TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

New York City’s ban on large fizzy drinks to take effect in six months

The ban had been expected and has been welcomed by the city’s Mayor Michael Bloomberg.

This 24-ounce drink at a fast-food restaurant in the Philippines is now banned in NYC.
Image: Pat Roque/AP/Press Association Images

THE BAN ON the sale of large fizzy drinks in New York City will come into effect in six months time following a ruling by the city’s Board of Health today.

The city became the first in the United States to impose the ban on the sale of drinks which are bigger than 16 fluid ounces (around 473 millilitres) in restaurants and other venues like cinemas and sports stadiums.

An average soft-drink can has around 330 millilitres while a pint has around 568 millilitres.

While the ban – which was championed by the city’s mayor Michael Bloomberg – was hailed as “historic” by the city’s health commissioner, Thomas Farley, the head of the New Yorkers for Beverage Choices lobby group slammed the move.

“It’s sad that the board wants to limit our choices. We are smart enough to make our own decisions about what to eat and drink,” Liz Berman said in a statement.

Figures show that some 6,000 people in New York die each year from problems that are linked to obesity and that one-in-eight city residents has diabetes.

The ban does not stop people from buying as much fizzy drink or soda as they like by refilling a smaller container and it does not extend to supermarkets.

But champions of the ban hope that the disappearance of the super-size option in many places will make people more aware of what they are consuming.

- with reporting from AFP

Read: New York City set to ban large fizzy drinks

Read: Dentists call for public health warnings on soft drinks

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• If anybody has seen Man v Food, I think the large fizzy drinks are the least of their worries. Crazy stuff

• Crazy Americans! Now, I’m off down the pub for 568 ml of beer.

• Wow, people need to be banned from being stupid.

• “Hi, I’ll have a large drink please”

“sorry sir, we only sell small ones now”

“OK. I’ll have 2 small drinks please”

• “It’s sad that the board wants to limit our choices. We are smart enough to make our own decisions about what to eat and drink,”

So smart that a ban has to be enforced to get you to cut down on the stuff!!!!
    I honestly don’t understand how anyone can stomach close on half a litre of that shite in one sitting.

• New Yorkers for Beverage Choices is a pretty good name in fairness. I’m thinking of setting up Dubliners for Scoops myself.

• I think this is a smart move.The US has a problem with sugar-related diabetes that’s out of control. Its literally killing their citizens at an accelerating rate. Are they supposed to do nothing?
    We might not like a “nanny state” but let’s face it, there is some government regulation that is there for our own good.
    Really harmful drugs are illegal. Yes, some people ignore that, but it stops 99% of people trying heroin. Is that a “nanny state”?
    Speeding too, some people think “I’m a great driver, I should be allowed to drive at any speed and I will take the consequences – in the highly unlikely event – that I crash”. Speed limits are there because people can’t keep their own ego in check. They reduce the carnage on the roads.
    By stepping in, the New York government will cause a few people to stop and think “why are they banning these?”, find out the facts then cut down and improve their health.
    The real test here is too see if sugar-related diabetes levels drop in New York in the 3 years following this.

• I fear that the divils may get around this buy a simple buy one get one free trick.The oldest trick in the book. They are obese but they are not stupid! They are insatiable when it comes to sugar ! Wonder what the significance of the six months is ? Probably afraid the falling sugar levels would trigger a great depression. neil young could make a comeback ” after the sugar rush”

• Here’s an anecdote I think is relevant. I went to a fast food restaurant and ordered a typical meal except I ordered a small drink with it. The girl behind the counter poured my drink but then she realised that it would have been cheaper for me to get a large drink as then she could put it down as a meal deal. She told me this and I was like “oh yeah that’s fine but you can just give me the small drink”. But she threw out the small drink and insisted on giving me the large. I drank all the large drink. My point is that larger portions are pushed on people as they’re perceived as better value so you’re having people getting larger portions than they actually want or need. I’m also pretty sure the US has free refills on all their drinks so it isn’t a ban on how much a person can consume but rather a clever way to play with the psychology of people to get them to reduce their consumption to a level based more on what their body needs; they’re not going to go up and get more unless they really want it but if it’s right in front of them…

• Look, if there’s loads of cheap sugary drinks available and you think they’re bad for you or your kids… Then don’t drink them ok? Just let the rest of us have a simple pleasure. Thanks. Jesus

• Nobody is stopping you having them and I KNOW they’re bad but I still have them occasionally. They’re just putting a limit on the size of the cup but it’s possible for people to get as many refills as they like in the US so I really don’t see where you’re coming from. It’s a minor inconvenience at best.

• 8 ounces is enough in a drink! Believe I live here and the drink sizes are nuts. It’s pure sugar!

• Who benifits from the large portions? the food companies and big pharma, figure it out.

• Gas

• A small step in the right direction.

• I agree with the ban. It’s not that people aren’t capable of choosing what size drink they should get but studies do show that large portion sizes lead people to eat/drink more, even when they’re full. It’s human nature so the only choice is to tackle it with a ban. I remember hearing how if everyone in the US stopped drinking sugary drinks their obesity epidemic would be over. I suppose they represent the extra calories that tip the average person over the top.

• Yup it’s true. A consultant in temple st said just cut out the juice and fizzy drinks for kids, replace with water. The result is that there’d be less overweight kids…which sadly is more and more common nowadays.

• addressing t issue of obesity gives them something to chew on

• If they sorted out their gun laws it would suit them better!!

• There are already very strict gun laws in New York.

• So… Tell us about them

• But fat people are easier to shoot

• @Darren
      Application for a handgun license is through the individual’s county or major city of primary residence, usually the police/sheriff’s department, or a separate licensing authority (i.e. “The County Pistol Clerk”). After initial approval on the county level, the application is then passed on to the New York State Police for further approval. As part of the application process, the applicant will be required to ask friends or associates to act as personal references. These individuals may be required to fill out forms, varying in length by county, attesting to the applicant’s ‘good character.’ Pistol licenses can take from less than four months to more than six months for approval, even though N.Y. law allows the licensing authorities no more than six months to process a license.

• couldn’t they just regulate the sugar n crap that’s put in the fizzy drinks….and add more ice

• The ban is a good thing. Children will take what they get/or offered, from their parents, and their bodies become used to, – filling up on fizzy drinks. If one, or two kids see, that drinks are being down sized and it is spoken or more effectively, murmured about they will recognise for them selves the reason for the ban. They could go one step further, have queues for folk ordering food, with an automatic bottle of water placed on the tray, per order. Perhaps shorter queues, quicker service?

• Yeah I agree, the ban is a good thing.I think we should have dietary education from say 4th class onwards here in Ireland.Kids should know what is in a Big Mac, the fries or chickedn nuggets etc. because we have an obesity epidemic waiting down the line for us.I remember when a McDonalds was a treat (Sound like an aul’ lad here ha)and I loved it!Now kids can have it every day or week if they want and lets be honest we all know its tastes good sometimes but its contents are absolute SH*TE !!

• Automatic bottle of water? Wtf are you talking about? would you accept that in any restaurant or shop. Bollocks I say..

• Pointless, addressing the symptom not the cause.

• Diet coke and a pizza please, I’m here I’m on my knees, singin BIG GIRLS – YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL

• I’m all for this! Now if only we could make the freezer aisles in supermarkets narrower so fat people can’t buy all the shit in there, we’d be another step closer to sorting out this issue.
    I’ve other measures too, honestly, put me into congress for a week; lads, you’ll be sorted!!! ;)

• Having lived in NYC for a while I thought the ‘all yanks are fat’ was a myth. But you go to the poorer neighbourhoods and towns you’ll find that people are more overweight. It’s mostly poor people on food stamps or just buying crap food they can afford that’s causing the obesity problem there.

• What about a diet drinks? Are they banned too?

• I think it’s another case of the nanny state to be honest.

• That would be the same state fat people turn to to treat their diabetes, heart problems etc?

You can’t moan about free choice then expect the state to pick up the pieces when you get ill.

Nor can we feel smug about laughing at the American fatties, ireland is heading the same well, the bellies on a lot of young women is shocking.

A big problem is a lot of people do not know how to cook, it should be taught in schools for everyone. It can be very tempting to head to the chipper instead of cooking dinner.

http://www.irishhealth.com/clin/ffl/obesity.html

• Ye can carry a gun but you will not carry a large soda, i think the free refill will just sort this out !!!!

• That’s lazy logic. You can carry a gun, but you can’t carry a knife. You can carry a gun, but you can’t carry heroin. You can go on and on. The big problem here is the carrying a gun bit. Just because that’s so crazy it doesn’t mean that anything less crazy should be allowed automatically, just that they should address the crazy gun culture first.

• Journal – Can you please be clear when referring to diabetes – in this case it causes type 2 which is completely different to type 1. It’s incredibly annoying when it’s not stated correctly.

• Leona it doesn’t matter. Diabetes is a health risk , whatever type. And sugar doesn’t cause diabetes

• @celtic lady People with type 1 have a genetic condition

• @Celtic Lady I just wanted to point out that diabetes type 1 is not preventable, it is in no way the result of a person’s lifestyle. Whether a person is fat, thin, fit or unfit, makes no difference to his or her risk of developing type 1. In the case of diabetes type 2, much of its onset is the result of bodyweight, fitness and lifestyle, which is the type that this article was referring to and in many other articles over the past number of years. The issue lately facing the diabetics is that the condition is being branded as one condition which is misinformation to the general public. I am sorry if i have offended some people by my first comment it wasn’t my intention, but as a type 1 diabetic i just felt i wanted to stand up to it! Thats all!

• At least it will get their fat arses moving for the refills!!!

• I think a bigger problem is that you can’t get a small size option in a lot of places. Try ordering a small drink in cineworld for example. It’s a pretty big drink. I don’t know the exact size, but I’d say it’s at least 1.5 cans.

The medium is a bucket full, and the large, well, is just disgusting. I can’t physically get my 2 hands around the cup for a large drink in there.

But I don’t think they should ban large drinks. They should however force them to have an extra small option easily available at a reasonably lower price. This whole having the large combo cheaper than the small is a joke and it does confuse people at the till when they’re not prepared to be asked so many questions.

p.s. I’m not picking on cineworld, it’s just where I have the most experience of this as I don’t often go to fast food chains.

• Save a tenner. Bring you own drinks and snacks in with you.

A lot of cinemas now do tea and coffee. I prefer a nice cup of tea and bar a chocolate over a gallon of coke and dry popcorn anyway.

• I believe 473 millilitres is equal to a US Pint. Which are smaller than the British Pints. So in essence they are banning US Pints of soft drinks.

• Everywhere in America is free refills so this could just make people drink more?! Instead of a 20oz drink they get 2 16oz?

Add New Comment