TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Indian minister taken to court over ‘old wife’ remark

Women’s groups and opposition parties laid into the minister following the comments made at a Hindi-language poetry meeting.

Indian Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal in 2008
Image: Mustafa Quraishi/AP/Press Association Images

An Indian cabinet minister landed himself in hot water yesterday after claiming that wives lose their appeal with age.

Speaking at a Hindi-language poetry meeting in the northern city of Kanpur on Monday night, Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal had said: “An old victory, like a wife of many years, loses its charm over time”.

A non-governmental organisation, Lakshy, has now lodged a complaint in the court of the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate NK Pandey, BBC reports.

The lawyer for the petitioner Anita Dua of Lakshya said a recording of the minister’s comments has been submitted to the magistrate.

After footage of his comments was aired on news channels, several women’s groups and opposition parties laid into Jaiswal who is from the ruling Congress party.

The main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party demanded an apology from the minister for making a “sexist remark” and labelled him as an “insensitive” man.

“We will write a letter to the prime minister. We demand an apology,” she told reporters.

The comments also sparked outrage on Twitter. “Sriprakash Jaiswal is definitely gonna be slapped by someone,” tweeted one user called Dhanya Rajendran.

Jaiswal yesterday said he had been quoted out of context and had not meant to cause offence.

“I don’t want to insult women. My statement was just a joke,” he told reporters.

- (c) AFP 2012

- Additional reporting by Michelle Hennessy.

Read next:

Comments (21 Comments)

• Well, it just goes to show that auld fellas lose their charm too. Leave him alone!

• Sure it sexist alright, but only when men do it. If a female politician said something similar about men we would be talking about how ‘empowered’ she is.

• You have a point Arch, I remember seeing someone’s avatar picture on The Journal as saying “Feel your Boobies”, a reference to breast cancer I assume and thats fine, a humourous way of getting across a serious message. But, if a man were to have a similar one saying “Feel your Balls” to illustrate the same point about testicular cancer would it be treated in the same humourous light, I doubt it.
      Society tends to have preconcieved views on things, when we think of an older woman with a younger man we think cougar, vixen, but if it’s an older man with a younger woman we tend to think sugar daddy, dirty old git.

• Tommy C 03/10/12 #

Rusty, its women who make their men check for lumps and who force them to attend doctors. I dont think any woman would have an issue with that. Maybe thats why men in relationships and marriages thrive!

• Tommy I think you missed my point, and do men in general a disservice, breast cancer is by far more prevalent than testicular cancer, although it can happen to men too, but testicular cancer has one of the highest cure rates. What we tend to see is humourous adds and fund raising events for breast cancer, it’s just fun, who could have a problem with that, but if the same criteria were used to fund raise for men’s cancer’s I believe there would be a problem. As I said, if there was a funny graphic of men’s genitalia with the logo “Feel your Balls”, or instead of “Dip in the Nip” maybe a concert with tho logo “Rock your C**k”, or could you imagine thousands of men running marathons with large blue balls hanging off them to raise money for men’s cancer’s, I think some would have a problem with that.
      Some women may encourage their partners to check their health and, no, nobody could have any issue with that, but both my friends who had testicular cancer found it by accident, one as a result of an assault and the other by a routine medical for a job. Virtually every woman knows how to check for lumps, but does every man?

• Women are more pro active when it comes to their health, that’s a given. In saying that, I’ve never seen a benefit concert called “feel your tits up” or seen women running marathons with massive fake tits (although I have seen men doing it). Not really sure where the comparison your drawing is. In general, the campaigns tend not to be crude… and neither do the men’s, for example the movember campaign. Still… I can’t see society out with the pitch forks if they were a little more tongue in cheek. I think you’re looking for prejudices where there aren’t any.

• Deirdre I agree that women tend to be more proactive about their health, I’ve never seen a concert by that name either, but if you find one be sure to let me know please. My comparison is that while it is acceptable to wear fake breasts for fundraising, regardless of who is wearing them, and have campaigns with graphics and slogans I described for women’s cancers would the same be acceptable for mens cancers, funny fake genitalia, graphics and witty slogans (ok, maybe mine could do with some polish).
      We both agree that women are more aware and willing to do something about their health than men, I’m just asking why that is, could the greater exposure, fundraising and willingness to discuss their health be a factor.

• Tommy C 03/10/12 #

Rusty, testicles arent the most attractive of items so no wonder no one wants to see a pair on a poster! Ive worked in a hospital lab and we got testicles in every single day. Men need to be more proactive about our own health and stop moaning that women are out there doing it for themselves. Breast cancer is far more serious and is a genetic thing to some extent. Testicular cancer isnt. Fair play to Des Bishop for being honest about his cancer. Lads, time to grow up! soap up and check your balls!

• I guess that’s a question for the men. Although the movember campaign is one of the slickest and wittiest I’ve seen!

By the way, do you think the same could be said for cervical cancer? That’s an altogether more humourless campaign. I’ve seen more funny depictions of willies in general than cervixes (sp).

Tell you what, why don’t you write “feel your goolies” across your avatar and see how many people respond negatively and how many people respond positively to it? I think it would be great!

• Tommy & Deirdre I agree with much of what you say, fair play to anyone who can help raise awareness of health issues. I once met an old woman in hospital who defeated cancer 4 times, lovely woman. I agree about the Movember campaign, and others. As to my avatar, err… seriously? But I take your point. Thank you.

• Tommy C 03/10/12 #

People of both sexes will chat about breast and testicular cancer but ive seen men shudder when the cervical cancer ad comes on telly. Its sad but true!

• Peter Robinsons wife and the young fella ?

• Right we can’t have politicians having a sense of humour at a gathering of humourless people.

• Of course he should not have made such a statement in public, but with millions of Indians living in absolute poverty, and corruption endemic, these women’s groups have got their priorities all wrong

• An old wives tale .

• Proof definitive that politicians are encouraged by the electorate to lie- and punished for telling the truth

• Thats the women for you.

• The defining point was age, not sex. It was age-ist not sexist…

• Thanks Captain Obvious!

Add New Comment