TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Cross-party calls for loyalists to reconsider Dáil protest

Around 150 loyalists plan to hold a protest outside Leinster House this Saturday sarcastically calling for the Irish flag to be taken down… even though it won’t be flying.

Loyalist activist Willie Frazer, pictured in 2007.
Image: Nicholas Mac Innes/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THERE HAVE BEEN calls from Sinn Féin, Fianna Fáil and Labour for loyalists to reconsider their plans to hold a protest outside Leinster House in Dublin this weekend.

Labour TD Gerald Nash has described plans by loyalist activist Willie Frazer to bring three bus loads of protesters to Dublin to stage a demonstration outside the Dáil as a “ridiculous stunt”.

Frazer and around 150 loyalists are planning to visit Dublin this Saturday where they will sarcastically call for the Irish flag to be lowered in protest over the decision by Belfast City Council to fly the Union flag on designated days at city hall.

Previously the flag has flown all year round. As the Dáil and Seanad are not sitting on Saturday there will be no tricolour flying at Leinster House on Kildare Street but that is currently unlikely to deter the demonstrators.

Loyalists also plan to hand in a letter addressed to Taoiseach Enda Kenny calling on him to do more to honour his commitment to meet with victims of IRA atrocities including the one at Kingsmill and issue a formal apology.

Nash said today: “I note that Mr Frazer describes his plans to protest against the flying of the tricolour at Leinster House as ‘tongue in cheek’.

“He would be well advised to remove his tongue from his cheek and put his mouth to good use in cancelling this ridiculous stunt which is bordering on the reckless.”

‘Insult’

The Louth deputy called on Frazer to use his influence to try to end the violent protests that have taken place in Belfast in recent days and described the “stunt” as an “insult to our intelligence”.

Sinn Féin TD Seán Crowe said that people in Dublin should not engage with or be provoked by the protesters while calling on the loyalists to reconsider their protest.

“They should cancel this protest and all other protests which have been the cause of violence in recent weeks,” Crowe said. “This provocative publicity stunt is designed to ratchet up tension and trouble in Dublin.

“I am calling on all Dublin people and others in the capital not engage with or be provoked by these unwelcome protestors.”

Meanwhile, Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson Niall Collins recalled the violence which marred Frazer’s ‘Love Ulster’ demonstration in 2006 and pointed out that the tricolour will not be flying at Leinster House on Saturday as the Dáil and Seanad are not sitting.

Collins said: “If Mr Frazer has a coherent case to make on the issue of flags, he should make it in a mature and responsible way.  I would be happy to facilitate a meeting with him to discuss any issue.

“However, I do not believe that a disruptive loyalist protest outside an empty Leinster House on a busy retail day in Dublin City Centre will advance his case in any way.

“In fact, I am confident it will serve only to further alienate a population already struggling to understand the disgraceful scenes in Belfast over the last month.”

Read: Condemnation as journalist and SDLP politician sent bullet in the post

Read: Fourth night of violence in East Belfast as flag protests continue

Read next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• Is this not part of ‘The Gathering’ …?

• Madness. Ideally we should let them come down, watch peacefully from a non-threatening distance and all just point and laugh at the same time. Reality, they’re going to get 50 shades of shite knocked out of them if those free state policemen and women they loath don’t protect them. They’re down to incite and make paddy look bad, no more no less. Bigoted sewer rats.

• I was thinking exactly the same – people should just walk by, give them an idle grin, and keep on going. I guess up in Belfast they feel a force to be reckoned with. If they are ignored, it might go a way to helping them realise that down here they are just seen as sh*t stirring ridiculous dinosaurs from a bloody time that has no place in 2013.

• Loyalists travelling to a foreign country seeking that country not to fly the flag of said sovereign nation.Yeah sounds reasonable,sure it’ll be grand.Hope the Garda are up to date with their “Baton training”

• Sure they are just coming over to head office. In time Willie and friends will be coming down to protest over water rates and the like.

• @Norman, A foreign country? I’ve heard of revisionism but man do you take the biscuit. Ireland is one island, one nation, no amount of artificial borders or revisionism can ever change that fact. But unfortunately we have a minority of our population who have an identity crisis who thonk they’re British deapite being born in the north east of Ireland, so we humour them and to stop them murdering innocents let them have their little artificial enclave for the time being, but as was already said, democracy was never a friend of unionists or loyalists. The day will come when Ireland will be peacefully Re-united, no amount of threats or bigotry will stop the inevitable.

• Since when have Sinn Fein ever respected the democratic process?

• Tom at this moment in time would you enlighten me as to whom has sovereignty of NI.I’m aware it is part of the the land mass of Ireland,sadly that is all.BTW reread your comment and you will notice your own contradiction in what you called me.

• Norman, a foreign nation (Britain) is occupying the north east of Ireland, with 5000 armed troops based there to ensure their occupation is kept in force. This is a perpetual injustice forced upon Ireland, the majority of people in Ireland were never given a vote on the issue so it is undemocratic to boot….and please dont trot out the gerrymandered artificial unionist majority crap, it demonstrates a severe lack of understanding of how the artificial statelet came about and why it still exists.

• Yeah in fairness to Willie Frazer, he appears to be seeing the light, recognising the true authority of the 32 county Republic, why would he appeal to the Leinster house if he didn’t see it as the legitimate authority over Belfast city hall?

I think we should all go to Leinster house and give them a big clap for finally coming to their senses.
      Willy the unwitting Republican!

• I believe Norman had his tongue firmly in his cheek about the “foreign country” quip.

• This will not end well.

• Another small-minded petty stunt to bring the disturbances south of the border. Mr. Frazer came down in 2006 pretending he didn’t know where the GPO was and how he was surprised that trouble broke out, however years ago the opinionated bigot actually worked in Dublin!!! Fact!

• That picture of Frazer reminds me of a ginger Curley Watts from corrie.

• This all boils down to loyalism not knowing why it really exists any more, Frazer makes Mattie Mc Grath look bright.Republicans went to Long Kesh and got degrees, Loyalists got tattoos.

• Well said, Just a stunt to provoke and cause trouble.

• What the loyalists fail to see is that the north of Ireland is made up of more than people who support them . It is also made up also of a significant amount of people who consider themselves Irish and who whose families have lived their for generations . The new rules of flying the flag were made in the spirit of reconciliation and made in an attempt to make Catholics and nationalists feel that it is their home too .
    And if they want to go back further into history the only flag that should be flying up their is the Tri colour as N. I was originally part of this nation .

The loyalists egged on by illegal forces just do not know how to accept compromise . They do not want to accept that nationalists live along side them . The people on the streets protesting at the moment are nothing more than thugs !!!!

• Also, the new rules bring Belfast City Council into line with every other Council in the UK which fly their flags only on 16 designated days during the year.

• The Shinners should get their Lesbian and Gay cumann members to sing as Gaeilge to the Loyalists and Unionists. The 3 things they hate the most combined – Republicans, Gays and all things Irish.

That said all politics aside but if Willie Frazer is the best that you can get to organize and lead things then things are in a very poor state for the Orange side. He is frankly not all there, unstable.

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

I forgot to say the other thing that Loyalists and Unionists hate – Catholics. It is hard to keep track of all the things they are against.

• So have I got this right –

A Loyalist group in Northern Ireland is upset about the decision made by their own city council which consists of Nationalists and Unionists, all of which who voted in favour of this measure, so they are going to another country to protest the decision made by their own elected representatives by ‘sarcastically’ asking a totally different government which played no part in the decision to take down their own flag when not in session, which is what they actually already do anyway, on a day when the flag is not flying for that very reason?

Someone needs to put some chlorine in that gene pool .

Will they be taking the short bus down here?

• DB 07/01/13 #

It should not be allowed all it is trouble in the making plus going to cost a fortune to police.

• Let him come down with his flute blowing Charlie Chaplins fans, but inform them that there is no budget for policing his welcome party.

• DB 07/01/13 #

So all we will have is thugs from the north and skangers wanting a fight. We are worse for allowing this to happen.

• They have as much right to protest here as anyone else in this country. There should be a very strict cordon around it. I presume that the Gardaí will be well prepared this time.

The last time it happened the Justice Minister had other motivations as well. I’d say he wasn’t too sad to see the protest descending in to a riot if it blackened all Republicans and was a nice distraction from the gombeen circus that was that Govt.

What else did he expect from having the UVF march past sites where they killed dozens in Dublin, holding pictures of the people who did it.

• the dogs roaming the streets have more class and manners than these so called loyalist/biggots

• They’re coming down for a peaceful violent protest!

• padraig 07/01/13 #

Willie Frazer is barely able to win his deposit in an election. The real concern with this stupidly, is also the mayhem that could come from Eirigi and C-IRA counter-protests.

• So the Tricolour won’t even be flying that day?

Sounds like mass “Eastwooding”!

• The Garda can stop this in its tracks by not issuing a protest licence and they will be well within the rights to do so over the love ulster demonstration in 2006 imagine what would happen if a few bus loads of republicans went to Belfast to protest over the British flag

• Only it’s so serious,,,and people could end up been hurt or Killed it would be absolutely Hilarious,,

• If they want to protest let them
    They will send the most respected along with women and children to try and get maximum exposure.
    Dont give them the oppurtunity, put a 200 metre ring around oconnell street and let no one in. no reporters no journalists nobody and let them shout all they like, put them back on the bus and send them home. do not cover it on the news or any of the media outlets and it will then be a complete waste of time for them

• By far the best thing to do would be to totally ignore them but unfortunately that won’t happen.

• padraig 07/01/13 #

These fools wrecked Christmas in Belfast for retailers and people living there. I hope some of these dim bulbs get sectioned.

• They are only coming down here to cause trouble. We dont want them down here. Also The Loyalists will be waiting a long time before they get an apology for the Kingsmill massacre. If they cause one bit of trouble I hope the Gardai gives them a good hiding.

• Ironic thing about this flag protest was unionist parties agreed to the same system of flag displays days at Stormont itself a while ago. What’s the difference with Belfast City Hall scenario from Stormont . Talk of loyalist super grass trials about to come to court part of this protest was mentioned on the news media. Willie fraiser just trying to stir the pot as the unionist intransigence and inability as a community for its leadership to lead has been shown up. Society parameters has changed plus the fact it is shows loyalist and unionist areas at working class backgrounds level has less progression to University level than in the nationalist, republican community where numbers to 3 rd level education continue to rise. Interested by comment by now deceased David Irvine on a tv show that in Nationalist areas the republican prisoners came out of prison with degrees in English,maths,politics, History, Literature and Economics and unionist loyalist prisoners came out bulked up on body building drugs and making garden furniture was the difference. It appears the same mindset has stayed in the unionist loyalist community.

• As a republican myself I feel we should let these tools demonstrate if we want a 32 county republic then we need to tolerate this but like many have already said just ignore them …. Believe me they would love nothing more than being attacked so they can head back up and spread more hatred ……. However a violent demonstration should be delt with appropriately by the Garda …

• If you have a problem with your car you don’t go and complain to a butcher, do ya! (not quite the same but I know what I mean!) If they are that bothered about it, go to London and protest outside number 10, the prime minister of the UK is the boss, make it his problem to resolve.

• Trouble making muppets….Frazer is evil

• I wonder will Willy & co also stop off at the Italian embassy on Northumberland road for a protest, By all accounts he has a problem with that tricolour too!

• Al 07/01/13 #

Morons!

• How ironic that the tricolor won’t be flying the day they come down…

• I’m off to Dublin selling Celtic tops on Saturday morning they will be selling faster than bags of stones

• The Republican and community driven people of Dublin are in no doubt bewildered and angered upon hearing of a decision by a small number of sectarian and racist pro-British elements based in the North of Ireland to publically vent on Dublin streets their hatred and scorn for all things Irish.
    The ad-hoc leader of this proposed madness, Willie Frazer, whom can only be described crudely as a ‘headcase’ and moron and is regarded by the majority of the community in which he proports to represent as such, has said he wishes ‘to sarcastically call for the Irish flag to be lowered in protest over a decision by Belfast City Council to fly the Union flag on designated days at city hall.’
    Many Irish people would agree with the prospect of the Tri-colour being removed from Leinster House, as the inhabitants of that building have historically and recently done their utmost to subvert Irish sovereignty and impede the Welfare of the states working class, with crippling Austerity measures and the squandering of billions of public money to toxic untrustworthy banks responsible for this age of recession and mass unemployment.
    No government that stands over such threachery deserves to claim ownership of the Tri-colour.

But the prospective Loyalist protesters such as Willie Frazer do not share these sentiments as a grounds for their protest.
    Their intention is to merely attack the flag itself and all it represents, which is equality and unity of all Irish people, a notion.they despise, and br

• Why not fly the 4 flags. The British Flag – The Irish Flag – The Ulster Flag – The European Union Flag. There everyone is covered.

• Don’t understand that, there is a good reason for this protest not to be allowed. I remember walking to work back in 2006 when the loyalists had their march and I had to hide in a shop on Henry street as the poxy fight started. Was stuck in there for a while, and after they have opened the shutters it looked like if the bomb went off on o’connell street. Seriously DCC should have option of not granting permission to some protest if they think that it might end up with violence. And it’s not about democracy but about safety of other people.

• If careers and children with special needs, who stage a demonstration when the dail and seanad were in session got no response what do loyalists hope to achieve. The decision not to fly a flag was made by elected members of the local council. Surly after all the years of suffering Gerald Nash and co should sit down with the other parties and work out a compromise. business have lost their Christmas trade over this issue. tourism across the whole country has and will continue to suffer because of these images of violence of the streets of Belfast. City of culture if i am not mistaken. This is not about a flag it is about a community that has lost it’s majority in Belfast.

• Hoping people don’t play into these crazies hands. Don’t go near where they will be.

• Nydon 07/01/13 #

They intended to ask sarcastically that the flag be removed. With it already gone they will now, I suppose, ask ironically that the flag be removed.
    At least that happy coincidence saved them from engaging the lowest form of wit in front of the world press and a live republican audience that is far more appreciative of irony.

• Let them come. And ignore them. But no doubt the “dissident republicans” aka thugs, criminals, protection racketeers, drug dealers won’t be able to resist the temptation to further their republican ideals…

• @ Reilly ,your talking a little bit like the sheep that spat on our leaders of 1916’ and called them trouble makers ,if our so called government had done there homework on the love ulster parade and looked into the sectarian lunatic that organised it they would have had no trouble because they would have seen the true nature of it ,the only thugs I see are the ones getting into buses comeing to Dublin to wave there union jacks and to hate everything irish ,if you bring bus loads of fascists into any country in the world ,expect trouble,,

• So we are going to actually allow this to happen?I have respect for unionists as OUR flag intended but we cannot allow this ‘liberty’ by a small group besmirch their name ,we are going to allow the start of the gathering to be a riot ,really?does anyone honestly think they wont be rushed and bounced off the gates of leinster house??i try to back this government and think that they are in a tight spot financially but more and more I’m looking at them saying “can you please grow a pair and stop letting people shaft us”!surely Alan shatter can understand that this is ‘inciting a riot’ and will stop these twits at the border ,really just lost looking at Ireland at the moment ,I don’t care if they’re allowed come here,I don’t care if their flag has been DEMOCRATICALLY removed ,I don’t care to be told in the future how their visit was unavoidable,I care about this country and everyone who wants to live a peacefull life here,this will not end well !

• sure we could always fly a tri-coloured union jack especially for willie & co. on Saturday, and get the gospel choir to sing Ireland’s call for them!

• They are silly!! Ignore them.

• Gavin K 07/01/13 #

Everyone should fly a kite and frolic in the fields, some sad in this say and age

• Fly the ulster flag

• The lads in the pub won’t be on the counter demo against them idiots, but if the Gardai want dettol or jesus fluid for the water jet they will have a whip around.Anyways the good strong men in the Guards will sort them out.

• The flag should have been left the way it is. The majority, however small still see it as their flag. Surely a compromise could have been reached before it came to this. Now the lunatics on both sides are being given reasons to start trouble.

• There was a compromise reached. Sinn Fein wanted the flag removed completely and could have gotten it through. Instead they engaged with moderate unionists to come to a compromise where the flag would be flown for 15 days. This is in accordance with other public buildings in the North. Nothing wrong here except for a minority group attempting to use violence to interrupt the democratic process.

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

The majority do not see it that way. If they did, then the vote would have reflected that. Given that the boundaries in Belfast have not changed since 91, then the Nationalist vote in the council is significantly underestimated. The next elections in Belfast will reflect population changes and SF will be the main party and Nationalists will have a ever growing majority.

Democracy was never Unionism’s friend. It is why they always fought it tooth and nail, always will.

• Wrong or right, at least they are fighting for what they believe in and we sit behind keyboards!

• js1711 07/01/13 #

Don’t be ridiculous. So if something is wrong you should fight for it and that’s admirable? How about paedophilia, that’s wrong but should it be admired if they fought for what they believe? nAs for these lot, they need to learn the definition of sarcasm and moan and protest to people who care.

• TopDog1 07/01/13 #

I get where you are coming from Stephen but it is the wrong post.

• MVM 07/01/13 #

Just put the god dam flag back up and stop the nonsense trouble making by the government

• js1711 07/01/13 #

Hugh. What time on Saturday is this pointless farce taking place?

• They are silly! Ignore them.

Add New Comment