TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Road safety chief wants automatic checks of crash drivers’ phone records

Noel Brett of the Road Safety Authority says it should be routine practice for drivers in crashes to have their records checked.

Noel Brett made the comments at an Oireachtas meeting yesterday.

THE HEAD of the Road Safety Authority has suggested that Gardaí should have the power to check the mobile phones of drivers involved in road accidents, so that they can ascertain whether the use of phones was a contributing factor to their accident.

Noel Brett told the Oireachtas transport committee that allowing Gardaí to check phones, or to access phone records after an accident, could help to crack down on the illegal use of phones while motorists or driving.

“It’s notoriously difficult thing to detect,” Brett told TDs.

“I also think there’s a requirement to change legislation so that in any fatal collision, and in any serious injury collision, it should be normal investigate practice that both drivers’ mobile phone records are sought,” he said, adding that the current legislation governing such records was dated.

Where a citizen has been killed on our roads, or a citizen has had a life-altering injury, I think it’s proportionate that both drivers’ mobile phone records be routinely be requested, checked, and if there was mobile phone use at the time of the collision, that would be a significant part in the prosecution.

If this were the case, Brett said, “we would see a marked change in what is perhaps now the most dangerous behaviour on the road”.

Brett said observing other drivers using mobile phones “irritates us all, because we’re sharing the road with someone who’s not sharing the road fairly.”

Brett also called for changes to the current legal system so that people guilty of motoring offences did not need to appear in court to formally receive their fines.

The current regime, which required Gardaí to also be present in court to offer evidence of an alleged breach, distracted Gardaí from enforcement duties.

“If any motorist wants a day in court, they should have that right,” Brett added, but continued that “we need every available enforcement out there on the road”.

This would avoid the need for a court hearing for ”the person who put their [tax renewal] notice behind the clock and forgot to pay it,” he said.

The recent development of a new mobile traffic camera system had helped in this regard, he said, as it freed up 6,000 hours of Garda time per year which could be spent on enforcing other traffic laws.

Read: ‘Room for improvement’ in penalty point system

Read next:

Comments (101 Comments)

• And while your at it how about mandatory sentencing for hit and run drivers

• I’m for anything that reduces accidents and fatalities, this is a huge grey area that will leave more questions than answers.. Your phone being in use at the time of an accident does not prove that you are guilty of anything, my husband often uses my phone when I’m driving, my phone records would simply show that the phone was in use, it won’t show who was using it.

• My calls show up in my logs when I use my hands free

• Great idea in theory, but how do they prove that you weren’t using a hands free?

• Gerard 20/09/12 #

This couldn’t work. While they may prove u were using your phone they would not be able to prove that you were holding it e.g I’ve seen people with phones wedged into the steering wheel and using the loudspeaker function on the phone.

• Anything that will remove anti social behaviour on the roads is ok with me.
    How about more anti drink drive checkpoints… Or in saying that just more checkpoints in general.
    I see pub carparks all jammed between the hours of 17.00 to 20.00 and don’t try to tell me they are all drinking tea !!.
    How about people that just have no concept of driving or road safety with no regard to others.
    I have a pain in my arse paying through the nose for uninsured,drunk,hit&run drivers and general bad behaviour.

• Totally agree with the checking of mobile phones…if you haven’t used your phone before any crash or incident then you have nothing to be charged with…I see people on their phones while driving every single day,even going around roundabouts and they don’t even seem to care…whether its blatant flouting of the law or plain ignorance,I don’t know but it’s still being done

• It’s nuts that people are still driving whilst they have phone up to their ear! I am amazed at how many people I see on a daily basis doing it. Even scarier when I see truck drivers or bus drivers using phones when driving, beggars belief! Why is the law not getting through to so many people?

• Surprised the Gardai are not able to do this already.

• complete hogwash……how are you going to be able to tie down the exact time of the crash? Im looking around my desk at the moment – my watch, phone, mobile and computer all show slightly different times…..so how can they hope to prove that the person hadn’t hung up say 30 secs before the crash while pulled into the side of the road????

More stupid attempts at changing legislation when all they need is to actually go out and enforce the laws that are there – we all see people every day using mobiles while driving so obviously the threat of being caught isn’t high enough.

• I think this might be a novel idea on a very high level I do not think the full complexity of the situation is being investigated here for example I have the following comments:

What will be obtained from the phone records?

Will they only obtain records of phone calls made?

How will they check if the person was making a VoIP call using an app and it only shows as data transferred which could technically be from a GPS app on at the same time (yes you can have both working at the same time on the same handset), not only that but what happens if they are using Bluetooth headset at the same time?

Does the use of a Bluetooth class as a hands free kit?

Will they then obtain usage information on the individual handset?

Will they ascertain if data transfer was in progress at the time? Could be any amount of things including streamed music/radio.

Too many holes in this and a knowledgeable learned person might be able to get his/her client off when casting doubt over the interpretation of the law and exploiting poor legislation and the holes in it.

Why not blitz the place with cameras that snap the driver and license plate then do a follow up and issue fine and points through the door? Gardaí themselves are on the fecking phone the whole time too! Are they exempt????

You

• About time

• 2 garda in a squad car just pst us and guess what !!! both on the phones.
    Kinda defeats the purpose of “lead by example”

• They are exempt and are also highly trained drivers.

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Chris a truck driver is even more highly trained are they exempt?

• johnny 20/09/12 #

The important thing there Mike is you were not on the phone as you’re not exempt. I’m sure you never use a phone while driving

• johnny 20/09/12 #

How is a truck driver more highly trained and one would think they are exempt judging by the amount of them using phones while driving

• I know a Guard well. He has been driving squad cars for 2 years with no training.

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

How is a truck driver more qualified? Let me see? Ok some facts. Gardai are not professional drivers. Driving is only a little part of their job. Truck drivers have to do 3 different driving tests. They must do 8 hrs training every year. They have to do tachogragh training. They must have a differnce license involving 5 days training & an exam for dangerous substances, air cargo, the carriage of pharma products,waste,the list goes on & on. Put simply truck drivers are the most experience & highly trained drivers on the road.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Mj, can i ask what standard of training Police get?

also alot of the test you mention dont improve driver skill so no point listing them

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Im not sure what their full training is but some of them do advanced driving coarses. However they would not have the same level driving coarses as say the UK police or Polizie in Germany.

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Johnny to answer the second part of your question by asking a question. You say these coarses do not adress driving skill or actual driving I presume you are saying, & by the way thats not true, what is the purpose of these coarses? I think you may save truck drivers a lot of money?

• I think before they start looking at drivers’ phone records, they need to just start putting more resources into enforcing the existing law.

When the ban on using a hand-held mobile phone in your car first came into force, drivers seemed to obey it and there were very few drivers seen on mobiles.

However, after a while it all reverted back to normal and I constantly see drivers blabbing away on their mobiles.

Before we go on a data-mining expedition of people’s mobile phone records, perhaps the most logical thing would be a reinvigoration of enforcement?

Stick a few rear-facing cameras in unmarked traffic corps cars, and you’d catch plenty of them in almost any urban area in Ireland.

Also, could you guarantee that the mobile phone records datas and times were perfectly accurate, to the level that they could be taken to court?

and could you rule out the fact that a person could have been using bluetooth or other type of handsfree system in their vehicle? There’s nothing illegal about that, provided they’re not holding the phone.

• The problem in this country is not lack of legislation, it is lack of enforcement. When did you last see a routine checkpoint. The last one I was stopped at was in Caen in Normandy and I was only there for 5 days driving a French registered car. For the past 20 years I have spent at least 2 – 3 hours of the day on the road and have probably passed through a Garda checkpoint twice. I am for any new rule that will increase road safety. However, if we are not enforcing the present rules whats the point in adding to the list.

• Barry 20/09/12 #

As such as I would like to agree with this its a massive can of worms when it comes to data protection and the protection of people’s personal information.

Ok given its against the law, unless you have a hands free kit if you were on a phone at the time of the crash then this should affect your ability to claim insurance, but not at the expensive of people’s personal information like phone records being freely available to any Gardai

• I highly doubt it’s going to be a free for all now, where your records would be available to every Garda in the country all if the time! It’s a regulated area.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Firstly Barry you’re probably not that interesting that the Gardai want your phone records so I wouldn’t be too concerned.

Secondly for serious investigations they can already get your records so why not for Dangerous Driving Causing Death or Serious Injury

• Yes!

• One problem with this is the people that call friends or relatives after they crash…you have to explain the reason for any call you make after an incident…you can never stop people from using mobiles while driving,you can only try to regulate it

• Good point by Roy Race how can anyone determine the exact time of the crash, what’s wrong with good old fashioned police work? We all see people on their phones every day so it stands to reason that the Gardai using unmarked cars or bikes could detect people quite easily. Up the fine and points and have the Gardai target this problem in a blitz type campaign (like drink driving) and that should go a long way to making people think twice!

• @ Anthony thanks I never knew that

• Why not just coccoon drivers altogether ? no radios/cd changers/devices to change channel on, or put volume up or down, no kids in the back seat to distract you either – in fact no passengers to talk to !
    We might all be better drivers, if we were taught HOW to use the roads properly, have consideration for other road users and not be so far up our own asses, that we have not the nearest bloody clue as to what is going on around us. It pains me to say it, but we are a nation of CRAP drivers. AFAIK the test hasn’t really changed in 40 years or more – no testing in rain or other adverse conditions – no driving on Motorways – tis a sad joke

• Mike I see them at it every day here , law for 1 and not the other.. whats new !

• First let the Gardai enforce existing laws.
    The case of Detective Keys does not fill me with confidence in their impartiality or ability!

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Why what happened there? Was he not taken to court?

• The “innocent party” was taken to Tallaght hospital where he was breathalysed, resulting in a zero reading. The Gardai were not breathalysed. Why? Only two possible answers: incompetence or coverup.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Barry the guard you’re talking about was taken away by ambulance like the other driver. A sergeant was sent to the hospital to breathalyse both drivers. The guard on arrival at the hospital got out of the ambulance and left the hospital meaning he was gone when the sergeant arrived. The sergeant went to his house and couldn’t get him not that it would have mattered if he did because he had the defence of having drink when he got home. So you are wrong on both reasons as to why it happened.

• Johns, defending your colleagues is commendable but avoids one key question.
      If the roles were reversed, if a civilian had rammed a Garda car, would s/he have been allowed to wander off and concoct an alibi? I do not think so.

• Banning the use of mobile phones by drivers is an impossibility. So, this idea of checking after a crash to see if a driver WAS using their phone (as we do for drinking) seems appropriate, in view of the lives miamed and ended by irresponsible drivers.

• Excellent suggestion by a man whose dept has reduced road deaths by 50%. Maybe we should listen to him instead of whining about loss of liberties. Loss of phone would be a good start. Oh, and I NEVER use the phone while driving!!

• Enforce existing laws properly instead of wasting time with nonsense like this.

• It’s not the fact that you have one hand off the wheel it’s the distraction caused by the call. Ban then completely or shut the fcuk up

Another load of Bolix from a Quango trying to protect it’s budget.

• I don’t believe that nonsense. Therefore no one in the car should be allowed to talk to you either. I think hands free kits solve the problem, the only time a call will distract you is when you try to answer it

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Interesting view Niall & I would agree that using a phone while driving is dangerous as is using a sat nav which is 7 times more dangerous. However mr brett who gets his training from british road safety groups like vosa will soon argue that eating a banana or such trivia is dangerous to road safety. While maybe eating your dinner while driving is dangerous,surely having a snack hardly is but in the UK people are being prosecuted for this. What I want from mr brett is his views on infrastructure condition. This still is a major probem in Ireland. Talking on phones is still a problem but again legislation is in place to deal with it.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Infrastructure is a problem in every country where drivers refuse to drive to suit the conditions. I passed a serious accident on the M25 in London on Tuesday nothing wrong with that road

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Nothing wrong with the M25? Trafic volumes & it is one of the most dangerous motorways in the UK. So the fact that no matter where going to or from in the UK you have to use the M25. Not a lot of thought went into that motorway. Perfect example poor infrastucture.

• So if you drive from Hull to Leeds you use the M25? That’s some detour!

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Neil I apologise for being vague. I was reponding to the comment on the M25. My point is just like the M50 in Dublin the m25 is a mot

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Neil I apologise for being vague as I was responoding to the comment on the m25. You are correct it is some detour. My point is that like the m50 in dublin the m25 has all the major high volume motorways starting or finishing there. These include m1 m2 m3 m4 m26 m20 m11 a1m m40 3 different airports several different ports. So my point is m25 poor infrastructure.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

The only traffic congestion on the M25 last Tuesday was a a result of the accident. If you really want to suggest that the M25 is a badly designed road then tell me what road you prefer give me two minutes and I’ll post you a link to bad accidents on that very road.

• Jaysus lads will yiz stick to the point

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

A26/A1 to Paris

• Mjhint 20/09/12 #

Johnny read my reference. Your bbc quote does not match. Your reference is near Reims. I have been a regular traveller on all these roads for 30 years. Not even bbc know how safe they are.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

A26/A1 to Paris? You talking about the A26 or the A1 or the interchange?

• Firstly all we need is some minor civil servant wanting to control more and more including our civil liberties also using a mobile phone in a vehicle is NOT illegal but having it in your hand IS! You may use your phone hands free or hands on if calling emergency services!

• The records should be check of people who a caught using a mobile while driving never mind after a crash. The longer they have been on the phone the larger the penalty
    I ride a motorcycle and every time someone pulls out in front of me without looking at a junction its a Guy in a Suit with a phone to his ear. Every time someone changes lane without looking and nearly creams me its a woman in a large 4×4 with a phone to her ear.
    Why have people who own expensive car not discovered blue tooth yet?
    One more question I am still wondering what the wave of the hand with the phone in it is supposed to mean after the driver has nearly killed ??

• We don’t need to go down the road of having private phone records checked, but I don’t see a problem Gardai checking a mobile phone call log to see if it was just used or erased If the log has been erased then they should have the legal right to access personal records in the event of a fatal road accident or a serious road accident

• and this clown is the Head of the RSA? Bloody hell it’s so badly thought out it’s beyond belief. What is the “notoriously difficult thing to detect” he is talking about – i can normally detect phone use quite easily – a person will have a phone close to their earhole while driving……jebus!

• Bring it on. And introduce a process by which the Gardai can release information publicly regarding the amount of alcohol etc, if any, had been consumed by anyone involved in a car accident if they were in control of said vehicle. This should be a matter of course

• John Mc 20/09/12 #

What happens if you’re a doctor/ solicitor/ diplomat with confidentiality agreements to consider? You could be the innocent victim of a drunk driver, your records are checked and then potentially sensitive information on your work phone or tablet is seen by an unauthorized person. You could lose your license to practice your profession, or government data could wind up in the mail the day after. The negative consequences of these laws should always be examined before writing. At the minute the govt seem to be taking a headline grabbing approach to national issues to cover up the fact that existing powers aren’t being resourced. Just put the Traffic Corps out on the road. job done.

• For accidents that result in serious injury or death it can be done under existing legislation as it is evidence in relation to an arrestable offence.

For material damage accidents the insurance companies sort out liability so i see no reason why the Gardaí should be collecting evidence for them.

• johnny 20/09/12 #

Exactly Sean it’s done already and the article refers to Serious Accidents not minor ones. The highly trained Journal.ie police always seem to know better than the actual police

• How is checking ‘phone records going to prevent accidents or add to road safety?

• WE have just lost our car to a woman writing it off at a roundabout..nothing was checked by Gardai they didnt even breathelize her!! When i questioned the gardai they had done nothing at scene except talk to the drivers..My other half is in docs now very sore due to this accident and i was told by gards that i would be done for slander cause i asked the question did u breathelize/? did u check to see if she was on a moblie phone?? Was she speeding???? etc..valid questions i wanted answers too and i got told i could have u done for slander..my answer was go right ahead im only asking legitimate questions u cant answer!..so I agree this mobile phone rule should be allowed.!!

• Today I saw a woman stopped in her car at a junction, smack in the middle of the road smoking a cigarette and checking her mobile phone! She was in no rush to move off until another driver came up behind her. I was so tempted to take a photo of her and post it on Facebook!

• RSA needs a complete change of staff it’s more than just silly to make such a suggestion.

• Its an excellent suggestion…..Records for the hour before the accident/incident would be more than enough.I would think that the records for calls and internet activity would help a great deal in Garda investigations and would certainly influence peoples decision to use a phone while driving, I would hope.

• Gross violation of privacy rights. If its that important let them provide reasonable evidence of a crime and obtain a search warrant…

• Looks like Garda Johnny got out of the wrong side of his sargent this morning…
    Anyway to answer one of your caustic posts “yes” I do use my phone all the time but I have the cop on to have bluetooth connected all the time and I use it all the time.
    Garda and truck drivers are no better than any other driver on the road that has passed a test and uses a bit of sense .
    Fact… In a lot of accidents a phone is found and the driver was texting.

• The country must be broken as never before in the history of this country has a Government Agency come up with a good idea until now!

• This type of thing is presently done as a matter of course in the US. Further, insurance companies include this as a part of the contracts signed by insurers. A car accident reconstruction and autopsy is completed to some degree in all cases. In cities and states where it is deemed illegal to drive while phoning, the investigation includes phone review. Where it is not, the insurance company requires it. If the insurance company can’t access this information, then they have the right to reject a car related insurance claim.

It’s only fair!

Add New Comment