TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Saturday 26 July, 2014

Road Deaths

# road-deaths - Tuesday 22 July, 2014

Teenager killed in Limerick when his quad bike collided with a tractor

The horrific crash occurred on the Oola to Doon road this afternoon.

# road-deaths - Friday 11 July, 2014

The 5 at 5: Friday

5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’ clock

# road-deaths - Sunday 29 June, 2014

Man (84) dies in road crash after collision with oncoming vehicle

The incident occurred yesterday at around midday.

# road-deaths - Saturday 28 June, 2014

Young girl and three women killed in Westmeath road crash

A car and a jeep collided on a stretch of the N4.

# road-deaths - Thursday 19 June, 2014

Driver deaths are down, but “more vulnerable” road users are being killed

The Public Accounts Committee was also told that about 130,000 more cars were taxed this year following an end to the practice where vehicles could be declared as “off-road” after the fact.

# road-deaths - Thursday 12 June, 2014

Six-year-old boy knocked down and killed in Kilkenny housing estate

The young child was in a housing estate on the outskirts of the city.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 10 June, 2014

Mayo pedestrian dies after being struck by a van

The man in his 60s was pronounced dead at the scene.

# road-deaths - Thursday 5 June, 2014

Two motorcyclists killed in Clare crash

A female pillion passenger was also injured in the collision and has been taken to Galway University Hospital.

# road-deaths - Friday 30 May, 2014

The highest speed detected by gardaí today was 30km per hour over the limit

A vehicle in Sligo was found to be travelling 130km per hour in a 100 km per hour zone. Slow down everyone, it’s the weekend.

# road-deaths - Thursday 29 May, 2014

Two people killed in separate overnight road crashes

Both incidents took place in the early hours of this morning.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 27 May, 2014

Elderly pedestrian killed after being struck by a 4x4 in Kilkenny

The woman’s body has been removed from the scene at Graiguenamanagh.

# road-deaths - Friday 9 May, 2014

May Bank Holiday on the roads: five deaths, 151 drunk drivers and 2,164 speeders

Seven children have died on Ireland’s roads so far this year – equalling last year’s total.

# road-deaths - Monday 5 May, 2014

Man killed when his car struck a ditch in the early hours of this morning

The 24 year old was pronounced dead at the scene.

# road-deaths - Thursday 24 April, 2014

Gardaí search for blue BMW involved in fatal hit-and-run in Loughrea

A cyclist in his 60s was taken to hospital where he died later from his injuries.

# road-deaths - Wednesday 16 April, 2014

Speed cameras record more than 7,000 hours of driving each month

There are 727 “speed enforcement zones” throughout the country.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 1 April, 2014

Road deaths falling in Europe – but up 19 per cent in Ireland

The European Commission expressed concern today about trends in deaths of vulnerable road users like pedestrians and cyclists.

# road-deaths - Sunday 30 March, 2014

Two men have died in Tyrone car crash

It happened in the early hours of this morning.

# road-deaths - Friday 14 March, 2014

13-year-old boy knocked down and killed in Donegal

A man in his late 50s was also injured in the incident at Buncrana.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 11 March, 2014

Appeal for witnesses after death of motorcyclist in Cork crash

The man in his 20s was pronounced dead at the scene this morning.

# road-deaths - Monday 3 March, 2014

Elderly woman killed in Tipperary car crash

A second woman, who was a passenger in the car, was also injured in the collision.

# road-deaths - Friday 14 February, 2014

Teenager killed in Tipperary road crash

The 19-year-old man’s car struck a tree this morning.

# road-deaths - Monday 20 January, 2014

Woman knocked down by articulated truck in Thurles

The pedestrian who was in her mid-50s was walking on Slievenamon Road in the town.

# road-deaths - Monday 13 January, 2014

Man in 60s killed in Ennis road crash

The man was pronounced dead at the scene last night.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 7 January, 2014

80% of drivers killed on Irish roads last year were male

The most dangerous time for driving on Irish roads is between 2pm and 6pm.

# road-deaths - Wednesday 1 January, 2014

Two men die as their cars collide in Mayo early this morning

The men aged 43 and 47 years were pronounced dead at scene of the crash in Ballinahaglish.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 31 December, 2013

Numbers killed on Ireland’s roads rises for first time in eight years

The number of people who died on the roads increased by 17.5 per cent in just one year.

# road-deaths - Thursday 26 December, 2013

Another Christmas tragedy on Irish roads as woman dies in Offaly car crash

She was the driver and sole occupant of the car.

# road-deaths - Friday 20 December, 2013

New dual carriageway will replace treacherous stretch of Sligo-Dublin road

The N4 Action Group had erected 30 white crosses along the 10km stretch to mark the number of deaths on the road in recent years.

# road-deaths - Wednesday 11 December, 2013

How many drivers did Gardaí catch drink-driving or speeding this afternoon?

Three checkpoints were set up as part of their Christmas Enforcement Campaign.

# road-deaths - Monday 9 December, 2013

Section of motorway closed after a lorry collided with a jeep towing livestock

A vet is currently on scene, attending to a number of sheep.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 26 November, 2013

Young man killed in Dublin road crash

The 22-year-old was the passenger of a car that hit a tree in the Baldwinstown area last night.

# road-deaths - Monday 25 November, 2013

Woman, 74, knocked down in Longford last night

The pedestrian was killed as she crossed the road at Edgeworthstown.

# road-deaths - Saturday 5 October, 2013

Shock treatment for students at simulated crash Powerful This post contains images

Shock treatment for students at simulated crash

A complex rescue operation was simulated by volunteer emergency service people at college campus to hit home with road safety message.

# road-deaths - Monday 30 September, 2013

These are the top ten spots where drivers speed in Dublin

0These locations will receive “targeted enforcement” as part of a new Garda campaign.

# road-deaths - Wednesday 11 September, 2013

Motorcyclist (34) killed in Navan road crash

He is the 21st biker to be killed on Irish roads this year.

# road-deaths - Monday 12 August, 2013

Here Is What Happened Today: Monday

Everyone’s talking about Ryanair to sue Channel 4 Dispatches, Aer Arann strike and testicle-eating fish.

Gardaí urge drivers to slow down as road deaths rise

Motorcyclists who have died in 2013 have already surpassed those killed in 2012.

# road-deaths - Thursday 8 August, 2013

Three-year-old airlifted to hospital in Crumlin after being struck by a car in Co Cork

The boy received serious injuries when he was hit by the car in Barryroe, about five miles from Clonakilty.

# road-deaths - Wednesday 7 August, 2013

70-year-old woman dies after being struck by van

The crash happened on the Old Bawn Road in Tallaght this afternoon.

# road-deaths - Tuesday 6 August, 2013

Second man dies as a result of stolen taxi crash

The car crashed into a lock bridge close to the Convention Centre in the early hours of yesterday morning.

1 2 3 4 5