TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

New poll shows voters set to back EU fiscal treaty

However the opinion poll in today’s Sunday Business Post shows that the gap between the Yes and No votes is narrowing.

Image: Photocall Ireland

A NEW OPINION poll, the results of which are published in today’s Sunday Business Post, shows that Irish voters are set to back the new fiscal treaty in next month’s referendum.

The Red C poll shows that around 47 per cent of voters will support the referendum on the Stability Treaty. Thirty-five per cent said they were planning to vote No – that’s a slight increase, while 18 per cent said they don’t know how they’ll vote.

Meanwhile the poll shows that support for Fine Gael has dropped two points to 32 per cent, while Sinn Féin have gained a point and are on 19 per cent. Fianna Fáil are also up one to 17 per cent, while Labour have dropped one and are at 14 percent. Independents have also gained one point to sit at 18 per cent.

Yesterday Fine Gael and Labour joined forces to urge the electorate to vote Yes, saying the treaty is about adopting a policy of “good housekeeping which this country badly needs at this moment”.

Earlier this week the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore moved to defend the use of the website StabilityTreaty.ie to post speeches promoting a Yes vote. The statements were removed from the site following the conclusion of the debate on the issue in the Dáil.

Kenny and Adams decline to take part in TV3 referendum debate>

Fine Gael and Labour urge electorate to vote Yes on treaty>

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• Under normal circumstances a majority like this, a month before a vote would guarantee a result! Not in Ireland though! It only takes one stupid statement by a government minister, and it’s all up in the air again! Personally I don’t trust them! They’re rapidly becoming a Government prepared to say or do anything if it helps them to stay in power!

• Well how about this then?

“FG pledges to ‘put the frighteners’ on electorate”
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fg-pledges-to-put-the-frighteners-on-electorate-3095196.html

• “In the wake of a top secret FG party meeting, astonished TDs and senators told the Sunday Independent they had been informed by the party’s referendum director, Simon Coveney, that “the Government would prefer to win the referendum by being nice but if necessary we will change tack”.

One party grandee told the Sunday Independent: “We couldn’t believe it when Simon said if the campaign is not going well after the first week we [Fine Gael] are going to have to put the frighteners on the public and really spell it out,” and added, “They have really lost contact with the voters if they think Simon’s ‘we’ll be nice but if necessary we will be nasty’ line will work.”

Thanks Brian. Direct quote from that article. Not surprising at all, but nice to see it in print. More bully boy tactics from a Fine Gael minister. They just can’t help rolling them out.

• “In the wake of a top secret FG party meeting, astonished TDs and senators told the Sunday Independent they had been informed by the party’s referendum director, Simon Coveney, that “the Government would prefer to win the referendum by being nice but if necessary we will change tack”.

One party grandee told the Sunday Independent: “We couldn’t believe it when Simon said if the campaign is not going well after the first week we [Fine Gael] are going to have to put the frighteners on the public and really spell it out,” and added, “They have really lost contact with the voters if they think Simon’s ‘we’ll be nice but if necessary we will be nasty’ line will work.”

Thanks Brian. Direct quote from the article. No surprise that Fine Gael will try scare tactics – they have no shortage of bullyboys within their ranks. But nice to see it in print all the same.

I see the NO side gaining momentum as this campaign goes on. They can try to discredit the NO side all they want.

The trio of elitist economists wimps that were correctly quoted on the Sinn Féin leaflet. Even though they readily admit it’s a flawed treaty, they know where their bread is buttered. They vote a reluctant yes! It’s Yes men like them that lack courage of their convictions that are partly to blame for the mess we’re in.

I’ll be voting NO!

• Morto about the double post. After 8 mins it still hadn’t shown up. Journal please get your tech team onto it. Sorry lads! #RedFace

• The NO side referencing the SINDO as fact and somehow it’s the yes side that are the sheep???

Wake up folks, the SINDO makes up articles every week!!

• Yeah David. Usually in the government’s favour! Must have been impossible to ignore if they ran with this. ;)

• So basically David because it’s a story that you don’t like it’s “made up”. The writer John Drennen has risked his career by totally fabricating a story out of the blue and that we will not hear any more about this in the coming days or weeks. Of course on your Facebook page you are now saying that it is “probably” made up. Rowing back on your statement already! Keep it up lad, you’ll be a TD yet! :-)

• YES, yes they have fabricated the story. The SINDO does this every week, sometimes for or against the government, it varies. They also make up poll numbers under the fake company of “quantum research”.

I can’t believe people didn’t know this before!!

• I fail to see how this treaty, or any other ramblings, will “keep them in power”. The election isn’t for another few years.

Funny to see people quoting the Sindo though, which is a Fianna Fail paper and has always been anti Fine Gael. The government wont be “putting the frighteners” on anyone because its just going to further damage their reputation and cause a massive backlash. Do you think that these “TDs” would actually stand by such a comment and let it slide, and run to the newspaper with the gossip?! The government will, however, have to say it as it is and communicate with the people better than previous administrations.

The Sindo like to dramatize their articles like most rags. You wouldn’t see that article in any decent paper. They don’t have to name their sources and nobody is going to push them to court over another silly nonsensical article quoting “un named sources”.

• I have to say, I am diametrically opposed to David’s economic and political views, but with regards to the Sindo, its articles and their “research company” I have to say I totally agree. Still voting No though. Not as a knee jerk reaction to the government, but after a careful analysis of the document.

• Nooooooooooooooo

• How can people say voting yes is the lesser of two evils, and then justify the comment by saying they are not sure what will happen if we vote no? If we cannot say with certainty what will happen, then how can we say it is bad? This country is crippled with a fear of change. But it badly needs it. I don’t want the strangling future for Ireland the fiscal compact will bring. FG have spent half their time assuring us we won’t need another bailout yet their argument for this is ‘what if we need access to more bailout type funds?’ we are too tied up in Europe for them to exclude us if we vote no- we owe them so much money!* Forgive me if I rather we could negotiate what we pay back and when, as opposed to having Broad ‘adjusting’ measures applied that dont take into account for the fact that we are only a small nation and are already
    Struggling under the weight of austerity. I fail to see how this will help grow Irish business or encourage investors. This treaty threatens to cut off the limbs of Europe to save its beating heart- the likes of Germany.** But that’s no kind of life overall is it.

*not that I believe such ridiculous debt belongs to Irish people. I do recall our sovereignty was in tact before a stupid decision was made to assimilate bad loans and prop up zombie banks
    **not that l don’t admire Germany, an amazing country with responsible
    citizens and all the rest

• Ailís… Fantastic comment… Expressed in a way that I could never. 100% agree with you.

• S&P has made it very clear what will happen if we vote no: no further funding from Europe, no increased funding from the IMF (they’re maxed out and have stated so) and our credit will be reduced below the BBB+ we currently have (and couldn’t afford the interest on bond sales). If you want crippling austerity; vote no.

• It’s also not a fantastic comment as it relies on the flawed assumption that we can still access funding from Europe if we vote no and that there is margin or possibility for debt write-down or forgiveness. There isn’t; it would require the fundamental rules of the TFEU and the ECB to be altered and that isn’t going to happen, full stop.

• Have you done the number crunching?? will a no vote and a default be more expensive than what you’re paying at the minute?? I’m not so sure.

• Hmmm. I do think that those who have loaned us money would rather us keep limping along, paying them back what we owe plus a nice interest bonus for as long as it takes, rather than see us default and start fresh. They would be the only losers in this scenario, while our pain would be temporary before we start to rebuild. Right now, we are like a sick patient and our so called care providers are treating enough of our symptoms to keep us alive, yet the illness at source remains at large. This treaty will put us in a coma state.

• @oisin nice dose of scaremongering but you are wrong. Austerity aside the IMF will lend us money they have even said so in todays sunday times.
      In its 60 or so years it has never refused to lend to a country of good standing. Why would the IMF not lend to us, Ireland, who have hit every target they set out for us since the bailout?

Also even when it ran out of money it was still able to raise funds to help Russia in 1998.

Only last week the IMF raised 400billion in funds from various countries.

• @Senan Unfortunately, it’s not scaremongering. It’s fact. Firstly, see this: http://www.piie.com/blogs/?p=2779

“By the end of 2012, Ireland will have received IMF funds equal to 1,315 percent of its IMF quota, a number scheduled to rise to 1,548 percent by the end of 2013 under the current program.

The standard IMF procedure for an EFF program is that a member can only borrow up to 200 percent of its IMF quota annually, up to a total maximum of 600 percent in total outstanding credit.2 Ireland has obviously already greatly exceeded these maximum levels.”

Secondly, EU soft guarantees are what enabled Ireland to exceed its loan quota. “the belief that the IMF would somehow, in these circumstances, agree to lend Ireland even more money beyond the 1,300-plus percent of Ireland’s IMF quota is delusional. The chance of that happening is precisely zero.”

Thirdly, we get a discount rate on our interest penalties by borrowing from the EU funds which we do not get from the IMF. We would be talking a massive interest penalty from an IMF-only borrowing (which isn’t possible; plain and simple).

It all adds up to the question of austerity – will there be no austerity if we vote ‘yes’? Of course there will be! Will there be no austerity if we vote ‘no’? Of course there will be!
      Which results in LESS austerity? Simply put: a ‘yes’ vote will result in less austerity.

• Amazing in the space of 2 days we are back to a yes vote. It is all propaganda and only on the day will people decide.

• We will have to put up with rte giving all the airtime to yes men and some tokenism to the no side with a few flaky left wingers like Ming and Wallace no McWilliams no grudiev no real credible voices for a no vote

• The usual. I can’t stand surveys. They are rarely trustworthy.

In this case they give the false impression that the whole of Ireland will be even bothered to vote – it’s all damnable drivel – but worse they give the false impression that 32% of the electorate support FG/Lab and 17% are still behind the doomed FF.

Publishing these unaccounted for surveys serves only one purpose – to stimulate interest in whichever organ of the Press deems to publish it.

Although strongly misled by this kind of drivel, the public are not going to be fooled. They’ve been too hard hit. I just wonder how many will even bother to vote.

• jimbo 29/04/12 #

The results in my poll is no.
    NO NO NO

• Usual bull surveys.. I wasn’t and NEVER am ‘asked’ for my opinion.. The title of the newspaper says it all about who was ‘surveyed’… Working class people were most hit and will vote No.. Survey us and see what results you get back…

• Just cause it’s the business post survey doesn’t mean it’s their readers that were surveyed. It’s completely at random by an external company.

• And the middle class have been hit just as much, stop falling for the ULA bull!

• These polls use all types of statistical models to refine their accuracy and they’re always very accurate, especially RedC.

If you look at the raw polling data you’ll see that they ask for a person’s social class, more formally known as C2DE which covers the broad “working class”.

So yes they are asked, and just because you weren’t doesn’t mean it’s not accurate.

• Well if the people on the no side want the austerity treaty to be rejected we all need to convince 1 or maybe 2 people who are eligible to vote each to back us and actually vote no with us on the day.

So let’s get smart… Let’s come up with a slick 3 to 4 sentence campaign in order to convince the don’t knows and close friends / parents to vote no… But It needs to be credible….. Let’s just get it concise, sweet and easy to remember without being condescending. Too much waffle and crazy assertions actually turns people the other way…

You already know how I will vote let’s get the people closest to us to vote No as well. Then we will get the result we want. Unfortunately Leaving this to the unbiased media won’t work…. In fairness to the journal they are the exception.

Emer, By the way how many regular users have the journal got? And can you break it down to PC users / iPhone/iPad users please….

• Diarmaid I don’t think the ULA think that the middle classes have not been affected by austerity. We all have! Except the top 10%, they saw their disposable income rise by 8%, while the bottom 10% saw theirs drop by 25%. I wouldn’t fit into a low income group but I would still favour a fairer society.

• Totally Reada, as would I, I do however, detest the use of the words “working class” and “ordinary people”. It suggests that people on low incomes and social welfare are the only ones not able to provide at the moment, which is totally infactual. I respect Joe Higgins and a small % of the ultra left, however, some of the bladder and phrases they use isolate alot of people and families throughout the country who are hurting just as much if not more than the “working class”.

• You do realise Lisa, there is more than you in this lovely country of ours? We don’t all get asked. Its given to a research company who draws up a list of people to contact and surveys them ensuring its done fairly and without bias. Iv only ever been asked once.

The polls are a true reflection. Just because you, maybe your family and some friends are heavily against it does not mean the rest of the country is feeling the same as you.

Just like in the elections – if you were to read online polls, online comments, etc. than Sinn Fein would be the majority party in government. When the official polls put FG & Labour ahead, you got comments like yours saying it was all false and that’s nowhere near what the people think. Yet, the election happened and your voice was in the minority. Sinn Fein are in opposition. FG & Labour are in government, with a very nice majority for them.

• @Kevin, that is not true … when journal.ie ran polls at the last election, SF were coming in around 20-25%. SF were not the major supported party on here, it was FFg. But you can see the tide turning against FFg/Labour … And if the sentiments are reflected at the next election, it doesnt matter how many other polls are run, FFg/Labour coalition will be decimated. I suspect that FFg will retain a lot of the FF vote, but Labour will lose more or less everything. And yes, SF and the independents (ULA’s included in that) will pick up the votes of the disillusioned voters. Its called democracy. When you crap all over the people that voted for you, what else can you expect. FFg’s demographic is on average the higher paid, and taxed lower disproportionate to income levels vs SF. I would be surprised if that changes in any drastic way by the next election. But FFg will jump into bed with FF at the next election, without even a second thought, as they are in essence, one and the same party anyway.

• Headline From The Times (England) which ye can all read in the Irish edition.

Treaty no bar to new IMF bailout

Quote:
    “The International Monetary Fund (IMF) said Ireland could apply to the agency for another bailout if required, regardless of how the country voted in the EU fiscal treaty referendum on May 31.

The government has stated several times that if Irish voters reject the treaty, the country will not have access to the EU’s €800m European Stability Mechanism (ESM) fund, thereby cutting off its only source of funds outside the markets. Only countries that have ratified the treaty will have access to the ESM, Europe’s permanent bailout fund, under new rules in Brussels agreed by the government…

…The IMF, however, has told The Sunday Times there is “no reason” why Ireland could not ask it for another loan when the current bailout programme ends in 2013. “Any IMF member country can make an application to us for a loan,” said Bill Murray, its director of external relations.”

End of partial quote.
    http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1027751.ece

————————

o there you have it RIGHT from the horses mouth. Enda Kenny and Eamnon Gilmore should resign for their bare-faces possible lies and stupidity! They have tried to say different in order to fool the Irish public into voting their way. Well the truth is out you pair of two-faced traitors!

Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore have been saying that a rejection of the treaty would deprive Ireland of its bailout “insurance policy” – when faced with the ultimate truth, FINALLY – even our own state departments have been forced to admit this is the case!

Putting aside for the moment what SF is espousing, the fact is that FG and Labour are slightly (or maybe more intentionally) trying to scaremoner people into thinking that if they don’t say “yes” – there will be no further sources of help and funding for Ireland.

This is simply not true.

Now, no matter that way SF or any party spins their view of EU or IMF type bodies after that to their own party ends, the basic facts still hold true and against what FG and Labour are advocating, that there will be no further funds available if Ireland votes “No”.
    …Which again, is simply NOT true.

In their rush to try get a “Yes” while advocating that other funds in clear equivocation, won’t be available, they either are uneducated to the IMF funding practises and willingness to help OR they conveniently forgot to mention this so their side of what they are trying to espouse, came with added scaremongering to boot!
    I personally don’t take Enda as that stupid sometimes – I do greatly suspect the latter!

• Hmmm, the fundamental point here is that we will always *be able to ask* for IMF support, just like we could ask China and the USA or anyone else.

The question is, do you really think we would get it ????
      Of course we wouldn’t.

Who is going to lend to a corrupt little incompetent country when the people themselves enjoy sticking their two fingers up to the last friend who lent us money to get ourselves sorted.

But of course you are right, better to be right & poor, than wrong & recovering.

(slowly shakes head)

• Enda and the President of China are best mates now, or have you forgotten Endas photo op from 3 weeks ago?

• @DubinNaas I couldnt agree less. You’re talking like the EU/ECB gave us the money for free!! Our so called European “partners” are charging us a higher interest rate than the IMF. Remember, the EU/ECB are being paid back with massive interest. Oh and dont forget its the ECB who is forcing the Irish people to pay back the unguaranteed and unsecured bondholders debts. Please wake up.

• Paddy Powers odds on a no vote are tumbling! Get on now. 13/8

• The sheep of Ireland, will do what they are told to do.

• With all the talk at the press conference yesterday of the Stability Treaty being like water wings or a life jacket for the country one should realise that Simon Covney TD Fine Gael campaign director knows what he is talking about as he leaps into the Med here off the Volvo Ocean Racer Sanya last november in Spain.

http://www.teamsanya.com/uploads/files/112011/4eb55fa78da31e2b5600003a/header_large/IMG_6521.JPG?1320509339

• Bad news for the government when a gentleman from the IMF says a futher application from Ireland for funding would be listened to.Kinda blows a hole in the fear mongering of the Yes side ie.no funding if we vote No.

• If we don’t get funding a default is just around the corner. I do not believe for one moment that this would be allowed to occur by the financial power brokers. The risk is too great to the financial system as a whole. The tentacles are far reaching in relation to Irish sovereign debt and banksters gauranteed debt. Remember that these bonds are insured against default by large investment banks in the U.S and around the world. This insurance is also traded as a financial instrument in itself. These institutions are so leveraged I have often wondered would they even have the cash to pay out on such claims without the possibility of crashing the system. The only way the charade can continue is more bailouts. More borrowed money!!! The ponzi scheme inevitably must collapse. There are many entities vying for position before it does. Without growth these debts can never be paid back. As long as austerity continues there will be no real growth. Vote no and call the financial systems bluff!!! It’s time to take a stand!!!!!

• Unfortunately its the least bad option for us. When the previous administration gave away our economic sovereignty they left us at the mercy of the moneylenders, with inevitable consequences…

• EMD 29/04/12 #

Mattoid, you seem to have a sensible approach to things so I’d be grateful if you could expand on how it is the least bad option? Genuine question.

• Paul Oh 29/04/12 #

It amazes me how easy it is to turn peoples head’s with fear propaganda. This treaty is not in our best interests. Its that simple. Goodness knows why anyone would think it is a viable option!

• Paul Oh 29/04/12 #

Apologies, the exasperation made me commit grammarcide : people’s heads!

• I am quaking in fear that this referendum wont be passed……. Oh Wait …. I will be voting No , Again ? I will be voting No! :)

• @EMD
      Option 1 – vote yes:
      We’re locked into austerity budgets for the foreseeable future (possibly for many years) with all the harm that will do to potential growth etc., however funds will continue to flow for essential requirements eg. running crucial public services etc.
      Option 2 – vote no:
      Consequences are unpredictable, but may well lead to being forced to turn to the markets for funding at punitive rates. Problem will be exacerbated if we continue to borrow far more than we can afford, leading to a greater possibility of total financial meltdown in the future. Worst case scenario, funding is unobtainable, meaning no money to pay public servants, no cash in ATM’s etc..
      I know this is an oversimplification of a very complex situation, but it provides a snapshot of what could potentially be facing us either way….

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

Stark choice, but unfortunately that’s the reality of where we’re at :-/

• EMD 29/04/12 #

Mattoid, that is pretty much as I understood it but wasn’t sure if I was correct in my interpretation of the likely scenarios. Thanks for that and I agree it is a loaded choice but I think the result of voting No sounds very stark indeed, bad as things are now they could be much worse if we cut ourselves off. We still really don’t know what austerity is in comparison to some of our less fortunate European neighbours and personally I prefer our version, very few of us are at the poverty level of the Greeks.

• Paul Oh 29/04/12 #

Just one more thing. The scenario painted here of what will happen if we vote no is exactly what the powers that be want us to think. Its speculation at best. The bankers and financial industry that gain from all this ‘austerity’ (or looting if you want to be more truthful) want you to think this way so that they can continue to reap the rewards of economic pillaging. Yes, the economy is in a desperate situation but enshrining austerity will not help and will not get things back on track. In addition, if we do indeed require a further ‘bail out’ it will not be denied to us if we vote no. The house of cards is too weak to allow that and with the way the tide is turning in the rest of Europe right now the balance of power may just swing over to our side if we say enough abuse is enough. The Guardian had an interesting article on this a few days ago. I recommend you read the comment section, especially those pertaining to the level of propaganda we are subjected to continue this devastating exploitative economic havoc being heaped on us by the right wing money men. http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/apr/27/francois-hollande-angela-merkel-clash-eurozone

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

@EMD
      Unfortunately nobody can accurately predict the consequences of a no vote (those that claim to be able to are either misguided or untruthful) and therein lies the dilemma for voters…

• @mattoid your option 2 analysis is totally wrong.

Firstly this Treaty will do nothing to solve the current crisis.

The IMF has said that they will lend to any member of good standing of which Ireland is.
      Since the bailout Ireland has met each and every target they have charged us with.

So your acertion that funding would be unobtainable is incorrect.

But lets entertain it so, say we cant get funding. This would result in an immediate default. This would intern result is massive contagion and credit default swaps on a massive scale bringing down the entire Euro and possibly the world economy.
      Do you honestly believe that Europe would cut us lose to allow that to happen?

There is no chance of that happening.

Vote YES for more austerity and legal binding laws and a loss of Budgetary sovereignty to Brussels for all eternity.
      Or Vote NO for more austerity, send a message that we value our economic sovereignty and send a message to Europe that Austerity has failed and it needs to cop on and find another way.

There is no easy way outta of this mess but this treaty does nothing to help the situation.

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

Either way, anger with the government certainly isn’t a good enough reason to vote no!

• who said anything about anger towards the government?

All i see here is common sense prevailing over fear mongering from the gov.

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

@paul @senan
      You could be right about Europe not allowing the house of cards to fall, and I hope you are, but please don’t talk in absolute terms – as you also correctly pointed out, what will happen in the event of a no vote is largely a matter of speculation and nobody knows for certain (including yourselves) therefore it represents a huge gamble with potentially devastating consequences if the gamble goes bad…

• no it doesnt.

Voting no keeps the status quo and forces Europe to look again.

Remember nothing in this treaty does anything to help solve the current crisis.

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

@senan
      the comment about anger wasn’t directed at you, but all you need to do is look at some of the threads on TJ to see that many people intend to vote no for no other reason than as a protest vote against the government.

• mattoid 29/04/12 #

@Senan
      voting no does not maintain the status quo. There’s nothing to stop the rest of Europe going ahead with it with or without us.

• @Mattoid, you mention no money at the atm’s and other scary situations which were peddled to us by Brussels mouthpiece, our own Govt. If not for the treasonous blackmail clause in this treaty, we could more clearly see and reason No is best, it just takes the Govt, to actually take stock and make cuts under their own guise, not at the request of Brussels, we need to cut the state spending, but full austerity isn’t going to do it as to meet targets in the treaty we must strip from 6 -8 billion each and every year from the economy for the next 8 years or about’s. We will have nothing to fuel the economic wheels if this it the case, we will be a shell and end up selling state assets and really be scraping the barrel then. Now is the time to say, OK we will commit to the fiscal guidelines to lower our debt and over spending, but not have our hands tied doing so. We need state funded projects and means to get our economy moving as this is what truly makes money, work done. Not more loans which we will never be able to repay, as we will be left borrowing for internal needs and borrowing to pay bond holders, neither of which should be our end goal all the while stifling growth if we agree to the full terms of this treaty.

• jimbo 29/04/12 #

@dublinInNass GROW UP! And while your at it WAKE UP!

• “a key Fine Gael campaign strategy will be to “put the frighteners on the electorate” if it fears that there is a real danger that the referendum may be lost.” … And they say that the FFg/Labour government isn’t a terrorist government.

• And they say everything printed in the SINDO is factual…

• A “terrorist” government no less. Glad to see the argument grounded in rational thinking… You know if didn’t want them governing you you could have done something about it and voted the actual terrorists SF in when you had the chance, oh wait you had the chance, and what happened? THE PEOPLE SAID NO! Now let those with the mandate to rule get on with it.

• Jennifer
      go back to watching Tallafornia :)

• Pathetic. But then what more was I expecting from someone whose default setting is chippy agro..Can’t engage on any meaningful level so resort to snotty little jibes. No wonder the NO side can never produce anyone credible, if you are representative of the intellectual calibre we have nothing to worry about!

• Jenifer, if you are the very best that FFg./Labour have to come on here and support the Frightener party, then i think Ireland can sleep well tonight. Your hateful and spiteful personal comments just show the depths that the Government and their supporters are willing to lower themselves to, to try and make the Irish people pass a referenda that is not good for our country. I hope you are proud of yourself.

• Now now ,Jennifer !
      Don’t be getting yourself all upset , you go ahead and do as you are told and don’t be thinking for yourself .
      You are young enough to regret voting yes for a very long time …… pity . But there will be enough decent people who will vote NO to save the day

• How very dare you. This us a public forum. I am perfectly entitled to express an opinion. To be dismissed with ‘go watch Tallafonia’ shows not just pettiness- which I am more then entitled to address- but ultimately the intellectual ineptitude of those who rather then engage in the actual debate would stoop to such mindlessness..

• ”How very dare ”I ?…..Oh I dare . Because I have a conscience . I have a conscience that I can live with , and I follow my conscience . This austerity treaty is wrong . It does not allow for our country to grow . It will protect the wealthy and will destroy the ordinary working people who have always contributed to the health and wealth of our state , but no more ,because the wealth is going to unsecured bond holdres 1.5 billion Euros to AIB two weeks ago , 1.25 Billion unsecured bondholders on Jan 25th AND THE 3.1 BILLION EURO Promissory note on march 31st that was held off for a few years but that was just this years offering ….. ,Go and educate yourself and research your arguement or go back and watch tallafornia and do as Enda says and live to regret it .

• Good girl Susie, Jennifer makes a perfectly rational argument and all you can do is attack her, rather than her argument.

The ‘none of the above’ approach you advocate on every story here relating to the Government (and our FF bankruptcy ) is based on the same nonsense-economics as SF and the ULA.

Look at the situation rationally, bring some educated thought to it, consider all sides, and *then* make a comment, about the message, not the messenger

Are you and ‘Jimbo’ the same person ???

• I saw nothing rational or sensible about Jennifers comment . In fact all of her comments in my opinion aree irraational and insulting . ,I don’t know Jimbo but I do agree with his sentiment . Is that a problem for you ? And as you have brought up dual personalities ,are you really jennifer ? Go away now .

• Dublin Nass, it is extremely evident based on feedback from the likes of Constantin Gorgdiew, Dave McWilliams etc (and even the IMF) that keeping Banking debt and turning it into sovereign debt is the death knell of the Irish economy. Voting yes to further austerity until we have paid off this banking debt is insane. The government wheel out, public servants as independent economists to claim it to be good. Even these same Government sponsored economists are not totally in favor of it. if you read between the lines on their “Yes” stances, any idiot can see that they don’t overwhelmingly support it. You can go on about the Looney left and SF all you want. Any reasonable person can see its a bad deal for the country. So, please back off on the attacks on Susie, and other people like me, who do not swallow the bully boy tactics of FFg/Labour and FF.

• DublinInNaas there is a reason real poll results are not reflected in the sentiment ( maybe vitriol is more apt) on The Journal.. Anybody from the majority (as much as others don’t like it, that is the simple fact) who does express a sentient and salient opinion is attacked with such nonsense as “Tallafonia” and “Educate youself” slurs (when any educated person knows you engage people on their point and not on your preconcieved, and wildly incorrect prejudices). Is it any wonder the silent majority stay just that, silent… But then they always say empty vessels make the most noise.. I guess Journal v reality is a case in point

• So you deny that Tallafornia is one of your favored tv programes ? It is on your profile .
      Any way you have a nice evening .

• Wow stalk much? Maybe if you spent more time actually readng peoples posts rather than stalking/ trolling and just generally naysaying all over the place you could address them intelligently. Hell you might even free up some time to actually read the Treaty instead of just disagreeing with it because doing so falls braodly in line with a dogmatic say no to everything philosophy..

• Jennifer
      My answer is still No .
      I refuse to stand idly by and watch my country being sold out . Again Good Night !

• So I see we’re still stuck in sulking mode then …..

Yeah we’ll show ‘em hah ??? Cos Ireland is the centre if the world and the major powers just *couldn’t* get on without our say-so.

(Dear Oh dear)

So sulkers, take your ball and go home if thats what you want to do, but please get off the pitch so the rest of us can get on and play

• What money cannot buy!

• Vote Yes.

• Love these debates… BUT lets look at facts, as pointed out Germany, Iceland etc in the past have defaulted and have come back even stronger, Greece was going for a default, and in the last hour the IMF came in with 150million bailout lower rates. I’m voting NO on this as I believe this is the worst treaty published yet…; has anyone asked “WHY THERE WAS NO WHITE PAPER ISSUED WITH THIS TREATY WHEN IT WAS FIRST BROUGHT TO THE DAIL??” 2nd Question.. WHY in the governments Stability Treaty there are ONLY 16 Articles WHEN THE ACTUAL TREATY CONTAINS 48!? Why were major sections left out SUCH AS article 32 section 3. 4. & 5. 3. The ESM, its property, funding and assets, wherever located and by whomsoever held, shall
    enjoy immunity from every form of judicial process except to the extent that the ESM expressly
    waives its immunity for the purpose of any proceedings or by the terms of any contract, including
    the documentation of the funding instruments.
    4. The property, funding and assets of the ESM shall, wherever located and by whomsoever
    held, be immune from search, requisition, confiscation, expropriation or any other form of seizure,
    taking or foreclosure by executive, judicial, administrative or legislative action.
    5. The archives of the ESM and all documents belonging to the ESM or held by it, shall
    be inviolable.
    That section wasn’t in the Governments VERSION wonder WHY?
    I read somewhere something About terrorist…This treaty is just that, the end game for all these treaties as we all know is the Federal Republic of Europe, remember the Mastric NICE and Lisbon?? look where they got us! Speaking of which the Lisbon Treaty campaign said “Say Yes to Jobs Say Yes to Lisbon!” hmm funny they didnt mention the fact these jobs would be in Australia and Canada

Add New Comment