TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

McGuinness dismisses report of IRA apology

Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness has said that if anyone is going to apologise, then everyone should do it together – including the British government.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

FORMER IRA LEADERS are considering issuing an unequivocal apology to all of the IRA victims through the years, including members of the British Army, according to a report in today’s Sunday Business Post.

The report says that discussions are underway among republicans and senior figures are pushing for the apology to be made.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Saturday Night with Miriam, Northern Ireland’s Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness said he did not know where the SBP story was originating from “because the IRA are gone; I don’t know who’s going to [apologise]“.

However, he indicated that he believes a ‘collective’ apology should be issued by all parties involved, including the British government:

It is absolutely heartbreaking that we have been through almost 100 years of partition in the North, decade after decade of conflict – and a very bitter conflict that lasted 25 years in which an awful lot of people lost their lives. How could you not be sorry that all that happened?

But if people are going to say sorry, then everybody should say it collectively, in my mind. And that includes the British government. The British government cannot exclude themselves from the debate that we’re seeking to have which I think will be good for all of us. We have come a long way, but there is still an awful long way to go.

McGuinness accused British Prime Minister David Cameron of being ‘disengaged’ from the peace process, pointing out that McGuinness and First Minister Peter Robinson had met with the US president more often than the prime minister.

Victims

McGuinness also said that he told the Queen and Prince Philip last week that he recognised that they too had lost a loved one during the Troubles. He said that he would not repeated the queen’s words in response “because that would not be proper” but that she was understanding of the need for everybody to work together to move forward; “She was very gracious about it.”

“The peace process has come an awful long way” and is the most successful in the world today, the Deputy First Minister said. However, he added that the one flaw in the peace process so far was that no way had been found for dealing with the past and for dealing with victims.

McGuinness has previously called for the establishment of a peace and reconciliation commission in Northern Ireland along the lines of that of South Africa.

In last night’s interview, he confirmed earlier comments that “very important meetings” are being held by Sinn Féin leaders and senior Protestant clergymen and Unionist figures in order to build on the reconciliation phase of the peace process.

POLL: Should the IRA apologise to all of its victims? >

Orange Order leader to address Seanad next week >

‘I’m still a Republican’: The body language surrounding the historic handshake >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• Can’t wait to see the nay sayers’ rant on this. Anyone who can’t look beyond the PR and recognise the benefits of engaging and talking .. Is ignorant. This public process of reconciliation is real and will change these islands forever.

• There are people who see SF as a threat to the gombeen political order of FG and FF, which they have used to loot this state for 90 years, forcing 40% of the people born here to emigrate. They have built up a system of back scratching and corruption that must be protected. If you look at the most ardent foes of the Shinners it is nowadays usually FF’ers and ones that have a long history of contracts, and state perks and jobs. If a new party emerges on the centre right, they’ll attack them just as much, the status quo must be protected.

Whatever the right or wrong that was done in the North, they couldn’t care less, it is their own pocket that they are concerned with, and that pocket gets filled very quickly when FF are in power.

• I think this is good idea, an apology from the IRA, but! Only if a similar apology is issued by all Loyalists Paramilitaries, The British Government, The Irish Government for ALL atrocities and to also come clean on Dublin/Monaghan, ‘The Disappeared’ etc.

• They should all say sorry, if for no other reason than they all took life, there will always be a cause and we will always be passionate , but in fairness a lot of innocent ordinary people died my own Sister almost got killed in the bombing in dublin city centre, she was in a phone box in Talbot street if memory serves, and a young policeman saw her and grabbed her, and ran the length of the street she would almost certainly have died if not for him along with her first unborn child, so its easy to judge from the outside, but when it hits closer to home believe me you see the real horror of violence…

• That is the right attitude. It should be collective on all sides.

One of the great wrongs of the last 30 years, and there have been so many, is how the victims and families of Dublin/Monaghan were treated for years after, with continual secret branch tailings, house raids, their customers being told they were being investigated for terrorism, destroying their business. All for daring to question FG on why it stopped the investigation in to the bombings after a few weeks, when the evidence started to show that it was more than the UFF involved.

Unfortunately both FG and FF Govts have worked to destroy most of the evidence and findings of the investigation, with a final clear out of the files in the 90′s from all gardaí stations. Naturally they are all lost now.

The state had no problem in covering up the murder of over 30 people to suit the political requirements and narratives of its 2 largest parties, and people wonder then why we go completely broke every 20 years. They view us as worthless.

• The British army have laid waste to more people throughout the world than most. They have been doing it in many countries for centuries. And yet, they don’t apologise. Why should the Irish Republican Army be expected to apologise? It’s peacetime now. The past is the past so concentrate on the future rather than saying sorry for the past.

• Thought they apologised for bloody sunday last year?

• Mattoid, the IRA apologized for many of their murders as well. They apologized for Enniskillen, they apologized for Warrington to name but two.
      I have heard Adams on multiple programs apologize for all the victims, McGuinness also. So, how would you propose the IRA apologize now? Should they reform, in order to apologize?
      I have never heard the British apologize for the murder of 12 civilians over a 3 day period back in 1972. They broke the Geneva Convention on Human rights that says you do not murder people as they go to the aid of others. Yet, at Ballymurphy, that is exactly what they did. They shot women, and as priests and others went to their aid, they were shot dead. Who owes the apology?

• I have to agree here. For so long, most of us wanted peace. But peace cannot be enforced before justice. The struggle for justice is universal. The IRA committed atrocities, so did the British Army, albeit in a difficult situation for a regular army. The north was a basket case of sectarian apartheid = conflict will continue until democracy was restored.

McGuinness is absolutely right. The only way to proper reconciliation is through every party apologising for their failures, political, diplomatic and military. That includes the British Government primarily due to their inability to restore normal non-sectarian civil authority in Northern Ireland. It also includes Unionism who desperately fought to maintain a ‘majority rule’ (Unionist) domination of the North. There’s no escaping that culpability. Bad political leadership, incendiary speeches, populist rhetoric etc. all contribute to an atmosphere of division and violence.

Everyone should apologise. Collectively, and with no sense of ‘competition’. As for the British tabloids and their views on McGuinness’ handshake/ IRA apology…. they never had a sense of any impartiality anyway. They don’t even figure in the debate.

• mattoid 01/07/12 #

Ermm Cal…nI think you’re reading a little more into my comment than I actually wrote…nI was merely pointing out a simple fact in response to Cat’s comment, nothing more than that….nI made no reference to the IRA whatsoever so I’m not really sure what triggered off your little rant??

• Apologies Mattoid, its just a deep sense of frustration that i see folks making our that there was only one side perpetrating murder in the North. The IRA start in 1969, 2 years after the first Irish were being murdered there by the Police). Most folks don’t seem to realise that. I will make a conscious effort to ensure my ire is aimed at the correct commenters going forward ;)

• There is a need in the North for a truth and reconciliation forum. Republicans are willing to bare all at it, seems lot of loyalist paramilitaries are as well. The stumbling block is Dublin and London, neither of them want the full story out. Will Liam Cosgrave, FG’s Taoiseach come clean on why the Dublin/Monaghan bombings investigation were stopped after a few weeks by his Govt. Will Westminister come clean on how according to a British investigation, out of 204 loyalist paramilitary leaders, that 200 were in the employ of British Military intelligence and so on. The Republican side need to let it all out as well. It was a rough and dirty war, not that there are any nice ones.

I just can’t see London or Dublin ever agreeing to that though.

• An apology would be pointless. Very few who deserve it would accept it as genuine. Too many bodies still missing out there and too many lies still being told.

• Just out of curiosity Seanbeag, how did you vote on the Poll? I understand your viewpoints that you are contributing, but i am wondering at a higher level, if you feel only one side should apologize?

• I don’t think an apology should be dependent on anyone else. Either you are sorry or you aren’t. If you apologise and they don’t that just makes you the better person. Holding out for an apology from the UK makes it look like a political stunt and not at all genuine.

• Sean, The IRA released a televised unconditional apology when they disbanded. Do you not think it would be onerous on the British Government to do the same (But i am not calling on the British Government to disband).

• Until the cause(s) of the conflict are adressed, words will have no meaning for most of those involved.

• Exactly. Some people are confused as to why the provisional IRA became so popular. It wasn’t partition that caused the conflict, it was the absence of human rights for Catholics. That is why dissidents have very little support, because Catholics are all but equal now.

• Am I wrong or is this a story about a group that doesn’t exist any more, who are not going to do something. I don’t know why this gets so much press.

• Anybody else noticing how the non-storys featuring members of sinn fein seem to be increasing in frequency proportionate to their performance in the polls?

• Their performance in the polls is dropping. Do you mean inverse proportion or are you trying to imply that the media is trying to restrict them? If so then I disagree. What’s happened is their closet was filled to bursting capacity and now all the skeletons are all falling out.

• @ Seanbeag

Was thinking the same thing. SF dropped in the last SBP poll.

The securocrats must have infiltrated The Journal!

• Mac Stout is a physcopath so. To believe him on anything is folly.

• In life, one must apologize in order to move on properly, in any sort of argument, row, fight, war, murder. Just because one says that the “IRA are gone” doesn’t mean it’s true. The saying, ‘putting it on the back burner’ comes to mind. There will always be certain individuals from all groups that were involved in terror, murder in the 6 counties that will never be able to move on. I agree, it’ll never be forgotten, that’s impossible, but thankfully and hopefully many can and will move on to more positive things in life for all, especially their children and their children’s children.

All groups, even including the British Government have to apologise, but I do vaguely remember the Prime Minister reading a speech that included some kind of an apology during or after the peace process. I am sure that there’ll be one or two of you that will feel they have to correct me on that, either way the other saying comes to mind, “a hyena never changes its colours”. That is aimed at all! Here’s to the future, our children’s future and Ireland’s, that it may be up there at the top of the list of great countries with huge history and a great welcome from its people.

• Agreed Sheila, No-one was clean and pure during the war. No-one in the North and definitely no Irish Government since the 1960’s. I mention the 1960’s because that is when the conflict started. The first shots and murders were carried out systematically from 1967 onwards, 2 years prior to the IRA starting its campaign.
      Its the Irish Governments and the tabloids that have tried to bury that fact. Their revisionist history starts in 1969 only.

• The IRA and the UVF apologized for the loss of life in the 90′s. Dublin has never apologized for its role in the conflict, its covering up for Loyalist killings in this state for its own political reasons. Britain has yet to apologize for being an extremely partisan player. Bloody Sunday was the norm in attitude for the army, rather than a one off.

Britain should say, yes we carried out atrocities funded and ran Loyalist terror groups as a military tactic. Dublin should say yes we helped cover up for Loyalist killings here, and were not an honest broker for most of the last 30 years, choosing every side that was against Republicans, even if they were killing people in this state, yes we should have demanded equal rights and fair treatment for Nationalists in the North decades ago, rather than turn a blind eye. The IRA should apologize for no warning bombs etc. The UVF/UFF should apologize for having no political aims bar a love of killing Catholics.

The key to the healing is that there was wrong on all sides.

• Who is Dublin?

• “Who is Dublin?” is an interpretative art collection exploring what it means to be a Dubliner, conceptualized from the point of a young emigrant returning to the city of their birth. It explores self-identity, social anomie, belonging in a world bereft of inter-generational touchstones. All expressed through the medium of butter and stencils.

• In addition to an apology the full truth about those who claim to have left and never been members is also long overdue.

• I know of 2 IRA members that were also reps for FF in the last 10 years in the Oireachtas.

• 5 thumbs down, ahh come on people. This isn’t exactly ground breaking revelations here. It is common knowledge in many political circles.

• Fagan, the party faithful do not like to hear anything against their party, after all they are the party of destiny, and have never done anything wrong. Never. The economy is the way it is, because of the Global situation. They were ordered to pay the unsecured Bondholders by God,. They wouldn’t have done it otherwise. The Mahon and Moriarty tribunals were works of fiction. No FF party leader was ever corrupt. Haughey and Ahearne saved their confirmation money to buy the mutl-million euro houses.

• I think you need o apologise to Pearse Doherty Steven ..what do you think about the E=Vote machines been sold for a few grand after costing a kings ransom..i seen your comments in the Daiy Mail looking for answers from Aengus O Snodaigh as your Chairman of Wicklow Fianna Fail party and a Computer expert and special advisor to FF Government i was wondering did you have any involvement with the E-Vote machines ..or is it a classic case of people in glass houses!!!

• Relating to this story and others just in case people think im going off topic..Charlie Haughey was a gunrunner aswell as a corrupt Taoiseach ..Your mate Bertie was corrupt too ..cheek of you

• Who cares what this murderous mob does. These terrorists were not a legitimate army – if they were they would have been tried for war crimes under the Geneva Convention.

• I agree with you Patrick. Even though they said they were fighting “for God and Ulster”, theUDA,UVF,UFF,LVF, Red Hand Commandos and the Orange Volunteers were never a legitimate fighting force. The fact that they were backed up covertly by the British Government and that the UDA were involved in terrorist and criminal activities for years before being proscribed still doesn’t give them legitimacy.

• @ Patrick Lyons, Kevin O’Sullivan, Sean Beag, Old Nokia Charger etc.

Notice how some are playing mind games with others posts?! I unfortunately was a victim of minds for years until I got sense. At first I played the better game, but then I learned to ignore them. Ignoring is hard but fun watching the other person getting nowhere and frustrated, pissed off because I/we didn’t don’t react. ;)

• And yet you commented and therefore reacted! :-)

• Why should the IRA appologise when England still protects the identities of the murderers on Bloody Sunday and both the British and Irish governments continue the Dublin/Monaghan cover up? “Quid pro quo” comes to mind. The answer is a Truth and Reconciliation Forum for all, not a one-sided apology from former IRA leaders. But this won’t suit the Irish or English governments whose hands were deeply emerged in the dirty war of the ’70′s and ’80′s.

• Will McGuiness also apologise, as a former IRA leader himself?

• mrnobody 01/07/12 #

People seem to forget who started the “troubles” and why the IRA had to defend the people of northern ireland from another mass genocide

• Surely appologising makes a mockery of the armed struggle and all those who volunteered and lost their lives in what they believed in. I mean don’t get me wrong… i don’t neccessarily support what has happened in the past but imagine you had joined the IRA and killed someone because you belived it was for the good of the cause and have some justifaction for it. Surely it should be up to individuals to decide if they are sorry or not.

• And you call murdering 2057 humans defending.

• Paul, I am not and never have been a member of SF. But i will not stand idly by, while FFers deliberately try to rewrite history. Its shameful and treasonous.

• Thanks Cal , appricate that.

• So Mrnobody the 2057 humans murdered by the IRA were all severally holding a gun to a child’s head. The child must have had an awfully large head.

• Pat, i had a close friend of mine shot in the back by the British Army. He was a civilan. The paratrooper who shot him, told him the day before he was giong to do it. Aidan told me and his family and all his friends what the Paratropper said, but we all laughed. We were not laughing the next day.
      The Paratrooper was charged with nothing. When you make jokes about the threat of murder etc that the Irish lived under in the North, you should be ashamed of yourself. The IRA started in 1969, 2 years after the first shootings, 2 years after the first explosions. The old IRA living in the North were shunned at the time, because they wouldn’t defend our homes. Are you not aware that there were Irish refugee camps in Butlins and other border areas in `1970, to house the Irish being driven out under threat of death by the Brtitish? Shame on you for your revisionist comments.

• Sorry, just looked at your profile and see you are a member of FF. The same party that gave the IRA their guns in the first place back in 1969/70

• That’s a Willy O Dea type of response in all fairness Pat Lyons.. and im not trying to insult you..

• Fagan's 01/07/12 #

Cal. Patrick is a FF’er. He’ll change his tune to suit whatever stuffs his pockets. The day that SF go in to Govt. in Dublin will be the day that he’ll be singing about Bobby Sands and submitting an application to join them.

• mrnobody 01/07/12 #

Well considering there was thousands and thousands of people in refugee camps across the border in the republic because they were burnt out of their homes and murdered for asking for equal oppurtunity and civil rights…i would have to agree with you and say that head was very big indeed

• mrnobody 02/07/12 #

No im neither, i just dont view history in a skewed manner like yourself. you are obviously either under educated or ignorant….. That along with the obvious, a loyalist sympathiser

Add New Comment