TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Explainer: How election posters work – and which party has the best

What messages are the posters trying to send? And what’s the point of them anyway? TheJournal.ie answers all your questions.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

YOU MAY HAVE noticed that a referendum is on the way.

You may have noticed this because practically every lamppost in Ireland – or so it seems – has one or more posters tied to it, urging us to vote one way or  the other.

The election poster is a stalwart of Irish political life. Before every major vote they appear as if by magic along our streets, the work of thousands of dedicated volunteers. And the Fiscal Treaty referendum is no exception.

But what are the posters actually trying to say? TheJournal.ie spoke to two experts – Dr Eoin O’Malley, lecturer in Law and Government at DCU, and graphic designer Ronan McDonnell of A Worthy Cause – to assess them from political and visual perspectives.

What’s the point of election posters anyway?

In a conventional election, posters are there mainly to boost name and face recognition for the candidates. But this referendum isn’t about individual politicians. So what effect do the posters have? ”Its major impact is probably to make people vote. Because it just reminds you constantly that you’re in an election campaign,” Eoin O’Malley says.

It’s also an opportunity for the parties to try and set the terms of the debate. “It’s one of the ways you see the election being framed,” O’Malley says – so for example referring to the treaty in terms of either ‘stability’ or ‘austerity’. “What they’re trying to do there is get particular words in people’s minds when we consider our votes.”

There may also be another reason – in the world of party politics, it pays to keep your activists busy. “I think they also do it just to keep the party workers fit and get them used to putting up posters, in case they suddenly have to do it at the drop of a hat,” O’Malley says. “It’s a bit like military training.”

So how do each party’s posters rate?

NO REPRO FEE 26.04.2012...An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny

1. Fine Gael

Eoin O’Malley: “It’s the same sort of language that’s been used for the last two or three European referendums. It doesn’t strike me as terribly clever. The only thing that I thought when I saw it is, have Fine Gael rebranded? Their colours are usually blue, whereas this looks like Fianna Fáil colouring. I don’t know whether this was to make it look more nationalistic, so voting Yes would be a nationalistic statement. But they don’t seem to be great posters. Stability, recovery – these are messages we’ve heard before and I suspect aren’t going  to convince people this time.”

Ronan McDonnell: “There is some crisp typography, tastefully done. Presumably the typeface is intentionally similar to the Gotham face with which Barack Obama swept to victory, on the back of groundbreaking political design.

“Unfortunately for Fine Gael, the statement of intention is relatively small. And their identity is so small as to make one wonder if they are hiding it; as the party in power, they are making unpopular decisions. While the layout and type is confident, the overall effect is meek.”

30/04/2012. Labour launch poster campaign for Fisc

2. Labour

EOM: “It’s the same nationalist overtones. Obviously they’ve done work with focus groups who’ve said ‘Oh, we think the EU has gone away from Ireland, and we should be thinking about Irish interests.’ So they’re pushing the tricolour down at people and saying this is about Ireland, not about Europe.

“Usually when you’re trying to frame these things, emotion might work better than a cognitive appeal. And stability isn’t someithng you might get emotionally excited about. Whereas a word like austerity is a more emotive term. If I were they I would have had posters of nurses and gardaí saying ‘Who’s going to pay my bills if we vote No?’ or something like that.”

RMcD: “A total dog’s dinner of a poster. Traditionally Labour posters have been refined, with clear typography and well commissioned photography. Not so here. Why is there a picture of a sky? Are we looking to the future, or being lowered into a grave? Admittedly, it would be a patriot’s grave as the tricolour drapes us.

“The Yes is placed over a fairly deep blue in a red of similarly strong tonality. This, in a real-world scenario, makes it almost invisible. At least their logo is clear.”

30/4/2012 Fiscal Treaty Referendum Campaigns

3. Sinn Féin

EOM: “The austerity card is one that you were obviously going to play. It’s a much more emotive term. I suspect their real job here is to promote Sinn Féin as the party that’s against austerity; that’s standing up for Irish interests.”

RMcD: “A similar approach to Fine Gael, but with a more rough-hewn aesthetic. They have at least cottoned onto making ‘No’ the largest element along with their party name. But imagine driving past this poster. By the time you have read the extra clutter you will have passed it, long before reading the Sinn Féin at the base.”

03/05/2012. Campaign for the European Stability Fi

5. Fianna Fáil

EOM: “‘Just vote Yes, and we couldn’t think of any reason why you might.’ There’s no attempt at framing it or trying to press a message, which is odd. They’re also not pushing the Fianna Fáil logo. I’m not quite sure what this is doing, other than saying ‘We’re involved in the campaign as well.’ I wonder how much money they’re actually putting into this campaign.”

RMcD: “This is a great poster. A clean, crisp aesthetic not unlike the Fine Gael poster, but with a nice gradient which brings it to life. The typographic mixing pushes the Yes message clearly. The handwritten script is quite unusual in Irish political posters, and adds a striking positivity. Interestingly they add the referendum date, which is a nice touch.”

3/5/2012. Campaigns for Fiscal Stability Treaty

5. Socialist Party

EOM: The Socialist Party posters are definitely cleverer. This is a copy of the old Tory one from 1979, Labour Isn’t Working.”

RMcD: This poster is a mockery. The design is below par and rambling. For example: if they wish to emphasis that austerity is counter productive then “doesn’t” would be better off in the same colour but heavier weight than “austerity” and “work”. Then it forms a single entity. The red full stop hanging on can go. “No” is one of the smallest words on the poster.

More: ‘What are we at?’ – Labour TD criticises number of election posters>

Read next:

Comments (47 Comments)

• Very interesting article. (but I still want them banned / max number set)

• They make everywhere look so untidy & unattractive, they are also distracting on busy road junctions.
      After all – who is paying for them – as usual we are. I think they should be illegal.

They most certainly do not influence how I ever vote.

• definitly max number.. we drove less than a mile down my road the other day, and counted 34 posters majority YES.. 2 and 3 to a lampost. it ridiculous.

i already knew what i was voting before any poster / or leaflet came thro my door.

• What a waste of money. I’ve already made up my mind before I saw a poster. if anything seeing the amount of posters littering the country just ticked me off more.

• I Dont care if the posters work, its the bleedin tie-wraps left behind.the party volunteers come in the wee small hours and rip them down and leave the wraps there, the partys can be fined for leaving the posters up but no one knows who owns the wraps.So maybe each party should use their own colour coded tie-wrap sa and be accountable for their littering.

• Election posters are a testament to the herd mentality and emotional manipulation that democracy in Ireland incites. The very idea that someone’s vote would be influenced for the positive by seeing some smug git’s demeanour splayed all over the coutryside is anathema to the true democrat.

Posters should be banned in the interests of discernment (valuing policy not pictures), the environment, and levelling the playing field for candidates without large political donations.

• I disagree. It’s fair to admit that the vast majority of voters never bother to educate themselves on what is actually being voted on. Therefore, the average punter tends to vote along party lines (i.e. if FF say vote yes then it must be the right thing to do).

Remember, all sides of the debate have posters.

• I don’t think posters have great influence on a vote it’s an archaic form of electioneering.

• its a disgrace to see the countryside littered with all these signs, and if a local business tries this to advertise a sale to try and stay in business, the county council are knocking down doors , issuing fines,, and who is paying once again for all these posters,, i will vote no , and try to keep our country sovereign, and as for those puppets selling out our rights for money we did not spend, brazil came back from much worse and is flying once again, and selling elec to europe,,, funny how wind turbines are bringing back so many economies, china flying with them, even from there most elegant beaches u hear the hum in the background, but we sell our forefathers dreams of a free ireland, i am of no political party as think they have enough partying in the dail bar, and have never figured why they are not bagged coming out, just so angry at being sold out , the eec has changed more hitleristic over last 10years, yes vote we will pay them back, no vote we have to pull our own socks up and work for our dear little country

• well said jackie. i cant understand how that lot in the dail cnt invest properly in wind technology. all the possible power being wasted along the atlantic coast. if they did it right we would have cheap electricity and be able to sell it to uk and eu. il be voting no.that shower in gov only want is to vote yes so they wont have to work for their money.

• Seriously Nuala, you’re voting “no” because there aren’t enough wind turbines?

• eh no that would be stupid. i was making a point in agreement with jackie. im voting no cos its the best thing for ireland in the long term. we need to deal wit issues now and not kick can down the road so our kids or their kids suffer. no is the only hope future generations have.

• Aurfur 13/05/12 #

What a waste of money for a country thats advocates the need for austerity. Waste of natural resources and cash. Posters and other frivolous waste should be banned until austerity measures not longer needed.

• The ‘for a socialist Europe’ on the Socialist Party ones is a bad idea. How many people do they think actually want a socialist Europe?

• Find it a tat odd that only Fianna Fáil and The Socialist party bothered to use the logo of what European Parliamentary party they are a member of on their poster. Why do the others listed above hide the fact?

• I can see why Enda wants us to vote yes cos he already signed off on it in January.As far as I am concerned it is now my time to show this amateur that he has to do as the voters who elected him into power want,not what Europe wants.He has to realise that he was elected by the people ,for the people and I think he is not doing that.So by voting NO,he will be rightfully put in his place.Anyway the posters are a waste of time due to the fact that the govt. have lied to us before so they haven proven that they cannot be trusted.

• God, it really scares me when I read people advocating a “No” vote to teach Enda a lesson.

Educate yourself & consider the ramifications of your actions, which could affect us all for generations.
      Don’t just vote because you’re pissed off.

• mattoid 13/05/12 #

Also Joe, the latest opinion poll shows that the majority plan to vote yes (see elsewhere on the Journal) so he is representing the majority, even if you (or most of the people who read TJ) don’t like it….

• Generally, people vote against these things for each and every reason other than what the treaty/compact is actually about. Same old carry on as before, really. The Yes side warning of armageddon unless we approve what essentially amounts to a high interest overdraft and the No side consisting of the usual suspects who disagree to more or less anything just for the hell of it. I’ve no problem with our budgets being submitted to Europe – it’s normal enough in the context of a currency union that individual member states aren’t allowed run up vote-getting juggernaut budgets as per FF electoral strategy ’77-06.

• There’s no doubt that election posters and the accompanying cable ties are an eyesore but it’s difficult for any party to take the first step of not using them without risking being left with no exposure. In that sense, a ban is the automatic response but a simple ban would be quite undemocratic and weigh in favour of bigger parties who can ‘advertise’ elsewhere because of their bigger resources. Instead we should have some form of system that gives equal access to all with temporary poster sites where candidates can only have an equal number of posters etc as well as restrictions on other forms of advertisement.

• Austerity isn’t working

VOTE

NO

• There’s a referendum on? I hadn’t noticed… because I live under a rock… with my eyes closed… and my hands covering my ears.

• wow! You managed to get a photo of a No poster. A rare species on the streets of Dublin.

• We have being doing democratic socialism for years(high social welfare, high taxes to fund services, bloated civil service etc) its what got us into this mess in the first place. Time go give a bit of right wing capitalism a good go me thinks!

• Wasn’t it the excesses of capitalism that got us into this mess? And haven’t we had right-wing capitalism in this state for the past 90 odd years?

• Actually the party(FF) who have beeb most responsible for shaping the couuntry since its foundation are social democrats and there policies bear this out. Add in a sprinkling of labour and we have been quite left leaning. Cuurently we stand to the left of say the u.k but right of scaninavia. We were inplementing many scandinavian influenced policies under FF. Even FG are not very right wing.

• p.s. excuse the typos, late night with a baby!

• I reckon you’d even call the Third Reich very left wing

• @jeroen – Why? There’s a huge different between “conservative” and “right-wing” – FG would generally be in the same bracket as ” old school Tories”, but Ireland has had very little extreme ” right-wing” politics, a product of being a post-colonial nation. Both right-wing and left-wing in Ireland tend to be conservation rather than radical, although there is a rise of more radical left-wing thinking emerging into the mainstream. Only time will tell whether this “new left” will grow and become a significant part of the political landscape, or is a fad and will fade out..

• Although Nazism referred to itself as National Socialism I would have to put it to the extreme right!! The US would be more what I was talking about.

• So Fianna Fail have a great poster because they used a script typeface. It’s a pity the designers reading of the posters is such a superficial one because what happens in these posters is always so much more interesting than that. My reading is that these posters, in general are so incredibly neutral compared to the usual political posters. And I also picked up on the very underplayed approach to logos and the usual heavy branding through party colours. Labour has taken an approach that on a quick glance would look like it was a Sinn Fein poster. The only party wearing heart on sleeve is the socialist party, and that’s most likely because they’re the least politically sophisticated (or manipulative). So overall my reading is that it’s an exercise in pandering and misdirection from pretty much all parties, which to be fair is pretty representative of all their campaigns.

• Can they make sure to keep the posters this time around? It’ll save having to print them all again in a few months time.

• I was born and reared a Free Thinker….I’m not sorry or ashamed…. I am delighted I’m able to vote, My Mother is one hell of a woman… she got five of us up and reared by de skin of our teeth and it was a massive challange…. while me da had to go to England to work and also put her foot down massively when he got the option to go to OZ… there was NO FECKIN WAY she was leaving the Homeland and Family…. we had tough times and we lived through them….I am a 70′s child … that had to go through the w/ends of the 80′s saying GOODBYE to me DA every Sunday after dinner…. AWAY was where Work and Food was… I didn’t understand… I thought that this was because we were bold during the week or we (kin and I) weren’t good enough….Now I UNDERSTAND…. And it pains me …. I do not want my kids to deal with the broken heart I had every Sunday and the tears and sobbs that my poor aul da had to go through because I insisted on going to the airport to say goodbye…. Please Ireland listen to your heart…..

Add New Comment