TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

‘I won’t pay for bankers’ risk-taking’: Man says he’ll stop paying tax

Patrick McGreal says he will not pay his taxes anymore as the money is being used for bankers, bondholders and services which he believes are substandard. What do you think?

Patrick McGreal harvesting carrots in Co Offaly recently.

A SELF-EMPLOYED father-of-two has said he is not going to pay his taxes anymore and is prepared to go to jail over the issue.

Offaly man Patrick McGreal, 31, says he is no longer prepared to contribute to a system that he says is not working and claims that we pay some of the highest taxes in the world with the least return when it comes to healthcare and education.

“What’s the worst they can do to me? Bring me to court, probably heavily fine me, then I can’t pay the fine so they throw me in jail. But at the end of the day I don’t want my tax money being paid to the likes of bankers who did take a risk and who aren’t suffering,” he told TheJournal.ie

McGreal, who works as a courier selling farming produce around the country, said that at the end of the tax year he does not intend to file any tax returns and adds that he will avoid paying VAT wherever possible.

“I am looking at things at the minute, I am trying to buy as few VAT levied things as I possibly can. I do as much bartering as I can. I have a fella who gives me fuel, he takes a bit of food off me in return. Imagine a whole country working on barter?” he said.

The married man says his wife supports his decision although she will not go along with it herself and will continue to pay into the Exchequer. The couple have two young children and McGreal says his main gripe is with the quality of education and healthcare in Ireland.

He continued: “I brought my little one into hospital a few weeks ago and because she was four years old she was seen in a few hours. But there were people in there for 12 or 14 hours.

“The money could be put to better use rather than paying bondholders. There’s not enough money getting down to the actual doctors. Administration is taking a lot of money out of the health budget and we’re all suffering because of it.”

‘There’s plenty of land out there’

McGreal, who lives in the village of Rhode with his family, says he thinks Ireland could produce more agriculturally and export produce instead importing carrots and other vegetables from Europe and Asia.

“Ireland doesn’t grow enough to feed itself we’re importing most of it,” he claimed.”There’s plenty of land out there. We can start being a little bit more self sufficient, start growing more stuff and importing a little bit less. You never know, we might end up exporting a little bit as well,” he said.

McGreal says he has no issue with paying his taxes in circumstances where he felt they were being put to good use. He said he would be prepared to give half of his earnings to the State in such a situation.

He continued: “We’ll keep suffering until people actually say the only way to hurt them is to stop giving them money because it’s our money that they’re using to go off and pay these bondholders and pay for the government as well, a government that’s not working.”

“I wouldn’t mind paying the taxes if we got a good healthcare system and there’s no reason why we should not have a good healthcare system in Ireland,” McGreal added.

McGreal, who unsurprisingly has not paid the controversial household charge, says that he is prepared to go to prison if it comes to it and predicts that he may be forced to emigrate with his family in the coming years.

He says he is not encouraging those around him to participate in his boycott of taxes but is simply making a statement.

“I know what people think: That it’s kind of silly, that I should just get on with it, put the head down, and that everything is going to be alright. But it’s not.

“Everything is going to get worse and worse and worse until we don’t have anything to fight for and we’ll be fighting between ourselves then,” he added.

Poll: Do you agree with Patrick McGreal’s decision to not pay tax?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (196 Comments)

• Just reading the comments here you don’t need to be a genius to see why the country is screwed. The population is more split than the People’s Front of Judea. People like this guy are taking individual action which while newsworthy won’t really achieve much. Almost everyone here objects to paying the bondholders et.al but other than taking a few minutes to vent online they have no idea what to do, they feel helpless. What is needed is concrete solutions that everyone feel they can participate in. For example informing your local TD that you will not be voting for them in the next election unless they get their act together and start representing the people. The trick is to do it by snail mail. The sight of so many rejection slips piling up in their offices may put some sense into them. It’s just an idea, maybe some of you have better ones? It has to be easy, convenient but make an impact on these muppets.

• That sounds like a sensible idea to me Mark. Now off with you and your making sense! We don’t like that kind of behaviour around here. Where is the non-sensical ranting? Where are the comments on Moriarty? if you ask me this site has gone downhill of late. I come here every day for my dose of vitriol and bile and here you are cluttering the site up with common sense! How very dare you sir!

• Phil Hogan did say if you’re not happy with a service you shouldn’t pay for it & Patrick McGreal is listening to him. In times like this we’re lucky to have political leadership like that.

• well if your not happy with the service dont pay…where have I heard that said

• This is just another story from somebody who also has had enough. They just cant take it anymore. The government better start listening to the electorate as more and more people will start to feel the same way. You keep backing people into a corner and eventually more and more will come out fighting. Good luck to him.

• Was at a anti house tax meeting last night. The number of people who have had enough is growing. Best of luck to him. At least he has the courage to take a stand on what he believes in.

• SMcB 12/04/12 #

Come out fighting ? The Revenue will just freeze his bank account (by way of attachment order) and instruct the bank to pay out every penny in it. Of course he could take his money out in cash.. In that case they’ll sent the sheriff around. Foolish foolish man.

• And revenue can’t do that to bankers, td’s wives, offshore a/c’s ?! Any blue/white coller crimes convicted!

• Orion 12/04/12 #

They do if they dont pay their taxes.

• If this man wants to protest at bent TD’s, bankers etc I say let him. These people have stolen stolen and stolen from the Irish people and not one of them has been brought to book. They live on their fat salery’s fat pension’s never needing to worry where their next meal is coming from or if they can afford a trip to the doctor while the people of Ireland are worried sick. It’s time for ALL the people of Ireland to say enough is enough we want our country back and not in the hands of the fat cats of europe

• Fair play to him, I took the “easy” way and left the country, why should, I or you, be forced to pay for some one else’s tab, and squalor in sub standard services

• Reading the comments here, I’m amazed at the amount of people who try to defend a bent system rather then stand up for there fellow citizens.
    It’s not people like the guy in the story that has this country in the states its in. It’s the excuse maker’s that give approval to the so called government.

• Maybe the people here are just realistic, and know that hospitals, schools, roads etc. all have to be paid for. If someone refuses to pay his share the hospital fairy doesn’t pick up the tab, the rest of us do.
      It doesn’t mean we’re not also livid about the injustices inflicted on us by bankers and politicians though.

• Agree Alan. People are more interested in “me” and “now” -which is understandable but won’t effect change. I know as I’m one of those people

• Well said Alan…I am amazed also..Im a tax payer and its taken at source so I cant make a stand like this man but I will support his stance and others like him until change comes about…Our government needs to start listening to the people they are crucifying rather than looking good in Europe. There are more than enough funds/resources to support services in this country but not as long as that back door to bondholders thats leaking millions is firmly closed!

• @Nicky You are simply wrong Nicky. We have a deficit of 18 billion (EXCLUDING the bank debt). If we managed to get rid of the 18 billion deficit we would not be so dependant upon the IMF/EMF/ECB and then could take a stand against these payments. As it is if we just say “Nope, we’re not paying it…” where do you think we would borrow our 18 billion a year from to pay public sector wages?

• Enough of all of this fighting. Nicky, I think the burning question on EVERYBODY’S lips is, where did you buy those gorgeous red shoes?

• @ David…I think you are simply wrong David.. 18 billion (excl. banks)? Oh its much higher than that and its UNPAYABLE…Our greatgrandchildrens childrens will be paying it out of their pensions. We are a very rich country regarding resources etc…we have a very unequal tax system..we have no critical thinking representing us from government in Europe save a few from the opposition – The entire country needs an overhaul, Im not suggesting I have the answers but by gods there are alternatives other than this economic war that is causing austerity beyond any seen before and this government is digging us in deeper. I dont know where all public sector wages will come from but I can tell you it wont be from the private sector!!! that this government and the last see so fit to sell off a huge amount of resources to (shouldnt say sell they’re practically giving them away) I would never suggested not paying our and i stress OUR debts…not BANKS, but there needs to be radical change in the system to even attempt to straighten things. A new model needs to be built in order to make the old one obsolete…..and the only way to bring about radical change is radical stances.

@Orla..Cant actually remember where I got them but I Love them ;)

• To all the people talking about “Realism” and what a freeloader he is:

Realistically, if there is a huge non-payment of taxes the government is going to be forced to change it’s plans.

Look at it this way, the government is convinced it will save a certain amount of money through tax hikes and cutbacks. This is founded on the wild assumption that people actually go along with it.

If it turns out that people refuse to pay the household tax, self employed people stop playing VAT, etc., they will have to accept that the course of action they took, in real terms, did not save/generate enough money, and that not making these cutbacks at all would have been equally beneficial. Having people suddenly not decide to pay tax is quite a frightening thing, so they will have to take an “Extreme” course of action to resolve it – which may be scaling back austerity.

The cutbacks are *not* necessarily because they cause the economy to retract meaning we don’t save any money in real terms. Just about any sane economist without a right wing vested interest is saying this.

If they instead threaten further cutbacks due to lack of tax intake, it could start a cycle that throws the country into chaos, where they no longer receive the same level of privilege and protection and are significantly more likely to have their skulls caved in with a brick. They are fundamentally cowards, so there’s only so far they’ll take this.

Due to a level of reliance on the Irish economy, even the EU will eventually have to except this. Don’t forget Merkozy are right wing idealogues due to be sent on their way fairly soon. Do you really think a more left leaning EU is going to demand the same austerity measures? Due to pressure from the banks, Goldman Sachs plants and the like, I don’t think our problems will disappear, but if you think serious protest will go unanswered you’re seriously whipped.

• Leigh…
      You are my angel! :)

• A hard working man with sense and conviction, something we need much more of in this country ,

now watch the red thumbs from all the layabouts.

• my tax is taken from source so I can’t do what he plans to do, he’s just going to pass the burden onto the source tax paying workers in this country. thanks a million Patrick.

• As a PAYE worker my tax is taken at source like many people in this country, we don’t have the opportunity to do as Patrick plans to do. If he and and other self employed individuals do this it will only pass the burden on to the PAYE worker, this isn’t fair to us. He should be happy he has work there are plenty that don’t.

• He wants us all to barter, and for a bigger agriculture sector instead of service industries,
      So basically he wants us to back to the past. Good man.

• @ D. Collins Nothing wrong with a bit of bartering in my area (rural) we do it all the time. Some neighbors can do things I cannot and I can do stuff they can’t. Works well and saves everybody money.

• Keep us updated Patrick.
      In the meantime I wish you the best of luck.

• While I think you’d struggle to find anyone who doesn’t want better services for the money his position is rubbish. During the bubble we’d had worse value for money, we had more inefficiency. Yet we seemed happy to get rid of sustainable taxes to replace them with the likes of stamp duty, we repeatedly elected a shíte government to make a giant mess. *WE* made this mess. Things are getting more cost effective but there are more protests about it… would that have anything to do with taxes being made sustainable again i.e raised. See we are now starting to pay the level of taxes we should have been paying all along, if it wasn’t for a crazy property bubble we would have been paying them all along.
      Tell you what though if someone can actually prove “that we pay some of the highest taxes in the world” I’ll change my view. Can they?

• Sorry one other thing. The left in this country fought long and hard for increasing wages to teachers, guards, nurses and doctors etc. You might recall ‘Partnership’, the left cheered it on. It was a total disaster as most of the money went to large increases in salaries and not into services. The Croke Park agreement needs to be scrapped urgently.

• Good on you Patrick!!

Expect a very hostile reaction from our government ”Fianna Fail 2”, who are now very very comfortable in their cocoon of inflated salaries and expenses.

Don’t worry Patrick
      They do not live in the real world with you and your family Patrick.
      The real world, where we don’t get paid until we do our jobs correctly.

• It is sickening to see the government find money for bondholders and bullshit banks that no longer exist and other ones that are being propped up by the taxpayer. So if taxes are being misappropriated to these bondholders then maybe trying to stop paying taxes is one of the options self employed people have to show the government that people are pissed off, that we are not being listened to we are been ignored. We elected this government to represent us, but they are representing the banks the bondholders and other vested interests such as the ECB and IMF. This man is right to not pay as no investigation into this crisis has produced anyone at fault, the upper echelons of society in general just want this financial disaster to remain a burden for taxpayers to bail them out. Maybe someone has to remind the government it wasn’t our fault we didn’t gamble with derivatives and credit default swaps we didn’t make bad investments we didn’t go ‘mad’ spending. Oh and where has all of this cash that was supposedly sloshing around gone to, was it suddenly flushed down the toilet or are our government just to corrupt to ask these questions of the ECB and other private institutions who are getting away with murder.

• If everyone did the same thing, it might remove the arrogance that this Government has shown over the past 12 months; they might actually see that people are genuinely sick of their bull shit. People power is a great thing, we just need to stand together! :-)

• Imagine if the PAYE worker had authority over their direct taxes. I think we would see alot of non payment. Unfortunately this is the system we are stuck with. We trust the government to look after our taxes and spend wisely. This didn’t happen in recent years. That’s why we need arrests and prison time for all those that destroyed this country. Folks need to see this. All we hear is silence though.

• The US are the largest stakeholders within the IMF, and they have vetoing powers. The bond holders insured their lending into Irish banks with American insurance companies. Seeing a connection???
    There is NO question that we will not service out debts. We have no choice, If we don’t pay back the debts, the US economy takes a hit because the insurance companies have to pay out.
    I don’t agree with the IMF package because of the rotten policies they inflict on vulnerable countries, but one man’s tax evasion won’t change anything. He’ll just be fined/jailed. I do admire the man’s courage though.

• I wouldnt be surprised if Phil Hogan organises a farm inspection for this guy in the near future, just like the guy who had his dole cut off for having the cheek to protest in Donegal.

• This fella is dead right, if his high rate of tax isn’t being utilised properly why should he pay. The link below is about Sweden and how it should be. Admittently it compares Sweden to Britain but I think you all can agree that even their system is better than ours.
    http://m.guardian.co.uk/money/2008/nov/16/sweden-tax-burden-welfare?cat=money&type=article

• This State consistently imposes absolute accountability on those who fail to pay tax due to the exchequer fund yet this same State completely avoids the imposition of any accountability on those responsible for then managing it. It’s completely inequitable and clearly some people have had enough.

• Firstly – how do people not know? (Relating to poll) Everyone has an opinion, bloody voice it in this simple one button click poll. I don’t care if it’s for or against the man I just find it irritating that people ‘don’t know’.

Anyway.. with that shpeel over.
    Fair play to him.
    Glad to hear that his wife is still paying taxes too, smart move. If they both got thrown in prison, their kids would be the ones to really pay.

Though, not sure what the sentence a move like this could hold.. so could be tough on the wife and kids.
    It is a move though, that has to be admired to some extent.
    …but also unpopular aswell.

If we did all do it, then the country would be much much worse off.

However, I am for the move he is making as it’s more than just not paying taxes, it’s sending a very important message.

• Like most tax payers this guy has had enough. This is his way of taking stand and best of luck to him.

• I moved to Ireland for many reasons. I relinquished my life in the States for Ireland. Though there are days when I read the news I have a twinge of regret, overall…. I am happy that I live here. Furthermore, I am often in great humour because of the comical actions of the Irish political and legal systems, arguments related to public vs. private sectors, blatant displays of corruption, the inabilty of the Exchequer to collect taxes from the wealthy, the difference between tax evasion and tax avoidance and the empathy that the Irish will show to strangers in other countries but yet deny themselves.

All I have now is my sense of humour and my health… If I had the finances…. I would consider relocating, for it doesn’t appear that there will never be a threat of the Irish public of organizing a movement to eradicate the tireless, ineffective and unproductive environment, system and culture that was created between 1916 and 1922 and suported by Cosgrove and deValera.

I am curious…. Has anyone noticed that our current systems don’t work?

• Freedom of speech now there is a novel idea really…. How dare you report on people taking action against a corrupt system…..

• If he does not make returns then he may be summoned to court. He will still be considered innocent of any wrong doing until convicted of tax evasion, avoidance, etc. he could demand that he would pay a percentage of his taxes if it could be established that the percentage would be for services and not re-directed to keep Bankers living the lifestyle
    This could be the sort of test case we need to get a realisation across to all tax payers that we are NOT responsible for the banks and as such we should not be bailing them out with tax that is supposed to be for services, Health, education, etc

• While I agree that we do need to have a fair and equitable tax system, that is precisely the problem – I can empathise entirely with this man’s feelings that it’s neither fair nor equitable. The system has got to end because it’s crazy and out of control. Unfortunately the only way to bring it down is peaceful civil disobedience. This man and others like him will be doing us all a favour in the long run.

• Well I see all the Blueshirts are wearing their law and order badges firmly on their sleeves, typical. You know there are worse things than a man not paying his taxes – acquiescing unjust taxes and a corrupt state.

Fair play John McGreal.

• jimbo 12/04/12 #

Fair play to him.

• here we go with the “all talk” tea.
    im not paying any more, we gotta do something, back to bartering, over throw the government, set fire to stuff,
    we all know when that special “all talk tea” has worn of we are not gonna do anything about it, and its not because were lazy or two faced, its because we the Irish nation are a peaceful nation, we don’t cause wars, we don’t invade countries, we simply like to have an easy life with no repercussions.. i know im going to get thumbs down, but to be honest someone on here could have the cure for cancer and still get thumbs down.

• Did ya have some of that Tea with your breakfast there Philip ? All talk…and spin…and lies…

• yes i did.. unless your being a smart ass because the way i worded my piece, if that’s the case then i apologize for my bipolar disorder keeping me from putting sentences in such a jumble to an extent that annoys you and other people.. im guessing your the donkey before the cart.

• No where in the comments has anyone stated to ‘overthrow the government’ or ‘burn stuff’. All talk in your part, and your stringing of sentences was a good effort even if bipolar. You’d be happy to know that I am myself dyslxik thanks for the compliment :)

• The biggest problem we have is the degree to which we snivel over “lawbreaking”. An unjust law is no law. A cohesive, working society has no place for the levels of punitive “readjustment” currently being demanded with menaces. There’s an awfully deep insecurity in us Irish that sees anything which challenges authority as threatening and almost personally subversive. We are adults and capable of moral judgement – this includes how we do or don’t choose to beggar ourselves.

• Hear hear!! I completely agree, we need to stand up for what we believe in. I say fair play to him.

• Paying tax is not an unjust law.

• @ Tom Trraubert. When the tax is being used to bailout failed banks and speculators then it is an unjust law.

• @Kerry

No. That’s wrong. The law of paying income tax is not unjust. Just because you don’t like how it’s being spent does not make it unjust. You can’t pick and choose 2 bits from two points and make it suit the agenda of the stanve against the banks etc blah blah.

Unfortunately the gov in charge have been democratically elected to best represent us and look after our interests. Yeah. I know. But that’s irrelevant to the point that paying tax is an unjust law.

I fear for us really. How people can’t understand that is beyond me. And judging by the thumbs down for my comment and the thumbs up for yours, there’s quite a few that are just taking the militant stance but missing the point.

It’s the same with the Mahon report. Hang draw and quarter the lot of them people are saying. How exactly? There’s no evidential support to establish guilt. It’s an opinion of a judge. A full scale criminal investigation will be needed. This coming after 15 years and 300 odd million quid being spent in it.

Again. This point seems to have been missed by quite a few.

• Good man Patrick,!! And you had a great couple of role models on which to base your stance. Cowen’s brother was defaulter, and even AHERN,(as Taoiseach,!),was not tax compliant,! Neither of them cute hoors are in the slammer.

• Best of luck to him, although I cannot see it ending well for him.
    It would be great if more people worked on a barter system and got rid of the banks and their monetary system.

• Sense – he is dead right and until everyone has the cop to take a stand nothing fundamental will change. We’ll be fed the same old crap that we should put our heads down and pay up – it will all be ok bull. The carrots in his hand are worth more than our money – he has true currency.

• I really can’t see how more people aren’t in support of this. I don’t usually support those who break the law but this is not so black and white. People keep talking about how much he will cost the taxpayer but we have lost so much of our taxes already, realistically what are a few more euros to help show the nation’s anger with how our country is being run? How do you expect changes to be made? Do you think the government are checking your angry Journal comments everyday and will make changes based on that? The only way for any change is action and this kind of action will always come at a cost. The only problem is every time a member of the public takes a stand we don’t back them and pick apart their motives and their personal character, or focus on something trivial and miss the point! People who make a stand don’t have to be perfect, you don’t have to agree with every aspect of what they are doing but at least look at the very core of what they are trying to achieve and respect that at least they are trying.

• If you were less cynical about politics and politicians you could say that politicians are trying to take a stand, to do what they think is right for the greater good..

• My biggest protest is on election day, it’s the only real protest left but it just seems nobody else wants to vote these morons out. I believe in organised protest as much as I believe in organised religion. It serves no purpose ultimately. I do believe in chaos though… might be worth trying that.

• @ cavanbythesea I don’t see how you thought I was being cynical about politicians from that comment. Perhaps when I joked about them checking Journal comments? That was really to highlight how people need to be more vocal about their frustration in a way that actually reaches politicians. Nowhere did I say that politicians would not have an interest in what was being said or that they didn’t care about, as you say, “the greater good”. Sometimes comments can focus on the actions of everyday people and not just on the failings of politicians.

My comment was also about how people often miss the point :)

• Some lad gives him fuel for food? He’s a courrier. He’d use a bit of fuel like.

That lad must be some size.

• random 12/04/12 #

Yeah, just imagine an economy operating on the barter system. Any farmers out there need some software developed?

• Fair play to you . Another Michael Collins .

• Good Luck to you Patrick, and I give you thumbs up, your dead right in what you say, why should it go to the Bankers, when Children’s education and Hospital Service is in more need of the Taxes than The bloody Bankers who got us into this Mess, I am behind you a !00 per Cent, never mind the big Begrudges comments, Jealous because they haven’t the Courage to Stand up like a Man, you an inspiration to the other shameless, gutless People, who put others to Shame, by not standing up to these Villains who run our country, I give you my Support, 100 per cent.
    Rita

• Unless the politicians are suffering the same conditions as the vast majority the tax system will remain unjust.On top of their salary they receive expenses of 37000 wow wow wow come down to earth anyone with a conscience should do their utmost to withhold support for this system I for one will do my utmost and my customers will not be charged vat.

• … The amount of people arguing against this guy is unbelievable. Your ancestors obviously weren’t involved in the rising. “Sure they’re only a bunch of liberal hippies trying to cause trouble for the rest of us!”.

Nice to see someone’s actually trying to change things. The Irish population are far too “realistic” for their own good.

• Karl. people at the time did think that til they shot them. a friend of mine grandfather was there in 1916 and is on the role of honours. something to be very proud of until I was told that til the day he died he wondered why he was there as the dream never became the reality. extremely sad.

• Fair play to him, as the rich and wealthy know the difference between tax avoidance and tax evasion is the thickness of a prison wall.

• Bertie never went to prison or court for not submitting tax returns while leading the country…He was never tax compliant so why should patrick worry about been thrown into prison…oops silly me he is just a citizen of the state not the chosen group who laud it over us….Gotta admire Iceland one letter changed and it is Ireland and that is were similarities end..They had the balls to bring the ex prime minister to court to answer for his decision making and they told the bondholders to fk off..We got cowen and lenihan…..Both held unaccountable one is dead and one is creaming it as an ordinary citizen

• I am full of admiration for him and support him in this. I can completely empathise. What I cannot empathise with, is his fellow citizens calling him a freeloader and whining, why should I pay for him, it’s not fair? If only more of you were like him…

• This might sound crazy but I was watching some stuff about the history of income tax. Very interesting and amusing. Aran Russo – freedom to fasism. It goes into dept about the federal reserve and the IRS. Similar tax structures here i’d say. There was a part in it where a guy was brought to court for not paying his taxes. He pled not guilty all the way on the grounds that there was simply no law to state that we have to pay tax. It went all the way to a jury verdict. So anyway, the prosecutors went off to look up the income tax laws that were obviously there. It turned out that they could not find anything that stated that a citizen had to pay income tax. He was acquitted of all charges. One of the jurors even wrote a book on the case. I have done a bit of research on the subject. Apparently people are doing this all over the world. It seems we have just been fooled into thinking we have to pay when we don’t. They say it’s voluntary. Please don’t attack me, just look it up for yourselves. http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=lUpZhhbKUBo

• Take a deep breath Barry…. Too much anger before 9 am. He is just making a point, he will pay, only two things are sure in life, and that is one of them.

• Brave man if he doesn’t cause the state is just going to screw him

• Income Tax is used to pay mounting compound interest on Interest ,on money (promises to pay) borrowed into existence from organizations who have no money to begin with ,and just issue pieces of paper and digital money, with a promise to pay (bond) as its backing/collateral, Why is our Money (unit of exchange) not created by our government??. Its all a scam , even the dogs in the street know that. Every service in the country is paid for by the big taxes. V.A.T., Exise, motor tax,tv licence,fines and levies etc,all unbelievably massive sources of income . Increasingly Nearly all the so called services that are “offered” by the state have to be paid for upfront by the people using them. Try Calling an ambulance or going to a&e and see the bill you get. Can someone tell me which services we get that we don’t pay for upfront. The people who would rather support a rotten system to maintain the status quo will be getting a big shock ,in the coming times when they see the results of their inaction and lack of awareness of how the system actually works. The Truth is not stranger than you think The Truth is Stranger than you can think. Its all a game. Nothing is going to get better in this country as long as people are prepared to support corruption over what is morally right. Saying No is the first step to stopping the bully from abusing you and learning to ignore the lies the bully tells you about you needing them financially or in any other way so you submit to the bullying, is the second. He who stands for nothing will fall for anything.

• It’s time to rob Peter and not pay Paul but have a bloody a good time with it instead before we die. Nighty night

• To all the people talking about “Realism” and what a freeloader he is:
    Realistically, if there is a huge non-payment of taxes the government is going to be forced to change it’s plans.
    Look at it this way, the government is convinced it will save a certain amount of money through tax hikes and cutbacks. This is founded on the wild assumption that people actually go along with it.
    If it turns out that people refuse to pay the household tax, self employed people stop playing VAT, etc., they will have to accept that the course of action they took, in real terms, did not save/generate enough money, and that not making these cutbacks at all would have been equally beneficial. Having people suddenly not decide to pay tax is quite a frightening thing, so they will have to take an “Extreme” course of action to resolve it – which may be scaling back austerity.
    The cutbacks are *not* necessarily because they cause the economy to retract meaning we don’t save any money in real terms. Just about any sane economist without a right wing vested interest is saying this.
    If they instead threaten further cutbacks due to lack of tax intake, it could start a cycle that throws the country into chaos, where they no longer receive the same level of privilege and protection and are significantly more likely to have their skulls caved in with a brick. They are fundamentally cowards, so there’s only so far they’ll take this.
    Due to a level of reliance on the Irish economy, even the EU will eventually have to except this. Don’t forget Merkozy are right wing idealogues due to be sent on their way fairly soon. Do you really think a more left leaning EU is going to demand the same austerity measures? Due to pressure from the banks, Goldman Sachs plants and the like, I don’t think our problems will disappear, but if you think serious protest will go unanswered you’re seriously whipped.

• Max Keiser on what is really going on in Ireland, Greece etc. it is organised robbery folks, please watch. Talks to Constantin Gurgiev in second half http://rt.com/programs/keiser-report/episode-274-max-keiser/

• the cost of there actions is devastation
    the cost of our inactions is catastrophic

• The bould Bertie didt go to jail for not submitting a tax return…and he was running the country at the time….Gotta wonder what the fk Lenihan and Cowen were smoking the night they gave the blanket guarantee…We cant ask lenihan but we sure as fk could look for Cowen to answer for his actions that faithful night….Oops sorry theres that

• Well Phil the bully Hogan says that he is in dispute over the services he’s getting and that is the reason he won’t pay for his services.It’s about time that we had more people like Patrick,call a spade a spade.The government says that the household charges are to provide services to the people but I live out in the country and I want to know what services that he means.As the only service that I get is water and we had to set up a committee to bring water to our area in the early 80′s,and we had to bring Meath County Council to court to make them take over the scheme after an Engineer made a mistake and put in motors that would drive water to Belfast and we had to pay the ESB bill.It cost us a lot of money at the time so I know of people who won’t pay now.

• Don’t want to seem facetious. . .But my earlier point was more in regard to the operation rather than the principle. Of course paying tax is necessary for a society to function. . .but the uses to which the labour of others is demanded and applied is necessarily open to question. I should have mentioned Boston 1773 but then would have been thumbed-down for being a Tea Party sympathiser. We are such a country of hall-monitors.

• Absolutely…A Tax system is necessary for a functioning society, but we dont have a fair or equal tax system and that needs changing…There are also other solutions…like a new public works? put people back to work, tidy up ghost estates, sewage systems, etc etc…not these flippin TUS schemes…that put a person in community employment for a year and then what? Back to the dole…Oh wait, then they would be a CWO’s problem…that would show a drop in employment wouldnt it? Coz they would e under a different department then…Number games…I just wish this Government would focus more on real plans for employment etc in this country and less on toxic/dead banks’ debts….Anyhow I do think your referrence to the Boston tea party is relevant….not necessarily the method but the end result! Law breakers open the eyes of law makers!

• That should be a ‘drop in unemployment’ !

• This guy has had enough like most of us tax payers. He is taking a stand and best of luck to him.

• So is his 4 year old going to be home schooled? Who will he bring her to if she gets sick again? I fully understand the grounds for his protest, but does he still expect services from the State if he’s no longer going to contribute?

• G 12/04/12 #

Income Tax is a scam anyway. Its the best way to stop the government, by not paying it. As long as they have money coming in they have no reason to listen to protesting unhappy people. Once the money stops you wont believe how quickly they’ll change things and pay attention. Personally I believe paying income tax is only feeding the gravy train, its furthering the demise of this country.

• Nice to see tax evasion isn’t just a rich person’s hobby anymore…

• tax evasion?? I think what the government has done to us is a lot bigger of a crime. tax evasion like this, making a stand, does not amount to anything that is gonna hurt this country…… that’s the difference.

• It isn’t tax evasion.. The word evade implies the man is hiding, ducking or sneaking around his tax liability. This is what bent, corrupt people do. What this man is doing is straight out, Tax Refusal. I admire his courage!

• As much as i hate the taught that money is going to bond holders & bankers…we obviously need to pay tax for the country to have the funds it needs for other services like education & hospitals

• There isn’t any ‘LAW’ that says you have to pay tax. There is, however, a STATUTE that requires you to pay. In other words an Act. Statutes are only enforceable with the consent of the governed.

• The fact of the matter is that regardless of whether we agree with the governments fiscal policies and how they are using our taxes to bail out the banks paying tax is a legal requirement for us all. Yes, I agree there are corrupt politicians and feck all has been done about them either but two wrongs don’t make a right. This guy, if he does not pay taxes will be punished to the full extent of the law. While I agree with his principles, the method by which he hopes to protest is downright silly and will end him up in trouble.

• Interesting that he doesn’t want to pay his taxes but has no qualms about taking one of his kids for medical treatment. Did he pay the doctor in carrots?

• And when you’re thrown in jail the tax payer will foot the bill for your keep. And perhaps social welfare for your family? And should your children need a hospital sure we will pay for that too. Unless of course this kind of stupidity catches on, no one pays tax and there won’t be any of these services – good or bad…

• So the rest of us will pay his share also. Is he sending his kids to school ? If he is sick will he go to hospital ?
    If he needs emergency services will he use them ? If he is sent to jail does he expect social services to pay for the upkeep of his family ? Lots of things sicken us all, but this adds to the problem and does not help.

• Where’s your outrage at the €180,000,000,000 we’re giving away to the banks for no reason. Get off your high horse will ya?? You’re being robbed blind and your throwing a strop because this guy has the cop on to do something about it.

• Orion 12/04/12 #

Where did you get that figure? And why do you reckon its for ‘no reason’ ???

• If you don’t know where I got that figure from, then there’s nothing to argue about here.
      Well, it wasn’t for any reason that’s of benefit to the Irish public that’s for sure. Capitalism died in Ireland the day that bank guarantee was approved. It was paid to unsecured investors in some idiotic attempt to ‘save’ the economy. It was paid to stop the “contagion” spreading across Europe, because our useless politicians are only out for their own interests. At best was a short sighted weak attempt to pacify the EU and it failed miserably. Can you outline any valid reasons?? can you show how this will benefit Ireland in the long run??

• @Paul, you get off your high horse, I’d love to see all corrupt bankers etc jailed for a long time, how does stopping paying taxes equate to doing something about it ???????????????????????

• Paul first off you’re pulling that figure our of thin air. i.e. it’s nonsense. Secondly the majority of the money we’ve borrow was not for the banks, it was for the day to day running for the country.

Here the facts, not the myths. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0323/1224313766388.html or http://economic-incentives.blogspot.co.uk/2011/11/deficit-and-banks.html

I’ll give you a little quote…
      “It is impossible to be human and not to be furious about this. But anger – righteous or otherwise – should not cloud analysis. However understandable, that has happened in the debate on bank debt.

Three claims are frequently made:
      * Most public debt is a result of taking on banking debt;
      * The economic and budgetary outlook would be transformed if banking debt could be offloaded;
      * A bailout would not have been needed had it not been for socialised banking debt.
      These claims are, respectively, plain wrong, wrong and debatable.”

• Gary those are mostly opinion pieces, even if written by economists, not cold hard facts. One tell tale sign is this – “The changes are being introduced to bring about the necessary reduction in the budget deficit. ”

Most people don’t realise that austerity isn’t an economic reality but an ideal, one largely propelled forward by the Austrian school of economics, a school that largely rejects empiricism. Austerity is not universally accepted, there are circumstances in which reducing state expenditure in conjunction with other measures(which we’re not taking or even talking about) can help, but in general, Austerity is right wing ideology; something that seems like “common sense” that doesn’t work in reality.

As it is, austerity is *harming* our economy and attempts to reduce the deficit will only cripple it further.

It’s rather missing the point here in that some amount of debt is natural in our economy, and deficits happen. Keeping them low is ideal but there’s no absolute cut-off point for which we suddenly collapse due to deficit – which is unfortunately, not true when it comes to the affect of things like housing bubbles on austerity, which can have a very real, immediate crippling effect.

Even if we were only losing €30 billion in “real terms”(which I severely doubt, the comments in the second link you provide point out it isn’t taking into account future payments we’re also adjusting for) that would still make up for vast majority of cuts people are angry over. Again, there is a point at which cutbacks are no longer simple cutbacks and affect the economy in a very negative way. A lot of people ideologically oppose welfare but in reality there should be absolutely debate over cuts to welfare – it is a natural cash injection into the economy where it will be immediately spent, far more effective than the “trickle down” of bank bailouts.

It’s entirely ideologically charged – when we have a healthy economy where people can find work, then it’s not necessarily. One of the reasons the likes of Sweden bounced back is due to their strong safety net.

In general, cutbacks are bad, which is why I can’t take anyone who talks about “Necessary” deficit reductions seriously when the problems we’re facing are much more structural than that.

• Leigh perhaps they are opinion pieces, though they both appear to have checked the figures and come to the same conclusions. I’m confident though from the figures I’ve seen if I ask other economists the same questions I’ll get roughly the same answers. Given the lack of any real evidence and the many repeated myths from the likes of the anti-household charge campaign you’ll forgive me for trusting the links I posted.
      We could argue economic theory (not that I’m an expert). However I’d take a step back and ask a simple question… do we have a sustainable tax base? The answer is clearly we don’t. I’d ask another simple question… can we keep overspending at the level we have been? I think the answer to that is no. And perhaps another one… can we afford to cut 15 billion out of the economy now? Probably not. Yes cutbacks are bad, massive overspending is bad, huge debts are bad… this is like some high pressure juggling act.

• You cannot have this argument without talking about economic theory – it’s ludicrous. If they’ve seen the numbers then they must be fully aware of the effect of austerity on the Irish economy.

And the answer is – no we do not have a sustainable tax base, because again, in real terms, austerity leads to a downward spiral where tax take is ultimately reduced over time.

We are not exactly “Overspending” compared to other EU states, unless again you count the bank bailouts. Spending stimulates the economy, so “Overspending” isn’t the same level of sin as “overcutting”.

• Leigh. Here’s what I’m trying to get across to you. You want to discuss economic theory when I want us to agree on the reality first. You say we’re not overspending and that you cannot overspend. Well true spending stimulates the economy but we had a tax take, I believe, of 31.9 billion in 2011 and are spending 14 billion on top of that in 2012. So *one third* of all spending is with borrowed money. I don’t know any school of economics where that is sustainable with the debts we’ve already racked up. 95% percent of that 14 billion this year is not going to any bank, it’s going to fund day to day services etc. As for over-cutting you’d need to show that we are in fact over cutting, rather than just getting back to an equilibrium now that the property bubble has burst. How the hell can we be suffering real austerity while borrowing one third of all government spending.
      You say “no we do not have a sustainable tax base, because again, in real terms, austerity leads to a downward spiral where tax take is ultimately reduced over time.” But the thing is we didn’t have a sustainable tax base even before the recession, even before the cuts. We just didn’t notice or care because of the large injections of stamp duty money.
      I’ll tell you what why don’t you show we are being over taxed compared to other countries and we’ll take if from there.

• @ Leigh.
      Could you reference material on your observations regarding austerity & the Austrian school.
      Also, Ive attached an article, from a Swede, that offers a more accurate account of Swedens recent economic history than you have offered here.
      http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704698004576104023432243468.html

• Sean, you’re linking to the Wall Street Journal. It doesn’t cite any references either for those statistics. Sweden is still unimaginably left wing compared to the US or UK. Sweden is also only one example out of 4 or 5 similar social democracies that do far better avoiding Neoliberal economics or mindless austerity measures. This article has nothing to do with how Sweden has handled the banking crisis, either.

Here’s a good critique of the Austrian School –

http://www.huppi.com/kangaroo/L-aussm.htm

• Leigh your views on Sweden are outdated and inaccurate. The WSJ article was written by a member of it’s current government. Here’s one from CNN.
      http://articles.cnn.com/2011-06-14/opinion/frum.sweden_1_fredrik-reinfeldt-swedish-way-civil-servants?_s=PM:OPINION

• In addition, I wasn’t looking for an overview or introduction to Austrian economics. I was wondering if you could support your assertion that austerity we are experiencing is largely propelled by the Austrian school.
      The following is a quote from one Austrian economist.
      Robert P. Murphy (in 2010) – “Society would prosper in the absence of taxation and war, not collapse. If the libertarian is right in this view, then it easily follows that the standard moral objections to theft and killing don’t magically disappear just because a group of professional liars reclassifies them as ‘taxation’ and ‘national defense.’”

• Best of Luck to him.
    It just will not work, he will be hounded by revenue now. Very difficult to avoid VAT as it’s nearly on everything we use.
    Nobody has mentioned the big elephant in the middle of the room. The Croke Park Agreement.
    That’s where most of income tax is going.

• Fair play to him. Id stop paying too if I could. Self employed get nothing out of the prsi they pay anyway.

• Strange that he didn’t carry out this protest when times were good.

Back then, we were all content to be bribed with tax cuts in return for accepting rotten services.

Ironically, all those tax cuts helped to overheat the economy.

• So we all stop paying tax. Next step?

• Stop paying bond holders!!!!

• SMcB 12/04/12 #

You are aware that c50% of Irish bonds are held by Irish pension funds ultimately for the benefit of individuals on this island?

• The bond holders were paid by the ECB, who did it through our government.

We have not paid back one cent of borrowing, and in fact are borrowing to cover current spending.

Why can’t you understand?

Yes the bond holders are being paid, but it is not coming for us. We are ultimately responsible to pay it back, but don’t complain and give out until we do. (personally I fully expect it will be written off as soon as we balance our budget)

• When he has not paid his taxes where will he bring his daughter when she is sick?

• pay your taxes, if doesnt the every day paye worker will end up making up the short fall.

• Alice 12/04/12 #

As a taxpayer I really don’t want to pay for this guys freeloading attitude when he’s in prison.

• Because who needs schools and hospitals anyway….

• Trolllioioioooo a hole

• Dave O’Shea, he’s not happy with education, Health. What about Gardai, Fire service, Roads, lighting, local amenities etc. Does he expect the rest of us to pick up the tab? Is he in receipt of Children’s allowance that the rest of us pay for? It’s a stupid argument, “simple as”…

• Is it me or are you seriously saying that the logical conclusion to passive resistance is anarchy. . .more a rhetorical question. If I see something overpriced/unethical, I buy elsewhere or not at all. The point is is that the choice is mine. By all means let’s protect the Sheriff Of Nottingham. . .and George III for that matter. My earlier point stands – nation of hall-monitors.

• I don’t think paying the bondholders the full amount owed is right however I think a lot of people out there presume that all bondholders are hugely wealthy fat cats who are just buying money. While this is some times the case it is not unusual for NGO’s, State pensions or private cash wealthy companies to invest in a more secure way of investment for a lower return. I just think this “burn” mentality wouldn’t work as easily as a lot of people may think.

• or let’s say one of the bondholders is someone like microsoft. we burn them and they will scorched us. sandyford business park would be more or less empty. paying the bondholders may be keeping jobs in place. I despise the idea of paying bond holders but rock and hard place.

• Let’s say… Hearsay!!
      If they weren’t anonymous we’d know!!! And let’s not presume its Microsoft in Sandyford shall we, speculating on imaginary job losses if the bondholders were burned! If economist can forcast correctly what do you think you have to offer by Speculation….
      I want to know who the senior bond holders are… Not who you think they might be!!

• @ Ryan. Yes we don’t know who they are but should we? People will say we should but that would be the same breach of Data Protection that the same people are giving out about getting Data in relation to the HHC. We can’t have mob rule just because we don’t like what is going on. I was just saying it could be Microsoft as an example but it could also be some foreign investment fund and I couldn’t care less what happened to it if it did not affect this State but we don’t know and fortunately/unfortunately we don’t know who the bond holders are depending on your stand point. The point I was making is that the people who say burn the bondholders want to burn the bondholders without thinking what if and how will it affect the country. Its just burn, burn, burn with no what if or alternative.

There is an arguments to burn them which I don’y have a problem with if we are allowed to burn mortgage debt as in way a mortgage is a bond, so we burn our bondholders and mortgage debt etc and we do not borrow from the markets as we probably won’t be able to for a few years and the EU/IMF may not lend to us so it is no dole or benefits and increased taxes.This may be an option but it may also be anarchy on the streets. It is a hard one to call and in one way I wish a referendum was called on it and then the people would just have to accept the outcome one way or the other but if it went belly up the ones who’s way did not work can finally shut up moaning.

• Throw the bum in prison, I’m not working so I can fund his act of civil disobedience. If he doesn’t want to pay tax he can leave the country.

• Yet your fine with lowery, Bertie et al.. Who are all corrupt. And Anglo, AIB payment, your ok with that aswell!! Where go you stand on the priory issue, I sopose your fine with them still paying their mortgage. Or how about the people who wait 4 years to been seen by a consultant or the elderly person who waits 20odd hours after a fall.

You and your FG cronies are ruining this country. Trying to slate anyone who makes a stand, so what do we do?! The point of the article is that this guy has had enough and taken matters into his hands. There will be more people over time….

Many more…

• You dont mind working instead to fund bankers, bondholders and indolent politicians?

• VAT is practically impossible to avoid without breaking the law. In the example above he says that he is avoiding payment of VAT by bartering for fuel. As the fuel seller has received “value” albeit goods rather than money the fuel seller is obliged to pay over that VAT the fact that he has not collected it from yer man does not remove the obligation so it is the supplier that is at a loss.

• Selective democracy in my opinion. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians in this country.
    You either vote and accept that we cannot all decide which laws to obey, run for election yourself or get out of the country if you cannot live with some basic rules of our society.
    I don’t like paying tax, but I need roads, teachers, gardai…etc…
    Not paying tax can be disguised as a patriotic vision, although in reality is short sighted nonsense.

• I’m surprised how many people are happy with a man potentially depriving his family of a father for a few years. This guy is an idiot. Fine stick up for your principles, protest, march, strip naked for all I care,but your family should come first. this guy is only thinking of himself.

• Nice one, Pat.

For another reason not to pay your tax, please search in Google for ‘Windle stops swindle’

Cheers

The Common Informer

• example of inefficiency which is crippling the hse funds. a person with a mobility scooter had new batteries put into it. they were duds, the hse were also told that the gizmo was no good and would never work again effectively. person who uses it told she would now go onto a ‘waiting list,’ the person who had the scooter did not believe the gizmo’s days were over and rung the original company who supplied it to the hse. complete electric and battery overhaul. going great, no breakdowns and confidence in the vehicle now restored. it was discovered that the batteries were in effect duds and the name of the batteries was never heard of. the person paid E450 for the repairs even though on disability pension, this had to be done rather than be holed up and on the ‘waiting list’ for a scooter to turn up. said person is now on the ‘waiting list’ for an electric wheelchair…

• Wow. Some logic. Is he going to stop bringing his daughter to A &E and school too?

• silly if this site is going to become a forum for lawbreakers.

• that is not an intelligent response. How about discussing the issue. either youre a nanny or work for the inland revenue.

• Your definition of lawbreaker needs to be looked at. Do you class corrupt TD’s as lawbreakers, Or just ordinary people who want to be heard with no other option to do so? Or we couod all just vite no in yhe fuscal treaty, then we might be heard!! The mind boggles……

• @Peter “Inland Revenue”? Who are they?

• @ Ryan

Trying to decipher your comment, I don’t think he actually defined law breaker. In any case, not paying one’s taxes is breaking the law, maybe if he didn’t have to waste his hard earned cash on bailouts and the most expensive and overpaid public service on the planet, he wouldn’t be in such a predicament.

• A FG Councillor also in Offaly was listed by Revenue as a tax defaulter back in June and had to repay €125k. I didn’t hear much outrage then. He is still a public representative and Fine Gael have yet to discipline him.

• I don’t particularly like this government either, but this position is ludicrous. The piece mentions that Patrick’s daughter had to go the Hospital and that he was disgusted at the waiting times that other had encountered. Do people on this thread think that Patrick’s actions will improve this situation? Suppose we were all so principled, the hospital would close completely, people would die very quickly. We won’t even mention the other services. Unfortunately, the reality is that the bond repayments as repugnant as they are only a small piece of the problem. The reality is the this country still spends 15 billion a year more than it takes in , even after four year of austerity , simple really. Yet, if anybody mentioned cutting social welfare, public pay expenditure, money on education and ironically health all the supporters of Pat’s position would be jumping up and down “red thumbing”, incandescent with rage at the injustice. It is really sad to say most of these threads are now patrolled with shameless populists that really know all the problems but are always short on solutions.

• I don’t like this government either, but this position is ludicrous. The piece mentions that Patrick’s daughter had to go the Hospital and that he was disgusted at the waiting times that other had encountered. Do people on this thread think that Patrick’s actions will improve this situation? Suppose we were all so principled, the hospital would close completely, people would die very quickly. We won’t even mention the other services. Unfortunately, the reality is that the bond repayments as repugnant as they are only a small piece of the problem. The reality is the this country still spends 15 billion a year more than it takes in , even after four year of austerity , simple really. Yet, if anybody mentioned cutting social welfare, public pay expenditure, money on education and ironically health all the supporters of Pat’s position would be jumping up and down “red thumbing”, incandescent with rage at the injustice. It is really sad to say most of these threads are now patrolled with shameless populists that really know all the problems but are always short on solutions.

• Fair play to Patrick McGreal for his courage and conviction.
      We are fast becoming the victims of a political system that is highly dysfunctional and rotten to it’s core.
      Wanton corruption in our political system goes unpunished. The state continues to pander to a parasitic banking system. Our profligate state is incapable of managing it’s own finances and continues to increase the burden of it’s incompetence on it’s hard-pressed citizens. While the quality of services offered by the state continue to slide toward third world standards.
      We have one of the highest spending governments per capita on the planet.
      We spend more on healthcare than most other euro-nations with a deteriorating service and have one of the youngest populations. Our teachers are the highest paid yet offer a mediocre standard of education.
      If this system cannot be radically transformed to the benefit of our citizens, it must be torn down by those it is meant to serve.
      Fair play Patrick McGreal.
      http://www.ronanlyons.com/2010/11/02/where-should-ireland-cut-its-public-spending-thoughts-for-budget-2011-ii/

• Obviously not paying your taxes under normal circumstances will not help the situation, no matter how much the naive “Libertarians” say.

But we have a government and an EU that is not listening to us and is engaging in practices most economists are advising heavily against. Some form of extreme protest may be needed. They will not listen to you, so make it impossible for them not to.

• @ Leigh. A codescending yet rambling observation.
      The state was founded by and exists because of the Irish people; not the other way around.
      In a republic, it is the people, society, that are sovereign. The state needs to be reminded of this in no uncertain terms.

• The majority of PAYE slaves don’t get an opportunity to escape taxation. Neither do we avoid VAT. It’s business as usual for the government as we all drop the collective trousers of citizenship and and stoop to be, once again, royally shafted. One self-employed refusenik will not be allowed to avoid taxation as the state has the means to subjugate him, given time. So it is ultimately a futile exercise apart from temporarily making a personal statement. which will be ignored.

• and what chance does the country have if everybody does what this fellows doing. cop on is what id like to say to him.

• Cop On???? . Who are the people who are backing the corrupt administrators lining their own pockets while stealing your money to hand it to Failed Banks so they can pay “Their” Debts. The result of which is killing the Irish economy and putting people out of work every day. The very people who are the victims of this Massive Fraud ,who are struggling to survive on low wages or social welfare who have the conviction and Patriotism to want to do something about it are demonized by uninformed people, who usually have a vested interest in keeping some gravy train or other on the go for their own benefit. We are being Screwed by our own fellow countrymen who “We” have hired to administrate and the sooner people Cop On and wake up to that and shout Stop, The Better. All the Gravy Trains will cease to be soon enough so it may be a good idea to make provisions.. I am always amazed at how people in glasshouses throw stones endlessly in the direction of the Victims of all this and Never at the Perpetrators. Some of the people who are the most responsible for the disaster that this country is and will be for a very long time, Politicians and their developer and banker friends, are living lavish lifestyles despite having criminal records and or serious doubts cast on their conduct and integrity. Cop On , What a Laugh

• You know… I agree completely I was in a department store on Friday and just couldn’t as a righteous and decent man agree with what they were charging for €2 of cotton sewn together in vietnam for .50c

So I did what I’m sure you’ll all agree what was the right course of action and just started helping myself.

And while I was walking home I saw this great big house and ‘it’s not fair that they have that, and I don’t… And what the hell he was probably a banking exec’ so just went and got a shot gun….

• jimbo 12/04/12 #

A hole

• The man is an absolute imbisille clown. If he doesn’t want to pay tax then why doesn’t he move to Saudi Arabia. Oh wait he is an unskilled moron and wouldn’t get a job!

• Where have all the comments gone?

• I bet he doesn’t give the tax money he won’t pay to charity though!! He should give it to a children’s charity.

Add New Comment