TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Galway organises free ‘mega-party’ for Junior Cert students

Results are in but the city knows how to avoid the trouble that often goes with ‘Junior Cert night’.

Last year's crop of Junior Certs celebrate their results in Dublin
Image: Photocall Ireland!

THE JUNIOR CERTIFICATE results night has often been synonymous with underage drinking and related problems but a number of groups in Galway have come together to ensure that is a thing of past decades.

For the past six years, the Health Service Executive – in conjunction with a number of other organisations – has organised a celebration for all Transition and Fifth Year students who have received their first State exam results.

This year’s event takes place tonight at The Black Box, where between 800 and 1,000 students are expected to attend.

The agencies involved say they want to provide a safe, drug-and-alcohol-free venue for teenagers to celebrate their achievements.

One of the organisers, Paul Tannion, told TheJournal.ie that there is proof that the format works. “There is no doubt it has reduced trouble massively,” he said.

The decision to establish the celebration was taken seven years ago after it was well-documented that there was a “lack of appropriate events organised for young people after the announcement of the Junior Cert results”.

The HSE said that the follow-on from this “has tended to be a night fraught with anti-social behaviour as young people socialise in unsuitable venues”. Jigsaw, Foróige, Galway City Partnership, Galway City VEC, the Gardaí, Galway City Council, Youth Work Ireland, Western Regional Drugs Task force, Lions Club and the Galway City Post Primary schools came together to rectify the problem and provide a safe social outlet.

Each student in the city who gets their results this morning will also receive a free invitation for what has been described as a “mega-party” running between 8.30pm to midnight in the Eyre Square venue.

It is supervised by more than 50 experienced volunteers from the agencies involved.

Young people who are attending the night’s celebrations have been asked to complete an application form which includes contact details for parents, who have been reminded that it is their responsibility to ensure the safe arrival and collection of their sons and daughters.

Organisers have warned that any person wishing to attend the event but arrives under the influence of drugs or alcohol will be refused admission and their parents contacted.

Although the project has worked in Galway, there are no central plans within the HSE to set up similar celebrations in other areas. Almost 59,000 candidates will receive their results this morning.

More: Almost 59,000 teens to receive Junior Cert results today>

Read next:

Comments (23 Comments)

• What a great idea. It’s a pity Galway is the only place in the country doing this.

• John F 12/09/12 #

Ah the aul Junior Cert results, sittin on side of a shopping trolley drinking devils bit cider and then off to the teenies disco, Good Times!:-)

• Do you need ID to prove you’re under 18?!

• It’ll be an alcohol free venue, but sure they’ll get plastered beforehand, stash their bags somewhere with a load of booze in them and then continue after the gig.

• The Black Box is not an “Eyre Square venue”. It’s located on Dyke Rd, behind the OMNIPLEX Cinema on the Headford Rd.

• Since when is the black box in Eyre Squre?

• Yeah that’s like saying Grafton St instead of O’Connell.
      Surprised I never heard of this before – fair play to the groups involved. It’s great that it’s free for the students too.

• Why is this drinking acceptable to and allowable by so many parents? I know some will try to stop their kids, but this is where our €5bn per annum drink related health costs and misery starts.

Ah sure isn’t this also where the world starts to fall in love with our jolly singing craic of drunken boozers around the planet.

Parents, be parents for a change.

• Micheal 12/09/12 #

In many cultures, people start drinking a lot earlier, under the supervision of parents. The backhanded manner in which Irish teens tend to drink would suggest that the problem doesn’t start tonight, but a lot earlier.
      Drinking is like sex, educate, not to drink, but to drink safely, not to have sex, but to have sex safely. It’s the same with substance abuse, the world over. Education is key to treating alcohol, drugs, sex, relationships, whatever, with the respect they deserve.

• The amount of parents that I have spoken personally to about their view on their son drinking tonight and they have APPROVED is worrying.

I am feeling like the overly strict parent that I am unhappy with my 15 year old exposed to peer drinking.

• Alien8 12/09/12 #

Paul, you need to understand that these are not children anymore; the majority are over 16, pretty much 90% towards their full growth height and (as hopefully you can recall) savvy and streetwise, like EVERY generation since the war. There are a lot of responsible parents, and there are a number of lapse parents but these are at the end of the scale. It may be amiss that there is a ready access to (in particular, vodka), but again, these are young people who we are asking to be entrepreneurs, emigrants and workers in 2 years so they have the know how to get by blockers like this.

According to my daughter (junior cert tonight, definitely more worried about the results than night out – for both her and us), around 9 in 10 have expressed that they will have some drink tonight, 2 in 10 will be able to access it, again usually vodka, and those that did intend to do this before the organised night out in someone’s house.

Call me irresponsible (I’m sure you will, but not that it matters) I have said to her that if she is to try a drink, make sure it is somewhere safe, like a house, know that you will more than likely spew if you have a glass of vodka, and if anyone is in trouble – always get help. She doesn’t seem interested in the drinking part though; I guess having liberal values (or more than likely, alcoholic relatives) served it purpose!

Anyway, good luck to them all in both of their ventures tonight, and hopefully we won’t be reading any bad stories tomorrow morning, especially with the week that we have had.

• Alien8 12/09/12 #

Paul, you need to understand that these are not children anymore; the majority are over 16, pretty much 90% towards their full growth height and (as hopefully you can recall) savvy and streetwise, like EVERY generation since the war. There are a lot of responsible parents, and there are a number of lapse parents but these are at the end of the scale. It may be amiss that there is a ready access to (in particular, vodka), but again, these are young people who we are asking to be entrepreneurs, emigrants and workers in 2 years so they have the know how to get by blockers like this.

According to my daughter (junior cert tonight, definitely more worried about the results than night out – for both her and us), around 9 in 10 have expressed that they will have some drink tonight, 2 in 10 will be able to access it, again usually vodka, and those that did intend to do this before the organised night out in someone’s house.

Call me irresponsible (I’m sure you will, but not that it matters) I have said to her that if she is to try a drink, make sure it is somewhere safe, like a house, know that you will more than likely spew if you have a glass of vodka, and if anyone is in trouble – always get help. She doesn’t seem interested in the drinking part though; I guess having liberal values (or more than likely, alcoholic relatives) served it purpose!

Anyway, good luck to them all in both of their ventures tonight, and hopefully we won’t be reading any bad stories tomorrow morning, especially with the week that we have had.

• Alien8 12/09/12 #

Damn iOS, and duplicate comments! Agree with michael’s post though. Educate to understand, not prohibit and ignore.

• Micheal 12/09/12 #

Paul and Jim,
      Teenagers will drink. They will always drink, always do and always have done. It’s part of the matriculation process to adulthood.
      We have no control over whether they drink or not, but we do have the ability to affect the manner in which they drink. Openness and honesty is key to preventing peer-drinking, and alcoholism, as it is to preventing unwanted pregnancies, drug abuse, abusive relationships, depression, pretty much anything that can mean poor social behaviour.
      We may not like it as parents watching our children drink or whatever, but the least we can do is prepare them properly for what really can be a very scary world for a teenager. Talk about it, don’t tell them they’re not to drink, peer pressure speaks a lot louder than we parents ever will. Be open, honest, and allow our children to develop into prepared adults where they have the ability to be responsible and affect change for future generations.
      Of course, good luck to the wee Childern tonight, and more importantly, this afty – the next big hurdle: LC!

• Simon 12/09/12 #

Good idea!

• Nappy 12/09/12 #

drink outside ,snow balling inside

• louise 12/09/12 #

Why is drinking socially acceptable for these kids!!

Add New Comment