TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Joan Burton to visit New York today to tell America that Ireland is great

The trip is the latest in a series of visits to America by senior Irish politicians recently in a bid to promote Ireland’s business and tourism.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR SOCIAL Protection Joan Burton is visiting New York today in a bid to promote Ireland as a tourism and business destination.

The minister’s visit is the latest in a series of visits to America by senior Irish government ministers in recent weeks.  Taoiseach Enda Kenny visited the US twice within one week in February to meet with political, business and tourism leaders.

The Minister is to meet with a range of groups including the Irish Business Organisation, the largest business network of Irish and Irish-Americans in New York. She will also attend a Patrick’s Day event and an Ireland-US Council lunch.

Ahead of the visit, Minister Burton stressed the links between Ireland and America.

The number of tourists from North America in Ireland increased in 2011 and broke the one million mark between September 2010 and September 2011. There are around 500 IDA-supported US companies in Ireland employing over 100,000 people, while Irish experts to the US are valued at over €20 billion per year.

“This is an excellent foundation on which to build and it reflects the fact that Ireland is an attractive destination for tourists and investors alike,” said the Minister.

The government is actively using upcoming Patrick’s Day celebrations around the world to help build long-term growth to Ireland, the Minister said.

My message to American businesses and investors is: Ireland is a safe, secure and open place to do business and to invest. Now is the time to invest in – and benefit from – Ireland’s recovery.

USA! USA!: Taoiseach returns to America for second time in a week >

Taoiseach tells US: Our best and brightest days are still ahead >

Bill Clinton to urge US business leaders: invest in Ireland >

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• The people of Ireland also need to be made feel that it is great and it would be a help if there was some support and assistance for those in Ireland who are already crating jobs.

• Jesus, that place sounds great.

• Alan.V 13/03/12 #

Love the title on this topic :)

• Half the people on plane out will have one way tickets!!

• You wouldn’t be anything to do with clarevirtually.ie would you Eoin?

• Ah sure were a great bunch of lads

• terry 13/03/12 #

She could have gone to the work abroad expo collected a few cvs and distributed them over there for the many that can’t afford a ticket

• In before me Philly boy!
    http://who.is/whois/clarevirtually.ie/

• we are a great little country!

• Joan Burton’s speech (if the truth were to be told, which it probably won’t):

” Can I just say, USA, Ireland is great. We are great because we are becoming just like you. We are gvining tax breaks to ensure that the wealthy become wealthier. In a recession, the number of Irish millionaires has increased while our unemployment rate has gone through the roof. We are hammering our public services just like you guys did under Reagan. We are obliterating our working and middle classes through pay cuts and tax hikes that don’t really affect the wealthy in real terms. We are trying to implement an Irish version of your Workfare programme which will make unemployed people work for companies which could actually afford to pay them a fair day’s pay for a day’s work. We are changing our education system to pander to the whims of industry while ignoring advice on education best practice and those who actually know about education. And we will ignore the societal impact of our disastrous right wing agenda. But we loooooooove big business and we are bending over backwards for them and selling our citizens to them………just……..like…….you guys.”

• Burton is hardly a great advert for Ireland

• Top o’ de mornin to ye, tis Joan here over from the oul sod. Sure, we’re always glad to be over and isn’t great that New York and Boston are always there to take the immigrants we send over when we mess up which in all fairness now we do on a regular basis! wink wink. Sure haven’t we done that since independence, (cue laughter). But, sure never mind the main thing is that we manage to get by on the biggest salaries of any western democracy, and no.. I don’t mean the plebs, (more laughter) They’re after having their handouts cut, oh yeah! lazy feckers, how am I supposed to draw my big fat pension if those no good scroungers don’t get out there and work for me. They are just so ungrateful. Anyway like I say it’s grand to be here and to all you would investors let me tell you that in Ireland because of our lack of regulation and accountability you can do whatever the f*** you want, really we don’t care… just look at the banks, the developers, even the catholic church and we all know what them dirty feckers got up to, sure it’s gas! Let me tell you right now, there’s no such thing as accountability in Ireland. We don’t do accountability..cue applause! Oh! and don’t worry about finding a highly trained workforce, sure since we hammered education there aren’t that many around and the ones we have.. they’ve all gone abroad on working holidays, sure aren’t they all down on Bondi beach sunnin themselves, sure isn’t great to be young. Still not to worry we have an open door policy so we can get you a load of them from Eastern Europe or South Africa or somewhere. We also have an American style health service now where people pay big bucks to be treated, or they lie on trolleys for days! He he that’ll teach em not to pay health insurance, but I diverse, sure isn’t O’Reilly due out here soon, he’ll tell yas all about it i’m sure and sure if there’s a quick buck to made in it then he’s yer man! Anyway i’m due to meet my local county society for an oul sing song and bit of scran so if yas have any questions about investing in the oul country, sure drop me an email or check out me facebook, oh be jaysus and begorrah we have all the latest interweb gadgets these days, we’re even getting high speed broadbands and thinking about connecting up all the Garda stations. There’s no flies on us. Now let me finish with an oul round of applause for all those companies who have made Ireland their European headquarters and reassure you that we won’t tax you anymore than we already do, sure haven’t we got our own plebs to tax if we need to! Hey, have ya heard of Jedward, the next Beatles i’m tellin yas! Eurovision ‘s in the bag…ole.ole.ole!

• Now where did i put me green shirt!

• We see that China is in the red this morning. A few weeks ago we signed a trade agreement with that Country.Question What will Mrs. Burton’s visit to New York Really achieve.Time will tell.

• Numbers of self-employed collapsing, small businesses on the rack due to credit shortage, nearly 500k unemployed, emigration destroying families and communities, Croke Park farce keeping large numbers of public servants in non-jobs, a decade of austerity ahead courtesy of the Cowen-Lenihan bank guarantee, sure it is marvellous Joan, truly wonderful.

• One of the few expenditures which are justified. These trips bring millions into the country, but they should be evaluated on a return on investment basis.

• She better remember to tell them about Darby o gill and the little people as well and the pot o gold at the end of every rainbow

• Well said ed,I think you have covered it all

• When ya go will ya send back a header from America

• jimbo 13/03/12 #

And when she finishes saying that ireland is great the audience will fall over laughing..

• The best thing about Ireland at the moment is the flight out of the country ;-)

• Tell Americans Ireland is great place?
    Did we not tell the American president that?
    Ah yes the march gravy train has pulled out for the next two weeks
    Is feidir linn my arse !!!!!

• Great work Clarevirtually.ie, we NEED entrepreneurs and this shows boldness and creativity. Is Feidir Linn indeed. I’m sure if anyone can ferret out another Obama relation in Clare, it’ll be you. good luck!

• Good Girl Joan, this is really what we need. Any chance your flight might be delayed on return and you are forced to stay state side for Paddy’s weekend?

• @ Liam the same could be said for half of fianna fail doesn’t mean they are a good advertisement ?

• Ireland is great, despite our economic woes. Now a lot of people are laughing and say one way tickets out are great but those people obviously lived in a few different countries and have something to compare Ireland.

• The inaugural week where our ready to die for us leaders head off into a week long battle of securing finance and industry from abroad . Not an ounce of sleep to be had. Alcoholic beverages now where in sight , to hell with the expense sheet we’ll fund it out of our own less than minimum wage salary . We’re going miss paddy’s day again but that’s the sacrifice we politicans love making for our country . It’s not about the money as they say in ballythehob .

Then she woke up .

Add New Comment