TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Homeowners will have to pay for their own water meters

The cost of water meters will be passed onto consumers, the Government has revealed.

Image: Shaylor via Flickr/Creative Commons

THE COST OF water meters and their installation will be passed on to Irish households, it has been revealed this morning.

The Department of the Environment has said that its plans are in line with how other utilities are funded across the world.

A spokesperson for the department told TheJournal.ie that the figure of €300 quoted in today’s Sunday Times is “pure speculation”.

The Department has prepared detailed cost estimates on meters following extensive market soundings. It would be inappropriate for us to release these estimates in advance of a competitive procurement process.

She added that the cost of installing an individual meter will vary, depending on location of the property.

Speaking on This Week on RTÉ One, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said that no decision has been made on the arrangements for water meters, adding that the amount of money charged for installation has not been confirmed.

Fianna Fáil spokesperson for the environment Niall Collins told TheJournal.ie that the water meter installation charge will be just another instalment of “broken promises and deceit” from the current government.

He said the charge imposed will be part of its “new schedule of stealth and back door taxes on the country”.

The regulator, which will be established in the coming months will determine the cost of the service, the free allowance and the framework for levying the charges.

The Government will consult with the regulator and a new State body known as Irish Water before the introduction of charges in 2013.

Earlier this year, Environment Minister Phil Hogan said that nine out of ten households in Ireland will be liable for the new fees by 2014. Irish Water will take over responsibility of the delivery of water services from 34 local authorities. It will also be in charge of installing the meters in over one million homes.

About 2,000 jobs for plumbers and others in the construction industry are expected to be created.

The OECD has previously criticised Ireland for its failure to charge on the basis of usage, stating that there was zero incentive to save water and minimise waste.

However, a campaign against the water charges has been set up as some opponents believe the move is not about what is good for the environment but is more about raising revenue.

Hogan says 90 per cent of all households face water charges by 2014>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (157 Comments)

• More serious trouble on the way. FG/Lab will get a rough time with this. Higher household charge and a charge for meter installation in the one year will be too much for many houses.

• Well I am not paying either and I will stay dirty if they turn off my water and I will sit in the council offices smell and all till my water us turned back on and I an not paying the HHC either and they can take my home brink by brick from me and rehouse me then and then they can all Fcku ffo Gilmore Kenny fine Gael Labour fine fail greens and anyone else that want to continue with these unfair unjust extra taxes we pay through our income already

• Haha, clowns. They couldn’t get us to pay HHC of E100, now they want us to pay for something that they can use to charge us more money!!! Same circus, different clowns.

• What I suspect they may be about to do is suggest households without a meter pay a flat charge. Households with a meter would pay whatever water they use so if the flat charge goes up over time, the expectation would be that more and more households will install a meter at their own expense. Once tap water becomes commodified like energy I expect the medium/long term ambition will be to begin exporting to the UK and elsewhere through Irish Water who may or may not have been privatised by then, depending on how things work out with the Troika. I also wonder how they plan to charge industry for water use, given they use massive amounts?

• @ Colm – it’s probably a safe bet to say you dont qualify to pay the household fee in the first place, and thereafter to categorise more than half of your fellow citizens as idiots. Are you sure you know who the idiots are?

• @buckwheat yeah i know who they are…the ones who paid, who already paid via PAYE and when they bought their houses. I do qualify, even though my estate is not finished…its just not finished enough

• @ Buckwheat, could you please clarify, what was it that made you think that commenter wouldn’t be liable for the HHC?

• cause Shanti,
      Buckwheat read the tea leaves this morning,
      and to be sure, he gazed into his crystal ball.

In other words, consulted with the main Gubbermint advisor,
      Mystic Meg

• If you own it, you can tamper with it! Where if it was still property of Irish water or whoever, you can’t.

• didnt the labour shower say they would fix all the leaks in the mains before we’d be charged???!!

• if it rains do i get a refund?

• Depends in the meter, some of the water meters in England charge you for it raining (as the meter is determined by the water leaving the house) so if rain water gets in, you get charged for using that as well.. It was on Watchdog last year (and if they’ve been using meters and charging in the UK and messing it up so spectacularly, you can imagine how well our guys will do it)..

• jimbo 15/04/12 #

Well the DOE can kiss my behind..

• Must google water purifier tablets and use my FREE rainwater.

• Good luck with that with lads. Already paying for a water softener and a drinking water filtration system, so you can kiss my furry little butt.

• We do need some way to stop the waste of water that’s endemic here. Perhaps an allowance per person and a charge once that allowance is used?

• mcbab 15/04/12 #

That’s the way they do it in Australia Brian. Allowance depends on the number of people in the household. You then pay for the water you use over your allowance. Very fair. It’s up to you how careful or wasteful you are therefore how much you will pay.

• good way of doing it Brian

• Hopefully common sense will prevail but I doubt it!

• If the waterways weren’t leaking so badly we would probably save an entire reservoir or two..

• Brian the biggest waste is by the people that run the system the same as the biggest poluters in the country are not industry or farmers but local authorities. How many of them have been brought to court. Im not paying for broken systems. Fix the problems & you might get me to the table. All this sh##e talk about patriotic duty. Grow up you are all being led like lambs to slaughter. If we stand our ground on all these issues we will force these politicans to respect us & change the way the country is run. Thats what patriotism is fixing this unjust country.

• Gerard 15/04/12 #

And the hits keep on coming from the dept of the environment..

• I am appalled and annoyed by some of the comments here. Water is a utility but it is not like the others in many ways. I paid €12k odd for my water connection. That was not a well just a connection. Before Galway CC would allow me to connect to their water supply I had to upgrade the 1″ pipe going past my house to a 3″ pipe which if you do the maths is a major difference in flow. I also had to pay for a stainless steel connection to the main for my new 3″ pipe @ 600 euro odd, an air valve, 2 3″ valves to isolate the supply and even a fecking fire hydrant. Once this was all installed it then became the property of Galway CC who then CHARGED me to connect to it. Other dwellings built after mine just connected for the standard fee. I have paid for my water some times over and therefore feel justifiably aggrieved by this current nonsense. For those that seem to fail to understands the issues with the water charges and the household charge it is very simple I believe. It is not the fact that we the populous disagree with paying taxes, it’s the fact that the we are being asked for more and more money to meet the outgoings of a crap government but without the confidence that it will fix the problem. Just like giving a junkie €20 for his ‘last’ fix. I have less coming in so I therefore cut my spending. I do not go out, I watch the heating, the lighting, presents for the kids, what food we buy etc etc. the government has not yet got that message. Recently I read that in the UK during the 2nd world war the government of the day announced that children under 12 were not allowed to wear long trousers to save money on material, this may seem petty but the ideology was something that the current government should consider. Ministers like hogan saying he couldn’t afford a pay cut and other nonsense shows what they really think if us- Cash cows put and simple.

• They could do with cleaning the water first, before they go charging for it.

• This should be welcomed with open hearts and wallets!
    After all, its going to create 2000 jobs for plumbers and others!

I can’t wait to pay for installation fees
    and have another bill to pay

Yipeeeeeeeeeeee!

• Fianna Fáil spokesperson for the environment Niall Collins told TheJournal.ie that the water meter installation charge will be just another instalment of “broken promises and deceit” from the current government.

Thats rich coming from Fianna FAIL

Labour/Fine Gael the new Fianna FAIL

• The saga continues. Weeks and months of the number of meters installed. Pictures of Big Phil next to meters. Rhetoric from FG/Lab. The bigger picture is they are driving folks out of the country.No future if we have to pay again and again.

• mcbab 15/04/12 #

If these charges are what drives anyone out of this country can’t wait to see their reaction when they are faced with the equivalent charges in which ever country they go to. Are people really naive enough to think all services are free elsewhere. Remember too that people renting will not come across these charges aboard , so when your friends report back that they don’t have to pay that is why. When they buy a house , oh boy, then they will find out that services have to be paid for.

• What happens if it breaks , do u have to buy a new one , what happens if someone damages ur meter , will it be on your property or on the footpath , there are lots of questions why not rent it same as esb and gas meters

• 300 euro to buy the water meter so you own it then another 300 euro basic charge for rent. Ya rent. Price increasing every year. Just wait and see.

• Enough is enough with this crowd. Hogan does not have a clue what he is doing.

• I might b wrong but isn’t the access to water a right in this country- and it can’t b shut off from u even if u don’t pay the bill- convention of human rights

• So they are setting up a water company, does that mean friends of our favourite politicians will be on the board getting a couple of hundred grand each a year for the privilege and the md will prob get around €300,000 grand a year salary, then the charges will start going up year on year because targets won’t be met yet they will still prob get there bonuses and people of Ireland that is where the money will go I’ve seriously had enough of it.

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Roy, do you think it is any different anywhere else? Granted the wholesale corruption has been rather enormous here but have you ever seen how Spain works? or Greece? or France? It is the same the world over and we can only continue to chip away at it in this country, it is not going to disappear overnight! That is not to say it should go unchallenged but it really is a task that is going to take a long time.

• Domestic water charges have been coming and are overdue. We had an exemption I think until 2010 from Europe but are on borrowed time since. How it will work will be similar to that of how the metering of non-dometic water users in the last number of year. Firstly I doubt you will have to pay for the installation of your water meter…….not directly anyway. This will be recovered through a standing charge you pay each year. I would think similar to that of a non-domestic users( say €120 p.a.) This will be averaged out depending on the type of installation. For the last number of years as part of planning permission local authorities have been insisting that new developments install a meter chamber as a method to isolate the water flow. If you have one of these an installation should not cost more than €70 including meter and takes less than 5 mins to install. For an installation where no box exists you’re probably looking at €400 upwards. I wouldn’t be surprised though if the government started with a flat charge. This would fund the setup of Irish water and the first installations. After that you will have a volumetric charge (how much water goes through the meter) . I would assume there will be an allowance similar to non-domestic who share the connection with a domestic residence. What you also have to remember is that you will be charged to take the water away.(sewerage). This would apply to properties who are connected to the public sewerage. As far as I know the charge varies per local authority for water and wastewater. An example may be €1 for 1000litresof clean water (1m3) and possibly €1.3 to take away that 1000litres of water via sewerage network.
    In terms of clean water as a basic human right, this is correct however there are devices which may be installed to reduce the pressure of water to your home. This device will allow just enough to provide you with water to satisfy the basis human right but after that I’m afraid not much else. However you can do all this and bring it in but if there is say 33% leakage on the large main supply it is very much pointless……….pointless in the way that it won’t save any water and pointless in the way that it will be the customer who will pay for leakage. Until leakage is tackled there is no environmental saving. Up until recently I would have thought that to role out domestic metering would be exceptionally hard without domestic properties number but I guess its a little easier now that they have the property charge database.
    Something that does puzzle me though is Irish Water providing 2000 new jobs. So what about the local authority guys who have all the experience and knowledge of the network. Are there going to be 2000 new jobs or are these guys going to transfer to Irish Water? There’s alot of big questions to be answered but until it announced it’s all speculation. The role of the regulator is going to be key here also. If there’s an independent regulator it would mean that customer complaints ie water quality, flooding, odour, price, customer service could all be recorded and if proven Irish Water fined. At least that’s how regulation normally works but not so much in Ireland

• What an amazing coincidence that this story happens to break AFTER the Labour conference. Taking us for idiots once again….Any more charges on the way inda, or has merkel not sent the memo yet?

• They can’t disconnect your water for not paying.

• Every circus needs its clowns but little did we realise just how many when we elected this bunch of fools. So now not only have we created a rod for our own backs by electing these bunch of morons, but we have to pay for it too. They seriously believe that just because they were once elected by the people that gives them carte blanche to do whatever they want. This government has become a dictatorship and drunk on power. Makes you ashamed to be Irish.

• I’ve nothing against domestic water charges, assuming of course that the water I get will be clean and drinkable, and that any problems with the mains (which are very leaky) will be fixed. HOWEVER, the idea of making people pay for their own meters is absurd, and is inviting civil disobedience. How arrogant can this government get? Do they want another household charge debacle? This one could conceivably be worse…

• Why don’t they all just go and fcuk off!!!!

• Surely they would have to improve the water piping system before they can charge anything? I’m sure many millions of litres of water are leaked through ageing and broken pipes all over the country.

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Paul, you would think right? However, so much money was frittered away during the boom years that there is nothing left to fund the works. Infuriating right? The money from the meters will fund repairs amongst other things, the leaky system will affect the supply but hopefully the metering will result in sufficient funds to improve all aspects of the water supply system.

• You can buy a water meter for thirty quid from a uk website. Fitting it is pretty easy if you have a meter box already (as I have). The biggest cost to fit a new meter box would be the permit from the city council to open the pavement.

• Its really taking the piss when it looks like the Irish people once again will be made to pay up for the privilege of being made to pay up!
    …And for ever more in ‘rental’ charges (or whatever convoluted name they can give it next) for that privilege! O’ what joy!

I take exception to the charging of a water meter.

If someone wants to charge me something, they can pay-up themselves for the means to charge me for use of water!

I do not object to paying for something I use.
    I object to their forcing a meter on me (if I want it or not) and then telling me I must also pay for it!
    Not only that but because they have ‘awarded’ me the privilege of having a meter, they then on top of this are going to charge me yearly (another form of tax!) for the luxury of having it!
    …and what’s this rental cost going towards? Its maintaince?

————————————————————————————————-

To summarise, so far in just over a year we have had of FG and Labour

* Irish people are left with a full 1.5 BILLION bill.
    (Because FG/Labour won’t hold to account the religious orders)

* Refusing to say if or not, they are still having meetings with shysters named in the Mahon report!

* Their cronyism blankly continues.

* They break even their own wage rules with awarded massive hikes.

* They refuse to hold to account those that have been deemed bad in the Mahon report
    (…And as such by in-action, what a waste of money that was!)

* Cancelled six other investigations!
    (Possibly because some of their own involved yet again?)

* They have TOTALLY reversed positions on many, many areas and particular topics.

* They have invented many a new tax, charge, payment, levy or whatever name they can think up by the month.

* They are price fixing the cost of drink!
    (As in their own FG manifesto, by side-effect, in aiding bars to see rake more profits alone – but never mentioning ANYTHING about teens – but thats the excuse now!)

* They have jumped like good little lapdogs at every order from French/German masters.
    (Even more than once, giving them budget details before even the Irish people get them!)

* Reversed position on Third level fees!

* Still paying out to the Bondholders.

* Sourcing data from household bills, possibly breaking European privacy laws!

* Making paycuts to some public servants while uping their own expenses and inventing more for themselves.

* Changed the Dail clocking in system so they can exploit it in a number of ways – even if they are not actually there!

* Refusing so far to hold Mr Ahern to further account!

* Changed their position on corporate donations!

* Changed their position on the number of TD’s needed!

* Stalled on the 16 years report about changes much needed to fathers rights!

* Refusing to change rule 68 of the national schools (religion related) and rule 69, which is purely sexist!

* Stalling (hoping we will forget?) over the matter of the Seanad – still instead using it to reward their own!

* Made a total fcuk-up of the household charge!

* Made a total fcuk-up of the turf-cutting issue!

* Dropped the climate change bill in November 2011

* Slaughtered Garda resources and numbers!

* Reversed the addressing of the (too) many quango’s. Using them instead to place their own people on them!

* FG and Lab Manifestos: stated there would be vetting of appointments to state boards by the Oireachtas.
    Now? Example: Party political appointments have been made, without any oversight or transparency. In October 2011, they appointed the former head of AIB Investment Management as head of the New Era quango, without revealing her pay or conditions.

* Addressing further the Freedom of Information act? Become non-existent. Vanished!
    Instead rushed through and totally fcuked up laws pertaining to the internet, right of use giving cut-off powers to a semi-state body that is also possibly breaking European law!

…And the above is just off the top of my head as I can remember them.

Now after all that – don’t forget to vote Labour and FG in the next local or national elections, like a good little complacent obeying sheep that you might be!

• My stepdads a plumber so cant he just do it & no € to government

• If I were a T D I would charge this to unvouched expenses!!!
    Great little country this!

• not surprising. however for once can people in all housing pay even if it is not the full amount. i am sick of paying for my family and all the rest in free housing.. has to be said!come on. alternatively tax child benefit and take from the rich like in the UK . i say household income in excess of 80 grand no children’s allowance. sliding scale from that to say 50 grand full allowance.

• Free Housing??? are you talking about homeless hostels, if not and you are talking about those who live in council dwellings, well I hate to have to burst your bubble because believe it or believe it not council tennents do actually pay rent and if you dont pay it you get evicted quicker than you would for dealing drugs from your home. And a lot of people pay 160 euros per week rent.

• This is a reply to – Boildyeggs (comment below) dont know how it got up here :O/

• They obviously haven’t seen the weather forecast for the week there is enough rain due to keep the country in water for a while , why we need our water metered in Ireland when we have so much rain bewilders me, another money making scam, more time in the joy for me then, firstly for not paying my HHC and now the water meter.

• They can feck off if they think I’m paying for water or the meter that’s going to decide how much I owe them. Get the weather sorted then I’ll think about it!
    (Sorry, couldn’t resist!)

• We need to reduce the amount of water we use but this tax will not improve our water quality. I agree we should pay for water but what about those people in Galway who for a few years have being buying water due to Salmonella and E. coli in their water supply? They should refuse to have meters installed.

IMPROVE our water quality before you tax us on water

Also start rain harvesting http://www.beatthemeter.ie/

• mcbab 15/04/12 #

You are probably too young to remember but about 26ish years ago water charges were introduced. Then, as now, we had a shower of muppets who refused to pay so the charges were dropped. Now try and imagine if we had had this revenue available over the years we could have had a good efficient clean (remember the water trouble in galway?) water system in place. Some people seem to think that nothing needs paying for. Maybe those people are used to getting hand outs for everything and just can’t grasp the concept!

• The revenue WAS available mcbab , it was called the celtic tiger years. But instead in investing in the water system and other essential infrastructure FF lined their friends pockets and gave tax breaks to people who didn’t need them.

• We spend more per year fluoridating the water supply that the HHC was supposed to bring in.
      We could save all that money by just ceasing this unethical forced medication of the public, especially when you consider that the EU has warned against using this water for baby formula as it is NOT SAFE, why do you think you’re not supposed to swallow toothpaste?

But hey, why would we do that? It’s not like it, y’know, makes sense or anything..

• the government should stop praying on the ppl that are working hard to try keep what they have. the government should start cutting their own salary down to a standard like the average Jo struggling at this time instead they are bringing these people into harder finances. ppl are losing their children because of the government and the mess they have made wit this country but they are makin sure their own pockets are well lined wit their properties all over the world. Do they care about the family’s that are bein torn apart when a parent has to say goodbye to their child because the child is goin to another country to get employment. No they do not y because they still have their money and they are makin the ppl pay for their mistakes in running this country. They have made a complete mess off Ireland and here they are handing out more charges to the ppl who are already struggling to survive.

• Didn’t they mention water as part of the household charge?? what exactly are all the taxes we pay already suppossed to pay for?? will the money brought in actually pay to upgrade the pipes etc from which all the water is being wasted??? what about big companies, will they pay the same amount as ordinary people??? Yet another stealth tax to pay the bondholders as far as i’m concerned and yet another blow for the domestic economy, people cannot spend what they do not have

• What a joke. I work in Australia on a Government program giving away free energy saving products door to door. This makes me just not want to ever come home! Well congratulations to everyone who votes FF/FG I hope you enjoy paying for this you bleddy eejits!

• Milly 15/04/12 #

Lol…you have to laugh…barely 2 weeks after the deadline for thw HHC and now this.

Cant wait for the next General Election…FG/Labour will be the new FF and simply get hammered.

Sinn Fein/Independant coalition if thats possible….Sin Fein a dead cert to get in.

FG/Labour…..Bunch of pri*ks

• EMD 15/04/12 #

So Sinn Féin will do what differently? They won’t implement EU Directives which we have signed up to as a country? Even if they decide to leave the EU what will they do then to fund services? Sinn Féin can do no differently, we have to start paying for services.

• You mean SF might tell Germany and France where to go?
      O’ the horror!
      There’s me worrying sick about them and their bondholders!

NOT!!!

• EMD 15/04/12 #

So they tell the EU to pee off, what then? You don’t want to pay for water or anything really so what will SF do? Magic the money from somewhere??

• EMD

you know this how????? Maybe from the last time Sinn Fein held the majority of seats in the Dail? No – maybe because you are privey to the inner sanctums of Sinn Fein? No – then is it because you are a soothsayer? No, well then we can all just take it that it is yet more of the same verbal drivel from you. Off with you and go back to writing out more cheques to the government.

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Ann you are unbelievable ignorant as you repeatedly display when you comment on here.

NEWSFLASH to you and all the other supposed socialists behaving like dictators on The Journal: People are allowed to disagree with your opinion, there is a possibility that you are wrong just as you insist that they must be wrong! You may support SF/ULA/PBP but the rest of us don’t have to and have the right to dissent, you may have fallen for the blatant lies FG/Lab told before the elections but not all of us did so forgive us if we get a bit peeved at your constant refusal to accept what was obvious to some of us.

Finally comments like “verbal drivel” and “cheques to the government” are not responses to comments or even an intelligent argument, they are quite simply childish ignorant insults.

• If you kow me that well EMD you will know that I did not, nor have I EVER, voted for either FG or Lab who in my book, have always been self serving traitors who are only interested in feathering their own nests. Nor am I an ignorant lefty, you however, will contunue to prove yourself to be a condescending arrogant know it all.
      How do you know what Sinn Fein would or would not do if they were in office – do you have a crystal ball? Are you privey to their inner sanctum – well? NO is the simple answer to that question.

• EMD 15/04/12 #

didn’t say YOU voted for FG/Lab and neither did I call you an ignorant leftie, I said MAY have voted for FG/Lab and so called socialists. I said you were ignorant, that your nasty insults were ignorant because you were rude to me right? Oh of course you weren’t, using words like verbal drivel, telling me to be off and write cheques to the government is intelligent debate??

Ann, cop on to yourself please and stop trying to belittle people by calling them arrogant amongst other things. as I said before bring a decent argument as to why I shouldn’t query what Sinn Féin would do differently, never mentioned crystal balls or anything else but merely gave my opinion that there would be no difference whatsever as services are still going to have to be paid for. Please come back with a proper opinion and evidence about how Sinn Féin would do differently and I’m happy to debate with you but don’t bother with anymore of the insulting tirades you launch at me and others daring to differ from you.

• “Howya. I’m de plumber for de meters for de council. I’ll be around some day in 2013. What time? Jaaaaaaaaze, i’m up to me eyeballs. It’s hard to say. Couldn’t you just wait around the house for a few weeks? I’ll try to get in next week, maybe Thursday. Oh no. it’s a bank holiday, how about next month? Between 10ish and 6ish, if I can make it.”

• I should also add that a huge portion of the population already pay for water through group water schemes. I’d be very interested to see how they will deal with this. Will they but-out all the schemes? If the new “Irish Water” company is to be established and run successfully, it needs to be the same system across the board.

• Ha ha ha ha
    Good luck with that ;)
    L M A O

• Jerry 15/04/12 #

If you said you were not going to pay for the water meter what are they going to do bypass the water from your house ?

• Scumbags.

• j 15/04/12 #

It was obvious they were going to charge us for the meters, they have us by the balls.. U don’t pay, they cut off supply, like Esb and gas.. Good luck not paying.

• Fcukin sick to my back teeth of it . I will never pay this Never . I will go without running water in my home first .

• They are doing auditions for Scrooge next week plenty of candidates here who have not got the honour to pay up this small amount just want to cry and make petty excuses for one reason or another, same people would sqander double that amount on drink and smokes over a week end , welcome to Ireland folks the land of skinflint people that have double standards !!!!!!!

• Hugh
      I do not know why you keep posting your comments under my posts . I have told you I do not go to pubs , I do not drink alcohol, I do not smoke . Ask some one else :) The answer will always be NO from me . Like your Masters learn to accept rejection . I am not making excuses . My answer is NO , NO, NO

• “She added that the cost of installing an individual meter will vary, depending on location of the property.”

This is all very vague. Yes the cost will vary but Enda has said that the cost of the meter itself is what we’ll pay for but we don’t know how much that’ll be. I assume it’s the same meter therefore the same cost for each household. He said the installation will be paid for out of the NPRF.

I don’t think there should be any upfront charge. Install water meters in every home, paid for by the NPRF and then get the money back once the charges are being applied.

Just saw a tweet from FG TD @SimonHarrisTD:

“Need much more clarity on water metering.
    Middle Ireland can only take so much.
    No prob with metering but charging for meters seems unfair”

Completely agree!

• I’ve paid for my own water supply, sinking wells, installing and maintaining pumps, electricity etc, you can be sure I fix my own leaks and damaged pipes, why is it that almost everyone here thinks water is free? I install upgrade and maintain my own wastewater system. People pay for gas, electricity, phones, some of you can even afford Sky I suspect. Yet no to paying for water. If you don’t want it don’t pay for it. But if you want it somebody is blooming paying for it I suspect it’s those like me who seem to be paying for those who wont pay because they have ‘issues’. I have no problem giving a leg up to those who are in financial difficulty but not to those who won’t pay.

• You have a well. Your water is CLEAN. It doesn’t have industrial waste pumped into it nor is it full of chlorine.. Why should we pay to be forcibly medicated with water that most of the time is not fit for purpose?

I do pay for my water, I pay to make it drinkable. I have to pay for my own filtration system. Now I’m being told to pay for the chlorine and fluoride that comes out of my tap, no doubt through copper or lead pipes that are leaking to high heaven.. And we can always count on a few outbreaks of cryptosporidium per year and boil water notices can’t we?
      Believe me, if I didn’t live in a built up area, I’d be happy to invest in a well.

I do not give my consent to be fluoridated. If I wanted to drink chlorine I’d fill up at the swimming pool. THAT’S what I object to, if the water was of saleable quality I wouldn’t object, but it’s like the household charge, I already pay for my bin collections etc so what’s the HHC paying for exactly?

The government keeps coming up with all these charges, when are they gonna deliver the service to match? FFS it’s like Ryanair charging all those little extras for nothing just so they can say the fare is cheap (yes, Ireland is a low tax country, until you add up all the indirect taxes)..

• What’s “crypto………”, Shanti Om ?

• I know it’s wiki but it’s only for a general idea http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cryptosporidium
      Not to mention e. coli etc, all of which is floating around the water we are expected to pay for, yay!!

• OMG !! I clicked out when I saw “human feces”. There’s a curry off the menu for later !!!

• That’s where you get e. coli from too Dec :/

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Water can’t be properly cleaned and treated if the money isn’t there to upgrade and maintain the treatment plants we have, should have been done during Celtic Tiger years but no everyone was too busy spending to care. Drinking water is constantly being polluted from malfunctioning septic tanks, not popular to mention, farm pollution, industrial pollution, siltation from inaapropriate development along river banks, removal of river vegetation, over grazing, turf cutting and I could go on. But hey we can’t talk about those things because it is not cool to get people to realise that they play a part in the poor water quality, it is much easier to blame the government. You want the towns and cities to have good wastewater treatment then you are going to have to pay for it somehow so unless we all start paying for these services we are never going to get them and that is fact like it or not.

• EMD,
      We spend more on fluoridation annually than we were expected to generate from the household charge.
      The Irish government has been provided with a wealth of peer reviewed research – as requested by them – to show why this process should be stopped. They chose to continue, this has cost a lot of money over the years, and could save it for us now.
      I have no issue paying for water that is not contaminated, like I said, I pay to filter that water now. If I didn’t have to filter my own water I would gladly pay for it. The fact is, the government are forcibly medicating me, violating my right to bodily integrity. I will not pay them to violate my constitutional rights.

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Hey Shanti, can you give me a good link please on fluoridation? I find it very hard to make out the truth from the scaremongering on this particular issue so would appreciate a couple of good scientific report.

Thanks a mill

• http://www.flouridealert.org do a good job of collating data, you should be able to find quite a few on there :)

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Thanks Shanti, I fear a gruelling read awaits :-)

• @Thomas… we will see how your view will change when they bring in the Well Wter Tax. Don think its as daft as it sounds… everyone must pay… on the mains or not.

• We have to pay for fresh air next lol

• All the people who registered for the household tax have given their details. This government are a sly shower of sleeveens . I will not pay .

• Will social housing be exempt. So I choose to work and buy a house. And for doing that they want to impose further strain on my household with this fee.
      So I decide to quit work, and seek social housing, I won’t have to pay the household tax and free water to piss down the drain.
      I know it’s not all who live on social housing that chose to be there, but if this tax is to be imposed, then it must be done fairly across all households. Off course the fairest system is no charge as my taxes already pay for this.

• mcbab 15/04/12 #

No surprise there susie. Let us know when you will pay for SOMETHING!

• I have paid , when I paid for my own home . when I pay my taxes .

Now mcbab @ I am really trying to place you . I believe you are a FG apologist have we discussed things before ?

Boildyeggs @ , social housing is always exempt , I am sick of it too. It is so unfair , and like you I do not begrudge any one there home but no one should be paying this.

• Some people just want things for free,the same prople who whinge about paying 100 euro would easily spend that in an off licence or pub in the course of one week, typical , but then again what would you expect from such types

• Hugh
      I do not drink , I do not go into pubs , so tell me what types are you referring to ? I pay my mortgage, I pay my bills. Learn some manners you overgrown boy.

• Why are people assuming that council tennents wont have to pay the water tax? I know they dont have to pay the HHC because they pay the council rent but they will actually have to pay for their water, just like they have to pay for their gas and electric. Water is just another utility. Theres an awful lot of bullshit on here about people who rent off the councils. Has any of you not stopped to think that people who are on the dole after losing their jobs and live in private rented houses are entitled to help with their rent off the welfare and that costs a lot more. Not everyone gets the same start in life or even a good start in life and I reckon that there is a lot of you on here that probably came from coucil houses in council estates but just like to forget about that. How many of you grew up in the likes of Cabra, Tallaght, Donneycarney, Kilbarrack, Ballybrack.

• mcbab 15/04/12 #

The Irish times ran with this WAY to soon. Another example of the media trying to make the news rather than reporting it. Why not wait to see what is proposed and then discuss it? Too logical I suppose !

• whose’s paying to have lough derg plumbed to dublin… cant wait till they drain the lake. i guess we r footing that bill also. just so the dubs can put that water in their bedays.

• They should incorporate the initial charge into the ongoing charge. Last thing we need is another household charge fiasco due to a flat fee!

• Water is a utility, the same as gas and electricity. Of course we should pay for it.

The installation should be a flat-fee however and not vary according to where people live or any other arbitrary factor. It’s a one-off and then you will pay based on usage, same as the rest of your bills.

• We already pay for it simon, through direct and indirect taxation. How do you think we’ve ben paying for the water up till now? Difference now is, the money we’re still paying to fund our water has been pilfered by government to pay for bankers gambling debts. So we either pay for the same thing twice, or refuse and insist our taxes be put to their intended use.

• If it is to be introduced, “everyone” ought to pay. No exemptions. Everyone must pay something at least.

• Everyone already pays Declan, and always has. There is no fair way to make people pay twice for the same thing.

• It’s not right to compare it to electricity or gas.. These are conveniences.

Without water you die.

Big difference.

• I’m fed up to the back teeth with austerity, “all” Irish politicians & have become so what anti EU, Too Trueleft. I joke that mother nature should inhale on one megga spliff & cover the entire planet for a week in smoke from the “weed”. Why ? So we can all fk.n chill out.

• Should read – “have become somewhat anti ………” – D’oh !!

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Shanti cut off your gas and electricity and see how you manage without these “conveniences” in modern Ireland.

Declan, I’m not happy about the state of the country but I really think we haven’t even seen austerity when you compare the cuts in say Greece. When was the last time you saw your neighbours going through dustbins and people who once had good jobs lining up for free food? Very few of us see poverty like that thanks in particular to the social welfare system here. I understand the fear of paying more money out, who doesn’t but this charge is not due to be implemented until 2014 and the meter is not being paid for as has been implied here but as a standing charge over time. It may not be as awful as people think, it hopefully will be tiered in such a way that the average person will manage their water consumption easily to stay in the cheapest bands. It will also be based on number of people in house I think.

• My point there was more that water is essential for human survival (as in, you can die of dehydration) whereas many survive on our streets at night without gas or electricity.. They shouldn’t have to by any means, but it does show the difference between the two..
      I totally get what the point you are making is, perhaps my initial point was not sufficiently clear..

• EMD 15/04/12 #

Ok fair enough Shanti I see your point, I think the whole issue has grown legs and that we should all relax until we start hearing some more definitive statements from Department of Environment and the government.

• Jerry 15/04/12 #

Are we not all in this together do our patriotic duty and help our country out of this mess

• Gary. 15/04/12 #

YAWN! All ye people do is mouth about this stuff! Very boring.

• When water meters are installed, has no one asked exactly how the metering works? Do we have men lifting the lid of the outside hole in the pavement to read the meter? Are they instead on our properties? The cost of “reading” the meters also has not been talked about.

• Thats a good point Chris – if the meter is fitted outside your house the meter reader man will spend his day bent over or getting down on his hunkers to read the meter. There’ll be alot of claims in the courts for work related repetitive stress injuries to back, knees and ankles. Health and safety will have something to say about that.

Add New Comment