TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Road deaths up by 23% compared to the same time last year

The Road Safety Authority said they are alarmed and concerned about the figures.

File photo.
File photo.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THIRTY PEOPLE HAVE died on our roads so far this year, significantly more than the 23 people who lost their lives on Irish roads in January and February 2012.

The past seven days have been particularly bad with a cluster of road-related deaths across the country.

Noel Brett, CEO with the Road Safety Authority told TheJournal.ie that they are alarmed and concerned about the figures:

The last 10 days have been horrendous. It’s been a bad January followed by a bad February.

However, Brett said that sometimes these clusters can happen without any explanation or a particular pattern.

He added that they were in discussion with the gardaí to see if there was anything that could be done and has this message for road users:

Every single person who uses the roads are at risk – irrespective of age.

We are asking all road users to reflect on what has happened and to take personal responsibility on the roads, whether they are a pedestrian, cyclist or driving a car.

Ireland is currently the sixth safest country in Europe to drive in and road deaths in Ireland fell 57 per cent between 2007 and 2012. The RSA CEO added that with 2.6 million road users, there will be peaks.

Read: Cavan was the only county to record an increase in road fatalities from 2007 to 2012 >

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Just a few things on this. Firstly my condolences to all those families that have lost people to road deaths. Now, this is my opinion, I travel all over Ireland on a daily basis, not just in Dublin, like Noel Brett and gay Byrne. The roads of this country have deteriorated, nearly beyond repair, all over this country. Filling in a pot hole is not good enough anymore. What I notice is that when they fill in the pot hole it leaves a mound on the road as they don’t fill level with the road. These mounds then can throw a vehicle from 1 side of the road to the other. Our road deaths were also down, not because of gay”Dublin only” Byrne and Noel Brett, but because of emigration. Roughly 25% of our young people under 30 have left our shores. Historically the majority of these people accounted for our road deaths. It’s time to put a new face to the rsa. Each county maybe should get the top gaa person in that county to do adverts on their local radio stations or posters. But please stop paying Gay Byrne money for doing nothing. There is a lot more to be done to save these lives.

• Well said.

• If that is to be accepted as a plausible explanation, how do you explain that last year, the accident rate was the lowest on record? Did all these roads suddenly change on January 1st?

Also the RSA and the Gardai were all quick to pat themselves on the back and accept credit after last years figures. Going by the same measure, they should all blame themselves for this year, but human nature being what it is they will blame the roads, lack of money, etc.

• I heard Gay is trying to organise a pot hole for everyone in the audience.

• Joe, read it again. Road deaths have decreased for the last few years due to the amount of people leaving the country. There is far less traffic on the roads. The aa road watch is boring now, because there’s not enough people to cause traffic jams. The RSA and Gay Byrne can pat themselves on their backs for what they do, but really emigration is doing it for them. Less people on the roads and the roads becoming more and more dangerous to drive on. This country is slowly but surely heading towards becoming a third world country

• Ok Tom but have all the people who left our shores suddenly come back on the 1st Jan 2013? How do you explain the sudden increase?

• I understand what you are saying Vinny, I don’t know the full ins and outs of the deaths caused so far. When road tax was introduced into this country it was for the up keep and improvement of the roads. Am I right or wrong? The filling in of pot holes, the drains on the sides of roads not been cleared properly, the patching of road ways, has become desperate in the last 18 months. 1 other thing while I am on here. How much tax do cyclists pay? Come to dungarvan and look at the money been spent on cycle ways. Drive around the county and avoid the potholes

• Tom, unfortunately you are incorrect, in fact there is no such thing as road tax in Ireland and it is specifically called Motor Tax to avoid the argument that the money should be spent on the upkeep of the road. Motorists contribute huge amounts of money to the government funds and as such the funds are not ring fenced for any specific nature so they go into the black hole of oblivion where no one really knows where the money goes.

I personally think the initiatives started by the RSA have had an affect in lowering the road deaths over the years, emigration, better roads and safer cars have of course helped the figures and the reason we might be seeing a surge (I hope not though) is that the initiatives implemented by the RSA are all short term focused, value for money initiatives rather than all out long term proper road safety campaigns and I think we may be seeing the effects of that short term thinking.

• I wonder could a factor also be that people are so broke and strapped for cash that they cant afford to maintain their cars to an appropriate standard (no judgement as I’ve done it myself). Some people have to make the choice between food on the table or new tyres for the car- it’s a scary gamble to have to take!!!

• elmo 18/02/13 #

This is why they are called accidents, no one sets out to cause them. An unexplained surge my arse. RSA have done feck all. It’s the road network improving all across the country thats the main factor in road death reduction. Cavan is the only county that’s up because the roads are diabolical. Noel Brett and Gay Byrne do my head in…

• elmo 18/02/13 #

And another major factor is the vehicle manufacturers. Airbags, impact bars, crash zones all help. Not Noel Brett sitting scratching himself behind a desk thinking of new ways to torture the motorist

• I’ll try again obviouslt they objected to my description. Anyway Elmo. Bet you’re glad to get that off your chest. But i do agree with you. Bunch of useless T*ats and don’t start me on Conor F*ughnan from the AA or as i like to call them ‘ The continuity RSA’

• elmo 18/02/13 #

This is one topic that’s close to my heart. I’ve been working on the road in the vehicle recovery industry for 15 years now and I could pinpoint old accident black spots on a map for you, where the roads have been sorted and it was like they flicked a switch, no accidents anymore. More funding to councils to improve the roads in current black spot areas will sort it.

• @ Elmo,

Tell me about it. The N1 had the worst death record of any road in the republic. Even worse than donegal. Hey presto the M1.

• @ Josh – ‘ The continuity RSA’, take a bow sir, comment of the day!

• They are not called car accidents they are called car collisions, its not an accicent as something/one is always at fauls.

• elmo 18/02/13 #

Get back under your bridge troll

• Could someone do a chart of Miles of Motorway & Road deaths from 2002 – 2013? The correlation will prove the point that engineering saves lives not advertising, PR and photo shoots.

If given the choice between spending money policing crime and spending it policing traffic I want the crime tackled first.

• I think fear or punishment should be used as a tactic. I was nearly knocked down off my bike today by a woman texting while diving. How are two penalty points and an 80 euro fine fair exchange for her jeopardizing my life or health. We need a culture change relating to the use of mobile phones whilst driving. Expect the unexpected.

• sid 18/02/13 #

I agree , 6th safest in Europe despite probably up near the top with most dangerous roads is quiet good . Time for a bit of truth about the real causes

• I’m surprised we’re the 6th safest country in Europe for road users with all our windy narrow rural roads. It’s early in the year the final numbers for the year might be good.

• Big problem is not using lights or wrong using light. A lot of people drive with no lights or park lights and fog lights. In this country dipped head lights should have all cars on by the law. Same indicators. Use them always.

• People might complain about gardai hiding behind signs to catch speeders but it does slow us down. Even with 100 stations closed and more gardai are on the beat (according to the minister) there isn’t enough transport for those newly freed up members to get out to areas to do traffic enforcement. The vehicles available to the gardai are now used to run back and forward to calls. When are they going to find the time to push traffic enforcement?
    Admit it people, the fear of getting caught and receiving the penalty points did slow us down and is a strong reason for fewer deaths on the roads.

• I agree but using fear as a tactic is only a short term solution to the problems that arise in the motoring domain. After awhile the fear goes away and people begin driving as they wish again. A proper long term solution is required such as making everyone repeat their test every 5 years, provide proper driver education and training in secondary schools as well as private tracks around the country, provide incentives for people to do advanced driving courses, improve the road network, force insurance companies to provide discounts for newer safer cars, give VRT and tax breaks for safer cars. The problem is all these ideas cost money rather than make it but if we really want safe roads its money the government has to cough up somehow.

• What about all the people who never did a driving test in their lives. They are the real danger on the roads. And L drivers who drive on their own. Even on motorways. Nothing been done about them. I see them everyday. complete joke.

• I was beginning to notice the increase alright, rip

• More like:

The RSA say they want continued funding and want to justify their existence in time of cutbacks, irrespective of the actual except statistics, they seek out small blips to exploit.

The job is done, wind them down…..otherwise just another quango

• 86.23% of statistics are just pure invention.

• According to the stats on the Garda website, 30 people had been killed up to 9am Friday 15th Feb. this compares to 18 for the same period last year. How does this equate to a 23% increase?? Including the 3 people who sadly lost their lives over this weekend, we are at 33 for the year to date, an increase of 15 road deaths on last years figures and equating to a much much higher percentage increase. Please use correct figures when reporting on something so serious.

• Their stats on drink related accidents are way off. How can they say an accident is drink related if only the passenger in the back seat is over the drink drive limit or drunk.

• I wonder is this tragic surge in deaths linked to the fact that thousands of people had penalty points illegally removed by gardai? People think to themselves “sure if I get caught speeding my brother in law or the guard I play golf with will sort any points out for me. Afterall I am from a decent family”…..

• Colm. As on many occasions on the journal I have commented on this text driving offense. The RSA, Gardai, Dept of transport, road safety spokespersons for different parties, not one of them have the bottle to push for a ban for those caught committing this offense. There has been many programs on tv and radio about the dangers of drink driving yet not one about an offense which is even more dangerous and that’s texting while driving.

• I’m not a maths genius or anything but 18 to 30 is over a 60% increase

Add New Comment