TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Pat Rabbitte says people should be prepared to pay for national broadcaster

Rabbitte said RTE faces many challenges as the media environment changes and advertising markets become more crowded.

File photo of Pat Rabbitte, Minister for Communications

MINISTER FOR COMMUNICATIONS Pat Rabbitte has said people should be prepared to pay for a national broadcaster but said the TV license is not a solution to falling advertising revenue or the challenges posed by technological change.

Speaking at the TV50 conference at University College Cork (UCC), Rabbitte said RTE’s role in the Irish consciousness has changed over time but the need for robust, well funded and critical media outlets is even more essential now.

The minister said the changing media environment means the market for television advertising it getting “incredibly crowded” with more than 30 channels of advertising available for sale in Ireland, most originating from outside the state.

“Irish broadcasters, have to compete with the very best the world has to offer, while still catering for the particular needs of the domestic market,” he said.

“Television audiences are also fragmented because of mobile and other devices that they can use to access content, play games or discuss their favorite political scandal.”

Rabbitte said if media is important than we should be prepared to pay for it, but added that the television license regime is not a solution to falling revenues and the challenges posed by technological change.

He recognised RTE’s difficult circumstances, losing staff and experience as it seeks to return to financial stability, but said the focus should now be on charting a course through the transition to digital media with the analogue switch-off less than two months away.

The minister’s full speech can be found here.

Read:This is exactly how your TV licence fee is used>

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• No Pat, we are paying already, but if the state broadcaster decides to pay somebody €750k p.a. for 2 days work a week, then dont tell me I have to pay more to keep that show on the road.
    This whole public service thing is getting out of control.
    Seems the citizen is required to pay for inefficiency, free-loading, and all sorts of waste without question.
    Thats what we elect people like Pat to do, police the spending of taxpayers money, but they have no appettite for that part of the job.

• I thought the Minister said that the License fee was not a substitute for declining income . In other words RTE have to sort their own financial problems out without recourse to the taxpayer….am I misreading this?

• Well said, couldn’t agree more.

• Ryan'O 08/09/12 #

Shocking salaries handed out by RTE! Tv licence is nothing more than the wages paid by the public yet again !! How about a choice IF we would like to avail of the services offered by RTE!? I know I wouldn’t bother. €50 a year is more than enough for a tv licence, time to cull the over paid……but will they

• Obviously Mr Rabbitte of the Several Political Parties – currently – Labour isn’t paying his €160 per annum?
      What more can his “Socialist” Current Party hope to drain from the ordinary people of Ireland? – who certainly won’t be fooled again into Voting for his Party of the common people !
      More incompetence – he doesn’t seem to realize that the recession which his and his Governments inability is fueling, is the cause of there being no ability to spend – whether it’s in advertising or even the Corner Shop ! Resign Rabbitte !

• RTE? Are they still around? We have a choice these days and most people use that choice not to watch the same overpaid faces interview their mates or watch tired repeats. They’ll want to tax the internet next.

• took the words right out of my mouth.

• What a farce RTE is.

The Irish public are not served by this bought out, government PR machine.

Marian Finucane for example gets paid a Half a million Euro a year for having a couple of 3hr, toothless, coffee morning style ”debates” a week with her fellow over paid senior civil servants and politicians.
      What a load of meaningless, snotty drivel from their Ivory Towers in the parallel world that they live in.
      They should be ashamed of themselves.

• Pay the so called stars less. After all, their audiences are negligible compared to those of the same ilk in other countries.

• Oh Please. The national broadcaster vomited up the same old crap on the Late Late again last night. Same old tired presenter,same tired old guests. Why not let the Montrose Mafia try to cut it in the real world of commercial television? Like the old days of TASS in the Soviet Union the state monopoly broadcaster is tired and irrelevant.

• Exactly Colm. The licence fee should be cut because of the falling standards of programmes dished out by RTE. FFS reeling in the years must be the most repeated bunch of junk on earth! Then they go and spend a fortune on English football that can be seen for free on other channels. Joe Duffy has to be the most overpaid pontificating little upstart in Europe. I say disband RTE. it’s pathetic.

• Gerard 08/09/12 #

Between 8pm and 11 pm tonight, prime time viewing on rte 1 consists of the lotto, winning streak, the news and up for the match. Minister rabbitte really wants me to pay for this?

• Here’s a mad idea- how about we are given a choice in weather or not we pay for RTE, the same way we can choose if we want to pay for Sky Sports or Movies.

It’s called the market economy Pat and it’s been around for thousands of years. But instead most of us are forced to pay a license fee for content we neither want nor even watch.

• The point of a national broadcaster is to provide a public service. This means producing programmes that may not be the most popular or may not provide the greatest financial return.

The BBC are a good example of this working well. The documentaries they produce must cost a fortune to make but are some of the best in the world. Obviously RTÉ’s licence fee income from a population of 4 million can never match the BBC’s income from a population of 60 million.

If we’re going to have a state broadcaster it will need more than just advertising revenue. Maybe we don’t need two public service TV channels though. Surely they could cut out a lot of the crap they use to fill their schedule and focus on one channel providing real public service programming.

• I like the sound of that. 80 quid for the TV licence a year, and then another 80 if you want access to RTE 1 or 2. Something like that.

• So basically RTE needs a dig out because it can’t figure out its own finances and is in a creative rut.

How is that our problem? They should focus on new and interesting shows and allow the rte player be paid for but available internationally so ex-pats can watch everything

• The TV licence is expensive enough as it is ( ?160 a year).That is A LOT of money for a household like mine

• You mean we should be prepared to pay more for our national broadcaster. I personally don’t listen to or watch any of our national broadcasters stations. Except maybe for the news or the lotto. All of which we can now get online. The license fee is as far as I can see a waste of my money. RTE is full of over paid talentless cardboard cut outs!!

• RTE is the most flogged dead horse on the planet.Awful programming and awful presenters and a sta

• I would happily pay the licence if you get rid of the cats piss “presenters” (eg Kenny, Tubbers, Ormand, Left Testie etc) and scramble my TV/ Radio to prevent the catastrophic consequences of accidentally being in ear shot of the brain poisoning. You keep my money, all winners!

• liam 08/09/12 #

hi
    RTE are at best a poor facsimile of BBC/UTV etc
    each showing that same old crap over and over.

However I should not have to pay RTE to look at BBC.

Why dont RTE issue a settop card for those who want to pay to
    view their output.

rabbite and his banker buddies can pay for RTE if they like it
    so much

• why should the public pay for a family business

http://i.imgur.com/bhXNt.gif

Amongst those that I can think of are;

Lottie Ryan daughter of the late Gerry
    Phillip Boucher Hayes nephew of Myles dungan
    Ryan Tubridy and David mcSavage, grandsons of former DG Todd Andrews
    Eileen Dunne daughter of mick Dunne
    The late Jonathan Philbin bowman, son of John
    I also seem to remember that a son of Larry Gogan did a stint in RTE at some point too and I’m sure there’s some more that I can’t think of at the moment and these are just those in the public eye

In tandem with this is how, down through its 50 years of existence RTE has displayed a remarkable ability to promote its own and find positions or platforms Or vehicles (often far removed from their original role within the organisation) for those who have connections or have found favour with its hallowed walls.

In this context I’m thinking of such RTE “couples” as Frankie Byrne and Frank Hall, gay byrne and Kathleen Watkins, David Agnew and twink, miriam o callaghan and Steve Carson (and Tom McGurk) Teresa Lowe and Frank McNamara
    And individuals such as Maureen Potter, maxi, Brendan o Carroll, pat shortt, Derek Davis, joe Duffy, Angus mcNally, Shay Healy and The Seoighe sisters amongst others. I was recently reminded of this when I saw a clip where so many of RTE’s so called talent seemed to have got their “start” on the LateLate toy show as wee ones with a bit of cheek and obviously loads of ambition

It all just brings to mind a bit the title of Bruce’s new song: “we take care of our own

• No thanks

• Is he having a laugh? I’d happily contribute if RTE would show some decent programmes instead of churning out ‘Reeling In The Years’ every time they can. Love/Hate is their best show in years but I just seems that RTE are happy to show re-runs of US & UK shows with one or two of their own every couple of years. For a broadcaster that goes out to 5million people, no one in there should be earning over E100k PA. It’s not like Tubs, Pat, Joe or Miriam will be poached to ITV or BBC. It’s still jobs for the boys in there.

• I don’t see how you could possibly hope to describe RTE as a being critical in its coverage.

• It’s an easy solution!!! Cut it back to one station and sell off the rest. There is no need for the three. Do the same with radio. Oh no!!! That would mean that the nepotism gravy train would come to an end. Couldn’t have that so have the rest of us pay more. Just piss off !!!!

• Jonno 08/09/12 #

“Irish broadcasters, have to compete with the very best the world has to offer, while still catering for the particular needs of the domestic market,” he said.
    Tough. Get better or go, you dont need that much from the state plus license fees PLUS advertising. Its like RTE is on the Dole AND working on the side but still asking for more money to do F all

• End RTE’s duel funding. Make em choose. Private or state

• I just don’t believe this. Every single day there’s something more ridiculous coming out of those ministers mouths.

• We’ll have to pay for every comment we send to the journal next.

• Why should I be prepared to pay for a Government mouth piece? because you say so Rabbite? who the hell does he think he is? this lad needs a kick in the b…………

• neo1 08/09/12 #

F@@k off pat

• RTE and the Catholic church are responsible for keeping the older generation of the country in a stupified hypnotic state. The reason we’re being forced to pay for this disgraceful organisation is that the government needs to keep this hypnotic stupified state going while they screw us over. RTE is the propganda arm of the state and it needs to get it’s funding from somewhere so they threaten us with massive fines and even jail if we do not contribute toward this propganda pukefest! Thank god for the freedom of the Internet!

• Get rid of the ads, rubbish movies, awful american sitcoms, cut the pay of wasters like Kenny and Tubridy and actually provide some thoughtful and insightful public service programming and none of us would mind paying for it.

• According to some reports Charlie Bird is to be paid 200,000 euros lump sum plus 80,000 euros a year pension by RTE, does this sound familier Pat

• No I already have a tv license and barely have rte! I’m not paying more money to watch static!

• I pay SKY for my tv channels, pay three for my broadband and after watching what RTE think is great ” the late late”, last night, sorry mister Rabbitte, you aint gettin a dime from me. Such crap on that late late show. Time to call it a day with that show.

• Privatise RTE…

• I’d wouldn’t mind paying for it, if I got the same quality and amount of BBC channels and radio. And no advertising between programmes.

• Kim 08/09/12 #

Oh yes Pat we are all well prepared….
    Well prepared to tell you and the rest of RTE to sod off!!!!

• Why should we be forced to pay for a third rate Government and church controlled entity ? The RTE old boys club should pay their own way.

• She’s just paving the way for the new ‘Communications Charge’ which every household will have to pay whether they have a TV or not.

• I’ve already chosen two years ago. I do not own a TV any more and am happy without it. The sh**e on RTE wasn’t what I wanted and I wasn’t prepared to foot the bill for it. Plus, if I did want it and paid a licence fee I would have still needed to pay MORE money to bastard Murdoch’s Sky to receive what I had already paid the government for.
    RTE is very poor programming and lousy value for money.

• Rte are desperate at putting on. good tv shows at desperate hours ie mad men. Good shows like rookie blue on.at like 2 am in.the morning remember the kennedys on on.a saturday night at 11 and what is their obsession.with people like katherine lynch not one bit funny as for film.premiers bout 2 or 3 years behind channels like itv channel 4 etc

• We need to introduce “pay per view” because why should people pay for programmes, films, sport etc that they have no interest in, also the salaries that are paid out at rte are ridiculous.

• Amanda 08/09/12 #

NO,
    am paying sky, no interest in bog 1 to bog 4
    interested in world news not car crashes down byroads
    or waffle coming from kenny and co.
    interested in what i have in my OWN pocket not what they say they will take out
    not seen irish news in 10 years, spin south west, i will pay for
    and 2fm and today fm

• A lot of people get caught for not having a TV licence, I never had a licence in my life, Pat Kenny and Turbidy wont be holidaying on me.

• I see no issue at all – if RTE TV and radio needs to go to 1 station and basic news programmes and a few other suits me as I watch little else on RTE anyway.
    RTE2 and 2FM should be scrapped.
    The majority of the content on radio 1 is very poor – just chat and retro music. I cannot understand where the money goes. It is certainly not on the screen or airwaves.

• If you were paying the wages of dinosours like pat kenny and jimmy mc gee rte might have a few quid.

• How about you pay Mr Rabitte?

• mcbab 08/09/12 #

Don’t watch a lot on RTE but Raw and Love Hate are brilliant. The Frontline and Primetime can be interesting at times. If we want a state broadcaster we have to pay but I think you will find Mr Rabbit is telling RTE to get its house in order. It’s hard enough for them when we have access to the best broadcasters in the world, BBC and channel4. Difficult to compete with those.

• he’s right! if we want a national broadcaster we should pay, conversely if we don’t want a national broadcaster we should have a choice not to pay and not to receive.
    I don’t watch or listen to the state media, can I have a refund?

• Make RTE pay per view…. Let the idiots who want to watch it pay for it…. Very simple…. Personally I have a problem paying for Rabitte and co only guaranteed easy ride when scandals break….. Case in point…. Reilly on primetime the other night to excuse himself from any blame for the shambles he caused the week before without any rebuttle guests on…. Propaganda tv should be paid for by the political parties and their sheep plus any idiot willing to subject themsleves to it…..

• Someone has to pay for the propaganda machine. I’d say the TV licence will be increased!

• If I want to read a newspaper, magazine or watch a film… I buy a pay per use fee based on an amount that represents value according to me. This also allow me to direct funds towards media I think is worthwhile and away from those I consider waste…

I deeply resent the fact that I pay for Fair City, Joe Duffy , tallaghtfornia, Xpose, broadcasting of religious services, and a channel in a language I do not speak…

• We get more choice from competing media outlets & we have to pay more to RTE… Have we moved to back 30 years! Minister societies change Ireland have changed, let RTE go to the wall. How does bloody tv3 sustain a great lineup… Vincent Browne, news, xpose etc.

• Ok thejournal.ie show us you’re impartial; do one of your polls. Should RTE be pay per view? Yes, No, I don’t know.

• Get the oil and gas companies you’re giving our natural resources away to subsidize them.

• sid 08/09/12 #

As a tax payer sponsored entity rte should not be in competition with sky , UPC and tv3 , it shouldn’t waste what is a weeks income after tax for most people on expensive series that everyone can obtain for free.
    Stick to public service broadcasting both here and abroad , and if people want to watch csi or Dallas let them stick up a satellite dish

• Pat Rabbitt on Big old White elephant ! Both as ineffective as each other!

• Non article related’ “Louise is hot as hell”

• If RTE is public service, fine, sell RTE2 stop the tax payer paying for US tv shows that they can watch on Channel 4 or whatever for free.

• Sure just don’t bother watching rte get the free to air English channels or something just tell the licence man u don’t have rte… All that money just goes to rte broadcasters so u don’t have to pay it that’s my theory anyway

• Sell the damn thing off

• Pat Rabbitt on Big old White elephant ! Both as ineffective as each other!

• RTE Prime Time Schedule 2013:
    5:00 – Daithi O’Se and Linda Martin check out the latest fashions
    6:00 – Main Evening News – Read by Twink, Sports news with Daithi O’Se
    6:30 – Reeling in the Years – Linda Martin Looks back at 1983
    7:00 – THE INTERVIEW – Daithi O’Se speaks candidly to Twink about her falling out with Linda Martin.
    8:00 – Celebrity Survival Challenge – Twink, Linda Martin and Daithi O’Se tough it out in the woods
    10:00 – A prayer at bedtime (read by Linda Martin)
    10:30 – The National Anthem, sung by Daithi O’Se

• RTE is now known as “Pravda” as it spouts out the Government line in it’s “news” bulletins. It has to as it got itself into so much hot water over innaccurate reportage etc – Rabitte had the Board over a barrel.
    The actual audience seems to vary between 300,000 to 500, 000 out of a population of 4.5 million – not great . Since it mainly shows US and UK shows which we can see on other channels anyway I do not see the point in funding RTE to pay these US and UK Corps more money. As to the overpaid “Stars” as they refer to themselves – this is a real waste of money – none are worth more than Euro 150k max ! They should be told to “hump off” and find these illusiory “green ” fields abroad ( They do not exist !)
    No Pat – you are not fooling us with more overpaid public sector workers being funded by the taxpaying serfs of “De Republik” of Direland. Hump off yourself ! This is just a prelude to your “Broadcasting charge” – another tax !

• Scrap all but RTE 1 and Radio 1 and make some good shows that they can export rather than filling them with imports and programmes for the over 70′s

• Commercials should be scrapped completely, programmes are crap on RTE, and presentersare very overpaid, and I will not pay for them to have extended holidays, I have never paid a licence fee and never will pat, so you can stick it where you want, until the presenters wages have been reduced even on radio. Maybe in CAHWT we should add in Campaign against Household, Broadcasting and Water charges, and build up resistence to all, and tell the officials rabbitte may bring to our door, that we have no more money to give for overpaid presenters, and their families, eg tubridy, charlotte ryan larry gogan and son, miles dungan and nephew, philip boucher hayes.. the list just goes on, everybody looks after their own, why doesn’t the state broadcaster take some the unemployed off the dole and employ them, instead of taking on their own family. If you bring this tax in rabbitte, it will mean that you will never be voted in ever again.

• Does this mean we will be getting a National broadcaster to replace RTE? sounds good

• Licence is a noun; to license is a verb and whether one likes it or not weather is the state of the atmosphere at a given time and place, with respect to variables such as temperature, moisture, wind velocity, and barometric pressure.

• RTE are not as bad as people make them out to be. Yes a couple of the top guys are paid too much but overall their programming isn’t bad. Would sky do programmes for the minority’s or those with special needs in our society? They wouldn’t as it wouldn’t bring in the viewers. Also look at all the matches they show. Imagine how much Sky would charge us for all the Gaa matches and when the FAI sold the rights to their matches to sky, people went mad and rang Joe Duffy( RTE radio) and forced them into a u turn. We have to pay to keep Irish television Irish. Bring on the red thumbs.

• Is that you Tubridy?

• Paul 08/09/12 #

Channel 4 is a public trust not-for-profit company and has an obligation as part of its remit to cover minority issues and it does it very well without public funds. Most countries in Europe have a list of cultural, sporting etc events that have to be free to air and available to the entire country, no reason in the world GAA and FAI couldn’t be added to this list and protected, let the free to air channels fight it out to see who gets it. Irish interest drama, documentaries and investigative television journalism (no reality TV) could be funded from a central pot like the film council, but why should RTE drama and ‘journalism’ get public funding while other broadcasters gets nothing? There is absolutely no reason in the world why we need a national radio broadcaster, we just need better plurality laws; and the likes of 2fm 2xm etc getting public money distorts the market, they could easily be privatised or made self financing public companies.

• You’re right Tom, they’re actually worse!

• Paul, you can hardly compare Rte and Channel 4. Look at the difference in population and as you know, the bigger the population the bigger the audience the bigger the advertising revenue. RTE is far from perfect but if it’s a public only funded station then it will be as bad as TV3.

• Paul 08/09/12 #

@Tom, yes the UK has higher population, audiences and therefore advertising revenue for C4, I was just pointing out that it is possible to make minority programming part of a public service requirement, for which some funding should be available, as it should be for some journalism, drama and other content made for Irish audiences. In a small country like Ireland quality drama is unlikely to pay for itself through advertising alone so will always need funding; also, only funding Irish produced content would mean all that finding was spent here and it might encourage more of it to be produced.

But RTÉ also broadcast cheap imports from UK, USA and Australia which otherwise would probably end up on another channel at zero cost to the viewer. When the phone and energy markets were opened up, the state monopolies weren’t allowed to compete for a while to let the market grow, but RTÉ regularly outbid TV3 on our behalf with our money when we’d get to see it either way.

Just looked at RTÉ 1′s schedule for tonight, between 1500 and midnight the only Irish telly on the state broadcaster is the news and up for the match. Worth paying for? Not really.

• Ok Paul I’ll pack it in after this. Well made points in fairness to you. Just wondering do you work in the media yourself?

• Paul 08/09/12 #

Cheers Tom, no I don’t work in media, I don’t even watch TV. News, documentaries and radio online most of the time, and a couple of box sets for rainy or hangover days is enough for me.

• @Tom Leddy
      We can compare rte to Channel 4. Bigger population and bigger advert revenue true. But there is also equally bigger competition for that revenue which equals it out…. Channell 4 does a fine job of introducing new formats and new presenters… We have the same dross for decades in some cases. Now this could happen once in a while when someone of exceptional talent comes along but we do it with every half eejit that will turn up every day. All the exceptional talent got tired of menial work on rte serving far less talented idiots above them and left to places where they were rewarded for their talent…. I mean look at the mediocre at best anchors on rte that past their sell by dates years ago and some case decades…. gay byrne, pat kenny, john giles, eamon dunphy, marty morrisey, tom mcgurk, mike murphy, charlie bird, ann doyle, marty whelan, ryan tubridy, miriam o callaghan, mariane finucane, joe duffy, rachel english and thats just a few of these relics, there are heaps more….. Its time to stop propping up this gravy train for people who just wouldnt last 5 minutes in a competitive talented environment….

• Faceless man, I salute you! Best comment I’ve seen in a long time!

• Your comments comparing a commercial satellite broadcaster with a taxpayer funded one are very flawed.Asking questions like ” would sky show program’s for minority in society” ? Well of course if they were being funded to do so by taxpayers I’m sure they would. Also i heard our double gold Paralympic winner yesterday thanking Sky for their sponsorship as the funding towards training had been immense , Katie Taylor is also a recipient of Sky Sport scholarship , I’m not affiliated to Sky at all but your comments painting them as some ogre in an article thats about tax payers having no choice but to pay for RTE are well wide of the mark , by contrast I and thousands of other CHOOSE to pay for Sky where I can watch plenty of special interest programming including brilliant music shows on Sky Arts that put RTE to shame. If I was given the similar CHOICE to decide if I wanted to pay or Rte I know what I would be doing.

• I fully agree with you Dave….. I don’t pay for rte and I can hear all of my local news, hear all about local events clubs and charities and interesting local people on east coast radio. I can get my national news and commentary, music etc from Newstalk, Today FM etc all for free as they are commercial stations with great content. I can watch my tv3, national dialogue on current affairs, sports, major world events and the rest of the channels because I choose to pay for them….. You can pay for rte and get all the minority stuff you want, reeling in the years, rose of tralee, afterboon show, daithi o shea, ryan tubridy etc to your hearts content…… I think we’re on the same wavelength so to speak… Pun intended.

• Well the good thing guys is that along with having to pay huge sums of money to sky every year ye will continue to pay a licence fee to RTE so I get to watch turbidy, kenny and the rest of the Irish tv presenters ye hate so much. And the good news for the minority’s like the deaf is that ye’re money will still be used to make program’s for them. Thanks for contributing so much each year, it really helps.

• Thats just it Tom… I don’t pay huge sums to sky…. Its less than a third of the huge fortune I pay in the tv license to RTE…..Thanks for bring our attention to this also as I didnt realise it takes RTE 3 times as much to produce a few tv programs for the deaf etc than it does to produce heaps of world class programming by everyone else….. Oh and just for the record. The tripe they produce for the deaf etc is equally shite when you compare it with the programs produced for and by other countries…. So its good to see there is no discrimination when it comes to crap they produce. It would seem the monority and the majority get equal crap produced……

• Fascinating reading these comments. The level of ignorance about what the licence actually funds is amazing ! Some people seem to think TV3 is part of RTE too. Oh and LICENSE is a verb!!!

• Top to bottom review of all programs, salaries and costs at the RTE to see what wasteful spending can be eliminated BEFORE the taxpayers are forced to chip in.

Wish they’d do that here with the CBC. but when the Conservative government cuts their budget, they don’t eliminate any overpaid management perks. And instead axe programs that the “leftist elitists” then blame on the government.

Add New Comment