TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Varadkar: Promissory note saving ‘is not €1bn more we have to spend’

The Transport Minister says that talk that the government has €1 billion more to play with in the next Budget “gave me bad memories of Charlie McCreevy”.

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar
Image: Wanderley Massafelli/Photocall Ireland

TRANSPORT MINISTER LEO Varadkar has said that the estimated €1 billion less that Ireland has to borrow as a result of the promissory note deal is not automatically an extra billion euro to spend in the next Budget.

Varadkar was responding to claims that the Budget for 2014 will require €1 billion less of an adjustment than the €3.1 billion that is being targeted as part of the government’s bailout deal with the Troika.

He told Today with Pat Kenny on RTÉ Radio this morning: “It is a billion-a-year less that we have to borrow, not a billion more that we have to spend.”

The Fine Gael TD said it was “too soon to make that call” on the size of the budget adjustment for next year and warned that budget overspends in certain departments or a failure to reach growth targets may mean there is no net gain.

“I think before we start talking about how we are going to reallocate that billion I think we need to make sure first that we meet our budget targets,” he said.

He acknowledged that the deal on the promissory notes, which involves the liquidation of the former Anglo Irish Bank and the swapping of the promissory notes for longer term Central Bank bonds, was a good one for Ireland.

‘If I have it, I spend it’

“It does save us a billion-a-year which is very important,” he said adding that some estimates from economists had equated it to a debt writedown of as much as 40 per cent.

However he told Pat Kenny that the talk of the government having an extra €1 billion on hand for spending “gave me bad memories of Charlie McCreevy and the old habit of ‘If I have it, I spend’” referring to the budgets of the former Fianna Fáil finance minister.

Varadkar also pointed out that this year the government will make a net gain from the banks, getting more money from them – including the sale of Irish Life – then it is putting into financial institutions.

But he noted that the State is borrowing €12 billion this year.

Varadkar said “the budget’s far away” and that it was too soon to get into specifics but also said that an October budget is “very likely” with new EU rules meaning a draft budget will be formulated to be examined by a committee in the autumn before being finalised by December.

“People will be able to put up realistic alternatives to what are there,” Varadkar said of the proposed draft budgets.

The Minister also said that proposed reforms to the payment of child benefit would need to the “thought true and may need to be phased in”.

Read: SIPTU: Promissory note savings should be distributed in the next budget

More: Here’s how the IBRC deal takes €1bn off next year’s Budget

Budget 2014:Prospect of October Budget welcomed amid calls for more open process

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• Don’t like Varadkar but he’s right in saying/doing this.

McCreevy’s politically motivated budgets are what got us into this mess. They worked for Fianna Fail in the short term but have been the undoing of this country and we should never go down that road again

• If recent polls are to be believed, we will “go down that road again” after the next general election.

• I wouldn’t believe them. Have a feeling that that is the media trying to normalise Fianna Fail as a party for us for the election after next, not this one. That would obviously be about 500 years too soon for them still though

If they do get in next time around I’m giving up on democracy.

• McCreevey did warn of the dangers coming. he was shafted by Aherne at the famous inchadoney fianna fail gathering and sent off toEurope. his policies kickstarted the country. It was failure to regulate and change tack that got us ino troublei. NOT UNUSUAL IN A BANANA REPUBLIC

• Colin B 20/02/13 #

Independent researchers design and administer the opinion polls. They may be paid for by the media but no research agency is going to risk it’s reputation by deliberately biasing results.

Many in the media forget about the 2-3% margins of error attached to opinion poll results however and talk about 1% increases and leads like they’re absolutes which is rediculous.

• @ Niall…I’d agree. He’s right in what he’s saying. Just because we don’t have to borrow it doesn’t mean it’s there to spend. It should on the other hand mean that as much as anticipated to be taken in tax now doesn’t.

• Lamb 20/02/13 #

Buttons to that. Leo is likely counting down the days to his non-exec directorship in car insurance

• Did he no say not one more penny to be paid for the banks?

• Colum 20/02/13 #

This so called one billion “less” is nothing more than an account trick. It’s the interest paid out by the Gov to the central bank from the new Long term bonds. But the Gov owns the central bank so in effect its only a paper transfer over and back. In 2016 the central bank will sell the bonds on the open market and that will be real money leaving the country to hedge fund managers, investors around the world etc. More bondholders in effect for ANLE DEBT. Our Gov has pulled a fast one on the irish people. Read this if interested. http://www.twitlonger.com/show/l1qnj8

• Colum 20/02/13 #

Re 2016 Open Market Bond sale : That’s if the ECB don’t turnaround this year and say the Deal was illegal. If that happens, our Central Bank will be forced to sell the bonds immediatley. Then no more accounting tricks….., we will be paying the interest to the new bond holders…… real cash leaving the country. Another Billion to the defecit each year. A great bunch in the Dail we have.

• About time someone spoke a bit of sense ..

• Martin 20/02/13 #

Should it not be “its one billion less we have to tax the people. And we are now not going ahead with the following new taxes we were planning to implement.” But no matter what deal the country gets , this government will make sure the man in the street will never benifit from it.

• “Not another cent. Banks will have to tell us how they are going to impose losses on their junior and senior bond holders before they come to us looking for more money”. Leo Varadkar speech. February 2011

• Reg 20/02/13 #

The country still needs to borrow approximately 12 billion Martin. The 1 billion “saving” in the promissory note deal is just 1 billion less to borrow. We can’t go on borrowing billions every year to meet the difference between spending and income, taxes will have to rise and spending has to fall.

Bertie, Biffo and McCreevy doubled public spending in a ten year period based on the tax income on money borrowed from abroad and pumped into the economy. There’s a painful few years still to go unfortunately.

• Martin 20/02/13 #

Painful for who do Reg? Not for the career politcians that are imposing these cuts not painful for the bankers who caused the crisis or even the developers who are now going to reap millions in rent from new housing policies. Painful only for the ordinary man who had no part in causing this crisis. Every financial deal done by a government should benifit the people whom they serve not themselves or theit banking buddies.

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

Where’s the ‘good deal’ part of this ‘deal’ and if its only stopping us from borrowing a further billion how can it be hailed as a deal. Swings and round abouts with these moronic government members, sure any idiot knows its not there to spend. What a knob jockey tell us something we don’t know madcar.

• It is a deal ryan

Weather it is a good deal or bad deal is yet to be decided

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

It’s a bad deal jay, call it like it is.

• Reg 20/02/13 #

I never said that the pain has been spread evenly or implemented fairly Martin! Personally I’ve taken a 50% hit on my income. Many small business owners could probably claim the same.

• Reg,

Most countries run a budget deficit most of the time. The deficit only becomes a serious problem when you are unable to finance it as in Ireland’s case. Ordinarily countries finance their deficits by borrowing the money in the market. Or if they control their own currency and are prepared to accept some inflation, they can simply create new money by buying their own government’s bonds etc (Quantitative easing as the Yanks call it). Even in the depths of the 1980s recession, Ireland was always able to go to the market to fund the budget deficit until Brian Lenihan bailed out the banks in 2008. The markets then realised Ireland would not be able to cover the massive banking losses and pay them back and so the interest rate they demanded rose to an unaffordable level. This pushed us into the tender Troika embrace who now lend us the money and charge interest so that we can pay the banking debt as well as our budget deficit.

The fixation on the budget deficit and the consequent shredding of our social services and escalating taxation is driven by the political agenda to distract attention from the looting of the country to pay for private banking debt. The tax hikes and cutbacks are the mechanism by which the Irish people are being made to pay for this failure of speculative financial capitalism. Having had €20 billion stolen from us in 2012 to pay off the bondholders, we will hand over another €17 billion in 2013 to cover the gambling losses of financial speculators.
      This does not take into account the indirect cost of our zombie banks on the budget deficit over the past 5 years. Credit has been denied to viable businesses resulting in multiple closures throwing thousands of people onto the dole where they draw social welfare instead of contributing income tax in a double blow to the exchequer. The bank collapse and bailout is responsible for a large part of our budget deficit in addition to being the reason that we cannot finance that deficit through the normal channels.
      We won’t tax and cut our way out of this recession. We need to repudiate all illegitimate banking debt immediately as the first step in our recovery.

• Martin 20/02/13 #

Your right Reg its not fair that you took a 50% hit and the governments Career politicians took only 10% when they took power. but maybe you should be a little more angry that this was done to you instead of aiding the unfairness with your apathic comments. They will continue to screw us while the people take your attitude. No offence meant.

• @martin- such a man of the people you are. Spare me. And try reading a book, would you?

• Reg 20/02/13 #

I think I’m more of a realist than apathetic Martin. Yes the government and politicians should have taken much more of a hit to their salaries and pensions than they took when they started this government. The Taoiseach is still paying himself about 25% more that he should be for a country our size. Emergency legislation should have been introduced to limit the maximum pension from the state to 75k. Would love to see the Bertie’s and Biffo’s of this world try and take a case to fight that one! As someone once said, anger is not a policy. I’m of the age where I try and persuade people by the power of the argument as opposed to wasting energy getting excited. There’s enough “great outraged” around here to more than compensate for my apathy!

• Only people calling this a deal so far is finelaborgaelers and FFers, European banking masters have merely noted! Still a very important constitutional challenge in progress to the promnotes.

• God forbid we got a break Leo. Can we have some good news. Is all they can do is cut cut cut? What the hell about mortgages no chance of a cut there?

• Leo, why don’t you concentrate on your own portfolio and stop sticking your nose into all the others. Want a sound bite, call Varadkar.
    Out tourism industry is not just on it’s knees, it’s on it’s back with no obvious attempt at resuscitation. “The Gathering” has all the signs of potential disaster. I would love it to be a success but…….
    We need some radical thinking, shake the hell out of Failte Ireland and Tourism Ireland, amalgamate the two. Get some new people with new ideas. Our state agencies just do the same old, same old – no innovation.

• Its his turn to spread the bullshite. Notice how they pass around the sound bites between the ministers – do they think we will think better of them if they spread out their stupid views between them?
      Its mostly because Kenny is hopeless unless its written out for him by his marketing men

• Exactly. If he is the poster boy of FG and future leader in waiting. Then ffs give him a minstership without portfolio instead of this nonsense…..But then again common sense and Irish government are hardly good bed fellows

• 2008 defecit = 12 billion.
    2013 defecit = 12 billion.

Leo, austerity has failed, you have failed.

• Who is the deal with? Draghi says it is between the state and the Irish Central Bank, nothing to do with the ECB. Different economic commentators, here and abroad say it is illegal. A letter to the Irish Times this morning says it is in breach of the Lisbon Treaty. The whole shambles stinks like rotten fish.
    All we know for sure is that Anglo, or whatever bastardised entity it became has been given the chop. Or will that prove to be a total fcuk up as well.
    The longer this goes on, the better the chances of a Dail of Independents after the next election.

• Country continues to grind to a halt deficit remains the same when will these people realise the present policy is a failure

• sean 20/02/13 #

Ah yes Leo
    Its beginning to fit now ,

Your “not another cent” comment was referring to what FG are going to give back to the low to middle income earners

• The banks are still sponsoring all the sports events and the. Or pirate boxes to entertain Zleo and co. To think the people of Ireland have given Billions to the banks and now Leo takes it for sponsorship under his watch. Now that is immoral and a resigning matter.

• He acknowledged that the deal on the promissory notes… was a good one for Ireland.”

Well, he would, wouldn’t he…?

• So, they wheeled out Leo once again to fire off some soundbites that have nothing to do with his portfolio. Jeez, you’d swear there was some controversial news about cutting childrens allowance that they need to deflect fr…………..oh.

• Lol…..how can we as people listen to these guys anymore ? The biggest heist in Irish history took place in the Dail a couple of weeks back and no one seems to have a care in the world.. i was watching them in the Dail on their mobile phones and laughing and joking while the heist was taking place…….these people don’t give a flying f****

• How many holidays will we all be going on now so leo? …. would that be 3 or is there a reduction …… I hope not because I hear Doha is lovely this time of year!…….. sanctimonious or what!

• The blueshirts are going heavy on the red thumbs today!

• What is paddy power odds for an election this year?

• Roll out Varadkar for more spin

• Of all the smug, arrogant and self righteous men and women who make up this government, Leo Varadkar above all others makes me want to get sick. He is the most dangerous of them all!!

• Rodrigo
      From whatever garret you make contributions I am convinced there is a fetid stink of under ambition and frustrated self failure as you hurl bile laden insults at any political personage you can. These targets of your venom are everything you cannot be so you slander them in the way a schoolchild online bully would behave.

• Richard. I’m beginning to wonder what Fine Gael politician you really are. Why is it you only turn up on the journal when a FG member of the Government is being slated? I absolutely 100% stand over what I say about Leo Varadkar and any other member of this Government. They lied and cheated their way to power, therefore myself and any other member of society are entitled to criticise them anytime they come out and make statements that directly contradict the statements they made while in opposition.

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Ah rogers and is it your lack of ambition and self worth that makes you come on here and attack people, do you slander your targets because they are everything you cannot be so you and your brigade resort to personal attacks. Well if that is what you believe personal attacks are about and you always carry out personal attacks on here that must be what is your problem thanks for clearing that up, makes sense. I think the above comment was more directed at the mess up they are continuing to make of the country.

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

LOL FG ministers trolling TJ. It’s the only public discourse they get……

We want your lying, cheating, stroke pulling, self interested party out!

As you were minister, back to propping up the dail bar….drinks on me.

• Let’s reply to both of you. If you believe that it’s wrong of me to challenge either or both of you for the daily spew of libellous venom that you direct at Government politicians who have a Democratic mandate to carry out their work while you attempt to undermine them for your Sinn Fein task masters then you’re wrong. If my defense of legitimacy is simply discarded as ad hominum rebuttal then I don’t know how you live with yourselves.
      I responded to you yesterday Julie about your heroes who now take the Queen’s shilling and have nothing to show for forty years of murder and torture and thieving and lying but a bigger majority in favour of remaining with the United Kingdom. Even worse you have surrendered your principles on the Territorial Claim of the Republic to Northern Ireland and the right of people in the North to self determination with our consent.
      These heroes of yours are nothing but broken down nags enjoying the grass. They are spent!

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Are we living in a sci fi movie where I have heroes and master, who I perform tasks for, have you lost it. All the fake positivity messing with your head. Yes rogers they obtained their votes through their mandate that they have continuously gone against. They have done the complete opposite, they lied total lies, to get into power. You don’t know how I live with myself, I ask myself all the time how do these politicians sleep at night knowing that because of their actions thousands(272,000) children are in poverty look up poverty because it is obvious it is something that has not affected you for a while If ever. As for SF and Northern Ireland, when Ireland voted for it independence 75% voted for the entire island to get its independence but because of Britain wanting to keep a foot hold in Ireland, they left NI too the British, Irish Catholics were stuck while the rest Of us were enjoying independence, now people up north don’t want to be part of the republic I wouldn’t want to either, cost of living high, shoddy hospitals, corruption, massive illegal banking debts, corrupt useless politicians. Can you blame them. No one owns my vote my family voted labour all their lives back to my grandfather. I made up my own mind. SF have my vote and if they go against their mandate like FG did they will not have my vote. Your being made a fool of your government.

• Julie
      A lot of pent up anger there so I will simply refer you to your accusation that the Government have abandoned their “Mandate” and I think you may be confusing the word with Manifesto as the present Government are quite clearly adhering to the authority granted them by the Electorate at the General Election.
      You also seem a little confused about the Northern question and who voted for what so perhaps we will both sidestep that and just leave it that the Troubles have left Sinn Fein sharing power in Belfast but further than ever from a United Ireland. So after thousands of deaths and incalculable damage to the economy of the entire island the reward is a place at the table with good expenses and a pension.
      On the one hand we had the stalwart Republican Party in Fianna Fail who couldn’t keep their hands out of the cookie jar and now the Angry Republicans who pretend they know how to manage a cookie jar.
      Between the two they have spent their entire existences causing destruction and damage of one sort or another across this island.
      God Bless your heroes!

• Shut up Leo

• Based on past posts from you please follow your own advice on your most recent comment!

• You, sir, are a master debater. That will put him in his place. But the sad thing he is right. The giveaway budgets from Charlie McCreevey are what got us into this mess. No such thing as putting some money away for the rainy day. Well the rainy days are here and we are all suffering due to the arrogance and ignorance of our previous government. As I have said before the biggest problem with the current government is that they seem incapable of sorting out the mess they inherited from FF. Unfortunately the alternative of Sinn Fein (the choice of the economically illiterate) and the ULA does even bear thinking about. That is what is worrying about our current predicament. There doesn’t seem to be any one able to fix it.

• Yeah but will Leo shut the fckup for glods sake

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

He has political Tourette’s can’t keep his trap shut. A star struck eegit anything for a few column inches.

• Martin 20/02/13 #

Really Stephen Donnelly, Shane Ross financially illiterate not the case I’m afraid. Compared to Noonan their giants. Noonan pays 1.4Billion for irish life and sells it over a year later with the euro strong again for the same price. Genius

• Martin I did not mention Shane Ross or Stephen Donnelly. I was talking about Sinn Fein and the ULA. Shane Ross and Stephen Donnelly are not affiliated to either group.

• @ Martin ….poor old Michael Noonan Must never have heard of “Inflation!” …oh hang on a minute …didn’t he buy a house for 3 grand ! …he must have heard of it ….the mind boggles !

• Martin 20/02/13 #

@Paul, Shane Ross and Stephen Donnelly are affiliated with the ULA, both men are part of the technical group and meet once a week with the ULA when the dail is sitting and vote with the ULA 99% of the time. You are obviously correct to say they are not members of the ULA of course.

• @Martin. You’re right. They are members of the technical group. I was speaking specifically about the ULA but point taken.

• Use it to pay off our actual debt quicker.

• By “our debt” …can one presume you work in anglo or any one of the banks that broke the country ….because I don’t and it’s not my debt!

• Well Jonny I would have thought it was pretty obvious what I meant when I said, “our actual debt”

• well pierce the “saving of 1 billion could have been 28 billion if the promissory note was scrapped! Michael Noonan admitted it was illegal AFTER it was doubled and converted to National debt … And he wrote in powers for a minister for finance that would have made Hitler blush ….the night of the long knives ? …The night of the long LIES ….for those of you who have a mild disposition with the Names hitler and Michael Noonan in the same sentence feel free to substitute any other despotic figure from history ….
      And pierce if you accept the “saving” as real then you are adding legitimacy to something that is illegal in my opinion! ……

• The people in our government are agents of the European cabal of gangsters , acting on their behalf to rob this country blind and then when they are done walk away with a massive pension and probably a job in Brussels for some of them……and then it all starts again with FIANNA FAIL……..around in circles we go !!!

• Go crawl back under your rock !

Add New Comment