearly ncts on cars over 10 years old is a money making scam, now there will be more expense replacing headlight bulbs, it’s a disgrace. That fool in charge of the rsa should be more worried about cutting the tax on petrol and diesel.

• Here’s an idea: upgrade the ROADS and stop worrying about headlights.

• Pointless in this.country unless we will have all cars with day running lights because now we will have clowns driving around with full beams on blinding us not only by day but by night as well. Day running lights are normally countrys with snow where its hard to see on coming vehicles in the day time

• Most motorists think the brighter it is the less dipped lights are needed. Driving into a blinding sun with traffic on opposite side in the shadow of a building or trees. How can a motorist say that those with lights off can be seen as clear as those with them on. It’s funny how the amount of commenters in favour of lights on yet if you count the amount using them on a bright sunny day its a contradiction.

• Unable to post!!

Add New Comment