TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Magdalene Laundry report to be published next week

The report had been delayed on three separate occasions over a seven month period.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

AFTER A NUMBER of delays, the Magdalene Laundry report will be published on Tuesday, 5 February by the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter.

The report, which had been delayed on three separate occasions over a seven month period, is expected to be broken down into four categories representing the four religious orders that managed the laundries – the Good Shepherds, Sisters of Mercy, Sisters of Charity and Our Sisters of Our Lady of Charity.

The Inter-Departmental Committee, chaired by Senator Martin McAleese, was set up to establish the facts of the State’s involvement with the institutions following a recommendation from the United Nations Committee Against Torture (UNCAT). That body said it was “gravely concerned” at the failure of the State to protect girls and women who were involuntarily confined between 1922 and 1996.

Steven O’ Riordan, head of the Magdalene Survivors Together group told TheJournal.ie:

From our perspective and from member’s stories it is clear that the State was involved.

Ultimately our members want an apology from the Government but not until the report becomes public will we know what action is needed.

An independent inquiry will be considered by government on reading the final report.

Read: Report on Magdalen Laundries to be published soon >

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Lincoln abolished slavery in the US back in 1865 . Good old Catholic Ireland decided to keep it up until the 1990s. It’s incomprehensible that successive Governments have avoided apologising for this atrocity.

• I wonder how many sitting TDs in FF/FG/Labour will face prosecution for their part in ensuring the last Laundry only closed in 1996. Its not the 1940’s we are talking about, women were imprisoned illegally right up to 1996. Enda Kenny, Gilmore, Willie O’Dea and a whole plethera of sitting TDs and ministers, allowed this shame to continue until 1996. They should all be charged and brought through the courts for aiding and abetting false imprisonment ..

• Don’t forget the church in that statement. They were not innocent in anyway.

• Agreed Vincent … but this who delaying debacle is another effort on the previous and current Governments part of delaying everything as long as Humanly possible. They are not going to put Nuns on trial, because, if they do, they will go on trial themselves.
      Instead, many many years after the fact (like the Mahon Tribunal/Moriarty Tribunal… 10 years each, costing over 500,000,000.00 euro), no action was taken in response ….. No TDs or party leaders in prison …
      This report will have exactly the same punch ,… it will say, lets make sure it never happens again, but let bygones be bygones … and offer some paltry compensation to the few victims still alive to see it.. The previous governments (including sitting TDs and ministers) will walk away unscathed, and not out of pocket … even though, it will cost the country millions and millions.

Every member of the Church hierarchy, who covered all the abuses up, have had no action taken against them either … Why do you think that is?

• Cal1, where were you in 1996? Did you raise your voice to say stop ?

• Declan, i was in America …. But, i take your point … unfortunately, i did not know that there were work houses back then … I did not know that escapees picked up by the Gardai, were returned without question… I did not know that the Politicians in the Dail all supported the work-houses.
      Did you know what work houses were? Were you in he Dail back then?
      The Politicians who supported these prisons, knew what they were. The work houses were in their constituencies … They would have visited them, looking for votes …. The Gardai would have had to make reports …
      They are the ones who should be facing trial for allowing the victims to suffer their fate, we know that the clergy involved have either passed on, or moved on… That is the Churchs way …
      Saying things like never again, is not going to work … People need to be brought to court over this.

• Cal, I get your point. I left ireland in 1988. I was never aware of these places myself.
      No offence to you.

• Well said Cal1. Lets hope those poor women and their children get an apology at the minimum and those who committed and supported the acts of inhumane treatment get brought before justice.

• Where the inmates of the Magdalene laundries allowed to vote? The inmates certainly weren’t paid a wage for their all-day-long labour. I doubt that the ruling sisters would have been charitable enough to allow them to cast a ballot.

• Can’t believe that was still going on up to 1996. I only first heard such places existed when the story on golden bridge came out. I assumed they must have closed decades ago. The church is the most evil corrupt power hungry money grabbing legal cult in existence. Making women into slaves and selling their babies

• Thanks for the links. As Dr. Brooke Magnanti points out, the inmates were referred to by a number and not by their name. The inmates were dehumanized from the moment they stepped inside the prison. I imagine this goes on in all human trafficking operations as well as in extermination camps.

• Another cover up to protect the political and religious elites.law only to protect the holy and influential. ordinary person doesn’t count. No prison sentences for the religious or any TD’s but only for the ordinary Joe.

• My god my ignorance of this is appalling I thought this was done and dusted years ago . Why has it taken 17 years for a report .
    Were they hoping that the poor people that were in these places would be dead ?
    I agree with posts above . Who instigated the admission to these hell holes .

• Yes Ann, deny until they die The State perpetrated the imprisonment of these women. Some girls were sent there straight from industrial schools . Parish priests would put pressure on families to lock up a girl when they became pregnant or even raped, while men walked away scot free.

• The politicians who were responsible for the barbaric treatment of innocent women should stand trial in the Hague for crimes again humanity. A lot of women died in those labour camps.

• The “religious” such as priests, nuns, bishops and archbishops and cardinals, should be put on trial first. Then the politicians. As distasteful as this will sound to a lot of people, the politicians did not directly commit these atrocities. It was the “religious” who perpetrated these crimes against humanity.

• terry 31/01/13 #

Have any of these survivors received compensation yet? I don’t like that term survivors but I suppose if you went in that door and managed to come out the other side that’s what you are.

• Lovely, more international headlines to be proud of

• Its not been a good few months for Ireland internationally. Broke economy, no debt deal, Kerry politicians wanting to legalise drink driving, Savita refused an abortion to save her life, horse meat in beef burgers scandal and now we are on the cusp of reports of more human torture and abuse with the Church & State colluding together to facilitate it.

With the exception of Healy-Rae all of the above scandals have FF/FG fingerprints all over them. Well done lads for embarrassing us internationally.

• I had no idea that this slavery continued so late.

As a former Roman Catholic, now free of indoctrination, I am outraged that this institution, of which I was a passive member, perpetrated these abuses.

I note the posters on other articles who espouse with pride their Roman Catholic Church credentials are refraining from posting on this article.

The Roman Catholic Church is a vile and toxic institution which has done immense wrong to many vulnerable people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• The irony of it..a report about the dirty laundry of religious dis.orders

• dam right its a legal cult. a priest or nun is supposed to live a life of poverty preaching gods supposed word. what a load of shite. everytime theres a recession,lack of work priest numbers rise. its a career move just. easy money and in the past priests got stung by the tax man. honesty an poverty my tit….

• A few months ago in Limerick, I challenged a Good Shepherd Sister. Standing yards from the Magdalene Laundry site, she told me “we imprisoned nobody”. I had asked her questions. It was quite chilling and it is their ‘deny until they die’ approach. She calmly and coldly returned to washing her car. She was in total denial.

• The Roman Catholic Church has passed the point of redemption.

• The case should be take to Rome. It is disgusting what the catholic church has done in the name of God.

• Oh yes. It’s that time of year again,I must white wash the garden wall.

Add New Comment