TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Ireland pledges $50k in funding for New York community devastated by Hurricane Sandy

The Government funding is part of a $320,000 totbal to be provided to community projects in the areas most affected by Sandy.

Image: Mark Lennihan/AP/Press Association Images

MINISTER OF STATE Brian Hayes has travelled to the New York neighbourhood of Breezy Point today to announce Irish Government funding of $50,000 to help the regeneration project in the area.

Hayes will attend the reopening of a community centre, devastated by Superstorm Sandy last year, which is used by 350 young people who are involved in athletics programmes in the area. Now fully refurbished, the centre’s reopening will mean that the Breezy Point youth athletics programme can be restarted immediately.

The funding of $50,000 is part of a total of $320,000 (€250,000) to be provided to assist Irish-American communities in New York and New Jersey most affected by the natural disaster. The Irish Government has already allocated funding of $60,000, which was dispersed equally between the three Irish Centres in New York – the Aisling, Emerald Isle & New York Centres to assist their pro-active response to the impact of Sandy. The Centres’ support has ranged from acting as co-ordinators for the distribution of clothes and food as well as outreach initiatives to people in the various locations.

Speaking at Breezy Point today, Hayes said:

Sometimes it is in adversity that we see the very best of people, and the response of the community to support the recovery efforts in the areas most impacted by Sandy, has been hugely impressive. The two ‘Irish Days of Action’ organised by the Consulate in the immediate aftermath of Sandy saw over 1,500 people travel out to the Rockaways and other areas to lend a hand in the clean up and recovery efforts. Since then, the focus has moved to rebuilding the community infrastructure.

He added that he hoped the funding and support of the Irish Government for community projects will help in “a practical and meaningful way.”

The Minister also spoke of his visit on Friday to the Irish Arts Centre in New York where, the Office of Public Works in Ireland has been lending its considerable expertise in architectural design for a number of years to the Arts Centre for its exciting project of the development of a new purpose-built Centre on a site donated by the City of New York

The Office of Public Works has noted that the emergency funding to Irish voluntary organisations is being made available from within existing resources in the budget of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and complements the work already being undertaken by the Consulate General in New York, which cooperates closely with the Irish community organisations concerned.

Ireland pledges k in funding for New York community devastated by Hurricane Sandy
1 / 8
  • Breezy Point

A sign for Ocean Avenue stands in the smoldering ruins of houses in the Breezy Point section of New York, Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2012. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)
  • Breezy Point

A mailbox with a lighthouse design sits on the porch of a burned out home in the Breezy Point section of Queens borough of New York, Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2012. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)
  • Breezy Point

Aerial photo shows burned-out homes in the Breezy Point section of the Queens borough New York after a fire. (AP Photo/Mike Groll, File)
  • Breezy Point

Damage caused by a fire in the Breezy Point section of the Queens borough of New York is shown. (AP Photo/Frank Franklin II, File)
  • Breezy Point

Oct. 30, 2012, file photo: Robert Connolly, left, embraces his wife Laura as they survey the remains of the home owned by her parents that burned to the ground in the Breezy Point section of New York, during Superstorm Sandy. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan, File)
  • Breezy Point

This Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2012 aerial file photo shows the Breezy Point neighbourhood, in New York, where more than 50 homes were burned to the ground as a result of Superstorm Sandy. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan, File)
  • Breezy Point

A Verizon lineman makes repairs on overhead wires next to a burned house in Breezy Point. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)
  • Breezy Point

A Verizon lineman makes repairs on overhead wires surrounded by burned houses in Breezy Point, Thursday, Jan. 31, 2013 in the Queens borough of New York. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Seems a bit of a daft PR exercise- I’m sure the trip over for him and his entourage must have cost at least 20% of the amount donated?

• Wait, we are giving aid to the richest country on earth, millions to Africa all while being bailed out with severe austerity? This country is unbelievable.

• Agree. A country that spends hundreds of billions on it military per year. I agree with helping but thry don’t really need it as a country. That money would help q few very hard up families here put food on table. If we were flush with vash fair enough but we are not

• I agree Seamus but reading the above there seems to be plenty of money in the country….let’s help Tom and Gerry whilst our society falls apart at the seams…. Reminds me of the famine, whilst our own were left to die on the side of our roads by the millions ships loaded with food were leaving our harbours to foreign shores, again…it’s the one who don’t need to decide for the one who do….pathetic societal system…

• Who decide*

• they can spend 3 trillion on illegal wars and give funding to gangster state israel. why would they need pittance of 50grand. that wouldnt cover hayes trip.

• Ive no problem with giving aid to USA but we just cannot afford it. €50,000 would help keep one Garda station open and the hundreds of millions given to Africa would go along way to help the Health Services. I just despair. Country is run by crooks.

• Ya know what, I disagree with this principle. There is no need to take money from poorer people in this country and give it to bureaucrats in the US.

Let people give it personally, not taking food out of poor peoples mouths.

• The maddness continues. This goverment has lost the plot.

• Good move were throwing a sprat to catch a fish

• How about that 50k for the homeless in Ireland ???

• Séamus 03/02/13 #

absolutely. Very sad in all honesty.

• Ah come on lads you wouldn’t expect the Irish to help their own?!….more in line to drive them further into the mud….they’d rather give €50,000 to homeless people in the US that €50 to a homeless here because they have pre-branded the one here as useless, a sponger and whatever else!
      typical Irish mentality towards their own…

• 50k? He must have been rightly embarrassed traveling over to pledge that paltry amount.

• Mark 03/02/13 #

How can people possibly give out about 50k going to a community in pieces when greedy politicians are claiming 60k+ in expenses.

Time people directed their anger accordingly.

• It’ll be well appreciated, good Karma

• Am I really missing something here? All the monies donated by this government in foreign aid, regardless of the recipients, is borrowed at interest and repaid by…. go on, repaid by? What a muppet nation! Everyone is getting paid out……. from corrupt African regimes to even more corrupt European suits and it’s ALL being borrowed in YOUR name. ah whist….

• Séamus 03/02/13 #

Yes, that is the way. We are being bailed out with taxpayers paying to aid African countries, meanwhile Irish people suffer in poverty. I forgot, we should also invite half of Nigeria aswell to the party. What the h*** is going on.

• Excuse me? I’m all in favor of helping other countries when necessary, but what about our own people? Little children going to school hungry, while their parents struggle to pay bills, a mortgage and put food on the table.For the government to pledge 50k to America is frankly disgusting to me!

• If every country followed that line, no first world country would ever donate anything to any third world country. There will always be poverty in every country. But our poverty is nothing compared to the suffering elsewhere, luckily. You can debate the relative merits of sending money to the US, but to extrapolate from that to say we shouldn’t send any aid money at all to anywhere is a total over-reaction.

• Apologies I see that I’ve misconstrued your comment and that you were talking specifically about the US – I meant to reply to a previous commentator.

• This is Ireland and we need to look after our own Irish people. That is what a country is all about. Look after Irish people, not bloody foreigners.

• How is any child going to school hungry, you would feed a family a breakfast of portage for a week for less than a fiver. We but two bags of portage a week for under five euro and it feeds 4 adults for the week.

• Seamus, have you seen the thumbs down on comments referring to supporting our own over sending money abroad, as always the Irish are the best at knocking their own. Heck!….We don’t need Europe to drag us in the mud, we are good at doing it to ourselves and have done it for generations…

• Séamus 03/02/13 #

Seems to be the way David. Seems alot of Irish people have complete disdain for their compatriots.

• Oh for goodness sake Neasa, there are plenty hungry children, I know because I teach them. You might take a look at the bigger picture!

• Explain to me how a family can not afford to give a child the cheapest meal of the day. Sure children’s allowance alone would buy a serious amount of porridge. I too work with children all of the time and there are other issues in a house when things such as a bag of porridge for less than two euro can not be purchased.

• Go on Neasa, what other issues, you seem eager to bring these “other issues” up as they were the culmination of reasons why children may not be properly fed and of course they are the rule I suppose.
      Pre-judgment of our own prevails well in Ireland, well let me tell you that “feeding a child” or an adult for that matter on porridge when he/she is out on the streets doesn’t bid well… but I suppose you are of the camp, if there is no bread let them eat cake type of person because you do sound like that, excuse me if I’m wrong….. It’s amazing, a few comments up I wrote about the famine days and how similar the events are, do you really want to see our children go back to the porridge and gruel of the workhouses?
      You say you work with children, well I’d suggest that if you are feeding your children porridge 24/7-365 then I wonder what you are feeding them for a main meal and it worries me. Maybe a call to social services might be in order? Remember this Neasa, whilst you stand in judgement of poorer families from your pedestal do so in the knowledge that PRISONS offer better food, better heating and better TV choice (and more) than the law abiding citizen/children of our current society. It really begs belief, they gave a “right” to a basic common treatment….wtf is happening here?

• To David Stephens if you look at the comment I was replying to the individual was talking about children going to school hungry because of parents paying bills etc, no mention of homelessness, so my point was that no child should be going to school hungry because porridge/breakfast is one of the cheapest meals to provide for a child, now if you read back over the comments you will see that there was no mention of any other meal of the day so don’t know where you are getting this from. Also all of this has got to do with an article which was published about a week ago on the journal which headlined that children are going to school hungry, but if you read the article then you would see that although x amount of children are going to school hungry more reported having sweets and dizzy drinks ever day.

We have irish people giving out all round about Irish people having to leave Ireland, an how sad it is, and yet when there homes get washed away in the places they are living now we do not want to offer any support.

• Couldn’t have put it better myself, thanks Stephen.

• Neasa, if you read my comment you will understand that children going to school hungry might be because the “overpriced” mortgage has to be paid so cuts need to be made on the table, some families will cut food, others cut the phone, the channels whatever they need to meet the most overwhelming bill in any household, the mortgage.
      So it’s a case of either feeding your family and loosing your roof, or cutting your feed and keeping your roof…..not rocket science……
      You are in your early 20′s so please don’t patronise parents double your age about what they should be feeding their children, even if you do have children, you certainly don’t have long term experience.
      You seem young and naÏve and as teenagers do think you have all the answers no matter how immature the reasoning… Do you have a mortgage? do you have children? Did you buy in the boom years? Do you pay for school? Are you liable for property tax? Water rates? Perculation tax? Do you need a car to go to work? Insurance? Road tax? Do you work? Hmmm….

• Not only are we donating to a country that spend so much on Warmongering and has by far the biggest defence budget on planet – but this is the same country from whence Freidmanns Neo- liberalism came – and the Deregulation of the banks – that gave us casino banking .
    i would not give them a penny . The US govt were slow about helping Sandy victims – said it needed an act of congress – altho it also needs an act of Congress for US to go to war – but Obama did not bother with that . The sandy victims were left to suffer during c/mas and afterwards – while politicins partied .

• We’ll make it back in no time with all the dosh that’s going to start rolling in from the gathering.

• Oh for FUG SAKE IRELAND get a grip.

Why can’t kenny hold his dirty up and say to the world ‘sorry everyone we are fuged for cash so any we have we are keepin it for ourselves’

• OU812 03/02/13 #

Surely spending the 50k on flights & accommodation for out of work tradesman would have been better?

• Is this part of the gathering haha?i know 50k isnt much in the grand sheme of things but it still makes me feel v.uneasy we r donating anythin to the richest,blood sucking,murdering empire in the world!

• Surprise surprise everyone’s whinging about the recession

• To some of the people above- read the article! This money is going to the irish community affected by the hurricane. It’s the irish helping their own. The federal govt over here will be spending $50- 60 billion rebuilding the areas damaged or destroyed by the hurricane. It’s not like the US has its hand out looking for donations. Also keep in mind that tens of millions of dollars have been raised and donated to ireland by the irish-American fund over the years. There are plenty of people hurting over here but I don’t hear irish people saying “no, no keep the money we don’t need it, help your own first”
    Lots of countries in this world give to other countries in time of need.
    The phrase “charity begins at home” is meaningless.

• Haiti was torn asunder by the same hurricane, more dies there than anywhere else, people were in terrible poverty in Haiti since the previous hurricane, barely a mention of it on Irish media compared to damage in the US, as a PR stunt this is pathetic. Hayes and his bloated entourage will cost practically €50000 to get there, if not more, when all expenses are calculated, for them to hang around for a few days, nodding their heads etc. I’m all for helping people in need but this is a bad joke.

• So he has to travel no doubt 1st class to announce this , Brilliant

• That’s great positive news to hear. Is there a way to donate via text credit I wonder? Its a brilliant way to help out good causes.

• The irish people should be asked if we can give money. Majority of people may say yes but is it not nice to be asked so we actually feel part of our own country?

• We can’t even look after people in our own country……..

• It had been just 16 years since the Choctaw people had experienced the trail of Tears, and they had faced starvation. Midway through the Irish famine, a group of Choctaws collected $710 and sent it to help starving Irish men, women and children. What made the Choctaw donation so extraordinary was the tribe’s recent history. Only 16 years before, President Andrew Jackson (whose parents emigrated from Antrim) seized the fertile lands of the so-called five civilized tribes (Chickasaw, Cherokee, Creek, Seminole, and Choctaw) and forced them to undertake a harrowing 500-mile trek to Oklahoma known as the Trail of Tears. Of the 21,000 Choctaws who started the journey, more than half perished from exposure, malnutrition, and disease.

Add New Comment