TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Ivor Callely released without charge

The former junior government minister was released from garda custody this afternoon and a file is now being prepared for the DPP.

Ivor Callely
Image: Photocall Ireland

FORMER JUNIOR GOVERNMENT minister Ivor Callely has been released without charge by gardaí who had arrested him yesterday as part of an investigation into the use of fraudulent receipts.

Gardaí say that the 53-year-old has been released from Irishtown Garda Station this afternoon and that a file will be sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The former Fianna Fáil TD and Senator was arrested at his home in Clontarf yesterday and detained in connection with breaches of section 26 of the Criminal Justice Act 2001.

The arrest was part of an investigation into his use of fraudulent receipt when claiming expenses for mobile phone kits as a TD in 2002. He was able to claim over €2,800 using headed notepaper for a company that went out of business in 1994. Callely said he had withdrawn the claims and paid back the money.

The Dublin Central TD was a junior minister in Bertie Ahern’s government between 2002 and 2005. He lost his Dáil seat at the general election in 2007 and was appointed to the Seanad which he left in April of last year.

Earlier: Ivor Callely remains in custody after detention period extended

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• Callely must’ve borrowed the yellow crook suit off Bertie?

• Golf anyone?

• Regardless of wether he ‘”withdrew his invoices or paid the money back” he broke the law, he tried it on and got caught he tried to defraud the public purse, the tax payer and as such he should be charged with that offence. He has already admitted that he did it so he should stand trial and if there is any justice left in the banana republic then he should be convicted and jailed for the maximum term in order to send a message to other looters that they will be punished and they will do time for their crimes. He should be made an example of as he was in a high public office when he decide to forge these invoices also it is a measure of the man that he sought to push the blame on to a deceased man who allegedly gave him the dodgy invoices “in good faith” of course he still done the fiddling, nobody forced him to submit false claims! This doesn’t take into account either his travel expenses fiddle between his Cork ‘holiday home’ and the Dail whilst living and working in his one of his Dublin properties, then there was his house being painted for free by a building firm?, his wife ‘won’ the franchise to run the hairdressing salon in the new Beaumont Hospital when he was chairman of the Eastern health board? Call me cynical but surely if ever there was a crooked politician then it’s Calelly. He should be locked up, you can be sure that if it was some ordinary Joe who fiddled the benefits system he’d be doing time along with paying back the fraud. Also, he should lose all entitlement to any state pensions now and in the future as a result of his fraud, to add insult ti injury he is currently drawing a €14,000 pa pension from the tax payer, who says crime doesn’t pay? He was also recently awarded €17,000 in lost earnings thank to him winning a case against the incompetents in the Seanad another tax payer funded windfall for the chancer. Just shows what a broken screwed up country Ireland really is when you see ordinary people being browbeaten into the ground and criminals like Calelly raking it in and laughing all the way to the bank at the expense of the same hard pressed law abiding citizens.

• You say it is incompetence that allowed him to claim back from the Seanad. I don’t, it is perfectly deliberate. It gives the trial and they can blame the judge or procedure or a cold committee and say well that’s the law. Firstly the law here is bent and provides many loopholes for the golden circle here and secondly they know it well, have lawyers advising them on procedure etc.

Same as your local guard can bollox up the paper work, if you play ball with him, on your drink driving charge. Same as that Judge in Kerry on very serious charges who was left go because the guards were a day late handing in the paperwork.

All unfortunate coincidences that benefit a very select few friends and privleged at the expense of everyone else. It’s the laws version of Brian Lenihan’s budgets.

• Gimmick politics of the highest order.
    When the last bondholder payment was handed over Anglo’s finance director was hauled in and released without charge.
    Now another crook is hauled in overnight while taxpayers money is again handed over.
    Does this not display a worrying level of political influence being exerted over the Gardai.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1101/anglo-business.html

• Simon 26/01/12 #

So paying back the money after getting caught is now acceptable in cases of fraud in this country? I can’t seem to locate what legislation that is under.
    The point of criminal law, is to prosecute for the act (at the time of the offence), with the relevant mental culpability (at the time of the offence). The coincidal of actus reus and mens rea.
    As far as I can see, at the time, he intended to make a gain for himself, by the use of a false instrument with the intention that it be accepted as something genuine. The fact that he got caught, and as such subsequently paid back the money, does not mean that the offence did not take place.

• It never ceases to amaze me that people actually walked into a polling booth and wrote the number 1 beside this clown’s name. I saw him in his local bank recently and he made sure everyone could hear him say “Have a nice weekend” to the bank assistant in that annoying sing-song voice of his. What a horrible little sleeveen.

• Going down the same road as that smug b*****d Seanie Fitz….all smoke and mirrors. They may as well send the file to Santa Clause for all that’ll be done about it. Two tier Ireland is alive and well..

• FF have been stuffing the courts and the top of the guards, the DPP, etc with gombeens and yes men, who know that they are only in those positions because of favour.

There has never been a corporate criminal trial in Ireland, the only country in the Western world not to have one.

Directors of companies rarely if ever get sentenced and served jail time. We are the lowest in the western world here as well.

If Callely was a Shinner I can guarantee you that they will and the evidence for a conviction would be assured, the bar for evidence would be a hell of a lot lower.

There is absolutely no will in FG/Lab. to deal with FF criminality in this state. They are accomplices.

Someone will be made a scapegoat, to keep the people happy, they’ll get a few years, much less than what they deserve and it will be very much taking one for the team. Who will the fall guy be.

• Spot on, Mart_N. A total w***er.

• If he is found guilty then the only punishment for greed should be that everything should be taken from him, including his freedom.

• As I posted yesterday.. Did anybody really think that the ‘arrest ‘ yesterday was anything other than a smokescreen to distract away from the Anglo Bond Payments !!?????

• mart_n 26/01/12 #

He looks innocent to me. How could you not trust that face?

• That’s how it works, Paul. Gdí investigate & the DPP decides what charges, if any, are to be made. The DPP decides on all charges made against a person in the State. All charges/summonses are proceeded with at his direction. The Gdí investigate & take the case to Court on behalf of us all via the DPP’s directions.

• It seems censorship applies to this thread big time. Comments removed. So much for freedom of speech, freedom of expression & freedom of opinion.

• slimy weasel faced little rat, one of bertie’s favourites no doubt .

why were we not allowed comment on this story in your other 2 articles about this cur?

i am beginning to think the journal operates at the behest of fianna fail .

• His solicitor said, mr callely is completing innocent of any wrong doing… Ha. Falsifying documents for your own gain, did you miss that bit?!

• The expenses regime in Leinster .house has been flawed for years. How else can one explain the popularity of the lower 15k unreceipted allowance over the higher 25k receipted allowance? I heard today on the news that a total of eleven Garda and nineteen from the DPP’s office are devoted to Anglo. It seems an incredibly small number assigned to investigate the bank that has bankrupted the country and severely altered the lives of millions of citizens for a generation. Rather than make a fool of himself recategorising emigration as tourism, Noonan, and the rest, should be shovelling human resources into the Anglo investigation. Pity the Bloomberg crew at Davos didn’t lob this issue at Kenny. The real question to ponder, and when the ULA and Technical Group pause for breath they might ponder it, is why so few resources are being devoted to the Anglo investigation?

• Dee 26/01/12 #

Ah ha were abe to leave a comment….propaganda

• So the cheque has been signed n delivered…distraction no longer needed , how much of tax payers money was spent questioning him and detaining him.

• If you see the photos of him leaving the garda station today you will see he was not the smiley , chirpy little rat that he normaly is, hopefully more jail time in line for this scumbag should lessen his stupid false public persona smile, and teach him a lesson ,thieving scum big time should be locked up and the key thrown away

• Yet

Add New Comment