TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Kenny: Irish have borne weight of bank debt with “courage, patience and dignity”

The Taoiseach said that Ireland is “taking steps on the road to recovery”, while speaking at the European Parliament today.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY spoke about how the Irish dealt with the burden of bank debt in a speech to the European Parliament today.

He made the speech at the European Parliament while there to present the priorities of the Irish Presidency of the EU. This term marks Ireland’s seventh presidency, which Kenny noted began on the 40th anniversary of the country’s joining what was then the European Community:

The Irish people made a good decision – in those 40 years we have travelled well and far, we have never looked back. But our Atlantic island has long been at the ‘heart’ of Europe.

He spoke about how membership of the EU has transformed Ireland, particularly in terms of exporting goods to new countries. But, he said that Ireland’s “proud people continue to labour under the weight of bank-related debt”.

IMF

Noting that in November 2010 Ireland entered an EU-IMF support-programme, the Taoiseach said:

Austerity has brought pain and suffering to many families, many homes. But the Irish people have borne that weight, that pain with remarkable courage and patience and quiet dignity. And because of our people, their qualities I am happy to say that Ireland is taking steps on the road to recovery.

The Taoiseach said that Ireland has honoured all its EU-IMF commitments through eight Troika analyses, and that in 2012 the economy started to grow again with our exports climbing to record-levels. He said that the country is bringing government spending under control, and that “as a nation we are determined to exit the EU-IMF Programme before the end of this year”.

But he described unemployment as the “deepest hurt”, particularly for young people. He said that the chance of work is “the challenge of our generation” and it is one Ireland needs to meet head-on.

Challenges

Kenny acknowledged that Ireland faces many challenges up ahead, but said he firmly believes that 2013 can be the year in which Ireland will exit its programme and show leadership to Europe.

Regarding the recent spate of violence in Northern Ireland, Kenny said:

The last weeks have seen attempts by some to threaten the very hard-won peace. But be assured small groups of disparate, unrepresentative, trouble-makers will never succeed in bringing Northern Ireland and its peoples back to that dark place

Euro

The Taoiseach said he “will spare no effort in working with President Van Rompuy with the aim of securing agreement on the MFF at the European Council”. The MFF is the Multiannual Financial Framework 2014 – 2020, on which a summit may be called next month.

Kenny said that the European heads “will work to achieve a real Banking Union”, and that this must be among the Union’s top priorities, including early adoption of the Single Supervisory Mechanism and the other elements of Banking Union.

He added:

I believe that in 2012 we saw the passing of possibly the worst of the economic crisis – the fear that the euro itself might not survive was confronted and dispelled emphatically and we now move onto the challenges of the recovery of Europe.

Also covered in the speech was Europe’s role in fighting global poverty and hunger, the potential to increase Europe’s trade with strategic partners, EU enlargement, and the fact that Ireland’s presidency “will be about our European family”.

Read: Updated: Taoiseach has confidence in Reilly and in securing promissory note deal>

Read next:

Comments (182 Comments)

• “Courage, Patience, Dignity and a complete lack of any choice, say or vote in the matter”, more like…

• You know we had an election back in 2011….

• It’s not courage or dignity when its forced on you…

• That would be the election when the current government parties promised various things and promptly forgot about them once they got into power David?

• I remember that election David, but I also remember that
      (1) we were dumped into this by Fianna Fail long before the election without any sort of say in the matter;
      (2) Fine Gael and Labour both ran for the election on the promise of burning the bondholders.

From the Fine Gael manifesto before the election:

Fine Gael in Government will force certain classes of bond-holders to share in the cost of recapitalising troubled financial institutions. This will be done unilaterally for the most junior bondholders (owners of preference shares, sub-ordinated debt and similar instruments), but could be extended – as part of a European-wide framework – for senior debt, focusing on insolvent institutions like Anglo Irish and Irish Nationwide that have no systemic importance.

Heck, it was point 2 in Kenny’s 5-point plan…

And Labour were even more aggressive in their manifesto before the election:

“Labour believes that bank bondholders should share in bank losses”

and

“Labour will seek to ensure that burden sharing with bondholders is part of a renegotiated (EU/IMF) deal.”

So like I said – no choice, no say and no vote in the matter.

• I think he is right in what he is saying. We have been hit with tough austerity and we have taken it well. There has been no violent protests instead we have protested in a dignified and respectful way. Speaks volumes for the Irish.

• David , did FG not say , not one more penny to the banks was that not the deal before we all voted he is a fool and a coward that’s all Mr Kenny is

• The elction where they all LIED to get elected !

• @ David

Mark got in before me with a comprehensive answer.

I would love to hear your response.

LOVE TO!

• Although it went largely unreported, junior bond holders were burned. The government tried to agree burning of senior bond holders but a European wide framework couldn’t be agreed.

If we had promised to unilaterally burn senior bond holders and then didn’t do so, that would be a broken promise. However such a promise wasn’t made, so there is no broken promise.

People had the opportunity to vote for Sinn Féin and the ULA who were proposing certain default on our debts.

That’s what people on this site have been calling for.

Why didn’t you vote for the party that made an outright promise to do exactly what you want?

• 100,000 jobs Enda. The five point plan Enda. You’re a pathetic little fraudster.

• It was very widely reported David, but it only amounted to €4.4bn out of a total of somewhere in the €80bn region (scarily, you can’t even find an agreed-on total for the total we owe, even now, six years after Biffo signed us up to pay off the gambling debts of about a hundred of our high fliers).

And I’m still wondering exactly when we had any choice, say or vote in that decision of Biffos to put us on the hook in the first place…

• @david,junior bond holders did get paid back

• Wonder what Enda will say next time he talking to the business elite in Davos?

• @ David Higgins.. I sure remember David, do you want me to post up the relevant parts of your parties manifesto to remind you!? ???

• Kenny,Noonan, Hogan,Howlin and co dont give two hoots or listen to any of what joe public has to say.
      So Ive come up with a plan, lets remove their power by paying zero attention to anything they say or do!!?! Dont react,criticise, object, condem, praise ..nothing!
      This in essence will make this government a meaningless one. Reverse psychology in a sense.. The only way it can work at this point me thinks.
      The more we react to the crap they say and lies they spin, the more we are confirming their status and making them relevant
      … So lets STOP!

• I voted for ULA and Sinn Féin David, can I have a go at Mr.Kenny now? Thanks

• He’s crawling to get back into favour with the Irish people…if nothing else the comments on this post show how mistrusted and disliked Kenny and this government are. Remember Enda..it’s us you’ll be asking for your job back…not your mates in Europe.

• @nigel oneill i thought about that before.i think its a great idea to just not recognise the government at this stage.set up our own government direct democracy style that the people recognise.so we would have 2 governments essentially but only one that is recognised by the people.

• @Nigel & Graham
      That plan is well under way!!

@David
      Not another cent, did you hear that right?
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LTCT7QIeP8

• howya 16/01/13 #

Not one more red cent …not

• Kenny: Irish have borne weight of bank debt.
      You don’t have any choice, when it’s financial rape Enda.

Keep harboring and rewarding the culprits Enda.
      Yourself and your Stoogens in the Dail have borne F**K All.

• I love your sarcasm!

• So enda when are you going to join this austerity . That we the Irish are so dignified about .

• The ECB exceeded its authority in coercing the Irish government into the repayment of private banking debt in the bondholder bailout. As the 2 year blanket bank guarantee was close to expiring during the summer of 2010, the ECB forced the Irish government into full repayment of all bank bondholders from senior secured right down to junior unsecured under threat of withdrawal of liquidity funding from the Irish banks. The ECB exceeded its mandate in this and a legal case needs to be taken to the European Court of Justice in relation to this blackmail of a sovereign state.
    Payment of all outstanding banking debt including the promissory notes should be withheld pending the verdict of the ECJ.
    The FF led government introduced the disastrous blanket bank guarantee in 2008. They were fully supported by FG in that decision and FG have continued to enthusiastically support and enforce the payment of private banking debt by the Irish people ever since.
    Therefore if the current FG led government continue to refuse to seek justice in the European courts to protect the Republic, then the Irish people should force them do so by initiating a national Mortgage Strike.

• Way to go Enda – swallow your own spin and use it to weaken our case for a debt deal.

The dangerous incompetence of his government, who promised so much, will screw the Irish for decades to come.

• Elegant words Enda but I say Ireland has paid with its increased suicide rate, relationship break ups, stress and desperation which a lot of the people have felt.

• We took a desperate beating on this because it suited FF and their friends to hammer us and for the EU to kick the can down the road.

If you do not get a deal on this Kenny, you and your party will be just as hated and despised as the 2 Brians, Ahern and FF.

• Now Mr Kenny tell us what your going to do about it.

• And anger enda. You forgot anger.

• What’s with the font?

• Kenny WHAT ARE YOU ON ABOUT.TWO PEOPLE DIED OF THE COLD,YOU CUT CHILD BENIFIT,TOOK THE MEDICAL CARD OFF THE OLD AGE PENSIONERS WHO WORKED ALL THERE LIVES,CUT THE FUEL ALLOWANCE,I COULD GO ON ALL DAY,YOU HAVE 200.000 Euro + allowances.you did not take a cut,stop the lights ,WE ARE GOING BACK TO THE DARK AGES IN THE REPUBLIC OF IRELAND,

• I hate that donkey of an excuse for a man!!!!

None of the people that lost their homes or jobs felt dignified in anyway!!!

Just goes to show how far removed he is from the people of this country!!!

• Utter bollocks. Both man and comment

• Courage and Dignity is it? Not very dignified to lie on a trolley in hospital for three nights! Not very dignified to be unable to afford heating not very dignified to barely have money left for food be the time the government takes it’s cut from ever dwindling wages. I won’t be dignified when they come to install water meters on my street watch this space.

• Is it just me or is Enda Kenny saying that Ireland is Frodo….?

• My sisters favourite saying about Kenny and his relationship with the people “Treat them like mushrooms,Keep them in the dark and feed them shit”.Anyone want to have a guess how much us dignified people will get on the long coming prommisory note deal.

• When the government takes money and resources from those too weak to oppose them (too old and too young) you know that this country is going in the wrong direction. the people of this country need to wake up. We shouldn’t even be discussing the Anglo deal. FF FG & “Labour” liars and scoundrels!

• He can save that horse shite for his burgers.

• Well done Enda, all the while citizens with roofs over their heads freeze to death… 2016 can’t come quick enough.

• “the Irish people have borne that weight, that pain with remarkable courage and patience and quiet dignity”

This strikes me as the worst bit of spin I’ve read. I am genuinely shocked by it.

• Marty i think Enda in unable to tell the difference between “bourne” and “forced” or maybe he is afraid to say it.

• @Norman Maybe :-) I would prefer if he had come straight out and said “the Irish people have borne the mistakes* of others with remarkable courage”

* although it would be a most encouraging step there is no way I would expect him to say crimes

• If Enda said Ireland was “forced”how do you think our European partners(i use the term lightly,its an abusive relationship) would react.He has never said the ECB exceeded its authority but it did.

• @Norman If they reacted badly then there would be the perfect opportunity to burn every bridge we have and reinforce the economic ties we have with the UK. Not sure that would be good either. My mind cannot handle all of the ifs.

• Tax the Bondholders 99.99 cent on every euro. It is only fair that those who profit from this mess should pay Tax on their ill gotten gains.

• Yeah it’s called NO EFFING CHOICE kenny! Spare us your crocodile tears!

• Does he think dying of hypothermia at home was dignified for the couple who died in Dublin 7 the other day? They couldn’t afford heating even though the premises had gas central heating facilities in place.

Is that dignity?

Enda Kenny is mistaking dignity for apathy. And he knows it.

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

What happened to the wonderful church. Shouldn’t they have been practicing their Christian charity by helping the poor souls who died?

• Smiley, two Nuns checked in on the man last week.

This is nothing to do with the Church. This is to do with cutbacks in help for people on low or no income. It’s to do with rising fuel prices, fuel poverty and politicians who don’t give a damn.

We are paying back a massive loan to cover for bank corruption and wealthy people dodging tax. People die as a DIRECT result of it and the Irish media actively ignore it.

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Fat lot of good the nuns did. Why weren’t they more proactive? Spend some of the church’s money providing a practical solution.

• Is he honestly taking the Michael? Genuinely?

• Enda can be proud of one thing he has the best spin doctors our money can buy . Because there are some. Fools that still believe in him

• We didn’t go mad then, they were putting hoprse meat in our diet to keep us saddled with debt!

• “I am happy to say that Ireland is taking steps on the road to recovery.”

These same steps that about 2 years ago he and his party attacked most viciously? Those steps which his coalition partners regarded as “economic treason”

One cannot hurl from both sides of the ditch in this case. Hypocrisy at it’s worst.

• Patronising Git

• The Debt problem can be solved. Tax the Bondholders 99.99 cent on every euro of profit that they make. No one should have to pay another persons debts. It is a grave Injustice to the Irish people. Jesus told us to pray and ask God to forgive us our Debts. In this case the only people that have been forgiven and are profiting from the Debt are the bondholders. Perhaps the Irish Government would extend that Debt forgiveness to the people who had no hand act or part in creating the Greedy Celtic Tiger. Tax the bondholders now.

• Enda – GFY

• Is that another 5 point plan he’s talking about?

• Even the score. Tax the Bondholders. Let them pay 99.99 cent on every euro.

• That’s an achievement for a man without any backbone

• Get the boat Kenny you funky barsteward .

• Indeed we have enda, and all the while you, the rest of FG/Labour and europe have been laughing at our unwillingness to do anything about it.

I am still waiting for my college grant. Can only put heating on once a week for an hour or two.
    Have to go to family or friends for decent meals. Have a sick father who cant afford heating at all, and who stays in bed to keep warm.

All while under your watch kenny, and while you collect criminally insane amounts of money for doing a shit, half arsed job.

• Poor you, how many countries around the world do you think you’d get the same grant in, awh but you have to sit in the cold and wait for your grant. Go out and get a part time job and you won’t have to sit in the cold

• Have you an issue with third level education Tom? You sound bitter, like maybe you missed out?

• How many countries? About as many as have functioning economies that aren’t based on a lack of child labour laws and a willingness to work in appalling conditions for pennies a week….

…in other words, the ones that can afford you Tom.

• Its becsuse of my part time job that i can put the heating on for a few hours once a week. The rest of my extremely hard earned money goes off helping to pay significant funeral costs when my sister died, i also pay for my sick fathers meds too, its not amazingly expensive for the meds but still…

Thanks for thinking i sit on my arse though. If i was sitting on my arse not working, your ingorant and quite frankly extraneous remarks would have gotten me right off my lazy student arse and straight to the jobs section.

• Keith you have to go to your family for a decent meal in one comment and in the next you have to support them, just wondering ?

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Get real. Let the people who would pay if you were out of the country do the paying. Not your problem.

• Well john please let me clarify for you, when two people love each other very much…. They have children etc etc… Lol.

My mum and dad are seperated years now, only me, my dad and sister live in waterford now, rest of my family live in dublin, where they work minimum wage jobs to help put a roof over and clothe and feed my dead sisters three kids and mother of retirement age and of limited means. A woman who deserves to be enjoying her retirement but is instead doing the honourable thing. My sis in waterford has a mortage and three school going children so she cant help much with the meds for my dad, so i do as much as i can in that respect.

I go to my sisters house once a week for dinner, other days i go to friends houses. Some days i go without, other days i have enough to feed myself.

I do feel theres no point in having an opinion in this country, or at least voicing said opinion. Theres always going to be someone who’ll try to pick holes in anything you have to say, and belittle you un order to make themselves feel better.

• No your wrong Michael, I’ve a 3rd level eduaction, I just don’t have the attitudethat the world owes me something. I’m not a supporter of any political party, I just find it amusing the way the majority of commenters on here hold Enda Kenny personally responsible for their hardships, I never in my life would have considered voting Labour, (probably because I didn’t like the local clown that was around forever) and I’m self employed and have always earned my own way, but I will vote for them next time, Because they have been big enough to put the countries needs ahead of short term political gain. Please refrain from the Sinn Fein magic wand politics comments, about all the choice they had.

• Keith- Dont ever explain yourself, sounds like you are doing a decent thing while trying to get college done.Cant be easy.Fair play. Best of luck to you and your family.

• @Tom. Labour were the biggest liars in the last election, how you could consider voting for them is amazing when the consesus is they will be wiped out. You’re self employed, does that mean your a businessman?, would hate to be an employee of yours with judgement like that.

• Keith
      Good for you . Do not allow any one put you down . This is an unfair and unequal regime we are living under ,you are doing your best . Keep going . There are a lot of people out here in the real world struggling too and doing their best too:)

• Patronisingly being called ‘proud’ by our current Taoiseach…. it seems that he really really doesn’t want embarrassing protests during Ireland’s presidency of the EU. : /

• What’s wrong with ” Get the boat Kenny you funky barsteward ” ?

• I don’t think the public sector will be so quite when they start getting serious cuts soon!

• Gerard 16/01/13 #

FF brown envelopes bail outs as for FG labour more or less the same tell us anything promise us sun moon n stars till get elected!! And past the buck on last gov to hit us while most down no jobs makes me think is it worth the bother on me voting nx time

• what would kenny know about suffering?people freezing to death in dublin city under his watch..thats suffering..old people attacked in their homes due to his enforcement of austerity measures thats suffering..irish people do not recognise you as taoiseach..what suffering have you seen?

• Kenny and Gilmore are just as bad as Cowen/ Lenihan – not an honourable bone amongst them – traitors. The crap he spews as our ‘leader’ is sheer rubbish. It means nothing. Kenny has achieved Nothing except title as Taoiseach. This is a political farce…without limits. Who is going to replace these muppets? FF, FG, Labour, Greens – should be consigned to history. Federal Europe is our enemy and smug Kenny is their trusted friend.

• 16/01/13 #

With such a lack of spine, I’m surprised Enda can even stand up.

He’s a lying self-serving patronising disgrace.

• Did he make any mention of the fact that 42% of Europe’s banking crisis has been paid for by Ireland?

“The figures show that while the banking crisis cost Berlin €40bn, Ireland is liable for €41bn. With fractions of the population and GDP of the EU’s biggest state, the crisis has cost Ireland 25% of GDP and Germany 1.5% … The average banking crisis debt across the EU is €192 per person, and the figure of €9,000 for each Irish person does not take into account the €18bn put in from the National Pension Reserve Fund.”
    The Examiner, Jan. 16, 2013.

I’d like to read the full speech if it’s possible. Does anyone know where I might find it? I’m just wondering if he spouted anymore of the same treacherous tripe that he rolled out that time he appeared at Davos, dangling from the end of Dr. Merkel’s expertly manipulated string.

• He is a complete emberrasment to most of the population of this country, but he is adored by Adolf Merkel and the other heavyweights of the Federal states of Europe.

• The wording of that piece of Endaspeak makes it sound like we, as a nation, have a terminal illness. Who got paid what to come up with that drivel, I wonder. Not that I care tho’. Let him shoot himself in both feet…. You’d just have to marvel at the extent of it.

• You did not give us a choice Enda.

• Excuse me? No we ffffing have not!!!

• Feckin hillarious comments here !

• lgmal1 16/01/13 #

We will,it hasn’t started yet.

• x1

• Anti austerity and bank bailout protest Dáil Éireann March16th at 4-6pm
    PUT PEOPLE BEFORE AUSTERITY AND BANKS
    Colour green

• Paronising Git, that needs a red hot Iron shoved north of his southern equator!

• Shut the f*&k up kenny.

• Nice!!

• Come on people… Accept the decisions that you made during the Celtic Tiger. When experts in the field of banking and economics warned you of pending dangers… You discredited them, you laughed at them and you ignored them. You excepted the advice of teachers, unqualified as experts in the field of international ecnomics and business, while you raced to the banks to get your share. For those of you who didn’t voice your opinion. .. You are just as guilty as the people who put us here. You had a voice and you didn’t use it. To support the experts. Now “we” all suffer the consequences.

In this country I can’t vote yet and I can’t demonstrate openly. However, I do respect the integrity Enda and his party are trying to show the world. I am willing to sacrifice to get this country back on even keel. Even though I had nothing to do with “our” current state debt.

• It’s not “state” debt. It’s debt from private companies (banks) that the EU & ECB forced the last Irish government to convert into sovereign debt. So I’m afraid I cannot agree with your claim that we should be suffering the consequences.

• My son Marlon who wasn’t out of nappies when this mess happened what is he guilty of ,or my grandchildren yet to be born, care to tell me.What is their guilt?

• Kerry… I can appreciate your opinion and I also understand that I may not have a full understanding of the finer nuances that surrounds our current plight. However, I do believe the excess spending that went on in this country, the excessive borrowing this country engaged in and lack of forward thinking ultimately added to what caused our situation.

• Norman… There is no need to be condescending. .. To the point of your grand-children, their guilt is having you for a grandfather. A grandfather who stood by quietly as the Celtic Tiger Craziness went on. Excepting the trash that was spewed by politicians. You had the ability to ask questions… As many others…

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Well said, Marlon.

• Marlon you know nothing about me or my family so that big brush your using to tar all the citizens of this country with,put it away please.

• You pay for it then Marlon. Last I checked, most of the debt was racked up by less than a hundred people in the state…

• …and those of us who did think or say that there was a problem were told to go kill ourselves by the leader of the country at the time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfjGSfuSQpA

• Norman… As far as your family is concerned… I don’t know your family… However, it was you that brought your family. You spoke of your grandchildren and your unborn grandchildren. Since you brought them forward in your condescending comment… They were mention ed in my comment. Furthermore, there was no disrespect given to them.

It is for them that my heart goes out. Because if you didn’t question the decisions that were being made during the Celtic Tiger or you voted for a party that didn’t make a positive impact upon this country… Then you should be concerned of what people may think and the future of your family.

• Marlon it was not my intent to seem condescending but i am fed up being told “we all partied”.We didn’t i went to college no grant,got a job,bought a house paying for it.Have a family and am supporting them.My income has been decimated but not my out goings.I did not cause this mess,my son did not cause it either but we are being forced to pay.I resent that with all my being.Again my angry is not aimed at you;but be careful what you accuse others of.

• Mark.. I agree! Power has always been in numbers. Yes, the government said and did despicable things… However, we can make changes so that history doesn’t repeat itself.

• That’s a lovely thought Marlon, and if you could tell us exactly how, it’d be interesting, because last time I looked, Irish citizens do not get a vote or a say on policy, only on representatives; and the party whip mechanism neuters even that.

Yet you’re calling for what would be fairly complex policy and regulatory changes.

Is it that you don’t understand that we don’t have the means to do what you’re suggesting, or is it that you haven’t thought about how to actually go about belling the cat yet?

• Ha ha …See smiley here is a troll. only joined twitter and has a follower . GFY Smiley

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Ha ha, not. Twitterati for years.

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Oh, and I *never* troll.

• Norman… You sound like a good honesty man. And I totally understand your frustration. This should be a time in your life where you are suppose to be enjoying your family with few worries. The persons that are to blame is our government. And “my” frustration lies in our governmental system and the fact that the people of this country have no voice.

I really wish more people would speak up, organize themselves and use the current system to make changes in the system for our children and grandchildren.

As a blow in… I only see current situation perpetuating itself for generational hardship of many to satisfy the well being of a few.

• ”I do respect the integrity Enda ”
      u respect him -he is after lying thro his teeth -
      —– whats more – he will get away with it . 2015 is a long way off . The Irish have been too quiet about this wholsale robbery – as has been said to pay for Privtate bankers debts .

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Can’t believe the number of people who slag the current government off for trying to fix a colossal mess created by decades of the previous administration. Only the Irish!

• How the hell would Angela’s lacky boy know what the road to recover even looks like. That man needs Psychiatric help!!

• i’m confused, what country is he talking about.

• yes how many more people will die because they cannot afford heating ,,,or cannot afford to ring for help ,,or from the hunger ,,these are real problems facing people ,,when your choice is between ,meat or heat ,in Ireland in 2013 we have big problems ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

• joejoeg 17/01/13 #

The only reason the Irish people have had to suffer over the last few years is because of the greed of a few people in Ireland and they’ve had to be bailed out in one form or the other.

• I am sorry, but this sickens me. Well sure well done to us and a great big pat on the back of every Irish citizen that has bore and will continue to bear 42% of European bank debt. We are the pride and joy of Europe. Wake up people we are the whipping boys of Europe, we are a nation that guaranteed bank debts over night and because of that guarantee we are where we are. The Taoiseach that brought this in was the minister for finance the overlooked while this avalanche of debt grew momentum and was ridiculed by the current Taoiseach. our saviour, the great Enda, has taken this snowball and let it roll down a steep hill and now he can’t stop it crushing and killing the life out of every city, town and village it rolls over. Yesterday we see pictures of our leader frolicking with geese, is this symbolic of the children of lir? Is Enda trying to retrieve Ireland’s sons and daughters he has driven out of this country through cuts, moratoriums and unemployment? He celebrates a mere 78 jobs in tayto park, and well done to all involved, but where is he when 300+ lose heir jobs at HMV?? And where was he at countless other work places where hundreds of people have lost their incomes?? Our Taoiseach is one for fair weather stories and shys away on dark days. He is not a leader of substance, he is not a leader of integrity or wit. He is in fact less powerful than his predecessor as he has Ms. Merkle telling him how to run our nation. Taoiseach do the right thing and please step aside.

• Funny a different line is peddled by his pr spin brigade when talking to the Irish wider public. Remember the state of the nation address and his complete opposite stance in Davos to the assembled world media on Irish people and finances being self inflicted wound.
    Absolute useless excuse of a human being.

• The headline says that we’ve bourne the “bank debt” with courage, patience and dignity. However in his direct quote he’s talking about us bearing “austerity”.

There is an important difference between the two. Have you not misquoted him there?

• Aoife Barry 16/01/13 #

Hi David, just to explain, the quote is broken up in the text.

It reads like this:

“Our proud people continue to labour under the weight of bank-related debt. Austerity has brought pain and suffering to many families, many homes. But the Irish people have borne that weight, that pain with remarkable courage and patience and quiet dignity.”

So the word ‘weight’ refers to the weight of bank-related debt.

Hope that makes it clearer,
      Aoife

• Thanks for clearing that up Aoife!

• Really proud of our Taoiseach – one of the best leaders this country has had in a while

• Courage, Patience and Dignity my ar$e! The people of Ireland have done nothing but whine and moan and try to blame everybody else but themselves for this mess.

• Robin
      Brilliant comment … Ha ha .Lol ,Lol.
      Disagreeing with Kenny and with the rest of us too . You take your share of the blame but do not tell me that I caused any of this. The cheek !

• Robin we all still have our debt in our overpriced homes and we are paying back the debt each month, the only ones the government bailed out were the gamblers and speculators so do you not think we have a right to be angry?

• It is bizarre how grown adults are upset because they went through the complex process of buying a home, with their eyes wide open, open knowledge on how high property prices were relative to history and all other countries, and surprise surprise the bubble burst and the price of it fell. It was your decision to buy it, try act more like a grown up and accept the fact. You weren’t forced at gunpoint to satisfy your primal urge to own your home.
      Blaming the government is sheer dumb childishness.

• Arb did you read my post i blamed the government for paying the debts of gamblers not for the mortgage crisis, there is a distinction, i am quite happy to pay my mortgage debt but i am not happy to pay moneymen’s debts

• What if Enda is right and ireland comes out of this stronger and better then ever. Just asking.

• Not more horseshit please

• Not another cent David, did you hear that right?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LTCT7QIeP8

• What does he know about it

Add New Comment