TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Senior Hamas military commander killed by Israeli air strike

Israeli said the death of Ahmed Jabari was the beginning of an operation to target militant groups throughout the Gaza Strip.

People look at a wreckage of the car in which Ahmed Jabari, head of the Hamas military wing in Gaza City, was killed.
Image: Adel Hana/AP

AN ISRAELI AIR STRIKE has killed a senior Hamas military commander in Gaza City, prompting a furious response from militants who said it had opened “the gates of hell.”

Israel said the killing of Ahmed Jabari was the beginning of an operation to target militant groups across the Hamas-controlled territory.

The assassination follows a flareup in and around the Gaza border, which saw militants fire more than 120 rockets over the border, and Israel killing seven Palestinians.

The killing sparked furious protests in Gaza City, with hundreds of members of Hamas and the Ezzedine al-Qassam Brigades chanting for revenge inside Shifa hospital.

Witnesses reported at least six air strikes across the territory and said dozens of Israeli tanks were massed along the border east of Gaza City.

Hamas’s armed wing, the Ezzedine al-Qassam Brigades, warned that “the occupation has opened the gates of hell on itself.”

Hamas itself issued a statement saying Israel would be responsible for the consequences of the assassination.

“The Palestinian government mourns the loss of the senior Palestinian leader Ahmed al-Jabari, one of the symbols of the resistance and holds the occupation responsible for the consequences of this crime,” a statement said.

Medical staff at the Shifa hospital in Gaza City also confirmed his death, saying his bodyguard was also killed in the strike.

‘Just the start’

Military spokeswoman Avital Leibovich said the strike was just the start of an operation targeting armed groups in Gaza following multiple rocket attacks on southern Israel.

“After the rocket fire of recent days, the chief of staff [Lieutenant General Benny Gantz] has decided to authorise the targeting of terrorist organisations in the Gaza Strip — Hamas, Islamic Jihad and others,” she told reporters, adding: “This is the beginning.”

Israel’s Shin Bet domestic intelligence agency and the military confirmed it was a targeted killing.

“During a joint operation of the General Security Service [Shin Bet] and the IDF [army] today, Ahmed Jabari, the senior commander of the military wing of Hamas in the Gaza Strip, was targeted,” a Shin Bet statement said.

“In the past hour, the IDF targeted Ahmed Jabari, the head of Hamas’s military wing, in the Gaza Strip,” an army statement said, describing Jabari as “a senior Hamas operative… directly responsible for executing terror attacks.”

“The purpose of this operation was to severely impair the command and control chain of the Hamas leadership, as well as its terrorist infrastructure,” it said.

The Israeli military said on Twitter that it was prepared to initiate a ground operation in Gaza “if necessary”.

Outside the hospital, armed men fired weapons into the air, and mosques throughout the city called prayers to mourn the commander’s death.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (130 Comments)

• Israeli pre election campaign?

• Yep. Just like before the last election when they killed hundreds of innocent women and children in Gaza.with Operation Cast Lead.

• These terrorists have been firing hundreds of rockets into Israel without any condemnation from the UN or the biased media against Israel. So Israel rightly hits back at these cowards and their condemned! A lot of palestinian propaganda using these skillfull executions to stir up sympathy, their full of hot air with their rants,they will think twice before firing rockets at civilians.

• Martin, you are gorgeous , but badly informed on this subject

• President Peres: The head of the military force of Hamas was killed today. He was a most extreme man and was in charge of all the attacks and assassinations from Gaza against Israel. Our intension is not to raise the flames, but already for days, day and night, they are shooting rockets at Israel. Mothers and their children cannot fall asleep. I was today there with the children. There are limits to what Israel is able to absorb.

• Actually, what can an occupying country expect? I don’t like or condone the violence, but if you are a brutal oppressor, you can expect a brutal resistance.

• Funny, meital, how you mention the israeli kids who cannot sleep but neglect the palestinian kids that israeli missiles today put to sleep permanently, no?

• In the last conflict, Israel murdered at least 1400 Palestinians. Israel lost 13 soldiers. The Palestinians are not worried about sleep . They are worried about the genocide that is taking place by the terrorist IDF

• This attack and the ones to follow over the next few days is the “heavy price” that the Palestinians are going to pay for their request for recognition of the state of Palestine in the UN in 2 weeks time.Not only are the Israelis going to bomb Gaza people, innocent or not, but they are also going to try to overthrow Abbas, put even more financial constraints on Palestine and accelerate illegal Jewish settlement building.
    The Palestinians truly are living in a prison.
    Shame on the Israel goverment and all that support them

• The Israelis are calling this operation ‘Pillar of Defense’. It’s nothing short of pure tyranny. Absolutely disgraceful.
    The Israelis ambassador should be summoned and addressed. As I type the Israelis are bombing any infrastructure improvements in Gaza under the guise of going after militants.
    The everyday abuses the Israelis commit against the Palestinians really makes my blood boil.
    The Palestinians have every right to defend themselves. If the current Palestinian bid for UN membership is approved they will probably take Abbas out next.
    Terrorists. Nothing short of terrorists.

• It’s amazing how people call Jews (most have Hebrew ancestry) “colonizers”. Would a popular Irish surname like Fitzgerald which mostly Irish-Catholics bear in Ireland be considered a colonizer surname? That surname is not even of Gaelic origin and that surname goes back to the Normans who started British rule over Ireland and stole the Irish Gaels lands? When does this selective outrage of history stop? Where do they think Jews originally came from? Why did they immigrate to Europe? Was it because they wanted to be put in German ovens or treated like second-class citizens by the rest of Europe? Or was it that their lands were stolen from them and many of them slaughtered by Arabs who colonized their lands? The claim also that Palestinians have been trying to achieve “peace” with Israel is the most absurd thing I have ever heard; they don’t even recognize their right to exist. Israel offered the Palestinians a two-state solution years ago and they rejected it as Israel “rightfully belongs” to them. Islamic Arab supremacy will never tolerate the very existence of Jews. There is a reason why thousands of Jews throughout the ME have immigrated to Israel and not stayed in the Arab countries they once lived in. If Israel was this “brutal/racist regime” they would have killed all the Palestinians by now like what their neighbors do to minorities. “While we loudly and consistently condemn Israel .. we are silent when Muslim regimes abuse the rights of Muslims and slaughter thousands of them. Remember Saddam and his use of chemical weapons against Muslims (Kurds)? Remember Pakistani army’s excesses against Muslims (Bengalis)? Remember the Mujahideen of Afghanistan and their mutual slaughter? Have we ever condemned them for their excesses? Have we demanded international intervention or retribution against them? Do you know how the Saudis treat their minority Shiis? Have we protested the violation of their rights? But we all are eager to condemn Israel; not because we care for rights and lives of the Palestinians, we don’t. We condemn Israel because we hate ‘them’.” – Muqtedar Khan

The main reason people focus on Israel is because it involves Jews
    o This is a pretty bleak vision. I’m arguing that the Arab world, the western left, and the UN are driven by racism and hallucinatory anti-semitism, not by reason. If no Jews or at least whites can be blamed, they’re not interested.
    o See, for example, the persecution of Palestinians in Syria/Lebanon and Kuwait. No one cares about this because it is not being done by Jews.
    o Jordan killed 10,000 Palestinians in 1970, and Syria killed 20,000 Islamists in 1982, and Kuwait ethnically cleansed the Palestinians in 1991 and the Egyptian dictator Nasser gassed Yemen in 1967. But the moral guardians of the world don’t care, because the culprits were not Jews.
    o That’s human nature. That’s the way humans are. It’s pretty disgusting. But then again, where do you think genocides and holocausts come from? It’s because humans are disgusting. If humans were rational, history would not be a bloodbath. Ordinary humans – family men, mothers, bright young people – all over the world, hold irrational and morally sick political and religious views. That’s the way the world is.
    - http://markhumphrys.com/israel.html

• Well said Kevin. The anti-Israeli agenda in Ireland & especially the Irish Palestinan Solidarity crowd & their photoshopped maps & blatant lies are doing more harm than good to the ordinary Palestinan people who would be far better off rid of the extremist of Hamas & Hizbollah.

• I know Reginald’s Tower. All these anti-Israel people are absolutely evil/disgusting people. The quote below came straight from the K….K….K’s website; the similarities between them is amazing.

“Which the American tax payer has already paid for. Our T.V. which is government controlled tells everyone not to worry; everything is going to be just fine. We have a Black President now and he will fix everything. The truth is he has the same agenda as any President we have had for the past 20 years. To protect the Terrorist state of Israel with American tax payers dollars. Even though Israel has an arsenal which is never to be checked by the U.N. unlike Iran who is always being threatend. Israel has killed way more Arab women and children than the supposed 6 million Jews of Nazi Germany. They have their own DEATH CAMPS set up in the Gaza strip. While Americans never hear of it through our Media.” – K….K….K Website

• Recounting genocides by other states on the Palestinians justifies Israel’s genocide of the Palestinians? Typical Israeli propaganda!!

• Hear hear lads @reginalds tower and Kevin Niazi. Completely agree with your points

• If a fascist state like Israel invaded my country with a policy of genocide, I would use any possible means to get rid of them and I would question their right to exist particularly a terrorist rogue state like Israel.

• Michael I could say you’re statements are typical Palestine propaganda/lies as well and part of the anti-Semitic WWII geezer mentality you still have.

• What’s this? An actual knowledge and understanding of the historical facts combined with reason doesn’t belong on the internet. Well said though.

• @Michael Mulhearn look up the meaning of the word genocide. You have not even a clue what you are talking about.

• It is time for Egypt to distribute fair democracy to its own people first…the “brotherhood” do not represent all Egyptians……

• So, this Hamas commander was instrumental in excecuting various bombing camptaigns against Israel and anyone seriously though that he was going to get away with it? Come on people; get real! Israel might be the little guy in the middle east, but sure packs a big punch and has never attacked anyone and/or any country who has not attacked Israel first.

• Incorrect. Apart from the Yom Kippur War, Israel started every war it’s been involved in. Nice try though!

• B Lowe 14/11/12 #

Dirk, I am sorry to say but you seem to be delusional.

• Shhhh Dirk thats stating reality lol does not tend to go down well here. Funny enough that the brave men of Hamas fire rockets and hide in civilian areas. During the last invasion by Israel to stop rocket attacks Hamas hid Rockets under hospitals.

Lovely people

• B Lowe 14/11/12 #

Stewie, during the last invasion Israel used chemical weapons on civilian neighbourhoods.
      Enough said.

• Did they?? not saying your wrong just im not aware of it. Can you post link please?

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

lol, Israel holds the record for the most UN laws broke! just behind the US. If Israel only attack when attacked why did they pretty much invent false flag attacks to kickstart wars. They have numerous times flown bombing campaigns to bomb arms factories and power stations etc, even as far as Sudan. As Israel said, every country has the right to protect itself, so why do they think that Syria, Sudan, Egypt and Iran should not have any weapons at all? That will never happen.

• How did the Israel and the jewish people fare in the Second World War? Did they start that war. And yes I am aware that the state of Israel only exists from 1946 but the point is obvious.

Israel is surrounded on all sides, by people who don’t want peace but who want the state of Israel to disappear, along with its people. Arafat was offered everything he needed to form a recognised Palestinian state and he turned it down. What argument follows that?

If I lost 6 million brothers and sisters I wouldn’t be very trusting. Of anybody.

Israel has every right to defend its borders.

• How did the Israel and the jewish people fare in the Second World War? Did they start that war.

Israel didn’t exist until 1948!

• Apologies for that in accuracy, i am on the luas home. Now for yours. You cannot honestly claim that Israel started every war bar the Yom Kippur. That is very very misleading. But for arguments sake lets ignore it and focus on the Yom Kippur.

Israel was sneak attacked on its sabbath day. No declaration of war and no warning. You speak as though Palestinians are the victims here. Imagine if roles were reversed and Israel invaded Syria or Egypt without warning. Had Syria Jordan and Egypt been successful do you honestly believe they would not have run Israel into the sea? Of course they would have. They would have continued until America intervened or a crescent moon flew atop the dome of the rock. It is an ideological war. Even if a Palestinian state were granted, rockets would still be launched into Israel. You anti Semitic bastard. Of course Israel is armed to the teeth. Of course Israel launches counter attacks against rockets. Their leaders hide in apartment complexes and hide arms in schools and hospitals. What do you expect a free nation to do. Go quietly into the night?

And to say Israel colonised the area, Where else could they go after being systematically slaughtered. They went home.

• B Lowe 14/11/12 #

Stewie, it’s called white phosphorus. A chemical weapon when used in civilians neighbourhoods. Just type it a search engine.

• what do you know B Lowe your right on the money plenty of evidence to show that in fact white phosphorus was used by Israel. seemingly looking at it there is noting to suggest that its against international law. However it is a horrid weapon that should not be used. I agree with targeted and measured response, a weapon such as white phosphorus has no place in any urban environment. Its known Hamas hides weapons and personnel in schools and hospitals and white phosphorus is hardly indiscriminate. So yeah agree with you there another thing that Israel should be held to account over. While yes Hamas does fire weapons and targets civilians two wrongs dont make a right.

• Stewie, white phosphorous use in a built up area is considered a war crime as it is a banned munition used in those circumstances.

• The PA and Hamas control Gaza . Israel is long over due in Defending herself !

• The BROTHERHOOD” . Not All “Palestinians” are Muslim . And Not All “Muslims” support the “BROTHERHOOD” . The ARABS that live in Israel are Happy to be There . Isn’t it “Funny” that Hamas doesn’t attack Israel from the “Palace” !?

• so hamas want to declair a one sided war, shoot rockets in and when a response is made then claim that israel has declaired war!!!!! IN the Hamas and gehad constitution it declairs destruction of Israel ( every inch not 67 or any other date,,, They say they are at holy war with Israel ,, so why do people get so upset here when israel says enough we will defend ourselves…
    The rockets rain in from gaza and people say wit back its nothing ,, they are only small etc,,, not so if you fall on your house. Gaza WAS under israeli occupation , its not anymore,, there isano one IDF soldier there and even more there isn’t one Jew there that not enough for Hamas ,,, all the Jews and Israel have to vanish from any part of the middle east. Keep on printing what you want but it wont change this fact. If one person from Hamas is willing to come and say two state solution and end of conflict ,, like have said before ,,, I will sign,,, but so far still waiting for that one,,,Those where were brave enough , and are brave enough the hamas are not willing to deal with them ( Abu Mazan and Fatach)

• Miko Peled, son of one of Israel’s most honored Generals. puts a lot of zionists in their place. Israel are smashing the Palestinian society bit by bit, they are degrading them, jailing their children with out charge or legal representation, turning off their water supply, confiscating their farms, shooting at palestinian paramedics, not allowing them free travel which destroys palestinian employment. So if you do these things you have to expect rocket, petrol bombs, stones etc. None of the mentioned weapons remotely match the destruction of Apache helicopters f 15 jets with phosphorus bombs.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zTTqkUgGj0

• I am confused, when someone puts up a valid point, so many people hit red-thumbs, but dont bother their arse responding to the point…
      Carlin, i respect the argument, keep it up.

• 120 rockets over the border. Where is the damage caused by these rockets. Not saying it did not happen its just that 120 rockets should of created a bit of a mess.
    Or is the name “rocket” now given to any flying object like stones, bottles, coins etc.

• Oh yes how bad of me. It is on Wikipedia so it must be true.

• @Begrudgy As with any war, exaggeration and lies from both sides make it hard to tell the truth from everything else. As far as I know, katusha rocket strikes are fairly common place in some parts, but thier wild inaccuracy thankfully results in fewer fatalities.

• Did you actually read the page before posting that? Attacks are well documented. It is not bottles, shoes and rocks, it is rockets, grenades and missiles.

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

There irondome system shoots most rockets down when they cross the boarder, the other rockets land in empty fields. Hamas have only ever wanted to hit Israeli military targets not civilians, unlike Israel.

• the mess they creat look at the pictures of destroyed houses, and factories. Try to imagine you cant go further than 15 seconds run from a bomb shelter. The children who are getting psycological treatment ,,,, the list goes on. It happens to both sides but dismissing that its just something to get used to . You want to see come over here and rent a house in Sderot for a month,,, You wont make such a flippent comment after the experience. No a rocket is a rocket with ball bearings packed into it to try and injure as many people as possible,,, People who are blinded or have lost limbs are counted as lightly injures and dont even make it to the front page of the Israel press , never mind the international press.
      War is never “fun” and BOTH sides should be stopped , to have a situation where hamass are at war and firing rockets ever couple of hours and israel is not at war is not a sain option for any country.

• Yeah ehud, with all the war crimes, breaches of international law and crimes against humanity, its easy to forget that the regional superpower, israel, is the real victim here and not the imprisoned and oppressed gazans

Some food for thought:

http://old.btselem.org/statistics/english/Casualties.asp

• Israel has a very sophisticated early warning system to PROTECT it’s civilians unlike this guy & his comrades to are happy to see innocent people become “martyrs”.

• Reginald, a 4 year old Palestinian was murdered last week by the Israeli defense forces.
      Do you want to publish how many Israeli civilians there have been in total (including children) by the Palestinians in the last 10 years, versus the number of Palestinians?

Are you going to continue to defend the murder of civilians?

• Cal would you like to tell us about the 4 month-year-old Israeli baby blown up with its mother by a Palestinian terrorist? Of course not.

• Kevin, i attended the Dolphinarium 1 week before a Palestinian suicide bomber murdered 21 innocent revellers. I was just pure lucky i wasn’t there that night.
      You know the event i am talking about.
      But Israel has murdered so many unarmed people in the last 10 years (many many many men, womnen, children, babies) compared to the Palestinians, there is just no way you can justify it. I am not asking you to justify the slaughter of the innocent. I am from belfast, i grew up in the troubles. I know there are no black and whites. But it is pure Human nature to fight oppression or perceived oppression.
      The sooner you realise, everyone is scared, everyone wants to do the best for their family, and people are not that different, so murdering them over perceived threats is not the way to move forward… the sooner peace will come to that part of the world.Israel bombed the funeral of a ‘Palestinian martyr’ last week, murdering many civilans… how can you justify this type of terrorism? It isnt constructive.
      The British and the IRA had the same issue. It took REALLY BRAVE people to try and bring the two sides together. It worked. Israel should try the same thing with the Palestinians.

• Yes – The voice of Reason – The desire for Peace – NOT ! http://youtu.be/f3WSb56Uq_w

• Well done IDF, u just blew up a 4 year old girl as well.

• Orion 14/11/12 #

Maybe palestine will learn that those are the consequences of repeatedly firing rockets into israel…

• So, by those standards Orion, it would have been ok for the british army to fire missiles into catholic housing estates full of innocent people in retalition for IRA attacks? There are ‘consequences’ after all.

That what you’re saying?

• Did a regime just use its military personnel and capability to eradicate political opponents within its own borders? Isn’t this why the UN condemned Syria? Isn’t this what caused such anguish among the western leaders at the start of the year?
    Seriously, am I thick or something? How is this different? Why is it condoned?

• The pro Palestinians come up with some ridiculous arguments but comparing unarmed political protestors in Syria to a self confessed murdering terrorist is something else.

• If the Political opponents were within its own borders, then why are there no Gazan or West Bank elected representatives in the K inset?
      I understood that Israel doesn’t recognize these people as being part of Israel?

• I’ll never understand how people can still defend Israeli policies. Surely if you occupy a nation you can expect resistance?
    Isn’t that something every single citizen of this nation should understand?

• Read the Hamas/Hizbollah constitution Mark & see what Israel & the innocent civilians in Gaza are up against.

• The Israeli “occupation” came as a result of a war started by Israel’s enemies, the Arabs. A war that their enemies still will not negotiate an end to. Their enemies want what they always wanted the total destruction of the Jewish state. Hamas do not want a settlement. They want total victory, which they have zero chance of obtaining. But that’s religious fanaticism for you. The Hamas spokesman said tonight of Jabari “..he was granted his wish martyrdom..”. They’re all nuts.

• William, do you feel the same way about Fatah, as you do about Hamas…
      Fatah have held the peace line for years in the west bank, but they have not received the ‘promised’ freedom that was supposed to come with the peace dividend. Do you care to share why people under Fatah jurisdiction only receive 1 tenth the water rights their neighbors under Israeli jurisdiction receive on the other side of the ‘peace wall’.
      And on the peace wall, why is the peace wall cutting into pre-1967 borders? Is this a land-grab? I would be very interested to hear this answer?

• WHY? why do we report against Israel, and say what they are doing is wrong? Is not Israel our ally? I find it unbelievable that we refuse defend Israel anymore… it is disgusting to see just how far this country is going if we cannot even defend our Friends. ISRAEL IS THE HOLY LAND! We need to Defend it for defending itself! otherwise what good are We?

• Who’s this ‘we’ you’re talking about? If you’re talking about Irish people then the answer is NO, Israel is not our ally; our government had to expel a diplomat from the Israeli embassy in Dublin because the embassy was found to have conspired in the forging of Irish passports that were used to carry out murder. That is not the behaviour of an ally and will not be forgotten.

• we have no alliance with Israel.on the other hand we were the first member European country to recognise the p.l.o. as legitimate representatives of the Palestinian people in 1973.

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

@jesse what? Israel may be the holy land but have you ever asked a Israeli what they think about Catholics?

• Wow. An “Israel is the Holy Land” comment. This isn’t the bible belt in the States.

Thankfully most Irish people can actually think for themselves and not use a fictional book to justify the slaughter of Gazan children.

• Holy land ? Are you alright in the head?
      The Israelis do not care about the holy land.Israel is the most genocidal state in the Middle East. They get away with this because that are supported by the US

• Alot of people on here haven’t a feckin clue what there talking about .Everyone with half a brain knew that Israeli top brass were going to start a war and their right on cue.There going to drag Egypt Iran every muslim country in the region into a war and when they claim innocence and isolation big daddy yankee is gona come in liking it or not and wipe the arabs out because this is a Zionist religion war.I was going to mention the Irish people plight under British occupancy but what’s the point it seems that anyone who fights back is a terrorist and most people just gobble up what the occupier media will tell them because in the end everyone loves a rich oppressor well looks like they do in this brainwashed kip .Ask yourself this who wants war, who has all the money, who has all the weapons, the guys who will blow themselves up to protect what’s left of their dignity firing rockets that damage windows against nuclear armed neighbours who day by day steal more and more of their land herding people into a pin so they can starve them and bulldoze and bomb them from their fighter jets gunships battleships .A civilisation that’s been around for 2000 years will attack a state that can wipe them out in one blow ya right its so stupid only stupid people can surely believe it.So before the anti semetic Hitlers your father remarks defending Israel come backs just save them because im not blind and im not stupid.Big banks and bad ideas.

• The Zio-Nazi state of Israel carrying out more assassinations, is hardly news worthy at this stage. Israel is a terrorist state, without a doubt the worst terrorist state in the world, if it wasn’t American, funded, supporting or serving Americas military and political needs, it would have been invaded long long ago. America through its little lap dog is absolutely determined to destabilize the Middle East, to further it’s aims of invading Iran, before it turns on Syria. Iraq, Libya and Afghanistan put together have not supported as many terrorist acts as Israel has on its own!

• Lazy Stephen!

• You should be really proud Stephen, you and the K…K…K both agree that Israel is a “terrorist” state.

“Which the American tax payer has already paid for. Our T.V. which is government controlled tells everyone not to worry; everything is going to be just fine. We have a Black President now and he will fix everything. The truth is he has the same agenda as any President we have had for the past 20 years. To protect the Terrorist state of Israel with American tax payers dollars. Even though Israel has an arsenal which is never to be checked by the U.N. unlike Iran who is always being threatend. Israel has killed way more Arab women and children than the supposed 6 million Jews of Nazi Germany. They have their own DEATH CAMPS set up in the Gaza strip. While Americans never hear of it through our Media.” – K….K….K Website

• I’m sure Stephen you must realise that to call the Jewish people a name that includes the Nazis is a sign of either deep stupidity on your part or or a foul analysis of the reality of the near total genocide of the Jewish people.

• You invade and occupy my land and kill our people, and when I fight back you call me a terrorist.

• Paul, wrong way around. Israel was invaded.

• Hi William, after the 1967 invasion, i understood that Israel drove out the armed invaders, the only people left were civilians… why are they not allowed representation in the Israeli parliament? If Israel treated them so well, why are they looking to leave the ‘paradise’ that you call Gaza and the Westbank under Israeli control and looking to to go out on their own, with their own borders, foreign defense policy, access to food, building materials etc? I am confused….

• @Stewie, Sshh, Be quiet Stewie, you’re making too much sense.

• Well now in fairness Israel are no angels and have acted above and beyond more than once. I mean look at the passports assassination when they used irish passports. Wrong wrong wrong should not have happened. we have good standing in the world to use our passports was indefensible. Also Israel in the past did not treat Arabs living within Israel with decent respect, alot found it hard to be anything other then second class citizens. This of course cant stand and Israel should be held to account for this. But bigger picture they are surrounded by hostile neighbors. Hamas and other groups aligned to them fires rockets at Israel and dont care if they hit school hospital or houses, they hide then themselves in hospitals and other civilian areas. If your a gorilla army and you cant take on a state head on fine bury weapons, hide in the hills or hit and run. but its never in anyway acceptable to hide in high civilian areas putting innocent civilians in harms way as Hamas do. I agree that any country hostile to Israel should be attacked if they start throwing shapes. Plus Israel is democratic with courts of law and elected leaders. Dont forget folks the big one is coming thats Israel V Iran and will see it very very soon

• Well done Israel take hope they take out more of these Hamas Terrorists!

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

I its want to add as a final comment that im not pro Israel or pro Palestinian, i don’t fall for all that religion vs religion crap etc. But i will say that any country that kills woman and children in this day and age is wrong. That’s why i don’t like what Israel is doing. Its far to kill terrorist, but not children. I have seen it happening too many times with Israel. At the end of the day, over all the years, how many civilians has Palestine killed in Israel vs israels count on Palestine? And shame on you if you support that.

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

*just*

• You’re not pro-Palestine or pro-Israel but you would like to falsely point out that Israel has killed more “civilians” than Palestine. Palestinians (not all) thanks to their schools, media, mosques, and leaders are motivated by a religious/ethnic supremacy/hatred of Jews. Hamas doesn’t differentiate between the Israeli military and a random Israeli citizen, killing any Jew whether it be a baby, children, elderly, etc. is an honor for them. Yet Palestine is compared to an Auschwitz camp? How many supermarkets, malls, mansions, etc. were in Auschwitz? You’re so full of shit.

• “You’re not pro-Palestine or pro-Israel but you would like to falsely point out that Israel has killed more “civilians” than Palestine”"

Its not falsely pointing out anything kevin, the israelis have killed more palestinian civilians than vice versa. Unless you’re going to contest that the hundreds of children killed by israelis were actually junior terrorists in training?

• How do you know this? It’s a “fact” is it? Ya. I take that statement as serious as I take the KKK calling Israel a terrorist state and describing the Palestinians as an “oppressed” people. Can you tell me why Rachel Corrie who went right in front of a bulldozer and got run over is more important than all the Israeli Rachel’s savagely murdered the last 10 years? Rachel Ben Abu, 16 – Murdered in a suicide bombing of a shopping mall. Rachel Thaler, 16 – Died in a coma due to major head injuries from a suicide bombing. Rachel Levy, 17 – Murdered by a suicide by a female suicide bomber at a supermarket. Rachel Levi, 19 – Murdered when a Palestinian bus driver intentionally drove his bus into a crowded bus stop of Israelis. Rachel Charhi, 36 – Murdered in a café suicide bombing. Rachel Shaboo, 40 – Murdered with three of her sons under 10 years old in their home by a terrorist. Rachel Gavish, 50 – Murdered with three members of her family by a terrorist in their home. Rachel Kol, 53 – Shot with her husband in their car after visiting their infant granddaughter. Where is the outrage over these poor women’s deaths? Oh I forgot they are Israelis and deserved it since they are occupying the poor Palestinians Islamic “lands” which they stole originally.

• Nice cut and paste from a zionist propaganda website kevin. Nice to know where your hangouts are. You can tell a lot about a person by who they allow to spoonfeed them their talking points.

Well done.

Anything from CAMERA while you’re at it??

• “It didn’t come from any Zionist/Israeli/Jewish site. ”

Guess you just miraculously typed the same names in the EXACT same order as on the following:

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=cache:tfu8NC7JJxIJ:www.standwithus.com/pdfs/flyers/RachelVictims.pdf+Rachel+Ben+Abu,+16+%E2%80%93+Murdered+in+a+suicide+bombing+of+a+shopping+mall.+Rachel+Thaler,+16+%E2%80%93+Died+in+a+coma+due+to+major+head+injuries+from+a+suicide+bombing&hl=en&gl=ie&pid=bl&srcid=ADGEESgUWRLyk7Sax-Ga6IhhzPGRQ-JTv0I4CtKjZ29ZR6mNoHxjHuO7ZyIyhFV1nDI5eq-imDKYEd-ugaLJPMjKXOp1vV8ez495VM4839saHHHOYPgdqVzdMwICp6pS5CHTVUpwWmc1&sig=AHIEtbQHkXLloCbpzsJUp8AkBjR3HHT9kA

AMAZING coincidence. no?

By the way love their description of how Rachael Corrie dies ‘interfering with israeli counter terrorism operations’. Theres me thinking she was crushed by a bulldozer while trying to stop a family home being bulldozed.

Like I said, you can learn a lot about a person by their web hangouts.

• Oh so the names are a lie? There is no possible way of finding the names of how many Israeli Rachel’s have been murdered? Those Rachel’s are a few to name and the names came via. an Irish site.

• So first you accuse someone of falsely pointing out something, which they didn’t. When thats pointed out you change the subject. then, when its pointed out to everyone you used material from a propaganda site, you call the person a bigot.

And which irish site did it come from thats a non-propagans da site kevin?

• Wonder what Iran will do about this ,,, don’t think the US is going to do anything ,,, but I’d be worried about china and Russia

• i dont really understand how some ppl think by defending israel imagine if the brithish are still ocopying your country nd on top of that killing u own ppl r u going to keep quit the palestinians are really sufring nd by the way somr israelians dont support the israel policy because the know what is going on

• It’s the bodyguard I feel for must’ve been desperate to take that job on.

• Kevin
    What the fu$k are you on about

• in a few mins doctor morssi president of egypt is going to talk about this prob ii think is time for egypt to attack israel as the brother hood are rulling egypt now the are not going to keep silent

• Bloodbath ag teacht!

• Why is Israel the only country in the world that is expected to sit idly by whilst being bombarded daily over the last week. How would we react if say Wales were to start lobbing rockets this direction. Those hamas terrorists don’t want peace. (Reports of the rockets are on many more sites than wikipedia).

• Don’t be silly. Ireland didn’t steal Wales’ land and make refugees of its people.

• B Lowe 14/11/12 #

The Palestinians tried peaceful negotiations with the Israelis for decades. Nothing came of it. The Israelis kept stealing their land and treating them with contempt, denying them basic human rights. It is only after getting nowhere that they resorted to more forceful measures such as rocket attacks.
      The Palestinians have every right to resist the daily tyranny they are subjected to by the Israelis.

• MrKnow 14/11/12 #

@eugene that’s a bad comparison. We Irish have a great example of hostile takeovers, its called northern Ireland and we did exactly what the Palestinians are doing, we bombed and attacked the British armed forces to fight for our land, but Irish people forget the roots.

• Did the “British” Initially live in Ireland ??

• That’s not accurate. Explain the camp David accords. That was peace

• Totally irrelevant beverlie. I can convert to judaeism tomorrow ad have more of a right to live in the land taken from the palestinian people than a palestinian whos family were ethnically cleansed from there. Thats immoral and vulgar.

• @Werejammin – You can be of Jewish descent, you can’t be of Christian or Muslim descent.

• Like the 1st and 2nd generation brooklin Jews currently illegally inhabiting the west bank? Yep, lots of decent there.

• Actually, you are correct there is a lot of descent there. I lived in Queens, NY and had Jewish friends/neighbors and many of their grandparents came from Germany or Eastern Europe. Ashkenazi Jews (who are a mixture of Hebrew/European) come from mainly Germany and parts of Eastern Europe.

• Not what I’m on about Kevin and you know it, but it doesn’t really matter because everyone else reading this has the common sense to know as well.