TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

In pictures: TDs take to the streets to urge boycott of household charge

Homeowners are expected to have arrangements in place to pay the €100 flat charge by next month.

Mick Wallace with a member of the public on Grafton Street earlier today
Image: Photocall Ireland

OVER HALF-A-dozen independent TDs took to the streets of Dublin today to urge members of the public to boycott the household charge.

TDs including Joe Higgins, John Halligan, Joan Collins, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Richard Boyd-Barrett, Mick Wallace, Clare Daly and Seamus Healy handed out leaflets on Grafton Street as part of the Campaign Against Household and Water Taxes (CAHWT).

The campaign has urged a boycott of the €100 annual charge being levied on all homeowners with the government hoping to raise €160 million in revenue. At the beginning of the month nearly 70,000 households had paid the charge, less than 5 per cent of those expected to do so.

The government is stepping up its campaign by leafleting some 1.8 million households across the country.

Homeowners have until 1 March to set up a direct debit to pay the charge in instalments after which they will have to pay the charge in full by 31 March or else face fines of up to 30 per cent.

The government argues that the measure is necessary in order to raise revenue and as an interim measure before a graduated property tax is introduced either next year or in 2014. However those against the charge argue that it unfairly and disproportionately targeting the poor.

They were spreading that message on the streets of Dublin today:

In pictures: TDs take to the streets to urge boycott of household charge
1 / 12
  • Anti-household charge leafleting

From left, Luke Flanagan TD, Joe Higgins TD, Joan Collins TD, Cllr Ruth Coppinger, Richard Boyd-Barrett TD, Clare Daly TD, Seamus Healy TD and Pat Waine. Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Joe Higgins talking to Marie Evi Ghealbhain, left, and Siobhan Evi Mhuircheartaigh from Kerry as anti-household tax campaigners were joined on Grafton Street by nine TDs.

Mick Wallace TD talking with Mary Lynskey from Co. Mayo Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Higgins talking to the media Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Wallace talking with Cera Jane O'Connell and nine-year-old daughter Rachel from Stillorgan Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Hundreds join County Galway campaign against household and septic charges

Over 68,000 have now registered to pay the household charge

Read next:

Comments (130 Comments)

• Having received the badly written information leaflet explaining this charge, I’ve noticed that unemployed people in receipt of council housing do not have to pay. However, unemployed people, not in receipt of council housing, who are paying mortgages, do have to pay. Does anybody else think that this is intrinsically unfair?. Not that I think any unemployed person, or indeed, anybody else should have to pay this gamblers bonus for failure, but if either of these two unemployed people are forced to pay, then I think the one’s that should bear the burden, should be the people who are already being subsidised by the state and not the people who are already paying their way regarding housing themselves.

• Household charge will at least double next year. It will be €1000 a year average within 5 years.

• They can take their household charge and shove it where the light don’t shine.

• So they say this household charge and then the property tax will go to funding the councils provide local services, The council doesn’t provide me with any services apart from water. So when water charges come in which will pay for the water, what will this tax pay for. I pay €1800 a year in management fees the council gives me nothing so why the hell should I pay this tax. Not to mention that I can’t afford it. And to those people going on about debt, bank debts are not my debts. I already am paying a mortgage for my house why should I pay a tax purely for owning a house!!

• As I commented in a previous post regarding the riots in Greece.
    The Irish, thank god don’t resort to violence.
    And we have proven this by merely refusing to register for this menacing tax.
    Keep it up.
    It is our civil right to object.

• Are u on drugs we paid already this is nothing at all to do with local services!!

• Aydo 15/02/12 #

Great, I’m glad people are not paying this gateway tax. Finally a small show of defiance from the Irish.

• don’t register, don’t pay or well be paying it forever and it will be way more than €100. yeah remember that house we encouraged you to buy that’s worth less than you paid for it? we are also gonna tax you for the privilege. enough is enough, we are tax maxed out

• The problem with the household charge is not the idea of a household charge but what will you get for your money? It will inevitably go up, some say to about 1000 euro. My road is full of potholes, there is no street lighting and the hedges at the junctions in my locality have to be kept cut back by us so that it is safe to drive on the roads. Does anyone really think that this will change if we pay the household tax? You would have to be very niave to think so I fear. By the by, I’m in favour of water charges. Here’s what your taxes cover in Cardiff: http://www.cardiff.gov.uk/content.asp?nav=2%2C2867%2C3415%2C5949%2C5953

• I don’t think that’s quite how this works. Nobody as far as I can tell is suggesting that we should not pay taxes or not pay our debts. People are angry over having to pay the debts of banks which should never have been socialized. I also don’t think David McWilliams is doing the same as Bertie. He was one of a number of economists that suggested things were going to crash and they were told by Bertie to go and commit suicide. I’m not saying that David McWilliams is right, I’m not an economist, but I am suggesting that you are wrong.

• I have nothing left to give these muppets. No construction job. No dole. Running out of savings. House worth less than I paid for it. Still paying around 75000 between vat and stamp duty on my mortgage. (pension levy) Stealing from the small pension i put aside. They still have their snouts in our pockets. Can’t take any more guys.

• It is my duty as a citizen of this puppet state NOT to pay this bond levy.

• If you’ve gone to the householdchargesignup.com (or whatever URL is) you’ll see that it’s really an information gathering exercise so in essence if you sign up, you are paying the Gov €100 to collect info about you. That makes no sense to me!!!!

• Ho Ho its off to Prison we go.

• You get an invoice today and it states that it is payable by the end of march.
    Why on earth would you be overzealous and pay it straight away?
    Especially under the pending circumstances!

• @angryjoepublic, don’t be an idiot!! How is that septic tank working out for you oh and your well? Oh wait no that’s right you got all that stuff for “free”.

• Not paying nothing. The quicker we bring down this scam, the better the prospects for our children.

• For the majority of people paying a mortage, we “technically” do not own our property outright, the Banks do!!
    Why should we be ripped off again. I am under no illusion that this amount will stay anywhere near 100 annually.

• The point that everyone has missed!!!
    “it’s not a law!!”
    It’s a statute..
    And as a statute , your consent is required in order to implement this charge..
    If it was law.. You would be obliged to pay it!!
    Don’t register, and you’re not giving your consent!!

• colm you got it right, and thats all we saying on vampire tax, ask said non political just I’ve a like

• for those.of you tempted by this statute nonsense…podcast today with pat kenny i think.last friday where a senior council rubbished this myth. whatever choice you make make sure its informed is my advice

• Colm, you are wrong. So you honestly believe the legal profession and government funded mainstream media don’t have a vested interest in peddling the tripe that you’re so gleefully swallowing? Believe what you like and pay what you like, it’s your choice of course, but you don’t know what you are talking about and you are wrong.

• Colm,

This is a complete myth started by eejits who can’t read. Anybody who believes that there is a magic get out of jail free card by saying it is a statute not a law deserves to go to jail for stupidity alone.

• Dec Rowe 16/02/12 #

This is like this governments punishment to all those gobshites (more than likely ex building sector employees) who availed of the 100% mortgages when the property Market was it’s height! Half of me thinks those people deserve it but the other half of me thinks that this government is all about the take take take, no, sorry Enda did go on a quest looking for jobs so that can’t be right! Probably over their agreeing to allow a us military base be built in Donegal! Wouldn’t surprise me!

• To all the lets pay the household charge brigade, will it stop at €100 or will it just grow and grow more every year? Does this not bother you? Have you never stood up for yourselves? Have you always bent over and played dead?
    And you are correct, this is a democracy so we can object to it, do you all work for the government?

• Ciara 15/02/12 #

I hope it does grow – into a proper property tax where rich people with big houses pay far far more than people with smaller houses and low to average incomes. The rich among us may be able to move their income and other capital out of the country, but it’s a bit harder to move their D4 mansions…

Then again, I’d be in favour of a progressive taxation system to fund decent public services, which might be a bit much to ask of Ireland.

• So if everyone pays this property tax, do you think we’ll see a marked improvement in public services? I for one don’t!

• @Ciara get a grip if you want to well pay but most people are not paying because it is unjust tax and we have given, given, and given even more enough is enough when all this government has done with our taxes is Kept their new buddies happy with the billions they have paid then from unsecured gambling and their friends in Germany and Kenny’s new best buddie in France very happy we will never see one red cent from this home tax and for the sake of repeating myself I Own My House And I Am Never Going to Pay Rent for My as in My Own house I paid for My House and not one mor cent will anyone get from mee

• Our state is so bankrupt we pay Enda 200,000 euros all our TDs should receive the average industrial wage with no expenses and no pension without 40 years of employment
    then see how many levies they would bring or hospital beds they would close.
    Not a cent more enda.

• Mick Wallace should pay all his own bills first tosser ,,,how many ppl like me are not in Ireland because of these greedy ppl the should be thrown out of Kildare st ,,, he once told me on a contraction site he would not hire Irish because he felt it was too much hassle I.e. Paying the right wages and benefits go back to the rock you came under from !!!!!!

• I’d say Mick Wallace has boycotted a few taxes in his time.

• @angryjoepublic I wasn’t moaning just stating fact. If they want to up income tax go for it but don’t pretend we’ll get something for our money because we won’t.

• not paying….. no way jose

• In Ming we trust!

• It’s another makey uppy form of theft. All tax is primarily a theft which people agree to pay. I quote

Theft as defined by Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act, 2001

4.—(1) Subject to section 5 , a person is guilty of theft if he or she dishonestly appropriates property (money) without the consent of its owner and with the intention of depriving its owner of it.

I don’t wish to be deprived.

I shall not be paying this tax.

• @ Mark Rodgers….. It Is a Happy reflection on the Irish People that we have guts to come out and defend our rights and show that we the people of Ireland will not sit back and take anymore B.S. from B.S. Politicians. It Is our CONSTITUTIONAL Right and DUTY to Our Country to Defend IRELAND and I will say it again that there are 95% of householders still have not paid and only 5% have paid looking bad for the B.S. Government

• its our constitutional right to elect a government, we then abide by the laws that they pass. if you don’t like them, vote them out at the next election. when people decide to pick and choose what laws they will abide by then society fails.

• It is only legal if you consent therefore don’t register don’t pay!

• Reg 15/02/12 #

That’s rubbish Fergal. Did you consent to drive on the left hand side of the road? Did you concent to pay income tax? Once the laws are signed by the president they become law. You specific consent is not required. Time to grow up.

• not true Fergal, so prob best off not spreading untruths.

• @ jack johnson.. Fair enough but 2 points in reply: 1- the parties in government won the election by promising policies that are far different than the policies they are now implementing!!! 2- if u see a dim flame in the corner of your kitchen, do you wait until the whole ground floor of your house is ablaze before you act!?!?..by not forcing the previous government out sooner, we have learned an almost catastrophic lesson on that one I’m
      Afraid!!

• Fergal is correct.
      Reg, specific consent is required, he did consent to both of your examples (assuming he drives on the left hand side of the road and pays income tax), by a) registering for a driving license and b) registering for income tax.
      The key word is register, look up where it comes from and what it means. While you’re at it have an in-depth look at contract law, statutes and acts and you’ll soon see a completely different set of rules to the ones you’re blindly advocating at preset.

• Jambbie 15/02/12 #

Gas the way nobody gave a bollix when the likes of meself and thousands like me were landed with a property management fee for a self contained house. €400 per annum to a developer driven money spinner. I’d gladly pay €100 a year to assist in the upkeep of my local area but I’ve to pay my MC charge plus the €100 so count yourselves lucky. Just for the record I live in a terraced 3 bed in north Dublin.

• if anyone interested, a few of us have got together to oppose this tax, you can find us on Facebook, vampire tax, non political

• Mr. Johnson, society has failed, completely. if only people actually listened to the one bit of sense spoken by a politician in years, a message of social solidarity by michael d. of course we have to get caught up in all the inanities and miss the important things. this household ‘charge’ is an affront to any self respecting individual in this country

• Does anyone else see something downright crappy by been pontificated to, threatened by and preached austerity to by millionaires who cream millions year in year out from this state with their vast wages, un-vouched expenses and a failure to grasp the reality that we are bankrupt.
    Things aren’t the same as the so-called good times and yet politicians still expect large wages and expenses, i’m sure the buddy buddy pay rise Mr Kenny gave his mate a while ago would go along way in filling potholes and maintaining public lighting.
    The 17.000 euro+ pay increase to a bloody “super junior minister” would mend a few cracks in the pavements.
    They have no empathy or realisation on what Irish policy makers have done to the average household, they are so out of touch.
    This rant goes to both sides of the Dail chamber.

• @angryjoepublic Why is privilege, which you spelt wrong, in inverted commas?

• For Higgins,Daly, Wallace etc. ‘the grand old Duke of York….he marched them up to the top of the hill….
    Bin charges all over again. And where are those populist agitators now? Enjoying the fruits of others labours.

• Will this shower pay the fines and levies incurred by those susceptible to their unlawful inducement?Chances are that those most likely to fall for their nonsense are the least likely to be able to afford the penalties.

• Of course they won’t. The trot councillors and TDs who persuaded some citizens in Dublin not to pay their bin charges have now left those citizens up shit creek with no paddles now they have moved onto the household charge campaign. Many people, including pensioners, have been left with significant arrears that they are being pursued for and from next week no bin service. Trot campaigns are about exploiting people in no position to defend themselves when the trots move onto their next big wheeze. Shame on them and on the Indo TDs more interested in column inches than in serving the people who sent them to the Dáil.

• Shane 15/02/12 #

Wouldn’t Wallace be better off paying his own taxes and not trying to get other people to boycott tax!!

• Reg, Statute…. You what that is? I’m only pointing out its flawed. Never said I was against it just pointing out its stupidity :) what a Little Country!

• Mary I have some news for you. Both technically and legally you own your house no matter what you owe the Bank.
    This household charge is levied on the owners of every form of housing unit
    and will clearly be increased to reflect values and relative incomes over the next few years. The vast majority of us knew it was wrong to abandon domestic rates back in 1977 in return for electing a Fianna Fail Government.
    In many respects our current problems stem from this period and we all have some level of culpability in that regard.
    Successive populations of voters elected and reelected those clowns who ultimately sold our sovereignty in return for providing Bertie a third term in office.
    Wow!

• would somebody tell Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan its not 1993 anymore? state of him.

• I think that I will buy that trailer for us after all. I would make it comfortable, and owning a house, brings alot of stresses as we have found out. How do those scumbags in the dail expect people here to pay all these stealth charges, when their wages are going down each year. Many people may not know this, and I am telling them now, that Pat Cox and his cronies met at the shelbourne hotel, and drank expensive champagne, and eating food at our expense. Will they not be liable for the household tax? They were probably talking about how to screw the people of Ireland for more money. Joe Duffy was saying yesterday, on liveline that this country has got very stalinist, and he was right. I have an article i cut out in the irish times about the wages the politician scumbags get and their advisors, and will iron it and post it, as the people of ireland have a right to know, what they are paying for, after all this is a democracy, or meant to be.

• This does my head in. What sort of left-leaning TD opposes a household tax, honestly? We can either have taxes, and social services, or fewer taxes and privitise everything worse than we already are.

Thumbsmack this comment all you like, this campaign is still a bit ridiculous.

• The household tax is a government tax, it’ll go to bond holders and bonuses. This is an EU/IMF forced tax, it even says it in the website: https://www.householdcharge.ie/Faq.aspx#fk1

• Ciara you can thumbsmack this comment all you like. I’m heading off to meeting tonight in Maynooth re Household Charge and I’ll be hitting the houses looking for people to sign up.

Don’t Pay. Don’t Register. Don’t panic. lol

This is our referendum.

• Ciara 15/02/12 #

If you keep reading after the bit where they mention it’s part of the Ireland/EU/IMF agreement it says “to put the funding of locally delivered services on a sound financial footing, improve accountability and better align the cost of providing services with the demand for such services”

It’s intended to pay for social services, not for bonuses and not for bondholders.

Some of it may go to bondholders, I don’t know, I don’t know if the money is ringfenced. I would hope it is.

But even if it isn’t ringfenced, the bulk of the 160 million revenue would surely go a substantial way towards keeping open the schools and hospitals the TDs pictured here claim they don’t want to see closed, and keep the social security net in place that these TDs claim they don’t want to see slashed.

They want it both ways – it’s blatant political opportunism…

• Ciara I agree with taxes. But our local services are beyond bad in most the country. I may have missed the majority of the Celtic tiger living abroad but the public transport is awful, my water has been brown for the past 5 weeks, my phone signal is pitiful, despite being with eircom my broadband is slow, siblings have had to emigrate and my income is being butchered. So I think its a bit more than lefty none sense to stand against this ridiculous charge. We pay enough!

• Don’t Pay. Don’t Register. Don’t panic……… I am totally against paying this tax As we pay our taxes to cover our services We paid Taxes on our home when we bought it we paid taxes on our mortgage while we paid it we paid taxes on every item we bought to make our house a HOME we will pay taxes for replacing such items through our lives we paid taxes on even the flowers in our garden to have our home look half nice and Now Why Should We pay a rent for OUR HOME That WE PAID FOR so on those grounds I Will Not Be Paying This Taxes

• Who paid for those leaflets and posters?

• I did P Wurple, along with hundreds of others who registered with the Campaign Against Household and Water Taxes.

You didn’t. Instead you chose to fund your Not So Local Bondholder. Congrats.

• I hope P Wurple is making the point that in the article it says “the GOVERNMENT is leafleting 1,8 million homes” and is therefore posing the question, who is paying for these leaflets… The 70,000 saps who handed over more tax to the FOOLS we have in Government (because there sure as hell not Governing us)!!

• You hope in vain Thomas. She’s definitely worrying is she paying for the protest ones. ;) P Wurple has already paid this tax. No refunds tho I’d say.

Every local branch is planning a local protest or gathering on the 25th February where you can have the pleasure of binning the government leaflet where we’ll recycle it. Find out about your local protest at 1890 989800.

• Riiiiight. So those who claim they can’t afford 100 quid are out spending money on stupid flyers? Makes sense.

I set up the installment payment, so 25 euro goes every few months. You can only do this up to the start of march. It is the way I keep my money for longest.

The govt are trying to fix the mess made by FF in removing rates in the 70′s in the first place. By loading rates entirely onto local business they made it unnecessarily difficult and expensive to start an irish business in this country. This has made us far more reliant on foreign investment than we should be. I want that fixed, back to the way it should be, to take some of that burden off small business.

People complain that everything is too expensive in Ireland, and why do irish businesses charge so much for things that can be gotten elsewhere cheaper. Rates are part of that. They need reform. This is that reform.

• Your aspirations are noble P Wurple, but you will be disappointed. Irish governments continually look outside Ireland for job creation. I think they won’t be satisfied until they have replaced every Irish business with a multinational one. The tax breaks given to them are criminal. Could anyone explain at how Facebook flushes $309M through Dublin but paid less than $309,000 in corp tax? I’m sure that tax bill came with an apology.

Oh but the jobs. They’re a lazy shower of apologists, Irish governments, don’t expect them to ring fence your money P Wurple. They won’t.

• David 16/02/12 #

Them lefties in the photo are a great reason to pay the household tax. A bunch of wasters, lawbreakers, tax defaulters and smack heads. Why not all give up work and close down our country like north Korea and just eat the grass or better again we could smoke it. Their wages would pay alot of household charges

• How could anybody that examines the picture accompanying this story believe that the gentleman in a pink tee shirt is a member of our National Parliament and that his dress is normal for outdoors in early February. When learning of his recent conviction in the Courts for non payment of employee pension funds how could anyone be convinced by him not to pay a household charge lawfully passed by the Parliament of which he is a member.
    This man is an absolute disgrace in terms of this campaign and it is regretful that we do not have impeachment regulations.

• Wouldn’t have expected anything else from Mick Wallace. Laws, sure they don’t apply to me. My employees taxes, I’ll just pocket it instead.

Guess he didn’t use all those unvouched expenses for laundry anyway…. Into the back pocket more like. Yoink!

How can people elect these corrupt feckers, and then cheer them on as they encourage yet more evasion?

• Part time democrats. TDs out telling people to break the laws that were democratically passed in the parliament
    that they were elected to having freely stood for election. Like it or not that’s how a democracy works. You are elected, you vote, sometimes your view is accepted, sometimes it’s not. Either way if you choose to participate in a democracy then you accept the democratic decision. Or are they suggesting we should have anarchy as an alternative where we only accept the decisions we like? It’s why none of them are fit to ever be in positions of responsibility. For anything. Because that can mean taking unpopular decisions. And none of these will do that. Ever.

• Wallace: “But Ma’am, could you really afford €100 on Buck House?”

• Steve of course this is a democracy and of course you can express your point of view . However Steve you must know that when the National Parliament passes a law the you cannot decide that you don’t like it and then ignore or flout the regulation so passed. Such behavior is quite obviously illegal and undemocratic unless you define democracy in some other fashion unknown this side of Hades!

• ill be paying. as will most normal folk. wait and see.

• its simple- even taking away bond payments we are spending about €10bn more a year than we are taking in. The money has to come from somewhere so we can bitch and whinge all we want or we can try our best to try work our way out of this. The boycott will lead to absolutely no good and its disgraceful that democratically elected TDs are urging people to disregard this charge that has been brought in by a significant majority of our national government.

• So it’s not disgraceful that democratically elected TDs, in government, blatantly break every election policy promise they made to the electorate… Including continous payment of unsecured Anglo Debt, cuts in frontline services and hikes in education fees!!?? And to top it off, they won’t stand up to the EU and ECB and represent the best interests of the ordinary people in this country!! Now theres the real disgrace… While they constantly overwrite salary caps for themselves and their buddies!!!! Haven’t seen you say that is a disgrace!!????
      Economic history and fact has shown that you cannot tax your way out of a recession! Here’s news for you- we are in year FOUR of recession and the austerity measures are my working and these extra taxes will only further deflate the domestic economy and also result in further unemployment as a result!!! Sorry, but I think you are in the minority as the campaign against these taxes has shown to date!!! The huge majority of people feel they are being represented by those 9 TD’s and not the ones With the election lies and 130k pa ‘advisors’ !!!!!!

• Dave 16/02/12 #

Untrue. 50% of this years deficit is bank related. Ditch that, and THEN i’ll pay whatever tax necessary to cover OUR debts.

• Nigel whether or not you can tax your way out of recession is not the point, You certainly can’t spend your way out of bankruptcy

• It is a sad reflection on modern society that Members of our Parliament are on the streets encouraging citizens to break the law.
    I have no difficulty with anybody taking a personal stance on any this or any other issue and if the consequences include Court fines or Jail sentences so be it. However when so called Democrats take it upon themselves to reject that same democracy and promote a break down of civil society then these
    Individuals should be seen as damaging to the National interest.
    Will Mr. Higgins or Ms Daly pay the fines of those unfortunates naive enough to get caught up in the marketing campaigns of a left wing movement. And haven’t we been here before with these same individuals acting in a similar fashion with bin charges.

• It is the citizens duty to object to and resist unjust laws.
      Even more so when this new tax has been imposed by outsiders.
      We are involved in an economic war, and sovereignty of this country has been taken away.
      It is the citizens duty to resist wherever necessary, and by all necessary means to repel these outsiders and regain our sovereignty and National Pride.
      If you receive some Government propaganda leaflet, forward it by post to Phil Hogan. His address is freely available on the internet.
      Since he is the mouthpiece for the Troika re this tax on our homes, let him deal with it.
      Don’t Register, Don’t Pay!

• I’d argue that its democracy that allows us to defy the laws of the country. If the majority don’t agree with a law imposed as a result of EU & IMF instruction, then it is the job of the Opposition TD’s to raise awareness about it. Furthermore, it is the job of the citizens to take action against decisions forced on them by unelected powers which in this case are EU/IMF.

• Ciaro 15/02/12 #

Mark, 3 people a day are taking their own lives, thats a 300% increase. Thousands are living below the poverty line. Thousands have emigrated leaving their families behind.

That’s what’s called breakdown of society, you need to open your eyes.

• The majority of the law is nothing but words written by powerful rich folk to protect their own interests and well being. Obeying the law does not always make us good law abiding citizen, sometimes it just makes us subservient fools!

• Iv registered and will pay this charge. I live in a country town.and am on mains systems. I recall the general election of 1977 I was 10 & my father was a big fianna fail voter. He was aghast at that manifesto..get rid of car tax get rid of rates…this policy was the catalyst for this mess. He always said rates were unfair but shoukdv been reformed and not got rid of. car tax was reinstated a short while after. Services cost money…simple! These whingers like Wallace and Claire NO NO.NO Daly would be better employed serking reform.to.our woefully outdated local govt and to ensuring value for tax spend than constantly trying to incite public disobedience. btw..im.a floating voter..non.alligned

• You and your dad were spot on. Ridiculous FF policy to load all the rates onto small business instead, which has harmed us no end, driving up the cost of doing business and employing anyone in this country.

• Bertie Ahern once tried to insight suicide!!! Also, I’ve been at 4 campaign meetings and 1 march and I have not heard one person decree civil disorder or agression!! And the Gardai complimented the organisers on the discipline of the march!

• read the comment…public disobedience i said..not disorder!

• This is a gate way tax … I will not pay it ! I can not afford it. I have always been tax compliant ,
      but enough is enough. This is truly an unjust unfair and unaffordable tax.
      The government will not use it for local amenities like they say they will . It is my democratic
      right to protest against this charge. The way I do it is by not registering and not paying.
      I would suggest that every one should go to a public meeting , even if you have paid , and listen to the speakers

• I dont have a choice Eileen. Disciplinary action if Im prosecuted for non.compliance and none of the organisers will support me in a discipline hearing

• David 15/02/12 #

Feel sorry for all the naive people being led by the don’t register, don’t pay brigade. It’s tax evasion they are encouraging plain and simple. Fair enough if they’re gonna pay all the penalties and charges for the people they convince to evade the tax but they won’t.

• Reg 15/02/12 #

So what are these idiotic TDs going to do when a graded property tax/council tax is intoduced next year, boycott it also?

The old property tax (stamp duty) has gone and has to be replaced. What do these bright sparks suggest?

• For all those thinking they are entitled to not pay this charge, what separates you from those who think they are entitled to claim the dole even when working? Both are ways of scrounging from the state…
    Several other countries have household rates, get on with it…

• Dec Rowe 16/02/12 #

So many people so willing to give up and roll over in this country!!!!! No wonder the Brits walked over us for so long and they would be still at it if it hadn’t been for a handful of us!
    They’d be rolling in their graves now!!!

• Rob 15/02/12 #

honestly i’d bet any of you your €100 charge that children in 1st class could figure this one out!!

if i go to the shop and spend – say €120bn – do i
    a) pay it back by raising taxes or
    b) not pay it back – cos i dont like what i got with my money

tough sh*t folks! we owe it – we pay it! can be by household charge or broadcasting charge or cutting welfare to little old ladies with cats!
    we’re not supposed to like it! what kind of sicko would actually like receiving their wage after someone took money out of it – and then going to the shop and paying more tax and going home and paying tax on that too in your car which you pay tax on!! its not supposed to be fun!! Bertie made all of that up just to appease people who think thats how it can work! now David Mc is making a tidy little sum for himself – on which i guarantee you he pays taxes – by spooning people with the same stuff!!

• I’d s

• We all will end up living in trailers! Welldone Annette, will look up your facebook page as soon as!

• Nozaed 16/02/12 #

The Country is in an awful way and everyone ends to shoulder this burden. Look at Greece in the last few days, thank God our Government is guiding us out of scenes like what we have seen in Athens.

Yes it’s not nice paying more, but we have to sort this mess out and unfortunately €100 is what our Government has proposed.

Also I trust Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore more than ‘Ming Hasheader’ , ‘Mick don’t pay your workers Wallace’ ‘Richard snob Barrett.

Add New Comment