TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

McAdam Foods “shocked” to discover equine content was in its meat products

The company also said it supplied 60 tonnes of beef to Silvercrest foods, contrary to reports that it had supplied 170 tonnes.

MCADAM FOOD PRODUCTS has said it “had no awareness or knowledge whatsoever of any possibility of there being equine content in meat products” it imported or supplied.

It made the statement after it emerged that equine content was identified in products that were both imported and supplied through the Monaghan-based McAdam Foods, including to Silvercrest Foods.

Reputable

McAdam released a statement saying it “is a reputable and well run business and is compliant with all required food industry standards and regulations”.

The company, its management and staff are shocked and astonished to discover that equine content has been identified in products which have been imported and supplied through McAdam Foods.
The source of these products is Polish and McAdam Foods has identified the specific Polish supplier names to the Irish authorities.

McAdam Foods confirmed that any such products were bought and imported on the basis of their being ordered, documented, labelled and understood to be beef, and nothing else. The company has supplied all such labels and documentation to inspectors of the Department of Agriculture and the FSAI.

We are confident that the documentation and proof that we have provided to the authorities will fully exonerate our company and this is also the case in relation to the issue of equine DNA that was found in a Polish consignment sent in early January to our customer Rangeland Foods.

The matter is now being handled between the Irish Department of Agriculture and relevant Polish authorities and McAdam Foods is co-operating fully.

The company also confirmed that product of Polish origin was stored at Freeza Meats in Newry for McAdam Foods last year “on a goodwill basis”. This product had been supplied to McAdam from Poland by a UK meat trading company.

It was discovered that samples taken from a consignment at Freeza Meats in Newry came back positive for about 80 per cent horse meat.

McAdam Foods relinquished ownership of these goods and the UK meat trader agreed to take ownership and address relevant queries from the officer.

Silvercrest

Yesterday, ABP Food Group said that Silvercrest purchased Polish beef products from McAdam Food Service – circa 170 tonnes out of total beef purchases in 2012 of 18,000 tonnes.  it said it purchased these beef products in good faith, but horse DNA originating in Poland was present in some of these products.

However, this morning McAdam Foods rejected this figure, and said it has checked its invoices to Silvercrest Foods, which shows that it supplied Silvercrest with 110 tonnes of Irish pork, leaving 60 tonnes of imported frozen Polish beef delivered.

If ABP bought 18,000 tonnes of beef in total in 2012 (as stated), the 60 tonnes of beef products supplied by McAdam Foods makes up 0.003 per cent of that volume.
It is our understanding that the policy and practice of the ABP Silvercrest plant is to use supplied products within 3 days.

The last delivery by McAdam Foods to Silvercrest was 13 November 2012.

Last night, the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney TD announced his Department has received a test result confirming 75 per cent equine DNA in a raw material ingredient at Rangeland Foods, Co Monaghan.

Production has been suspended at Rangeland Foods pending the outcome of the investigation into this.

Read: As horse meat scandal widens, Supermac’s says its burgers are 100% Irish>

Read: FSAI ‘doesn’t believe horse meat problems are elsewhere in the industry’>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• This drip-feed of information is extremely damaging and worrying. We are told they can track our beef from Farm to fork yet they are unsure where this stuff is coming from and how much is supplied. There appears to be a discrepancy of about 100 tonnes which add a consumer I find very worrying.

Coveney needs to get on top of this. Very poor handling from him and our international reputation is suffering as a result.

• It’s absolutely disgusting that we as a farming country are importing meat from another country, the factories are cutting the price of beef constantly on the farmers yet its no cheaper in the butcher. Farmers have endless amounts of paper work to fill out regarding traceability and penalties if its not done properly. Absolutely shameful.

• The meat content in these cheap burgers is about 10% good beef then the rest is made up of crap like fatty offcuts gristle sinew offal etc and there is a massive market in this crap. It is just like the chicken nuggets crap. So if a dealer in this crap can buy from some source in Poland for a much lower price they wil not be interested in what it contains as long as the label says beef products. They know from the price they pay for these goods that there may be anything thrown in to fill the boxes.

• This is just one big murky pile of sh@t? I presume people know exactly what has been happening but nobody is coming out and saying it. Are Irish meat suppliers importing meat, processing it and calling it Irish when in reality it’s horse meat from dodgy suppliers? And then saying it acted in good faith when nobody can expert to buy beef, even off cuts, for low prices?

• Shocked to discover or shocked it was found out?

• Why are they shocked when they don’t check their imports.
    Any manufacturer who imports on a large scale has a batch test system in place.
    Considering what the farmers have to comply with at the other end of the process the whole system seems to fall apart at the final step.
    Farm to fork eh?

• As a family butcher with own abattoir we know exactly where all our meat comes from ,literary ‘farm to fork’ . Not every butchers can say this not to mention supermarkets who spend thousands of euro on advertising telling us that all the meat they sell is 100% traceable and 100% Irish (bull). These retailers are only as good as the wholesale(wholesalers) who supply them !! There’s a lot of cowboys out there (doesn’t cost anything to switch a bag and label) ,so source a butcher who have their own abattoir and you won’t go far wrong !!

• You see the problem here isn’t so much the average Joe who wants to trace his burger to the farm. The real problem is that Irish beef carries a very heavy name in the international food market. My local supermarket here in a small town in the Netherlands has a specialty stand just for Irish beef. Such is the reputation it carries.

These companies, through reckless dealings, are putting the reputation of Irish beef at risk on the international market. As an agricultural nation (I’d go so far as to say the core meat producer of Europe) our economy would suffer nasty effects due to this. For something so central to the economy of Ireland there seems to be little to no control over what is going on. I can’t blame a company for looking to cut costs especially in this market. What I can blame is nobody checking the “food” that comes from our neighbours which is used in production of products which impact our reputation. If these shipments came from Argentina they would have been refused at the port.

• Ok, it seems this is probably something like the trail we now have:

1. The meat is produced in meat plants in Poland
    2. Meat from one or more meant plants is bought by a Polish meat trader
    3. A UK meat trader buys the meat
    4. McAdams buys the meat
    5. Silvercrest buys the meat

This is the minimalist version – there could easily be more traders in that chain. At each step the meat was, for a short or long time, in cold storage. It is quite possible that at some stages (in particular stages 2, 3 and/or 4) that the meat was repackaged into larger or smaller consignments, possibly mixed with meat from other consignments.

The upshot is that Silvercrest is depends for the quality of its ingredients on at least 3 and possibly many more links in a chain, with only one of which it has any relationship.

And we are constantly told that meat products have full traceability? Trace that one Holmes.

• Brought in sold as irish. They are caught rotten .

• Ok lads we bought this cheap “beef” off the back of a lorry from poland and it’s got what looks like a cow on the box and we think the seller told us it was beef but we cant be sure as he doesn’t speak english. We are sure we were told it is beef so it’s not our fault it’s turnwdbout to be horse. We bought it “in good faith” from some polish backstreet factory at a knockdown price.

Moral of the story is if you pay the price for beef you will get beef. If you pay half the price of beef you get horse shite

• I’m shocked, shocked to find that gambling is going on in here!

• Eggfuel 06/02/13 #

yes all good comments…. the race to the bottom is relentless when profit is involved….
    I suspect that mr goodman has covered his arse end of last year before this broke and its worth finding out who supplies and controls the business in Poland..
    the link with the increased straying and putting down of horses due to the difficult economic climate and their sudden appearance in our burgers is not rocket science to work out…
    the only true guilty parties are the agencies who’s job it is to keep the operators in check and make sure food is as described…..
    they have been free wheeling obviously for too long and I suspect we have all been eating horse meat for some time… unless your a vegetarian!!!!

Might go and watch that Primecut film now…..

• People should eat more fish, there’s nothing added to it, it’s not pumped full of water and god knows what else they put in meat and it’s 100% fish, no additives. Your cod fillet won’t contain 30% seahorse meat :)
    We must be the worst island country in the world for eating fish.

• Yeah. Of course they are!!!!

• Reading reports on this debacle one wonders how many hands the product passes through during its travels from farm to fork. Is there such a thing as pure ‘Irish Beef’? This is a slogan used on a daily basis by supermarkets and burger outlets throughout Ireland and the UK.

• Bloody disgraceful. I certainly won’t be buying meat from my local supermarket again.

• Talking to a driver on the ferry recently, he told me that a lot of sth American beef comes in here to be repackaged and sold out again as Irish beef, as for these burgers, I did a favor for a friend a couple of years ago and brought in a full load of big blocks described as ground meat, these were loaded in a Dutch cold store offloaded into an English cold store, reloaded a couple of hours later then delivered to a meat factory here, when I asked one of the workers what we were doing importing this stuff I was told it was burger meat for some well known international companies.

• Hay , they are obviously running this business on the hoof , I’m willing to bet even money they knew when importing the cheap stuff they were taking a gamble , they are not at the races , this sorta stuff needs to be reined in ,now all our meat producers will be saddled with this problem , they have a neck like a jockeys bollix pretending to shocked , all puns intended …but this really is horseshit…they are all bolting the stable door after the horse bolted..etc….

• I wonder how long this has actually been going on? I know that they eat horse meat in France. Maybe we have all been eating French cuisine for some time after all….

• No mention of any tar found in their burgers then?

• OK. Now I am actually looking forward to my first official horse burger. I’ll wager it’ll taste rather good too. Only question now is, where and when can I get it?

• ISSA 06/02/13 #

lol every day story is burger burger burger

• I ordered a burger recently in a cafe. The waitress asked me would I like anything on it? I had a €10 each way!!!

Add New Comment