TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Garda association criticises proposed closure of 80 stations

The Garda Representatives Association said proposed changes will not save money and the service will “go downhill rapidly”.

Image: Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland

PROPOSALS FOR THE closure of 80 Garda stations before the end of the year have been criticised by the Garda Representatives Association (GRA)

According to a report in the Irish Independent, closed Garda Stations would be handed back to the Office of Public Works and Gardaí in affected areas would staff clinics a for a couple of hours, two days a week.

The proposal is part of a new policing model which was discussed by senior officers at a conference this week.

Spokesperson for the GRA John Parker said the closure of Garda stations is a “false economy” as operating costs for rural stations are already low.

“There’s no real cost savings if you’re paying rent on a community hall unless you’re expecting the community to give you a freebie,” he said. “But if you’re passing the cost onto the public that’s an unfair burden.”

Parker said proposed changes would make it more difficult for Gardaí to conduct official business. “You’ll have Gardaí working out of the boot of a car and they won’t be able to offer the same confidentiality in a community hall as they can in a station,” he said.

“Crime does not wait for clinics”

Sinn Féin Justice spokesperson Padraig Mac Lochlain said the closure of Garda stations will put community safety at risk.

“Attempts to spin this as some sort of new policing model are an insult to the communities affected,” he said.

“The idea that these stations can be replaced by twice weekly clinics beggars belief.  Crime does not wait for clinics.  Policing is about instant reaction in many cases and this cannot be done remotely.”

Another key part of the new policing model will be the utilisation of the 170 new patrol vehicles which will be out on the streets in the new year.

Parker said these new patrol vehicles are “only one third of the deficit that was lost since 2009″ and said Garda resources are still hugely lacking.

He said the “ordinary Gardaí on the street” are constrained from fighting their corner and whatever decision is made they “will have to get on with business at hand”.

However he added that people who are worried about their local Garda station closing should make their concerns known.

Read: Dublin’s Joint Policing Committee opens its door to migrants>
Crime stats shouldn’t be ‘stick to beat gardaí with’, says TD>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• Typical paddyism. Crime through the roof, burglaries, muggings on the up and our lost slash and burn the very service the public need.

Shatter is an absolute disgrace as a justice minister, his posh hole is so far removed from the realities of the danger on the streets.

• If you don’t trust your police (without absolving them from prior transgressions), you’re left with anarchy. Reduce policing, increase crime; you know what the meerkat would say.

• @ Dermot… I’ll gladly pay the household charges when I get a reciept and a guarantee that it’s going to the required services and not to pay some inbred bondholder or banker.
      The Garda are the front line of security in any community.
      I may not always agree with them but they are doing the best they can with limited resorces.
      I hope the Garda make a stand against this pathetic disgrace of a failed government.
      Shatter was glad of the Garda on quite a few occasions.

• That’s crazy closing stations . Sooner Alan shitter is gone the better

• This is an absolute bl**dy joke . The sooner this government go the better. None of this makes any sense .

• I assume the above comment will be removed ??? Hello Journal????

• Stick to the point at hand the country gard is the direct link between the community and the law. A lot is solved outside the church on a Sunday morning. The country gard involves himself with community be it through sport or just obliging when there is a local funeral, it’s give people generally a friendly face to approach with whatever private matter they have

• The local Garda station is important. Its the eyes and ears of the law around the country. A district headquarters 30 miles away will not give a toss about eg. Jonny and Mikeys feud over land boundaries in Ballygobackwards. This is a retrograde step, which we will all pay dearly for in future.

• Alberto 26/10/12 #

crime is rampant, so the governement decide to close stations, move gardai from these villages where burglaries are an everyday occurance and think the people would settle for this????? how does this make sense??? the first thing a citizen in Ireland should feel is safe in the knowledge that when in danger that they can ring 999 and expect a rapid response from the gardai, not gardai who are stationed in district hq miles away. I pity the everyday garda who are doing the work of two and three gardai and as a result of the powers to be get absolutely no thanks or help. I know for a fact that every garda will continue to do their best for the people but there’s only so much a police force can take.

• Red Ed 26/10/12 #

The gardai have enough to be doing so I would say there is more to that story Michael. I don’t think 8 gardai would waste that amount of time for nothing and bringing her straight to court must mean its a serious matter that is private to the woman and her family. why do you think getting loads of people to ring and complain would help this situation?

• Why are we closing rural Garda stations when cities have too many. In this day and age is it necessary to have six hard stations in the south central division of Dublin. Years and years ago there were so many stations in the city as there were no cars etc. Now we don’t need as many. I would propose maybe three to four main stations in the city with smaller, efficient Garda offices around.

Closing rural stations cuts off communities and leaves them at the mercy. Every one in a village or hinterland should know their local Garda and vice versa. I know in a city/large town in different but we look for the Garda for help. Yes there are some who are problems, that is in every job but the majority are ordinary men and women doing an extra ordinary job.

• Gerard 26/10/12 #

You sound like more of a hindrance than a help Michael, tell the real story about why 8 gardai showed up or best maybe to say nothing at all

• The GRA are the worst representative association ever . Rotten to the core and in bed with management ! !

• Red Ed 26/10/12 #

Having a bad day Michael?

• I could solve a lot of issues in this country with a pencil, paper and a pair of Balls. Enda has none of those and no brains either, well paid though!

• Just a recognition of reality in rural areas.

My village has, nominally, a Sergeant and two Gardai. In reality, No-one knows their names or when the station is open. Even worse in the next village.

In an emergency call 999; otherwise, forget about seeing them.

• Next news article will read: 80 Chippers set to close forever.

• What services? Stoping people all the time for car tax that’s the only time I see the guards “working”

Add New Comment