TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Labour TD ‘taken aback’ by homophobic email

Aodhán Ó Ríordáin published the mail on his blog today to highlight that there are still some people “stuck in a different time zone”.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

AS A PUBLIC representative, Labour TD Aodhán Ó Ríordáin is accustomed to receiving negative feedback but a “shocking” email he received this week prompted him to post it to his blog.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie today, Ó Ríordáin said he was “taken aback” by the content of an email entitled ‘Mr. Gilmore’s statement on same-sex marriage’.

The writer called on the Dublin North Central deputy to distance himself from the Tánaiste’s support of same-sex marriage. In it, the author also condemned groups that lobbied for equality for gay men and women.

While I can just about understand how their rhetoric might convince ‘radical’ students and ‘go-with-the-flow’ adults, I am stunned that it has convinced you and your colleagues in The Labour Party.
  • Read more of the email here

Asked why he published the letter in full, Ó Ríordáin said he feels it is important for the public to be aware of the types of communications that public representatives receive.

As a supporter of same-sex marriage, he also said it is useful for groups to know the opinions they will be up against when debating certain issues, in particular those around racism, equality and children’s rights.

“People who promote such things need to be aware that some people are stuck in a different time zone and these are the people we have to have debates with,” he added. “I suppose I want people to debate these things and to do so they have to be aware of all the viewpoints.”

If the email was just a poisonous or personal rant – as I’ve got in the past – I would not have put it up but these ones, which try and present themselves as intelligent are more worrying and more dangerous. The are not being personally abusive and assume they are making a considered argument.

There was general condemnation of the post on Ó Ríordáin’s Twitter page after he published the blog update this morning. The deputy said he received the same response in July 2011 when he released an email from a constituent against gay teachers.

These people are in a minority, but having said that, it’s interesting for us to be exposed to people who hold these difficulties. It is good to get a sense of other people’s opinions.

Ó Ríordáin says he remains concerned about the upcoming Children’s Referendum, stating that the resistance to change across Ireland is underestimated.

Read more at Aodhán Ó Ríordáin’s blog>

Eamon Gilmore: “The time has come on gay marriage”

Column: Why I reported Darren Scully for inciting hatred – and why I’m not backing down>

More: Deputy Ó Riordáin criticises some Irish fans for “disappointing” behaviour>

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• I find in very funny that by sending this email, the sender has managed to keep the story of gay rights in the news for another day.

• Bryan 03/07/12 #

Seriously some people are just so hung up on sex, get over it or under it as your preference may be.

• F**king gays! Next they’ll want to vote!

• So being gay is defined by sex?

• I bet you there are more straight people having anal sex then gay men!!

• You’d really worry about the goings on in this persons head when you see the 3 examples cited that are more ‘normal’ ‘than gay sex

• For some deluded people the world is flat.

• Reading that email reminded me of a Charlie Brooker article about homophobes and gaming, the first two paragraphs are a killer.

“It must be awful, being a homophobe. Having to spend all that time obsessing about what gay people might be doing with their genitals. Seeing it in your mind, over and over again, in high-definition close-up. Bravely you masturbate, to make the pictures go away, but to no avail. They’re seared onto your mental membranes. Every time you close your eyes, an imaginary gay man’s imaginary penis rises from the murk, bowing ominously in your direction, sensing your discomfort. Laughing. Mocking. Possibly even winking. How dare they, this man and his penis? How dare they do this to you?
    Obviously you can’t fight the big gay penis in your head. It has no physical form, so you can’t get a grip on it, much as you’d like to. You’d love to grab it and throttle it until it splutters its last. That might bring you closure. But no. So you do the next best thing. You condemn homosexuals in the real world. Maybe if they could just stop all this “being gay” business for 10 minutes, you’d get some respite from that scary headcock. It might shrivel away completely, leaving nothing behind. Except maybe a nice bit of bum.
    No, dammit! Forget I said that! No bum either!”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/apr/15/charlie-brooker-gay-video-game

It’s well worth a read.

People who obsess about what complete strangers might be doing in private disturb me. Live and let live

• France announced today that they’re allowing gay marriage from next year. The world hasn’t ended now that the eldest daughter of the church has seen the light! Denying another human equality in 2012 is unacceptable. If you don’t like gay marriage then don’t marry a gay.

• Strange how so many homophobic people are obsessed with the act of gay sex itself. I have the misfortune to work with one of these bigots who seemed surprised at my verbal abuse of him during his last use of flattering gratuitous gay sexual descriptions in order to get a laugh from ‘the lads’. He’s been a lot quieter since but I still think he may have something to hide…

• I wonder what his anatomical argument against two women getting married is…

Gay men are but 1 half of this marriage equality debate…

• It’s seems like the only people wanting to get married these days are same sex couples. And i thought our gay community were trend setters? nBefore I get slaughtered here I’m just kidding an no offence is ment in anyway to the above remark.

• “While I can just about understand how their rhetoric might convince ‘radical’ students and ‘go-with-the-flow’ adults, I am stunned that it has convinced you and your colleagues in The Labour Party.”

I actually laughed a bit at this because you might initially think, “what? the Labour Party are very liberal.”. But back in the 60s they refused to go against the Catholic Church’s views on contraception, their leader Brendan Corish describing himself as a “Catholic first and a socialist second”. So it’s quite possible this irate loon who sent this email just got stuck in a time-warp ;)

• Research over and over again suggests that those people who strongly oppose homosexuality are themselves concealing their own homosexual urges. The emailer has obviously a vast knowledge of all things anal and sphincter. I would advise the labour minister to do his best to ignore the hate mail. And be aware of the fact that never will everyone be pleased.

• Could be Liam Egan who posts under many names like mujinnad, or similar the ex Christian who spend years abroad in middle east, converted and now runs a few websites about converting ireland to shairia law and promoting islam here. he pops up praising the lashing of un married couples and gays here in other articles and on other blogs. That would be right up his street

• Fair play to him. Good to shine a light on the muck.

• The person who write the email is obviously an oddball, if he or she thinks that a 75 yr old man going out with his 15 yr old neighbour is more normal than gays!

• A disturbing read. Sadly this is still exsisting in Ireland! A dying breed thankfully!

• Gay pride Saturday, ‘radical’ today. Oh Ireland…

• Wow.. It’s hard to believe that people like that actually exist.. But I’d agree, that person seems a little twisted and very confused.. Poorly educated too (the sphincter is indeed to stop things coming out as a commenter above pointed out).

You kinda want to take them, pat them on the head and introduce them to reality don’t you?

• Bugger me!

• Marty 03/07/12 #

He should have posted the persons name and general area where they’re from to shame them. It’s easy write hateful stuff from a behind a PC, very difficult to justify such nonsense in person in front of friends or family…

• To be fair, the person expressed personal views directly. That’s no reason to make the person’s identity public.

I absolutely hate the idea that there are people that think this way but I don’t think people expressing their views privately to a person who represents them is a reason to make the person known to the public so that they can be berated.

Such views coming out (tee hee) serve to generate debate rather than change minds towards this kind of thinking. That’s a good thing. By having a name, we have a different focus. Instead of throwing poop at this person’s windows we’re actually talking about real issues and how they effect real people.

Just like YD have done for the abortion debate, despite their best efforts.

• You are absolutely spot on Tony Iona. Focus on the issues and don’t waste energy on punishing people who oppose you.

• Abby 03/07/12 #

Lolocaust.

• the writer needs to taste the rainbow…

• Bring on National Anus Day!

• Only Mattie McGrath TD is as adept at getting his name in the headlines as Deputy Ó Ríordáin.
    What member of the Oireachtas doesn’t receive 100s of angry emails/ letters every day?!

• Paul 03/07/12 #

He should name and shame the bigot. The only way to deal with such people is to fight back harder. Show them no mercy and we will beat them some day.

• Mocking religion, church is perfectly fine as we saw on the occasion of yesterdays bible in hotel room article. Say anything remotely abusive about homosexuals is almost a crime…oh how two face are gays!

• Paul 03/07/12 #

Hotel room article? Have you been at the alter wine? A bigot is a bigot is a bigot!

• Fizi_water this is a distinction which has been discussed at length- religion is a world view which can be assumed or dismissed by any individual- it has a place in the marketplace of ideas and can be challenged, ridiculed and defended as such. Homosexuality is innate and cannot be discarded, therefore criticising it amounts to discrimination. The Pope could choose, intellectually, tomorrow to be an atheist, perhaps swayed by powerful arguments- but a homosexual can never decide to be straight, no matter how much abuse and criticism is thrown at them.

• Actually the email seems quite tame compared to some of the specious nonsense that people comment on this issue:

http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/a-budgie-marries-a-cat/

• Whats the big deal of that email everybody is allowed to have an opinion? Does everyone have to support gay marriages etc? Why?

• Also posting private correspondence without asking for the permission is cheap, smells like TD is looking for gay votes and also trying to turn the email sender into almost criminal or other bad person is ridicoulous.

• And I believe everyone commenting is exercising their opinion so no problems there. People are free to agree with the contents of this person’s email or disagree and say so. Personally I think it’s repellent, bitter and angry but glad you agree with the right to express my opinion…

• Well yeh ! Equality for all is not much to ask is it ?

• No one is disputing that everyone has the right to an opinion. When “opinions” start infringing on peoples human rights (human rights that don’t have an impact on anyone except that one person in question) then that’s a different matter. And the manner in which this persons opinion was expressed is disturbing

• in before the grief

• Aodhán is an insufferable attention seeker.

• Alangb 03/07/12 #

Is it possible that Aodhán Ó Ríordáin sent it to himself, just for maximum publicity for the Labour Party like………just sayin!!!

• That letter reminded me of this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMDs8MEktHE

• Okay for a second, and I am not being flippant, but I dd think this article meant that Ó Ríordáin himself had come out? Seemingly not? I’m not saying he is gay, but he has always come across as so, especially since he got elected, and well, I have no problem with that, great friends of mine are gay, but I just don’t feel like we are getting the full story from him. If he were to have a problem with this person’s email to him, then you would think that he would fully disclose it. Just my perception and at the end of the day, as with anyone, I don’t know. Just my womanly instinct.

• great advice right there…. distance yourself from gay issues or else people will think your gay too and you don’t want that do you?. (…oh please :-/)

• Nope I’ve thought he was gay in ages now. nothing to do with this article alone. I don’t care if he is or isn’t but it is an observation.

• Also the opposite is more often true, People often (and i am NOT saying this is what Ó Riordáin is doing) but they often get closely associated with an issue in order to be more immune. It’s ironic but it’s the way it is. Stay away from something and people are more suspicious.

• The sexuality of the TD is absolutely irrelevant. You’ve done nothing here but opened the door to speculation about O’Riordain’s sexuality. This adds nothing to the discussion.

“If he were to have a problem with this person’s email to him, then you would think that he would fully disclose it.”
      Is it not enough to disclose that as a human being he is obviously of the opinion that the sender is homophobic? You seem to suggest that the TD’s sexuality, whatever that may be, has any bearing on the contents of the letter – what bearing would that be?

I’m sorry if I’m insulting you now but what you’ve said appears to suggest that people SHOULD hide their homosexual lives – hasn’t this very attitude done enough harm already?

• Hi Lisa,

The posts were removed as they went against on our community policy, specifically:

Do not make personal remarks about the author of a story, about individuals mentioned in stories, or about other commenters.

Thanks,
      Sinead

• He can’t believe the email, but the fact remains that same sex marriage is still outlawed. Seems as though the law is with the sender of the email on this one.

• Pity it isn’t illegal to be a bigoted auld moanbag.

• Are you telling us that you agree with this person Do you equate equality for gay people with the bull that this email represents. nnAs Gay Byrne once said on a gay rights Late Late debate when asked about people that were preoccupied with another man’s back passage he asked what about people who are preoccupied with a woman’s front passage nnIf I agree not to have anal sex can I also become an equal citizen of ireland with the same rights and privileges as any other citizen of this country.

• Hopefully not for too much longer. Maybe when the sky doesnt fall in and the institution of marriage continues to thrive, the scales might fall from the eyes of the emailer and those who think like him.

• The law might be with the sender but not a lot else.

Personally, I think the sphincter is more about not sh*tting oneself rather than for keeping foreign objects out.

In truth, this person exposes more about themselves than they probably intend – the letter is FULL of contradictions.
      They blame lobby groups for supporting the gay marriage cause.
      I blame indoctrination for convincing this poor soul that any claimed creator spent so much thinking about ar5eholes.

Being gay is hardly a choice. The fact of loving someone from the same sex in no way harms those outside that relationship.
      If one were to take this person’s views seriously then we’d only have sex in order to have children.

• Well tbh, I believe that marriage is a religious event between a man and a woman, which leads me to say; I believe in Adam and Eve not Adam and Steve.

I also stand against same sex partners having kids. They don’t have a right since its not possible without artificial intervention.

• So you don’t believe in a man and a woman who can’t conceive naturally using IVF to conceive then? Nice…

• Paul 03/07/12 #

Fugly mofos can’t reproduce without getting the other person drunk either, specially when they can’t even see their utensils beneath their gut. Ugly bigots shouldn’t be allowed to marry or reproduce. Not nice is it?

• Give it up Mark. How about also stopping:

-Having sex durring a woman’s period.
      -Eating animals without split hooves.
      -Fish without fins or without scales
      -Having sex until 33 days after birthing son or 66 days after birthing daughter.
      -Wearing Clothes with different kinds of material
      -Planting of fields with different kinds of seeds.
      -Trimming the corners of your beard.

Bible has a lot of crazy stuff in it. Don’t preach the bits which suit.

• What makes you think it would have to be an artificial intervention. If a gay man wanted to father a child he could find a willing female and they could make a baby together. There’s plenty of bisexual people out there that have biological children from passed straight relationships who are now in same sex relationships. I don’t know where the idea that it’s not possible for a guy person to pro-create.

• I respect that you have expressed your opinion Mark – whether or not I agree (which I don’t – just to be clear)

However, I would say that the reason you have given for same sex partners not having kids is a pretty flawed one. Unless of course you would agree that a married (heterosexual) couple should not be able to adopt or be permitted to seek “artificial intervention” in order to allow them to be loving, supportive and caring family unit?

If you think that a married (heterosexual) couple do indeed deserve to be “facilitated” in the above ways and I am wrong with the above statement then it stands that your problem then is that you assume that same-sex couples are incapable of providing a loving, supportive and caring environment.
      To believe such a thing would (IMO) indicate that you believe that LGBT persons are somehow less than human???

Either that or you may be clinging to the idea that gay couples bring up gay children – which is kind of ironic don’t you think? Especially considering that many heterosexual couples have brought up gay children?

I would hope that you would not find the above an attack on you, more an opinion expressed on how flawed I feel your opinion is.

• So would infertile couples , or elderly couples not have the right to have kids then ??

• Come on Mark. Why not answer the question?

• Which time zone is he talking about? GMT,CET,EST. Good to see he’s not condescending and ageist and is as always open to debate.

• In debates like this I defer to the teachings of Pope John X11. There was a boy who liked it every which way. Didn’t give a damn, he didn’t, lovely man, very liberal in his views.

• Why were two posts removed?

• “Hi Lisa,
      The posts were removed as they went against on our community policy, specifically:
      Do not make personal remarks about the author of a story, about individuals mentioned in stories, or about other commenters.
      Thanks,
      Sinead”

The above text replaces your removed post. Having seen the content in my email alert I’m not at all surprised.

While I won’t quote anything from it – I will address one point. You’ve suggested that politics is a place for those who don’t want to come out to stick together – can you clarify what would be wrong with that? [You specifically called it "deceit" (that is a directly quoted word despite saying I wouldn't quote - I felt it important to note the lack of P)]

• In response to what was thrown at my comment earlier: I am not against adoption. We are sons and daughters of God and He has taught that marriage is between a man and a woman. In a proclamation to the world : http://www.lds.org/Static%20Files/PDF/Manuals/TheFamily_AProclamationToTheWorld_35538_eng.pdf
    I know that God lives and He has given us a way in which we’ll find safety and peace. It saddens me that this country is becoming more and more liberal in its ways, much like the rest of the world. It won’t end well. Peace.

• It also saddens me to see that you are being saddened because someone is getting their rights.
      Just because your religion doesn’t agree with something doesn’t mean it should be illegal. What if Muslims campaigned so that all women had to wear burqas?

• Actually if you go to a prdominatly Muslim country, women do have to wear them. Go figure.

We live in a “predominate” “christian” country, where for a long time, catholism had great influence on such matters in government. And who says its their right to be married, or have kids? hmm, no thanks, I will not support such things and like you and those who are against what I have to say, free speech. AND yes gays/homosexuals have a right to “voice” such things, so do we. It is not old fashioned, nor ignorant, its that I firmly believe that God of the “New Testament” and other modern scriptures, says that these things are wrong. But hey, I am just another unintllectual bigot… right?

• You’re not gay why do you care that I may want to get married? It’s not you marrying another man. It was against the law for a long time in the US for a black person to marry a white. The bible was used as justification. “Race mixing is sin”. There’s no such thing as a gay marriage there is only marriage. Nobody goes around announcing their interracial marriage do they?

• You want to give me that passage where it says about black not mixing with white, just curious about that, so I can look it up… and if your gay, that doesnt bother me. Never has, but what bothers me is that the gay community wants the rights to be married and have kids… I am not sorry if what I say offends people, its my point of view and what I feel needs to be spoken out against.

on the gays being able to have kids, = wrong full stop, period.

As for interracial marriage, again doesnt bother me, as long as its between a man and a woman. It’s my right to speak out against something which I feel is wrong.

Now, what would be breaching their/your “Human rights” is if I tourched and burned and persectued every gay person alive, I am not doing that and I do not encourage such. and that is why I am using my freedom to speak out against things which I feel is wrong. Its something we are allowed to do, for which I am grateful for.

Add New Comment