TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Michael O’Leary renames The Gathering ‘The Grabbing’

He also said Leo Varadkar was “all talk” and that Shannon Airport should have been sold off.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OF budget airline Ryanair, Michael O’Leary, had sharp criticism today for The Gathering, Leo Varadkar, the Dublin Airport Authority and Shannon Airport.

According to Newstalk, O’Leary said The Gathering was a rip-off and should be renamed “The Grabbing” because the government are inviting people here to be “screwed”.

Speaking at a conference on aviation in Dublin, he also said the Transport Minister, Leo Varadkar, was “all talk” and that Shannon Airport should have been sold off and not merged with Shannon Development.

Mr Varadkar responded to O’Leary’s outbursts saying he should take a look at his own business before “talks of money-grabbing”.

The comments come only a month after actor Gabriel Byrne slammed The Gathering, calling it “a scam”.

The actor told Today FM’s Matt Cooper that Irish-American tourists are ‘shaken down’ for money when they visit Ireland.

Read: Gabriel Byrne slams The Gathering, calls it ‘a scam’ >

Read: Conan O’Brien gets in on The Gathering buzz

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• I have no problem with the Gathering which is just an idea copied from others. I have a huge problem with fmr Fine Gael General Secretary Jim Miley being given €168,000 to organise it despite the fact that 95% of the work will be done by volunteers. Wonder how much the other buckos at the top are getting.

• And Noonan spouting rubbish like.
    “Emigration is a lifestyle choice these days”
    Not for politician’s, banker’s and senior civil servants kids, Noonan!
    These people left their homes,their families and their country because they were betrayed by their leaders and protectors.
    Judas!

• I’m lucky as i’m still employed and have a low mortgage. However I no longer give to charity. This is the first year I havn’t got any home improvements done. And I certainly won’t be inviting over my relations when I don’t think I’ll be able to go on holidays for the foreseeable myself. Having visitors costs money and I’m sorry to say it’s self preservation now due to this government’s policies.

• With you on almost everything there Paul. Absolutely correct, except it’s not the policies of FG. That’s a ‘far too common’ opinion of many contributors to this forum.
      FG are implementing the policies of the IMF and ECB, as a direct result of the follies of FF, banks and developers.

People have very short memories.

• People don’t have short memories, they’ve developed some cop on.
      btw your glass isn’t half full, it’s twice as big as it needs to be.

• Glass Half Full you must have a selective memory. FG when campaiging for the last general election where elected because of their policies.You cannot blame FF for the lack of balls Enda and co have when it comes to standing upto EU and IMF.

• No, little Jim.

People have very short memories. That’s just a particularly unfortunate fact of life, especially where politics is concerned.

And don’t get me started on ‘size’!

• Pilib, did you misunderstand me? I’m not blaming FF for the inadequacies of FG policy!! I’m simply stating that Paul’s predicament (replicated in many thousands of homes throughout the country) is a direct result of the terms and conditions of our bailout.

• Agree with Glass Half Full, people elected FG to clean up the mess made by FF and the bankers, they had to do the same in the 80′s as well! The people of this country are incredibly naive and lap up any old sh1te being peddled by the shinners, the pink shirts and the t-shirts…they have all the answers- pay nobody! FG will balance the books in the next 5 years and no doubt we’ll end up putting in FF in 5 years, with some charismatic leader and we’ll be back to square one in no time….the gathering is not a bad idea and that idiot o’leary, one of the greediest men in the country is being populist in the extreme….my guess is if Byrne hadn’t mentioned anything about it weeks ago then we’d never hear from MO’L

• @ glass half full. Have a read of this hilarious document

http://www.finegael2011.com/pdf/Fine%20Gael%20Manifesto%20low-res.pdf

• Much as I hate Ryanair and wouldnt fly with them unless they were the only airline to my destination, Michael O’Leary is an extremely successful businessman and knows what he is talking about unlike the bunch of overpaid exteachers in FfG/Lab who I wouldnt trust to run a Sim City never mind a country.

• O Leary is only out for himself and doesn’t care how he gets it he has time and time again insulted the people of Ireland the sooner the better he has his stage removed , he has double standards ,he is a proven liar and has some neck slagging the gathering as he tries all sorts of strokes to make more money from passengers only last week in the UK the OFT said the law he quoted for another charge was being misquoted by RuinAir .

• If o Leary is as straight as he tries to be why doent he stop trying to dictate ,why doesn’t he allow a union instead of abusing people’s rights and charge all his staff to work for Ryanair

• O Leary not my cup of tea but when he’s not trying to wangle something for himself and is asked a question he usually speaks the truth.

• Regardless of weather people like or hate him,he has some business skills.
    He says it as it is and takes no crap from the likes of varadkar or DAA.

• Enda why don’t you go up to departures in Dublin Airport, to advertise your “Grabbing”?
    There is probably still a few thousand native Irish people emigrating through there every day.
    It might save us millions advertising your “Grabbing” in Australia, Canada and the U.S.
    Bring Big Phil, Rabitte and Reilly with you.
    You can take it on shifts.
    I’m sure the emigrants will love to see your lovely mugs.

• Micheal O Leary started his business in a porta cabin at the airport while the taxpayer was paying fortunes to DAA and Aer Lingus to build terminals at the airport. DAA are so corrupt it is staggering that nobody has gone to jail. A lot of the appointments to both companies are political and the unions have a huge vested interest as they sit on the boards and everybody gets pensions and salaries for their few days work. They also get free travel 1st class for themselves and their families. Nice trips to New York shopping while we are closing businesses here everyday. All at the taxpayers expense. I Leary and his staff contribute to the revenue of the country. I am not a fan of his as a person but he has given a lot of people the chance to travel when Aer Lingus simply wanted high fares and higher classes of people on their planes.

• Yeah.
      Just see how quickly “mud slinger” Varadkar or his bedfellows would destroy Ryanair or any other successful business for that matter if he got his grubby little hands on it.

These idiot “politicians” need to get a stint on a building site in Manhattan or down a mine in the Australian outback, so that they can get a taste of a real days work.
      It might make them think twice about asking hardworking emigrants for their money.
      Spoilt Prats.
      Sleeveens.

• SMcB 03/12/12 #

What are you scuttering on about?? T1 was built in the 70′s, long before Ryanair ever came on the scene. Piers were added over the years prior to T2; would you have preferred same were not built? Same building projects provided construction jobs as did T2.

• Fine Gael and Labour.
    “Doing Their Very Best to Increase the Irish Diaspora”

• I think if “The Grabbing” was bringing people from strangely named towns outside of Europe’s major cities O’Leary might be slightly more supportive

• Eamonn 03/12/12 #

Tony Ryan (GPA) once asserted that the biggest threat to the industry was laser travel. Not surprisingly O’Leary thinks outside the box too. Shannon represents a competitors dream, better positioned than Kerry or Knock, long runways, fog free and aircraft maintenance on site. Oh yeah and refused to accept that Ryanair should land for free.

• Just wondering if folks are more annoyed at the criticism of the “gathering” or the messenger. I’d have to agree with Gabriel Byrne on it being a scam. . .but I think this perception is natural given the main target market. Trying for years to get Cousin Wally over to bring us round (whoops, show him around) our best hotels and golf courses. Then he can buy (whoops again, express his gratitude) in buying us some cool Irish craftware.

• On this topic I find myself in total agreement with O’Leary. It is nothing but a revenue scam. The Grabbing is dead right.

• He is right the gathering is a sham . However Oleary is a money grabbing monster himself .

• Well it takes one to know one, I suppose?

• Well said Michael.
      This idiot, self serving, Europuppet, Banker “government” has depopulated the country faster than the famine.
      Betraying and banishing planeloads of native Irish people on a daily basis.
      Now they are trying to shame these very same people into putting on the green jersey and to come home to spend their few quid.
      Disgusting.

• Gathering
      You’re so correct. The Government should have asked the Troika for additional funds to keep people in jobs where their Companies were bankrupt and compelled the Banks to increase their Loans and Overdrafts for Working Capital while the Revenue were being told to whistle for their money as the country went deeper and deeper into debt.
      I think that’s what you were saying?

• I heard an interesting fact on radio this morning. that Ryanair pay 0% tax in this country. and he says we’re grabbers. the cheek of him.

• Rubbish Mark.

Your average housewife/househusband can balance her/his household’s weekly budget and
      more importantly take responsibility for it
      He/She knows that if he/she does not do this correctly that her family will have to face the consequences.

It is time that our “fine” overpaid leaders and their “fine” overpaid advisors were made to do the same.
      Or be thrown in jail.

• The pot calling the kettle black springs to mind.

• that’s freaky i was thinking the same thing. Mr rip off himself.

• Enda and Co. must want everyone to come home and witness him evicting thousands of people with the help of his corrupt/criminal banker friends.
      Or to see their native people being bullied, harassed and even jailed for refusing to pay these corrupt/criminal “banker’s” gambling debts.

• As much as I dislike Michael O’Leary.
      But Leo Varadkar has not proven his success story as yet.

• Adrian & Mick,
      It’s not a case of the pot calling the kettle black. Oleary runs a business and utilises that to a maximun to turn profit. Kenny and co, are just simply conning people to come here to rip them off.

• There not conning anyone ! FFS it’s a tourism promotion like any other country would do to entice people to come or to return ! People will come or stay away based on their own free will … and let’s not forget they are trying to get tourists here to generate revenue which might help soften YOUR tax bill !!

• Tourism promotion to convince people to come of their own free will ??!!. Hmmmm but FG’s jim miely on €168k+ for the pleasure of it….hmmm softening my tax bill alright.

• Just as one day the crisis will sort itself out and FG/Lab will claim responsibility.
      So too will emigrants come home in 2013 for a family funeral, wedding, repossession, receivership, property tax court order or even just to see the family.
      No doubt FG/Lab wants to claim responsibility for that too.

I can just see their next election campaign slogan.
      “Fine Gael and Labour”
      “Remember Who Brought Them Home in 2013″ (and screwed them for a second time)

• Yeah Ryan you kinda missed the point ! I’m not justifying the outrageous salaries these guys are on …. I’m saying that promoting the country to get more people to come…. Hopefully enjoy themselves …. and perhaps leave a little dosh behind. All good. I have no allegiance to or gra for FG or Lab …. But I just don’t see the problem with this. If you are an adult and you see a promotion like this you either like it or you are not interested …. No biggie. What is ur alternative …. They should not promote Ireland abroad ? Frankly I would have liked to see Gabriel Byrne pressed a little harder after he made the comments he made. How is this in any way a shakedown ? Nobody is being forced to come here or coerced into spending money here.

• Ryan. o Leary is one to talk while as you pointed out he does run a business but he “screws” his passengers with his extras, charges and booking fees and has the cheek to point fingers at others.

• O’ Leary is a poisonous little snake that likes to mouth off to increase his own profile and that of his company. I wouldn’t have a problem with that but he continues to put down everything and anything or anyone who is trying to make things happen in this country I call home without offering anything up as an alternative. If he feels this strongly about issues like the gathering or the airport situation, or any other number of things on a given day then maybe he should just put himself in a position to do something about it and run in the next election. I might even vote for him over the incumbent poisonous little snakes.

• I’m old enough to remember what it used to cost to fly out of Ireland when the only show in town was the AL. Say what you want about O’Leary lots more people fly now days at an affordable price then what was on offer 30 odd years ago. I also agree with his comments and Byrne’s on this 2013 gathering.

• I was thinking more the shit stained rag from the skewer calling the waters spotted dishcloth black….

• Just wait for Enda and Co to come up with a brain wave idea like
    to make it compulsory for every Irish Emigrant to come home once a year (to spend money) to maintain their citizenship,
    this obligation will be waived if the Emigrant pays the anual Emigrant Charge of a €1000.

• Those who had to leave Ireland, are now expected to fund those who didn’t have to leave. First we had the Scattering, then the Gathering. Con job.

Michael O Leary has done more for Anglo Irish relations than every politician put together.

• We need the tourists to fleece them on drink prices (60%excise duties + VAT), restaurant prices (highest minimum wage in Europe), travel (travel tax & airport charges), fuel (more excise duties). Otherwise we wont have enough money for the most expensive politicians and public sector on planet earth. Michael O’ Leary should show some respect for these talented hard working patriots!

• Tom 03/12/12 #

I’m actually sick of Mr O Leary and his big egotistical ideals. I don’t fully agree with ‘The Gathering’ but at the end if the day the government needs to boost the tourist trade in order to make a few quid. Do we not see these self promotional ads on tv to ‘visit Turkey’ and ‘visit Malaysia’. They’re promoting their own countries so why not us?

• How about this for an ad for the “Grabbing”

“Remember us”
    “The Sleeveens That Destroyed Your Country and Its Economy”
    “Yes The Ones That You Trusted”
    “The Ones Who Starved Your Children To Pay Corrupt Banker’s Gambling Debt’s”
    “The Ones That Betrayed and Banished You and Your Families”
    “Remember How Our Spoilt Cheeky Children Chuckled At Your Kids As They Left For a Faraway Land Because You Had No Money” “Ha Ha”

“Well We Know That You Are Going To Have To Come Home At Some Stage”
    “For A Wedding, A Funeral, A Repossession, A Court Case, A Bench Warrant Or Even To Smuggle Some Cash In To Feed Your Impoverished Family Members”

“Well”
    “We Want To Claim Responsibility For Your Visit Home”
    (And We Need Another Revenue Source To Facilitate The Paying Of Our Own Astronomical Salaries And Pensions)
    “So Here You Have It”
    “The Grabbing 2013″
    “Welcome Home Suckers”

• Both are right, tourists will get ripped off when they get here, but O Leary will take his share before they get here

• Ah Micker, always good for a laugh! Of all the people in this country to whinge about screwing money out of tourists! Has he checked all the fees and charges his company is gouging out of passengers?

• screwing people? he should know a lot about that- big meany

• Jeez, talk about the dog calling the cat hairy hole!!!!

• peter 03/12/12 #

Ryanair, the spotty teenager that knows everything & blames everyone else for their own greed.

• I think the gathering is a waste of time.
    O’Leary is saying this because he likes the sound if his own voice.
    What amazes me though is that after all the years we still hear the same mantra.
    He speaks his mind. He calls it as it is.
    The truth is O’Leary is a complete liar.
    He has lied to the courts on more than one occasion. He keeps banging on about how many jobs he creates but does he? When he hires cabin crew he charges €3k and turfs them out within 1 year. He only pays them for half the time they work. He is a crooked, very crooked man and its about time this country saw through it.

• Michael O Leary is a good businessman and he should be on Dragons Den.

• I wonder would he feel the same if he had transatlantic flights?

• Nigel 03/12/12 #

Not if but when O’Leary runs for election whether his party is SF, FF, or who ever he joins will be a feared party throughout Europe. And I’m thinking its going to be sooner rather than later.

• F*** O’leary! He wants to “grab” every concession that he can get from airport authorities!

• Trust Mr O Leary to come out with The Grabbing :-) I for one don’t really care what we call it as long as it brings people here with lots of cash to spend on great goods and fantastic services .

• SMcB 03/12/12 #

Typical Irish… Looking for the negatives. Can we not embrace what the Gathering is trying to represent and get behind it for the greater good?

• I wonder why Ryanair flies people into Ireland if their Chief Executive holds such views? Ann I forgot that they don’t fly Atlantic routes into the country and these are the airlines likely to get a new deal on landing fees at our airports for 2013.
    I think the Board of Ryanair should be concerned at the insults an employee directs at Government Ministers and particularly when it’s just gratuitous nastiness.

• Jesus guys there is a lot of hate out there. If you don’t agree with MOL then just ignore him. There is nothing a loud mouth hates more than being ignored. Simple

• He is a prat. Two faced p…k

• durkan 03/12/12 #

Pot calling the kettle black

• This miserable money grabbing bastard wants to call the kettle black?

• One of the few Irish high flyers who lives in Ireland and pays his taxes in Ireland and that is what you call him? Or did I misunderstand and your referring to a member of government?

• No he is not one of the few who pay their taxes here. Many others do but he is the only one who keeps talking about it. I pay my taxes here, all of them. I will be hit by this budget a lot more than O’Leary and I don’t keep talking about it. He pays his taxes here because he wants to live here, not because of any great principle. If he decided he liked Malta in the morning he would move there. You are praising him for a lifestyle choice.

• He’s only telling it like it is, this country is so PC he will be attacked for it of course, PC being a good way of dooping folk in to believing what the state says is good for them.

• I really despair at the level of comment here. Its a tourism promotion. Ireland has always promted itself for tourism purposes. This is no different whatsoever except that its aimed at a specific group of people who might have an interest in coming to Ireland. It’s called targetted marketing and every organisation does it if they can. If the Government was cutting back on tourism promotion no doubt the serial complainers would be on here moaning as well.

Tourism funds thousands of jobs here in Ireland. No doubt the moaners here would be happy if lots of those were lost. I know lots of community organisations around the country which are in the process of making plans to sit alongside this and offer extra ideas and concepts in order to promote tourism in their areas. Are we saying now that its wrong for us to promote the country for tourism purposes?

As for O’Leary its interesting to note that there hasn’t been a Ryanair story in the press for a couple of weeks so he just sounds off so that he can get his and his company’s name in the papers. And the way the media here lap it up is just manna from heaven to him. Worth thousands in free publicity. I wonder if he had transatlantic flights that might be boosted by this extra revenue whether he’d be so annoyed. Doubt it.

• I wish this idiot would just go away. He insults the Irish people at every opportunity

• O’Leary needs to step up or shut the f*@k up once and for all. Though chances are he’d join the ULA and continue spouting shite from the sidelines…

• It’s a con… It’s an insult to the people who have had to emigrate because of the governments ruination of Ireland.
    It should be called “the scattering” and then in typical Irish style we run down a company which has made air travel affordable for most.

• The people of Ireland have a real opportunity to show Enda and co exactly what a Gathering should look like next year and there’ll be no tourists involved. Shove it down their self-righteous throats.

• CLASSIC! O’Leary accusing the Irish govt. of money grabbing, priceless! The Gathering is a nonsense I agree but just the sight of O’Leary of all people having a moan about it is just hilarious given the antics of his own money grabbing airline.

• I’m sure a section of our society got excited when they read the headline.

• Wellll done Michael O’ Leary, thank you for stickinf up for those of us doing our utmost to preserve what little culture we have left in this country instead of shamelessly profiting from it.

• Spoilt….!!

Add New Comment