TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

No plan for fresh round of ministerial pay cuts – Howlin

Brendan Howlin is asked to follow Francois Hollande’s lead – buy says the French president actually copied Ireland.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

PUBLIC EXPENDITURE MINISTER Brendan Howlin has ruled out any possibility of ministers taking further pay cuts.

Howlin said ministers had taken a net pay cut of over 40 per cent since 2008, when pensions levies and other deductions were considered.

Howlin had been asked whether ministers would take a pay cut through a parliamentary question from Sinn Féin’s Pádraig Mac Lochlainn, who asked if Irish ministers would follow precedents set overseas.

In particular, Mac Lochlainn pointed to the example of French president Francois Hollande – whose first executive decision upon taking office last month was to implement a 30 per cent pay cut for his ministers.

Howlin rebuffed the suggestion, claiming Hollande’s decision to reduce his own pay and that of his Cabinet “mirrors the precedent set by this Government on entry into office in March 2011″.

He added that he had “no plans at present to review the current arrangements”.

The first meeting of Enda Kenny’s government, held on the evening he took office, introduced a pay cut of 6.6 per cent for Kenny – bring his pay from €214,187 down to €200,000, the level at which it currently stands.

Other ministers took pro-rata reductions, with the Tánaiste’s wage reduced to €184,405 and the pay for other ministers falling to €169,275. Junior ministers earn €130,042, down by just over €9,000 from the previous regime.

The previous administration of Brian Cowen had cut the Taoiseach’s pay by 20 per cent, and the pay of other ministers by 15 per cent and junior ministers by 10 per cent, as part of the public sector pay cuts introduced in Budget 2010.

Read: Hollande hands new ministers 30 per cent pay cut

Budget 2013: Minister refuses to rule out income tax increases and welfare cuts

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• Now you know why kenny and noonan haven’t looked for any deal on the banking debt. They cannot credibly go to europe saying we can’t afford the burden when their ministers are earning more than their european counterparts.

• Give me a break….. The money involved here is peanuts in the overall scheme of things… You would swear that Irish politiicans get this fantastic lifestyle out of politics. Its more like a sentence in all reality.

• Wow, member of party in government happy with government ministers wage, theres a surprise.

Oh and theres a few hundred thousand people on the dole queue who would quite happily serve this ‘sentence’ for half the cost declan.

• I’m sorry Declan but hundreds of thousands disagree with you! And 150,000 are on the dole. Your statement is just like the government in charge, completely out of line with reality! How can Edna’s wage be justified when he gets paid more than Obama!! And this is before the expenses vouched and unvouched, the backhanders, pensions from previous employment etc etc you get the picture. Your comment is everything that’s wrong with the present governments I’m entitled to attitude. Stinking of self serving and screw you jack….while the reality is family’s are under extreme pressure to maintain a day to day existence! FG/LAB lost the chance of true reform and blew it!!

• I am not a member of FG…. Simple as that… I voted for them yes…. and i think all things being equal they are doing a pretty good job… Thats it…. So stop telling people I am a member….Its just not true… Not that the truth seems to be high on your list of priorities..

• But they have started to talk up SW cuts, more tax in every form for dec budget!!! nnGet the flock out of the dail now! Their ‘wages’ are not justified, their unvouched expenses are not justified. Their existence as representitives of the Irish people has expired, you lost your chance FG…… Elections please…n

• I can only imagine how difficult it would be to live on over €100k a year…….n

• They are earning way to much.

• I dont agree… for the abuse, the hours etc… The private sector is a doddle in comparison..

• You don’t think French politicians work long hours & get abuse? Given the situation this country is in they are earning way to much. A bit of leading by example would be welcome. For a country the size of Ireland a salary of €100k of Kenny and €80k for ministers would be suitable. If they don’t like it they can always resign or not run again.

• People say that if we only pay our TDs the average industrial wage then we won’t attract “talented people”. I don’t agree. If we only pay our TDs the average industrial wage, we’ll deter greedy people from entering public service. It’s a win win situation for everyone.

• What abuse Declan?! Not showing for debates, hiding from broadcasters questions?! Nice long summer/Christmas holiday from the dail. The ‘job’ is a doddle easier than that of a teacher! and payment for this is exorbitantly too high. End of!nnnAnd FYI it’s the lackies that get the yarn at the end of a phone call, the advisors/PR/communications /volunteers and YFG members who help out get the abuse NOT gov ministers…..maybe that’s why your so defensive. Are you on the payroll or do you volunteer?

• Maybe lower wages would reduce the number of politicians in it for the money and attract some who are in it to make a change for the better. That’s what politics should be about. Declan, did you ever think that if the wages were average we wouldn’t have half the clowns we have now. It would weed out those who are only in it for the money and those with real convictions would stay.

• Agree Paul Carr. Look at the ‘talent’ we got with Ahern and Cowen. Doubt there are many that would claim we got value for money in their cases.

• Paul, I only saw your comment after I posted.

• When I see Howlin I just get angry. Labour quisling.

• How about they take the average industrial wage, and no ministerial pay/perks/or pension?

Who could be against it, other than the bloody spongers themselves?

• These greedy swines can’t help sticking their snouts in the trough, they’re pigs after all.

• Its more spin folks. Watch, they’ll take a cut in the next few weeks. Its like the housing tax. They anounce the tax and the possibility that it could be charged via PAYE. Everyone gives out about the charge method, they change the stance via Hogan in his 5 star Brazilian hotel and everyone is fine with it, but the tax still stands. Smoke and mirrors folks.

• i think ill go sing for my supper outside the dail….

throw us a few bob boys.. ;)

doofuses

• “Howlin said ministers had taken a net pay cut of over 40 per cent since 2008″ … so tell me, which ministers have taken that amount of a cut? Aren’t the ministers from 2008 no longer ministers? So the current crop haven’t taken a 40 percent pay cut, they actually got a PAY RAISE when they were appointed, right? I mean, Enda Kenny wasn’t on the €214,187 stated before the pay cut, surely he didn’t make that as opposition leader! If he was on less than the €200,000 he currently makes then he didn’t take a pay cut at all!!

• Brendan Howlin is a public servant. His coalition colleague, Leo Varadkar, is looking for cuts to public service pay. Let them start at the top with the slush fund of multiple pensions for spending a couple of years in the dail, and then move on to only allowing for vouched expenses to be reclaimed. That should save the country a few hundred grand.

Of course, getting rid of the useless Seanad would save another €120m a year, but Brendan’s champagne socialist Labour colleagues in the Seanad don’t want to give up their cushy number, do they.

• I feel we’re turning a corner………..or is it a circle!

• mel 25/06/12 #

“Do as I say not as I do “,

• Sure as Bertie once protested “sure sure sure sures I donts gets a big palacey thing that the French guy gets I’ve ive ive only a modest gaff in drumcondras, so’s so so that’s why’s you can’t compare me’s wages to his and that’s the why in all in anyways”

• Ashamed to say I voted Labour. Never again!!! These guys will all resign before the next election so they don’t give a shite what they leave behind as long as they’re ok.

• A little difference between a 30% pay cut and a 6.6% one.

• He recently sanctioned an extra €27,000 to minister’s expenses.

This week, Fine Gael are paying €1.1bn to un-secured Bondholders.

Why are people still supporting Fine Gael? Seems like insanity…

• This government are unbelievable ! They are even sending voice of raisin in here to try sway opinion… Tut tut

• I would be in favour of scraping their pensions altogether. When they are earning the money they are they don’t deserve pensions. Have you ever heard of putting your money away for a rainy day?
    By getting rid of TD pensions entirely we can weed out the chancers who have no intention of being a proper leader.

• FG’S silent because they all agree with Howlin but dont want to get the thumbs down so they wont defend and stay silent like good little sheeple..labour crowd are just too sickened to say anything..

• How on earth do you think a leader who can’t debate,is gaff prone to the point,he’s kept off the airwaves as much as possible and makes George Bush Jr look intelligent,not deserve to earn 200 grand a year???

• they wouldn’t be getting abuse if they got on with their jobs and done them properly and honestly,none of them even seem to be qualified to do the jobs they are given.

• ALL ABOARD , GRAVY TRAIN DEPARTING DAIL EIREANN ………..NEXT STOP HOUSE OF OIREACHTAS ,
    PARASITES

• I thought there were no red line issues?!?!!

• Paul 25/06/12 #

They are complete gangsters. Ashamed to admit I voted for Labour. never again!

• sometimes i think theyve built their own TARDIS and while they are on time off they travel back in time and are livin back in the celtic tiger days haha

• I don’t usually post but the current goings on would make the blood boil! One minister calls for no increments to be paid to public servants due to our current financial crisis while he, another public servant, receives a salary of over 130k and his colleague reports there is no plan for reductions to be made in the pay of these public servants. Furthermore the so called reform of the Dail proposes cutting the number of seats by a mere 8, the minister could achieve the saving of 200million his colleague mentions by cutting the Dail by a further 15 seats and we’d still have too many!

• Why not abolish the Seanad? I figure that’ll achieve the cost savings of reducing Dail Eireann by 15 seats. Now, let’s restore Dail Eireann to 166 seats by dividing the rest of the world into overseas constituencies (this is what the French did in their last lower assembly election). Aren’t we not proud of our diaspora? Or are we something that you and your government feels ashamed about?

• Up the politicians wages there a great bunch of lads working wonders for the community. Keep up the good work. COYBIG..

• @thejournal – please try and keep some sort of consistency in your reporting.

I’m by no means supporting the government on this (or most things), but you should try and maintain some sort of journalistic integrity.

When the government say there are currently no plans to reduce ministerial pay, you say that the possibility of cuts have been ruled out.

When the government say there are currently no plans to increase income tax, you say that they haven’t ruled them out!

Please don’t read this as a pro-government remark – it isn’t. I just wish you’d report the news and let the readers form an opinion for themselves.

• Need to go abit further the country is on its knees and these boys are on our backs cut 2012 levels by 50% and move on now they might actually feel some of the ordinary man pain

• what about getting their pensions at the same age as everyone else..how come they get their pensions at 50??? that would save a bit of money

• They will attack the public sector fast enough and blacken their names to gain public support. Never will they give up pay of any meaningful size. It would be tiny and they will more than make up for it elsewhere through. Ack ganders and plain ministerial thievery. Mostly thieves waiting for pensions and Golden parachutes. They make me sick to my stomach. Anybody who thinks the government work for the people is completely deluded. Mé Feiners all

Add New Comment