TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Enda woos Washington

The taoiseach has insisted that Ireland is “wide open and ready for business” during his first official engagement in Washington – and also talked romantically about the Ireland’s relationship with America.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has been on a mission to rebuild Ireland’s reputation in the US and ensure investors that the country is on the road to recovery.

In his first visit to the US capital as taoiseach ahead of the St Patrick’s Day celebrations tomorrow, Kenny described Ireland as “America’s gateway to Europe” and added that the country is “wide open and ready for business.”

Kenny painted a picture of Ireland’s long relationship with the United States: “Ireland and America share a long and warm story – a story of generosity and affection, love and longing, hope and history,” he said, “When times were bad, you took us in – gave us a chance to share the American dream. In turn, we gave back a thousandfold. In every generation since, ours were the genes that built America.”

The taoiseach also talked about the affection with which the American people were held in Ireland – calling the desire to learn about our American cousins a “national obsession”. He said: “Now, if you’ve been to Ireland you’ll know that we’ll go to extraordinary lengths to find out about ‘your people’ – meaning who you are, where you come from.”

“I can only sum it up by the great Irish romantic proposal. Tradition has it, for generations, we’d get down on one knee and ask: ‘would you like to be buried with my people?’ – that was before we got those rings from Tiffany”, he joked.

To top it off, Kenny said: “You represent the cornerstone of Ireland’s relationship with America. In the week that’s in it, I can say you’re not just a brilliant resource – you are a national treasure.”

How could they resist us?

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• talk about licking arse, but in fairness to him he’s trying to put the country first

• He is right to keep everything positive and upbeat , to many people loving negative talk at the minute ,

• People who say were screwed all day are not going get us out of the mess. Take your negativity some where else. Some of us believe in this country and will make sure it works whatever it takes. I’d rather blind optimism than depressive objectivity or pessimism. Enough of feeling sorry for ourselves.

• Who’s depressed??? Im just a realist, nothing to do with depression…which by the way kills far too many people in our country today… far more than on the roads yet NRA get way more investment than metal health.

• That was an exceptionally cringey and cheesy speech , but the Americans eat that stuff up!

• A nation of begrudgers and naysayers. Do our current troubles mean we we should give up? What would you have him say?

• Fair play Enda. His positive type speech to America is the best form to deliver it as this is what they will respond to. The US is all about the sell sell sell, and this is what we need to get out of this mess. We are friendly we are welcoming so why not take their cash as well. Google Intel EBay Twitter Microsoft and many more need to hear this so they believe in Ireland and it’s future.

• No better place to paint a romantic pic of Ireland than America. They love to hear things like this and it’ll do us no harm whatsoever. Now get them to bring more factories over here!

• Take it for what it is, a speech on a day to showcase the country, to influence the people who run some of the largest employers in ireland. Enda has his poison chalice, like it or not, with lots of domestic issues to sort out.

• Just because people aré not voting the way you vote glen, you call then retards? Enda what ever you say or think of him, he is trying and is honest.. At least give the man a chance!

• Thus must have being written by an American! This is the type of shit they love. Fair play enda though and that’s coming from a FF man

• Glenn, on this the day to celebrate being Irish, would you please stop talking down this country? You may not like it but the Irish people voted for FG to lead the government, knowing they were voting for Enda Kenny as Taoiseach. You may not like the result, but I’m afraid that’s the way things are in a democracy.

And in your trenchant opposition to the “right wing parties” you seem to forget that in this election there was no credible left wing choice. Furthermore election after election has shown that the Irish tend to prefer right wing parties over left wing. You may disagree with this, but why not get involved in politics and convince people of why they should vote left, rather than resorting to name calling and constant negativity.

• Your right Ryan, I don’t like the result however there was several left wing parties in the last election with very credible policies which the public were scare-mongered into believing could not be achieved. Furthermore just because the Irish consistently embarrass themselves by voting for the same two right wing parties, doesn’t make it right and in fact has proved the wrong choice time and time again. I take your point about getting involved in politics and will consider it. With regard to name calling…why do people resort to the same old argument of ‘why are you resorting to name calling’ every time someone puts an apt title on the people who deserve that title??? On negativity…I’m not being negative..I’m being a realist..there is a difference!

• Because Glenn, there are many ways to get a point across and if you cant do that without coming off as self righteous and petty then no one will take you seriously. You can call yourself a “realist” but you just come across as cynical, negative and without real insight. You can make a point without alienating people, it will be more effective and people will listen more to what you have to say. I promise!

Also, i didn’t vote for FG this year and the thought of Inda becoming Taoiseach gave me the sweats but they’re in now and i’m resigned to sitting back and seeing how they get on. Who knows, they might do a good job?! Instead of begrudging the majority who actually voted (blame those who didn’t vote maybe?), take a breath, stop pointing fingers and let’s see if we can fix the country together?

• Fair enough Nigel, point taken and yes I was being cynical in my name calling comments, however I wont hold my breath waiting for great things from this government and I still feel the majority got it wrong, I was prepared to give them a go but they have already lied about the reduction in junior minister and it would seem on burden-sharing too. I just hope that the people who voted for them will now hold them to account for their bad decisions.

• I’d have a little more faith Glenn. In 4 months time if things haven’t changed for the better, i think we’ll see a lot of people on the march in Dublin demanding results. The Irish people have been pushed too far at this stage and we haven’t seen this country get angry yet. A Jasmine Revolution of our own would be lovely. But who would we put in charge?

• See I comment saying that we have already been lied to by FG and 5 people vote against it…this is what is wrong with Ireland. The second Enda Kenny appointed 15 junior ministers this country should have been up in arms, because we were lied to and now because everyone seems to have just accepted it there is nothing to stop them thinking they can go on lying…and being politicians they will!

• Have we found the first official troll for The Journal site? People who resort to name calling in a debate generally don’t know very much about the subject they’re on.

• It is without question that speech was some cringe worth material, with that in mind it was still delivered in a positive note. And that’s what this country needs and other country’s such as a America needs to be reassured that we are capable and ready once more for business as Enda put it.

• I think what Enda actually means when he says Ireland is “wide open and ready for business”, is that the Ireland is bent over, ass cheeks wide open and ready to be fucked by the banks, the EU and the IMF yet again..only this time we have a different asshole at the helm. It will take more than expensive sentimental speeches to sort out our problems!!!

• Kinda funny really, sitting here in the States reading this and realising that the American don’t even give all the Enda or Bertie or anybody else’s remarks around St Paddy’s Day. Its irrelevant to the US, they have too much on their plate and don’t give a damn whether Ireland is open for business or not! Enda should have saved the taxpayer the airfare, but then again, why not take the wife on an all-expenses paid trip to America!??

• Like I said Mick nothing but an expensive sentimental speech which wont come near to solving our problems. You hit the nail on the head with your ‘all expenses paid’ remark….country in tatters, high unemployment, private banks being refinanced by the state, international bond holders (or gamblers) being fully compensated for their losses (whether under the bank guarantee or not), EU/IMF fucking us over with unjust interest rates and forcing achievable demands on us and the new leader of the country off on a second honeymoon with the wife….. sick to death with this country and its retarded voters who seem to think there is only 2 parties in the country (both of which are right wing and don’t care about the avarage person because they are in the pockets of big corporations and the rich)

• This trip actually enables a lot of fundraising for Irish Charities through the American Ireland Fund which is trying to raise $100m by the end of the year. Not a complete waste of time.

• Cringe! Enda’s speech writer should get the sack!

• Sorry did I miss something…did something positive happen recently??? If you think a new government with the same economic policies as the last can have a positive effect on the country, then your in a bigger dream world than the gobshite that came up with Enda’s 5 point plan!!!

• Ahem …… We’re screwed anyway …….

• Really, who gives a shit what he says? I think more people have discussed enda’s speech in this thread/topic then have in the whole of America.

• Lots of down voters but very few comments supporting Enda…I take all you down voters are the retarded voters I mentioned earlier, who put this government in place and are too ashamed to comment in defence them.

• Have you heard of democracy?

• Yes, democracy is a new kind of tyranny these days. Some countries use democracy to destroy other countries these days. They put it before welfare and life of the people. 100000 children will die but some Islamic fundamentalists will have chance to be elected.

• Hi Glenn , I voted down all your silly negative looser comments because you clearly love misery. Enda is at least making an effort on our behalf. Remember the last lot said nothing could be done about the IMF ECB interest rate yet Enda has been offered a reduction already. Even if you don’t agree with Enda or the new government you have to agree they are making more of an effort than the greedy corrupt FF’s who landed up in this crap and are laughing at us as they collect their lump sum severance pay and massive pensions. You need to cop on and get behind this government so we can all benefit . You included !!!!!!!

• Keep dreaming James…muppet!

• Oh the delusion…it would be funny if it wasn’t so sad!!

• Good to see Irish people actually can get riled about something though…pity you didn’t all get so riled when the protests against our last government were happening!!! Hopefully when you all realise that you have been conned yet again by another right wing party, you’ll get this riled and actually do something about it.

• Oh great, now YOUR government is selling off our state assets at bargain bin prices because the EU said its OK to do so…Aren’t they great…you must all be so proud!!!

Add New Comment