TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Motorists to be hit with fines for broken lights

Gardaí can issue an on-the-spot fine and penalties.

Image: Andrew Milligan/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE ROAD SAFETY Authority has teamed up with gardaí to address the growing problem of vehicles with defective lighting on Irish roads.

The ‘Light Up’ initiative will take place over the next two days when gardaí will specifically target and intercept drivers who have broken, missing or inappropriate lights on their vehicles.

The Garda Press Office said it appreciated some motorists are under financial constraints but emphasised the legal requirement that a vehicle’s lights and lamps are all in working order.

“It is very apparent that some are not heeding the message, and vehicles with only one headlight or tail light are regularly seen on our roads.”

The RSA said there has been “a marked deterioration” in the number of vehicles failing the NCT because of defective lights. Last year, more than 550,000 cars (one in five vehicles) with defective lights were examined.

The issue of inappropriate use of fog lights will also be addressed over the next two days. “These high intensity fog lights and fog lamps dazzle and distract other drivers and could easily cause a collision. They must only be used in fog or falling snow. Some motorists however, use them to compensate when a dipped headlight beam is broken,” the gardaí said in a statement.

Assistant Commissioner Gerard Phillips said the public warning has been issued as the force would prefer if the defect was remedied rather than the driver prosecuted and fine.

“Too many people are lax when one light or bulb blows but the simple reality is that your range of vision is severely compromised, plus others may find it difficult to see you.

“In simple terms, a one headlight car could be mistaken for a motorcycle or make it impossible for you too see that pedestrian out walking because you have reduced your range of vision by 50 per cent.”

Dangerous Roads

So far in 2013, 31 people have been killed on Irish roads.

“It has not been a good start,” said Noel Brett, chief executive of the RSA. “30 lives tragically cut short, 19 drivers, two passengers, six pedestrians, two motorcyclists and one cyclist.”

That figure has since risen to 31, including two cyclists.

“All avoidable deaths and a reason for each life needlessly lost. I’m asking every road user to set their own personal target to return to the life-saving behaviour they have shown over the last number of years. I’ve said before that the greatest risk we now face daily, when using the roads, is complacency. Using the roads is still the most dangerous thing we do every day irrespective of age. We need to remember this, whether driving, cycling or walking.”

Read: Cyclist dies after Wexford collision

Road deaths up by 23% compared to the same time last year

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (131 Comments)

• Completely agree with this ruling it is one of my pet hates as a driver is another vehicle coming against you and you cannot judge if it is a car or something larger

• You can get eco extra long life headlight bulbs from philips they last for 100,000kms,thats 5 years driving for most people,im a taxi driver so thats around one and a half to two years for me,i used to change them every 3 or 4 months with cheap ones or the standard units until i discovered these,they are 17 euro a pair you can get them online at car bulb direct.i got two packs one as a spare just incase.

• This should not be a 2 day inititive. It should be ongoing.

• About bloody time

• I hope this actually lessens the amount of people who do actually drive with fog lights on. I live a little outside of Dublin and since moving and spending more time on unlit roads I’ve been shocked at the amount of people that do.

We’re not talking about someone over compensating for one broken light or in any way bad road conditions, or even people who forget to dip them when there is oncoming traffic. I would say at least once a week I bypass someone, who after I’ve flicked mine as a warning a few times still continue to use theirs.

The mentality of these people amaze me, because it is really hard to see and they know that they are effectively putting you in danger. It should really be considered dangerous driving.

• I know this’ll provoke a load of red thumbs, but I don’t understand all of the comments about the use of fog lights.. Front fogs are specifically designed to illuminate the road in front and there’s no way they should be dazzling anyone unless they’re pointing upwards. I have certainly used them to make my car more visible and improve my view of the road in wet conditions/poor visibility etc. They don’t even illuminate the boot of the car in front, never mind shine in their mirror.
      Rear fogs on the other hand are a whole other story!
      I keep buying long-life high-output bulbs for my dipped beams, but I think speed bumps must be killing them..

• The point of fog light lights is so ur vehicle is made more visible in fog. If they werent dangerous to use in normal conditions it wouldn be illegal to do so. Ur headlights must b fairly poor if u need to use ur fog lights in wet weather.

• You just answered your own question.
      They shin on the wet road and into my eye’s.
      They are there so you can be seen in fog, that’s why they are brighter than dips.
      The hint is in the name.

• @ David Willis – I definitely agree that your fog lights should be pointing lower than your normal lights but the diameter of illumination is greater as well as the intensity, so I am still blinded.

When someone is coming towards me with correctly aligned fog lights, it’s extremely difficult to see, I certainly wouldn’t be able to easily see a pedestrian, cyclist or animal quickly to be able to react in time. When someone passes me with incorrectly aligned lights shining right into my eyes, it’s impossible to see. I have been in that situation and have had no choice but to slow down and use the left side road marking, wall or hedge for guidance as to where I am on the road.

I suspect we pass each other on a weekly basis, that’s me flashing you, I’m doing it not to attempt to teach you the correct usage of your lights but because I can not see!

• Have to agree with you Dave. The front fogs are designed to illuminate the road directly in front and low down. The problem is with badly aligned main head lamps and people not knowing when to dip. Going after someone using Fogs is merely an excuse to make money. How front fogs can dazzle someone is frankly baffling

• I agree that there’s no excuse driving with one headlight…but different circumstances should be taken in consideration. It could happen that bulb failed on the way to work when it was bright and there’s no choice but to drive back home with one headlight etc. Now there’s no excuse for using fog lights in normal conditions. That’s what really does my head in.

• I hope that includes garda cars. When I used to see them, some of them had only one light. Their cars are pretty rare in Mayo these days.

• You can have a headlight changed in your local garage by a professional for between €5 – €10 in about 5 minutes. Absolutely no excuse for putting yourself or others in danger.

• The law in this country should be dipped headlights on 24/7 as in many other countries.

People here haven’t got the intelligence to know when to switch them on.

I drive for a living, and it frustrates me to see people driving in The Dark, Fog, Snow or Heavy rain with no lights on or maybe just parking lights!

Listen to the name people PARKING LIGHTS!!!! ie…. They are for parking not Driving! It’s no surprise there’s so many collisions here when drivers won’t make themselves visible to other road users & pedestrians!

USE YOUR DIPPED HEADLIGHTS PLEASE!!!!!!!

• Cars with one headlight lit are almost the norm in the rural area where I live.

• Car manufacturers haven’t helped either for making it so damn complex for an ordinary mortal to change a lighbulb on a car. What was a simple task in the past now requires a visit to a dealership and a bill for the labour involved.

• But will they ever actually do it? It might help if they also had on the spot fines for:

- Sitting in motorway/dual carraigeway overtaking lanes.
    - Crossing lanes going around roundabouts
    - Taking the 3rd/4th/5th exit on a roundabout while in the outer lane
    - Bad road position
    - Tailgating

It would also help if the Gardai weren’t at fault for all of the above.

Things that grind my gears!!!!

• I hope having fog lights on (front or rear) when there is no sign if fog will incur similar or double penalty.

• I was driving into Dublin on Saturday night, at about 10:30pm. On the way, I got a fault message saying my right headlight bulb had blown.

I hadn’t a spare bulb, nor the tools(hex keys) to change it. I had to put on my front fogs so I didn’t look like a motorbike driving along.

While it may be easy to get a H7 bulb in a filling station, they don’t have the tools in order to change it.

It’s all well and good giving out that motorists drive around with one headlight, but you can’t always assume they are too lazy to do it.

An annoyance of mine would be aftermarket HID kits fitted to reflective headlights. It just blinds other motorists.

• Little boy and girl racers who go out of their way to put on their front fogs for show should get penalty points. Arseholes the lot of them

• changed the dim bulb Sunday afternoon and had to take out the air filter system to put in the bulb. the other side requires maneuvering around the battery. but usually I get the garage to do in within 5 minutes for 8euro when its open.

• Speed bumps are and of my life,stretch of road close to me that I have to travel on has numerous speed bumps,and constantly have a supply of h7 bulbs in car,I hate changing bulbs,ya want babies hands sometimes to do it,some are handy ,some require a lot of stripping down,

• I took my car to the garage yesterday, the mechanic told me that the reason for the huge increase In broken lights was the state of the roads. We pay tax for the upkeep of the roads, now pay for new lights and get fined if you don’t. It’s all a rip off to get as much off us as they can.

• I have been back in this country now for the last three years.I was amazed to see everybody (that had them).Drove around like xmas trees with fog lights on.In England you would be stopped and fined on the spot within five mins.,Do you goons realise the effect of these high rated lights have on oncoming traffic?.

• Annoying jeeps with fog lights on. Fine them

• It wont make any difference as with all other “minor” road traffic offences it will not be enforced.
    This two day blitz should be same level of intensity of enforcement every day of the year.

• GPS 19/02/13 #

It is so annoying when people have no stop lights and constantly brake yet you cannot tell….the amount of times I have been behind a car with no brake lights or lights that are connected incorrectly is ridiculous.

• About time too.Sometimes you dont know if its a bike or a car comilg towards you.

• They should fine people who forget put them on aswell

• About time. Since they won’t spend 5 euro on a dipped headlight bulb they can pay a fine to keep the Garda on the road. It’s ridicules the amount of one eyed monsters on the roads at night.

• Illuminating idea.

• Al 19/02/13 #

If it was about safety surely they should order you to have your light fixed and then you must show it at NCT center or something along those lines. This will just make money… if you get fined and then have to change a light it’s pretty costly!

• Wow that’s news. Who’d have known that heretofore it was legal to drive with defective lights.

• If your taking a vehile of any kind out on a public road it should be in a road worth condition. In my opinion the biggest offender of these laws are tractor driver. It’s the exception rather than the rule to see a tractor in a road worth condition.

• finally, also fines for morons using fog lights when its not foggy.

If you dont like it. then obey the rules of the road and stop moaning when you get caught

• does this include the guards car as well
    .I agree strongly with it but they should practice what they preach. ..theyve squad cars here in Limerick with no tax or nct and they’re traffic core guards

• It probably really doesn’t matter given that the Gardaí don’t seem to be resourced to catch all the people breaking red lights, driving in bus lanes, blocking junctions etc.

it is likely that it will be used opportunistically by Gardaí, a bit like Clare Daly’s illegal right turn a few weeks ago. (Must go check my lights now that I have written that…)

• Why should the responsible driver who use their lights at all times have a greater chance of being penalized. I think I’ll stop using them at daytime

• Thank god my car has a warning light coming up when bulb is gone… and im more than happy that any of the bulbs can be changed in less than 5 mins… and finally, i always have spare bulbs in the boot…

But its not only head/tail lights that are a problem… amount of drivers “saving” on indicator bulbs is just insane. And here you are driving behind an idiot and he brakes in the middle of the road… but he wont use indicators,so you have no idea where is he going,left? Right? Maybe he needs some time to decide?

And brake lights… some of the cars have only 3rd one working…

• If there’s any Garda around to enforce it!!!

• Absolutely ridiculous a light bulb can blow at anytime,and with some cars you need tools to change the bulb.

• Its clearly systematic in this country. I drove from Kerry to Dublin behind three cars last week. Every oncoming driver was flashing their lights which got very annoying after 50 miles of driving. I finally overtook the convoy of three cars, and ALL three of them were driving along with one light.

Its especially dangerous when the right light is blown, as oncoming motorists think it is a motorcycle.

• jrbmc 19/02/13 #

Very harsh as a bulb can be in working order one day and not the next . I could check all my bulbs today and go out this evening and maybe without knowing a break light has failed since I checked them earlier , then get stopped and fined for it . I would understand if my dashboard could tell me if one of my lights was faulty and I just didn’t bother to fix it , also not everyone can change a car bulb themselves and a garage can charge €30-€50 to do it, so again parents might be left with a decision , pay towards ESB , do the shopping or get the bulb changed in the car . Im not disputing how important lights are but it just seems like More money making exercises ! .

• You serious with your €30-€50? Does your car require special lights or something? It costs less to have a puncture fixed or get a new tyre and your car is in there for longer. Take it to Kwik Fit, you’ll be charged no more than €15 depending what light you need fixing. Nothing worse than driving against a car with one head lamp gone, you’re trying to decipher whether it’s a motorbike or a car. It’s a big pet hate.

• very easily rectified. you carry a spare set of bulbs. If you get pulled you say you didn’t realise your bulb was blown and pop out a new one. Or the guards issue you with a warning and you turn up to the local station of your choice within 7 days to show the bulb has been replaced.

• Stephen, carrying the bulbs in the car means you’re shaking them every time you go driving (and on Irish roads, I don’t mean a mild gentle rocking, I mean shaking it like you were an english nanny). The end result is a weakened or (more likely) broken filament. So you open up the package and you have a broken bulb. Now what do you do?

• Mark you seem to be making excuses for why it is OK to have blown bulbs and not to carry spares around with you. I also think that my post gave to alternatives. “Guards issue you with a warning and you have 7 days to replace the bulb and show up at a station of your choice” this also ties in with what the report here is saying
      Quote “Assistant Commissioner Gerard Phillips said the public warning has been issued as the force would prefer if the defect was remedied rather than the driver prosecuted and fine.”.
      There really is no excuse for driving on defective lights. It just laziness and Ignorance. that puts other drivers and road users at risk.

• Cheers for that Stephen, but of the two of us, I’d be pretty sure I’m the only one who actually has spares for every bulb in his car at home on the shelf.

And from what I read in the story above, the thing that stood out was the phrase “on the spot fines”….

• You wouldn’t be that pretty sure then, as I also carry spare fuses, bulbs, a first aid kit, a tire with good tread on it ( and not one of them poxy space savers), de-icer and a full tool kit.

• Ha! Good man, you beat me by the bulbs, though I have everything else you list, along with a folding shovel, tow rope, spare oil and a few other bits. But every time I tried carrying bulbs in the car, I’d find they were destroyed *before* the installed bulbs went, because the streets I had to drive on around Dublin 1 were basicly unpaved cobbles and they shook the car like an offroad track.

• Duuno about the shovel now. but I do have a kite in there for fun days at the park or beach with the little ones.

• The shovel (and the mats) go back to 2010 and the heavy snow that year. The car got stuck out in Meath and after a half-hour shoveling snow with my and I figured a small folding shovel would be a good thing to have from then on.

• jrbmc 19/02/13 #

Most garages charge a minimum amount even for a small job like changing a bulb , my car was left in to have alignment done on lights they also changed a bulb and when my bill was given to me there’s was and extra €40 labour on it and when I asked I was told that was for changing the bulb . It’s the same charge for a window wiper , no matter how small the job they have a minimum price which they have to charge for it

• Absolute rubbish what happens when your driving home and one of your light blows .. and who in their right mind is gonna go around there car every single time to make sure all there lights are working. Another way for this messed up country to try make money of people struggling.. why not concentrate on fixing the roads and pot holes what are we paying road tax for

• totally agree with you Ian..

• Mjhint 19/02/13 #

Ian you must do a pre check on your car every morning before you set off. Mr Brett was on the radio I believe today about all the road deaths & he commended the gardai for this move against the motorist. Im glad in away because now the car drivers are going to get a taste of what truck drivers have to put up with. I again would say that lights not working on vehicles can be put down to poor roads. Mr brett claims these type of operations will save lives. 31 people so far this year & not one mention,of road condition or lack of road repairs. Mr Brett you are a bluffer & your job has become politicised. Resign & get someone that really cares about road safety & not revenue. I’d like to welcome the Irish motorist to the Vosa model of road safety. We are all getting points on our license because we aint seen nothin yet. And the road deaths will keep coming.

• @Sinead, Can you check if there is an ‘on the spot fine’ for any ‘detected’. I thought I heard a mention of a €50 on the spot fine being issued. If this is the case, this is nothing more than a money spinner. If it is true, it needs to be highlighted as part of the story.

• Before Gardai set up any checkpoints they should check every Ford Mondeo in their fleet. The rear lights on these cars are always failing and on numerous occasions I’ve seen siochana-owned versions with blown rear light bulbs.

• Julian 20/02/13 #

So what happens if your bulb blows half way through your car journey and you’re unaware that this has happened? The only sensible solution to this issue is to have the car owner go off and get the bulb replaced then call into a garda station. I hate those one eyed monsters as much as the next man but there needs to be some common sense shown

• I left work yesterday all my lights were working fine. I drove 20 kms or so and was pulled over by a garda car as my passenger dipped headlight was blown. the cop didnt identify himself, asked for my license and did i know my dipped headlight had blown. I told him no it was working a few minutes ago when i left work. He took my address, told me they were clamping down as it was dangerous . He then told me the good news was i wasnt getting points but he would post me the fine.He didnt even tell me what the fine was.

• About bloody time !

• jesus would they just feck off n leave us alone..?!?!?

• Barry 19/02/13 #

Ann if you can’t afford to keep your car in a safe condition then you shouldn’t have a car.

Cars driving without headlights or taillights are very dangerous to other road users!

Came across a car 3 weeks ago with no front headlights at all (both had gone), tried my best to warn them by flashing lights and pulling up beside them in the other dual carriageway lane and my other half tried to get their attention……they didn’t pay any attention though.

By your logic they should be left alone. Tell that to somebody who is involved in an accident with them.

• I agree that its an issue but an on the spot fine is too far. It’s easy to miss a tail light until you’re told. Maybe give a driver a day or two to report to their local garda station with the light repaired before issuing a fine?

• It’s very simple. Go out when it’s getting dark. Switch on your lights and either check the reflections against a wall or walk round the car. I check my brake lights by checking the reflections on the cars behind me.
      And DON’T use fog lights when there’s no fog!!!!!
      It’s about time they stopped motorists going round with their headlights set too high or, worse, with only one headlight (usually the outside light so you don’t know whether it’s a motorbike or a car).

• Barry, I’ll agree with that 100% when Dublin Council turns the roads in Dublin 1 into roads. With smooth surfaces. Instead of forcing people to drive over cobblestones.

BTW, how do you differentiate between someone whose bulb blew six weeks ago and who just doesn’t care; and someone whose bulb blew six minutes ago and who’s got bulbs on the shelf at home but doesn’t carry them in the car because the vibrations would break or weaken the filament?

• I shall consider meself chastened!! But it has happened to many a car owner that their bulbs blow unknown to them. I do not have any problem keeping my car safe but i only had the discussion with my son the other day how regularly car bulbs go these days. Ive had them blow on a journey of less than 50miles- so if im stopped by gardai twice on that journey-i’m screwed?? In my opinion you should be allowed 24/48 hours to rectify it.. Im all for road safety but there are way more important ways for the gardai to spend their time and resources…

• @mary so every time you hit a bump on our awful roads we should pull over, get out and check the lights? Get real for a minute.

• Barry 19/02/13 #

Mark Dennehy, so you think spare bulbs can’t be kept in a car?

You may want to make the french government aware of that because by law they require somebody to have spare bulbs, jacket etc in the car (not the boot) by law.

Of course you can store them in the car perfectly fine, if they were that weak they wouldn’t last long as actual lights on a car thats driven day in/out.

• Barry, the french don’t have roads that create news stories like this one: http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-potholes-roads-worst-795325-Feb2013/

Fix the roads, then you’ll have a good point.

• That would be….common sensical….. It would be the “right thing to do” unfortunately it’s Not the way the guards or government do things…

• Another money making racket, rsa should be shut down kind of getting silly i taught nct/doe are suppose to ensure cars etc are safe on the road and the garda enforce traffic laws so what is the RSA about? , bulbs blow fact of life, serial offenders should be penalised.

• sean 19/02/13 #

I,m sure it,LL be enforced the way the ban on mobile phones is !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why don,t they just go the whole hog and fine us for living and breathing ,

• sean 19/02/13 #

What’s with all the red thumbs , I,m only pointing out a fact ,
      I drive up and down the M1 everyday and U wouldn,t believe the amount of people driving whilst on the phone,
      I,ve been doing the same journey fir past 18months , and I could count on 1hand the amount of times I,ve seen a garda car ,
      So no point making up all these rules if they ain,t gonna be enforced , and enforced on everyone ( no exceptions for northern drivers)

• Damocles 19/02/13 #

Gardai In Law Enforcement Shocker!

• I always use my dipped headlights and front fog lights all year round, I do not see why I can’t use the front fogs as they do not blind anyone and if anything make me feel safer, I always use my lights so others can see me more so than to see what’s in front as thankfully I have two good eyes!

Add New Comment