Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

USA! USA!: Taoiseach returns to America for second time in a week

"I left my heart in San Francisco..." Enda Kenny is returning to the States although he'll limit his visit to the east coast.
Image: Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY is travelling to the US later today for a series of meetings with business, tourism and political leaders that will take place over the next three days. It comes less than a week after he was last in the States.

Kenny was in New York last week for the Invest in Ireland forum along with Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Jobs Minister Richard Bruton. He returns to the Big Apple today as part of a three-day visit that includes a meeting with Mayor Michael Bloomberg and events in Boston.

“We have to use every opportunity to reach out across the globe to give the message that Ireland is open for business and investment,” the Taoiseach said in a statement.

“We need to keep knocking on doors, through our links with agencies including the IDA, Enterprise Ireland and Tourism Ireland.  It is important that Ireland tells the world about the strenuous efforts being made here to deliver economic recovery.”

As part of the visit, the Taoiseach will take part in events involving the IDA and the Children’s Medical Research Foundation in New York today.

Tomorrow, he will call on City Hall to meet with Mayor Bloomberg, who yesterday celebrated his 70th birthday.

Later in the day Kenny will deliver a lecture at the Harvard Kennedy School as well as attend a dinner with senior business leaders which is hosted by the American Ireland Fund.

On Friday, the Taoiseach will have breakfast with business leaders in an event hosted by the Irish American Partnership before he calls in on Massachusetts governor Deval Patrick.

Later in the day he will meet with the President of the State Senate, Therese Murray, and State House Speaker Robert de Leo as well as other members of the Massachusetts legislature.

Finally, he will take part in a lunch hosted by Enterprise Ireland and will deliver a speech at the John F Kennedy Library before returning to Ireland for the weekend.

Tánaiste hopeful of ‘early progress’ on US visas for Irish

Bill Clinton to urge US business leaders: invest in Ireland

Read Next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• Peter 66 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Peachy….Good man Enda take your time… Has Happy gone AWOL in the states ? Just Wondering ?….

• Patricia Gilheany 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What a joke! Enda Kenny goes on another junket to America to pretend that his Government is interested in creating jobs while facilitating the squandering of billions of euros of taxpayers money and the very real prospect of the loss of thousands of jobs in the Anglo “farce” on Quinn Group

See. http://quinn-anglo-story.blogspot.com/ for amazing revelations on what is really happening.

• Dermot Purcell 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said Patricia who do they think they are foolin ,they are vied in the same corrupt lines as the last goverment ,is this the messege that we want sent out from this country that white collar crime is ok in ireland and in fact if you get caught we will send in the boys to cover it up they have plenty of experience in that department ,who in their right mind would want to invest in this climate

• Ultan Quirke 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Right, so the Government isn’t actually interested in creating any jobs in our struggling economy? Wrong.

• Donal McCarthy 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Wow, the fake Facebook profiles for comments supporting Sean Quinn group are getting better at the fake profiles!

• Lizzie Day 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Fakest profile ever Patricia. 8 friends. Your Quinn group SPAM is getting really tiresome!!!

• john g mcgrath 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hopefully they will let him stay for good

• Eamonn Connaghan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sure you may as well stay there until Patrick’s day Enda , ah sure why not stay forever.

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Hello, I am Enda Kenny, I have come here to ask you, my friends, to support my Ireland in her time of need! Would you care to invest in my country in return for some national resources? I am willing to sell them to you at a very, very reasonable rate!” (big American guy pats Enda on the head and the deal is done!)

• Julia Smith 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We may as well send a cardboard cut out. A hat trick of ridiculously unworthy Taoiseachs.

• john g mcgrath 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Julia what a brillant idea we could take it a stage further and put cardboard cut out in the Dail and just replay some of the garbage spouted during speeches.
      We don’t need 166 in there as we are now been run from Europe.
      Brussels could send over a few technocrats and just think how much we could save

• Shane O'Connor 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Meanwhile, back in Ireland, the headlines read: “Local Circus loses clown, located performing in USA”…

• Silent P 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

You are all so positive today. Keep them spirits up ya’al!!!

• Rodger O Waters 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Aside from a scatter of broken election promises, etc etc etc he is doing ok.

• Stephen Lowe 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Glad to see officials overseas drumming up support for Ireland and hopefully creating jobs over here. What befuddles me is what bright spark decided to arrange the trip. Why fly over and back and over again? Why not stay out there for the extra few days drumming up more business. Pretty sure Enda did not relish a second round trip!

• Hedley Batchelor 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Which side of the bed did you lot get out of this morning?

• Kate O'Keeffe 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

At first glance I thought it was a picture of Louis Walsh – must be the big Mayo head!

• Niall Dorr 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Lads, at least he’s trying. The US multinationals are a stable employer within Ireland. Although against the grain. Come on Enda, good luck and the caveat being don’t come home until you bring back at least a 1000 jobs. :-)

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That will put less than 5% of the unemployed back to work…! Yay!

• Ultan Quirke 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So because it is less than 5% it is irrelevant? That is a ridiculous statement to make, every new job in this country means so much to the person who gets it. 1000 jobs means 1000 more people able to support their families and get their career back on the path they want it to be on.

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Offset 1000 jobs against the rate of job loses in the country and then you’ll understand my statement!

• Chris 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Dec Its still a start, whats the point in being so negative? 1000 jobs would be amazing and would make a start at improving that ratio…1000 jobs could also have a knock on effect, 1000 people to spend more money in shops etc. results in more people hiring.

My one problem is that Enda has to go the US to get jobs in Ireland, have we no self confidence? that we think that Irish people cant create their own jobs? Surely Irish owned business would be a lot more profitable for the government and a lot more sustainable as well!

• Chris 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Also, if you look at the 1000 jobs as 1000 less people on the dole, the savings for the government are massive!! 1000 multiplied by I dont know? 10,000 a year for dole etc.? thats 10 million!!

Add to that the amount that the gov would earn from the tax those people earn and you could be talking almost 20 million a year savings…

How you can think that 1000 jobs is meaningless is beyond me….

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Chris, I never said 1000 jobs is meaningless… You nailed my point with the second half of your first comment… What’s the point trying to bring jobs to a country were most companies are struggling and with this amendment to the Lisbon treaty it looks like we’ll be loosing our favourable corporate tax rate, statistics say we are shedding 1 out of 7 jobs a year…

• Gary Clowry 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Dare I ask you to back-up any of those opinions Dec?

• jimbo 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why dont you just stay there..

• Kristen Burns 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Stay there , enda!

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The pro Endas on here don’t seem to be as vocal as they are thumb heavy! :)

• Ru Ni Digs 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Oh the Fianna Gael thumps downers were busy this morning.

Maybe Ireland’s answer to George Bush Jr.should stay there.Probably better off,because he’s doing feck all good here.

• James Bowen 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

at least he’s doing some work and judging by the photo it looks like he’s not blowing the same amount of money on a make up artist as Bertie did. USA twice in the one week is a pain, so fair play.

• Jm Poinboeuf 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda bring us back a stick of rock will ya….

• Phillip Urrea 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

So much easier to make snide comments than to actually get up and try and do something, isn’t it lads?

• Tomas O Beag 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Seen as the Germans run this country why is it merkel there instead !!

• Andrew Telford 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ireland’s leaders declare country open for business and investment…

Investors turn their backs upon finding a country of unsupportive, bitter, cry babies in tears and crying destitution having lost their welfare bonuses for the Irish equivalent of their kids super sweet 16 communion parties etc

• Gary Clowry 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

GRR, RABBLE, RABBLE, RABBLE, RABBLE, RABBLE.
    If he manages to secure 1 job it will be worth it.
    And seriously some of you whining fuckers really need to look around the world and see just how easy we have it here. I have travelled around the world so trust me.

• Phil Dargan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Some people are never happy. Despite everything going on here, it’s his job to represent Ireland. Hell be back again in a couple of weeks too @ I’ll expect to see the same moans here again.

Investment from the US is vital to our survival, if only ten jobs are created, it’s a start in the right direction.

• Tomas O Beag 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

1 job so only 449,000 to go !!

• Mike Turner 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Endafornication

• david whelan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Taoiseach is doing his best to try and turn our countries fortunes around and all we get is negativity all the time. Cop on Ireland! Lets all do our best to get back on track. Enough negativity and petty commentary.

• Eugene Farrell 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have no problem with our taxes buying Kenny a one way ticket…..

• Kasia Czulak 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hmm…They must have had some good sales over there:) thats why he is so keen to go back there:-)

• Mark Rodgers 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why would a political leader bother to put himself to the stress and exhausting work schedule plus jet lag twice in one week in trying to convince US investors to create employment in Ireland if the pathetic and mealy mouthed negativity above is an example of what awaits them.
    Social media have become a fertile ground for researching the attitudes in a country before limited funds are expended by large companies in overseas markets.
    Just spending a couple of hours trawling the pages on The Journal would be enough to turn even the bravest investor away within a heartbeat.
    Everyone is entitled to have their views but along with that freedom comes social responsibility.
    Clearly that aspect of the naysayers and the prophets of doom and the seriously challenged writers who have to swear and insult all around them is tantamount to deliberate damage of the National interest.

• david whelan 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said!

• Chris 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said mate….you can take any article on here, even about the most positive thing and you will find someone giving out.

If I had more time id try and confront them all, red thumbs are all they usually get though!

• Report this comment

Not bad…for an out of work journalist

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry to disagree with you but some of us on here dislike Enda Kenny and the fascist party that he leads! I didn’t and would never vote for him or FG so I am entitled to be negative about the man and/or the FG party and articles that allow me to give my opinion! I have 0% confidences in him, he embarrasses me when I think of him as my leader!!! You can skip on rainbows and sugar coat every article to your taste all you like, doesn’t mean the rest of us have to!

• Gary Clowry 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Dec I hate to have to explain representative democracy to you. He was just voted in by the people, you on the other hand are not the people, it’s just you and a few other constant complainers.. The great thing is in a few short years we all get to vote again. Perhaps you’ll be in the majority the next time.

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

We’re not all as willing as some to lay down and take all this crap like you Gary! I bet you go to bed every night singing bah bah black sheep to yourself! Little sleepy sheepy hops skips and jumps to the tune of the blue coat fascist Fine Gaelers! I love this country and it makes me sick seeing what politicians have done to it and are still doing to it! And it’s even more sickening knowing there are people like you so willing to tow the line for YOUR representatives! Shame on you!

• Gary Clowry 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What crap? You say stuff then can’t answer simple questions when challenged on it. They could do better that’s for sure but they are not doing even half as bad as some of you make out.

Report this comment

Deke who is the journo..you or me?

• Thats So Grodie 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Enda knows where it’s at

• Richie Donegan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

save us from them germans and how about a few jobs all hail the usa

• Ru Ni Digs 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Yes,yes Enda is wonderful.Paying unsecured bonds,breaking almost election promise he made.Attacking the most vulnerable members of society.But sure if he brings in a few jobs,then WOO HOO,we’re back on easy street.

Enda was a useless TD for 15 years,he became Taoiseach by default,I’m surprised the man can pull up his trousers on his own. Wouldn’t it make more sense to send someone who knows about job creation? The poor serfs of Ireland are overjoyed with the crumbs from the king’s table,god love you.

Report this comment

I just wonder who you are Ru but here are a few home truths;
    If you were my employee I’d find a way to make you redundant.
    If you were an applicant for a position with my company there wouldn’t be an interview.
    If you are on the dole I’d try to up skill you but I don’t believe we have twenty years to do that.
    But really you sound more like a member of Sinn Fein….with plenty of time on your hands!

• Ru Ni Digs 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

And if your aunt had balls,she’d be your uncle.

Of course you would Mark because you are a fascist.Freedom of speech is a wonderful thing ;-)

• Dec Rowe 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mark, are you really that arrogant to ban your employees from having independent political views???
      I wonder how many laws would you break if you actually acted out some of your above hypothesised threats!!
      By the way, do you wear a swastika to work?

• Denise O' Riordan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“We have to use every opportunity to reach out across the globe to give the message that Ireland is open for business and investment,” – The GLOBE yet the focus is on the US, what about the rest of the world? Like Asia perhaps?

• Seamus McDermott 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Endas “Life Among the Pickpockets”.
    “Look! I got 250 new jobs!! We don’t have to worry about all that natural gas any longer! The Yanks will take care of it for us!”
    Now we can go back to shearing sheep and making sweaters.

Report this comment

The right to free speech is a qualified right.
    For example what would happen Ru if you stated on these pages that you intended to kill a named person.!
    I really believe that your views are simply those of a person deprived of appropriate education socialization and common decency.

• Shanti Om 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah now Mark..
      You picked on this Ru person, they did not say anything to you.
      You made a personal attack upon them, and then you have the gall to inform THEM that freedom of speech is a “qualified right”.. So what’s your qualifications? It’s certainly not logical, rational, reasonable, adult debate.

I have seen you pass your judgements – just like you did above – on many contributors here. And I have pointed it out to you more than once. I have also pointed out that YOU are breaking the rules of commenting here by doing so, yet here you are, continuing on as though these rules somehow do not apply to you.

Qualified right? You have no right to personally attack another poster, attack their comment yes, but them?
      That’s just begging for someone else to stoop to your level and go too far. It’s almost like you seek to provoke people..

• Ru Ni Digs 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

YAWN!

If I wanted to be patronized,belittled and talked down to,I would join Fianna Gael,which I have no doubt you are member Mark.Regardless,I still have a voice and I still have a vote and you sir are still a fascist,good luck with that ;-)

• Ed Appleby 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

USA twice in a week! and it’s not even St. Paddy’s Day yet! Maybe he’s just trying to max out on his air miles!

• Ciaran O'Reilly 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Jaysus it’s well for some

• Shanti Om 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Yet again Journal you found the best photo.. Enda is looking windswept and interesting!

Add New Comment