TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Parents blockade Limerick school after builders remove fittings

A dispute over payment has seen some subcontractors attempt to remove fittings they installed in the new national school in Kilfinane earlier this year.

The scene outside Kilfinane NS earlier today
Image: Mairead O'Connor & Veronica Santorum via Grey Heron Media

PARENTS AT KILFINANE Primary School in Co Limerick are blocking the entrance to the school after subcontractors came to remove many of its fittings today claiming they were owed money from the main building contractor.

Crowds have gathered outside the school this afternoon after a number of subcontractors began removing shelving and bespoke furniture fittings from the school which has around 140 boy and girl pupils.

Principal Siobhan O’Flynn also said that the power has been disabled in the school and emergency lighting is currently being used.

She told TheJournal.ie that the contractor had began work on the new national school last March after the contractor before that went bust. The school opened last September but there was a number of snags, according to O’Flynn.

She said there had been “rumblings” from some of the subcontractors that they had not been paid but she said that the Department of Education had paid the contractor and there was an issue with the contractor then paying the subcontractors.

O’Flynn said: “I did say this to one of the subcontractors that I do understand that they haven’t been paid unfortunately, it doesn’t actually involve us in that we can’t pay them and the money has been paid already by the Department.

“There is nothing we can do about it. They should be looking for their money from the contractor. We’re a soft target, the school is a soft target.

“We’re very disappointed. I’ve had good relations with these people so I’m very disappointed we are being treated like this, we’re being used as a soft target.”

Limerick school

The scene outside the school in Kilfinane National School this evening (Pic: Mairead O’Connor & Veronica Santorum of Grey Heron Media)

O’Flynn claimed that one of the subcontractors arrived in the school building after pupils had gone home and let other subcontractors in through one of the fire escape doors.

She said they then removed a number of the fittings including most internal doors, shelving in classrooms, doors for cabinets under sinks and furniture in the corridor area.

However as subcontractors attempted to leave with the fittings in their vans parents blocked the entrance. Gardaí were on the scene earlier today but have since left.

The Department of Education has been informed and O’Flynn says that the school’s solicitor is going to the High Court in an attempt to secure an injunction.

According to RTÉ the subcontractors claim they are owed between €15,000 and €20,000 from the DPB construction company in Roscrea in Co Tipperary.

Contacted this evening, the company said it would not be commenting.

The Department of Education did not immediately have any comment to make.

Read next:

Comments (110 Comments)

• Same old story, main contractor undercuts everyone else, gets job, goes bust, no subbies get paid, then nothing done about it.

• What a disgrace.

• Yeah its a disgrace alright…you should pay those who work for you in a timely fashion…those men (subcontractors) get up in the morning to go out and earn a living…that €20k could be the difference between them shutting down and putting skilled people on the dole and further worsening the state of our economy..if that was my firm Id have taken back my stuff long ago…..even the children would learn a lesson…if someone performs a service or sells you something, they have to be paid otherwise its stealing!

• Try reading the article again. What these subcontractors did amounts to theft. The Department of Education paid the bill for the services and is legally the owner of the property. The principal was right in that it is a dispute between the contractor and subcontractors. The school is just a weak target they think they can get away with stealing from. I would have full sympathy for them if not for their disgraceful conduct.

• Completely agree with Jason. The issue is between the contractor and the subbies. Won’t someone think of the children!

• You try getting money out of a contractor who has already spent the money (that you should get also) on his own debt repayments!!!Your left with the threat of “If you take this to court Ill declare bankruptcy anyway!Your not getting your money either way!”.That is what someone very close to me was told.This is happening all across the country and the subby’s are left massively out of pocket!!!!!Yeah its terrible that the kids have to go through this crap but just imagine how desperate you’d have to be to do this……these lads are at their wits end…pressure,pressure, Christmas coming…no other way to get attention but doing this….there’ll be ALOT more of this!!!

• I cant agree with you Jason, The school hired a cowboy contractor, simple as, they are at fault unfortunately in my eyes.

• It’s an odd situation because if the original supplier hasn’t been paid the the main contractor and the school never had full ownership. Like most sales it probably states all goods belong to the supplier until they are paid in full. Giving them the right to take the goods back

• tomas 22/11/12 #

It is ridiculous. These men need to be. It’s there property until its paid for.

• That doesn’t excuse blatant theft. Just because the contractor blew the payment on debt does not mean the subcontractors have a right to break into private property and steal items because they are out of pocket. The courts are the only ones who have a right to decide how these subcontractors get their money. Breaking into someone else’s property and taking their items is just an idiotic move and I hope the Gardaí make arrests.

• Not to mention the Vat the subcontractors are also stuck with, tax man does not care if subcontractors are paid as long as tax man is!

• Mick 22/11/12 #

If you use that argument you would need to mention that the sub contractors willingly worked for this same cowboy builder. It’s.not the schools fault my man… They did something that amounts to theft…nothing more nothing less..

• I thought the goods remain the property of the sub contractor until they are paid for in full? Therefore the sub contractors are simply removing their own property.

• Mick 22/11/12 #

Sorry, The above is in reply to mr crow..

• The fact that the subcontractor’s contract with the contractor has not been honoured is not the school’s fault, nor the fault of the kids.

Saying “you try getting money from a contractor” in no way strengthens your argument.

• Mick 22/11/12 #

It was paid for by the school, therefore it’s the schools property..they should have taken it up with the contractor…if they knew he was dodgy…why work for him…or why did they not do a credit check before they throw away their money..

• @Jason Culligan Are you ok in the head? Theft?? It’s the sub contractors goods until it’s paid for? The subs “own” the goods until paid for. Read The Avarus Animus’s comments, completely spot on!

• This crap has been going on for years where the small contractor gets shafted by the main contractor. If you do the work your entitled to be paid the agreed price. The government could outlaw it in the morning only their big buck friends in IBEC would be upset. Pay the workers first.

• Chris , you did not say what was a disgrace.

• Keith, firstly I would ignore anyone who resorts to insults on the first go but I’ll ignore it this once.

Secondly the Department of Education had a contract of sale with the contractor. The Department paid upon completion of the project and the contract was complete. A legally binding transaction took place. Everything that happens after that is out of the hands of the school because they paid for and received everything in the contract. To claim the subcontractors have any rights to the property is delusional and ignores everything regarding contractional law.

• To the people saying the subbies are justified, if you bought a Samsung TV from Currys but they hadn’t yet paid Samsung for it, would you be happy for Samsung to call around to your house and take the TV off the wall?

As much as I hate to see this happen to them, they need to take it up with the main contractor or the courts.

• Mick 22/11/12 #

Well said Jason

• I think the actions of the subcontractors is a disgrace. If they are owed money from the contractor they should be taking it up with the contractor. The contractor appears to have been paid in full by the Dept. which is then the responsibility of the contractor. Removing furnishings from a school is as bad as going in and doing the same to a hospital. How do the sub contractors think this will get them their money? The Department of Education dont owe them the money.

• Think of the children, yes. also think of the children of the subcontractors employees.

• I hear what you are saying lads, but I don’t agree with the law on this one. Enough is enough in this country, time to stop being soft and stick up for ourselves

• The school has nothing to do with tendering or deciding on contractors. As with all these projects, the department of education decides everything and pays the bills! The school does not pay the contractor.

• Yes let’s stick up for ourselves and pick on helpless children instead? A lot of people seem to be missing the point that the education of children is being adversely affected. This is a disgrace!

• @Jason: I’m going to be nice but to be fair you haven’t a clue what your talking about!In the real world where a business needs every penny it can to survive…..the law and the courts are the last thing on your side!!Do you know how expensive it is to challenge a case in an Irish court?Do you know the time and resources that would be wasted for a sub-contractor trying to ply money (he rightly owns) from an unscrupulous, cowardly builder who at any moment could file for bankruptcy!?(and very regularly does!)You talk about theft?Did the main contractor not commit a form of theft(fraud even)by knowingly recruiting a sub-contractor and then not paying for goods and services due?!In 2011, the Seanad passed the “Construction Contracts Bill” whereby building contracts would be reformed to ensure prompt payment for sub-contractors and introduce a dispute resolution mechanism, neither of which have come to fruition and dont look likely to.So when the legislators (law makers) procrastinate and the builders procrastinate by refusing to pay you,and the courts favour expensive prolonged cases…what do you do?What would you do?You have 10,20 men working for you and you haven’t gotten paid?Would you be so faithful to the law and the courts in this situation?My ar*se you would!

• I haven’t got a clue what I’m talking about? The man who is saying that stealing something that doesn’t belong to you anymore because the courts take to long is saying that other people are clueless?

Listen mate, no amount of wrongdoing justifies breaking two separate laws (trespassing and property theft) while targeting children who cannot stand up for themselves in either a physical or legal sense. Typical bully-boy tactics, get picked on so pick on someone else and screw the taxpayer who’s property they are stealing. If the courts take too long then that is a shame, but violating the law makes you no better.

• graham 22/11/12 #

Why did the board of education pay the subbys.

• Mick 22/11/12 #

So take the law into your own hands because you were naive enough to work for someone who was a cowboy? Give me a break…people in the industry know who is a cowboy and who isn’t

• You conveniently didn’t answer my question…..What would you do in that situation?

• Mick 22/11/12 #

Check somebody out before I do an hours work for him maybe? Apply logic.

• graham 22/11/12 #

The builder should have not been paid. The principal should be sacked for this. Always the subbys fault. There taking back what there owed. About time somebody took a stand. Who the hell is in charge of running the schools , if that was me I’d take back what I put in.

• @croistoir Its the schools job to make everything run smoothly, If they’d hired the right contractor in the first place none of this would have happened. Go back to the root of the problem. No matter what the builders could manage to take back they are still out of pocket and as someone said what about their own kids? Bills, xmas ect.

• I wasn’t actually asking you that Mick :P but in that respect, its very hard to get an accurate report on who you will working for and in the resent economic climate…you take business where you can get it..keep the wolf from the door and feed your kids!. Stubbs Gazette helps you find with credit ratings but it used more for customers than someone you go into partnership with.You also dont know if the contractor will just turn around and do a legger anyway!Another thing to note is that all state departments usually have a list of accredited builders/contractors so you’d think as a subby if the state have sourced a builder that they would be to a certain standard..in workmanship terms and in how they run their business affairs.The real culprits in this story are the main contractors and I feel the subbys are doing this to force the hand of the department and the contractor.If this hadn’t been a school (with children involved) and was a hotel or a restaurant or a block of apartments..people would be no where near as emotive on the issue….its a crappy situation but the worst thing you can do to a man or a woman is falsely get them to work for you for weeks maybe and then not pay them….its a despicable thing to do and I’m not going to judge the subbys on this one!

• Finally a sensible answer to put that Jason in he’s box.

• Because the dept of education payed in full for the work .It doesn’t mean that they have a legal right to ownership of all fixtures and fittings,If the sub contractors have a right to retention of title on all goods supplied if not payed for. That’s the legal standing.
      A basic example would be. You bought a car for 10k from a friend not knowing that said friend still owed 12k to the hire purchase company.
      As far as your concerned you have full ownership of the car, till d day said car is reposed by the hire purchase company. Because u paid in full it doesn’t make it yours. Now it’s up to you to get back your money from your friend and not the hire purchase company.Same as the dept of education to make sure the main contractor honours his contractual obligations in which all works and fixtures and fittings are supplied even after the subbies remove the goods they haven’t been payed for.
      It’s not nice on anyone but that’s just d way it is..

• The Department employ the cheapest tender. They pay peanuts and wonder why they get monkeys.
      As soon as the main Contractor gets a big payment he clears off and goes in to receivership. In the UK proof is required that all subbies have been paid to date and only then is the money released. Way to go I think !

• The subcontractors have not been paid by the main contractor. Action taken by them today implies negotiations for payment with the main contractor were going nowhere. Taking the fixtures back out of the school is clearly not what they want to be doing, they really just want the money that they are entitled to. Looks like a last resort to shame the main contractor into paying up.

• What is the exact legal position for the subcontractor here. I’m not a lawyer. If I bought a car on hire purchase and sold it to someone else before making all the payments then the hire purchase company can certainly come and repossess the car from the person I sell it to. That situation looks similar but I wonder does it all boil down to what the wording of the contract is between the main contractor and the sub contractor? Personally don’t agree with what they did but can see why they would pursue this course of action.

• Don’t know what d wording is between d parties involved but contracts Would have been between main contractor and dept of education and sub contractor and main contractor . Never between subby and dept of education . Hence d reason they are removing their materials they haven’t been payed for by d main contractor . It’s up to the dept to make sure the main contractor to make good on fixtures and fittings that are removed.

• In many cases John..contractors and subbys dont even have formal contracts (signatures on paper)….your told what needs to go where etc, you’ll be scrutinised for safe passes, different building tickets etc etc…all there might be are invoices for materials used and an invoice for the work to be completed!!!Builders want to stay away from higgledy piggledy contracts and most of the time (90%) a mans word was his bond (seriously!) and has been for many years but of course there are people who have no regard for their fellow worker and pull a fast one!If your a subby and you want work to keep afloat the last thing you’ll ask is for the main contractor (or you) to sign a contract ..he’ll give the work to someone else and because if the job goes tits up he can walk away!!Catch 22 crap!

• Your right about formal contracts but d subbys will invoice the main contractor for work and materials supplied and on that invoice you’ll find d retention of title clause. It’s standard nowadays .

• Mick 23/11/12 #

Keep the wolf from the door by working for someone who you have not checked out…well done kid..great point…says a lot..

• The principal should be sacked? Sorry but what the F**k are you on about? The principal of the school had nothing to do with this debacle and was well within her rights to do something about it, it’s the original contractor that’s to blame here not the school or its staff.

• The present system used by governmental departments for awarding contracts to the cheapest price is a waste, time and again these contracts end up in a similar situation to this one
    matter

• Mick 22/11/12 #

It’s the sole responsibility of those that work for these contractors to check these guys out before the work for them…are people blind working for contractors that will not pay?

• Also a former student of this school and my mother was one of the teachers who spent years campaigning for a new building. They were promised a school by three different governments and bumped down the list every time the wind changed. Another step in a sorry saga…

• Any contractor working on a state project should have to provide financial statements proving they have the capacity to provide for any job undertaken. It’s a shame it’s with a school but I worked for a hydraulics company about ten years ago who were owed €160,000. More than a few times we were asked to do lunchtime raids on other people’s workshops to reposes expensive pumps/valves. Thankfully I never had to do it but but the company had no other choice just like these suppliers. Anyone know the main contractor involved here.

• The problem is the main contractors , the pricing , and the people given out the contracts. Those responsible for giving out the works know full well when someone is under bidding but still except the bids. This results in the main contractor having no money to pay the finishing contractors. ie painters , furniture , flooring , .it has happened time and time again on government contracts and this same government has done nothing for the subbies . I do not blame the subbies for their action as it’s the government who excepts the totally silly bids and who causes these issues. They should be using main cocontractor with a proven track record , who produce quality work , pay all taxes and who pay their subbies. They government employees a lot of architects who know how much such things should cost but they still except the ridiculously low quotes . Unfortunately this government has put this school in this position . All the subbies want is to get paid for their sweat and toil . PAY YOUR BILLS AND EMPLOY DECENT MAIN CONTRACTORS.

• Time for fine Gael to pass the long awaited bill to protect subcontractors.
    Otherwise no credit for large contractors ,pay up front and price the job right,then you won’t be able to undercut everybody else!!!!

• Is this another example of our governments failure to legislate? I believe in the uk there is a system in place to ensure subcontractors are paid before the contractor can receive final payment.

• Sounds like thuggery to me! Can we get the name of this contractor and publish it to ensure they never receive a dime from anyone again! Disgraceful behaviour!!

• Surely if the Department gave the contract to the main contractor he would have been tax compliant. Therefore he must have the funds to pay the subbies. Too much of this went on in the past subcontractors came out worst – main contractors hiding behind companies – and living it up.

• Gamma 22/11/12 #

it’s a shame that it’s affecting children but if I was owed twenty grand I’d be looking for my stuff back too

• I can see both sides of the argument, yes, but at the end of the day, those kids do not deserve to see their school left in a state for the next few weeks.

As a former student who was myself promised this school before I left, I am just sick of this.

• The contractor in these contracts = Subbie busters

• Let’s say I went into a shop and picked up a telly, walked to the counter to pay for it but suddenly had a change of heart and walked out the door with the telly. If I sold that telly to you for, say the full RRP of the telly…who is guilty???

Well firstly, I would have to get jail as while I initially intended to pay for the telly but didn’t, I therefore stole it. Most would agree that’s jailtime for me, people have been jailed for less.

Secondly YOU would also be guilty, guilty of handling stolen property. While you may not have known I didn’t pay for the telly it would at least be taken off you. Your recourse would be with me.

I think we can all agree that the only innocent party in all of this was the shopkeeper. While bizarrely the laws of this country do not see the similarities of both situations I would expect different from any reasonable person reading this.

Is it right that the children are caught up in this..absolutely not. It’s time the government gave a bit more thought to Sean Gallaghers proposals to legally reinforce the rights of innocent subcontractors.

C’mon Kenny & Co…earn your money.

• @mick you have said more than once above that the subbie should check out the contractor before carrying out work. surely the onus should be on the department of education to have a list of approved vetted and reliable contractors who wont screw the subbies?

• As a sub working on public school projects here in California it seems the dept of Education in Ireland need to change their payment system and cannot hide behind an argument that they paid the main contractor.Here in California every month a sub submits his pay app to the main contractor and agrees on percentage complete.The main contractor includes all of their subs pay application as a line item amount on their monthly pay application with their own work and submits to the dept of education for review and agreement.Upon agreement one month later the dept pays the main contractor and informs all subs of payment date via email and mail ,the main contractor legally has only 10 days to pay everyone on that agreed pay app or be in breach of contract.The dept knows the main contractor has to pay their subs and has an agreed pay app to see what all 3 parties agreed the previous month.if the subs do not submit a lien release (or other legal document)certifying they got paid amount agreed on last months billing /pay app then the amount in withheld from the main contractors current pay application until resolution.The dept is essentially making sure the subs money is set aside until it is resolved legally as they only have contract with main contractor so this is only way to offer protection to subs working on their project – pretty simple

• What is happening alot at the moment , is that a number of dodgy main contractors are pricing work, less than the cost of completing the build , ( underpricing) being the cheapest quotes they get the work , then they complete the project and get paid in full , knowing only too well that they will not have funds to pay a number of subbies at the end , but will have taken there own cut …. Ruthless but they don’t care….

• I am a parent of a child at the school. This is the second time in a few years that subcontractors have come in and started vandalising the school. A different set of subcontractors were in a year or two ago when the first main contractor went bust and didn’t pay. That time the windows went and 24 hour protection had to be put in to hold onto what there was of the school. The Dept of Education had to tender again to finish the school- and yet managed to let the same thing happen with the next main contractor. How many other state funded projects is this happening on?

• graham 22/11/12 #

The rights and wrongs are being blown way out of proportion here. Fact , who ever was in charge should be sacked, End of story. The builder should have whatever he owes taken off him. And the board if education should be fined.. Why is there not a list of regulated contractors ???????? Two much lee way with this government.

• I was a student at the former national school.

Rodents in the school, crap heating, toilets were outside and in a terrible state.

This new school has been campaigned for 14 years. It’s construction has been a fiasco and it’s ridiculous that the Gardaí have left the scene.

• When working for yourself you have no safety net.
    I was running my own business, I had got stung by none payers.
    It is a simple matter of taking your stuff back.
    If the subbies had furnished the school and had not been paid and they owe their suppliers.
    It is a simple return supplies.
    Or pay for them, what about the subbies getting court action for not paying for items.
    But the subbies going and taking items that they didn’t supplied in the first place is theft…
    If they haven’t been paid for the items they are not theirs, and the main contractor has committed fraud.
    But subcontractor who painted the school can’t go in and take stuff.
    He has to go to court.
    That may be the reason the guards left because the items where their property and simple not been paid for?
    Nothing worse than working hard all month and then find the crowd you where working for are bankrupt.
    Out of pocket on supplies, cost of travel and loss of earnings.
    If I where a subbie I would be in their.
    The main contractor has not supplied what he/she/they were paid to do it is them that should be dragged into the courts for their criminal actions.
    I do feel sorry for the school after 14 years of being let down and rat infested building.
    I to would be doing my best to protect it.
    It is the main contractor here in my view point who is the villain.
    But open to other peoples points of view.

• but as stated in many contracts the fittings etc. remain the property of the supplier until paid in full so technically they’re only taking what’s there’s!! what would you do Robert??

• The fact that it’s a school that’s in the middle is regrettable and makes it far more emotive,. The DOE should reassess how it manages these projects.
    I work with a sub-contractor on a large government project in the UK. While I have the typical payment issues with the main contractor (cos it’s never plain sailing), I also have direct contact with the Client’s/Goverment rep on site. I’ve no problem chatting with the Client and explaining any issues I’m having.
    Considering the grandiose plans of recent governments to renovate schools, common sense would dictate that they would establish a small team of experienced project managers to actively supervise the handful of projects which actually get going (compared to promised/planned).
    We don’t need people with 20 years experience as construction company director in Dubai to manage things, but just someone to whom the Main Contractor is reportable on regular basis.
    Given the number of school reno projects which have actually started across the country, a few regional/provincial PM’s could help resolve issues like this.

• Surely the sub contractors issue is with the main contractor now and now the school? The school has paid for an owns the fittings so this is theft is it not!?

• I feel sorry for the sub contractors for getting shafted. But at the end of the day what can they do with the materials they have removed as said in the article some of these are bespoke so of use to no one else.

• finbar m 22/11/12 #

Most school being built are the same , lads driving down from the north ,no tax being paid and the same contractor
    getting more contracts

• I’m delighted. I hope more is done. Contractors should not be allowed take on subbys if they can’t pay them. Legally the person who has the receipt for the goods is the owner!

• The school paid a contractor , for something he did not own.

• It is really awful this is happening a school, but you can understand the subcontractors decision although very cruel this man I’m sure has his own bills and needs to survive. Dog eat dog world.

• what poor actions taken by the builders. They know perfectly well it has nothing to do with the school and exactly who owes them the money.

• FairPlay!

• The parents should allow these subbies to take the equipment, its theirs, it doesnt belong to the school until its paid for. This Roscrea company should be boycotted on every site in the country, the practice of ‘Bust the Subbie’ has to end, these men have families, mortgages, bills of all sorts and children of their own too.. but if they havent been paid then the school should open its doors and allow them to take what is theirs

Its grossly misleading for a Principal Teacher to suggest that these people are using the ‘pupils’ and the school as a soft target..the decision to go in to repossess must have been agonising for them all. The point has already been made, these men get out everyday in all weathers to earn a living and to do that and not be paid is criminal. Teachers want to be paid for ‘extras’ in their own jobs but object to the real creators of wealth in this country – the workers – in getting paid for doing their job and meeting deadlines… her comments are insulting and a complete joke.. Take your cars home and leave these men to their work, its really none of the parents business, the Dept will have to accommodate the children, thats THEIR job..

• Brian, it’s taken 14 years of campaigning and broken promises for this school to get built.

Sub contractors may be out if pocket, but I doubt the parents are going to let this recently opened school be ripped apart after a 14 year wait.

• Brian, you say its the dept’s job to accomodate the children. Is that not what they did by finally providing this school?

Secondly, if the school were to open its doors and allow the fittings be taken as you piously suggest, well then you are leaving the school with a huge debt and nothing to show for it.

Whilst I feel sympathy for the subbies, this is an ill judged move. The school and subbies it seems have a common enemy in the contractor and should be working with each other, not against, to tackle the contractor and get them to pay whats due.

Its swings and roundabouts. I feel deeply sorry for the subbie

• Jason you don’t know a thing about law obviously! The stock provided by the subbies remain there property until all payments are paid, in other words contract between 2 parties in this case principle contractor and sub contractor, although unfair on the innocent victims in the school the sub contractors simply collected what was there’s

• Pull it all out. The last person to pay for goods retains title over them. The cost of that material could send a sub contractor out of business before christmas. Id rather children miss a few weeks of school than put people out of the job. The parents should be ashamed. Go picket the contractors house for the money. Idiots.

• As an idiot parent (thanks Joe) – I would gladly have gone with the subcontractors to picket the main contractors house – if they’d suggested this- instead of breaking into the school, cutting off the power and demolishing the place.

• Alien8 22/11/12 #

A lot of rubbish being spouted here about who owns what… the dept paid the contractor to build the school, the contractor paid suppliers for the equipment, and the subcontractors for their service. At no time had the subcontractors been owners of the the fittings. The subcontractors supplied a service to the contractor, not goods, and unfortunately for them he has reneged on his payment, and there is no protection in Irish law.

It’s not fair on them, and while stealing equipment from the school might shame the main contractor, it should rightly shame them as well for bullying the school. If the subcontractors broke into the contractors house and started ripping it up for material, would their supporters still be vocally in their ‘stand’?

• You are stopping people taking back their own material. Peoples incomes are tied up in that. It doesnt belong you, the children or the school. It belongs to the people who fitted it until its paid for. The point is lost on you!

• JOE , your view on ownership is wrong . The school has paid in full for the goods / services as per the terms agreed with the main contractor . The sub contractors have been robbed by the main contractor . My support is with the subbie here , but they have taken the wrong step. Their fight is with the main contractor , not the school.it is THEY who need to picket and protest the main contractor .

• the subbies havent been paid for their services or the equipment so they are perfectly correct to go and remove the equipment….its not a loaner scheme they run….

• It boils down to the school having been defrauded by the main contractor. No-one can sell goods that don’t belong tthem. Unsavoury as the situation is for the school, the sub-contractors have full ownershp of the fittings until they have been paid.

• everybody sayin the subbies own the goods are wrong. the main contractor who was paid in is the one responsible for paying the subbies that he hired not the department of education. take it up with the main contractor! maybe next time they will get deposits

• The sale of goods act does not cover property . The contract was between the main contractor and the school/ dept of ed. The main contractor is dishonest , by not paying for the service he is the one who will be responsible for people loosing their jobs. By him not paying his bill to the sub contractor , the sub contractor cannot pay his staff , his suppliers, his mortgage , his esb , his heating etc. the supplier in turn will not be able to pay his staff , his wholesaler etc . One dishonest and greedy builder can destroy an entire community. PAY UP you greedy f@”%

• The whole vandalism exercise was done to force the issue, the good are near worthless once they have been fitted as everything installed is of a set standard and finish, labour is often the biggest factor. But they are still stupid ignorant thugs as are many Michael Mouse builders, most of whom have no balls when things get heavy and the heavies turn out!! If I was there I’d at least get those doors back on but there are logistics!!

The subbies tender prices that are impossible, win the contract and I’ve seen people leave on a daily basis without being paid, even apprentices, they pay no one if the can get away with it and it’s those wages that make their stolen profit. This is a fact and the main contractors know all about it and care not nothing. Nasty and totally immoral low lifes!! This is some set ups, there are great builders but I have hardly met any!!

• The school was also properly full of cheap Chinese imported furniture……I’ve stopped even quoting for the school furniture as its a waste of time…..

• It’s very simple. You buy a car, pay for it, bring it home and enjoy it. 2 weeks later garage goes belly up That garages creditors then come looking for monies their owed by the garage, and they decide to show up at your door to take the car? I don’t think so!!! Sub contractor obviously trying to make a point and draw media attention to what is obviously a desperate situation for them.

• I have no sympathy for sub-contractor’s, they know what they are getting into. Most subby’s use non-compliant worker’s and are ripping their employee’s off at all time’s. On government project’s, where possible all work should be undertaken by direct labour.

• That is the greatest pile of bullshit I have ever heard.

• I have worked for sub-contractor’s, they pay by the day not the hour, they do not pay in your pension contribution’s, you tend to take more chance’s with safety, if you complain about your condition’s, your sacked. You work in all type’s of weather, if you are a member of a union, it is usually because on site’s like the airport your employee’s have to be in a union. When the main contractor use’s, there is a reason, subby’s undercut each other to the bone to get the job, it only stand’s to reason that they cut corner’s to make profit.

• some people here need to go back to school and correct their grammar and spelling….lol

Add New Comment