TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

MCD slams Garda over Phoenix Park gig

“No evidence to suggest the Concert Site was unsuitable and Gardai were aware from February2012 of the identity of the headline act” says concert promoter.

A general view of the concert site at the Phoenix Park the day after the Swedish House Mafia concert
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

CONCERT PROMOTER MCD has slammed An Garda Siochana’s handling of the controversial Phoenix Park concerts in July.

In a strongly worded review of their actions during the weekend concerts, during which several people were stabbed and one person died, MCD said that there was “No evidence to suggest the Concert Site was unsuitable and Gardai were aware from February 2012 of the identity of the headline act for the concert on the 7th July 2012″.

At no stage was there an objection “to either the Licence Application for the event itself, or the Liquor Licence application to operate the bars at such event.”

While there were laws in place to deal with anti-social behaviour, ”Gardai failed to properly implement such laws both within the vicinity of Phoenix Park and further afield on the day of the concert.”

In response to accusations that the Gardai did not have access to CCTV, the promoter said that “at no stage during the event were  the Gardai either refused access to, or obstructed in using any such equipment.”

At no stage  did the Gardai state they intended to do so, or make a request to directly operate such  CCTV cameras, nor did the Gardai raise any concerns, or make any complaints regarding  the suitability or otherwise of the said CCTV facility as provided by the Promoter.   Indeed,  had the Gardai done so, the matter would have been dealt with immediately to their satisfaction.

Speaking at the Joint Policing Committee for Dublin Central this morning, Deputy Joe Costello condemnded the failure of the relevant authorites to adequately protect concert goers at the weekends concerts.

While the existing protocols sounded fine in theory, nevertheless, it was incontestable that there had been rampant drug and alcohol abuse, culminating in violence, a fatality and injuries inside the Phoenix Park, and little or no security for the thousands of residents in the streets surrounding the Park, who were subjected to a range of antisocial behaviour as the concert goers entered and left the Park.”

The site of the original Phoenix Park gig will not be restored for another five weeks, according to the Office of Public Works.

Swedish House Mafia fallout: Gardaí and MCD praise successful Marlay Park operations>

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• Typical MCD. . . no responsibility. Why should the tax payer carry the cost of policing these events,while promoters walk away with fat profits.

• So MCD published their Phoenix Park concert report today and all it does (surprise surprise) is slates the Gardaí. It is 188 pages of tripe, all they are doing is push the blame from their gates (literally). They boast that they had 511 ‘security’ staff working that day. All I seen was groups of them standing around the hoardings at the back afraid to get dirty avoiding all the problems that were going on in the middle of the crowds. They blame everyone but themselves…. DCC, An Garda Síochána, even Iarnród Eireann and I believe in early August Denis Desmond even blamed the price of alcohol. Ultimately they (MCD) need to put their hands up and say ‘We messed up, we cut corners for a quick buck, we knew this concert would be carnage but we went ahead with it anyway without any regard for the public as a whole. We staged it in between two gigs that we knew would pass off relatively peacefully so if the s*** hit the fan we could say it was an isolated incident.’ Now that I look at it, isn’t it exactly what they did for the Marley Park gigs too?? Coincidence? I think not………….

• well said daniel.

• “Gardai were aware from February 2012 of the identity of the headline act for the concert on the 7th July 2012″

I’d like for them to elaborate this point and how they perceive it as relevant.

• Because the Sweedish House Mafia would tend to attract a crowd who would associate being shit-faced with that kind of music and that it won’t be attended by say a Die Hard Bruce Springsteen fan! So using said INTEL which is supposed to be a huge part of police work would tell The Guards that a potential troublesome minority would most certainly be there and that they should act accordingly! That is why it’s relevant!! Piss-poor MCD don’t have the policing powers that the Gardai have!

• As this report is in response to the one commissioned by the Gardaí, I’d imagine it is counteracting a point made by the Gardaí.

As for the concert I lived near the Phoenix Park at the time, and the amount of drunken teenagers walking along the quays from around 1pm was incredible. They were shouting, peeing on the street, dropping rubbish and just being loutish. As soon as they were seen approaching by BOTH the Gardaí and the private security their drink should have been confiscated and they should have been told to go away and sober up if they wanted to get in.

• It wasn’t a minority Brian it was half the people who attended. Policing has been defined as protection of the lawful majority from the lawless minority but the whole of Dublin 7 and 8 was lawless that day.
      It was the people who attended that gig that were the biggest disgrace not security or gardai and I bet some of them people who attended are commenting here now and criticising everyone but themselves…

• @Dirt

Its the Gardai not Police

• Barry 06/09/12 #

What stopped MCD employing security upto the last since they were also very much aware of the headline act, had MCD employed more and better security then this also could have been avoided. Why should the state pay for MCD to host an event?

• paul 06/09/12 #

Well MCD went through all the correct procedures before the gig and the Gardai gave a glowing thumbs up and said everything was spot on according to the Gardai when it went through the courts so why would anyone blame MCD. Here come the red thumbs I guess although no replies because they know I will expose them as a fool

• paul 06/09/12 #

Barry where did you get the information that the State pay for MCD to host an event, they don’t, MCD pay for it.

• MCD had more than 50% above what the Gardaí recommended. You’re talking through your hole.

• MCD done what they had to do and what they always do, to get a licence, they told the Gardai and the court what they wanted to hear and therefore no reasonable reason for objections existed. They then stretched the limits of their permission to the maximum, the only problem is that this time it went horribly wrong, expose away there Paul

• Duty of care! Overrides everything, as the principal, MCD are basically subcontracting the Gardai to help with the security for the event. Just because the Guards seemingly underestimated their numbers doesn’t absolve MCD of blame. Guards are culpable but overall responsibility goes to the Principal orgsniser. MCD can blame whoever you want but it’s up to them to ensure adequate protection is in place and if they believed that the Guards weren’t providing adequate assistance they should not have gone ahead with the gig, simple as. Greed decreed otherwise

• it’s MCD fault, they got all the profit and to hell with everything eles , they sold the tickets
    you’d think they never panned an event before the sham this thing was. they should the licence revoked.

• You mean close the pheonix park Thosj? Or just filter people by where they were coming from?

• Correct me if I’m wrong but can’t the Gardai object to the approval of drink licenses for events? Looks like MCD might have scored a big own goal!

• opps they should have their licence revoked

• Martin 06/09/12 #

HaHa

• 2 irresponsible showers of clowns at play……promoters only care about profit……at any cost……the Gardai not really interested in doing their job st the best of times….just told Gardai outside gpo about drug dealing scangers on north earl street…No interest at all

• To me it is blatantly obvious that the problem wasn’t the promoters or the coppers.
    The problem was there was a bad batch of pills going around and probably some bad coke from greedy dealers trying to make more profits. How many non opiate based overdoses are there in a year in Ireland? There was 2 in the same place on the same day, it’s not coincedence all this happened on the one day.

• Why was my first comment removed Journal or is only MCD bashing allowed on this thread today?

• It was both the Garda and the organisers fault, they were both equally unprepared and missing in action for most of the gig, maybe if both the Garda and security had being more prepared, maybe then half the stuff that went down wouldn’t off happened,.

• Madel i do believe m.c.d. had informed the gardai that they had the relevant security to deal with any trouble and only a small garda presence would be required.

• Exactly Les plus MCD would be exceptionally reluctant to have to fork out towards Garda costs on the day as it would eat into their substantial profits, shameless display of kicking the can down the road by MCD, God forbid they would even have the minutest degree of fault for the whole sorry mess

• The more I read about MCD the more they disgust me.

• Les i agree with you that mcd should take responsibility and should be hit with a massive fine, but i also believe that the garda have to take a share in it too.
      Surly calls log before the gig started made it event there was a huge need for Garda presences,
      Regardless of what they where told by mcd that they only needed a small presence, shouldnt the public safety not come before profit.

• Firstly Madel is there any evidence of a large log of calls regarding trouble or leading Gardai to believe that trouble would happen?? Secondly the Gardai are not interested in profit, the budget for manpower and overtime has been slashed by the Minister for Justice and if MCD contributed to the Garda bill that day I doubt they paid enough to have sufficent manpower in place

• Richie this is taken from an article from the Irish times,
      http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/ontherecord/2012/08/08/phoenix-park-a-month-on-the-gardai-vs-mcd/

The gardai mention pre-gig drinking by “concert patrons in the 17 to 25 age group” as a contributory factor to anti-social behaviour around the show, yet where is the mention of the equally excessive alcohol consumption at the Stone Roses’ show, for example? It’s all well and good for the garda’s big kahoona to say they are “aware” of plans by Minister for Justice Alan Shatter to bring forward plans to deal with this, but where was the garda enforcement of existing laws on the nights of these shows? Why is there nothing here about garda efforts to stop public drinking and attendant anti-social behaviour on the way to the concert site within the Park (is there nothing here because, well, nothing was done?) Remember that local residents were giving out yards about drunken, loutish behaviour on Thursday, some 48 hours before Swedish House Mafia even arrived in the city.

• @madel yes the pre-drinking existed but not necessarily on the streets of Dublin. Let us not forget the thousands that came to Dublin for the event on public buses, trains and private hire. This is a serious problem that is never addressed, you can see it at any similar concert at the O2/Aviva/Croker, this demographic will sit on a bus or train from Galway, Cork, Waterford (not picking on these counties in particular) throwing drink into them then get off in Dublin and all of a sudden when they’re out in the ‘fresh’ air they’re banjo’d. It should have been the responsibility of MCD ‘security’ to refuse entry to these people. Maybe going forward breathalise patrons? Not to drink driving levels but an agreed level…..

• Ian I understand what your saying and I agree with your point, The point im trying make is that I dont think Its just as simple as MCD are solo responsible, The garda, organiser (MCD) and other stakeholders new the three shows would attract significantly different audiences and that there would be a need for different policing and security plans for each of the gigs, none of which seemed to be put into place.
      When I related to the Irish times article, I was more high-lighten that 48 hours before Swedish House Mafia even arrived there were issues.
      I do believe too that it was responsibility of MCD ‘security’ to refuse entry to people as you said that weret “banjo’d” but I also believe that it was the garda responsibility to ensure that took place?

• the gardai were off selling the drugs that they confiscated :o

• Daniel, the Gardai should have stopped knackers before entering concert & trouble could have not taken place. For example, if security men aren’t not allowed to do this, then blame laid on Gardai because it’s their responsible!

• Did you go Daniel??

• Funk da po lice

• no one was killed. gutter journalism.

Add New Comment