TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

In pictures: Protesters occupy Dame Street

After spreading across the US, the Occupy Wall Street movement arrived in Ireland today. Here’s our gallery…

Protesters at today's event
Image: @Stephenbrow via Twitter

THE INTERNATIONAL ‘OCCUPY Wall Street’ protests arrived in Ireland today, with activists gathering in Dublin to mount a “leaderless resistance” against political and financial elites.

Upwards of a hundred protesters massed outside the Central Bank for the Occupy Dame Street event, which saw demonstrators bang pots and pans and hold placards calling for change.

In a statement earlier this week, organisers promised to use “tactics of non-violence and civil disobedience”, citing the Arab Spring as inspiration.

The statement listed four demands: that the IMF and ECB “stay out of our affairs”; that the bank debt taken on by Ireland’s government be lifted; that offshore oil and gas reserves be “returned to the people”, and that “real participatory democracy” be established in Ireland.

The Dublin event comes after weeks of protests in New York, where a fully-fledged camp has sprung up as primarily young people demonstrate their anger against financial wrongdoing and perceived political cronyism.

Last week, New York police arrested more than 700 people as the protest spread to the city’s Brooklyn Bridge.

Slideshow: Pictures from Occupy Dame Street

In pictures: Protesters occupy Dame Street
1 / 11
  • Occupy Dame Street protest

Photo: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Photo: @uneamino on Yfrog

Photo: @Stephenbrow on Yfrog

Photo: @archieirl on Twitpic

Photo: @Stephenbrow on Yfrog

Photo: @unkiedave on Twitpic

Photo: @OccupyIreland on Imgur

Read more: Occupy Wall Street protests spread across US>

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• Well, we haven’t seen what the protests in the States have or haven’t achieved. It’s too early. However, if you don’t want to join in this, join in *something*. It’s not criticism or disagreement I’m bitching about, it’s the sneering cynicism and defeatist attitude in this country. I don’t see the point of snark like the first comment.

• Snark what does that mean you have been reading too many comics . We have seen what they have achieved, it’s huge bills for policing, the world still turns and will somebody pays and it doesnt matter whether it’s communism or democracy and every thing in between the people still pay. Thats why the Soviet Union lost the cold war and why China could be seen to be winning the peace. Its all cold hard cash, It’s about time you guys realise it beautiful in absract but put humans in there and it all changes

• I get a bit aggravated at people who just run others efforts down. Maybe we’ll achieve nothing, maybe we’ll get some sort of result. Many are there as a show of solidarity with the Wall St. occupation. We’d get a lot further if people would stop being so lazily cynical and actually join in!

• maybe we dont think thats the way to go, what have the protests in the US achieved except cause a huge bill to be paid by the tax payer like wise in Greece all they achieve is to push the bill higher, increase cost to the state ie the tax payer also its not an ” Arab Spring” we live in a democracy we can vote out a government as we have done before and will do again, most of the protestors look familiar from previous protests people who turn up for any placard.

• joey baby, would love to hear what you think the way to go is?

• Ciaran the people who are posting negative comments or disliking positive posts/activities are the weak minded individuals among us. The people who will remain slaves or perhaps cannot comprehend life without been a tool in the corporate box. Brainwashed into believing life is all hunky dory! I feel sorry for them in a way. It’s up to the rest to fight for their rights too.

• Joe maher sounds like he’s happy to just keep bending over…

• I dont know all the answers Joseph but know costing me more money by people who from past experience that I’m bank rolling or somebody is, isnt solving the problem. They go around protesting the “Basness” of the state but dfeny any paet of it.
      Robert how do you know I’m weak minded what crireia do you use, it is that I don’t agree with you, strange you want Democracy or so you claim but what you really mean is that peolpe who don’t agree with you don’t deserve a vote or are some how less intellectual than you. We live in a Democracy so ther fore accept what that means

• The lack of public protests in Ireland is surely more dumbfounding and shocking than the occurrence of one? The CB assured all in sundry that Irish banks were as robust as can be prior to their implosion. One consequence was that retail investors held onto equities as part of their pension pot when the sell by date was well and truly up.

• Neil 08/10/11 #

The unions are relatively content with the deal they got, so no major protests.

• Ah Neil, still sticking with 100 over privileged students on wall street??

• Most people realise that other than protest votes all we would be doing is increasing the cost to us this is just a stupid arguement if the greek government went along with the opinion of the people protesting all that would happen is the country would no longer get money so instead of people gettingh rerduced wages is that ALL SERVICES (think about it) would stop (only for a while I will admit but how long is a while on life support) then a new order will bring about a leaher more efficrnt system (think soviet Russia) if this is the spring you want good luck I know I don’t but just remember Trotsky he got what he wanted

• Proud of all the people on the protest.

Issues being discussed here

http://www.politicalworld.org/showthread.php?t=9691&highlight=dame&page=3

• I think they’re great. Don’t bash them for trying something new. It’s criminal what goes on in these institutions.

They bet you can pay your mortgage and they bet that you can’t Win. Win.

They bet that you’ll be able to pay your car loan. They bet thar you won’t. Win. Win.

If they lose they’ll threaten governments that the fecking ATMs won’t work. JC. How much more bull manure are we willing to take?

• More Power to them!!!!!

• I don’t know that many of us ARE to blame but a protest IS an attempt to take responsibility for change. Certainly not the only way many of those present are trying to change things, maybe not even the most effective but it IS a valid way. And to the zimmer-frame soixant-oiutard above, there’s at least one of your fellows here, talking to the crowd and hanging out chatting. C’mon in. We’ll even feed ya.

• I have no issue with protesting, but their demands are ridiculous and it makes the protest in ireland farcical.

• you say “their demands”, tell me who are “they”?
      as for making protest in ireland farcical? are u in ur right mind? what protest in ireland? where?
      i see none, none whatsoever.
      i am relieved that there is now some sort of protest.

the greatest theft of the irish people has occurred, followed by the beginnings of new austerity and the loss of sovereignty, and yet you think this protest is farcical?????
      farcical is to think that we still have a country…

• @ Joseph, to answer your first 2 questions, please read the article. Of course I should have said “They’re” however.

I’m going to just take a step back for a minute and say when I know more about the purpose of this protest maybe I’ll get behind it, but from the article it just seems to have a fairly flimsy footing at the moment. I’d like to here more about their solutions to getting the demands and how exactly “lifting the debt” would work? amongst the other demands they have. Personally I would like to see a change to the limited liability laws, increase in powers to to corporate enforcement, and laws ensuring companies set aside appropriate amounts as buffer to deal with tumultuous times in the future proportional to profits earned. Not applicable to SME’s. That or some similar form of regulation which ensures company’s do not over leverage their financial positions………thats just my tuppence

• @David – I don’t agree with mist of your posts here, but that last long one us as near perfect: Most of us have differing demands and indeed needs and we want to talk about them just like you did. The #occupy movement isn’t really about specific demands, more so people are talking, airing views, trying to start an international conversation that we hope will go further than just a few days protest. Some one above said that gas resource protesters are hijacking the movement but thats missing the point. It can handle all manner of views and demands precisely because it is open ended and will develop over time in god knows what ways. I know that sounds mad fluffy, but there it is. Everyone seems to agree the place is fucked, now let’s actually discuss what to do beyond an election every five years.

• Oh Inn 08/10/11 #

Excellent demo, great atmosphere of hope. The numbers are not great YET (looked like around 150).
    I could not stay unfortunately. Fair party to those who are, it won’t be easy, but If you can maintain a presence there for a week then this thing will really build and build.
    There will be good crowds in dublin next saturday for at least 2 protests with similar aims (the enough campaign and # realdemocracy)
    There is a very real possibility that there will be thousands of us camped at the central bank soon. To bring this day closer, we should encourage unity and accept the small differences within the 99%. What we have in common is much more powerful than what divides us.

• The last time I had this kind of feeling of something being in the air was back in 1968. (Yes, that’s right–we parrots live a long time.) Good luck to ye all! I’d be down there in Dame Street myself if I could find my zimmer frame :-/

• they may be unfocused but they are right. the hegemony of the free market must be broken. in it we have created a monster that must be tamed or slayed.

• sorry but years of communism in the Soviet Uniuon didn’t break it and both Cuba and China have given into it so exactly where is “the hegemony of the free market ” going to be broken for crying out loud do people not read history are the lessons not going to be learned. Workers rights are now inbeded in legislation other ideas, rights can be put there too, if we work through the democratic process if we get involved. Sitting on our asses blocking people just wont work, all you will do is push people into entrenched postions particularly if you quote out of date political opinions.If you feel you have support and and an answer A REAL answer then form a political party , objecting to everyyhing is not going to work

• to qualify what I said: 30 years of Milton Friedman inspired Reganomics have allowed the deregulated financial market too much power and the result of this is the current global crisis. we need more regulation. we need to break the banks that are too big to fail into smaller banks, or ringfence like the UK are planning. we also need to tax the rich. I’m not advocating communism at all. it is a discredited system, much like Reaganomics in that respect imo.

• I am very sorry I did not know it was taking place. We need to keep our eyes and minds open and seize the opportunity to disown the debt that our children’s children should not be required to pay,
    In a stupid face-saving exercise some scared bankers persuaded our parliament to ratify an action which was repugnant to our Constitution.
    Capitalism has proven to be far more destructive than any of the isms mentioned above.
    Debt cancellation followed all previous unreasonable imposition of restitution terms on nations in the past.
    We need to be ready for the opportunity and never forget the weakest in our society.

• Nothing more depressing than reading journal.ie readers comments, some serious mongos out there. Well done to those intelligent enough to realise we are still oppressed by a tiny elite that struggle like a rabid bitch to keep us in our place. Hegemony to the mongos.

• What’s a mongo. Is it slang for being down syndrome?

• Intelligent enough running down those of who disagree with you just doesnt help if thats what you want then start sizing up the size of yopu Masters versus someonr else or are you trying to say those who dont have a degree sren’t asw smart as those that do you cant guage someone’s intellictuabilitty by your unknown level. Where are this tiny elite, how do they oppress us, how do you know so much more than others. By the way even tough they hvnen’t noticed it yet you have denegated all your supporters becauseyou wer getting more thumbs up, than thumkbs down.

• What the protesters don’t realise is that THEY are the 1%!

The remaining 99% are watching Xfactor!

• I guess the debate has started, so that’s positive

• Power to the people.

• We can be proud of these people, well done to them and we should all be joining them.

• There is a very simple reason that I’m not taking part in these protests, although I wish the best of luck to those organising them. They seem to be demanding that the IMF and the EU leave us alone, and allow us to manage our own affairs. I can answer straight out that they are being delusional. We need their support, or we’ll default.

I agree that liberal capitalism has failed us, but to be perfectly honest, there are a lot of things about liberal capitalism that I like. Mainly that’s the “liberal” part. I like being fully entitled to call the Taoiseach a bluffer and a liar, for going back on so many of his pre-election promises. I also like being entitled to call out Bertie Ahern, Charlie McCreevy and Brian Cowen, in that order, for ruining this country’s economy and destroying the Fianna Fáil organisation to the point where I get spat on for admitting to being a member.

I love freedom of speech and exercise it all the time. But I’m afraid that if the global economic system changes, then the corresponding changes will sacrifice the freedoms that I have grown to expect in our liberal society. That is something I would be very wary of.

There is no doubt that reform is needed, for the world to escape the threat of recession, but I would like those changes to be as minimal as possible, and that our natural rights be defended. Perhaps some will feel different to me, but I would rather be a free pauper than a rich slave of the state.

It would be good if these protesters could offer us an alternative. Of course this would mean forming a central organisation, but it would make them far more credible in my book. The people should know what they want, before they go tearing down government buildings and executing ministers.

That’s it in a nutshell.

• There’s a widespread argument that, just because a government that I didn’t elect enacted a policy (eg the bailout of Anglo-Irish Bank), that I should take responsibility for that policy as an Irish citizen. False. To take an extreme example for the sake of argument, the logical conclusion of that viewpoint would be that every German citizen should have taken responsibility for the policies of the Nazis–even those who didn’t vote for them, voted for their enemies or didn’t vote at all. (After all, Hitler achieved power in 1933 through democratic means.) That position is simply absurd. Just because the democratic (or “democratic”) system throws up an obnoxious result doesn’t mean that a citizen is morally or politically obliged to accept it (though they may be legally forced to do so by the government in power).

• So let’s see…
    The statement listed four demands:
    1. that the IMF and ECB “stay out of our affairs”
    **Nice idea… would have also been a nice idea if the FF government we repeatedly elected had not given a blanket bank guarantee in 2008. Ship well sailed – Maybe the protesters have a time machine.,
    2. that the bank debt taken on by Ireland’s government be lifted;
    **Great. The problem is we’re spending 20 billion a year more than we take in, in tax. I suppose someone else should pay that for us too. Or perhaps we should immediately cut that money now and screw the poor and needy.
    3. that offshore oil and gas reserves be “returned to the people”,
    ** We’ve issued, I believe, 7 licences out or 100 odd at a discounted rate. We have in our history landed a total of 0 oil and currently the Corrib field has landed 0 gas. Given that oil oil companies are greedy profit driven animals you’d think they’d be taking our hands off since they are getting such an amazing deal for squillions of oil/gas. I dunno almost seems like the figures we see are not true.
    4. and that “real participatory democracy” be established in Ireland.
    We just had an election. Perhaps though people should reflect on who they have been voting for over the years.

I’m all for protesting but unfortunately these guys are talking out of their arses.

• Just to be clear I hate the situation we’re in. But these protesters saying stuff that would make it worse/or are not true doesn’t help. They are currently building a 10 billion euro gas processing terminal in Norway, that’s because they have gas and oil. We have some numbers made up and so far no oil ever extracted in the history of this state and no gas from Corrib. Does the government have the expertise or the billions it would take to *hopefully* find oil/gas ourselves? The simple answer is no on both counts. So rather than dislike my post maybe you’ll show me how it’s incorrect.

• I didn’t elect the FF government. I don’t think I ever voted FF in my life (unless it was number 36 on the ballot paper or something like that). So by my reckoning, I have no moral responsibility for the bank guarantee.

• I didn’t either but we as a nation still elected them with the same give-away policies three times in a row. We as a nation (up until this last election) have never punished politicians for being corrupt. Worse they have topped the polls afterwards. The rot runs deep.

• sorry Paulthts how democracy works you don’t always get your way if you did it would be a dictatorship

• gary our politicians couldnt find the gas from their own arses!

• To the naysayers….obviously trolls. Probably FF/FG/LAB/UAL/card carrying members… If yor SOooo disinterested why all the shit talk? why waste your precious time here ??

• Oh Inn 08/10/11 #

By UAL I presume you mean the ULA, I am a member and I have just left the protest after being there all day, I would have liked to start all week but I have commitments.
      I also saw a few other faces I recognised from the ULA conference during the summer.
      I understand your discontent with ff, fg and labour, but you should not lump ULA in the same bracket.
      The only way the 1% can continue to exploit the 99% is through keeping us divided.
      The only way they can keep down the people who will fight back is to keep us divided, we have far more in common than we have differences, and we have the exact same general goal.
      Please do not assist the 1% in their efforts to divide us.

• Saying that people are trolls because they don’t agree with you will do nothing to help your cause!

• Nice one package averyone into neat groupings (presumably so they can be rounded up and shoot come the revoulyion) not a card carrying memeber of any of these groupings or af any grouping have a mind of my ow,n just being well read have actually read books by the way not just being told whats in them and also read the follow up history. Not disinterested JUST want to hear something sensible and workable, probably not a term your used too.

• Well done to everybody involved this is the begining of the end for them!

• Conor I think your failing to understand something very important here. Today is only the beginning, today you will see a lot of people gather. Tomorrow when the word spreads further you will see even more. When Monday arrives the true impact will be seen while continuing to grow bigger and louder. We are Anonymous. We are Legion. We do not forgive. We do not forget. Expect us. ;-)

• It looks like the people that used to sit on the steps before the put the fence up, only ten years older.

• This is an ENTERTAINING conversation! More like this, please!!

• Was it occupy dame St or occupy central bank plaza.

• where did all the emo teenagers hang out for the day?

• Ronald 08/10/11 #

‘Real Democracy Now’?

We only had a bloody election!

• I have read some of the comments here and the arrogance of some who think they know it all and think they are educated have so much to learn. We are the 99%, the cabal is the 1% but of the 99%, 80% are still asleep. Unfortunately we still have many sheeple here on this island who perhaps may never wake up, which means the ones who are awake have to fight for them also! A suggestion would be to get a filter for your drinking water as you are being poisoned and drugged by toxic fluoride fertilizer waste. We are being sprayed from the skies by chemicals and we are being poisoned by gmo foods. Don’t take my word for it, do your own research. Research also what democracy means!! The people who are elected makes many promises that they don’t fulfill. The Elite Cabal rule this country, along with most of the western countries. why are we paying billions to “TheRotchields” who are behind this along with large corporations and Big Pharma. All for Big Bucks!! You guys who are so smart here may have gone to Uni, mine is “The University of Life” but I can assure you I am wide awake. And yes I was at Dame Street today!! I have no affilation with a political party or anyone else, but I have children and grandchildren and I’m doing this for them. I suggest you guys stop and just think, and evaluate whats really going on, some of you perhaps have children, others not but one day you may have so before you start being cocky just stop and think!!!!!!

• Barry 08/10/11 #

Looks like a small enough group, can’t see them keeping the protest going through the week and longer

• for those who came out today u are fuckin heroes, for those who are cynical, u dead right , sure everythings fine, continue as u are sheeple and whatever the fuck you do dont start thinkin for yourself, its dangerous

• Usual suspects. students, Sinn fein, people before profit. They’ll clear off when it starts raining next week.

• usual suspects commenting on the usual suspects.

tho i think u may be a bit off the mark on this occasion.
      i am none of your ‘usual suspects’, and i suspect that there are 10s of thousands of
      severely pissed off people in this country who feel the same.

smithan_irl, a question for u, are u pissed off with what has been done to this country?

• Oh Inn 08/10/11 #

Every aspect of your comment is inaccurate!
      You have encapsulated so much inaccuracy into such a short sentence, poets everywhere will be jealous.

WOW

• So, just to clarify, the two respondents to my comment, you’re categorically denying you’re sympathisers/members of leftist parties? Sure..

• Oh Inn 10/10/11 #

Smithan,

I will clarify your inaccuracy for you.

The protesters at dame street on saturday were not the “usual suspects”, there was no official Sinn Fein participation and I would be surprised if any of the people there were sinn fein members. the same goes for people before profit. the people there have not cleared off when ot started to rain today and will not clear off when it rains for the rest of the week, Their numbers will only grow (expect a huge surge in numbers on saturday).

As for your latest comment:
      No i do not “categorically deny being a member/sympathiser of leftist parties”.
      I posted nothing to even suggest that, did you imagine that i did?

• Protesting at the Central Bank on a Saturday is bad enough, to do it when the building is accessible to the public through Open House is plainly stupid.

• Dont be so thick,. So what protest at night time? I suppose you were wrapped up in your nice bed with your warmth. These people are doing us a service , I joined them yesterday and believe they are doing more than you or I or anyone will ever do. Next time your mortgage shoots up and you cant afford a pair of clean jocks think about how you sold your soul to the banks…..

• Shell to sea on tour probably…getting windy and wet in the west now for them! I presume they are all "job seekers" claiming the said allowance from the state…

• A protest with no purpose, just a general noise making effort. To go out and protest for no discernible end result is absurd. If there was an actual point to it all, there might be more support. Frankly I’m too busy finding new ways to start businesses to sit around for pointless protests. So my Saturday’s have one, clearly defined objective:

#Occupy Couch

• too busy finding new ways to start businesses……..ha ha ha
      thanks for the good laugh jackass

• Oh Inn 08/10/11 #

The objectives of this protest were spelled out clearly in the article.
      They are not the sort of objectives that are achieved in one days protest, or even 1 year, but they are achievable and commendable.
      It will take many more protests and other political actions, but it is essential that these objectives are achieved.
      Good luck with your business, I hope you come up with something which enables you to make a good living while contributing to the general wellbeing of society.

• This so called "leaderless" movement has a list of demands that closely resemble the cries of most communist and socialist pinkos in this country. Quelle surprise!

Oil and Gas has NOTHING to do with the financial crisis and the aims of the #Occupy movement. This is a hijacking by the usual suspects.

I’d echo the comment above about "real democracy". We just had an election. The people who can’t accept that are being undemocratic in their actions.

• people who protest are undemocratic?? perhaps u need to RE-THINK that one

• We had a democratic election – TRUE.
      Which list of demands are you referring to? the ones I see appear well above board and acceptable in a democratic country such as Ireland.

Where is our Government? The only people I see in control of our country is foreign powers. They make the decisions, not Enda or Eamon! Don’t be fooled from what you read in the mainstream media. After all they are controlled and run by corporate entities feeding you what is needed for them to remain in full control without any negative action taken.

• Someone’s been reading Jim Corr’s website!

• Someone’s mind is polluted, the only thing I know about Jim Corr is he played the violin, or was it the guitar with his sisters? Nah his main idea from what I remember from the late late show was about September 11th…This protest is on another level altogether…But seeing as you went completely off the subject and are so completely uninformed/uneducated with your opinions about the real true society that is around you maybe you can answer the following question accurately… At the cinema which arm rest is yours?

• I asked early where they were occupying cause when I lived in Dublin(few years back now) there would be people on central bank plaza every sat protesting bout something or other. Also some of us may not live in Dublin and I’m sorry but the idea of taking a day off and traveling to Dublin doesn’t appeal to me. Also it would greatly increase my carbon footprint.

• There’s always someone else to blame. . . People should take more responsibility for their own participation in irelands demise. The demands are fantastical!

• Sigh!

• Love the transformer mask in the last photo!!!!!!!!!

• I know enough….

• The bail out of the banks was Socialism and not Capitalism.

Add New Comment